Best Company Guarantee Freedom Debt Relief Logo

Freedom Debt Relief

star star star star star_half

8.9

Overall Score

error This company may not service all states.
See states serviced
LAST UPDATED: February 2nd, 2023

Freedom Debt Relief, a subsidiary of Freedom Financial Network, has resolved billions in consumer debt since its founding in 2002.

The company has considerable industry experience and high client satisfaction ratings.

With all the major industry accreditations, Freedom Debt Relief (FDR) is a great option for many consumers. Its minimum debt requirement is $7,500. Freedom Debt Relief accepts clients dealing with financial hardship that meet this threshold and clients that can make regular program payments to an account to fund settlements. Freedom Debt Relief employs professional debt experts to negotiate and settle debt for those suffering financial hardship.

FDR offers a debt settlement program that involves negotiating with creditors to lower total debt owed and is available in 32 states. It does not, however, offer debt management plans or credit counseling for those not interested in debt settlement, as Freedom Debt Relief is a debt settlement company.

On average, Freedom Debt Relief charges 23 percent of your total enrolled debt, which means the cost varies depending on your financial situation. To settle an account enrolled at $5,000, it will cost around $1,150. 

View Freedom Debt Relief reviews below.

thumb_up

The Good

  • Excellent Settlement Program and Debt Relief Services
  • Experience and Accreditations
  • Great Freedom Debt Relief Reviews
  • Online Dashboard
  • No Fees Charged Until After Debt Is Settled

Excellent Settlement Program and Debt Relief Services

As a leading debt settlement company, Freedom Debt Relief has several great advantages to its debt settlement services, including

  • Low minimum of $7,500 in debt to begin debt settlement
  • Costs between 15 and 25 percent of the total unsecured debt
  • Free consultation with a Certified Debt Consultant

Freedom Debt Relief offers a free consultation with a highly trained, IAPDA-certified debt consultant when a consumer decides to enlist the company's debt settlement services.

According to a four-year study by Freedom Debt Relief, its customers start the program with a median of $28,000 in debt, which decreases to $3,800 after 45 months in the program. The graph below shows the decrease in debt over time and how this directly affects the increase in customers' credit scores. 

FDR Debt Settlement Graph

Experience and Accreditations

As an accredited debt relief company, Freedom Debt Relief has over 20 years of experience in the debt settlement industry. It has settled over four million accounts since its founding and regularly settles over $16 billion in debt.

Freedom Debt Relief has years of experience standing between the creditor and the client. FDR will work to obtain settlements that resolve credit card debt (or any type of unsecured debt, such as personal loan debt or medical debt).

FDR will walk clients through the debt settlement process: first, customers will voluntarily choose to stop making monthly payments to lenders. Instead, clients will elect to make a monthly deposit into a separate special purpose account to save money to pay for the settlements once negotiated. Freedom Debt Relief will then work to negotiate a settlement on behalf of its clients.

Unfortunately, this settlement process will affect your credit score. If you miss any minimum payments on your credit card or other debt, this will decrease your credit score. A four-year study by Freedom Debt Relief found that its customers' credit scores dropped in the first six months of the debt settlement program, then began to recover. According to the study, most customers' credit scores recovered to their previous position by the time they completed the Freedom Debt Relief program. It's smart to have a plan for boosting your credit score before you start the debt settlement process.

The graph below shows Freedom Debt Relief's customers' credit scores over time as they improve their debt through the company's program. 

Freedom Debt Relief Credit Score Graph

Great Freedom Debt Relief Reviews

Most Freedom Debt reviews on Best Company are positive. People commend FDR for having good customer service, explaining debt management, and keeping them updated on where they are at in the debt settlement program.

Clients drowning in high amounts of unsecured debt (credit card debt, personal loans, medical debt, student loan debt) usually find that the company can save them from paying a large percentage of what they owe. 

Despite the debt settlement program's tendency to negatively affect credit scores in the first six months, clients with mountains of credit card debt find it extremely helpful for debt reduction. It's also important for people to know that forgiven debt is considered taxable income, so you may owe more in taxes when using debt settlement services.

Online Dashboard

One feature that sets FDR apart from the rest is a unique and intuitive online dashboard to track clients' pace throughout the program. This helps people to actually see their progress while settling their debts. It also offers education to help clients improve their financial knowledge.

Not many debt settlement companies in the industry offer this tool as part of their packages.

No Fees Charged Until After Debt Is Settled

As opposed to a debt consolidation company which consolidates all of a customer's debt into one consolidation loan and one monthly payment, debtors approach Freedom Debt Relief as a last resort in order to negotiate their debt and relieve their burden.

Freedom Debt Relief doesn't charge an upfront fee or any other fees until after debt is settled with creditors, the settlement has been authorized with the client, and the first payment has been made. This practice is standard for the industry. Debt relief companies, like National Debt Relief and Pacific Debt, also do not have upfront fees.

Upon enrollment, customers will open an FDIC-insured bank account that the client controls. Clients will put the monthly deposit that was agreed upon into this bank account instead. This is the main reason why this program hurts your credit score more than debt consolidation.

Next, FDR's representatives will negotiate with your creditors to settle your debt.

Freedom Debt Relief makes money by charging fees on the enrolled debt amount. Its average fees are a bit high (around 23 percent fees on enrolled debt), but its services are thorough.

The company's ability to help clients find an easier road to financial freedom and paying off debt is highly valuable.

Visit Site

thumb_down

The Bad

  • Freedom Debt Relief Cost
  • Limited Availability
  • Limited Services
  • Complaints
  • Consumer Financial Protection Bureau Lawsuit

Freedom Debt Relief Cost

To settle an account enrolled at $5,000, it will cost around $1,150 (or about 23 percent of the enrolled debt).

Users are charged an average of 23 percent of their total enrolled debt to use FDR. While this number is in line with their competitors, it is only an average. Customers could end up paying more or less than this to use FDR. FDR’s prices range between 15 and 25 percent. The rates vary depending on the state the client lives in.

Current national debt relief trends indicate that debt settlement companies tend to charge a percentage of enrolled debt as opposed to saved debt. This means that the more total debt you have, the more debt settlement companies will charge you.

Although working with a debt settlement firm still saves you from paying thousands of dollars to creditors; it's better to work with companies that charge a percentage of saved debt rather than enrolled debt.

So exactly how much will Freedom Debt Relief cost you? It will cost you around 23 percent of your total enrolled debt, but you will have to have a consultation to get an accurate estimate. The fee is competitive for the industry. The fee is assessed when a successful settlement has been authorized and the first payment has been made.

However, Freedom Debt Relief’s services are high quality and make it easier to make your way to living debt-free.

