Best Company Guarantee State Farm Auto Insurance Logo

State Farm Auto Insurance

star star star star star_half

6.9

Overall Score

LAST UPDATED: January 12th, 2024

State Farm has a long history in the insurance industry and a strong reputation. If you're looking for a trustworthy insurance company, you don't need to look further.

State Farm offers many types of coverage that you could include in your policy. This allows you to have the coverage you need. You can buy coverage specifically for rideshare driving, antique or classic cars, and commercial car insurance.

Read State Farm Auto Insurance Reviews

thumb_up

The Good

  • Postive Customer Reviews
  • Good Coverage Options
  • Rideshare Insurance
  • Policies for Antique and Classic Cars
  • Commercial Auto Insurance
  • Nice Discounts
  • Online Quote
  • Simple Insights® 

Positive Reviews

State Farm reviews on Best Company are overwhelmingly positive and reflect a high level of customer satisfaction. 

Auto insurance customers mention claims satisfaction, State Farm's dependability, and good customer service.

Reviewers also trust their State Farm agent. Some positive reviews comment on the fairness of rates. Other positive reviews mention switching to another auto insurance company for a lower rate.

Because State Farm has earned high praise from customer reviews for its auto coverage, it has our recommendation.

Good Coverage Options

State Farm offers excellent coverage with its car insurance policies. You can include the following types of coverage in your insurance plan:

  • Collision coverage
  • Comprehensive coverage
  • Liability coverage (bodily injury and property damage)
  • Personal liability umbrella coverage (beyond bodily injury and property damage)
  • Car rental and travel expenses coverage
  • Rental car coverage (repays up to $500 of the deductible expense if you have an accident in a rental car)
  • Uninsured motor vehicle coverage
  • Underinsured motor vehicle coverage
  • Medical payments coverage (for covered person and covered person's passengers)
  • Emergency road service coverage

With so many coverage options, you'll be able to find a car insurance product that meets your needs.

Rideshare Insurance

If you drive for a company like Uber or Lyft, you can add rideshare driver insurance coverage to your personal auto policy.

This rideshare coverage add-on covers all the insurance gaps you have as a rideshare driver. This additional protection allows you to have the coverage you need whenever you drive.

Policies for Antique and Classic Cars

State Farm stands out from other insurers because it offers policies for antique and classic cars.

To qualify for this kind of auto insurance policy, your car must be at least 10 years old, be in good condition or in restoration, stored in an enclosed building, and have limited use.

You can purchase liability, medical payments or no fault, comprehensive, collision, uninsured motor vehicle, and underinsured motor vehicle coverage. You can also add emergency roadside service to your policy.

Commercial Auto Insurance

If driving is part of your business, you'll like the commercial auto insurance policies.

State Farm's business auto insurance policies can include bodily injury liability, property damage liability, personal injury or medical payments, collision, comprehensive, and uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage.

If your employees drive their own cars for your business, you can benefit from State Farm's Employers Non-owned Car Liability (ENOL) coverage.

Nice Discounts

Like many car insurance companies, State Farm offers many different types of discounts.

  • Drive Safe and Save ™ (discount based on your driving habits)
  • Steer Clear ® (discount if you're under 25 with no at-fault accidents)
  • Defensive driving course (take an approved drivers safety class)
  • Good driving (3+ years without moving violations or at-fault accidents)
  • Vehicle safety (based on your car's repair records, adjusted annually for cars made after 1993)
  • Passive restraint (for cars made before 1994 that have a factory-installed air bag)
  • Anti-theft (car has approved anti-theft device)
  • Driver training (drivers under age 21 who complete an approved driver education course)
  • Good student (teens)
  • Student Away at School (student under age 25 at school and only uses car when at home)
  • Multiple autos insured

You can also bundle policies (homeowners insurance , renters insurance, condo insurance, life insurance) with auto insurance to save.

