Best Company Guarantee Medical Guardian Logo

Medical Guardian

star star star star star_half

9.2

Overall Score

Visit Site

sell See Special Offer chevron_right

LAST UPDATED: February 27th, 2024

Medical Guardian claims one of the top positions in our rankings of medical alert system companies and has held the spot for many years. With thousands of positive reviews, the company outshines its competition with an exceptional staff; Medical Guardian was awarded the Silver Stevie Award for Excellence in Customer Service in 2019. 

Medical Guardian offers medical alert systems for those who need emergency services on the go as well as at home. Its medical alert packages have top-rated, high-quality equipment, from top-of-the-line fall detection pendants to medical alert smartwatches with GPS functionality.

Medical Guardian’s monitoring centers are CSAA Five Diamond certified, ESA Security certified, UL listed, and are open 24 hours a day, 7 days a week to ensure your loved ones have protection no matter what time of the day or night it is.

Video Customer Reviews

Rita Weissman Customer Review Video About Medical Guardian

Rita Weissman

Anonymous Customer Review Video About Medical Guardian

Anonymous

Shelia Ward  Customer Review Video About Medical Guardian

Shelia Ward

thumb_up

The Good

  • Affordable Price
  • High-Quality Medical Alert Systems
  • Smartwatch Medical Alert Option
  • 1,300-Foot Range from Base Station
  • 7-Day Battery Life
  • Automatic Fall Detection
  • Lifetime Warranty and No Long-Term Contract
  • CSAA Five Diamond Certified Monitoring Center
  • Award-Winning Customer Service

Affordable Price

Medical Guardian members receive medical alert equipment free of charge** with no setup fees or long-term contracts. The systems are backed by a lifetime warranty and include access to their 24/7 monitoring centers in the event of an emergency.

Medical Guardian offers lower monitoring fees with more extensive features and higher quality equipment compared to its competitors, making the company one of the most quality and affordable medical alert options in the industry. For many other medical alert providers, you'll pay a high upfront fee for equipment as well as a hefty monthly monitoring fee. 

Free equipment offer does not include the Freedom Guardian system (the medical alert smartwatch) or the Mini Guardian.

High-Quality Medical Alert Systems

Medical Guardian has multiple medical alert packages to choose from. This gives customers the versatility to pick the medical alert plan that works best for them. Whether you want coverage just for the home or if you want 24/7 coverage for when you're on the go, Medical Guardian has you covered.

We break down each offered package below, or you can find a product overview with pictures here

Classic Guardian

This plan starts at $0.97 per day. 

The Classic Guardian is the lowest priced package Medical Guardian offers. The medical alert system is meant to keep you safe in and around your home with a 1,300 range. The system connects to your landline phone, and the medical alert device is a wearable waterproof button. The system includes a built-in speaker with two-way communication and power outage protection with a 32-hour battery backup. 

Home Guardian

This plan starts at $1.13 per day. 

The Home Guardian is a wireless medical alert system that does not require a phone landline. The system works with a nationwide cellular network that gives you access to Medical Guardian's 24/7 monitoring station at any time. The system comes with a wearable medical alert button, which has a 600-foot range from the base unit.

Mini Guardian

This plan starts at $1.29 per day. 

The Mini Guardian is the smallest and sleekest help button Medical Guardian offers. It comes in three colors, including black, silver, and white. Its capabilities are similar to Medical Guardian's other offered medical alert systems and is water-resistant, includes GPS tracking, and has a five-day battery life. This plan does require a one-time equipment fee, unlike the other basic medical alert packages. 

Being half the width and weight of a regular medical alert system, this device is best for consumers who care about the convenience of size and would prefer a smaller device compared to a regular-sized system and don't mind a one-time equipment fee. The mini can clip onto bags, purses, belts, clothing, etc. for ease of use. You can also add fall detection to the mini if you'd like extra protection.

The range on this device is unlimited. 

**Free equipment offer does not include the Mini Guardian system.

Freedom Guardian

This plan starts at $1.35 per day. 

The Freedom Guardian is the only package that does not include free equipment. Because it is an advanced smartwatch, the Freedom Guardian requires a one-time equipment fee of $299. You can find more information regarding the smartwatch capabilities below under the section "The Freedom Guardian Medical Alert Watch."

Active Guardian

This plan starts at $1.35 per day. 

The Active Guardian is a portable medical alert system with built-in GPS and Wi-Fi technology. You can use this system at home or on the go since it functions on Verizon's 4G cellular network. The system includes a wearable alert button, two-way communication, and location tracking with GPS.

Mobile Guardian

This plan starts at $1.35 per day. 

The Mobile Guardian is a portable mobile medical alert system that functions on built-in GPS technology and cellular connection. This enables customers to use their medical alert devices outside of their homes. The device includes a wearable button that has a 350-foot range from the device. The system has location tracking and two-way communication.

Smartwatch Medical Alert Option

Medical Guardian has a new high-tech medical alert device that is a smartwatch for seniors called The Freedom Guardian. This new medical alert watch is designed to be sleek and convenient to wear every day. The Freedom Guardian doesn't need a base unit to connect to, and you can wear it and trigger the medical alert emergency service anywhere you go.

Caregivers or family members can download the Companion mobile app to communicate with Freedom Guardian wearers at any time as well as track their current location.

The Freedom Guardian does not include fall detection. 