Limited Availability

Freedom Debt Relief offers debt settlement programs in only 32 states. If Freedom Debt Relief does not offer its debt relief program in your state, you'll have to consider other debt settlement companies.

Most debt settlement companies have a minimum debt requirement to ensure a payout. A debt settlement company that charges by saved debt will not run into this problem as much.

Freedom Debt Relief requires a minimum debt amount of $7,500 (the amount of which is charged fees between 15 and 25 percent). While this threshold is low compared to other debt settlement companies, it does rule out people struggling with lower debt amounts.

An additional limitation with Freedom Debt Relief is that the company only works with debtors with unsecured debt. Freedom Debt Relief is not an option for those struggling with secured debt. The difference between unsecured and secured debt is that unsecured debt is not backed by assets or collateral, while secured debt is.

Limited Services

Some debt relief agencies provide services outside of debt settlement, such as credit counseling, advocating for a lower interest rate on your debt, or debt management plans. However, Freedom Debt Relief does not offer these services.

As such, if you choose to go with Freedom Debt Relief to help you work toward resolving your debt, be aware that you will be signing up for a debt settlement program, and may still receive calls from a debt collector or face the risk of a negative impact on your credit score. 

Complaints

While most of the Freedom Debt Relief reviews are positive, there are still several Freedom Debt Relief clients who have complaints about the debt relief company. The two main complaints that people seem to have are the following:

  • Debt settlement takes too long or isn't as effective as people hoped
  • FDR charges too much for its services, sometimes costing consumers up to 25 percent of their total enrolled debt

These complaints are fairly common within the debt settlement industry. It’s important for clients to be fully informed about what debt settlement is and how it works. Potential clients should use the free consultation to learn more about the time it takes to reach a settlement and specific price information.

Consumer Financial Protection Bureau Lawsuit

In 2019, the Consumer Financial Protection Bureau and Freedom Debt Relief reached an agreement that FDR would do the following:

  • Make it clear that in some cases, FDR may not be able to negotiate a debt if the creditor is unwilling to negotiate
  • Let consumers know that, in some cases, the creditor will only negotiate if the client is also directly involved in the negotiations, and that the consumer has the right to refuse to participate in the negotiations and can remove the debt from their program without penalty
  • Make it clearer to consumers under what circumstances they will be charged a fee
  • Stop charging fees on all accounts where the settlement amount was not reduced, or where the creditor wrote off the debt on their own
  • Make it clearer to consumers that, if they end their program early, any money left in their program savings account belongs to them, minus any funds earned by the company according to legal statutes
  • Pay restitution money to injured consumers
  • Pay a civil penalty

It's a good idea for potential clients to do some research on the process, consumers' rights, and industry standards for settlement companies before setting up a free consultation with a debt settlement service. It's also recommended to read recent customer reviews to get a better sense of Freedom Debt Relief's commitment to clients and how good its settlement services are.

gavel

The Bottom Line

Freedom Debt Relief offers several outstanding features for anyone looking to settle their debts: all major industry accreditations, ample debt settlement experience, thoughtful and experienced debt consultants, negotiation with each creditor, and more. The company's 15 to 25 percent fees are pretty standard in comparison to other debt settlement companies (like National Debt Relief). 

If you choose a debt settlement plan to resolve your debts, the debts you settle are marked as "settled" on your credit report. While there are some risks to debt settlement, this process allows you to settle debts, avoid bankruptcy, and become debt-free.

While people interested in other debt resolution methods, like credit counseling, a debt management plan, or debt consolidation loan will need to consider other companies, Freedom Debt Relief is a good option for those seeking a debt settlement program.

FDR's debt negotiation experience is worth the money. Freedom Debt Relief customer reviews relate that the company has saved them thousands of dollars by negotiating with their creditors. If you're looking to settle your debt through debt negotiation and a reliable debt relief program, we highly recommend using Freedom Debt Relief if you receive a reasonable quote from the company during your free consultation. 

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

not_listed_location

Freedom Debt Relief Frequently Asked Questions

What is Freedom Debt Relief?

Freedom Debt Relief is a debt settlement company. The company offers a debt settlement program that helps you get out of debt faster and for less. With over 19 years of experience working to reduce its clients’ debt, Freedom Debt Relief has resolved over $10 billion in debt since 2002.

How does the Freedom Debt Relief program work?

After signing up for Freedom Debt Relief, you make monthly deposits into an FDIC-insured bank account that you own and control. Once enough money has built up into this account, negotiations occur towards resolving each of your debts one by one. Once a settlement offer is obtained, Freedom Debt Relief presents the offer for you to sign off on. If you agree to the terms, the funds in your FDIC-insured account are used to pay the creditor. This is also when Freedom Debt Relief collects its fee. Once the creditor has been paid according to the settlement agreement, the remainder of the debt is written off. This process is repeated with all of your debts until you no longer owe anything on your enrolled debts.

How does Freedom Debt Relief affect your credit?

Freedom Debt Relief could negatively impact your credit as your creditors are not being paid every month. As such, the company will report your missed payments to the credit bureaus, which negatively impacts your score. If you are already behind on payments, however, your credit is already negatively affected, so you should take that into consideration.

How much does Freedom Debt Relief cost?

Freedom Debt Relief's fee ranges from 15%-25% of the debt, depending on the state you live in, how much you owe, and other factors. Under no circumstances, however, will you pay the company the fee in advance of a settlement on a debt.

What kind of debt does Freedom Debt Relief work with?

Debt from credit cards, medical bills, department store cards, and many other types of unsecured debt could qualify for Freedom Debt Relief. However, secured debt that involves collateral, including auto loans, mortgages, and federal student loans, do not qualify.

What happens if a creditor tries to sue me during settlement?

Since you’ve stopped making payments to your creditors, there’s a chance that they may sue you in an attempt to collect what you owe them. Freedom Debt Relief works with a network of lawyers it makes available to help qualifying clients in these situations — at no additional cost.

Is forgiven debt taxable?

According to the IRS, a forgiven debt is considered taxable income. At the end of the year, they will expect taxes to be paid on any settled debt. However, IRS Form 982, Reduction of Tax Attributes Due to Discharge of Indebtedness, may exempt you from this tax. To learn how forgiven debt could affect your taxes, talk to a tax professional.
Message from
Freedom Debt Relief

Freedom Debt Relief is a debt settlement company that could help you get out of debt with no loan required. Our affordable debt relief program is designed to resolve your debt for less than you currently owe, significantly faster than making minimum payments.

If you’re dealing with $10,000 or more in unsecured debt, like credit cards or personal loans, our program could help you resolve your debt for a price you can actually afford.