With all of these discount opportunities, you're likely to save on your insurance rates.

Online Quote and Claims

State Farm makes it easy to get an insurance premium quote and file a claim online. You can also find local repair shops on its site. These features make State Farm easy to work with at your convenience.

If you prefer to work with an insurance agent, State Farm has many agents across the United States. You'll benefit from their personalized service.

Simple Insights® 

State Farm also manages a blog called Simple Insights ® to help visitors learn about car insurance and how it works.

In addition to this blog, State Farm has FAQs on its site and even a helpful page to help you decide whether or not to buy additional insurance when you rent a car.

Visit Site

thumb_down

The Bad

  • No Quote Comparison Available
  • May Not Be Available in Mexico

No Quote Comparison Available

State Farm sells its own car insurance policies. If you want to compare quotes from multiple insurers online, you'll need to work with each one directly or use a comparison site. This lack of quote comparison can be inconvenient if you're in the first shopping phase.

However, State Farm is a trusted insurer, has excellent policies, and offers many types of discounts, so you're likely to find a cost-effective insurance policy.

May Not Be Available in Mexico

Some car insurers sell policies that work in Mexico. These policies are important if you plan to drive your car in Mexico. Since State Farm doesn't mention a policy like this on its site, you probably need to find another company if you plan to drive in Mexico.

gavel

The Bottom Line

State Farm is an excellent choice for car insurance. It has a strong reputation and offers many different kinds of coverage. With all of these options, you'll find the coverage you need for your car.

You may need to look for another company if you plan to drive in Mexico. However, rideshare drivers, businesses, and people with classic or antique cars benefit from State Farm car insurance that is geared to cover gaps and meet specific needs.

You'll also benefit from the many discounts that State Farm offers policyholders. These discounts will help you be a better driver and save money.

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

bestcompany guarantee

Best Company guarantees your satisfaction if you choose a company that has earned this distinction. If you're not satisfied after 30 days, simply let us know and we'll give you $200. Yes, it's really that simple.

Learn More About Our Guarantee

Star Rating

info

4.4

star star star star star_half

746 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

59%

4 grade

22%

3 grade

10%

2 grade

4%

1 grade

5%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star star_border

Quality

star star star star star_half

Service

star star star star star_half

Trustworthiness

star star star star star_half
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
star star star star star

Sinister Babe Kyle, TX

Never had a problem with State Farm, they are pretty pricy but you really get what you pay for with them. And great customer service to get the job done quickly and efficiently.

1 month ago Edited January 15, 2024

star star star star star

Deborah Dyer Hendersonville, TN

My husband and I have had our cars insured thru State Farm since we were both young and first got our Drivers License. Later on we added our homes onto the policy and have continued with only State Farm for over 55 years. We find them to be reasonable in their prices as we have checked around for the coverage on our cars and homes and there was others that were cheaper, but didn’t hold the trusting value we felt we had received by staying with a company as long as we had. Both our parents also had State Farm, and our daughter and her family have it . So based on the satisfaction of claims that all of us have had over many, many years, why would we want to change? My Dad always said, if you find a company that is honest, gives great service and you can depend on them, stick with a good thing and that’s what we have done. Like I said, you may find others cheaper, but you need to have confidence in a company that has been around for over 100 years and knows exactly what and how to do business with their customers. A satisfied customer is always a HAPPY customer!

7 months ago

star star star star star

Otis Adkins Hazard, KY

Great people to work with they saved me quite of bit of money with my car insurance house boat and Atv my bundle plan was cheap than just my auto insurance

3 months ago

star star star star star

Jeremy Summa Inverness, FL

I am a State Farm customer for life. They are beyond helpful every time I call. The cost of insurance is amazing and they work hard to give you discounts. I bought a new truck and called to add the insurance and the person that helped me not only gave me a great rest he shuffled the rate we pay for our suv and got it lowered by $60 a month. You should consider calling them I think you’ll be happy.

