Philips Lifeline Logo

Philips Lifeline

star star star_half star_border star_border

3.2

Overall Score

LAST UPDATED: August 25th, 2022

As a psychologist and gerontologist, Andrew S. Dibner founded Lifeline Systems in 1974 to give elderly persons a viable solution to getting emergency medical help. The company initially sold its services to commercial entities, such as hospitals and other healthcare facilities, and has since transitioned to selling directly to consumers.

Today, Philips Lifeline remains one of the top medical alert services in the United States, having served over seven million customers.

The company's medical alert service doesn't require any long-term contracts, and multiple medical alert plans are available. Read our Philips Lifeline review below to see the pros and cons of the medical alert company. 

Top Ranked Companies

thumb_up

The Good

  • Fall Detection Available
  • No Long-Term Contracts
  • Variety of Medical Alert Packages
  • Worry-Free Batteries
  • Waterproof Devices
  • Choice of Landline or Cellular Connection
  • Easy Installation and Optional Installation Assistance

Fall Detection Available

Philips Lifeline's fall detection feature, AutoAlert, uses smart sensors to identify a fall and automatically send an alert to Philips Lifeline if a fall is detected. This means customers don't have to worry about pushing their medical alert button themselves, especially if when they fall, they are unable to move.

Philips Lifeline's monitoring center will notify family members and emergency responders immediately and will send help without the customer having to do anything. There is also two-way communication in the medical alert pendant, so you can speak to the emergency operators directly if desired.

No Long-Term Contracts

Philips Lifeline does not require customers to sign any long-term contracts for its products and services. This can provide peace of mind for people who want the freedom to cancel their medical alert services if need be.

Variety of Medical Alert Packages

Philips Lifeline offers in-home and on-the-go medical alert systems. The on-the-go GoSafe system includes mobile solutions with six locating technologies, including GPS and Wi-Fi, to help locate the medical alert customer simply and quickly. Philips Lifeline's alert pendant, base station, and other equipment for all of its offered packages are rigorously-tested, medical-grade, and FDA-listed. Package details are below:

HomeSafe Standard

  • Activation fee
  • Free equipment
  • Pendant or wristband
  • At-home coverage
  • In-home communicator with two-way voice communication
  • Landline or wireless connection
  • 24/7 access to help
  • Month-to-month billing
  • Personalized response plan

HomeSafe with AutoAlert

  • Everything included in HomeSafe Standard Plan
  • Pendant only
  • AutoAlert fall detection

GoSafe 2

  • Everything included in HomeSafe with AutoAlert Plan
  • Free activation
  • Equipment fee
  • Coverage for at-home and on-the-go

Worry-Free Batteries

The emergency button has a lengthy rechargeable battery life. The communicator unit has up to 30 hours of battery backup, which gives you access to help even during power outages. Philips Lifeline automatically replaces the battery for the HomeSafe products when needed. The GoSafe products have a year warranty, but the user is responsible for replacing the battery when needed.

Waterproof Devices 

Philips’ medical alert devices are water-resistant and work in the bath or shower where falls are common. This gives customers extra protection and makes it so they don't have to worry about taking the medical alert device on and off. 

Choice of Landline or Cellular Connection

In the medical alert industry, it's common for companies to offer plans that include either a landline connection or a cellular connection; most often you can't choose a plan and then decide whether or not you want it to be cellular- or landline-based. Philips Lifeline allows customers to choose which one they'd prefer. Keep in mind the cellular versions of the medical alert plans are more expensive, and you'll still pay an activation fee regardless for both options. 

Easy Installation and Optional Installation Assistance

Philips Lifeline comes with an easy step-by-step voice-guided installation process. Upon request, Philips Lifeline can send a skilled technician to your home to ensure that everything is installed properly and that the system is securely connected to the monitoring center. This is a unique offering within the industry, as most companies don't offer professional installation as part of their medical alert services.

The technician will call you to schedule a two-hour time slot that works with your schedule. Be aware that the optional installation help does require a one-time installation fee. However, you can also have the equipment mailed to you so you can set it up yourself for no additional cost.

