Best Company Guarantee Candid Logo

Candid

check_circleVerified

star star star star star

7.7

Overall Score

LAST UPDATED: September 20th, 2022

Candid knows how important it is to love your smile. In 2017, Candid's CEO and co-founder Nick Greenfield sought to improve the teeth straightening process by making it more affordable and convenient than traditional orthodontic options. That's why the company strives to make straightening your teeth a simpler, more comfortable, and affordable process.

Candid offers clear aligner treatment for a fraction of the price of Invisalign — with as few as one to two office visits. Candid connects customers with a nationwide network of certified orthodontists. You can use the Candid website to search for CandidPro providers in your local area.

The hybrid treatment process starts with an initial consultation from a network of over 200 CandidPro doctors. If the dental professional approves your request for treatment, you can expect to receive your custom aligner kit within the next few weeks.

Candid treatment includes remote monitoring, which allows your provider to check on your progress with DIY smile scans requested every 14 days. All treatment boxes also come with a premium teeth whitening solution.

From start to finish, Candid aims to help you get straighter teeth without the hassle of repeated office visits. Keep reading our in-depth Candid review to learn more about the pros and cons of choosing this clear aligner treatment or go directly to Candid customer reviews.

thumb_up

The Good

  • 6-Month Average Treatment
  • 4 Steps for a Straighter Smile
  • Quality Materials and Processes
  • Pricing and Insurance Options
  • New Dental Monitoring Tech
  • Positive Candid Reviews

6-Month Average Treatment

Customers can expect their treatment with invisible aligners to take an average of six months. However, the treatment time will greatly depend on the severity of your misaligned teeth. Most Candid treatment plans last 4 to 12 months.

Typically, an orthodontist will recommend invisible braces as a treatment to fix mild to moderate cases where there isn't much need for extensive orthodontic work or metal braces seem unnecessary.

Candid expects most customers to be treated within six months. This is especially true for adults that once received braces treatment but have since had minor teeth shifting over the years. Candid does not guarantee a six-month treatment for all cases and mentions on its website that the treatment plan could take up to 12 months. Length of treatment will always vary by individual orthodontic cases.

4 Steps for a Straighter Smile

  1. Show your teeth. Visit a local CandidPro provider for an initial consultation, scan, and treatment setup.
  2. Get your clear aligners. Your treatment box will be delivered right to your doorstep. This will include your clear aligners, monitoring device, and premium whitening foam.
  3. Check-in from anywhere. Your provider will track your progress with scans you take with your phone and monitoring device. You'll need to check in every 14 days throughout your treatment.
  4. Maintain your new smile. Once treatment is complete, keep wearing your retainers to maintain your new smile.

Candid clear aligners appeal to those who want the peace of mind of professional oversight without the inconvenience of repeated office visits. Customers should schedule a visit with a local CandidPro doctor to get an initial scan. Your provider will check to ensure you're a good fit for clear aligners. Once you have approval, your teeth scan will be sent off to the Candid team for processing and production.

In a few weeks, Candid will send the complete set of clear aligners to your door along with a premium whitening kit to give you brighter teeth. Every couple weeks, you will be reminded to send a treatment picture to your CandidPro doctor. This virtual check-up will help your doctor decide if they need to make any treatment adjustments.

When you reach the end of your treatment, plan on wearing your retainers for as long as you want to maintain your new smile. You can use your last set of Candid aligners as retainers for the first six months. Follow this six-week schedule to help your teeth heal after treatment:

  • Week 1–2: Wear your retainers 22 hours a day
  • Week 3–4: Wear your retainers for 18 hours a day
  • Week 5–6: Wear your retainers for 12 to 14 hours a day
  • After Week 6: Wear your retainers for at least 8 hours every night

Replacement retainers can be purchased through the Candid website for $99 every six months.

Quality Materials and Processes

Candid's clear aligners are made with a thermoplastic called Zendura®, which is said to be stronger, more comfortable, and more transparent than clear aligners made from polyethylene terephthalate. These aligners are cut straight instead of scalloped to provide greater force against the teeth resulting in a more effective treatment process. Candid's aligners are also entirely free of BPAs, phthalates, and parabens.

Candid's aligners are designed to adjust all your teeth even back to your molars if necessary. This is not the case for other invisible braces services that focus mainly on the six front teeth.

To ensure aligners are of the best quality and that customers have a positive experience, Candid's aligners are custom crafted by experienced professionals and 3D-printed in the United States to ensure accuracy and proper fit of their finished products.

Pricing & Insurance Options

Pricing options may vary by provider, but the average cost of Candid aligners is still cheaper than Invisalign. You can expect to pay around $3,500 or more for your Candid aligner treatment. Each provider will be able to set a price for treatment based on the duration and local competition.

The cost of Candid treatment can be greatly reduced through insurance providers. Many CandidPro dentists and orthodontists accept HSAs or FSAs and dental insurance plans from Aetna, Anthem Blue Cross Blue Shield, Empire Blue Cross, and others.

New CandidMonitoring Tech

Because of Candid's advanced technology, every treatment program is closely supervised by your local provider using the CandidMonitoring system. This helps people who don't have the time or desire to attend regular office visits receive proper help from a licensed orthodontist professional.

Candid's new dental monitoring technology is included with every aligner treatment. When you receive your aligners, you'll also get a ScanBox and cheek retractor used to take a 3D scan of your teeth through Candid's smartphone app. Your CandidPro provider will use these scans to evaluate your progress to ensure your treatment is on track.

Your local dental professional will check in with you every 14 days to check the status of your teeth, give you instructions on the next steps, and tell you when to change Candid aligners.

This CandidMonitoring system gives customers peace of mind that their invisible braces process is working as it should and the end product they are hoping for is still on track. It also ensures customers are not alone in their journey and that they always have support — as if they were regularly seeing their provider in person.

Positive Candid Reviews

More than 85 percent of Candid reviews are 5 stars with customers highlighting a quick and easy treatment process, great customer service, and fast results. Many customers feel that the Candid staff is patient, professional, knowledgeable, and responsive, making for an overall positive treatment experience.

Some customers also like the option of visiting a Candid studio to receive an initial teeth scan. Candid Studios makes it easy to get started with treatment and ask questions face-to-face.

Review Icon

Customer Review: Connie Goldman from Northport, NY

“I have found working with Candid to be a very easy process. Every staff member that I’ve dealt with has been pleasant, enthusiastic, and helpful. I am about a month and a half into my treatment and I’ve had questions along the way. Candid responsiveness is immediate. I really like that they have an orthodontist who looks at your case to ensure you’re getting the best treatment possible. I would definitely recommend their service. The price is well worth it too. I would’ve paid three times as much locally.”

Visit Site

thumb_down

The Bad

  • No Money-Back Guarantee
  • Hybrid Model Drawbacks
  • Treats Only Minor and Moderate Malocclusions

No Money-Back Guarantee

Candid doesn't offer any money-back guarantee options; however, the company does guarantee customer satisfaction in a different way. If you feel that Candid's aligners aren't working to give you straight teeth, or you are not getting the positive results that you hoped for, Candid will work with you to develop a new treatment plan, without additional charge, as long as a Candid-affiliated orthodontist feels that a new treatment plan is advisable.

You must follow the treatment plan as outlined including wearing your aligners as directed, completing all the treatment follow-up scans, and following any other recommendations from the orthodontist to qualify for the Candid guarantees.

Hybrid Model Drawbacks

The elimination of at-home impression kits has improved the overall accuracy and effectiveness of Candid treatments. However, individuals who do not live near a CandidPro provider may have to choose an alternative company or be willing to travel for the initial appointment.