9 months ago

star star star star star

Mindy Clarke Tacoma, WA

I have been with state farm auto insurance for 7 years. They are the best price for me. The customer service team is awesome. The app is so easy to use and when I call I get my questions answered right away.

8 months ago

star star star star star

Kenneth Rice Washington, DC

I have been a customer of state farm for 3 years now my local office nows me by name and customer service is absolutely top notch my mom also has state farm and has for over 10 years very good pricing just a great company all around.

10 months ago

star star star star star

Ilene Metrick

I had been with state farm for over 40 years. We had them whe we lived in NY and stayed with them when we moved to PA. Their rates were very good and their service was dependable. I also felt they were professional whenever I had to call and ask a question I was always given an answer which was very helpful. My friends had had other insurance companies and they were not satisfied. We have 2 cars and our home insurance with State Farm

3 months ago

star star star star star

Bridget Walker Gulfport, MS

State Farm Auto Insurance has a plan to fit everyone's needs. From liability to full coverage they make it easy for someone who is on a budget to afford. I recommend them because they were able to get me a very affordable plan for me and my husband. Not just for our cars but our home too. They are one of the top insurance providers in the United States. You can't go wrong when you go with them.

1 year ago Edited October 19, 2022

star star star star star

JOHN M CAMPBELL ,

I've been a customer of State Farm for 36 years. I not only have Auto Insurance with them but Homeowners, Umbrella, Rental Property & Personal Articles insurance as well as my FEMA Flood Insurance policies as well. When I've had to file any claims, for my own car or for a rental vehicle, they handle the claims through my local agent, on the phone, and made sure I got a loaner car right on the spot. Also, when I file a claim they don't try to cancel my insurance. Perhaps they don't offer the best rates, but they make up for it with GREAT customer service.

3 years ago

star star star star star

certi2de Lexington, KY

State Farm makes things easy and quick when I’m in need of assistance. Not only do they offer and encourage periodic comprehensive insurance reviews where you sit down with an agent, I’m also able to communicate with my office via phone call, email AND text. They are EXCELLENT when it comes to helping you find all the discounts that apply to you. Proud to be a State Farm client!

3 years ago

star star star star star

Michelle Rios Ogden, UT

We have been with State Farm for 35 years in 3 different states. Their agents have always been helpful, making sure that we have the right policies to cover our family's needs. We have had only a claim or two, but our agent has responded quickly and we were able to get the money to fix our vehicles fast and without a hassle. We value loyalty and quality, State Farm offers both.

4 years ago

star star star star star

Joe Oakdale, PA

State Farm has consistently provided nothing short of 5-Star customer service throughout all of my insurance needs. They hsve always been extremely fast to answer questions, assist in any situation, & especially quick to provide assistance & customer support in the times when I've needed them the most. All in all they have steadily stood steadfast at the ready to be the guiding light during the low points & times when you need a helping hand & positive reassurance when you need it the most!!

4 years ago

star star star star star

Matt Hanzel Saratoga Springs, UT

I have been a State Farm customer for 27 years for both home and auto. During that time I have had a handful of claims and each time they have been handled very professionally and in a timely manner. Every now and again I am tempted to switch companies to find a cheaper rate but then I am reminded by others’ experiences that you typically get what you pay for when it comes to reliability and customer service.

5 years ago

star star star star star

Christina Amato Hayward, CA

Been with state farm for 23 years. Everything is super easy. I send in my monthly premiums and if accidents or vandalism occur I make a phone call and they handle EVERYTHING else. Most I have to do is drop off and pick up my car. If they have to fight for me sometimes I have to wait until they get paid to get my deductable back but it always comes. I dont think I woild want to be with anybody else!

6 years ago

star star star star star

Joan Apple

We were in a major automobile accident several years ago and couldn't be more happy with how professionally they handled the claim. Our agent, JoEllen J was a great advocate for us, although everyone else we dealt with was incredible helpful. When it really counted State Farm came through for us...that the most important thing when selecting a company.