View Best Medical Alert Companies

thumb_down

The Bad

  • Range/Distance Limitations
  • Expensive Pricing
  • Activation Fee
  • Equipment Fee
  • Delayed Shipping
  • Negative Reviews
  • Missing Certifications

Range/Distance Limitations

Philips Lifeline doesn’t have a specific range from the base station for its products. The range of the base unit to the help button varies depending on the specifications of the house itself. The company also warns the range in and around your home must be tested.

The mobile Philips Lifeline system has coverage anywhere with AT&T service, but the range varies depending on cell tower coverage in that particular area. However, this is to be expected with most medical alert devices.

Expensive Pricing

Philips Lifeline pricing is on the higher-end when compared to other medical alert providers. For example, Medical Guardian, the #1 rated medical alert company on the market, has a landline-based medical alert system that is around $30 per month with no activation fee or equipment fee. Philips Lifeline, on the other hand, has a comparable landline package with a $60 monthly cost and a $50 activation fee. Although Philips Lifeline's package includes fall detection, Medical Guardian offers automatic fall detection for only $10 extra per month. Philips Lifeline is still significantly more expensive. 

Activation Fee

For all of Philips Lifeline's at-home medical alert systems, a $50 activation fee is required. Activation fees aren't uncommon, but many top-rated medical alert companies don't charge an activation fee, regardless if you choose a mobile or home-based system. 

If you opt for Philips Lifeline's GoSafe 2 mobile plan, you won't have to pay an activation fee; however, you will need to pay a one-time equipment fee. 

Equipment Fee 

As noted in the previous paragraph, Philips Lifeline charges an equipment fee if you purchase its mobile plan, GoSafe 2. Competing medical alert companies don't charge equipment fees unless it's for high-tech equipment, such as a medical alert smartwatch. It's definitely disappointing Philips Lifeline charges nearly $100 just for a mobile medical alert help button, especially when the majority of medical alert companies on the market don't charge for this type of equipment. 

Delayed Shipping

Philips Lifeline GoSafe 2 mobile plan takes 6–8 weeks to ship. This is quite the delay and could be inconvenient if you're looking to have medical alert protection as soon as possible. The at-home plans ship quicker, closer to 2–5 days

Negative Reviews

More than half of Philips Lifeline reviews are 1 or 2 stars. This is disappointing and alarming when you want to trust the medical alert company you choose has happy customers. Given its low star rating, that doesn't seem to be the case with Philips Lifeline. 

Missing Certifications

Philips Lifeline notes on its website that its response center has a professionally trained staff, but it does not state if the response center is CSAA Five Diamond Certified or if its staff has specific certifications.

A CSAA Five Diamond Certification means a company is nationally approved with security excellence. To be certified, companies are randomly inspected to ensure they are meeting industry standards for customer service, security, and safety. Without this certification, it's difficult to trust Philips Lifeline has a high-performing response center, especially since the majority of highly rated medical alert companies have this certification.

View Best Medical Alert Companies

gavel

The Bottom Line

Unlike many medical alert companies, Philips Lifeline pricing includes an activation fee for its landline packages and an equipment fee for its mobile medical alert service. Philips Lifeline's monthly cost is also more expensive than medical alert providers who are providing similar services, and quite often, more medical alert features for less.

Although the equipment is easy to install, Philips Lifeline does offer customers the option for professional installation for an additional fee. 

With affordable pricing and customer reviews being such an important factor when choosing a medical alert provider, we cannot confidently recommend Philips Lifeline since the medical alert service has high pricing and negative customer feedback. 

We suggest looking into other top-rated companies before making your purchasing decision. Many companies on the market include cheaper monthly prices, no activation or equipment fees, and higher quality products with better customer feedback.  

Read Philips Lifeline reviews below to learn more about the customer experience. 

View Best Medical Alert Companies

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Star Rating

2.7

star star star_half star_border star_border

68 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

29%

4 grade

13%

3 grade

0%

2 grade

10%

1 grade

47%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star_border star_border star_border

Quality

star star star_border star_border star_border

Service

star star_half star_border star_border star_border

Trustworthiness

star star_half star_border star_border star_border
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
star star_border star_border star_border star_border

James McLane Carlsbad, CA

I placed an order with Lifeline for alert devices for my parents 2 1/2 months ago, but we’re never received. Multiple phone calls to customer service have been useless, every one ends with a promise to “escalate” my query to a supervisor, but no supervisor ever contacted me. Terrible customer service. I won’t trust my parents lives to this company. I canceled the order today.

