shield Backed by our $100 Guarantee! Learn More

Freedom Debt Relief

check_circle

Verified

4.7

star star star star star_half
15,230 Reviews

9.2

Overall Score

How is this calculated?

Summary

Freedom Debt Relief, a subsidiary of Freedom Financial Network, has resolved billions in consumer debt since its founding in 2002.

The company has considerable industry experience and high client satisfaction ratings.

With all the major industry accreditations, Freedom Debt Relief (FDR) is a great option for many consumers. Its minimum debt requirement is $7,500. Freedom Debt Relief accepts clients dealing with financial hardship that meet this threshold and clients that can make regular payments to an account to pay for settlements. Freedom Debt Relief employs professional debt experts to negotiate and settle debt for those suffering financial hardship.

The company offers a debt settlement program that involves negotiating with creditors to lower total debt owed and is available in 40 states. It does not, however, offer debt management plans or credit counseling for those not interested in debt settlement, as Freedom Debt Relief is a debt settlement company.

On average, Freedom Debt Relief charges 22 percent of your total enrolled debt, which means the cost varies depending on your financial situation. To settle a $20,000 debt, it will cost around $4,000.

As opposed to a debt consolidation company which consolidates all of a customer's debt into one consolidation loan and one monthly payment, debtors approach Freedom Debt Relief as a last resort in order to escape high amounts of debt and avoid declaring bankruptcy.

Pros

  • check_circle Low Minimum Debt Requirement
  • check_circle Industry Leader
  • check_circle Multiple Accreditations
  • check_circle Thousands of Positive Customer Reviews

Cons

  • remove_circle Not Offered in All States
  • remove_circle Limited Service Options
  • remove_circle Implicated in Previous Lawsuits

The Bottom Line

Freedom Debt Relief's debt negotiation experience is worth the money. Freedom Debt Relief customer reviews relate that the company has saved them thousands of dollars by negotiating with their creditors. If you're looking to settle your debt through debt negotiation and a reliable debt relief program, we highly recommend using Freedom Debt Relief if you receive a reasonable quote from the company during your free consultation.

Services

Services Offered: Debt Settlement, Free Consultation

States Serviced:

As a leading debt settlement company, Freedom Debt Relief offers several services and features to its customers, including

  • Free consultation with a Certified Debt Consultant
  • Relief for unsecured debts (credit card debt, medical debt, personal loan debt, or department store credit debt)
  • A free debt evaluation
  • An online dashboard to track your progress
  • Debt negotiation
  • Debt settlement
  • And more

Freedom Debt Relief offers a free consultation with a highly trained, IAPDA-certified debt consultant when a consumer decides to enlist the company's debt settlement services.

According to a four-year study by Freedom Debt Relief, its customers start the program with a median of $28,000 in debt, which decreases to $3,800 after 45 months in the program. The graph below shows the decrease in debt over time and how this directly affects the increase in customers' credit scores.

Decrease in debt over time

One feature that sets FDR apart from the rest is a unique and intuitive online dashboard to track clients' pace throughout the program. This helps people to actually see their progress while settling their debts. It also offers education to help clients improve their financial knowledge.

Not many debt settlement companies in the industry offer this debt relief service as part of their packages.

Pricing

Minimum Debt Requirement: $7,500

How much does Freedom Debt Relief cost?

On average, Freedom Debt Relief charges $4,000 to settle $20,000 in debt, or about 20-22 percent of total debt. If Freedom Debt Relief cuts your debt in half, you would end up paying $14,000 instead of $20,000.

Users are charged an average of 22 percent of their total debt to use FDR. While this number is in line with their competitors, it is only an average. Customers could end up paying more or less than this to use FDR. FDR's prices range between 15 and 25 percent. The rates vary depending on the state the client lives in.

Current national debt relief trends indicate that debt settlement companies tend to charge a percentage of enrolled debt as opposed to saved debt. This means that the more total debt you have, the more debt settlement companies will charge you.

Although working with a debt settlement firm still saves you from paying thousands of dollars to creditors, it's better to work with companies that charge a percentage of saved debt rather than enrolled debt.

So exactly how much will Freedom Debt Relief cost you? It will cost you around 22 percent of your total enrolled debt, but you will have to have a consultation to get an accurate estimate. The fee is competitive for the industry. The fee is assessed when a successful settlement is reached.

However, Freedom Debt Relief's services are high quality and make it easier to make your way to living debt-free.

What is Freedom Debt Relief's minimum debt requirement?

Freedom Debt Relief has a minimum debt requirement of $7,500. This means if you are looking to settle or reduce your debt but you do not meet this threshold, you will have to find another debt relief company with a lower minimum debt requirement.

However, Freedom Debt has a lower minimum requirement than some other top debt relief companies we have reviewed, so it is still standard for the industry, if not slightly more inclusive and available than some other debt relief companies.

What Customers Are Saying

Want to read real Freedom Debt Relief reviews from verified customers? Do so here. We've also included a snapshot of how customers rank Freedom Debt in terms of value, quality, service, and trustworthiness.

Positive Reviews

Most Freedom Debt reviews on Best Company are positive. People commend FDR for having good customer service, explaining debt management, and keeping them updated on where they are at in the debt settlement program.

Clients drowning in high amounts of unsecured debt (credit card debt, personal loans, medical debt, student loan debt) usually find that the company can save them from paying a large percentage of what they owe. One Freedom Debt Relief review even states that the company helped him save several thousand dollars in interest as well as settling all of his outstanding debt.

Despite the debt settlement program's tendency to negatively affect credit scores in the first six months, clients with mountains of credit card debt find it extremely helpful for debt reduction. It's also important for people to know that forgiven debt is considered taxable income, so you may owe more in taxes when using debt settlement services.

Complaints

While most of the Freedom Debt Relief reviews are positive, there are still several Freedom Debt Relief clients who have complaints about the debt relief company. The two main complaints that people seem to have are the following:

  • Debt settlement takes too long or isn't as effective as people hoped
  • FDR charges too much for its services, sometimes costing consumers up to 25 percent of their total enrolled debt

These complaints are fairly common within the debt settlement industry. It's important for clients to be fully informed about what debt settlement is and how it works. Potential clients should use the free consultation to learn more about the time it takes to reach a settlement and specific price information.

View Freedom Debt Relief reviews below.

About the Company

Accreditations: AFCC, IAPDA

Is Nonprofit: No

Time in Business: 20 Years

Experience and Accreditations

As an accredited debt relief company, Freedom Debt Relief has over 17 years of experience in the debt settlement industry. It has settled over two million accounts since its founding and regularly settles over 50,000 accounts monthly.

In fact, Freedom Debt was one of the founding members of the American Fair Credit Council (AFCC), which now accredits other debt relief companies and sets the standard for best practices in the credit advocacy industry. The company is also a platinum member of the International Association of Professional Debt Arbitrators.

Freedom Debt Relief has years of experience standing between the creditor and the client. FDR will work to obtain settlements that resolve credit card debt (or any type of unsecured debt, such as personal loan debt or medical debt).

FDR will walk clients through the debt settlement process: first, customers will voluntarily choose to stop making monthly payments to lenders. Instead, clients will elect to make a monthly deposit into a separate special purpose account to save money to pay for the settlements once negotiated. Freedom Debt Relief will then work to negotiate a settlement on behalf of its clients.