6 years ago

star star star star star

Rose Minniear

I have had my insurance with State Farm for 30 years. They have always taken care of me, provide great customer service and even call to thank me for staying with them. Unfortunately we have had several claims and all have been processed very smoothly and to our satisfaction. Other companies have tried to get our business, even at cheaper rates, but I will not change.

6 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Helen Thompson Bountiful, UT

when we were first married and had 1 car and rented an apartment we started with State Farm for our needs. as we bought more cars and our family grew we really appreciated their men who would call us and go over our needs. One man who worked for them was in his 80's and he knew even our kids by name because he cared and we felt that he cared and wanted the best for our family. when we went into the army and qualified for USSA which was cheaper for us with now homes and cars and condo's our agent with state Farm was very understanding and did not pressure us etc stay with that company. We always felt if we needed to we could go back and they would treat us as family.

5 years ago Edited September 14, 2021

star star star star star

J G Phoenix, AZ

We switched over to State Farm about 6 month ago. Their service and price beat my last company by a lot. When I have a question my local agents is knowledgeable and friendly.

10 months ago

star star star star star

Sandra Phoenix, AZ

I am very happy with State Farm. I use their safe drivers tool to save me money on my auto insurance. I have other insurance policies with them as well so I can bundle and get more discounts.

10 months ago

star star star star star

Tabitha Norman Norwalk, OH

I've had state farm as long as I've been driving. Love My agent Eric in the willard oh office. Very friendly always goes above and beyond. When I've been in accidents caused by others he was quick to get a claim started and help me get in a rental right away. Best auto insurance by far.

1 year ago Edited November 7, 2022

star star star star star

LeAnn Baytown, TX

Been with StateFarm for 15 years. My husband has been with them for 35 years. We use a local agent, and they know us when we call the office. We have great rates too because we have been with them so long and we have been pretty lucky to not have many claims. They have always taken good care of us when we needed them.

2 years ago

star star star star star

Derrick Nedzel Wheat Ridge, CO

My experience with my State Farm insurance agent and his office has been excellent. Everytime I have a question, he or his administrator get back to me quickly with information about coverage and advice on interacting with the company. They have been very responsive, honest and transparent.

3 years ago

star star star star star

Joe Araki

I’ve been with State Farm Insurance 50 years. All my family members plus 3 generations. They might be more expensive but the quality of service is excellent. Joe L has been my agent for most of my life. I can always count on him and his family for quick response and support.

3 years ago

star star star star star

Eddie Rios Ogden, UT

Have been with State Farm Insurance for over 27 years. Most comprehensive coverage gives me the most peace of mind. Agents are so knowledgeable on all facets of insurance. I never feel at risk. In fact, I am sure I will never change insurance carriers as State Farm is as good as they come. Best in Class!

4 years ago

star star star star star

happy customer Elmhurst, NY

Liz from the Elmhurst NY State Farm branch gave me great advise about renters insurance. She was kind enough to break down the process of applying for it and how it would be combined with my car insurance. Thank you so much for taking the time explaining it to me so patiently and enthusiastically.

4 years ago

star star star star star

Terry W Fossum

Exceptionally rapid, easy to navigate and fair claim servicing. They have contacted me several times since I have been with them which is for over 25 years to let me know about altered plans that ultimately saved me money on my premiums.

6 years ago

star star star star star

Cheryl Pinkerton

Good customer service. I have only had a problem with one agent and finally switched recently. Kale N and Tamara are great agents. The agent I just switched from didnt have time fo me when I had questions. Guess my account wasn't big enough.

6 years ago

star star star star star

Megan Rigby

State Farms has been my home for auto insurance since before I could even drive. My family used them and after I was married, we continued to use them and have been very well taken care of all these years. Never had any issues with payments and if so, office staff are very helpful. Very friendly staff and Insurance Agent.