As the largest debt settlement company in the United States, Freedom Debt Relief has resolved over $10 billion in debt for over 800,000 clients — and we could help you, too! Find out how much you could save with our program by requesting your free debt evaluation today.

keyboard_arrow_up keyboard_arrow_down
bestcompany guarantee

Best Company guarantees your satisfaction if you choose a company that has earned this distinction. If you're not satisfied after 30 days, simply let us know and we'll give you $200. Yes, it's really that simple.

Learn More

Star Rating

4.7

star star star star star_half

15,720 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

81%

4 grade

12%

3 grade

3%

2 grade

1%

1 grade

2%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star star_half

Quality

star star star star star_half

Service

star star star star star_half

Trustworthiness

star star star star star_half
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Vincent Wheeler Valencia, CA

I would have given 4 stars but for one issue. This may be a bit long and I will break it up for why 4 stars and why 2 stars. 4 stars-They do what they say they are going to do. They take care of contacting creditors and getting all the debt complied in a simple easy payment option. The biggest issue is the way they may promote the program as well as give you information on how much they have saved you. If you go in with a different mindset this is not a real big issue. For example lets say you have a debt of $10,000. Freedom takes it over and through the program they resolve it. By the time Freedom and the creditor come to a resolution of how it will be paid that debt could be $12,000+. The resolution is for you to pay $8,000. Freedom touts that they saved you $4,000. You then pay for Freedoms part in it, which is $2,000. In the end you did pay $10,000. However, you are paying $10,000 without paying additional interest, and this is where I think Freedom shines. Paying interest on 10k each month, plus paying toward principal is where the real trouble is. So Freedom does give you that option to get above water, and for this I would give 4 stars 2 Stars- The biggest issue that I have is if an account goes to litigation. You pay into have an attorney that would help with these sort of things as part of the Freedom program. Going to litigation sucks, but that is a chance that you are taking. The lawyer on your behalf will talk with the creditor and between you the creditor and lawyer, you all come to an understanding of how to pay this off. My issue arises that Freedom then takes their fees. I have an issue with this, since Freedom did not do anything with this account, but send it to the lawyer. Just be mindful of how much you owe, or how many creditors you may owe to. Don't buy into the claims of we saved you this much. However, if you understand how they are helping and how they are saving you money, it will be good.

2 months ago

Freedom Debt Relief Logo

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Hi Vincent, we appreciate your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you are unhappy with your savings and the overall process of our program. If you would like to discuss your program savings, we would love to go over it with you. We encourage you to reach out to customer service.

Dec. 9th, 2022

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

SHARON A SMITH Leesburg, FL

I have already done this review. Apparently, you did not like what I had to say. I'm taking it again with the hope that it will get posted this time. The idea of the company is very good. However, the customer service people leave a lot to be desired. Calls are NOT returned, and the CHAT is a joke. Yes, they have settled a debt for me and are working on another. I requested a HARDSHIP twice and they say they never received it. If I had it to do over again, I'm not sure I would deal with this company. Do your homework, look at the reviews then decide. Once again, I hope this was helpful.

2 months ago

Freedom Debt Relief Logo

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Thank you for your feedback Sharon. We are sorry to hear you felt unsupported by our customer service team. Congratulations on being debt-free and on all of your great savings. We wish you continued success.

Nov. 29th, 2022

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Charles McCallum Hernando, MS

This company did not get on top of my debts quick enough and one of the creditors completely went against any rules and emptied my checking account,now how am I going to make my bi-weekly payments?

3 weeks ago

Freedom Debt Relief Logo

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Hi Charles, we are very sorry to hear this and would like to reach out to you to learn more. An account specialist will be reaching out shortly.

Jan. 20th, 2023

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Trina Bowling Seymour, IN

While the program has helped me, it has also hurt me. I've been sued twice while enrolled because of their strategic hold on the accounts. Would I recommend FDR to a friend? NO! To me personally, the bad totally outweighed the good.

2 months ago

Freedom Debt Relief Logo

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Hi Trina, thank you for sharing this feedback with us. We are sorry to hear you feel this way about our program, although it is unpleasant and stressful to be sued, our legal partners are here to help our members overcome those setbacks. We would love to address any questions or concerns you may have about your program, we encourage you to contact our customer service team for further assistance.

Dec. 6th, 2022

star star star_border star_border star_border

Marchelle Mooney Shelbyville, KY

The experience has been up and down from beginning agent provided misinformation but I stayed with the program with the assurance of no issues. I paid extra money to have my biggest debt settled to keep getting calls from freedom debt and not sure why this debt I enrolled is not being resolved quickly . Prestige Financial 7,000 debt is why I signed up for this program. I have sent to freedom the letters of threat garnishing my wages that hasn’t happened at this time yet but the hassle and harassment is why I trusted your company to hello resolve this issue. I’m getting calls about taking a loan ? I’m skeptical due to all the misinformation in the program my credit score is horrible I’m very dissatisfied I pay every month on time for program with little communication resolving accounts I’m not happy or trusting the program at this moment

4 months ago

Freedom Debt Relief Logo

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Hello Marchelle, we are sorry to hear that you are unhappy with your program. We encourage you to reach out to our customer service team to address your concerns. You can contact our Client Services team seven days a week by calling 1(800)655-6303 or email [email protected] Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief.

Sep. 28th, 2022

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Darin Gard Ashburn, VA

Just to give a little update on my situation. I started the program to resolve 4 depts. I was told the program would be 44 payments and I could expect a roughly 1/2 savings on the dept settlements, as long as I didn't miss any dedicated account deposits. Well the company resolved 3 of the four depts. 63 payments later not missing any monthly payments they stopped taking payments and stopped completely working on the dept. I tried really hard to get good communication but you can never talk to anyone that is working on the dept just an operator that says they will call you and never do. Finally they gave me back the dedicated account and I am finishing resolving the last dept on my own. After looking at the fees payed Freedom Dept to settle the dept and the extra two years to not fix the problem. I would honestly say I lost money using this company. I am glad that I am no longer sending money into a company to hold it an charge me a monthly fee. (Little miracles do happen!!!)

5 months ago

Freedom Debt Relief Logo

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Hello Darin, we are sorry to hear you feel this way about your program. We appreciate your feedback and will use this as a way to better assist our clients. If you have any questions, just give us a call at 800-655-6303. Our Customer Service Representatives are ready to help. Thank you for allowing Freedom Debt Relief be your partner on your journey to a debt-free future.

