SunPower by Solar Technologies Logo

SunPower by Solar Technologies

check_circleVerified

star star star star star_half
79 User Reviews

6.2

Overall Score

error This company may not service all states.
See states serviced
LAST UPDATED: August 2nd, 2021

Serving the San Francisco Bay Area of northern California since its founding in 1998, SunPower by Solar Technologies is a premier solar panel installer that provides some of the highest performing, most energy-efficient solar panel systems in both residential and commercial solar markets. Named one of Solar Power World’s “Top 500 Solar Contractors” at both the national and local levels every year from 2017 to 2020, Solar Technologies has installed more than 44 total megawatts of clean, renewable energy. The company’s partnership with industry leading manufacturer SunPower means its solar PV systems come with an industry-leading 25-year Power and Product warranty.

thumb_up

The Good

  • SunPower Master Dealer
  • 25-Year Power and Product Warranty
  • Additional Services
  • Multiple Financing Options
  • NABCEP Certified

SunPower Master Dealer

As the only SunPower Master Dealer certified in the Bay Area, Solar Technologies builds solar energy systems that are almost unmatched by many of its competitors. Solar panels from SunPower are the industry’s best, averaging around 22.8 energy efficiency, and built to withstand extreme temperatures. Companies like Solar Technologies that achieve Master Dealer Status achieve high marks in the following areas:

  • Technical Experience
  • Installation Quality
  • Customer Satisfaction
  • Financial Health
  • Service and Support

25-Year Power and Product Warranty

Solar Technologies also protects its solar installation systems through SunPower's Complete Confidence warranty. This guarantee applies on three fronts: first, it ensures that the system will perform at peak efficiency and performance throughout its entire projected lifetime (25 years). In the event that any system component significantly underperforms, the company will service or replace the part for free.

The second area the warranty protects is against system or solar product defects. In the event that a solar panel, solar inverter, or other system component is revealed to be damaged or defective, Solar Technologies will replace it at no cost to the homeowner.

Lastly, the warranty covers all the labor required to build the system; in the event the solar panel system requires maintenance or repair due to installation errors, the company will provide this service at no cost to the homeowner for the lifetime of the system.

Additional Services

In addition to installing quality, industry-leading solar panel systems, Solar Technologies provides homeowners with the following services:

  • Solar Energy Storage — includes both SunVault Storage by SunPower, and the Tesla Powerwall to harness and store the SunPower Equinox systems surplus energy to be used in emergencies
  • EV Charging Stations — leverages partnerships with both Tesla and ChargePoint to provide sustainable, eco-friendly charging solutions for electric vehicles
  • Home Electrical Services — through Solar Technologies’ sister company, ST Electric, to provide energy efficiency upgrades, home improvements, and more
  • Ongoing Maintenance and Monitoring — allows customers to monitor the performance of their system, and request maintenance appointments when needed

Multiple Financing Options

SunPower by Solar Technologies provides multiple financing options to help homeowners make the switch to solar. In addition to direct purchase, which requires a significant upfront investment for immediate solar panel ownership, the company also allows homeowners to finance through a zero-money down third-party solar loan, or to rent the solar panel system through a solar lease. Each of these options carry inherent advantages and drawbacks, and customers are encouraged to speak with one of the company’s energy specialists to determine the best financing route for them.

NABCEP Certified

SunPower by Solar Technologies has been certified by the North American Board of Certified Energy Practitioners (NABCEP), meaning the company's technicians have undergone advanced solar installation training through the most widely respected and recognized certification provider in the solar industry. An NABCEP certification signifies SunPower by Solar Technologies' expertise in the solar field, and homeowners can trust they're receiving a high-quality system.

 

thumb_down

The Bad

  • Only Available in the Bay Area

Only Available in the Bay Area

SunPower by SolarTechnologies is only available in the Bay Area of California. With more than 2,000 individual solar installers working in the state, this represents a highly competitive solar Market. Promoting verified SunPower by Solar Technologies reviews can help the company stand out from the crowd by publicizing its quality of service and solar installation process.

gavel

The Bottom Line

If you live in the Bay Area and are looking for a high-quality solar PV system, SunPower by Solar Technologies is a solid choice. The company builds industry-leading systems that are built to last. Customers are encouraged to obtain a quote from this company and compare its financing options to other leading solar providers in the area.