The increased cost is another drawback of the new hybrid treatment model. Individual providers now price their treatment plans differently based on their business model. This has resulted in a large price jump compared to the previous direct-to-consumer model.

Treats Only Minor and Moderate Malocclusions

Customers should be aware that Candid does not treat severe teeth misalignment issues, spacing issues, or bite correction. If your treatment plan exceeds 16 sets of aligners, you are beyond Candid's scope, and the company might recommend you straighten your teeth another way (such as traditional metal braces).

However, if you have minor to moderate issues such as crooked teeth, protruding teeth, alignment or spacing issues, or discoloration, Candid can most likely help.

gavel

The Bottom Line

Candid is helping people get their perfect smiles in a more affordable way. The company's treatment process is designed to get customers approved quickly and on their teeth straightening journey fast, without having to spend hours at the dentist's office. Between the extensive provider network and high-tech treatment monitoring technology, Candid aims to make the invisible braces process as simple as possible.

Additionally, Candid has a strict policy when it comes to its dental professionals. Each professional must meet the training requirements to become a certified CandidPro provider. This means you'll be getting a quality product created just for you by a veteran professional.

Be aware that Candid might not be the right company for you. If your teeth demonstrate an extreme case of misalignment and crookedness, then perhaps metal braces, or another alternative, may be more suitable for you. You may require more orthodontic care than the company will currently treat. 

Candid is a viable aligner company for those looking to straighten their teeth with clear teeth aligners. However, we still recommend comparing this company to others in the industry to be sure you're getting the best treatment and price.

Check out Candid reviews below to read what customers are sharing about their experiences.

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

not_listed_location

Candid Frequently Asked Questions

How much do Candid aligners cost?

You can expect to pay around $3,500 or more for Candid orthodontic treatment. The total cost of Candid aligners varies based on the CandidPro provider and their location. Candid aligners are often cheaper than other alternatives such as Invisalign and traditional braces. Some CandidPro providers accept insurance, HSA, and/or FSA. Talk to your local provider about insurance and payment options. A Candid retainer set costs $99 and needs to be replaced every six months after your last set of aligners. These can be purchased on the company website or through your CandidPro dentist.

How long do Candid aligners take to ship?

Talk with your local CandidPro provider to find out if they’ll accept your dental insurance to help cover the cost of your aligner treatment. Each provider has a different cost and price structure, so you may want to get a quote from multiple providers.

What are Candid aligners made of?

Candid aligners are made of thermoformed polyurethane. You don’t need to worry about harmful chemicals because aligners are BPA and phthalates-free. Candid aligners are designed to be durable, comfortable, and invisible.

How do I clean Candid teeth aligners?

Every time you remove your aligners, rinse them with water and gently brush them with a clean toothbrush. Avoid using toothpaste because the abrasive material can scratch the material and leave room for bacteria. For a deeper clean, soak your aligners in low-strength hydrogen peroxide.

How can I get started with a Candid treatment?

To get started with treatment, take the online quiz to see if you are a good candidate for Candid aligners. If you’re a good candidate, research local CandidPro providers and set up an appointment. Your provider will scan your teeth and create your treatment plan. No need to worry about completing a typical impression kit often used in direct-to-consumer treatments. Your treatment box should arrive in 3-6 weeks. Once you receive your aligner kit, you can get started with your first pair of aligners. Don’t forget to set up your CandidApp to keep up with the remote treatment.

When should I wear my Candid clear aligners?

Candid aligners work best if you aim to wear them at least 22 hours a day. Aligners need time to gently shift your teeth, so try to keep your aligners in at all times unless you are eating, drinking, or brushing your teeth.

How do you remove Candid aligners?

Aligners should be gently removed by gripping one side of the aligners with your index finger or pull tool and carefully pulling up. Continue to work your way around the aligner until it pops off completely. Never try to remove the aligner all at once. Remember to place your aligners in their carrying case when they are outside of your mouth.
bestcompany guarantee

Best Company guarantees your satisfaction if you choose a company that has earned this distinction. If you're not satisfied after 30 days, simply let us know and we'll give you $200. Yes, it's really that simple.

Learn More

Star Rating

4.8

star star star star star

1,819 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

89%

4 grade

5%

3 grade

2%

2 grade

1%

1 grade

3%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star star_half

Quality

star star star star star_half

Service

star star star star star_half

Trustworthiness

star star star star star_half
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
star star_border star_border star_border star_border

lisa miller Vero Beach, FL

No reply from any emails. I contacted them due to having to see an orthodontist who informed me that this treatment being unmonitored in an office has damaged my roots and gums. They fail to inform you that this process can shorten the roots resulting in needing a root canal. I have been telling Candid this and my tray they want me to move in did not fit!!!! No reply at all!! yes this is a quick fix, however it may cause damage. I am now looking at $9000 to repair damage by this treatment

2 weeks ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Dominic Natale Tampa, FL

Candid only wants your money. They are helpful and friendly until the last payment is made and then you are not important to them. I’ve tried working with customer care to further my treatment, as my teeth are still not straight, and they will not do anything further. They will not refund either.

1 month ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

cc Valley North Hollywood, CA

Terrible experience. My treatment was initally supposed to be 8 months or so. It has now been 3 years and I am still waiting for them to send me another impression kit so we can fix my original treatment plan. Apparently their "orthodontists" designing and approving the aligners and patient treatment plans dont know what they are doing. Even if you follow their treatment plan perfectly your results will be inaccurate. The hold times for customer service are hours long. They dont reply to emails. When they do finally speak with you they tell you things that they don't follow through with and it prolongs your treatment even more. Awful.

3 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Brady Grabowski Denver, CO

After an initial round of aligners and two seperate refinements, my teeth are still not as straight as even the first plan I was quoted. On top of that, I have had to contact their support team over a dozen times because they straight up LOST my molds and agent after agent told me it was fine until one finally checked on my account. Even then, I had to call them multiple more times because that agent didn't actually fix it either. Finally, after almost three years of trying to complete what was a one year plan, I ordered retainers from them. My account still says I'm in the refinement process, but I was assured my order would go through. The money was taken from my account, but no confirmation email was ever sent. I guess I'll be contacting support YET AGAIN just trying to settle for results worse than what they quoted me.

3 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Andrew Kurkowski Savage, MN

They "GUARANTEE" a perfect smile but DON'T DELIVER. I've been using the treatments for almost three years now when they initially promised me a nine-month program. They are now telling me that I have to pay $400 more to continue with refinements. Very unsatisfied with this company's customer service and product. If you're thinking about using them, DON'T DO IT! Pay the extra to use Invisalign and actually get the results you want.

5 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Ashley B Los Angeles, CA

Candid was a nightmare. I originally was given a 9-month treatment plan, and as I was nearing the end I noticed that a large molar that was the primary I got aligners still had not straightened. Since Candid does not allow you (or at least at the time) to contact your orthodontist directly, I had to explain to a customer service rep like a five year old that the treatment wasn’t aligning my molar. This took MULTIPLE efforts. Once the customer service rep saw the light, it took much too long for the ortho to concur that I needed to physically go into a candid office for further scans. I drove to a location extremely inconvenient, without any direction on parking. When I asked after my arrival about parking they couldn’t and wouldn’t help me. It was weeks after my scan, that I received an obvious email that I would have to continue treatment past the 9-month mark. Because I had temporarily moved to a state they do not operate in, they weren’t initially going to send me my new aligners. The customer service rep I spoke to about this, was also extremely incompetent and it took almost two months to get the new set of aligners. After I complete the new set? My molar STILL had not turned. Essentially, I wasted $2,000. I never bothered contacting them because I had enough of their service or lack thereof.