Aug. 24th, 2022

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Charles Balint

When I started the program I was happy, had a little issue getting it started and with callers and debt letters from collection agency, but it evened out after about 2 years. After I had available funds and nothing was being done. I called the Client Services to see what is next, CS said that the law office is working on it. Over the next three months I call several time to see what the status was and CS said there is no reason that is holding anything up and again they would send a note to the law office. Only after I was served a SUMMONS did I see anything start to happen. That took another Four plus weeks. The settlement a disappointment was not what I was hoping for. It used up most of the account on deposit ( the system online showed that there was amounts on deposit to cover two AMX outstanding accounts With a date of total pay off of March of 2020. ) Now with the account that was used for settlement of one account the pay off is pushed out to December. What was a bigger disappointment Client Services was the FDR settlement FEES Around $5,000.00. Its seams like I'm just a number and no one cares because, I made a mistake and I should be happy that the debt will some day be settled. I have been contacted by UniteDebt and National Debt Relief offering to take over the debt accounts and save me money by lowering the settlement payoff amount and save me money on the settlement FEES. ( National Debt Relief is offering a low % and Unite Debt is offering NO SETTLEMENT FEE.) I need to think about it. What do you think I should Do ? I look forward to yours or FDR's reply.

4 years ago

Freedom Debt Relief Logo

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

We’re so sorry to hear of your disappointments, Mr. Balint. Please know that when it comes to negotiating with legal firms, there are certain measures that first must be taken prior to our efforts. If certain criteria are not met, we are not able to move forward in our negotiation efforts. We apologize if these terms were not explained to you in detail. Also, regarding our settlement fees, we do not collect our fees until we’ve successfully obtained a settlement and the first payment has been scheduled with the creditor. Therefore, we only collect our fees after we have successfully negotiated a settlement. We’re really sorry to hear you feel you are not supported well in our program. We would like an opportunity to connect with you to address all of your concerns. A team member will be reaching out to you shortly. Thank you for providing your honest feedback.

Jan. 10th, 2019

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

cynthia R Brixius

process to complete too slow I assumed you would get everything done and then I pay i guess like you loaned me the money to pay off bills after settlemnts i just keep paying well about 9 months in and only 1 settlement 1 account i recieved noticed accepted settlement then someone dropped the ball I was told and failed to get acceptance letter from the company I am being sued by another company I am working nnl group and was told over 4 weeks ago they would get back to me and have and heard anything send email left message to call back nothing called fdr and they advised cal nnl so feeling like i left out here alone thanks

4 years ago

Freedom Debt Relief Logo

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

We are sorry to hear, Ms. Brixius, that you are having such a poor experience in our program. We would like the opportunity to address the mentioned concerns in an attempt to resolve them on your behalf. A team member will be reaching out to you shortly. We appreciate you sharing your honest feedback and we hope to speak with you soon.

Oct. 4th, 2018

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Matt

Whatever your debt amount is now , will be what you end up paying. They will make a deal to pay half to the creditors and then the other half will be fees for them. You can negotiate with the companies yourself and threaten that your going to freedom debt relief etc. and you will end up paying about 70% of what you owe knocking off interest that built during your credit, loan, etc.

2 years ago

Freedom Debt Relief Logo

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Matt, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're sorry to hear your experience and would like to speak with you regarding your concerns. Please provide us with your phone number or email address and a member of our team will reach out to you. Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief!

Sep. 25th, 2020

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

April Oakley

In the beginning everything was good I signed up with no problems. Updates were always on time. But when it came to needing help with some important things the ball was dropped not once but twice and I found myself wondering what is going on after all the paperwork I signed and all the money and time I spent at the end someone Canceled me. I was very hurt behind that I was thankful I had copies. Please keep copies because they don't.

2 years ago

Freedom Debt Relief Logo

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

We're sorry that you feel this way, Ms. Oakley. We are never intending to make this process more difficult. If you still have questions or concerns regarding this matter, please contact Client Services at (800) 655-6303 so they can further assist you. Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief!

Mar. 17th, 2020

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Anonymous Denton, TX

When I first started out, the guy told me to give him all the information, which I did. And they did not give me information and then I found out one of the banks were trying to ask for more money. The promises are not kept. They kept sending me a text or email saying that I've got another outstanding bill but every time I acquired about it or checked the account, they kept playing the cat and mouse game and they're very poor at communicating.

3 years ago

Freedom Debt Relief Logo

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We do our best to keep our clients informed of their program progress and we're sorry to hear about the lack of communication. Please give us a call at 800-655-6303 to discuss any concerns. Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief!

Aug. 5th, 2020

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Annoyed

I appreciate the help, although the fees are pretty steep. They talked to the credit card companies, stopped all my accounts, and settled my debts, finishing up with a bi-weekly payment that landed on each payday and was much easier to manage. I probably pay about the total amount of my debt with my actual settlement amount + fees, because the fees are insanely high, in my personal opinion. You can't go back on your deal, though! And they don't really tell you anything about the fees beforehand, that is a personal surprise.

3 years ago

Freedom Debt Relief Logo

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

We're glad to hear you do recognize the benefits of our debt relief program. However, we are very concerned about your surprise to our settlement fees. This is something that our debt consultants discuss during the initial debt consultation. We also make sure to include the fee information in the Debt Resolution Agreement that is provided to every client. To prevent any other surprises regarding your account, we would like an opportunity to speak with you directly. A team specialist will be reaching out to you shortly. We appreciate the opportunity to service your financial needs. Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief.

May. 29th, 2019

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Sol Gonzalez

I am not sure if it is good or not because I feel that I have deposited more than 6000 dollars and I have only paid a 1600 card, so the rest is left by the company in fees. On the other hand the advisors or the costumer services do not know how to explain well, at first everything sounds perfect after 2 years I am not sure if this was my best option

3 years ago

Freedom Debt Relief Logo

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

We're very sorry to hear, Ms. Gonzalez, your most recent experiences with us have been anything less than pleasant. Our goal is to provide a world-class customer service experience to each and every one of our clients every time they reach out to us. In an attempt to improve your experience with us, a team specialist will be reaching out to you shortly using the contact information we have on file. We appreciate this opportunity and thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief.

May. 29th, 2019

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Mark

The customer service has been great until recently and certain events. I don't get emails from them. Sometimes I'll go to my site and I'll see a new surprise to quote. I found out about the credit card that didn't show up on the report and cost me some trouble because this credit card was not added in and I had to go to court on Thursday and my rates are going to increase with them. I think they should be more up front about how they work with people in the beginning. It shouldn't be an ongoing process of knowing how they work.

3 years ago

Freedom Debt Relief Logo

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Mark, thank you for your honest feedback. We're sorry to hear about your experience with our team. We never intend to make the process more difficult for our clients. Please give us a call at 800-655-6303 to discuss any concerns. Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief!