3 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Kathy Sequim, WA

My very first experience. Got Lifeline for my mom so that I could be alerted if she fell or had a problem. She recently started getting recorded calls on her landline saying they were testing her system and she should press the button on her band. I was there one day when one came in, it was garbled and hard to understand. After I got home I got a call on my cell which said it was "probable spam". They've always been right before, so I didn't answer. The caller left a message. Someone who could barely speak English and about the only word I could make out was Lifeline. Barely. So I called the number back, the person who answered said my mom pushed the button, they called me and I didn't answer (do YOU answer SPAM CALLS?) so they sent aid. Of course she was fine. Also when I first called, the phone rang and rang with no answer. Hung up, tried again, twice. Same thing. Finally got a human on the third try who was no help at all and gave me yet another number to call....and on and on it goes... First of all why does such an important number not say WHO THEY ARE? I mean if other companies are set up to show their name, why can't they? Second of all if I get a call and there's a problem I need to UNDERSTAND what the person is saying!! What good does it do if you can't? I seriously want to switch but have a feeling my mom will just say cancel and forget them all. In hind site if every call goes the way this one went, a person is probably better off saving their money than paying for a service that does absolutely no good.

7 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

matthew jones High Point, NC

For an EMERGENCY SERVICE, their tech support is only available 8:00am to 8:30pm. If the equipment has any network issues after those hours, the user needs to postpone their medical emergency. Imagine calling the fire department and getting a message to call back during business hours. Guess that means the flames have to wait until business hours to continue burning. The Philips Lifeline device gives a busy signal when the emergency button is pressed. It's sad to know Philips Lifeline is this unreliable.

6 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

ROBBIE SUE Brunswick, GA

My parents have used Philips Lifeline since 2018. My Dad is deceased and every time I call we go through the process of them asking about my father and I have to explain that he is deceased. Every time I am told they will update the file...every...time.... In November my mother's home unit began flashing. I contacted the company and they said her necklace device needed replacing-they would send one right out. I called in December-this time they would really send one right out. I called Jan 13-this time it would go out the next day with expedited shipping. I just called again, Feb 1, this time it would really go out, with expedited shipping. I understand labor shortage, shipping delays, all that...but it seems Philip's needs a lifeline.

9 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Anthony Less Galena, IL

Waste of money my mom had the service for 3 month and fell twice and neither time did the fall detector work and trying to get someone on the phone is a waste of time you can be on the phone for 45 minutes and get no one I would never use this system ever again

7 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Menescardi Mary Airdrie, AB

My mom is in the hospital with a broken hip. LIFFELINE DIDN'T GO OFF ON ANY OF THE 6 OR MORE FALLS SHE HAD IN THE LAST YEAR!!!!!!!! One of the falls was outside the range. They replaced the pendant in November. It still didn't work on May 1. They gave me a bunch of excuses before-she must have broken the fall, it wasn't a hard fall,...she broke her hip-is that a hard enough fall without it going off? It was over her blouse, lose and did nothing. The supervisor called me back on my cell-told them to only call it in emergencies. It's been about 3 weeks and they still haven't dealt with it. After waiting and waiting, the rudest girl Laticia said she would talk back in the tone. Her supervisor Joe said he'd talk to her and get back to me. He left an extension that had no voice prompt for. I had to call back and they said his phone was off and they couldn't take a message. Then when I called back the next day, his phone just kept ringing and ringing-no voicemail. I asked to speak to his supervisor since I can't reach him, she left a voicemail yesterday. I called back, but didn't get through. I called today as I don't know what we have paid for all these years when it doesn't work and was told by Linda, another rude woman, that there are many files; one is cancelled and one shows pending installation. She said she'd call me back in 2 minutes. Almost 2 hours passed before she left a voicemail that the account had been cancelled and a shipping label would be sent. MOST OLD PEOPLE WON'T REMEMBER TO PRESS THE BUTTON, ESPECIALLY THOSE WITH DEMENTIA. THAT WAS WHY WE GOT AUTOFALL THAT NEVER WORKED. This company should be ashamed of themselves for selling a defective product, charging for something that doesn't work, horrible customer service with rude staff and a lack of getting back to customers within a reasonable time. I have to deal with so many doctors and hospital staff and then have the stress of trying to deal with this unprofessional company.