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Message from
SunPower by Solar Technologies

Founded in 1998, Solar Technologies has designed and installed more than 75,000 solar power systems for home and business owners across the San Francisco Bay Area.

We pride ourselves on providing reliable solar energy and reasonably priced solar panels. Many local customers and partners have trusted us to install and care for their solar panel systems.

As the National Commercial Volume Dealer of the Year and the exclusive SunPower Bay Area Master Dealer, our award-winning customer service, experienced solar installers, and industry-leading 25-year SunPower warranty set us apart.

We offer solar energy systems for residential, commercial, industrial, government, agricultural and non-profit organizations. With offices conveniently located in Santa Cruz, Campbell, and San Ramon, we’re ready to save you money and help your home or business become more sustainable for the future.

keyboard_arrow_up keyboard_arrow_down

Star Rating

4.6

star star star star star_half

79 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

70%

4 grade

22%

3 grade

5%

2 grade

3%

1 grade

1%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star star_half

Quality

star star star star star

Service

star star star star star_half

Trustworthiness

star star star star star
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
bookmark

Featured Review

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Charles McGinnis Moraga, CA

Very professional and dependable during design and construction of my solar project. The system has met all my expectations

1 year ago

SunPower by Solar Technologies Logo

Reply from SunPower by Solar Technologies

That is great to hear! Thank you for sharing your experience Charles!

Dec. 30th, 2021

bookmark

Featured Review

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

JANE MARTIN Berkeley, CA

Easy to work with and responsive to all questions, before and after the installation. Knew all the regulations, Fed, state, and city so there were no surprises in terms of cost. Worked well with the roofing company in terms of setting a schedule. Did the work quickly and cleaned up after themselves. Set up the app for me.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Joshua Trowbridge Soquel, CA

Keenan S and the SunPower team were the epitome of professionalism throughout the entire process of quoting, planning, installing, credits and rebates. To the penny, SunPower's quote was accurate. From our $1000 SunPower cash-back to our tax-rebate, everything went perfectly. Keenan is a great representative who believes in his company, says what he is going to do and does what he says.....as good as it get. Thank you Keenan!

1 year ago

SunPower by Solar Technologies Logo

Reply from SunPower by Solar Technologies

Thank you for your review, Joshua! We are happy to hear about your awesome experience working with Keenan and the Solar Technologies team.

Dec. 30th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Bauer

I have recommended them to several neighbors because I have enjoyed the experience. They were on schedule and completed installations in two days and followed up with the inspection within a week. They are very attentive. The price is right.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Cosgrove

Everything is working. The whole system is producing as expected. I have had it for over a year and there have been no issues. They have been very responsive and helpful. I’ve only had one question but customer service was right on it.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Daftary

I decided to go with SunPower because of their competitive pricing. I did lots of research beforehand to figure out that their product is superior. The company is very responsive and the installation went well.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Tony Tseung Cupertino, CA

Such an excellent high producing product installed by an efficient highly organized team. Solar Technologies made to process so easy for me the homeowner. Customer service was and continues to be exemplary

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

JohnC Palo Alto, CA

I like the design styling as well as technology in the Sun Power panels. They've been producing power about as advertised. Online monitoring is helpful though I only occasionally look at it now after a year.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Bob

Performs even better than I anticipated. I have two systems and they are both performing at a high rate. I had a few panels that were damaged and they were able to replace with little hassle.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

O'Connor

They delivered as promised. Everything was on schedule and according to plan. It was completed with minimal effort on my part. It is working and my utility bills is very minimal.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Gomez

The technicians have been helpful and very responsive. I appreciate they respond quickly to requests. The reinstallation of the microinverters was a little tricky and delayed but they are very good.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Helvey

Installation was very smooth. There was an incident where I was having connection issues and they helped me. It took a little bit of maneuvering but we got the right solution. Overall it has been a good experience.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Feeney

It functions as expected. It is fairly consistent. I’ve been monitoring it regularly for the last few years since it was installed. We have had a few problems but they have been handled quickly.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Mary Beth T. Palo Alto, CA