Aug. 6th, 2020

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Hector Sandoval Ontario, CA

I'm not totally satisfied with their way of doing business. I have asked for help and they don't. They have a dashboard that I have to go in and it shows me the same thing over and over. They're not doing what I feel they should be doing. I keep getting calls from this one person and they say that Freedom Debt has to call them and Freedom Debt says to wait until they're ready to do business and I have a problem with that because they're going to wait until they get caught from a collection agency.

3 years ago

Freedom Debt Relief Logo

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Hello Hector, We're really sorry to hear that you are dissatisfied with the way your debt relief program is going. We never want any of our clients to feel like they are not getting complete answers to their questions. Your concerns do matter to us and we're here to resolve them and make this a better experience for you. A member of our team will be reaching out to you to discuss your concerns.

Feb. 13th, 2019

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Christy Underwood

The company did not make it clear that in addition to the monthly fee they also take a percentage of the settlement. I had. Also requested an offered settlement of approximately $800 be accepted. I talked on the phone with one of the to a company representative who reported I had the funds available and it was an excellent offer. I also send an email with the offer given me. That wonderful settlement was not ever accepted by Freedom Debt Relief.

4 years ago

Freedom Debt Relief Logo

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Hello Christy, All of our debt consultants are required to go over the monthly deposit and settlement fees when a client is enrolling. We also cover it through the Welcome call that our clients take, and it's also outlined in the contract. We're sorry if you feel you weren't informed enough about our program. Please reach out to our client services department at (800) 655-6303 or if you have any questions or comments regarding your account.

Dec. 31st, 2018

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Ronald Sweetwater, TN

Their customer support is great. It cost quite a bit of money. They save you money but then they charge you also accordingly. Basically they save you money on the debt that you owe but then they charge you according to how much they've saved you and so once they charge you you're almost back up to the amount that you owe so you're really not saving that much that's why I wouldn't do it again it really ruined my credit.

4 years ago

Freedom Debt Relief Logo

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Thank you for sharing your honest feedback, Ronald. In some cases, the savings may not appear to be a significant amount. However, consider this. Compare our fees to the 100% debt + interest % + late fees + penalty fees if someone can't meet the monthly required minimum payment. We offer a proven solution at an affordable monthly cost that helps our client pay down their entire debt - principle, fees, interest and all. In the long run, the savings are still phenomenal. If consumers continued to pay on their debt, including interest and fees assessed, the balance can be paid on for up to 20 years before it gets resolved! As for credit, the good news is rebuilding credit is far easier to do than get out of a sizable debt problem, which is why clients turn to us in spite of any credit score issues they may incur. Almost everyone can have excellent credit in two years or less, no matter how bad their credit is today.

Sep. 21st, 2018

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Eugene Delray Beach, FL

When I called into customer service, you get different answers based on who you talk to. They also haven't kept me informed on updates. They don't keep you informed with accurate information like what money you have given them or how the money has been distributed. I can't see on the client dashboard the history of money distribution. I called in and got one answer and then called back and got totally different information.

4 years ago

Freedom Debt Relief Logo

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Eugene, we're very sorry to hear that you're not satisfied with the program right now. We want to make sure a client is aware of what's going on with their debt relief program and we will do anything in our power to make sure we fix any concerns a client may have. We would love to review your account with you and hopefully resolve the concerns you're having. A member of our team will be reaching out to you privately!

Sep. 20th, 2018

star star star_border star_border star_border

Mike Blakley Atlanta, GA

I got sued on one the bills the lawyer that should have taking care per freedom debt .I've tried 4 times trying to resolve this no one can can seem to get the job done. Now they sue for more charges 300.00 laywer fees and 200.00 cort cost someone need to get this fixed.

4 months ago

Freedom Debt Relief Logo

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Hello Mike, we are sorry to hear this is happening. Please reach out to customer service at (800) 655-6303 or [email protected] for any additional help you may need.

Oct. 7th, 2022

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

David Murphey Evansville, IN

As a company, I think they function well. My problem is with the concept. Had I realized how badly and for how long this program would affect my credit rating, I would not have done it. They are not really completely honest with your about that.

4 months ago

Freedom Debt Relief Logo

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Hello David, we appreciate your feedback. Our debt relief program will have an impact on credit scores; however, there is no permanent credit impact. A study of our recent graduates shows that the median FICO score declines in the first 6 months of enrollment, and begins a steady recovery process soon thereafter. Thank you for being a valued client of Freedom Debt Relief!

Sep. 26th, 2022

star star star_border star_border star_border

Tessie Deguzman Poway, CA

Some reps are nice and most are rude. Too many hidden fees that I was not aware about or not explained to me when I enrolled on the program. Paid way more than I was quoted in the beginning. Misleading to me. I should just settle it on my own. Will not recommend it to anyone.

5 months ago

Freedom Debt Relief Logo

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Hi Tessie, we are sorry to hear that you are unhappy with your savings. We thoroughly explain fees upon enrollment and they are also explained thoroughly in your agreement. Keep in mind that our settlement fees are bigger savings than having to pay your creditors the full 100% of the debt owed + interest % + any additional fees they charge. Yes, your creditor may have presented a lower settlement amount, but that is just to pull you back in so they could hit you with having to pay the full balance. Our settlements are secure and offer you a reduction in your debt that will lead you to become financially free. If you would like to discuss your program savings, just give us a call at 800-655-6303. Our Customer Service Representatives are ready to help. Thank you for letting Freedom Debt Relief be your partner on your journey to a debt-free future.

Sep. 7th, 2022

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Adrian

If you are in debt just stop using your credit card, you don’t need to through this debt settlement stuff. Pay it off as much as you can, get another job. You’re not saving money by cutting debt when you add on their 20% fee. I regret signing up. They are not thorough in their work. It is not worth it.

2 years ago

Freedom Debt Relief Logo

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Adrian, we are so sorry to hear that you are not pleased with the services we have provided. We work hard to provide our clients with the best possible solutions to their debt, so we apologize if you feel that that was not the case. We would like a chance to review your account with you and see what we can do to further assist you. An account specialist will be in touch with you soon.

Jul. 16th, 2020

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Anonymous

Good idea but I am going to end up in more debt than I put in due to the fees. Some of the fees are more than what they saved me. My credit score also went down dramatically. Customer service is pretty good. Everyone is extremely helpful and nice. They did help me get a debt consolidation loan for my enrolled debt plus the fees they added.

2 years ago

Freedom Debt Relief Logo

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

We are so sorry to hear that you are not completely satisfied with our services. Compare our fees to the 100% of the debt amount plus any interest and additional late/penalty fees if someone can't meet the monthly required minimum payment. We offer a proven solution at an affordable monthly cost that helps our client pay down their entire debt; principal, fees, interest and all. We are glad you decided to enroll into the Consolidation Plus Loan, and we look forward to your completions. Please call Client Services at (800) 655-6303 if you are ever concerned about your account.