The Freedom Guardian has various features to aid your health and safety as well as additional perks. Here are a few of the Freedom Guardian features to be aware of:

  • Emergency Alerts — Use the smartwatch to call for help at any time and anywhere.
  • Reminders — Set the smartwatch to give you calendar alerts and reminders for to-dos like taking medicine, drinking water, and visiting the doctor.
  • Activity Tracking — Track steps and monitor your activity to make sure you are staying active regularly.
  • Messaging and Audible Features — Stay in touch with your loved ones through text-to-speech messaging.
  • Weather Monitoring — Retrieve the daily weather forecast.
  • Touchscreen —  Use the convenient and easy-to-use touch screen that was built with older adults in mind. The touchscreen has oversized icons to improve ease of use. 
  • Battery — Take advantage of the two-day battery life that also charges quickly within 1.5 hours.
  • GPS Tracking — Utilize GPS tracking and locate your loved one or the missing watch at any time with this feature.

1,300-Foot Range from Base Station

Medical Guardian's home-based medical alert system has a 1,300-foot range. This is a much larger range than most medical alert providers out there who offer closer to 600–1,000 feet of coverage from the base station.

Medical Guardian's long range from the base station gives medical alert users more freedom in how far they can travel away from the base unit while still having full coverage in case of a fall or another emergency. 

7-Day-Hour Battery Life

 

Medical Guardian's medical alert devices have a 7-day battery life, which is one of the longest in the industry. Many medical alert companies have medical alert systems that only have 24-hour battery lives and need to be charged every night, which can be a pain if you want to wear the emergency button while you sleep as an extra precaution.

Automatic Fall Detection

Every Medical Guardian alert system offers fall detection except for the Freedom Guardian system. Fall detection pendants are equipped with a sensor that is triggered any time a fall occurs, which then immediately sends a signal to Medical Guardian's monitoring center informing them of the emergency.

Lifetime Warranty and No Long-Term Contract

Members may cancel their Medical Guardian services at any point without charge. As opposed to companies such as Life Alert, you won't be locked into any long-term contracts with the expectation of buying out. This allows customers to try out Medical Guardian to see if it is the right medical alert provider for them without having to commit to the service for a long period of time. 

Medical Guardian also offers a lifetime warranty on all its products. If for some reason the equipment is damaged or malfunctions, Medical Guardian will replace it free of charge. Having free equipment and a lifetime warranty on all products ensures money for equipment never has to come out of the customer's pocket. 

The warranty does not cover lost or damaged items. However, Medical Guardian offers a protection plan for $6.99 per month that would cover those circumstances. 

CSAA Five Diamond Certified Monitoring Center

Medical Guardian is UL Listed, FM approved, and ESA Security certified. The company's monitoring centers and operators are also certified and committed to CSAA's five points of excellence, making Medical Guardian's response times the quickest and most efficient in the industry.

Review Icon

Customer Review: Ginny Davis from Richmond Virginia

"On at least two occasions within the past month, I have had falls where I punched the pendant and I had a response and the fire department here within about fifteen to twenty minutes. They helped me get to my feet. It is not an overstatement to say this pendant saved my life."

Service monitoring is available 24/7, and Medical Guardian's fall detection can detect a fall without any action from the individual, so you don't need to worry about calling for help, as your device will do so on its own. Every system also offers two-way communication so in the case of an emergency, you can talk directly to Medical Guardian's monitoring service. 

Medical Guardian's monitoring centers provide bilingual support for those who cannot speak English.

Award-Winning Customer Service

When analyzing Medical Guardian reviews, one of the most referenced positives about the company is its quick responses and exceptional customer service. The company won the Silver Stevie Award for Excellence in Customer Service in 2019 and continues to demonstrate that customer service is one of the most important aspects of the company's mission.  

Medical Guardian customers note the company's representatives are always prompt, patient, and helpful whether it's an emergency, a routine test, or just a simple customer service inquiry. The company has the same caring attitude regardless of the situation. 

Review Icon

Customer Review: Anthony

"I think that their service is very good. We test it once a month and the people are very efficient, very nice, they answer very quickly and it just makes you feel confident. My every interaction with them has been a positive one."

Visit Site

thumb_down

The Bad

  • Extra Monthly Fee for Fall Detection

Extra Monthly Fee for Fall Detection

Medical Guardian charges $10 extra per month if you want a fall alert pendant included in your plan. However, this is the industry standard and is definitely worth the cost if you want extra peace of mind. A fall detection pendant notifies Medical Guardian's monitoring station immediately when a fall is detected, even if the medical alert wearer can't press the button.

A fall alert pendant is an extra layer of protection that could potentially save a consumer's life, so the $10 extra a month doesn't seem like it's too unreasonable, especially when the majority of medical alert companies charge the same monthly price for fall detection. 

gavel

The Bottom Line

Medical Guardian has proven to be an industry-leading medical alert service that outshines its competition in multiple areas, including price, equipment variety and quality, response times, monitoring center accreditations, customer reviews, and more.

Medical Guardian is best for anyone looking for a medical alert system and not just one type of customer; you can select and customize the plan and equipment that fits your needs. No matter if you're looking for an in-home or an on-the-go system, Medical Guardian has multiple medical alert packages for both types of situations.

Medical Guardian offers some of the best technology on the market at an affordable rate. If you're looking to purchase a medical alert device, we highly recommend Medical Guardian.

Read Medical Guardian reviews below to see what current and past customers have to say about Medical Guardian's medical alert products and services. 

*Free shipping and one free month of service is a part of a promotion offered with the purchase of an annual plan.

**The Mini Guardian and Freedom Guardian have equipment fees. 

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

We'll Introduce You!

Call our recommended rep over at Medical Guardian below.

1-(844) 684-0448
not_listed_location

Medical Guardian Frequently Asked Questions

How does Medical Guardian’s price compare to other medical alert providers?