Unfortunately, this settlement process will affect your credit score. If you miss any minimum payments on your credit card or other debt, this will decrease your credit score. A four-year study by Freedom Debt Relief found that its customers' credit scores dropped in the first six months of the debt settlement program, then began to recover. According to the study, most customers' credit scores recovered to their previous position by the time they completed the Freedom Debt Relief program. It's smart to have a plan for boosting your credit score before you start the debt settlement process.

The graph below shows Freedom Debt Relief's customers' credit scores over time as they improve their debt through the company's program.

Freedom Debt Relief's customers' credit scores over time

How does Freedom Debt Relief work?

Freedom Debt Relief doesn't charge an upfront fee or any other fees until after debt is settled with creditors. This practice is standard for the industry. Debt relief companies, like National Debt Relief and Pacific Debt, also do not have upfront fees.

Upon enrollment, customers will open an FDIC-insured bank account that the client controls. Clients will put all of their money that would have gone toward paying their debt into this bank account instead. This is the main reason why this program hurts your credit score more than debt consolidation.

Next, FDR or its representatives or agents will negotiate with your creditors to settle on debt to pay.

Freedom Debt Relief makes money by charging fees on the enrolled debt amount. Its average fees are a bit high (around 22 percent fees on enrolled debt), but its services are thorough.

The company's ability to help clients find an easier road to financial freedom and paying off debt is highly valuable.

Should I have any concerns about Freedom Debt Relief?

Limited Availability

Freedom Debt Relief offers debt settlement programs in only 40 states. If Freedom Debt Relief does not offer its debt relief program in your state, you'll have to consider other debt settlement companies.

Most debt settlement companies have a minimum debt requirement to ensure a payout. A debt settlement company that charges by saved debt will not run into this problem as much.

Freedom Debt Relief requires a minimum debt amount of $7,500 (the amount of which is charged fees between 15 and 25 percent). While this threshold is low compared to other debt settlement companies, it does rule out people struggling with lower debt amounts.

An additional limitation with Freedom Debt Relief is that the company only works with debtors with unsecured debt. Freedom Debt Relief is not an option for those struggling with secured debt. The difference between unsecured and secured debt is that unsecured debt is not backed by assets or collateral, while secured debt is.

Limited Services

Some debt relief agencies provide services outside of debt settlement, such as credit counseling, advocating for a lower interest rate on your debt, or debt management plans. However, Freedom Debt Relief does not offer these services.

As such, if you choose to go with Freedom Debt Relief to help you work toward resolving your debt, be aware that you will be signing up for a debt settlement program, and may still receive calls from a debt collector or face the risk of a negative impact on your credit score.

Consumer Financial Protection Bureau Lawsuit

In 2019, the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau and Freedom Debt Relief reached an agreement that FDR would do the following:

  • Make it clear that in some cases, FDR may not be able to negotiate a debt if the creditor is unwilling to negotiate
  • Let consumers know that, in some cases, the creditor will only negotiate if the client is also directly involved in the negotiations, and that the consumer has the right to refuse to participate in the negotiations and can remove the debt from their program without penalty
  • Make it clearer to consumers under what circumstances they will be charged a fee
  • Stop charging fees on all accounts where the settlement amount was not reduced, or where the creditor wrote off the debt on their own
  • Make it clearer to consumers that, if they end their program early, any money left in their program savings account belongs to them, minus any funds earned by the company according to legal statutes
  • Pay restitution money to injured consumers
  • Pay a civil penalty

It's a good idea for potential clients to do some research on the process, consumers' rights, and industry standards for settlement companies before setting up a free consultation with a debt settlement service. It's also recommended to read recent customer reviews to get a better sense of Freedom Debt Relief's commitment to clients and how good its settlement services are.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Freedom Debt Relief?

expand_more

How does the Freedom Debt Relief program work?

expand_more

How does Freedom Debt Relief affect your credit?

expand_more

How much does Freedom Debt Relief cost?

expand_more

What kind of debt does Freedom Debt Relief work with?

expand_more

What happens if a creditor tries to sue me during settlement?

expand_more

Is forgiven debt taxable?

expand_more
Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Reviews

Write a Review
info
check_circle

Verified

search

Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Chandler Kostowicz

Milwaukee, WI
I completed this program early on my own with no thanks or credit giving to FDR. Their customer service is nice but every other thing about this program let me down. First off you get a different story every time you talk to a rep oh and American Express and Discover doesnt work with this company. Dont let them lie to you and say they do. I increases my biweekly contribution 5x and still only had 2 of my accounts settled for lower than what my enrollment debt was. One of them ended up costing me more because their fees are highway robbery. They have some of the worst legal representation who are pushovers to actual real lawyers and dont even show up to represent you if litigation is brought against you. For one of my accounts they tried to settle a repayment plan of an extra 2k a month or said to declare bankruptcy which call me crazy most people in a debt repayment plan probably don't have an extra $2k a month to pay. I 100% would have been better working with the card companies and getting things settled without hurting my credit so much. My biggest problem is if they say they're experts on debt relief no honest company takes them seriously. I never felt like they had my back even in the graduation process where everything had been paid back. I asked a few times for my fees to be refunded since I paid more into the program than my orginal enrollment debt. They have firmly said no. Im out of the program but will never recommend them to anyone who is in need of debt relief. I was able to contribute more from rasises and bonuses at work but understand not everyone is in that position and would tell you if you're reading this to steer clear of FDR because they will do nothing for you but lie, wreck your credit, and take your money. Dont trust the reviews on their website go directly to the bbb or another 3rd party reputable reviews website and you can see FDR true colors. Anyone going through a tough time call the creditor you're struggling with directly and they will do a lot more for you than FDR guranteed.

2 months ago

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Hi Chandler, while the experience that you had in our program is not the experience that we want any client to have and we are disheartened to hear that you are not satisfied with out services, the feedback that you have provided is valuable and we do take it seriously. We are especially disappointed to hear that you did not feel supported throughout the duration of your program. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we wish you the best of luck in your future.

1 month ago

check_circle

Verified

search

Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Elizabeth lujan

Phoenix, AZ
I have no idea how to contact someone from this programm! I was given a number to create an account or get the application but I am lost!!! I need someone to communicate with me! I need the chase card to stop calling me and sending text!!!

1 month ago

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Hello Elizabeth, we are sorry to hear that you're having a hard time contacting us. If you are looking to enroll in the program, Certified Debt Consultants are available: Seven days a week from 8:00 AM to 11:00 PM EST. Simply call 800-852-1431 to speak to a Certified Debt Consultant. If you are currently enrolled in the program, please call 800-655-6303 to speak to a Client Services Advocate. Client Services is open Mon–Thur 8 AM to 9 PM EST, Fri 8 AM to 8 PM EST and Sat–Sun 9 AM to 7 PM EST.

3 weeks ago

check_circle

Verified

search

Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Shelly Lamont

Phoenix, AZ
If I could give a zero I would! I've been paying money on time and y'all were supposed to contact my credit cards as my representative. I was sent a letter about my Bank of America card and asked for this to be top priority! Monday I was served with a lawsuit from BOA. I don't believe that y'all represented me at all and now I'm being sued because of your negligence of my account.