Mar. 18th, 2020

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Kristi Scott

Great at first then very underwhelming. They don't put their fees in the dashboard and that makes the process confusing. There's no app. Half of their customer service techs understand the process, the other half is clueless.

2 years ago

Freedom Debt Relief Logo

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Kristi, we are so sorry that you are not satisfied with the services that we have provided to you. It's very important to us for our clients to have a clear understanding of our process to resolve your debt. A member of our team will be reaching out to you shortly to discuss any and all concerns. Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief.

Mar. 19th, 2020

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Joanne

The experience has been eye opening. Debts were settled and paid. My problem is every settled debt came with a 20 to 23% fee. The fee was based on the original debt. So if you settled a debt for 50% once they added their fee, you actually paid between 80 to 85% of the debt

3 years ago

Freedom Debt Relief Logo

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Thank you for your feedback, Joanne. We appreciate your concerns regarding our settlement fees. If you would, compare our fees to the 100% of the debt amount plus any interest and additional late/penalty fees if someone can't meet the monthly required minimum payment. We offer a proven solution at an affordable monthly cost that helps our client pay down their entire debt; principal, fees, interest and all. However, we would like an opportunity to further discuss your concerns with you. A team specialist will be reaching out to you shortly. We appreciate the opportunity to service your financial needs. Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief.

Jun. 27th, 2019

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Renee Gillum

They settled the accounts fine but when the accounts are paid they do not work with t by e creditors to close the accounts properly therefore it is a negative impact on your credit report. I would have fared better filing for bankruptcy

3 years ago

Freedom Debt Relief Logo

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Thank you for your feedback, Ms. Gillum. We're very sorry to hear of your disappointments regarding the impact to your credit. Our graduates receive a graduation package that includes information regarding credit repair. However, there are some other tips and tools we would like to provide to you that may be able to assist in the matter. A team specialist will be reaching out to you shortly; using the contact information we have on file. We appreciate the opportunity to service your financial needs. Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief.

May. 29th, 2019

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Linda L. Watkins

Due to my settling one case on my own, and the other case forgiven, the one account left has caused me very much unhappiness. I do not believe a good deal with them was made for me nor approved by me. Therefore my experience will have to be less than positive.

3 years ago

Freedom Debt Relief Logo

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

We are sorry to hear you are disappointed in our negotiation efforts. Please know our negotiators have years of experience getting settlements with a large variety of creditors and know which creditors to settle with first, how much debt reduction creditors are likely to agree to, and more. Again, we apologize if you feel we did not do our absolute best to settle the enrolled balances. We have worked hard to have great relationships with hundreds of creditors, which allows us to get great settlements for our clients. We appreciate the opportunity to service your financial needs. Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief.

Apr. 3rd, 2019

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Tina Gregory

2 thumbs down credit score goes way down waiting on them and when they give you a payment for your monthly and you accept they then come back and raise your payment happens to me twice. If they need to do things like this it should be told up front.

4 years ago

Freedom Debt Relief Logo

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Thank you so much! We are thrilled to receive your 5-star review and we look forward to helping you reach your goals of financial freedom! Please reach out to our client services department at (800) 655-6303 or should you have any questions or comments regarding your account. Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief!

May. 1st, 2018

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Teresa Mccoy Woodbridge, VA

They were highly recommended by a friend of mine. I don't feel like I ever had a problem with them, I get emails with updates every once in a while. The only thing is that they promised to lower my rates but there are some credit cards that they were not able to settle for me.

4 years ago

Freedom Debt Relief Logo

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Thank you for your honest feedback. Please reach out to our client services department at (800) 655-6303 or should you have any questions or need assistance with your client dashboard. Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief!

May. 7th, 2018

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Anonymous Salt Lake City, UT

In 1 year after making all of my payments I have only had two bills paid off; Which I was told that I would be out of the 'program' in 3 years. I don't see how this is going to happen and my credit score dropped 400 points from when I joined the program. I am now going to file bankruptcy and I wish I would not have wasted my time.

4 years ago

Freedom Debt Relief Logo

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

We are sorry to hear about the concerns you are having with the program and your account. We would like to work with you to resolve these concerns. Please let us know the best time that we may have someone reach out to you. Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief!

May. 1st, 2018

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

BChu Benton, AR

Freedom Debt Relief is expensive, very slow, and refuses to work with you on settling debts in a specific order. I say expensive because the fees they charge pretty much negates the percentage of debt being settled and you end up paying just as much, if not more than the original debt. I say slow because I have been in the program for 2 years now and I’m still not halfway through. I say refuse to work with you on debt settlement order, because they literally will not settle a debt you request in a certain order. Every time I requested a particular debt be taken care of, it’s moved to the end of the list. You’re better off dealing with the debt collectors yourself and negotiating you’re own settlement. It’ll save you a lot of time and money.

10 months ago

Freedom Debt Relief Logo

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Thank you for your feedback. Settlements are dependent on accumulating sufficient funds in order to settle the debt and as long as we continue accumulating funds we should have no problems meeting your goals in realistic timeframes. When it comes to negotiation requests, we do take them into consideration but we must also consider all of the related factors for negotiations. Funds and creditor willingness play a major role in the negotiation process. Our program typically lasts 48 months, much like accumulating debt, debt settlement takes time to resolve the debts. If you would like more information about how you can accelerate your program, we urge you to contact our customer service advocates at (800) 655-6303 . Although you can handle your debt on your own, our expert negotiators know all the ins and outs because they talk to creditors and collection agencies every day. We have worked hard to have great relationships with them, which allows us to get great settlements for our clients.

Apr. 5th, 2022

star star star_border star_border star_border

Glenroy V Jones

I am still awaiting your paperwork from our conversation yesterday so I can sign, notarize and send right back to you and I have not yet received it. I'm disappointed.

3 years ago

Freedom Debt Relief Logo

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Thank you for complimenting the service that's been provided, Glenroy. It's always rewarding to hear clients share the positive experiences they've had while enrolled with us. Please continue to contact our client services team as other questions come up about your account. Keep in mind you can view your account details at anytime by logging onto your client dashboard at . Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief. Here's to your financial freedom!

Apr. 15th, 2019

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

mak grant

not enough info on debt negotiation phases as it applies to accounts.changes from strategic hold to targeted negotiations and back. doesnt make customer feel he is up to date on whats going on.

3 years ago

Freedom Debt Relief Logo

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

We appreciate your honest feedback, Mr. Grant. We are terribly sorry to hear you feel there has been a lack of communication on our end. Please know clients can chat live with an advocate when logged onto the client dashboard. We are available 7 days a week to address any questions or concerns you have about your account. In the mean time, we would like an opportunity to touch bases with you to go over the details of your account thoroughly. A team member will be reaching out to you using the contact information we have on file. We are looking forward to speaking with you soon. Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief.