Medical guardian offers more for less when compared to other medical alert companies. Its monthly monitoring price is on the lower end and is flexible based on the package you select. Medical Guardian also doesn’t have any hidden fees or long-term contracts like some other providers do.

What is Medical Guardian’s cancellation policy?

You can cancel Medical Guardian’s services at any time without penalty. No cancellation fees apply, and Medical Guardian will prorate refunds if you have months of unused service.

Does Medical Guardian offer a protection plan?

Yes, Medical Guardian offers a Protection Plan that covers loss, theft, and any damages that may occur to your medical alert equipment

Can you purchase spousal medical alert monitoring through Medical Guardian?

Yes, if you purchase a second pendant with the Classic Guardian, Home Guardian, or Mobile Guardian medical alert system, Medical Guardian will monitor the alert device for free, giving your spouse free medical alert monitoring.

Does Medical Guardian offer automatic fall detection?

Yes, Medical Guardian is a leader in fall detection technology and offers a fall alert pendant as part of your medical alert package or as an add-on option.

Are Medical Guardian’s medical alert devices waterproof?

Yes, Medical Guardian’s alert pendants are waterproof, so you can wear them in fall-prone areas, such as in the shower. However, The Freedom Guardian medical alert watch is not waterproof.

Is there a limit to how many times I can press Medical Guardian’s emergency button?

No, you can press your medical alert button and request help as many times as you need.

Can I trust Medical Guardian’s monitoring center?

Yes, Medical Guardian’s monitoring center is Five Diamond Certified and is equipped with trained emergency professionals. The monitoring center also has a triple-redundant backup system in case of power outages.

Are Medical Guardian’s monitoring services U.S.-Based?

Yes, Medical Guardian and its monitoring center are completely U.S.-based, which ensures you won’t experience language barriers when contacting the company or its emergency services. Medical Guardian also has translation services, so if you don’t speak English or Spanish, Medical Guardian will still be able to assist you with ease. 

How is Medical Guardian’s medical alert service different than calling 9-1-1?

In emergencies, you don’t always have access to a phone. Having a medical alert system means you can request help at any time with the press of a button. Also, if you experience a fall, you likely won’t be able to reach a phone, so having a fall detection or regular medical alert pendant enables you to call for help. Medical alert services also make sure emergency responders have the necessary information they need to best assist you—information you may be unable to provide in an emergency situation. Medical Guardian’s monitoring center will keep your information on file and give emergency responders the details they need, including your exact location, your preferred hospital, any medications you’re taking, medical conditions you may have, etc. Also, if it’s a non-emergency situation, Medical Guardian’s monitoring center can contact your listed caregiver to assist you rather than emergency responders.
bestcompany guarantee

Best Company guarantees your satisfaction if you choose a company that has earned this distinction. If you're not satisfied after 30 days, simply let us know and we'll give you $200. Yes, it's really that simple.

Learn More About Our Guarantee

Star Rating

info

4.5

star star star star star_half

16,069 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

69%

4 grade

18%

3 grade

7%

2 grade

2%

1 grade

4%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star star_half

Quality

star star star star star_half

Service

star star star star star_half

Trustworthiness

star star star star star_half
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Missy Buss Los Angeles, CA

If I could leave 0 stars I would. This company is horrible. I tried canceling the service and they continued to charge me even after the device was turned off and in route to return. They said I would be charged for the service until the device was restocked….but there is no service because the device is in the mail. After it was confirmed received, they continued to harass me for payment. I called several times but continued to get past due notices. Find another service. They are crooks.

2 days ago

Medical Guardian Logo

Reply from Medical Guardian

Hi Missy, we received your review and we apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced with the billing for your account. At Medical Guardian, we pride ourselves in providing a great customer experience and it sounds like we didn’t do that. Please reach out to us directly by dialing 1-800-313-1191 so we can help make it right. We look forward to speaking with you soon and resolving this issue.

Feb. 27th, 2024

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Fahy

I cannot tell when it is charged, I cannot get the new loop in the device. I cannot wear the device. And it is a waste of time.

3 weeks ago

Medical Guardian Logo

Reply from Medical Guardian

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, Fahy. I am sorry to hear about your poor experience with our product. I would suggest calling our customer care team at 1-800-313-1191. They will be able to assist you with your product.

Feb. 5th, 2024

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Marilyn

I've had nothing but trouble with it. I want my money back or whatever. And I can't even get through, all I get is someplace trying to sell me another one.

1 month ago

Medical Guardian Logo

Reply from Medical Guardian

Hi Marilyn. We take feedback like this very seriously and we are reviewing everything on our end to ensure something like this never happens again. If you’d like to reach us directly, you can call 1-800-313-1191. We look forward to speaking with you soon.

Jan. 8th, 2024

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Israel Bishop Gainesville, FL

I have attempted to cancel this service I purchased for grandmother for some time. After calls and sending in a cancellation request form by mail, I am still being charged. I have been asked to provide a death certificate. It's crazy. I cannot imagine an elderly person with no support system trying to cancel. It's like they are purposely charging me for a service that my family is no longer using. On the last call I was told another cancellation form was being sent out for me to complete. That form has yet to arrive in my email. It should not take this much time and effort to cancel a service. Now I have to contact my credit card company to dispute the charge. If you card is on file, they will continue to charge you. The BBB rating for this company is 1.5.

2 months ago

Medical Guardian Logo

Reply from Medical Guardian

Hi Israel, we received your review and we apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced with the billing for your account. At Medical Guardian, we pride ourselves in providing a great customer experience and it sounds like we didn’t do that. Please reach out to us directly by dialing 1-800-313-1191 so we can help make it right. We look forward to speaking with you soon and resolving this issue.