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Jane Calgary, AB

My Mother in Law lived in Ontario for more than 101 years. She died in October 2019. She lived a full and wonderful life and was smart, funny, engaged and engaging. She lived alone in an apartment for the last 23 years of her life. She didn't want to go to a Nursing Home but she was very afraid of falling. In 2002 we got her a Phillips Lifeline and in 2018 we upgraded it to an Auto Alert Fall Detection system. WE WERE NOT ADVISED THAT THE SYSTEM DID NOT ALWAYS DETECT A FALL. We spent over $8,500.00 during that period, worth every penny for peace of mind. Or so we thought. In October, Mom fell in her bedroom and broke her arm. She lay on the floor for more than 24 hrs, was taken to the hospital eventually after a relative raised the alarm, was quite " with it" as she spoke to the Doctors and the Nurses. She died the following morning. She was wearing her Phillips Lifeline and it failed her. I tested the pendant a few days later by dropping it, throwing it and pushing the button. There was no response from Lifeline. They sent Mom's equipment to the States for testing. The equipment came back in November and I am still waiting for the report, 6 months later. Here's what we would like you to know THE FALL DETECTION MONITOR HAS A KNOWN FAILURE RATE AND PHILLIPS HAS A RESPONSIBILITY TO ITS CLIENTS TO MAKE THEM AWARE OF THIS BEFORE THEY CHOOSE PHILLIPS. Mom may have chosen a Retirement Home vs lying on the floor for more than 24 hrs with a broken arm, unable to move. Please let your loved ones know this so that they can make an informed choice.

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Rita Tebbe Godfrey, IL

I have been trying to login in to their website for weeks. I have called customer service and they do not seem to be able to grabs the concept that their login page is not working. After several weeks I received an email that said they resolved the issue. So I tried to login and was unsuccessful. So I called customer service support and after holding for about 10 minutes I was able to talk to a technical support person who finally informed me that their login page does not work with the Firefox browser which the browser I use. So I was told to use Google Chrome and after trying to login while I was on the phone with the technician I was not able to login even after trying to reset my password. They are supposed to call me back. I guess I will wait to see if that really happens.

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Bonnie Vanciel Garland, TX

Service is useless!’ When they call you to let you know that your family member pushed the button, they have no CALLER ID that says Phillips Life Line is calling.. Just random #’s show up on your phone from all over the US. So you have to answer every # that shows up on your phone. With the scam calls and telemarketing calls that I get, I don’t answer a number that I don’t recognize. Therefore they just leave a message l!!! This is a Serious issue !!!! The service that we were using and paying $28 a month said LIFE-STATION WHEN THEY CALLED. So you immediately knew there was a issue with a family member. The Phillips is free with my mothers insurance so that’s why we changed to Phillips. BIG MISTAKE. You get what you pay for, as the old saying goes!! Until Phillips fixes this major detail I wouldn’t advise using their service!

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Shezma

I chose Philips Lifeline because I had heard good things about them, but no one had warned me how terrible they are in returning your call when you have to cancel their service and their payment charges increase from month to month?! I signed up my father to use their service almost 3 months ago. My father has been in the hospital for over 2 months and I have been calling Philips Lifeline several times to hold/discontinue the service until my father is discharged from the hospital. I have had to stay on hold on the phone for several minutes to almost an hour after selecting an option to hold/discontinue their service. No one so far has answered my several calls. Not just that, there’s an option to leave them a voicemail for a call back. I have left them several messages in the last few days to call me back. I still have not heard back from them!! I just noticed today that they withdrew a payment from my credit card for this month (July 2019) and the amount withdrawn is more than what they had charged me in June 2019. I am thinking about taking a further action since they are not returning my calls. My recommendation is sign up for Philips Lifeline but only if you are going to stay with them forever because they will not return your calls if you have to hold or discontinue their service!