Apr. 3rd, 2019

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Aleida Hern'ndez

No the best ,I put a lot money in freedom,they put freedon fees in first ,didn't negociation with the account that a had in court,and I lost money,and I paid more for bad job from freedom

4 years ago

Freedom Debt Relief Logo

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Hello Aledia, We're very sorry to hear that you are disappointed with our company. We collect a one-time settlement fee once a settlement has been negotiated and authorized by the client and we have started making payments toward the settlement. We don't take advantage of the clients we are really here to help. We will be reaching out to you in a private message to resolve the concerns you are having.

Jan. 17th, 2019

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Charmaine Kemah, TX

They don't follow through, after talking to eight people, I got someone to listen and they did follow through but it was very stressful. If I had to do it all over again I would not use them.

4 years ago

Freedom Debt Relief Logo

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

We’re so sorry to hear you have had a negative experience, Charmaine. We work constantly to improve how we communicate with our clients and have made big improvements over the past year or so. Thank you for your feedback and know that we are working on it!

Dec. 21st, 2018

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Diana Munoz

I think I have quiet a lot in the bank yet there are not any paid off for awhile, it seems to take a long time before a acct is actually paid, why so long when there is plenty of money in the account

4 years ago

Freedom Debt Relief Logo

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Thank you for your honest review, Diana. There are several different factors that go into settling an account. Funding is one of them, however, it also can come down to the willingness of the creditor to settle and also the time it takes for us to negotiate with them. We encourage you to reach out to our client services team for a thorough update of your account and they'd be happy to answer any questions or concerns, simply call (800) 655-6303 or email .

Dec. 21st, 2018

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Mark Torres

Initially good, however as it progressed the customer service was less and less helpful and caring to my situation, which makes me wonder if I should have filed for bankruptcy instead or worked out arrangement on my own.

4 years ago

Freedom Debt Relief Logo

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

We're sorry to hear this, Mr. Torres. One of our main goals is to continuously improve on the level of service we provide to our clients. It's disappointing to learn that you feel our level of service is declining. We would like an opportunity to address any questions or concerns you are having at this time. A team member will be reaching out to you shortly. We appreciate your honest feedback.

Dec. 20th, 2018

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Christopher Baliles

Not as transparent as they should be on what they charge to settle a debt. Everything that you discuss with an agent upon starting the program should be sent to the individual by mail.

4 years ago

Freedom Debt Relief Logo

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Thank you for sharing your honest feedback, Christopher. We are sorry to hear you feel we were not clear in regards to the settlement fees. A team member will be reaching out to you shortly to discuss your concern(s) further.

Oct. 4th, 2018

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

FearManyImpendingLawSuits Sparta, TN

FDR Does Not Do An Adequate Job In Preventing Creditors From Filing Lawsuits Against Their Clients, Very Scary/Frightening & Enormously Disappointing For Us, The Helpless/Financially Distressed & Distraught Clients )-:

4 years ago

Freedom Debt Relief Logo

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

We are sorry to hear about the concerns you are having with the program and your account. We would like to work with you to resolve these concerns. Please let us know the best time that we may have someone reach out to you. Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief!

May. 1st, 2018

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Disgruntled Paying Customer

They are not as clear about where your money goes as they should be. They charge high fees. No alternative companies for the service they provide. Take it their way or no help at all.

4 years ago

Freedom Debt Relief Logo

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

We are sorry to hear about the concerns you are having with the program and your account. We would like to work with you to resolve these concerns. Please let us know the best time that we may have someone reach out to you. Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief!

May. 1st, 2018

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Michael Bowen St. Petersburg, FL'

I needed to get out of debt so I went with their service. They have kept up with me through emails but I feel like I was misinformed. Their fees are ridiculously high, but I didn't have much of a choice.

5 years ago

Freedom Debt Relief Logo

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Hello Michael, Thank you for sharing your feedback. We are very glad you chose us to resolve your debt and we will continue to inform you with any new information regarding your accounts. We do our best to explain our program during the enrollment call, the Welcome Call, and your Debt Resolution Agreement. We do understand your concerns regarding our fees but compare our fees to the 100% debt + interest % + late fees + penalty fees if someone can't meet the monthly required minimum payment. We offer a proven solution at an affordable monthly cost that helps our client pay down their entire debt - principle, fees, interest and all. We want to extend an apology for any misunderstanding or confusion regarding this. Please reach out to our Client Services department at 1 (800) 655-6303 or you can log into your Client Dashboard at if you have any questions or comments regarding your account. Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief!

Nov. 20th, 2018

star star star_border star_border star_border

Jake Kibler La Plata, MD

I have not been impressed with this company. For most of my settlements, their fee was at or more than the amount they actually saved me. For one accounts they could not settle for anything other than 100% of the total and they had the audacity to tack on an almost $900 fee for settling the account!! I have spoken with a few of the creditors directly and think that in most cases you would be better off settling directly with them.

10 months ago

Freedom Debt Relief Logo

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Hello Jake, compare our fees to the 100% debt + interest % + late fees + penalty fees if someone can't meet the monthly required minimum payment. We offer a proven solution at an affordable monthly cost that helps our clients pay down their entire debt - principal, fees, interest and all. We do not collect fees for accounts that we cannot settle, an account specialist will reach out to you to further review your account and address any concerns you may have. Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief as your guide.

Mar. 29th, 2022

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

gricel valdez Yuma, AZ

The company sounded like a solution to my son's problems. He is in college and went overboard with his credit cards. Instead of Bankruptcy we looked for an alternative. They dont offer a loan but negotiate for you to lower your balances. You pay them for this service. You can do the same thing for free! Make sure you understand how a debt relief companies work.

8 months ago

Freedom Debt Relief Logo

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Grisel, we are a debt resolution program that helps clients by negotiating settlements on their behalf with their creditors and helps them settle their debt for less than they owe. Our program is designed for people struggling with debt who are either unable to continue holding things together or are about to reach that point. If you need help resolving your debt, call our Certified Debt Consultants at 800-852-1431 for a free consultation.