6 months ago

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

We never intended to disappoint you, Shelly. To clarify, we do not reach out to creditors prior to making the account a priority. We are aware that during these times, the client may be at risk for getting sued but we’re prepared to handle these types of collection strategies and have engaged a network of attorneys, the Legal Partner Network, that specialize in resolving debt litigation cases. We know that it is frustrating when creditors choose litigation as an attempt to collect on a balance. At this time, we recommend you to call our Customer Service Team at 800-655-6303 in order to begin the process to submit the documents to our legal department so that they can begin working on this account. Our Client Services team is available 7 days a week to answer any other questions that may come up. Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief to reach your financial goals.

6 months ago

check_circle

Verified

search

Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Porter

Brea, CA
I don't like freedom debt relief, I could have done better on my own, all FDR does is wait until the client gives up then settles for example debt was $1,000.00 at time of settlement went up to $1,800.00 then FDR settled for $1,100.00 I could have done that on my own. Only one make money is FDR

2 months ago

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Porter we are sorry to hear that you are unhappy with one of your settlements. The reality is, we cannot guarantee the same savings on all of your accounts but we work very hard to get you the best savings across all of your accounts. You can contact our Client Services team seven days a week by calling 1(800)655-6303 or email [email protected]

2 months ago

check_circle

Verified

search

Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

THenry1206

Baytown, TX
I feel as if I could have done this on my own. I have not received any advantage by signing on with FDR. Seven months into this contract and they try to sell you off to a sister company so their loan will be paid off and now your paying another company and I feel as if I’ve been hoodwinked. By the time all is said and done I’ve not benefited at all. I will have paid FDR as much or more than if I did it myself. I would say to anyone asking my opinion to call the credit card companies yourself.

3 months ago

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Can you please provide us with your contact information so we can access your account information?

3 months ago

check_circle

Verified

search

Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Me Too

Gaithersburg, MD
They're dishonest. They do reduce debt. I was asked to offer a review before I even got into the program. It costs you 22% of your debt. Total debt, not what they settled for. If they can't or won't help you get it below 50% of your owed amount, they question you for declining the offer. I applied for a loan to pay off the debt, got denied, then this company called me to offer me this program. The loan was never a real offer. After a year, they offered a loan at 25+% APR to fund the rest of this FDR account. Asking me "don't you want to do the right thing?" on the phone. I said, "sure, that's why I applied for a loan to pay off debts and your company declined me." then he had nothing to say. If I had taken it, it would've been 110% of my owed amount total.

5 months ago

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Hello, thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you feel this way about our company. An account specialist will reach out to address your formal complaint. Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief.

5 months ago

check_circle

Verified

search

Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Timothy Boyd

I used them for almost a year and put over 3 thousand dollars into my account. The debt settlements that were settled and paid didn't even total 1000 dollars, so between settlement fees and other monthly charges they got over 2000 thousand dollars from me. Then once I canceled the account they took the remaining money that was in my account and said that i still owed them more. DO WHATEVER YOU MUST DO TO GET AWAY FROM freedom debt relief, RUN, CRAWL, HIDE, JUST DONT WASTE YOUR TIME WITH THEM. I learned on my own that the companies that we owe will work with us and make payment plays that we can actually make and keep thwe debt from collections.

2 years ago

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

We are so sorry to hear you were not satisfied with our program. Settlement fees are outlined in your contract documents and are collected once the settlement is authorized and a payment has been made. We guarantee savings for our clients. Termination during ongoing settlements hurts you because it does not allow us to continue to pay your creditors when you have already paid for the service. A member of our team will be reaching out shortly to explain in detail. Thank you.

2 years ago

check_circle

Verified

search

Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Regina Simpson

I have been disappointed in Freedom debt relief. I do not think you were up front about how the creditors would be handled nor about how you destroyed my credit.

1 month ago

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Regina, we are very sorry to hear that you are disappointed with our program. We understand that the impacts of the program are difficult for our clients at first, but our program is designed for people struggling with debt who are either unable to continue holding things together or are about to reach that point. Please reach out to customer service at (800) 655-6303 or [email protected] for any additional help you may need.

1 month ago

check_circle

Verified

search

Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Pat

San Antonio, TX
I have had excellent service until yesterday when I called yesterday (02-23-2022). My problem wasn't resolved and I was very unhappy with the response I received from your office today. I contacted my advocate, Pam M After my call to your office and discussed my concerns with her. She is the only "voice of reason" that I talked to today. She is working hard to get a better answer for my concerns. I can't tell you how much I appreciate her help! But your office and responses were unacceptable and very disappointing. If I could give a zero rating, I would but instead I gave a 1.

4 months ago

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Hello Pat, can you please provide us with your contact information, so that we can locate your account in our system?

4 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Lauren

Coram, NY
Everything I have been told from the start has been inaccurate. They misguided us on the total length of the program as well as how and when debts would be paid. Customer service is a joke. Everytime I call I get a different answer. I needed a payoff for one account and kept getting wrong information and it ended up costing me $1000 out of my own pocket that fdr wants to hear nothing about. Even though I have been calling for 4 weeks and all my calls are recorded with them giving us wrong information. I can't believe there are so many 5 star reviews. The majority must be fake. Beware!

4 months ago

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

We would like an opportunity to speak with you about the mentioned concerns, Lauren. One of our experienced representatives will be reviewing your account shortly. We will be sure to reach out to you if necessary. Thank you for allowing Freedom Debt Relief the opportunity to serve your financial needs.

4 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

T.

Fort Worth, TX
The list of negatives outweigh the positives of this company. Do NOT do it. I was sweet talked into going this route instead of bankruptcy and I strongly regret it. At this point I have paid too many fees and given too much money to walk away. If I had to do it over again it is a hard NO from me for FDR. Customer service is horrible, no one ever has answers for you that actually mean anything. Constantly told to check the dashboard for answers to questions, but the information is always the same. You never get to talk to the same person twice and no one ever seems to know what is going on. Oh and if a creditor decides to file a lawsuit... Good luck. You are given NOTHING as far as information. "It has been referred to our legal partner network" is the response. However the legal partner network does not communicate with you at all. Even better is that once referred to their legal partners, FDR goes hands off and you have to hope and pray it is being handled properly. I despise this company and strongly regret making the decision to use them. Creditors have reached out to me with settlement offers and I trusted the program so I denied them. Guess what..! Yes FDR settled the debt however, it was MORE than what I could have settled it for myself.

7 months ago

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Thank you for reviewing your experience, T. Its never our goal to disappoint you, we would like to communicate with you directly to address these concerns of yours. Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief.

7 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Floyd Kaster

San Diego, CA
I enrolled in a 4 year debt reduction program with Freedom Debt Relief in February of 2018 with a monthly payment plan. October of 2020, I paid off the total balance of the estimated debt including estimated fees to settle the remaining debts. It is now October of 2021 and the debt's are now settled. FDR actually removed a unsettled debt without my knowledge nor authorization. I have exchanged 38 emails with FDR since October 2020 and continue paying service fees monthly to FDR. This is effecting my credit and continues to waste my time. I'm very disappointed with Freedom Debt Relief! I DO NOT RECOMMEND FREEDOM DEBT RELIEF.

8 months ago

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Hi Floyd , thank you for taking the time to review your experience. We strive to provide great service and provide debt relief. We take feedback very seriously and for those reasons an account specialist will reach out to you shortly regarding your experience. Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief.