Dec. 5th, 2023

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Anonymous

I've never had to use it, but I did test it and it tested fine. I am actually going to cancel it because of the situation with the two-story house and my condition has improved drastically, too. So I don't think I need it anymore.

4 months ago

Medical Guardian Logo

Reply from Medical Guardian

Thank you for taking the time to write a review!

Sep. 29th, 2023

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Mary

I dislike the fact that it can't be worn in bed, it can't be worn in in in a pool, and it has to be worn outside with a flashing blue light so that everybody knows my condition. I dislike that very much. The only time that I tested it was when I accidentally dropped it.

5 months ago

Medical Guardian Logo

Reply from Medical Guardian

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, Mary. I am sorry to hear about your poor experience with our product. I would suggest calling our customer care team at 1-800-313-1191. They will be able to assist you with your product.

Sep. 6th, 2023

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Rita Middletown, DE

I come to my mom's about once a week and this unit has a little green light in the middle of it, almost every time I come, almost every week I come that thing's flashing. And when I called them before, they said flashing means there's a problem. So I unplug the phone, I unplug the medical unit, I plug it all back in a green light solved and it's working again. But when I come down here a week from now, it more than likely that thing's gonna be flashing again, meaning it is not working. When I test it they do answer.

8 months ago

Medical Guardian Logo

Reply from Medical Guardian

Hi Rita, we received your review and we definitely understand your concern. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. At Medical Guardian, we pride ourselves in providing a great experience and peace of mind to our customers, and we want to make sure you receive nothing less. You can reach us directly by dialing 1-800-313-1191. We look forward to speaking with you soon.

Jun. 8th, 2023

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Lois New York, NY

My device is dysfunctional. It keeps alerting you when I don't press the button. Three times EMS has gone to two wrong homes before coming to me and you can't seem to figure out what the issue is.

4 months ago

Medical Guardian Logo

Reply from Medical Guardian

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, Lois. I am sorry to hear about your poor experience with our product. I would suggest calling our customer care team at 1-800-313-1191. They will be able to assist you with your product.

Oct. 2nd, 2023

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Lillian Miami, FL

great sales people, very poor supprt personell after the sale.. I am actually stopping my service and will look for another type of med alert monitoring system thats not from your company.. your reputation brings people in, your policies and support allow people to run from you as fast as they can...

8 months ago

Medical Guardian Logo

Reply from Medical Guardian

We are sorry to hear about the negative experience you had with our representatives. We will take the time to look into this situation and provide the necessary evaluation and retraining for the customer care representatives. Again, we apologize for any difficulties you may have had. At Medical Guardian, we pride ourselves in providing a great customer experience and we want to make sure you receive nothing less. If you wish to discuss this matter further, you can reach us directly by dialing 1-800-313-1191. We look forward to speaking with you soon.

Jun. 14th, 2023

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Laurie Lauer Santa Barbara, CA

It is important to have complete buy-in with the people who are going to use the Medical Guardian. Hearing loss is something that affects probably the majority of elderly. If they can't hear, they won't be able to hear the service checking in with them. It is also important to ensure that the appliance will work with the owner's internet carrier. We bought it for my mother-in-law because she said she wanted it, but the logistics were much more than she wanted to deal with. Having bought a new appliance rather than a used one left us with a brand new appliance that we could not return. We received a prorated refund on our full year purchase, but now we get to contribute a brand new piece of equipment to recycling and probably land-fill. That to me is reprehensible.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Mary Fords, NJ

I dislike the fact that I have to charge it every day. My friends have different ones and I don't see them charging it every day. The one time I had to use it, I was in trouble, and I pushed the button and nobody came. I called them and I said to the guy, "why didn't it work?" and he said to me, "you didn't charge it last night" and I said to him, "I have to charge it every single day?" and he said, "yes." I said, "you know this thing is a piece of garbage suppose I'm out and I can't charge it one day?" but anyway, it didn't work that day and I was very upset considering what we paid for it I don't like it at all. I'm 85 years old and I need this stupid thing but I don't like the way you people do business at all.

2 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Anonymous

Poor service. Later delivery than promised. I am returning the medical guardian alert because my father-in-law died. I am having to pay a $50 restocking fee and it was only used for 2 days actually before he died. I was not told of a restocking fee except for damage and this unit is not damaged. I will never recommend medical guardian as I have use Life alert previously, and it was worked out wonderful. Also I did not have to pay to have my mother's Life alert returned after it wasn't no longer viable to use. Now I have to pay medical guardian $50 restocking and if it's not restocked within 32 days which is their length of time to process it I have to pay for another month. Better business bureau will get a copy of this.

3 years ago

Medical Guardian Logo

Reply from Medical Guardian

Hello. Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear about your father-in-law and for the less than satisfactory experience you had closing his account. We are going to send you a private message to obtain some account-specific information to investigate this for you. Thank you.

Jul. 28th, 2020

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Amy Devoll

Despite ensuring that as soon as the button was pressed and no response was obtained help would be sent to my home, I had an asthma attack on the 17th of Nov. It took 10 minutes for the signal to connect, not once did anyone try to call me. When the girl did connect to my monitor, she couldn't hear me but had to hear my dogs barking in the background. I was audibly wheezing and by this time and dialed 911 and had the 911 operator on speakerphone. The girl asked several times for me to respond. When I didn't, she simply said, "well since I'm not getting a response, I am going to hang up and will try to call back in a few minutes. Then if we do not get a response then, we will send help." I could have died had I not been cognizant enough to dial 911 before I passed out.