6 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Caroline Ellis MN

Honestly, my initial experience with candid was great. I used the retainers for 6 months according to my plan, and my teeth were great. My issue is when I tried to order a replacement retainer. I ordered it with the knowledge that I was moving out of the country in a month or so. The company promises a 2-3 week turnaround. First, I never received a confirmation email even though they charged my card. Then, upon still not hearing anything about the shipping of my retainer, I’ve been told multiple times by customer service representatives that the retainer was made 2 weeks ago, but that they don’t know where it is or when it will be shipped. I’ve repeatedly asked if they can locate it, or if I could pay for expedited shipping, or if the shipping company could just be on the lookout for the order to ship it in a timely manner, only to be told “that’s not possible.” I’ve tried to ask if they could get an estimate of when it will ship, and they’ve said “sorry that’s not possible.” I’ve found each representative I’ve spoken with to seem annoyed that I’m even asking about my order, that they’re having to help me. I’ve found more helpful representatives from larger companies like Amazon or Target. Very disappointing.

6 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Elicica Morris Venice, CA

I heard about Candid from two friends who instantly saw results with Candid aligners. Unfortunately, my experience with Candid has been nothing short of disastrous. I decided to get my impressions in person at the Santa Monica Candid studio and while the employees were kind, the process that ensued after my in person visit was awful. I went in for impressions in October 2021 - I was told that I would receive a treatment plan within two weeks. I called Candid customer service three weeks later to notify them that I hadn't received any correspondence. The first representative assured me that I would receive them soon. These back and forth calls with Candid's customer service lasted two months. All because of mistakes made by the Santa Monica studio. I received my aligners on 2/15/22. When you first receive your aligners, you must submit scans of your teeth using a dental monitoring device and one of the pieces used in this process did not fit my mouth. I didn't think that was the case until I received rejection emails for TWO scans that I had taken. When I reached out to Candid's customer service today (2/16/22) on live chat, Wynter (a Candid rep) to request expedited shipping on a smaller size - as I am convinced that is the cause of my inaccurate scans - I was told that they "I will see what I can do!" I've engaged with numerous Candid representatives and I have felt the lack of empathy and sense of urgency disappointing. I am paying for these aligners out of pocket. Please note, this is my experience with Candid. I would not recommend it because of their lack of transparency and communication. I'd much rather a hassle-free experience with someone else and pay the extra $.

7 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Julian Boilen New York, NY

The fact is, their technology doesn't work. After two years of treatment with Candid I’m in a worse position than when I started, with a bad bite, which is a more serious problem than the minor crowding I started with. It's so hard to get in touch with anyone, and it's hard to believe there's a real orthodontist paying any attention. Candid does not use attachments, unlike Invisalign, which means they have less control over how teeth track with the plan. For me—and I wore them diligently—they did not. My first set of aligners was 20 sets and I completed them on my own with no contact from Candid. They largely fixed my crowding but worsened my bite. I thought that with some refinements we could fix things up. After waiting few a few months due to COVID I started a 10-set refinements plan. Part-way through the plan I realized that it was actually making things worse, causing a tooth to rotate. They put me on their "remote monitoring" system, which would let an orthodontist monitor my treatment using phone photos. I assumed that the orthodontist would agree that this wasn't working and we could get some new aligners. Not the case. All they did was slow the treatment down, at one point I had only moved two steps in three months. The only messages supposedly from the orthodontist were obviously canned and non-specific. I really don't believe anyone was paying attention as the aligners began to have large gaps and my teeth got worse. I got scans for a second refinements set, but after this experience I decided not to proceed. My dentist explained that without the attachments and actual monitoring, the movement is unpredictable and likely would never succeed. So in sum, Candid's attachment-free technology simply does not work, and their "monitoring" seems to only provide a false sense of confidence.

9 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Dave Sujkowski Oakland, NJ

Canid may have a great product, and the customer service is very responsive, but the way the process insurance leaves a lot to be desired. My insurance is one of the ones they list on their website and have a contract with. Candid wants either full payment upfront at their list price of $1895 or set up a payment plan for this full amount. Once you do so and you agree to their services, they file a claim with your insurance. You are still responsible for paying the full amount, not the contracted insurance. CANDID will reimburse you 4-6 weeks AFTER they receive payment from the insurance company. I have never had a contracted health care provider work in this way. If CANDID has a contracted rate with the insurance company, they should never charge the customer more than their portion on the contracted rate.

9 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

C Cooper Berlin, NJ

As of right now I'm still in treatment, 18 months so far. I'll be on my 4th set soon. I'm very unhappy with the results. My teeth looks so much worse than when I finished my 1st treatment. I had 1 tooth that I wanted moved more after the first treatment. I've had 2 refinements, going on a 3rd, since then and my teeth right now look like a *before* in a before and after photo. All of my side teeth are completely out of alignment and some are pushed lower into my gums. All I needed was 1 tooth to straighten out but what I got was all of my teeth moved, in a bad way! Not happy at all!

9 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Robin S Harpswell, ME

Been wearing the aligners for six months for small misalignment on top. They completely ruined my teeth. I never have an issue with teeth being off vertical only two slightly twisted. My two from teeth no longer line up on center with my nose but they are slanted off vertical by about 20 degrees! Contacting then only allows their receptionists to give advice with no dental or ortho training! I’m so embarrassed at my teeth. They look worse now then when I started and I get an untrained teenager who’s every other word is “like” (Dasia S) to advise me on my smile! SO SO SO DISAPPOINTING

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Kristen Healey Brooklyn, NY

WARNING: AVOID THIS COMPANY. I’ll admit, I was hooked by Candid’s slick marketing campaign and the low-cost was attractive as an alternative to the pricier Invisalign treatment. Suffice to say, I am EXTREMELY dissatisfied with the end result and wish I had saved my time and money. After wearing the aligners (as directed) for an initial 6-month treatment plan and then 2 rounds of refinements that took another YEAR - I was left not only with teeth that weren’t properly straight, but my front bottom and top teeth are hitting in a way they shouldn’t and my bite is crooked. Upon visiting an in-person orthodontist, they were SHOCKED that anyone (let alone a licensed orthodontist) would call my case complete and successful. I reached out to Candid to share the feedback from my orthodontist and initiate a refund request but was refused at every turn. I was told that my end result matched their treatment plan and the only solution they would offer was further refinements which were clearly not going to fix the issue. It will now take me another year (plus $7,000) with Invisalign to correct the issues I was left with. Worst experience ever, would not recommend this to anyone!

1 year ago

Candid Logo

Reply from Candid

Hi Kristen. Thank you for your feedback. Please know that Candid and its affiliated orthodontists aim to provide high quality services. However, because of privacy concerns, we can't comment about patient care on public channels. Our customer care team is available at 844-295-6915 or via LiveChat from 9 AM to 7 PM EST. We also contact any customers with public complaints (whom we can identify) in order to address their concerns directly. If a complaint or concern is missed by our support team, we apologize!

Aug. 5th, 2021

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Melissa F. Haley Arlington Heights, IL

The quality of the aligners is awful. I've had 3 break off little pieces of plastic that thankfully I felt and was able to spit out. I don't eat with them in so I really don't understand why they are breaking, other than just bad quality. I liked that my treatment would be monitored by an orthodontist, but its completely hands off. I just get one message every two weeks that I can't reply to or interact with. They all just say "You're on track. Your teeth look great." I'm assuming its a pre-populated form. Not at all personalized. I was also told I could scan every 10 days which could shorten my treatment if I was on track and ready to move on. That is absolutely just a lie. It's not an option even after 6 sets of aligned. The packaging is pretty, but don't be fooled.