8 months ago

check_circle

Verified

search

Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

James E. Rodriguez

Dallas, TX
I misunderstood. I thought this was a debt consolidation program. I was not aware that my debtors would not be contacted and informed that I wanted to pay off my debts. Instead I was informed to stop making payments, which in turn destroys my credit rating. Even though I had debt challenges, my credit rating was at 750 before FDR and now is at 530. What have I gained after two years that I could not have accomplished by continuing to make monthly payments on a timely basis.

1 year ago

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Hello, James. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We would like an opportunity to discuss the mentioned concerns with you. One of our experienced team members will be reaching out to you shortly. We truly appreciate your review. Please know we are constantly trying to improve our communication with our client and we are currently working on it as we speak.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified

search

Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Nancy Yarusso

I am disappointed in how my case was handled. Arrangements were made for one of the three creditors which left no money to deal with the other two creditors until 3 years had passed. I was told I'd be debt free in three years. There was no negotiation with the first creditor so I could have made that arrangement myself. I didn't need Freedom to do that so what good did it do to pay Freedom for doing nothing. The attorney I spoke with, Mr Anderson I believe was less than helpful. I found him to be condescending and rude.

3 years ago

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

We're very sorry to hear of your disappointments, Ms. Yarusso. Our negotiators take every opportunity available to negotiate the enrolled balances. However, we completely understand the frustration you feel regarding the aforementioned account balance. Although you've decided to discontinue in our debt relief program, we would still like an opportunity to speak with you in an attempt to address the concerns you had that led you to your decision. A team member will be reaching out to you shortly using the contact information we have on file. We appreciate the opportunity to service your financial needs. Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified

search

Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Lynne

They basically lie to you after 8mos and making every deposit I was required to make they still had not settled one thing every time I called customer service I got fed a bunch of bs and told everything was good. I now have two lawsuits against me with creditors as they did not do as promised and I am now facing bankruptcy. Read the consumer affairs reports and lawsuits against this company and you will see they basically lie and you end up in worse shape.

3 years ago

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

We are terribly sorry to hear of your experience in our program. Understandably, receiving notice that a legal suit has been filed by an enrolled creditor is quite frustrating. It is true that some creditors are more aggressive than others. Therefore, we have a sense of how aggressive they may or may not be based on this experience. We can share that insight with clients during the initial debt evaluation and put plans in place to prepare if threats of legal action happen. We are proud of the value we provide to our customers. Our services, including coaching, are fully and transparently disclosed. No consumer complaints have been filed with the CFPB; the high satisfaction with our services by consumers whom the CFPB claims were injured speaks for itself. We hope our regulators will listen. Please read our formal response. Please know that it is disappointing to learn that your best option at this time is to move forward with filing bankruptcy. We like to consider our program as an alternative option to keep from having to use this option. However, we also know that bankruptcy can provide a real fresh start for some consumers. We wish you nothing but the best. Thank you for allowing Freedom Debt Relief the opportunity to service your financial needs.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified

search

Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Lisa

Baltimore, MD
Their customer support is awesome. They're really good. They were very friendly and they're very alert and very knowledgeable. They didn't really keep me up to date. They wouldn't let me know what was being paid until after the fact until you wound up calling them and saying what's going on. I have actually been sued five creditors because freedom debt has not paid anything on it and I didn't know how they were doing it. I didn't appreciate it.

3 years ago

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Dear Lisa, We’re sorry to hear about the trouble you have had with the program thus far! We definitely do inform our clients when we have reached a settlement on their accounts and we cannot move forward with a settlement unless we have the client's authorization. When you enroll your accounts in the program we are not paying them all at once. Our program works on negotiating based on the funds available in your dedicated account. We do not keep anything from our clients and we always encourage our clients to visit their client dashboard to see the status of their accounts as we will only contact you at the time we have reached a settlement. We truly care about our clients and always have the best interest for them. Please reach out to our client services department at (800) 655-6303 or if you have any questions or comments regarding your account. Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief!

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified

search

Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Amanda Leonard

Phoenix, AZ
I had no idea this company too so much money. Now I can’t get out of the program. My score dropped. I get calls all the time. I hate this program. Don’t use it

2 months ago

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Amanda we appreciate your feedback. Creditor calls are a normal part of the process, when you stop making payments creditors call to collect on the debt, unfortunately there is no way around this but we do have resources that can help you manage these calls. Keep in mind that our settlement fees are bigger savings than having to pay your creditors the full 100% of the debt owed + interest % + any additional fees they charge. Yes, your creditor may have presented a lower settlement amount, but that is just to pull you back in so they could hit you with having to pay the full balance. Our settlements are secure and offer you a reduction in your debt that will lead you to become financially free. If you have any questions, just give us a call at 800-655-6303. Our Customer Service Representatives are ready to help. Thank you for letting Freedom Debt Relief be your partner on your journey to a debt-free future.

2 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Rafael Lasso

Queens, NY
I do not understand why all this people give a high rating' This company take so much money from US t, I ask for help on a terrible situation< I have a loan for 9.000 Dol and they get almost 5,000.00 so at the end I pay to THIS PEOPLE OF FREEDOM DEBIT RELIEF 8,000 Dollars I save 1000 Dollars, and this account go any way to delinquent account so my credit is now big damage' Please people reed very well what you sign, this people are the worst!!

6 months ago

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Hi Rafael, thank you for taking the time to review your experience. We strive to provide great service and provide debt relief. We take feedback very seriously and for those reasons an account specialist will reachout to you shortly regarding your experience. Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief.

6 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Michelle Goodrich

Chicopee, MA
Horrible!! Would not recommend. Check BBB website for other very unhappy shady practices! Won't let me leave a rating of ZERO stars! What you owe keeps changing, extra fee's get added and completion date was off almost 1yr. They could never provide a direct bill showing what you owe for a payoff amount to settle sooner via a repeatable loan company. WARNING----DO NOT USE!! Check BBB website for other very unhappy shady practices!

7 months ago

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Hi Michelle, thank you for taking the time to review your experience. We strive to provide great service and provide debt relief. We take feedback very seriously and for those reasons an account specialist will reach out to you shortly regarding your experience. Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief.

7 months ago

check_circle

Verified

search

Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Sharon

Denton, MD
They said not to talk to our debtors and after I had paid over 8000 dollars to two of them because I was late on a pyt once in three years they said the debtor said its null and void and I have to start again. At the end it would only save me 92 dollars. That's it.

1 year ago

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Sharon, we're sorry to hear that you are not pleased with our services. We never intend for our clients to have a poor experience and we'd like to speak with you. We will be reaching out to you shortly to obtain your contact information. Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief!

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified

search

Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Chester Riese

Socorro, NM
My experience with Freedom Debt Relief has been great. I didn't know which way to turn until I talked to them. They have managed getting my account to where I have not been stressed out. It is great to know that everything is being taken care of as I could not go much longer. I am so glad to have them to help me.

1 year ago

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Thank you, Chester, for your amazing feedback! Our team takes pride in providing world-class customer service to our clients and we're always here for you. If you need any assistance, please call us at 800-655-6303. Thank you for being a valued client of Freedom Debt Relief!