4 years ago

Medical Guardian Logo

Reply from Medical Guardian

Hello Amy, thank you for your review. We're very sorry you experienced this issue and there might have been a rare occurrence of it taking long to connect. We see that you've already returned the unit back. We're very sorry to see you cancel service but we'd like to thank you.

Dec. 4th, 2019

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Karen Schoettmer daughter Anderson, IN

My moms pendant wasn't charging and was acting erratically, lights flashing no lights etc. I called Medical Guardian and they assured me nothing was wrong even though it was acting up when we were on the phone. My Mom fell and her system did not work she laid on the floor until luckily I came over to bring her some things. Needless to say I called Medical Guardian and reported immediately, they then decided that her charger was bad and sent a new charger. We put pendant on new charger called and they checked stated all systems a go, everything working fine. 3 days later my mom went to get her mail fell out her door and laid in the hot sun for almost 2 hours because her system FAILED to work yet again!!! Called again very very unhappy, demanding money back, was promised this was a fluke apologies etc. Sending new upgrades system if there is any problem they will refund full refund. Well here's the issue, my mom apparently hit the button in her sleep, the call finally does what its supposed to do and goes to Guardian, Guardian calls me and tells me they received a call from mom, could not get a response am I going to go etc. I say of course, I live 10 minutes away. I get there, (I've called and called, no answer) I'm panicking but figuring paramedics/ambulance has gotten to her by now. I get there, everything is dark, I'm thinking no way, was it so bad that they threw her on a gurney and left. NOPE! They called NOONE!! She would have been dead if she had a medical problem and wasn't able to speak to them. They were completely neglegent, not to mention when they gave us the "new upgrade" they didn't bother to tell us that you have to take the base piece in your purse if you leave the house. The system is messed up. And how is it going to help you or save you if it doesn't work or when it does work they don't call help.

4 years ago

Medical Guardian Logo

Reply from Medical Guardian

Hello Karen, thank you for your review. Your feedback and concerns are very important to us. We're going to send you a private message requesting your contact details and account-specific information so we can investigate your issue. Thank you!

Oct. 16th, 2019

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Donna Tenedios Carbondale, PA

Granted I cannot rate the unit/company on use and response in cases of emergencies. I did not have the opportunity . nity to activate the unit. Due to unfortunate circumstances, my mother no longer needed the unit. When I called to return the unit, I was surprisingly informed, that I would still have to pay for the two months I had the unit, even though I did not activate the unit. Apparently, this is mentioned in the Agreement that I don't recall receiving and is very difficult to view on the website. The company does not make this information easily accessible. It's unfortunate that I have to pay for a service I didn't activate. I feel, a reputable company would have such considerations especially since the population they typically serve, is a vulnerable, elderly population.

4 years ago

Medical Guardian Logo

Reply from Medical Guardian

Donna, thank you for reaching out. We apologize for any confusion surrounding the canceling out of your mother's account. We are currently looking into your concerns and will be in touch.

May. 17th, 2019

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Eileen

I've had nothing but problems since I ordered it in January. I just spoke to a person a couple of hours ago and I am very disgusted with the service. I was not told the proper things and never told about insurance or if something happened how much would it cost. I've had four or five phone calls and I'm very very disgusted. The device broke the other day. It's just a little piece of plastic and the thing just broke. I've been waited for two months to get a paper bill in the mail and it was going to cost two extra dollars a month and I said no problem and then the bill came and it was three dollars more a month. We were going to replace it with a necklace and it was supposed ot be here Thursday and they needed a payment right away so I gave them my debit card and I told them they ought to destroy that number and they said they would and they called me today and they still have my debit card number on file.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Anonymous Miami, FL

I was looking online and looking for a medical alert bracelet. They were listed at the top and had very good reviews. Actually, they ended up contacting me first, so I just went along with it. The bracelet is very comfortable to wear, I use it all the time. The support I've gotten whenever I call them about things has been good too. However I have problems with the button and the alarms. They've called me in the middle of the night telling me that the alarm went off when I didn't press it. Once it happened at 12:30 at night. Luckily I answered the phone even though I didn't recognize the phone number on it. If I hadn't done that, they would've called the ambulance. I really don't know how any of the things could've gone off on their own. They haven't been able to explain those to me and because of that I'm not sure about renewing my contract anymore.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Mary List Sheboygan, WI

I just looked things up on the internet and thought they would be good to get for my mother. She has memory problems and since she insists on staying in her apartment on her own, I got it in case she fell and needed help. When we got it we thought that things would work out alright. My mom lives in a small two-bedroom apartment, so it's not a big place. We put the central unit, kind of the heart of the thing, in the center of the apartment. We were some 10 ft from the unit when we did our test call and they girl that responded couldn't hear us at all. If they can't hear us when we're that distance away, what would happen if my mother were to fall? They'll just send over help regardless of whether or not she needs it because they can't hear us. That was a major disappointment. They don't listen to what we have to say. It also takes forever for us to get through to a customer service person. On top of that, they just hang up on you or disconnect your call instead of asking you if you'd like to continue waiting. When my contract runs out next month I'll be looking for a different service.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

JohnCooke

I was very disappointed in just the first week of use, that just by pressing a great grocery bag against my chest caused it to go off, and since i am disabled couldnt answer the home and cell phones quickly. So you then called my spouse ( first time so she didnt have your number plugged into her cell phone yet, therefore, not Recognizing the number didn't immediately answer as she was on the phone. However, she did call you back within just 1-2 minutes but was told the ambulance was already enroute to my home. It seems the design of the button could be better. I understand the need to allow easy access, but still feel it could be better designed so as not to so easily set off!!