1 year ago

Candid Logo

Reply from Candid

Hi Melissa. Thank you for your feedback. Please know that Candid and its affiliated orthodontists aim to provide high quality services. However, because of privacy concerns, we can't comment about patient care on public channels. Our customer care team is available at 844-295-6915 or via LiveChat from 9 AM to 7 PM EST. We also contact any customers with public complaints (whom we can identify) in order to address their concerns directly. If a complaint or concern is missed by our support team, we apologize!

Jul. 12th, 2021

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Meghan Daily Phoenix, AZ

Never use this company. Halfway through treatment I had to get a root canal done and they told me no problem, they would be there to resume treatment when I was ready. Due to COVID and issues with my crown, it took me a couple of months to be ready to resume. When I told them this, they told me since it was more than 6 weeks they would be charging me an additional $800. No one told me this ahead of time, and it completely would have been impossible for me to complete in their timeframe even if I had known due to other issues. Irritating, dishonest, terrible company. Try one of the other aligner companies because Candid will screw you over given the chance.

1 year ago

Candid Logo

Reply from Candid

Hi Meghan. Thank you for your feedback. Please know that Candid and its affiliated orthodontists aim to provide high quality services. However, because of privacy concerns, we can't comment about patient care on public channels. Our customer care team is available at 844-295-6915 or via LiveChat from 9 AM to 7 PM EST. We also contact any customers with public complaints (whom we can identify) in order to address their concerns directly. If a complaint or concern is missed by our support team, we apologize!

Jul. 8th, 2021

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Jack Sjogren Los Angeles, CA

Slow, uncommunicative, and unprofessional. Months after I sent back my moulds, I had to reach out to Candid to learn they'd never recieved them. Then, after my studio scan (where they had me brush my teeth in an office restroom next to someone peeing), I signed up for a payment program and was told an orthodontist would be in touch within a week and a half. After two months of payments, I'd heard nothing from the orthodontist, so I called the Candid helpline. The person who helped me was kind and helpful, but I could tell someone dropped the ball somewhere, as I was told the orthodontist just got to my case today (what are the odds?). This all leaves me feeling a bit gaslit by the company in general. I'll be writing another review after my treatment (if Candid ever gets around to it), but I felt the need to give a status report thus far since Candid keeps asking me to leave a review.

1 year ago

Candid Logo

Reply from Candid

Hi Jack. Thank you for your feedback. Please know that Candid and its affiliated orthodontists aim to provide high quality services. However, because of privacy concerns, we can't comment about patient care on public channels. Our customer care team is available at 844-295-6915 or via LiveChat from 9 AM to 7 PM EST. We also contact any customers with public complaints (whom we can identify) in order to address their concerns directly. If a complaint or concern is missed by our support team, we apologize!

Jul. 6th, 2021

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Em Brienne Detroit, MI

I have been very displeased with the vague, unspecific, and unhelpful comments on my treatment throughout this process. It seems as though every orthodontist uses a general template, and clearly does not even pay attention to what step their patients are in the process (my doctor said congratulations for starting treatment when I was in my last step due to a hiatus I had to take for the high demand of my career). I would've chosen to do in-office appointments, but sadly remote monitoring was my only option thanks to the pandemic. I feel as though I've been duped out of valuable money I put into this treatment, especially since it was aimed to getting my teeth straight for my wedding. Due to this fact, and the fact that after my last set they said I would need MORE treatment with the ssumption that further treatment would likely cost more money, I would say not that I was not happy with my results and service because I am NOT, but that I was content with moving to retainer wear and not continuing further treatment, especially with Candid. I would also like to note that anyone searching for treatment would NOT get a recommendation from me for Candid. I would steer them in the direction of your competitors in the hopes that the service is much better, even considering the higher price point. E, dissatisfied customer.

1 year ago

Candid Logo

Reply from Candid

Hi E. Thank you for your feedback. Please know that Candid and its affiliated orthodontists aim to provide high quality services. However, because of privacy concerns, we can't comment about patient care on public channels. Our customer care team is available at 844-295-6915 or via LiveChat from 9 AM to 7 PM EST. We also contact any customers with public complaints (whom we can identify) in order to address their concerns directly. If a complaint or concern is missed by our support team, we apologize!

Jun. 14th, 2021

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Eva S Schildhause Miami, FL

I appreciate the convenience of this service, but I've been unhappy overall. I feel that Candid over-promised its service. I bought the service during COVID because I could straighten my teeth from home, but avoid the pitfalls of other tooth-aligning services where patients end up with long-term damage to their bites and teeth due to inadequate medical oversight of their care. Candid promised I would have a licensed orthodontist taking care of me at every step of the way. But, I don't feel like the doctor is actually taking care of me. The doctor sends a robotic note in response to my scans that does not seem to reflect the actual progress of my treatment. When I have questions or issues, I have to wait to chat or talk to a customer service rep on the phone or online, which often takes a long time, and this person ends up giving me advice on my orthodontic treatment - but they are not the licensed professional! That gives me bad vibes and I think borders on unethical practice. I don't think customer service reps should be giving medical advice about my treatment. If I could go back, I would absolutely pay a few hundred more dollars to see an orthodontist in person. I am a diligent patient and keep up with my scans, yet I am barely halfway through my treatment and it's been eight months.

1 year ago

Candid Logo

Reply from Candid

Hi Eva. Thank you for your feedback. Please know that Candid and its affiliated orthodontists aim to provide high quality services. However, because of privacy concerns, we can't comment about patient care on public channels. Our customer care team is available at 844-295-6915 or via LiveChat from 9 AM to 7 PM EST. We also contact any customers with public complaints (whom we can identify) in order to address their concerns directly. If a complaint or concern is missed by our support team, we apologize!

May. 3rd, 2021

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Bridget Wells Seattle, WA

It has been over six months since I began treatment and I was supposed to be done by now but am only halfway done. I made it through my first six steps (out of 11) with no problems, but then got stuck on steps 7 & 8 in that they had me wear them for a super long time. To be fair, I was on a trip for one of those steps and unable to wear my aligners as much. However, after being on step 8 for over a month (each step should be 14 days), they moved me back to step 6, which actually tells me that they made a mistake. Why did they move me forward to step 7 to begin with if my teeth weren't ready? So now I'm back in step 6 which I have been in for 3 weeks. I have been wearing the aligners according to schedule and using my chewies as they love to push you to do. I have a friend doing Invisalign and she doesn't have the chewies. I also didn't really use the chewies for my first 5-6 steps (because I wasn't aware that I should be) and got moved through those steps just fine. I don't like that this is all based off of scans and you can't even call or email them - only Live Chat - or talk to your assigned orthodontist. I also don't understand why they send you all the steps at one time. They should do the first 3-4 then make the subsequent steps according to how that goes. Then we could avoid this whole trying-to-force-my-teeth-into-this-predetermined-set-of-aligners when things may shift or change and/or need an adjustment. Overall, it requires a lot of work and self-monitoring on the patient's part, having to scan constantly and keep up proper hygiene (which can be hard when you're out and about and don't have somewhere to wash your hands or brush your teeth) and it's just very frustrating. This should have taken me ~7 months just to straighten a few teeth, but I'm stuck in this step they moved me back on and the problem teeth have hardly been addressed. It feels like this is going to drag out for much longer and I've already paid so I have to stick with it. At this point, I almost wish I'd just gone with regular braces and/or done in-person orthodontics.

1 year ago

Candid Logo

Reply from Candid

Hi Bridget. Thank you for your feedback. Please know that Candid and its affiliated orthodontists aim to provide high quality services. However, because of privacy concerns, we can't comment about patient care on public channels. Our customer care team is available at 844-295-6915 or via LiveChat from 9 AM to 7 PM EST. We also contact any customers with public complaints (whom we can identify) in order to address their concerns directly. If a complaint or concern is missed by our support team, we apologize!