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Linda Q Mansfield, MA

If I could give zero stars I would. Very poor experience with Customer Service. Expedited shipment never received! Talked to three different reps all of which were useless. Promises to track down my expedited shipment and call me back were broken. I was transferred to a retention rep and he assured me he would help get this resolved. I was given his direct line and told to call him the next day. He needed time to research my order. He never answered his phone and never returned my calls after leaving several messages. Another Customer Service rep told me she would personally call me in the morning once she tracked down the order. I never got that call. How do these people sleep at night knowing they are deceiving people? Very low confidence in this company due to this experience. If they can't handle something as simple as this, makes me skeptical about their response time to actual alerts.

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Rob R Lumberton, NC

I ordered a system (NOV20) for my parents with the sales fellow over the phone. I agreed to the express shipping so that they would arrive quickly, as my mom had just had a heart attack and my dad a stroke the week before that. They are home and recovering and we needed to know that they would have an alarm if one of them "went down". The units finally arrived 9 days later. I had inquired by email with the salesperson in the interim to see what had occurred but never did get a response. As my dad put it, "if these guys can't get back to an email or get the RUSH shipping out in under 8 days, then I don't think we should be entrusting them to our life and death situations". Valid point!! We are returning the LifeLines and will find another supplier

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Marie Thorne Austin, TX

I would give 0 if I could. I was given the home monitor device by my insurance company. Awful. Had it 2 weeks & already fed up. The speaker box is the ONLY way to talk to them. It sounds muffled & they must be in a foreign country because I can not understand a word they say. If they are speaking, they won't hear you. If you are out of the speaker box's short range OR in patio or garage with door closed, it may not pick up your signal & they definitely don't hear you. They said don't wear it in the shower because button is not waterproof! REALLY? That's where one falls the most! If there is noise in the house, they won't hear you through the speaker box, so never watch TV.

4 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Cheryl Miles Boerne, TX

Ive been subscribing to Phillips for my 83 year old fatherinlaw for almost 2 years. Hes fallen hard several times and they never called him but he said he got up within a minute. Then in December 2017 the necklace portion that holds the button broke and he requested a new necklace portion. Two weeks passed and he had not received anything. My husband and I both called separately and they finally overnighted a new necklace supposedly. What he received was another button. We called again and they told us to send all the equipment back and they would replace everthing. We sent back all the equipment and he next received another button and base but no charger. I called again and spoke with Lillian who initially was combative but then when I also got upset she calmed down and told me she would have a technician call my fatherinlaw and set up an appointment within 48 hours to come to my fatherinlaws house and make sure he was set up with correct equipment. This afternoon 48 hours has passed and my fatherinlaw has not received a call from anyone. My husband then called them to cancel and held 20 min to get thru to someone who then sent him to cancellation department where he held another 15 min. The person my husband talked to refused to review the massive amount of notes and when my husband tried to go over everything with him, he became confrontational. They dont even have notes where we sent back all the equipment and told my husband we would be charged $400 if the equipment wasnt sent back which we sent 2 weeks ago. Ive called the credit card company and blocked charges from them. Do not entrust your elderly loved ones with them. This has been a comedy of errors.

4 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

R. Alpano

Philips Lifeline Canada is not dependable in that it does not deliver the promised services. Lifeline equipment has false alarms for detecting falls . 1. Failure to send an ambulance to my father's home, upon receiving alert that he had a fall. 2. Company noted and communicate the incorrect information to Police as to where my father's lockbox was located False "falling" alarms. Hence, the police could not get access to enter the house. 3. Poor customer service. Calls to Supervisor were not returned. Official complaint letter sent to supervisor was also not replied to. Philips Lifeline is not dependable in that it does not deliver the promised services has poor customer service and has equipment which constantly raise false fall detection alarms.