6 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Bernard Bank North Miami Beach, FL

They said it was going to be $24, but there were 60 some-odd dollars on my credit card. I didn't like what they did at all; I sent it back. I purchased it for myself, after I watched an ad for it on TV. I only use it when I leave and go out, but it was horrible. After I used it once, and after I got the private pin, I tried calling them 5 times at customer service, but I couldn't get through. I finally got to customer service and I told them how bad it was, and they said we will send you a label, we'll send the whole package back. We finally got the label after a week from FedEx, sent everything back, and that was it. I called my credit card company. The fraud division said they would take care of it, but they never did. It's a bad outfit.

6 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Dorothy Mesa, AZ

That device did not work for a fall that resulted in an er vist with a very serious injury to the head

2 months ago

Medical Guardian Logo

Reply from Medical Guardian

Hi Dorothy. We take feedback like this very seriously and we are reviewing everything on our end to ensure something like this never happens again. If you’d like to reach us directly, you can call 1-800-313-1191. We look forward to speaking with you soon.

Dec. 7th, 2023

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Ssssarah S

I no longer need the service. I had it for 3 years. Never used it once. Cost approx $1200.00 for a service I never used, and they won’t send a box to return the devices in. I have to also pay for that. Unsatisfied

2 months ago

Medical Guardian Logo

Reply from Medical Guardian

Hi, we received your review and we definitely understand your concern. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. At Medical Guardian, we pride ourselves in providing a great experience and peace of mind to our customers, and we want to make sure you receive nothing less. You can reach us directly by dialing 1-800-313-1191. We look forward to speaking with you soon.

Dec. 18th, 2023

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Lovell Berkeley, IL

I've had too many issues with it and I've already had to have it replaced after three months. We tested it recently this weekend and it wasn't working. And I had a customer service representative hang up on me when I was trying to get the replacement for my alert.

8 months ago

Medical Guardian Logo

Reply from Medical Guardian

We are sorry to hear about the negative experience you had with one of our representatives. We will take the time to look into this situation and provide the necessary evaluation and retraining for the customer care representative. Again, we apologize for any difficulties you may have had. At Medical Guardian, we pride ourselves in providing a great customer experience and we want to make sure you receive nothing less. If you wish to discuss this matter further, you can reach us directly by dialing 1-800-313-1191. We look forward to speaking with you soon.

May. 31st, 2023

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Anonymous Cheyenne, WY

The customer support is good, I've had good luck talking to the people that are trying to help me, but it doesn't seem to last. I haven't had the chance to use the device, it keeps not working. Right now I'm not getting anything out of it.

10 months ago

Medical Guardian Logo

Reply from Medical Guardian

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to hear about your poor experience with our product. I would suggest calling our customer care team at 1-800-313-1191. They will be able to assist you with your product.

Apr. 3rd, 2023

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Jennifer Fagan Jeddo, MI

When I purchased the guardian medical alarm for my mother in law, I was told it included immediate response if dropped or if mother in law feel. I found out today, 5 months after my purchase that she did not have that immediate response coverage and I would have to purchase it at an additional cost. I of course purchased the additional coverage. I am totally disappointed that I was misinformed about the coverage I purchased up front. A very poor way to conduct business..

1 year ago

Medical Guardian Logo

Reply from Medical Guardian

Hi Jennifer Fagan. We take feedback like this very seriously and we are reviewing everything on our end to ensure something like this never happens again. If you’d like to reach us directly, you can call 1-800-313-1191. We look forward to speaking with you soon.

Feb. 22nd, 2023

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Anonymous Belen, NM

The only at the experience I've had with medical guardian was negative. I couldn't trust them enough to help me activate the device by phone call. I don't like how hard it is to activate, the only way was to activate it through U.S.P.S. and I found that to be very inconvenient. I still haven't been able to activate it so I don't even know how the device works.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Matthew Murphy

Terrible. Elderly people need this service and you have made it so difficult. We received the wrong and missing equipment twice. Customer service kept calling my mother and contacting her about the service agreement and the device was terrible and difficult to set up. When I crashed to return the divide and cancel, the customer service rep was not helpful and even made that process too complicated for an elderly person that would need this type of device. Med Guardian is completely tone deaf to the needs of its customers. I will never recommend or use again for an elderly friend or relative.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

julie dudley Gilbert, AZ

I was told it would be able to contact my father if he fell. Now I am being told that there is a disclaimer that it may or may not. He has fallen several times and only once has it actually contacted him. You tell me (I am the dtr who bought it as reassurance that if he fell someone would know) that he needs to push the button. also there is no one in customer service on the weekends.

2 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Marge Christensen Appleton, WI

What do I have to rate them on? It hangs on my neck. Is it working? How do I know? I called when I first got it to say there was no manual sent out with it. I was told she would put one in the mail. I never received it. Iaccidently bumped it one day and a recording spoke to me. I dropped it on the bathroom floor one day and nothing happened. If it doesn't react to being dropped, how can I have confidence it will do its job if I drop?

2 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Carole Fayetteville, AR

Thei Mini Device emits a searing blue light every 26 seconds, making it brutal to wear day or night. I was not told about this until finding out when I received it. The brochure that came with it indicated that it would go out a few seconds after use but the customer service representative said this was incorrect. Why they send a fraudulent brochure, I don't know. Go with anything else.

3 years ago

Medical Guardian Logo

Reply from Medical Guardian

Greetings and thanks for your review. We are sorry you found your experience to be less than satisfactory! If you'd like to discuss alternative products that would be better suited to your needs then please reach out to us at 1-800-313-1191. Thanks again for the review, and have a great day!

Mar. 1st, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Jaime Pagan Yulee, FL

Lousy equipment lousy service lousy support, equipment doesn't work refund not given after I returned the equipment, This is the worst company I am going to report them to the BBB. I finally got a partial refund from them, claiming that i had it for over a month and it had worked for part of that time, they kept almost a third of the price i paid. Company is one to stay away from.