Apr. 22nd, 2021

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Grzegorz S. ,

Go to an orthodontist and get the proper care. Horrible product. I got 15 stage process for 7.5 months, I have done 7 stages and was not able to speak without spiting people in their face and I was not able to talk properly as the aligned was sticking out so much in the back that my tongue had no space. Now, I was like hey it's me, I have to do this, but I would put it on and off, as the speech impediment was bad for my work. I'm in meetings most of the time. I just took a break from this and then didn't wear them for like 6 months. After, that I decided to wear it again, and the same thing, I thought hey maybe after a bit of time it will get better, the aligners did fit the same so the progress stayed. Finally, I contacted candid after my wife pushed me. Late, I know, but I had no idea if it's just me or the aligners. They told me that now I have to pay for an orthodontist visit and 800$ for new aligners as I didn't contact them instantly when I had the problem. How the hell should I know it's a problem with aligners and not part of the process? Just go to an orthodontist pay more and have check-ins how the hell will you know if something is wrong with this crap? You are not a dentist or an orthodontist. This is like buying it and hoping for the best, if it goes bad, well pay more.

1 year ago

Candid Logo

Reply from Candid

Hi Grzegorz. Thank you for your feedback. Please know that Candid and its affiliated orthodontists aim to provide high quality services. However, because of privacy concerns, we can't comment about patient care on public channels. Our customer care team is available at 844-295-6915 or via LiveChat from 9 AM to 7 PM EST. We also contact any customers with public complaints (whom we can identify) in order to address their concerns directly. If a complaint or concern is missed by our support team, we apologize!

Mar. 30th, 2021

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Karrah Benson Clarksburg, MD

While I think Candid has the potential to be great, their lack of communication and their inability to manage a client’s expectations really let me down during this process. Most of my teeth shifted beautifully. However, one tooth shifted the wrong way and actually worsened. Candid never reached out to me to walk me through the next steps or to let me know this was normal. They didn’t initiate contact to start the process of getting new aligners. I had to do that after many weeks of staying in the same step. The process to get the second set of aligners took a long time. I received my second set and now my aligners are unseated again. If this is a normal part of the process and refinements are normal, I wish someone from Candid reached out to me to reassure me. I received very little feedback from the orthodontist and there is no way to give feedback or respond to his inquiries. If the aligners work right the first time, I would imagine Candid to be a great experience. However, this was not the case for me and I feel very let down. I have purchased Invisalign through my dentist and I feel a lot of this could have been prevented or better managed with better communication from Candid. While I do appreciate that they sent me a second set of aligners, I felt like an anomaly. No one told me refinements were normal. After two sets of treatments, I don’t feel confident my tooth will be fixed and I don’t know how long it will take. This has been quite a process. Additionally, I referred a friend to Candid and she went to one of their sites to get fitted. They charged her, but she hasn’t heard back in over 2 months. She contacted the site after 6 weeks and still hasn’t heard anything. On the plus side, the candid customer service representatives were very kind, patient and friendly. I did have trouble getting a hold of agents, but when I did they were really great. Overall, if Candid works the first time around, I think it’s a great service. If it doesn’t, it’s a bit of a gamble.

1 year ago

Candid Logo

Reply from Candid

Hi Karrah. Thank you for your feedback. Please know that Candid and its affiliated orthodontists aim to provide high quality services. However, because of privacy concerns, we can't comment about patient care on public channels. Our customer care team is available at 844-295-6915 or via LiveChat from 9 AM to 7 PM EST. We also contact any customers with public complaints (whom we can identify) in order to address their concerns directly. If a complaint or concern is missed by our support team, we apologize!

Mar. 15th, 2021

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Tee Brooklyn, NY

Candid sent me aligners that arent covering my back molars, and I reached out to get assistance. I was told the ortho would get back to me within 72 hours -- it has now been 5 days and the ortho hasnt reviewed these pics or sent any answers to my inquiries. When I chose Candid, a big reason why I did so was because of the 2 main benefits (I would be getting a dedicated rep to reach out/assist me and that orthodontists are monitoring and designing treatment plans). They did away with assigning dedicated reps for patients, and the orthodontist has been so unresponsive that it almost seems like I dont even have one. they didnt even do something as decent as sending out an email letting us know that dedicated reps are no longer a thing. I recently started my treatment, so my pain levels have been pretty high and needed crucial assistance that I have yet to receive. Everything about candid seemed great up until after I commited, paid, and got aligners (which makes sense since they got my money and thats probably all they really care about anyway). Before starting this process with candid, I was very much given the impression that this process would be pretty hands-on and transparent as far as communication and support. This is why I went with Candid for a little more money, but these key benefits have been non-existent for me so it would be in your best interest to check out their competitors (Byte or smiledirect) and deeply consider whether that would be a better option because I'm really unhappy with the lack of comms. and transparency. If I didnt pay for this already/have my money locked in, I would DEFINITELY CANCEL MY SERVICE WITH CANDID. I DO NOT RECOMMEND TO A FRIEND OR EVEN A STRANGER.

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Swilli Quakertown, PA

Avoid at all costs! I had previously submitted a review (which I can't edit) during which I spoke about my likes and dislikes about Candid - "I like that Candid appears to be a company of young people, full of energy and conviction. However, I have some issues with Candid. Candid treatment has messed up my bite to the point where my dentist recommended I stop candid treatment immediately and see an in-person orthodontist. Candid customer support is always kind and receptive, but you can never get a straight answer and there is absolutely no cohesiveness in your care if you reach out more than once. I'm currently two months in to the waiting process for refinements, so getting timely responses is definitely not Candid's forte." Well, it's May 28th now and I still don't have a treatment plan to fix my bite. Support offers empty words in an attempt to placate me, but I can never get a straight answer from anyone. I've consulted 2 local orthos, both of which said my bite wold take 2+ years and rubber bands in order to fix, not to mention the expense ($6,300). Very disappointing experience with Candid. They do all they can to get your money from you, but the moment you have any issues they have no idea what to do and cannot offer viable solutions. Again - avoid this company.

1 year ago

Candid Logo

Reply from Candid

Hi there. Thank you for your feedback. Please know that Candid and its affiliated orthodontists aim to provide high quality services. However, because of privacy concerns, we can't comment about patient care on public channels. Our customer care team is available at 844-295-6915 or via LiveChat from 9 AM to 7 PM EST. We also contact any customers with public complaints (whom we can identify) in order to address their concerns directly. If a complaint or concern is missed by our support team, we apologize!

Feb. 25th, 2021

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Melissa W Lyndhurst, NJ

I am beyond displeased and disgusted with candid. After being treated by them for close to a year now (original treatment plan was about 6 months).I now have a bite issue which I did not have before. It's very hard to get in touch with anyone, as far as an actual orthodontist. I am shocked and surprised that the orthodontist who was following my case did not catch that a bite problem was developing... receiving the same cookie-cutter answers each time from the "orthodontist " during my scans. The staff and customer service are nice and the orthodontist whom I spoke to Via virtual chat was also nice, but until I receive a solution to my problem and quality care they get Zero stars. I strongly do not recommend

1 year ago

Candid Logo

Reply from Candid

Hi Melissa. Thank you for your feedback. Please know that Candid and its affiliated orthodontists aim to provide high quality services. However, because of privacy concerns, we can't comment about patient care on public channels. Our customer care team is available at 844-295-6915 or via LiveChat from 9 AM to 7 PM EST. We also contact any customers with public complaints (whom we can identify) in order to address their concerns directly. If a complaint or concern is missed by our support team, we apologize!