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified

search

Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Anonymous

they are not a good company. they cost way more then they said they would at the start. bt the time iam done paying off my debts there will be no savings ,just about the same price as it was when i entered program but my credit is totaly bad now

2 years ago

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

We appreciate your feedback and apologize for any disappointments you've experienced in your program savings. Our team would like an opportunity to further discuss the concerns mentioned. Would you please privet message us your contact information so we can reach out?

2 years ago

check_circle

Verified

search

Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Anonymous

I wasn't inform that I have to pay more money that I am giving already if I got sued. So after all the money that I put in it was a waste of time because I still had to file bankruptcy something that I didn't want to do from the beginning.

3 years ago

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

We appreciate your feedback. Our team is deeply saddened to hear our program was not the right fit for you. There are rare instances with creditors where additional funds are needed, however we provide multiple options to resolve these scenarios on behalf of our client. A member of our team would love to discuss your account in detail and will be reaching out shortly. Thank you.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified

search

Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Stressed to the MAX in Kentucky

In a worse situation after joining then before. Said don't worry. We have NLLG (lawyers), payments won't go up.Law group offered 1 thing, did another. Now I'm left with higher monthly payments than I had before I joined.And only 6 days to come up with an extra $600.00 & $255.00 for 9 more.

3 years ago

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

We're so sorry to hear that one of your creditors is suing you! We know it can be very stressful and we want to make sure you have all the resources! We will be reaching out to you privately.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified

search

Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Joe Puleo

Hopewell Junction, NY
Not happy at all with the company. This is not helping me solve my debt problems faster, it’s just moving my debt from the creditors to freedom debt relief. Between the damage done to my credit from not paying my bills because they told me to stop doing that and the amount I’m paying in fees for their “help” I should have just kept paying off my debt because in the long run I’m paying pretty much the exact same amount. This is nothing but a shell game that moves your debt to them and then they charge you fees that are almost the amount of your debt reduction. I shouldn’t have wasted my time.

9 months ago

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

We never intended to disappoint you, Joe. Our goal is to support our clients' every step. An account specialist will be reviewing your account shortly. We will be sure to reach out to you if necessary. Thank you for allowing Freedom Debt Relief the opportunity to serve your financial needs.

9 months ago

check_circle

Verified

search

Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

cheryl L sioma

Boston, VA
I applied to FDR to get a loan, after receiving many, many, ads in the mail. I was turned down. However, they encouraged me to apply to FDR and I did., EVEN THO NOT ONE OF MY PAYMENTS WAS BEHIND OR LATE. after a year, they bugged me for 2 months to get a loan, through them, which I refused! Now they seam so happy to be paying off my cards....but.......They waited till over a year of late charges have incurred, and then claim they are paying off my card by half. well, if I remove all the late charges, then they only paid off the interest. Oh, most government programs do not charge for the same services. FDR charges you a lot! Not at all happy with them and you will NEVER be able to speak to a person. EVER.

9 months ago

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

We never intended to disappoint you, Cheryl. Our goal is to support our clients' every step. An account specialist will be reviewing your account shortly. We will be sure to reach out to you if necessary. Thank you for allowing Freedom Debt Relief the opportunity to serve your financial needs.

9 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Kelly Parde

Las Vegas, NV
I was targeted by Freedom Debt Relief back in November of 2020 during the peak of COVID. Like many other Americans, who were facing unemployment, eviction from their homes, and the fear of how to feed their families. This company targeted me based off of my overwhelming credit card debt and unmanageable interest rates. I was in a deep hole with my credit and unable to get a loan to consolidate everything and this company offered me hope. They promised to be my partner and to help lessen my debt. I was at my worst, and my credit card minimum payments had reached more than my rent but I was still paying all of my cards on time and my credit was in good standing. This company convinced me to stop all payments, assuring me that once they reached a default status they would quickly settle out my debts to lower them and that my credit would be impacted but I would be able to rebuild as I promised to get me out of debt "quicker." I agreed, they presented a "plan" that they put together selling me on the idea of being completely out of debt within 4 years if I made all my deposits. My deposits of $620.00 was half of what I had been paying in my monthly payments. I was convinced that these people wanted to help me. As months went by my credit got worse and worse as I was told this was a good thing. That being in default gave them more leverage to negotiate my settlements. Trusting this company and allowing for them to continue to keep me in a default status only put me in a more compromisable position. I have no credit, my credit history is now completely destroyed as I took their guidance and all my accounts are in default and now charged off to collection agencies. To extort even more money from you, this company claims to partner with a sister company called "Consolidation Plus." PLEASE if you are reading this PLEASE PLEASE do NOT work with them. I am glad I had this call with their representative Seyhan. It was clear while I was on the call she was reading a script and the call was a sales call. She made it sound like this was a great program to consolidate my debt to have everything paid off and for my credit to bounce back quicker. I was in a panicked state now, I have no credit, my credit history is ruined and I am a single mother with no options to even rent a home. Seyhan threw the BIGGEST punch to my stomach, when I found out not only that Freedom Debt Relief had only paid $1,370 to my creditors and that they collected $3,316 in fees before ANY of my debt had been resolved. She then to add more pressure into me signing their loan agreement told me my monthly payments would be $950 ($330 more than my FDR deposits) and that Freedom Debt Relief had extended my program from 4 years (the number they assured me I would be debt free by) to and additional 2 years, putting me at 6 years and adding an additional $14,880.00 on to my payments. I sat in my living room feeling consumed with fear, tears and regret. I have been so stressed and out of my mind with fear of what to do or what I would do if I lost my home. What will I do when I need to buy a new car? What am I going to do? I started feeling numbing in my face and have had the fear of a stroke. I've been under so much stress. I am begging you to please, do not put your trust within this company. I am not going through legal routes to recoup my money as this company is not compliant with the Federal Trade Commission and they are NOT in the business of helping you. They make you apply to see if you qualify for a "financial hardship" to be offered this program as a sales tactic to insert fear of losing out on an opportunity. It's a sales and psychology tactic that sickens me to my stomach. There are millions of Americans facing my exact reality and this company is praying for Americans in their weakest moments. Some at their absolute worse, who feel like they have NO other solutions and they are extorting money from the most broken. It makes me sick and I am beyond sick and mad at myself for trusting this company. If anyone is reading this who knows of an attorney or anyone who can help please help.

10 months ago

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Hello, Ms. Parde. We're so sorry to hear about your experience within our program. We never intend for our clients to have a poor experience. Please keep in touch with your assigned point of contact to reach a resolution. We greatly appreciate you choosing Freedom Debt Relief.

10 months ago

check_circle

Verified

search

Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Amanda Brogan

Boyertown, PA
Slow to make settlements, wasn't very helpful when calling customer service with issues. Closed the account when I "graduated" and never informed me.

6 months ago

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

We are sorry to have disappointed you, Amanda. We need to wait for the monthly deposits to build up in order to have enough funds to settle the accounts. Strategically, however, this could be a good thing! The more and more the client's accounts go past due, creditors become more and more willing to accept a lower percentage of what is owed. In addition, we always send out a graduation packet once a client is completed with the program. If you did not receive this packet, please call us at 800-655-6303. We're available 7 days a week to support your financial needs. Thank you for allowing Freedom Debt Relief the opportunity to serve your financial needs.

6 months ago

check_circle

Verified

search

Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Jen Gurzick

Chicago, IL
FDR is not great to work with, customer service is not great and I ended up having court appearances as they could not settle my debt very well. I ended up owing $3k more than I should have. Very disappointing.