4 years ago

Philips Lifeline Logo

Reply from Philips Lifeline

We are very sorry to hear of the frustrating experience you have been having with Philips Lifeline - Canada. I have passed your review along to them and someone from the Canadian division will be reaching out to you. Best, Philips Lifeline Customer Experience Team

Jan. 16th, 2018

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

WILLIAM PRENTISS BROWN

I subscribed for Philips Life Line for my 94 year old mother for over a year. The sales agent did an effective job of up selling for the fall safe feature. on May 21, 2017, my mother fell in the middle of the night and it was a hard fall on a tile floor. Unfortunately, the alert did not go off, and my mother passed away on the floor. I phoned the service to have the billing stopped and relayed my situation to the agent. She said that she would have a manager call me for a course of action. I am still waiting for a call. I am struggling with the thought of my mother passing away on the floor alone.

5 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

steven stanley

I had been a customer for 2 years. When my 88 year old grandmother went to the hospital and lost her life alert, I called them on July 14th and was told that I would receive the new life alert the next day. It never came and I called back and was told it would be on back order and would receive it in 10 days. It never came and I called again and they said it was never shipped and would be on backorder. It still never came and my grandmother went over two weeks with no support and we were lied to twice. If you lose your equipment they will not replace it in a timely manner we changed companies and are now with CVS.

5 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Cynthia Bassett Tampa, FL

When deciding on an alert system, I spoke with a representative of LifeLine and thought they had what I needed for my 91-year old mother. However, when I received the system, the agreement stated I needed a land line. I explained I needed a mobile system since she stays at my sisters part of the time. I was told I could send it back if it was not what I needed, which I did. When Life Line called, I explained why I sent it back and was told I would have to pay $50 (I was told there was no cancellation fee). Luckily I paid no money up front. The person on the phone became very angry wanting to know why I didn't call the before I sent it back. Because the unit did not meet my needs, when I clearly explained the situation, I didn't feel I needed to contact them. This was one of the rudest people I have every talked to and he insisted they would bill me any way. Send the invoice and then when it is not paid go ahead and turn it over to a credit agency to collect from my 91-year old mother. I would never do business with a company who harasses you because you declined their service. I actually had to hang up on him. I've been in customer service a long time and you never speak that way to a customer - right or wrong.

5 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Ana Hingham, MA

Terrible!!!!! Be prepared to be on hold for a minimum of 15 minutes when you are notified regarding an emergency regarding a loved one. There is no way to find out what is happening. There is only one person answering the phone, Katie. I drove all the way to my mothers' house before I could get through to the service to find out that she was ok and reported that to them once I got through. I recommended that they cancel emergency services. However, as I found out from the neighbor, services had already gone there and had left. No one informed me of that when I was on the phone with them. It was unclear whether they even knew. There was not a call back to me to indicate what had transpired. When I called back I was put on hold for over 1 hour by a supervisor called Jamal, and was not allowed to speak to the person I originally communicated with (Crystal). I was told that the number I was given to call back was not the emergency number, but they would not give me an emergency number. When I pressed, I was given a number which apparently was the customer service number that is only available during business hours Mon-Fri. This incident occurred late on Fri night. Terrible response!!!

5 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Lorna Golmis Reno, NV

I was travelling from Las Vegas to St George, UT and received a call from my son-in-law that the Paramedics and police were outside the St Geo home. I thought I must have pushed the pendent by mistake, but the puzzling thing was that no one ever responded to me. I was wearing the pendent and it was fully charged. My daughter in Reno, NV also called me. The pendant was supposed to know where I was and obviously failed. At 8:10 pm I pushed the pendent as I was driving and never received a response. I pushed the button several time over the next hour and each time I got a voice message that the call was in process to hold. I never got an answer. Later when I entered the Virgin River Gorge and I pushed the button, I was told there was no service. I understand that as the is no AT&T serve in the Gorge (only Verizon and Sprint). I called the next day and was told that I needed to carry the Base Unit with me when I traveled away from home for more than a day. Can't imagine what use it would be while I'm driving. I feel that I should be refunded for the purchase price of the pendent and at least the last month of service. When I cancelled my service I was told that I you would not refund the cost of the pendent because the 30 days had expired. I feel that this refund is due me since while the system did not malfunction within that period, it obviously did MALFUNCTION. It is very fortunate that I was not suffering a heart attack and rely on your service. I WOULD BE DEAD.