6 years ago

star star star star star

Aaron Anderson

Efficient claims, competitive rates, excellent customer service. Top choice for auto insurance!

3 months ago Edited November 20, 2023

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Michelle Chandler, OK

I've been a customer of State Farm for over 20 years. Their customer service is amazing! I love working with my agent. I've never had one problem with them and they've always been there to help or answer questions. If had a few claims with them and have never oce been disappointed with their services. I have also not been able to find another company to beat their prices or services.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Jlbflatx New Braunfels, TX

I have used State Farm insurance since I was 16 , my whole life. I always felt I was in good hands and protected. Anytime I had to be towed for car problems, they always reimburse me all towing charges with copy of my receipt. Only one accident that I can recall and all repairs were paid for with my $500 deductible. Prices have always been fair compared to other insurance companies. My agents were always there for questions when I need them. I have never felt need to change companies. I recommend State Farm totally.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Christopher posey Bettendorf, IA

I have been a customer for 48 years. That about says it all! My latest success story was I was hit from behind at a stop, the car that hit me was going at least 45 MPH and hit me so hard that my car pushed 2 cars in front of me. State Farm paid me up front then went after the drivers insurance company on my behalf. The other 2 cars insurance companies tried to get me to pay for their car’s damages and State Farm told them what they could do with that thought!😄

2 years ago Edited October 14, 2021

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Fred Van Liew Carrollton, TX

We have been with State Farm for our Autos and Home insurance. I love that they don't nickel and dime legitimate damages, and they reject false claims that then make possible their outstanding service. We have been with them so long that we have had to use their services multiple times. Always extraordinary. Love our agent and love the back up from State Farm.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Marlene Coville Blakeslee, PA

When I wanted to change companies last year I went to an internet company that let me choose about five different companies to choose. After putting extensive information into the computer about ourselves, many companies called/ and contacted us by email. Only one sent us a letter and a real quote, you guessed it, State Farm. Even though it was about 45 minutes away we gave our business to this particular State Farm because she took the time to get to know us and gave us a wonderful deal for our home, and car.

2 years ago Edited September 14, 2021

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Roger Cohn Tucson, AZ

I have been with State Farm for many years now (since 1978). I have had very few claims but when I do it's taken care of immediately. But most people today are interested in one thing, Premiums. Every couple of years I go to the trouble of putting my business out for bid. No one has yet to beat State Farm for all coverage. I have auto and motorcycle and also home, umbrella, commercial building and auto.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Kevin D Franklin, IN

We have been customers of State Farm for 40 plus years. Have, unfortunately, had a few auto accidents, which were not our fault. Easy to deal with, very responsive and professional. Never experienced a rate increase, and have opted for Homeowner's, Umbrella, Boat, and other insurance coverages with State Farm. Occasionally, get quotes from other insurer's, but not a single company has been competitive to the rates we pay with State Farm. Love our long time agent, Ebbie Crawford and her staff.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Stephanie Love Tacoma, WA

I have been with State Farm for 10 plus years and have been super satisfied. They have the best rates and nobody has yet to beat them. Their customer service is awesome. Anytime I’ve have to call with an issue, questions, or to file a claim, they have been super easy to work with. They always return my calls and got back with me in a timely manner. I will continue using State Farm for my insurance needs (car and home).

4 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Wesley Jackson Owings Mills, MD

I've been a customer and an employee of State Farm Insurance. Enjoyed my time working in the claims office helping our insured at their most vulnerable time to get the medical treatment they and their passengers may have needed. The location closed where I worked and having a family and home I didn't relocate. As a customer I've have multiple lines of insurance for myself and my family. Great company!

4 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Melanie Rio Rancho, NM

I was involved in a crash where I was rear-ended while at a stoplight by another car who was driving at 55mph. While I was injured, after I went to the ER, I drove my vehicle home. Due to the fact that I could not walk, State Farm had their adjuster come out to my house to look at the vehicle and paid me for damages to my vehicle within a few days. I was super impressed with the company to do that for me when they did not have to.