5 months ago

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Jen we are sorry to hear that you are unhappy with the service and progress of your program. An account specialist will reach out to address your concerns. Thank you for being a valued client of Freedom Debt Relief.

4 months ago

check_circle

Verified

search

Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Daniel Cedillos

I give 2 because I got to put all my payment in one however the fees are very high but I'm free now with 45 late payment in my credit report

11 months ago

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Daniel, thank you for bringing this to our attention. We would like an opportunity to speak with you about the mentioned concerns. One of our experienced representatives will be reaching out.

11 months ago

check_circle

Verified

search

Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Amanda Polzin

Milwaukee, WI
Awful. You never called for our followup, you continue to take fees from me but you aren't doing ANYTHING. Not a single thing has been negotiated, not a one. I've had 3 deposits and all you do is take fees, even though you say you don't take fees until the first negotiation. It's all lies.

7 months ago

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Hi Amanda, thank you for taking the time to review your experience. We strive to provide great service and provide debt relief. We take feedback very seriously and for those reasons an account specialist will reach out to you shortly regarding your experience. Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief.

7 months ago

check_circle

Verified

search

Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Nelson

Lamar, MO
They charge too much and they take all of their money out first before they pay the bills that are supposeed to be paid. We're paying almost six hundred dollars a month now for that.

3 years ago

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Thank you for your honest feedback, Nelson. We process our fees after a settlement has been authorized by you. As our client, please know that we have your best interest in mind when it comes to settling your accounts and distributing your funds to your creditors. If you have questions about our fees and how they are processed, we encourage you to reach out to our client services team by calling (800) 655-6303 or email . Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified

search

Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Anonymous

Adamsville, TN
Lied about a situation with money I had left in my account, when called about it I was told something totally different that previously told, it's just been a confusion and mess

3 years ago

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

We're very sorry to hear that you having been experiencing some confusion! We would be more than happy to resolve the concerns that you're having! We strive to make sure each client is aware of their debt relief program and a smooth porcess! Please reach out to our client services department at (800) 655-6303 or for further assistance.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified

search

Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Adam

Isanti, MN
You pay more fees by the time your done then you originally owed the save nothing and your left with destroyed credit and never told that with every account you settle they will add more fees in the thousands

3 years ago

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

We're sorry to hear your disappointment with the program, Adam. We would love to review your account with you and hopefully resolve the concerns you are having. We will reach out to you privately.

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Dean Freeman

Detroit, MI
They lie!!! On a 4 year program, now 2 months shy of 6 years. They steal from the clients then say oh “ you “ messed up. They sit on your deposits to say that you have voided the account. Nothing but lies. One customer service person says your all set , congratulations on graduating. 3 days later someone else says you don’t have enough funds, your account is void. Can’t get a straight answer from anyone there. Customer service now acts like customers are burdens!!!

9 months ago

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

We never intended to disappoint you, Dean. Our goal is to support our clients' every step. An account specialist will be reviewing your account shortly. We will be sure to reach out to you if necessary. Thank you for allowing Freedom Debt Relief the opportunity to serve your financial needs.

9 months ago

check_circle

Verified

search

Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Shawn Pontius

Warren, MI
I would suggest for somebody to reach out to your creditors and do what FDR does on your own... With the amount of debt that increased waiting on the settlements and fees after fees that FDR charges I am paying so much more than I expected. Read your contract carefully. I wish I had been more diligent. Fees on top of fees. I am not happy but at this point I'm stuck in it.

9 months ago

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

We never intended to disappoint you, Shawn! Remember our clients are carrying a credit card balance from month to month, interest is charged on a daily basis, and it affects both the existing balance and any new purchases that post to their account. The interest you’re charged one day also becomes part of the balance accruing interest the next. In other words, credit card interest compounds daily. Even with our settlement fee, maintenance fee, and taxes, those totals could not exceed the compound rates like credit cards. If you have any questions, just give us a call at 800-655-6303. Our Customer Service Representatives are ready to help. Thank you for letting Freedom Debt Relief be your partner on your journey to a debt-free future.

9 months ago

check_circle

Verified

search

Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Charles Power

Las Vegas, NV
My first settlement agreement came in where they would settle for half the amount owed. The debt is almost 4 years old and then add their fee in it was almost the same as paying the creditor in full. Not to mention their monthly service fee. I would %100 be able to negotiate better terms by doing it myself. After my experience with the gentlemen that cancelled my account, I will make sure anyone on my team never refers anyone to Freedom Debt Relifef for debt consolidation

9 months ago

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

We never intended to disappoint you, Charles. Our goal is to support our clients' every step. Even with the given circumstances, we are here to support you every step of the way. Our Client Services team is available 7 days a week to answer any other questions that may come up. Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief to reach your financial goals.

9 months ago

check_circle

Verified

search

Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Angela Wilson Pasley

Hereford, AZ
I'm very disappointed with this company. I had paid my monthly payments on time, every month and I have twice received a summons on my accounts. Years ago, I worked with a different company that arranged monthly payments with all of my creditors and the collection calls STOPPED after a few months and the accounts were being paid. FDR just seems to want to wait until they are written off or I get taken to court before they do anything. I wish I had gone with a different company. We are a YEAR into this and I still get calls and just got summons last week. I would give zero stars if I could.

11 months ago

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Angela, we're so sorry to hear about your experience with our team. We never intend for our clients' to have a poor experience with us. We would like to speak with you regarding your concerns. We will be reaching out to you to get your contact information shortly. Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief!

11 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Ben Palmer

Belton, TX
Doesn’t save you money like they say because after all their fees you pay I regret it all the way

1 month ago

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Hello Ben, we are sorry to hear that you are disappointed with our service efforts. Keep in mind that our settlement fees are bigger savings than having to pay your creditors the full 100% of the debt owed + interest % + any additional fees they charge. If you have any questions, just give us a call at 800-655-6303. Our Customer Service Representatives are ready to help. Thank you for letting Freedom Debt Relief be your partner on your journey to a debt-free future.

1 month ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Jeepgirl67

Houston, TX
Freedom Debt Relief made enrollment fairly easy. They handle the arrangements and make it easy to settle your debts with minimal effort on your part. However they do charge a fee for each debt they settle usually a percentage of the debt enrolled which seems a little high to me in retrospect. Unfortunately I have had one of my accounts go into litigation and have had an extremely difficult time getting updates from the law firm and FDR. Information is either not notated on my account or passed along to the other party in a timely manner and FDR is not willing or able to provide specifics or transparency when it comes to where they are at in the process with the litigation account. Most of the CSR reps are as helpful as they can be without having all the information from the attorney but there are a few that are downright rude and one specifically that told me to call back and talk to someone else before hanging up on me when I asked for her supervisor. I did call back and speak with someone else who was absolutely amazing and couldn’t provide additional information but did give me a timeframe of when I could expect next steps and more transparency in the process. I’m extremely disappointed with the way this account has been handled so far but this last call has given me hope that it will be resolved soon.

5 months ago

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Thank you for reviewing your experience, we are very sorry to hear that you are having a poor experience. A specialist will be reaching out regarding this matter. Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief.