7 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Jim Thomas Vancouver, WA

A family member set this up for my mother with their own credit card. Philips then billed my mother by mail, monthly. They denied this double billing and then raised the price to have my mother continue paying by check. When my mother fell while wearing the device and ended up with ten staples in her head, it did not work. When told about this, the company says you have to fall a certain way. They sent a new pendant. It did not work either. Terrible product. Terrible company.

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Sheryl Easthampton, MA

Their customer service is horrible. I called Lifeline to cancel my parents service. I was on hold for 27 minutes. Tried 3 different numbers and after feeling very frustrated I hung up and decided to called back and pretend I wanted to purchase a system and they answered right away. A company that is this size needs to hire more people to answer their phones.

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Doreen Cran Cheshire, CT

If they are busy response times have been up to four minutes. Lied to about response times. Not trustworthy or safe. Customer service unsatisfactory, actually brutal at times. Installer never available and never had spare equipment to change out in an emergency. Can you imagine waiting 4 minutes while your loved one strokes infront of you? That was my experience and multiple times testing response time was never less than 3 minutes. Don't do it.

4 years ago

Philips Lifeline Logo

Reply from Philips Lifeline

Hi Ms. Cran, I apologize for the poor experience you have a had with Philips Lifeline. This is not the level of satisfaction we strive to provide for our customers. We take our customer complaints very seriously, and would like to look into what you have described. I have sent you a private message requesting some additional information. Thanks in advance! Meagan - Philips Lifeline

Oct. 3rd, 2018

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Brenda

I am very sorry I ordered this service. My mother has not even received the the unit and I am already worried about what kind of service this is going to be, We ordered the unit on the Jan 30 and are still waiting and was told it was shipped on the Feb 12 and she has slower mail so it will be at least 3 weeks. They sure make it sound like they care in their sales pitch. I wish I would of read the reviews before I called them it sounds like others are having the same problem.

4 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Mark Southington, CT

If there were negative stars I would click those instead. This company is so bad they can’t even send you equipment. They always claim it’s on “back order” when in fact I did some research it’s defective poorly made equipment. Then when you finally do get equipment they recall it. This company is terrible. Do you research cause there are other, BETTER companies out there.

4 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Trish Doran Milwaukee, WI

My Mother fell recently and Philips lifeline sent the rescue team to the wrong address. I had changed your address back to her home state after she spent the winter in the south with me. They sent them to the address in the south. I corrected it with them then rechecked in a week and they still had the address wrong. Thank goodness I am one of the responders on her account and was able to get someone to her house to assist her. I only found out about the mistake because a neighbor stopped them from breaking down my door because he knew we were out of town.

5 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Susan Bray Denver, CO

The salesman was patient and helpful. I had to wait weeks for my equipment due to recent circumstance not the companies’ fault. But once it arrived and I needed help testing my apartment for coverage and setting up service, THE AGENY WAS IMPATIENT SURLY ABRUPT AND RUDE!!!! AVOID THIS SERVICE! TRY ANOTHER ONE!I

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Irene Holmeide Sullivan, WI

I have two major occurrences when lifeline did not respond when needed. There were excuses each time ,"technical" issues and address mix-up etc. One time I had to be transported to a hospital so it was a true emergency (September 2016). For me the service is unacceptable, I have subscribed for about 16 months, but will be canceling.

5 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Karan Dennis

My mother's device that had fall detection in it failed. They sent a replacement that looked the same but didn't have fall detection in it. We found out the hard way yesterday.

5 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

John Lindsey Albuquerque, NM

Rude is an understatement. just another company taken Advantage of the Elderly... Sign up was great . After that forget it. AND YOUR PRODUCT WAS MAILED BACK TO YOU. 7/20/20

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Tom Bearrows River Forest, IL

Worst company I've ever dealt with. Rude customer service. They refuse to make anything easy. Oh and btw, they're not cheap. Avoid them at all costs.

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

kentuckyUSA Campbell Lexington, KY

Horrible customer service. Avg wait 45 mins or more

1 year ago