Feb. 16th, 2021

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

JP Queens Village, NY

Please do yourself a favor. DO NOT go with this company. Also, how do I give this company no star? I have finished my treatment about three months ago. Indeed, I've already noticed something wasn't right during the treatment. I felt like my teeth weren't shifting the way supposed to be toward to the last few steps. I contacted to Candid the whole time and they kept telling me to keep wearing aligners, using chewies to ensure new aligners are fitting snug. Soon I finished the treatment, I called and told them that my teeth aren’t straighten, adjusted correctly. They asked me to send them 13 photos of my teeth. No responses after a week, so I called them up and checked the status, the representative told me that the orthodontist couldn’t review my teeth because the photos weren’t clear. Okay, so why no one has reached out to me? I immediately made an appointment to go to a studio to do a second scan. After two weeks waiting, no calls, no follow-up emails. I called them and they told me that my case is being review under the orthodontists and would take a week and two to receive an email from the orthodontist. Three weeks, four weeks, has passed and haven’t heard from them. I had no patience left so I signed in and chatted this time and here you go again that my case is “under review”. I really don’t know why taking the orthodontists so long to review my case. The person I chatted with suggested if I wanted to speak with a care manager to address the issue. Absolutely. The care manager I chatted with told me that they have a system issue. Wow. Amazing! A new reason that my case is not being reviewed whatsoever. However, he was nice and said he would escalate the case to the orthodontists and the team. A week after I got an email told me that my case is being reviewed and should receive an email. Three weeks has passed, I received an email yesterday and asked me to two questions: when will I go to have a regular dental cleaning and need to take X-rays of my teeth. I don’t know why they need me to take X-ray. Whatever the reasons they told me is doesn’t make any senses. They told me in order to move forward to have a refinement done I would need to provide X-rays. I am very upset and very disappointed with Candid. I expected to have perfect teeth in August and now I still have to wear the retainer for 22 hours daily until I don’t know when. Seven months treatment might ends up to one year. I think Candid might be good for people with minor problems. Also if you notice something is not right during the treatment, your problems more likely will not be fixed.

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Sebastian Lysén ,

Be aware! Once you are done with your final step they will have a survey asking about your satisfaction. If you, like me, are missing the expected results (my teeth are still moving back when I take my retainers out for a few hours) they won't call to make sure you know that they have a (!) 30 DAY window to get continous steps of treatment for FREE. I was told this when I was about to go in to a phase two because of the bad result from the first year(!) of treatment. Now my choice is to keep wearing the final step of my first phase to hope my teeth one day will stop moving and stop aching with time, OR to pay a new price of $800. (?!?!) I mean, I don't mind paying $100 per new retainer like I will do every six months anyways to renew my night time retianer- but to upcharge a few steps extra to $800 is just insane- WHEN I COULD HAVE GOTTEN THEM FOR FREE my first 30 days but none cared to checkup on my progress even though I submitted a survey stating this. I really wish I could say only good things about Candid Co. But to deny people a reasonably priced followup treatment to their customers who already spent thousands of dollars in belief of showcased results- in the midst of a pandemic year when jobs are out the window, and make them feel left to the choice of having loose teeth....? Yea, no. Not today. But good luck if you go with Candid!

1 year ago

Candid Logo

Reply from Candid

Hi Sebastian. Thank you for your feedback. Please know that Candid and its affiliated orthodontists aim to provide high quality services. However, because of privacy concerns, we can't comment about patient care on public channels. Our customer care team is available at 1-844-295-6915 or via LiveChat from 9 AM to 7 PM EST. We also contact any customers with public complaints (whom we can identify) in order to address their concerns directly. If a complaint or concern is missed by our support team, we apologize!

Oct. 20th, 2020

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Mark Hild Phoenix, AZ

I have been wearing them as specified and after 1 year my teeth are not much better. When I contacted them they asked for pictures. I had to retake and Email the pictures 6 times before they were satisfied. Then they asked for a dental health update form to be filled out. After weeks and many Emails sent to them with the info they required, I was informed they would do nothing until I went in for a cleaning. It has been 18 months since my last cleaning and I don't know when I will be able to get in due to the pandemic. I don't understand why the lack of a recent cleaning has anything to do with them fixing the problem they made. I was also informed I was to continue to wear the last set of aligners in the series . I have already been wearing the last set for 3 months. It will more then likely be another 3 months before they would get me a new aligners . I feel this last set is already worn out and there is no way it will last several more months. I also feel it too is becoming detrimental to my teeth straightening. I feel that they got my money and are doing everything they can to get me to give up and go away.. I strongly do not recommend them Update as of 08/04/2020 Candid has reached out to me about a solution to the current impasse. I have called them 4 times so far and have been unsuccessful reaching any one . I will keep this site updated on the progress if any.

2 years ago

Candid Logo

Reply from Candid

Hi Mark. Thank you for your feedback. We always want you to get the best possible care. That's why we require high quality, clear diagnostic photos to be considered for additional aligners. Even after the start of the treatment, if you haven't been to the dentist recently, our orthodontists require that your primary oral care needs be addressed. A dentist has to make sure you don't currently have any cavities or decay and that your gums are healthy enough for continued orthodontic teeth movement. While we understand your frustration, especially at this time, we take pride in partnering with our network of orthodontists to maintain a high standard of care. We hope you are able to schedule a dental visit soon. We've also sent you a private reply to follow up directly.

Jul. 27th, 2020

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Amanda Pyle ,

I have gotten nowhere with Candid. Their aligners are defective, they have TERRIBLE customer service (two weeks to respond to calls or emails) and they won't help at all. I followed all of the recommendations, wore them 22hrs a day despite the terrible lisp and pain, and now they won't help me with aligners that actually fit! Their defective product won't straighten the teeth that their defective manufacture don't cover, and they don't fit at all. I wanted straighter teeth for my upcoming wedding, and now I not only still have crooked teeth but an additional $2k gone. Do not, whatever you do, use Candid!

2 years ago

Candid Logo

Reply from Candid

Hi Amanda. Thank you for your feedback. Candid and its affiliated orthodontists seek to provide high quality services. Because of privacy concerns, we can't comment about patient care on public channels. However, our customer care team is available at 1-844-295-6915 or via LiveChat. We do contact any customers with public complaints (whom we can identify) in order to address their concerns directly. If a complaint or concern is missed by our support team, we apologize!

Mar. 11th, 2020

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Alecs Lund Gig Harbor, WA

Just finished their “treatment plan”. First things first, my teeth aren’t completely straightened and my bite is definitely not fixed. I started with Candid to fix some minor alignment issues and teeth clinching together. After about step 6 of 16, I noticed that my aligners weren’t fitting correctly. Brought this to their attention and they advised that I go back until they fit snug, and continue until the next step fits. Long story short, they didn’t fit right from that point on and all they kept telling me was to keep moving back steps. After the full treatment period, I knew that they messed up my plan and I didn’t want to go through all this hassle again... I mean.... I just wore these annoying aligners for 8 months.... I wasn’t trying to go for 16. I asked for some sort of refund and all they will try and do is fix your plan and get you new aligners. Why would I trust you to make correct ones if you botched the initial ones? On top of all of this, their customer service is a joke. Each time you contact them, you get an entirely new person responding where you have to reexplain the issue. Go somewhere else.

2 years ago

Candid Logo

Reply from Candid

Hi Alecs, I'm sorry for the frustration you experienced while going through treatment. Glad to hear that one of our active care members was able to get in touch with you yesterday. Looking forward to getting you back on track!