3 years ago Edited January 10, 2024

Medical Guardian Logo

Reply from Medical Guardian

Hi, Jaime. Thank you for your review. We are sorry that your experience has been less than satisfactory. We're going to send you a private message to investigate your refund issue for you. Thank you.

Jun. 17th, 2020

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Gwen Vandergrift, PA

I have had it for several months and they had never sent me papers which I asked for by phone a couple months ago for the addresses of people. They have not sent me papers or called me to let me know of the peole in my area that had keys to my home and could come within five minutes to help me. They have not replied to me. I only wish they would contact me.

3 years ago

Medical Guardian Logo

Reply from Medical Guardian

Hello Gwen and thank you so much for the feedback! We are sorry to hear that you found your experience less than satisfactory. Please respond to the following private message and provide us with your account details so we can investigate your experience. Thank you again for the feedback Barbara, and have a great day!

Aug. 20th, 2020

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

S Prang

Up until yesterday, I was pleased with the product. My mother fell yesterday afternoon and the alert did not go off. When I spoke with customer service, they informed me 'not all falls are detected.' Why am I paying for this additional feature if it doesn't work ALL the time? I will be canceling the service with Medical Guardian. When I spoke with the original sales lady she never once mentioned it only worked part of the time. In fact, I was told it is so sensitive, it will detect if she leans over. NOT A QUALITY PRODUCT!!! Sorr6.

4 years ago

Medical Guardian Logo

Reply from Medical Guardian

Hello, thank you for your review. Your feedback and concerns are very important to us. We're going to send you a private message requesting your contact details and account-specific information so we can investigate your issue. Thank you!

Oct. 9th, 2019

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Virginia Giles

The first month the base unit was the only one connected. The wrist one and the one that was wore around the neck were not connected. When they were connecting the items to their system the numbers were so small I had to use a magnify glass. I am 76 years old and I don't need this confusion. I have been checking every month to be sure it is connected. That is the only time I have any connection w/them. I pray that the problem is fixed.

4 years ago

Medical Guardian Logo

Reply from Medical Guardian

Greetings Virginia, and thank you so much for your review! We are sorry to hear about your experience and will be sure to look into it. We take your feedback very seriously and appreciate you bringing this to our attention. Have a great day, and thank you again for your review!

Sep. 11th, 2019

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Roger Spring Hill, FL

The devices have testers on the wall and they have taken the plaster off right down to the very metal corned so I've got a lot of repairs to do on the house. We had to replace the main message center and it wasn't in very good shape. It took quite a bit of work to get it to work right. It took a while to find a technician that was qualified to do the job.

4 years ago

Medical Guardian Logo

Reply from Medical Guardian

Thank you for the review! We are sorry you felt your experience was less than satisfactory. We take your feedback very seriously, and will be sure to review your experience. Thank you again for your review, and have a great day!

Aug. 15th, 2019

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Hattie Bertolini

I purchased one.paid for the entire year. For the month that I had it I felt secure. Unfortunately, without my knowledge it was not working during that time. I was I never all kinds of excuses why it wasn't working and in the end they just said it doesn't work in my area. I had to send it back at my own expense a ll as pay for the first month usage. Understanding you knew it was defective and I certainly should not have had to pay one dime.

4 years ago

Medical Guardian Logo

Reply from Medical Guardian

Hattie, thank you for the review! We are sorry you found your experience to be unsatisfactory. We take your feedback very seriously and will look into your experience. Thank you again for your review, and have a great day!

May. 29th, 2019

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Anonymous

No one from Medical Guardian has called me re setting up and testing the equipment. There wasn't any information in the initial package telling me what to do or who to contact when I rec'd it. Nor was there any information re how do I go about testing the equipment. I did not receive the carry case for the power unit, just a cord....please respond

4 years ago

Medical Guardian Logo

Reply from Medical Guardian

Thank you for your review! We are sorry you are finding the activation process to be unsatisfactory. We take your feedback very seriously and will look into your experience. So we can better research your particular situation, would you be willing to help us locate your account? Any information shared in your response will not be posted publicly. If you could provide us with your full name, address and phone number, we will be in touch. Thanks again for reaching out!

May. 22nd, 2019

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Sharon Blank

So far it has been a disaster. I paid for expeditited delivery which still is not here 9 days later. Then after reading the p aperwork that came with it and it said would not work on Voip, DSL or Broadband, I had to switch phone col because I have voip, now I am told that is not true, even though their paperwork says so. Now if I cancel the new phone co. it will cost me 100. I have not activated medical alert yet, because not sure If it want to do business with a company so disorganized and undependable.

4 years ago

Medical Guardian Logo

Reply from Medical Guardian

Sharon, thank you for your review. We are currently investigating what occurred with that shipping issue you experienced and for the confusion surrounding the paperwork. We value your feedback and will look further into what occurred here. Have a great day!

Apr. 24th, 2019

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Diane

I don't think I have the right plan; what I need is fall detection without having to carry this thing around with me to talk to. It is a pain in the neck, I don't like to carry it in pockets or purses. I don't think it is good support. When I called the woman was smart with me and hateful. When I asked her something she got defensive and was very unprofessional. I would never recommend them.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Arlene

I could not use it. The only time I needed to use it, I locked myself out and I needed to get the key that's in the lot lock box it would not open I had three people come and try to open it with the dial and it will not open I have to have somebody come out check so the only experience I've had with them is that it didn't work. Their customer representative was very friendly to you made the sale and then she cut you off cold. I haven't had any support if you go by what support what I've had.