Jun. 8th, 2022

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Matt Clinger Nashville, TN

I am not happy as this has taken WAY longer than I was told it would, and my credit has still not gotten any better. I fact, my credit is lower now than it was before it started and by 60 points!! I am not happy as I was told this would be a 4 year process and be done mid 2021… it is showing am now not going to be don’t until 2023. So needless to say I am paying way more than I should have to, as this whole purpose was to get my $19k of credit card debt paid off in 3-4 years max, and for less than half, of what I owed… this is FALSE and I am already well over $7500 with 2 years more minimum.. this will take me above what the girl promised me when I agreed to do this program. Plus they drag it out by paying them off at $25 per month, which is how they take more of my money because the longer it takes to pay off, the more they make from my monthly payment. I am super unhappy and wish I would have just continued paying what I was paying as I would have had it all paid off by now. I would not suggest using Freedom Debt unless you are so desperate that you can go 6 years with horrible credit and pay more than they promised you would pay. I should have listened to my wife, she told me it was a scam and she looks to be right yet again.

1 year ago

Freedom Debt Relief Logo

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Hi Matt , thank you for taking the time to review your experience. We strive to provide great service and provide debt relief. We take feedback very seriously and for those reasons an account specialist will reach out to you shortly regarding your experience. Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief.

Nov. 10th, 2021

star star star_border star_border star_border

Wesley Richardson

They were good at the start but now that I am about to have everything paid off they are not so good. I have one company in negotiations , but after contacting the company it seems that they wrote off my debt in 2018. Freedom Debt Relief told me it was sent to another company. I was able to contact that company and they told me that they do not have a debt with my name or SSI. I contacted Freedom Debt Relief again with no answer all they say is that they are working on that account.. So who are you working with ??? I ask they if they were putting my money into there pockets for this account and I got no response. Still after 3 months they still have not contacted me nor paid off the accounts I ask them to pay.. they are holding over $9700 of my money and I only owe $5200.

1 year ago

Freedom Debt Relief Logo

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

We appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review, Wesley. We strive to provide great service and provide debt relief. We take feedback very seriously and for those reasons an account specialist will reachout to you shortly regarding your experience. Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief.

Nov. 5th, 2021

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Jenifer Taylor Baltimore, MD

Well my experience with Freedom Debt was okay until I received a letter from an attorney threatening legal action against me. I called FDR immediately and everyone that I spoke to acted as if they knew nothing. All I kept hearing was: send us the paperwork and we will send it to the lawyers-which was fine but no one ever got back to me. I called several times and got nothing but the run around. They even asked for my paperwork again(although I faxed it to them). I thought they would put some urgency on the matter but they didn’t. I even called my counselor and texted her, but she did not respond. I only spoke to her if by chance I caught her on the phone after making several attempts. I just felt like there wasn’t any URGENCY on their part!

1 year ago

Freedom Debt Relief Logo

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

We appreciate your feedback., We never mean to disappoint our clients. A debt management specialist will be reaching out regarding your concerns. Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief.

Oct. 28th, 2021

star star star_border star_border star_border

Jody Fortune Garner, NC

FDR is absolutely worthless when it comes to dealing with attorneys and lawsuits. They claim they will help you with their legal partner network (LPN) but that is bogus. They refused to help me or even give me access to LPN unless I could deposit hundreds of dollars into my dedicated account. I read them the section of our agreement that says I qualify for the LPN but they ultimately refused because I couldn't come up with extra funds. I have another attorney about to sue me and FDR said they can't do anything for at least six months as I need more funds in my dedicated account. I have been working with them for over a year and I'm not too happy. They have settled some debts and I have paid them thousands of dollars to do so. The services they offer can be done on your own. They only care about making money off of individuals that are stressed and in a bind financially. I would most definitely consider them predatory. I wouldn't recommend them to anyone. I am about to withdraw from the program and simply negotiate all of my debts myself. It will save me thousands of dollars in settlement fees.

1 year ago

Freedom Debt Relief Logo

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Jody, thank you for bringing this to our attention. We would like an opportunity to speak with you about the mentioned concerns. One of our experienced representatives will be reaching out.

Jul. 20th, 2021

star star star_border star_border star_border

Renae Huckabee Fort Worth, TX

The guy that signed us up for this neglected to state that their fees are gonna be, basically, what you would have ended up paying if you settled with the creditors directly. I felt somewhat mislead. They have you wait for months, up to a year, having the balances nearly double in that time due to fees, then settle it and say “hey, we settled for only 40% of the debt”. 40% of the NEW balance + their fees is like 40% of what they “saved” you, you really save nothing other than the headache of continuing to pay your debts individually. THEN they try to offer you a “loan” to pay off ALL your debts now. Then you pay them that loan plus interest. We considered it but the guy that HOUNDED us to apply never got back to me to tell me what kind of interest we would be looking at. I really do not recommend FDR. If you are having troubles paying, try to settle the debts yourself with your creditors.

1 year ago

Freedom Debt Relief Logo

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Renae, we're so sorry to hear about your experience. We would like to speak with you regarding your concerns and a member of our team will be reaching out to you shortly. Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief!

Jun. 11th, 2021

star star star_border star_border star_border

Judith Steven Fort Lauderdale, FL

I just can't understand for the life of me why would you negotiate to pay only $1 a month to a creditor. Oh yeah, I just got it....so you can collect more of your exorbitant fees. You are not 100% transparent with clients at the inception of signing up. Will a client save over the course, yes, but we could do better if y'all weren't so greedy. Due to this one principle I'd rather struggle and be honest and pay the interest I signed up for with the creditor. The next reason I would NEVER ever recommend tour service is I have ample money in my account and you refuse to make payments toward accounts that are due to make finale payments. REMEMBER WE ARE NOT WORKING DURING THIS PANDEMIC, yet we're trying to keep up with you. Have a heart.

2 years ago

Freedom Debt Relief Logo

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Judith, thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. We're so sorry to hear that you are not pleased with the results our program has provided. A member of our team will be reaching out to you shortly to discuss your concerns. Thank you for choosing Freedom Debt Relief!

Jan. 22nd, 2021

star star star_border star_border star_border

Rhonda Horvitz Monroeville, PA

The first two years of the program were okay. The last year has been less than satisfactory. Been trying to pay off my remaining debts in lump sums since January 1, 2020. FDR couldn't "find" the last remaining creditor. Finally found the creditor and even though I have sufficient $$ in my Deposit Account to pay off my two remaining debts in lump sums, I am told it will take anywhere from 30-45 days and then another 15 days after that to graduate. I'm truly frustrated, not to mention my "savings" thru this program was disappointing (Enrolled Debt: $71,035 - My payments: $67,253.04 = "savings" of $3,781.96).

2 years ago

Freedom Debt Relief Logo

Reply from Freedom Debt Relief

Rhonda, thank you for bringing this to our attention. We never want to bring our clients to a more stressful situation. We strive to bring quality care to our clients. We would like an opportunity to discuss the mentioned concerns with you. One of our experienced team members will be reaching out to you shortly. We truly appreciate your review.

Oct. 22nd, 2020