Dec. 5th, 2019

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Amy Columbus, OH

I think this is an example of a company that grew too big, too fast. I've been using Candid for about 6 months now - my total treatment time was supposed to be 10 months. I ran into a problem with my number 11 aligner fitting and that's where the nightmare begins. If you sail through the treatment with no problems, then Candid will probably work well for you. BUT - if you have ANY issues - which inevitability will come up with any type of treatment plan- then good luck getting anyone to help you! I've been stuck in this same set of aligners for over 2 months now trying to get an answer on what to do next - their customer support is terrible and there is no coordination of care - you get a different person every time you call who will be clueless about your case. I'm very much starting to doubt that any actual orthodontists work there - I think it may be just some guys with a 3D printer in their basement and then a bunch of minimum wage workers answering the phones. I would not recommend this company and very much regret handing over almost $2K of my hard earned money to them!

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Tara Stradley

My teeth are not much straighter and I''m not happy about having to buy retainers every 6 months. The retainers at the end was the main reason I did this!

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

L. Parks Middletown, MD

WARNING: Do not fall for this. This type of treatment does not work for all cases even though they will convince you it will. And when it doesn't they will try and force you to keep redoing the treatment over and over and refuse to refund any monies. Also - the treatment itself is not easy. You will look ridiculous and not be able to talk properly. RUN!

1 year ago

Candid Logo

Reply from Candid

Hi there. Thank you for your feedback. Please know that Candid and its affiliated orthodontists aim to provide high quality services. However, because of privacy concerns, we can't comment about patient care on public channels. Our customer care team is available at 844-295-6915 or via LiveChat from 9 AM to 7 PM EST. We also contact any customers with public complaints (whom we can identify) in order to address their concerns directly. If a complaint or concern is missed by our support team, we apologize!

Jun. 22nd, 2021

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Jake Mack CA

Candid is completely misleading- not only are the 10-14 day period checks in not happening and are only a series of automated messages from “your orthodontist” without any ability to converse and ask questions, when I called the orthodontist office directly (after getting the run around from Candid customer service) they mentioned that it’s not even the orthodontist (a man) who reviews it but rather a woman. Candid was completely misleading in their advertising- I really wish I went with SmileDirect or somebody else. Absolute mistake. No wonder so many BBB complaints.

1 year ago

Candid Logo

Reply from Candid

Hi Jake. Thank you for your feedback. Please know that Candid and its affiliated orthodontists aim to provide high quality services. However, because of privacy concerns, we can't comment about patient care on public channels. Our customer care team is available at 844-295-6915 or via LiveChat from 9 AM to 7 PM EST. We also contact any customers with public complaints (whom we can identify) in order to address their concerns directly. If a complaint or concern is missed by our support team, we apologize!

May. 20th, 2021

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Lauren Rockford, IL

Not happy with my teeth thus far. I was originally told treatment would be approximately 3-4 months, and am going on my 7+ month. The only tooth I wanted moved has yet to move, one tooth is now behind my front tooth, and my bite is now odd. I am almost done with my second set of aligners and know I will need another set of refinements. I am worried my teeth will not even be straight at the end and worse than when I started.

1 year ago

Candid Logo

Reply from Candid

Hi Lauren. Thank you for your feedback. Please know that Candid and its affiliated orthodontists aim to provide high quality services. However, because of privacy concerns, we can't comment about patient care on public channels. Our customer care team is available at 844-295-6915 or via LiveChat from 9 AM to 7 PM EST. We also contact any customers with public complaints (whom we can identify) in order to address their concerns directly. If a complaint or concern is missed by our support team, we apologize!

May. 17th, 2021

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Irene Stathis McKees Rocks, PA

Candid is the WORST company to go with. You get a bunch of automated messages instead of the personalized care they promise. I got to the end of my treatments and my teeth were NOT FULLY ALIGNED. I was told to do another impression and send it it. I HAVE BEEN WAITING 2 MONTHS FOR THEM TO FINISH REVIEWING IT AND GIVE ME MY FINAL TREATMENT PLAN. Every time I talk to support about this I get the same LIE that it's under final review and that I should receive an update within a week - the update NEVER COMES. DO NOT WASTE YOUR MONEY - CANDID IS FULL OF LIARS AND THIEVES.

1 year ago

Candid Logo

Reply from Candid

Hi Irene. Thank you for your feedback. Please know that Candid and its affiliated orthodontists aim to provide high quality services. However, because of privacy concerns, we can't comment about patient care on public channels. Our customer care team is available at 844-295-6915 or via LiveChat from 9 AM to 7 PM EST. We also contact any customers with public complaints (whom we can identify) in order to address their concerns directly. If a complaint or concern is missed by our support team, we apologize!

Apr. 19th, 2021

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Nicole G ,

Trying to reach a human at candid is nearly impossible. I’ve spent hours waiting on hold or for a live chat. I’m on my 3rd revision and my teeth still aren’t straight. Everything takes months - getting your first set of aligners and then waiting for a revision set. My aligners have never been submitted to my insurance even though they’ve been given the information. Just go to a real orthodontist - you’ll be much happier.

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Heather W Sacramento, CA

Just go to an orthodontist. Customer service is basically nonexistent, it takes forever to get ahold of anyone and even then you’re always talking to someone different so you have to explain your situation over and over again. Even after following instructions and wearing my aligners for longer than 2 weeks each my teeth are not straight. About to look into starting my third round of refinements however this time they want me to pay extra for remote monitoring which was not even an option when I started my treatment over 2 years ago.

1 year ago

Candid Logo

Reply from Candid

Hi Heather. Thank you for your feedback. Please know that Candid and its affiliated orthodontists aim to provide high quality services. However, because of privacy concerns, we can't comment about patient care on public channels. Our customer care team is available at 844-295-6915 or via LiveChat from 9 AM to 7 PM EST. We also contact any customers with public complaints (whom we can identify) in order to address their concerns directly.

Mar. 22nd, 2021

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Felix Castro Charlotte, NC

Never had anyone followup with me or review my progress my first 15ish aligners when I paid $1800. Had to order another $800 customization with remote viewing/ progress. Teeth moved slightly during the first aligners, but not what their visuals showed. Asked for a credit and they said I have to ask for that during the beginning. i'm now trying my 2nd set and it's taking over 2 months. Not happy at all.

1 year ago

Candid Logo

Reply from Candid

Hi Felix. Thank you for your feedback. Please know that Candid and its affiliated orthodontists aim to provide high quality services. However, because of privacy concerns, we can't comment about patient care on public channels. Our customer care team is available at 844-295-6915 or via LiveChat from 9 AM to 7 PM EST. We also contact any customers with public complaints (whom we can identify) in order to address their concerns directly. If a complaint or concern is missed by our support team, we apologize!

Jan. 28th, 2021

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Erika Bennett Minneapolis, MN

I did the kit and got my plan the end of 2019, the cost was going to be $1900 then with subsequent emails it went down to $1750. I scheduled a call with a candid employee who at the beginning of the call asked if I was the decision maker because he was going to be able to offer substantial discounts. Fast forward to 30+ minutes wasted of my life to go through the same model I saw online ...the pricing for my package was now up to $2400. The "substantial discount" $200 off to get it to $2200 or $450 MORE than the plan had been just weeks before. Super slimy company.

2 years ago

Candid Logo

Reply from Candid

Hi Erika. We completely understand your frustration. However, as of February 10th, we increased our price from $1,900 to $2,400 to accommodate our expanded treatment offering. Clear aligner treatment with Candid now always includes technology for regular, remote monitoring by an orthodontist. That means you’ll have an orthodontist tracking your progress with scans you take from your phone — no office visits needed. We'd be happy to explain the benefits of this new product offering further. Just give us a call at 1-844-295-6915.