5 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

J. Buck

Fair Oaks, CA
I submitted a rather large claim. My smaller accounts were settled first allowing my larger accounts to go to litigation costing me more money out of pocket as well as no savings found. I feel that FDR did not have my best interests in mind and have resulted in getting quick money from me and leaving me with more in payment than originally discussed and signing up for. My larger accounts should never have been let go so long they went to litigation. If more money was needed to make sure they did not then it should have been brought up. Extremely upset and disappointed. My deposits are now up over $100 than originally discussed with no savings at all.

1 year ago

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

It is disheartening to hear how dissatisfied you are with our service efforts. Our negotiators have built relationships with thousands of creditors. We know when to settle and how to prioritize your settlements – all based on your individual situation in terms of how much you owe and to whom. Unfortunately, some creditors are indeed more aggressive than others. Please know there is no benefit to keeping a balance enrolled any longer than necessary. We welcome any questions you have regarding our negotiation efforts and your account in general. Client Services is available 7 days a week to support your financial journey. Thank you for allowing Freedom Debt Relief the opportunity to serve your financial needs.

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Michael Mauro

Buffalo, NY
Been faithful to my payments towards the program since day one, however the pandemic has caused major issues with my finances. I been out of work 6 months so I asked if there was any way to ease the payments in regards to their charges, freedom debt relief takes a ⅓ of my monthly payment for fees. I understand when a negotiation for payment has been made that payment should be made but freedom debt relief basically told me they are unwilling to help you in regards to their fees due to the pandemic situation. Their solution was pay or loose the negotiated term. They've shown me just like everyone else they're not here to really help they're here to make a buck off your hardships. So I continue to barely make my monthly payments to them while everything else holds in the balance. They're representatives basically drives fear into you by telling you if you don't make full payment we won't negotiate any further and your negotiated debt term with your debtor's will be lost.

1 year ago

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

We apologize, Mr. Mauro, if our level of customer service has not been up to par. As your advocates, our responsibility is to educate our clients of all potential outcomes regarding their accounts. If we recognize a potential negative impact on any ongoing settlements, we must make sure our clients fully understand how this could impact their overall progress in our program. We would never intentionally make our clients feel threatened in any manner about the voluntary service we provide. This is a hardship program, and we are dedicated to serving our clients' financial needs as much as possible. Please let us know if you have any other questions or concerns we may address for you at this time. Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief as your guide to financial freedom.

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Ned Clark

Los Angeles, CA
I was initially Pleased with Freedom Debt Relief (FDR)'s reputation and `Industry Footprint' as a large, responsible & effective Debt Negotiating Company - because doing this requires both Knowledge and Skills which I don't possess - and don't have the time to LEARN- much less spend handling these issues myself...I need to devote my waking hours to trying to keep my Tiny Family Business ALIVE. But over the last 12 months (corresponding with the COVID Pandemic), that satisfaction has been turned-into Angry Frustration by a SERIES of "Panic Situations" - ALL traceable to a mix of FDR's lackadaisical handling of documents & phone calls, as well as Ineffective Communication not just between FDR & myself, but between FDR & Debt-Holders - and even FDR and the "Legal Partner" which THEY (FDR) `Set Me Up With'. A GALLING example: In 4thQ 2019, I received an EXCELLENT Settlement Offer from CitiBank to clear $4,300 in card debt for $1,188.00; I made a Full Report to FDR, and presumed it had been `handled'...that is, until 1stQ 2021 - when FDR expected me to THRILLED' that they'd JUST Negotiated settlement wit the SAME Bank - for $3,660.00 (THREE TIMES AS MUCH AS THE ORIGINAL OFFER!). Now I've been Served with a SECOND Civil Lawsuit from DISCOVER's Collection Lawyers for the FULL / Original amount on the card - PLUS new Court Filing Fees - all because FDR `Fiddled while Debts Burned' for FOUR MONTHS re; over a prior Power-of-Attorney under a Negotiated Settlement. When my Business Income COLLAPSED due to California's (Necessary) COVID Shut-Downs, I'd sought a few "Financial Hardship Wavers" with FDR to reduce- or skip their bi-monthly Debits from my bank; the only problem was, FDR FAILED to advise the Debt-Holder OR my "Legal Partner" (National Litigation Law Group) of the situation...which triggered the Debt-Holder to "Terminate the Agreement for Non-Compliance" - oh, and with NO personal contacts about the `Problem' NLLG DROPPED my Representation...by email. Now DISCOVER's Collection Lawyers want 100% of the Original Debt PLUS new Fees for their Collections Actions. So, W.T.A.H. am I Paying Freedom Debt Relief to (1) NOT do Their Job, and/or (2) Force ME to have to `Do FDR's Job' of contacting the Debt-Holder & FDR's Legal Partner to correct- and work-around FDR's "Errors & Omissions"?

1 year ago

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

We appreciate you voicing your concerns regarding your recent experiences, Mr. Clark. This is not our intervention by far. We prefer our clients to feel well-supported, especially during challenging times such as these. An account specialist will be reaching out to you shortly concerning the matter. Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief as your guide to financial freedom.

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Gary Hall

Jacksonville, FL
They lied to me told me the only fees I would pay were the monthly fees that came out of my deposits now I find out I have to pay a percentage of what my debt was on top of those fees I also settled one of my own debts and now they are charging me a percentage for doing their job They are super slow at getting anything done and will not communicate with you unless you harass them Totally do not recommend this debt relief company find an honest one Don't be like me and get stuck with this trash Because now no matter what I have to pay them the fees even if I cancel myself out of the program They didn't tell me any of that either They are a bunch of liars if I could have gave them 0 stars that's what I would give them

1 year ago

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

We are disheartened to hear how frustrated you are with the costs of using our program, Mr. Hall. Yes, we do collect a settlement fee. However, our settlement fees are not charged nor collected until we've reduced the amount owed to the creditor and the first payment has been accepted toward the terms of the agreement. We are more than happy to explain the details of your account in greater detail. An account specialist will be reaching out to you shortly concerning the matter. Thank you for allowing Freedom Debt Relief the opportunity to serve your financial needs.

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

John W

Las Vegas, NV
I signed up and enrolled nearly $15,000 of debt with FDR. I was told that it would take a minimum of 6 months for my first settlement. I even deposited $3,500 into my dedicate account within the first two weeks and had another $3,000 on the way before I cancelled my program. They settled one account from Bank of America (original balance $750) for $450.00. Add on the 25% fee they charge per debt ($194.00 for this account) which only saved me $106. I could have settled myself and actually paid $300 per the bank rep I spoke with. This would have saved me an additional $350. Had I let them settle all my debts, say at 50% I would have paid $7,500. Add on their 25% fee of $3,750, I would have paid a total of $11,250 to settle $15,000 in debt. I did it on my own and settled $15,000 of debt for $6,125, saving me $8,875. So two suggestions: 1) If you don't have a decent amount of money to throw at your creditors like I did, go with the FDR program. However; 2) If you have a little extra that you can use, do it yourself and save a considerable amount of money.

1 year ago

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

We appreciate you for taking the time to share your feedback with us, John. We agree that our program is not the best solution for every debt situation. However, real-life data shows that the Freedom Debt Relief program has helped many consumers. We wish you the absolute best in all your financial endeavors. Thank you for allowing Freedom Debt Relief the opportunity to serve your financial needs.