4 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

kristin Gneiting Pleasant Grove, UT

State Farm Auto Insurance is the best Auto Insurance Company around. They are a little more expensive than other companies that I have used, but they make up for it in service, and the ability to take care of a claim faster than any other company that I have been involved with. They have great customer service, and a reputation of working with the b est repair shops.

4 years ago

star star star star star

Christine Farmer Littleton, CO

We have been using State Farm Auto Insurance for years. We have always had excellent service when making changes to cars or drivers. When one of our cars was totaled, the service and reimbursement was efficient and timely. Our young adult daughter, now on her own, bought auto insurance from State Farm and her cost was very competitive, a great price!

4 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Reese Pleasant Grove, UT

State Farm Auto Insurance works for me. They are local, with a local representative that made it easy to sign up and easy to pick what is best for me. They went through every option and I could choose what I needed. They were also very helpful when I needed to add a car and driver and also worked with me on my payment to make it due when it was best for me.

4 years ago

star star star star star

edward reese Hyattsville, MD

State Farm is a long standing reputable company and as a policy holder for both auto insurance and homeowners, the bundled discounts are great! When I had a car do a hit an run on me, the insurance company was able to hunt down the diplomat who hit my car and got my money back for the insurance deductible. The cops hunted for a month took State Farm 2 weeks.

5 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Brian Joseph Duncan Queen Creek, AZ

I have been a customer of State Farm for almost 20 years. Their service and products are great. One of my favorite coverages is glass coverage. Often time my windshield will get a crack or chips from road hazards. State Farm covers this 100% for me with no deductible. It is great to have the kind of service. My agent is also great. She has taken care of me and my family for many years.

5 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Kimberly Maddock Pleasant Grove, UT

BEST CUSTOMER SERVICE! Hands down. I was hit by a car (their fault) and State Farm took care of me when the other drivers insurance would not respond to my calls. They went above and beyond. They took care of me getting my car back and going and then on their time, went after the other drivers insurance. I can't recommend them enough. I will forever be with State Farm.

5 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Tami Allen Gilbert, AZ

We have been with State Farm for over 25 years. They provide our personal insurance needs, as well as those of our small business. Their prices are competitive and fair. We have had several claims over the years, (with a few teenage drivers), and they have always been dealt with quickly, and fairly. Our State Farm agent has become a family friend, and someone I can count on to be there, day or night no matter what the situation. I feel so grateful to know that our insurance is handled by true professionals who care about the people they serve.

5 years ago

star star star star star

Amanda Sherwood, OR

We use state farm for our cars and renters insurance. When we combined our insurances (after my husband and I got married) they made sure we had a better rate than what my current insurance was offering. They applied all sorts of discounts to make sure we were getting the best for our bucks. Also our agent was super helpful when filling a claim and took the time to do it with us. We had a couple issues on billing when changing states and agents but they always took care of it promptly.

5 years ago

star star star star star

Anne Marie Milne Layton, UT

I had State Farm for many many years when I was single. I loved my agent so very much. Not only did she teach me so much about insurance and how important to have the right coverage. She would give me monthly personally calls to remind me my bill was due because this was my first time paying bills on my own. She wanted me to succeed. I truly felt that. Professional, treated like family. I recommended it to all my friends and so many joined because of my wonderful reviews on the wonderful company.

5 years ago

star star star star star

Rebecca Tucker Fresno, CA

State Farm provides quick service and very reasonable rates. Not sure why they won't insure young drivers in the state of California though.

7 months ago

star star star star star

jamee emens Scottsdale, AZ

I switched to State Farm about a year ago. My account representative is friendly, helpful, and easy to reach at all times. Pricing is extremely competitive. The claims process is also a breeze.

1 year ago