5 years ago

Medical Guardian Logo

Reply from Medical Guardian

Arlene, we're sorry that your experience with our company has been less than ideal. We would like to look further into your concerns. Would you help us in locating your account? Any information shared in your response will not be posted publically. If you could provide your full name, address and phone number, we will look into your complaints. Thanks for reaching out and have a nice day.

Dec. 15th, 2018

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Kathryn Bradford, PA

My mother is very soft spoken so when we did the test to set it up she spoke into the machine and the emergency medical services could not hear her and there's no way to turn the volume up on the device so now we're just stuck with it. When the person sold me t his product they did not explain to me that there was not a volume button on the device. The only option available to us was to have them call the house phone and hopefully they'll be able to hear us on that.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Harry &

The price and being able to go anywhere with the device. I've made test calls on the device and every test call failed. They ended up having to use their GPS equipment to find my location. The support team or so called support team did not remedy the situation. I believe I either had faulty equipment or they had false advertisements. They told me my location was a half mile in a park while I was actually at the doctors testing it. I plan to cancel it in the near future.

5 years ago

Medical Guardian Logo

Reply from Medical Guardian

Harry, thank you for reaching out. We are currently looking into your situation and will be in touch to help troubleshoot.

Mar. 1st, 2018

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Hope Vaca Artesia, CA

We switched from a different service because the last one didn't meet our standards. I though this one would be sufficient to guard my mom wherever she went if she needed assistance. I know that she was wearing it but I noticed that one time she fell and there was no alert or anything about it. no one called us and we had no idea that it had even happened. We later realized it wasn't even functioning right because apparently it hadn't been properly activated. Months went by and no one gave us a call to make sure things were alright. There has been no communication whatsoever.

5 years ago

Medical Guardian Logo

Reply from Medical Guardian

Thank you for the review. We certainly hope your mother is doing OK after her recent fall. We will have a member of our Customer Care team give a call to ensure everything is working as it should with your mother's Home Guardian and answer any additional questions. Have a lovely day!

May. 2nd, 2018

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

William Casarella Atlanta, GA

I didn't really think this company was the best one for me, and I found that it actually wasn't. I got it mainly because my wife and family said that I should. I've never had to use it. I just don't need it, because I have other devices which are more convenient, like an Apple watch and an iPhone that I have with me all the time. They're more effective than the Medical Guardian. I just don't think that it's necessary if you have those other devices.

5 years ago

Medical Guardian Logo

Reply from Medical Guardian

William, thank you for your feedback. iPhones and Apple watch are great products, but they are not tailored specifically to the needs of many older adults. We're happy that they work for you, but hope to offer a simpler alternative for those that seek it. Thanks again for the review and have a lovely day!

Mar. 21st, 2018

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Beatriz Dcosta Miami, FL

i had an emergency last year, your team took care of all, as my english was not very good at the time of the emergency they calm me down in spanish and were was able to get rescue to my apartment and take me to the hospital almost immediately, also took the time to let my son know i had an emergency and was ibeing transported to Aventura Hospital.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Eugene O. Davenport, FL

I was looking for something that could help me if I happened to fall down. I wanted to make sure I would be able to get help if that happened. I have the button attached to my wrist, so I just put it on and have no problems with it. It works and I can rely on it. I haven't really gotten good support from them though. It's very poor, they're always out to get more money. Billing is also very poor. Still, they're an outstanding company.

6 years ago

Medical Guardian Logo

Reply from Medical Guardian

Eugene, thank you for reaching out. We're sorry that your experience hasn't been exactly what you expected with regards to support and billing. We would like to hear more about those particular aspects of your experience to see if we can address your concerns more fully. Would you be willing to help us locate your account so we can reach out? Any information you share in your response won't be posted to . It will only be shared directly with Medical Guardian. If you could provide us with the full name of the user and any other identifying information (i.e. address or phone number), we can look into your case more thoroughly. Thanks again for the review. Have a great day!

Feb. 28th, 2018

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Vivian Heil Bensalem, PA

I did an internet search and got it for my mother. The button is alright. It looks ok, it's not too big, and it works fine. We had a lot of problems with customer service though. I don't think they handled our agreement properly. It has taken weeks and several phone calls and emails to try and get things straightened out and we still couldn't get things right. I even had to go to the better business bureau and only then did things get resolved. Based on that experience, I wouldn't use them again.

6 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

ValentineKefeli

I bought it for my parents. There was nothing wrong with it just did not work for them at this stage of their lives. I called to return it, got return label but still have no money credited back on my visa. The sales person was nice at first but when I needed to return and had questions about credit ignored my emails. It was disappointing, I have the name of this salesperson, he is from Philadelphia.

6 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

BarbaraCaruana

I did not have a good experience with medical guardian. After numerous tests I found out the AT&T signal in my area was very weak. This should have been determined by Medical Guardian during my first conversation with them. Then when I wanted to return the device I was told I would not get the full cost back and had to “fight” to get it back. Throughout this experience my sales rep never returned my calls or my emails to him. Medical Guardian may be top rated but it was of no value to me. I have since found another provider of another device.

6 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

William shelton Chicago Heights, IL

Worst company I ever dealt with. I needed the equipment right away. My 87 yr old father had a major heart attack and was going to be alone. I was told I would get product within 1- 2 days. When it didn't arrive. I called and was told it would be over a week to 10 days. I had already prepaid and was very upset. I cancelled your stuff and called first Alert, they overnighted everything, it was a better set up and less money. I would not ever do business with you, nor ever refer you to anyone!! Very poorly trained company that u are! I would give u 0 stars if I could!

6 years ago