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Pipersix6

Minneapolis, MN
They flood you with Auto Dialer calls and send emails that you can't reply to or use to communicate with. No different than a creditor. I have invested over 8,000 into the program than when I asked to discuss my concerns they canceled saying I did not make my deposit which is not true, I never missed a deposit. They base their settlements on the charge-off amount plus interest since the date of the last payment. This is just wrong. A percentage of an amount that the creditor did not declare as a loss? FDR also claimed they would handle a 1099 if I received one. They did not do so. I plan to sure!

1 year ago

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Hello, thank you for bringing this to our attention. We would like an opportunity to speak with you about the mentioned concerns. One of our experienced representatives will be reaching out shortly. Thank you for the review and your comments are greatly appreciated.

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Veronica

Vienna, VA
Many of my debts were held until the debts were increased so much, that afterward after they claim debt relief on a debts, with their fees counted in, you end up paying more. Plus the companies that you end up negotiated send you a 1099 for debt cancellation and you owe taxes like income. I was asked time and time again to get one of their associated “loans”! I ended up selling my home and giving them an extra 10k to excelerate the program. The money sits there, not getting any interest instead of my bank. They also charge you a fee to send a check of $10. Each time they mail a check. Funny they were doing this for a $14. Monthly debt for 8 months. Beware! I still have two debts that have not resolved and the cash is there to pay them in full. They just want their fees!

1 year ago

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Veronica, thank you for bringing this to our attention. We would like an opportunity to discuss the mentioned concerns with you. One of our experienced team members will be reaching out to you shortly. We truly appreciate your review.

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Dayna Young

Allen, TX
DO NOT ENROLL WITH THIS COMPANY. I was sued twice by creditors while in the program and ended up paying more than my original debt. I enrolled with them because I had debt from helping my father pay his medical bills. He has since passed away. I was with them for 3 years and had to defer my monthly deposits twice due to my father being in the hospital and taking a leave of absence from work. One of my settlements during one of these months had a payment of $10 per month for the first 10 months. When I deferred my deposit that month, FDR did not send the $10 payment because they said I didn't have the funds. I did have the funds and the worst part was they still took out $500 that same month for their fees on another settlement. I was sued by the creditor because the settlement went null and void due to the non payment of the $10 and I ended up paying more than the original debt. The second time I was sued was on one of my settlements that was supposed to be paid off. I had paid all of my settlements and called to "graduate" from the program. I was then told that the last payment on one of my accounts was rejected from the creditor. FDR told me they sent the payment, twice to the creditor and it was rejected both times. Obviously I asked why and I was told it was being sent to their escalation dept. I called and called and was never given an answer. In Jan. of this year, 2020, I was served with papers that I was being sued by a collection agency. FDR never did their part to find out why this had happened and the creditor sold the account to a collection agency. I found out all of this on the day I was served with the lawsuit. I lodged a complaint with the Better Business Bureau and was recently in touch with someone at FDR regarding this issue. They came back with, we have found that you didn't have the money your account to make that last payment. I then asked them, if I didn't have the money in my account, why did you send 2 payments to them? I have yet to get an answer. The bottom line with FDR is this . . . if you are enrolled and have any kind of life altering situation (my dad having open heart surgery which led to my leave of absence from work) and have to defer a deposit, FDR doesn't care. I have all the bank statements from my dedicated account showing I had enough money to make the settlement payments during the two months I deferred the deposits and they still let my settlements go null and void. I have had to pay more money to my creditors by enrolling with FDR than I would have if I had just paid the accounts off on my own. And, the customer service is useless. When you call with any kind of issue, you have to tell whoever answers your call the whole situation again. You can never get the same person on the line, so needless to say, I have spent hours upon hours re-stating my question/problem. The standard response is, we are sending this issue to our escalation dept. and someone will get back to you. I don't think they even have an escalation dept. because in all of this time and the 2 major issues I've had, I've NEVER spoken to anyone. No one has ever called me back and I was blindsided by a lawsuit from a collection agency, not even from the original creditor. Again, do not sign up with them. I'm writing this review to hopefully stop anyone else from going through what I have. It's not only the money but the anguish I suffered from a company who can get away with anything and not care one bit how it affects their clients. As long as they collect their settlement fees and all the other fees charged, it's all okay. I have fees on my bank statements for $10, $3 etc. for FDR to send a check to a creditor. Every month they sent a payment, the charge stated on my statement said, $3 for paper check sent or $10 for express payment sent. Why was it sent express?? This was every month for most of my settlements. All of it is just maddening. Just FYI, I HAD TO click on 1 star for the review as it wouldn't let me put 0 stars.

1 year ago

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review, Dayna. We're sorry to hear about your experience and we would like to discuss this with you. A member of our team will be reaching out to you shortly to discuss your concerns. Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief!

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Andrea Tencza

Seneca, SC
Everything was going along fine, and Freedom From Debt settled 4 of my accounts. The last account was a problem. I was not aware that I had to appear in court, and I don't know who appeared in my behalf. It was settled for the full amount, over $29,000 + interest !of medical debt. I NEVER would have agreed to that, but since I had signed a POA, I gave FFD the right to act for me. It would have been better for me if I had gone to court to give my side of the story. I paid for legal representation, and I feel betrayed. Calls to my "advisor" did not help. So, do your research to find out what debt relief companies have the best rating.

1 year ago

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Andrea, thank you for bringing this to our attention. Please allow us to reach out to you so we may the address the mentioned concerns. Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief.

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Manny Lujan

Sedalia, MO
The program was great until I cancelled it due to costs. I called to close my account a few days before they withdrew the monthly fee of $254 from my bank. The lady I spoke with said she closed it. On payday I checked my account & FDR withdrew the $254. I called a second time & a man closed my account & said the $254 would go back into my bank acct. on the 20th - It didn't - I called a 3rd time asking for my $254 plus whatever was left in my dedicated account. The lady told me that FDR had to contact my creditors due to negotiations & they would need to listen to my recorded audios about cancelling before they could reverse the transaction. According to my agreement, I can cancel at any time without penalty & get what's owed to me. The agreement also stated that upon cancellation, FDR would immediately stop all interaction (HAVE NO CONTACT) with my enrolled creditors. So why was I told I had to wait another 7 days so FDR could make a decision about reversing the $254 withdraw? I called again to ask about my money & the lady hung up on me & sent me to the survey. I tried again & another lady told me that it looked as though my issue was being resolved because my dedicated account balance was ZERO! That I should look at my bank account again because the transaction was reversed. Here I am on the 22nd & have yet to receive my $254 or the money that already in the dedicated account!!! Aug the 17th was the $254 withdraw date. I called to cancel on the 14th, then again on the 18th, again on the 20th, the 21st and today is the 22nd... and to this day... I have NOT received MY MONEY!! I am so angry with FDR & would appreciate if SOMEONE could explain this to me. When I try calling the system no longer has me as a client, but I was still able to log on to my dashboard as of yesterday, the 21st... WHAT THE ****? I just want my money back ... It's been tough as it is & I really can't afford what this program has cost me! No Thanks FDR Manuel Lujan Sedalia, MO

1 year ago

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

We are very sorry to hear about your experience, Manuel. It is never our intention to put our clients in further hardship when dealing with us. We understand why this would be frustrating for you, and we would like the opportunity to discuss this more in-depth. Please know a member of our team will be reaching out to you shortly. Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief.

1 year ago