Mar. 5th, 2020

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

MG ,

I loved the idea of this company. However, should any simple issues arise, you are in trouble. Nobody gets back to you in a timely manner. If/when someone does reach out, it is a customer service rep who offers generic advice. You will never get to speak to "your own orthodontist" which makes this process extremely frustrating. I was vigilant with wearing my retainers and had so many issues with fit that I am fully stopping this treatment and going to a physical orthodontist for Invisalign where they can actually help monitor progress. I would highly suggest you do the same.

2 years ago

Candid Logo

Reply from Candid

Hi MG. Thank you for your feedback. Candid and its affiliated orthodontists seek to provide high quality services. Because of privacy concerns, we can't comment about patient care on public channels. Our customer care team is available at 1-844-295-6915 or via LiveChat. We also contact any customers with public complaints (whom we can identify) in order to address their concerns directly. If a complaint or concern is missed by our support team, we apologize!

Feb. 28th, 2020

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

heather hetteen Lincolnwood, IL

This company is awful. My treatment has been in process for over two years (initial quoted treatment plan was <6 months). Two sets of refinements and I still have crooked teeth. Average response time is about a week - that's probably me being generous. I have dealt with 14 different people at candid and get a different person every time I contact them. The customer service is the worst from any company I've ever dealt with.

2 years ago

Candid Logo

Reply from Candid

Hi Heather. Thank you for your feedback. Candid and its affiliated orthodontists seek to provide high quality services. Because of privacy concerns, we can't comment about patient care on public channels. However, our customer care team is available at 1-844-295-6915 or via LiveChat. We do contact any customers with public complaints (whom we can identify) in order to address their concerns directly. If a complaint or concern is missed by our support team, we apologize!

Feb. 7th, 2020

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Diana Sas Atlanta, GA

Leaving aside the fact that it took them 9 months to file an insurance claim for me to get reimbursed when they advertised 30 days, my treatment plan did not work. I went in June to the Candid studio in Atlanta to get new films done and new photos taken. A new plan was supposed to be devised within 2 weeks. Well here we are almost 3 months later, and nobody will call me back, emails aren't answered, and when I do get a hold of someone, they say my treatment will be done 'soon'. The lack of integrity and transparency is appalling.

3 years ago

Candid Logo

Reply from Candid

Hi Diana. We're so sorry to hear that you're dissatisfied with your Candid experience thus far. I've shared your feedback with our support team management, who tried to reach you directly yesterday. You deserve a great experience through the entire course of your treatment with Candid and we're sorry we let you down.

Sep. 17th, 2019

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Christoph New York, NY

It is just awful. The treatment takes double the time expected - I have to do a second refinement treatment. I had to go 5 times for scans because they can not do there work right. Their customer service does not reply at all. Everything takes ages. So much headache! I am incredibly disappointed with Candid. It was a big mistake to go along with the treatment at Candid

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

al cobian Pico Rivera, CA

WORST CUSTOMER SERVICE EVER, WORST INSURANCE DEPARTMENT EVER!! STAY AWAY, I have been dealing with the support team and also their insurance department since Sept of 2018 and now is May of 2019 and still they can not get my claimed filed correctly, every time i call and get the name of the person just spoke with few days before they tell me there is no such person that works with Candid so you can see my frustration. if Mr. Nick G Co-Founder & CEO is reading this please re- train your staff. and now is 5/21/2019 11am and been on hold for over 25min and just been disconnected. STAY AWAY!!

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Scott Harrisonburg, VA

Can I give them 0 stars? I had these aligners and they didn't work. They moved my teeth, but not in a healthy way. I was concerned because when I was done I had "black triangles" or gaps between the base of my teeth. They said I would just need to get them filled in. At a normal orthodontist, you will get your teeth shaved down so that the teeth can actually be touching instead of having a gap. The shaving also helps move your teeth the way they need to. My front, bottom tooth did not move like it should and my aligners just stopped fitting. . They told me to just keep wearing them until the end of my treatment to see if they would magically end up the way they were supposed to. It didn't work and when I was done, every time I would take my aligners out to eat, it hurt a lot to put them back in because my teeth were being pushed to places they didn't want to stay. I asked an ortho friend about the black triangles and he told me to come in to look at it. He told that I needed something more than just these aligners because they don't provide a method to actually grab your teeth. I have now had Invisalign for about 30 weeks. I have another 20 to go. 50 weeks to fix what candid did! But my teeth are comfortably moving too where they need to go now. Also, Candid never charged my insurance. Bad experience all around. Not worth the savings.

1 year ago

Candid Logo

Reply from Candid

Hi Scott. Thank you for your feedback. Please know that Candid and its affiliated orthodontists aim to provide high quality services. However, because of privacy concerns, we can't comment about patient care on public channels. Our customer care team is available at 1-844-295-6915 or via LiveChat from 9 AM to 7 PM EST. We also contact any customers with public complaints (whom we can identify) in order to address their concerns directly. If a complaint or concern is missed by our support team, we apologize!

Oct. 23rd, 2020

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Keegan Carter

Follow through was non existent. After months fighting to try and get refitting I ended up along my credit card company to reverse the charge.

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Tamara Graham Anchorage, AK

Aligner didn’t fit on the bottom I called a number of times waiting for another set to mold it’s been a month later , still no kit.I feel like I should’ve been told I wasn’t a candidate. I feel once I paid in full I wasn’t taken care of

1 year ago

Candid Logo

Reply from Candid

Hi Tamara. Thank you for your feedback. Please know that Candid and its affiliated orthodontists aim to provide high quality services. However, because of privacy concerns, we can't comment about patient care on public channels. Our customer care team is available at 844-295-6915 or via LiveChat from 9 AM to 7 PM EST. We also contact any customers with public complaints (whom we can identify) in order to address their concerns directly. If a complaint or concern is missed by our support team, we apologize!

Jun. 29th, 2021

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Sharon Ansick Washington, DC

I have had a horrible experience with Candid. In the beginning, the service is top notch until they get your thousands of dollars. Then the service is non-existent. Phone calls aren’t answered or returned. Live chats take forever with a follow-up promise that isn’t kept.

1 year ago

Candid Logo

Reply from Candid

Hi Sharon. Thank you for your feedback. Please know that Candid and its affiliated orthodontists aim to provide high quality services. However, because of privacy concerns, we can't comment about patient care on public channels. Our customer care team is available at 844-295-6915 or via LiveChat from 9 AM to 7 PM EST. We also contact any customers with public complaints (whom we can identify) in order to address their concerns directly. If a complaint or concern is missed by our support team, we apologize!

Apr. 26th, 2021

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Brock Fehler Seattle, WA

Using Candid did straighten my teeth but completely screwed up my bite. I have now been trying to get it fixed with Candid for over two years. I have told them this since the first set of retainers and they can’t fix it. The additional three sets of retainers I am myself knew weren’t going to solve the problem. So frustrating!

1 year ago

Candid Logo

Reply from Candid

Hi Brock. Thank you for your feedback. Please know that Candid and its affiliated orthodontists aim to provide high quality services. However, because of privacy concerns, we can't comment about patient care on public channels. Our customer care team is available at 844-295-6915 or via LiveChat from 9 AM to 7 PM EST. We also contact any customers with public complaints (whom we can identify) in order to address their concerns directly. If a complaint or concern is missed by our support team, we apologize!

Feb. 16th, 2021

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Murphy Columbus, OH

$1900 - they'll send you discounts over and over again. I found out that you really don't have to pay the $1900, just wait until they either send you $600 off or even more. Or my friend just talk them down the price until they got what they wanted to pay in full - don't get set set up with an high interest rate on the payment plan

2 years ago