Equipment is working with no problems since 2018. When the water main shut-off got damaged in the installation, the company hired a plumber that fixed it immediately.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Erwin Fremont, CA

They are great! Any issues or questions I had they where there on the spot. They did a wonderful job installing the panels and setting everything up

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Comport

It really is very efficient. It has been so good we really haven’t had to call the company about anything. It has gone very smoothy. It works without a problem.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Tripp

The sales person was extremely responsive and fantastic responding to questions. They have done what they said they would but not in the time they said they would.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Shayan Sengupta Fremont, CA

did a good job. Efficiency of the system is best compared to other friends I know have installed solar with other providers

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Piero Pianetta Palo Alto, CA

Project delayed due to COVID but I was kept informed. Once project started, things moved very smoothly. Installation looks very good.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Stan Ferro Santa Clara, CA

Process was easy from start to finish. They kept us informed at each step. It was actually an enjoyable home upgrade project!

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Robert SHaffer Watsonville, CA

My two experience with Solar Technologies has been very positive they're professional, experienced, knowledgeable and accommodating.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Noel Bennett Oakley, CA

Professional service all the way from design to installation. Transparent communication around schedules and expert work.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Waidhofer

It looks great. It was a long drawn out transaction but they have a good deal. Customer service is a little slow but they are spot on.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Efren Caliboso San Jose, CA

Very professional and kept me updated throughout the whole process including city inspection and approval.

1 year ago

SunPower by Solar Technologies Logo

Reply from SunPower by Solar Technologies

Hi Efren, Thank you for choosing Solar Technologies, and for take the time to write a review. We appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear about your 5-star experience with our team!

Aug. 2nd, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Richard Rasmussen Aptos, CA

Efficient design, install. Sales was not heavy handed. Permitting process was as efficient as possible.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Larry Gossett Walnut Creek, CA

Had a good experience, knowledgeable staff in both office and field, good communication. Two thumbs up

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Keneipp

It seems like it is high quality. They were efficient and timely getting it set up. They did a good job.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Rashid

I have always had positive experiences with SunPower. Installations were smooth. The price is competitive.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Boscacci

The process was awkward, I had to have them redo the electrical bit it works and the product for the price is good.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Crockett

We’re very happy with the work. They have worked well. We see good results and we are very pleased with them.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Anne Berkeley, CA

Process of signing up was easy, work was done efficiently and the solar technology works well

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Tina Nguyen San Jose, CA

Great work team and excellent service plus my electric bill much cheaper nowadays

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Junaid Qurashi Los Altos, CA

The product has an excellent performance. And support is always available to answer any questions.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Greg Concord, CA

Efficient, dependable, cost competitive and went the extra steps to make sure I was satisfied.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Wang

Customer service is very responsive and very prompt. It has been very positive working with them.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Ku

The technician that installed the panel was extremely professional. The quality is what I needed.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Luk

The process is pretty smooth. The staff is very responsive. They follow through.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Altshuler

This is reliable. The phone app is terrific. They are professional and competitive as far as cost.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Stuart Russell Palo Alto, CA

Easy to work with. Explained everything well. Competitive prices.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Matt Passell Palo Alto, CA

They explained all the details, and communicated well throughout the project.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Mike Los Gatos, CA

Great panels. Look good. Installation was very professional.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Patrick Leahy San Leandro, CA

Pleasant responsive customer service. System has useful apps. Cost effective

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Frank Discovery Bay, CA

They are very professional, delivered high quality service and workmanship

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Geri McGillicuddy Aptos, CA

Easy to contact, responsive to issues, considerate at installation.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Kevin Kane San Ramon, CA

Reliable system and great service. Good people to work with.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Andrew B Poes Millbrae, CA

Professional service- very happy with the finished product

1 year ago

SunPower by Solar Technologies Logo

Reply from SunPower by Solar Technologies

Thank you, Andrew!

Dec. 30th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Michael L Chang San Ramon, CA

Great customer service, local team, reasonable prices.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Paul Burgess Danville, CA

Great communications, did the job on time, love the results

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

John Basanese San Jose, CA

Great from beginning to end! Very high quality system!

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

stephen wyman

Honest bid, on time installation, and great follow up.

1 year ago