GoFundMe Logo

GoFundMe

star star star star star_half
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
star star star star star_border

Who Knows Baltimore, MD

Go Fund Me is an amazing company. When I fell on hard times, I made a GoFundMe for my family. With the help/kindness of strangers, I was able to get my family into an apartment. They really helped get me back on my feet.

1 year ago

star star star_border star_border star_border

scotty Saint Paul, MN

Started a GoFundMe for my mom she was diagnosed with Liver cancer. I'm sure I didn't use it till full potential but there were other causes not as severe as my mother's that were racking and donations when we were struggling with a few here and there. Again I might not have used the site right but promoting the GoFundMe just really tough. And I just feel a cause like that should done better.

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Jethro Bodine Toronto, ON

Donated to the Canadian Freedom rally only to have them shut it down and try to "steal" the money for charities they deemed fit. If I wanted to donate to another charity I would have done so. I don't need GFM to make that decision based on what they think is "worthy". First it was, fill out a form within a 2 week period to get my money back until they were threatened by a few state governors/AGs. Now they are just returning the money directly. This should have been their first move after disgracefully denying to give the money to whom it was donated to. Very dishonest and deceptive. They support who they want to support and if you're not aligned with them, they'll try to screw you over. Never going to donate to anyone using this platform in the future. Goodbye forever GFM. Can't say I'm going to miss you.

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Bobby The One Montreal, QC

NO matter how much you provide and how much or lil you raise the withdrawal to your account will not happen. Providing all the bills, lease, business reg, bank info and certifications yet still they want to phish people govt ID and even or those who gave them DL, passport and all still they are awaiting money over 2 yrs. AND, they expect us to provide government ID which in Canada it is illegal, it's even written on the ID and passport: NOT to be used as ID, property of Canadian government. The privacy act is clear on that, and keeping the money hostage in return for govt ID is a federal offence here,yet they still do business here and impose these rules. I have reported them to RCMP fraud dept. They know about them, not the first person to be scammed by them. They keep replying that it's their terms, who cares, if the terms are illegal doesn't make them ok! People with positive experience are 3yrs and before, looks like mostly all negative after that. Don't try to email back and forth to explain you will not win any argument even if they know you are right. AVOID AT ALL COST! It's quite disturbing using people in need urgently and scam them like this.. I read that they use the funds to invest hence why they keep you in a loop of 'security verification' all bogus claim. Be very wary if you have money in donations, best you ask to send back to people and get them to send you directly with PP or FB donations, which I knew that before!

4 years ago

star star star star star

Tyler Jenkins Jackson, MS

GoFundMe is literally the reason I got to travel with my all-state band. It made it easy for my friends and family to help me reach my goal and travel to Japan.

4 years ago

star star star star star_border

Sage Loveland Los Angeles, CA

I have donated to several causes through GoFundMe. I love how easy it is to use. It makes it so effortless to give and I totally trust that the money goes where it is supposed to.

4 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Laura Medford, OR

-1 Star: Platform Automatically added a tip, stated it would be refunded within 3-7 days. Never received and then took the refund out of the funds donated....horrid when family going through tragedy has to see a deduction in their campaign. Still no credit to my credit card over two months later.. They have 120 days to return the money and will take the entire period while I have to sit tight and wait for my $500. HUGR JOKE IN CUSTOMER SVC. Essentially none. Probably admins are sitting on a beach on their laptops responding “when they can/feel like it”. What a joke for a “goodwill” crowd sharing platform. Will never use again with all of the games they play to try and dissuade someone from disputing....you’ve met the wrong person when it comes to giving up. Not a chance. Complete FRAUD.

4 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Anna

My sister`s nice set up a funeral fundraiser called "Arek`s Wish` to help her manage the costs of her husband`s funeral. She raised over 17 000 Canadian dollars. It happened at the beginning of July. Until today my sister has not received any money despite multiple attempts of money withdrawal. The family is devastated because they really need this support during the hardest of times and it affects their life in a very dramatic way. It seems like the raised money have been purposely held back and every day they are losing hope for a positive ending. All the donors that generously donated have been deceived as well. Cannot get over this company`s cruelty and ruthlessness. Hopefully the court will get them the money back if it comes to that. Do not use GoFundMe!

4 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Javier Brooklyn, NY

I open a GoFundMe page to help my dad get a surgery he badly need. I notice the withdrawal failed. So I’m being trying to get an answer of why this happen. The website explain that might be cause my SSN or my Bank account number is not accurate wish is not the case. So I’m just trying to get a simple answer to see how can we fix this issue. I’m still waiting for a response from them. They say that will replay you in 24 hours. I’m being waiting days now and no one to speak with. And the worse part it’s that they don’t even have a phone number to speak with someone. The customer service is terrible. And who knows if my dad will get the help he needs and my friends help me to fund the money.

5 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

G Blythewood, SC

I set up a fund for a high school classsmate's family to help with hospital and funeral bills. We have gotten about $2k in donations but the family is having issues connecting and withdrawing funds. I submitted a help request and got an e-mail back. The GFM person asked if we could loop in the recipient. Of course, I agreed and we waited and waited and waited and she never got back to us. There is no phone support. This has been a disappointing, frustrating and time-wasting experience. Not sure how GFM has gotten this far and become a top-ranked fundraiser. Consider some other way if you're planning this.

5 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Andrew

So a friend of mine who has fallen on hard times had his Playstation break on him and his kids. A bunch of his friends and I told him to start a go fund me and we would all chip in to help him out. So his wife started one of these go fund me accounts. Within an hour or 2 he had enough to replace his broken playstation so his children and himself could enjoy so form of entertainment. The next day I get a refund notice because my friend "violated" the terms of service for this pathetic company. We all inquired as to what the issue was when he was told that his wife needs to prove her identity. They did as instructed just to be told that it wasn't good enough and refunded everyone's money. They would not tell him or any of us why it was violated. They just used their standard refer to terms of service. Which we all looked through but could not find 1 term that was violated. To add to this absolute B.S, thanks to these scammers that is go fund me, they waited to refund me when the exchange rate was less so that I don't even get my full refund back. Their scamming ways still cost me $4. Which in all honesty is nothing for me but its the principle of them screwing all parties involved and then trying to show how wonderful they are. I truly believe that the REAL reason they canceled his go fund me was because no one donated part of their donation to their website and the choose to screw him over. NEVER would i use this scam of a website again.

5 years ago

GoFundMe Logo

Reply from GoFundMe

Hi Andrew, thanks for sharing your feedback with us. We can see our team has reached out to you regarding these issues, and we would like to confirm that we would never close a campaign or account if donors choose not to tip GoFundMe. If a campaign does not comply with our Terms & Conditions, we will remove it, but we are happy to answer any questions your friend may have.

Feb. 27th, 2019

star star star star star

Cindy Spring Hill, FL

I wanted $100 to go to the family but somehow it got donated to GFM. Customer service promptly refunded my $100. I had no problem with the donation itself.

5 years ago

GoFundMe Logo

Reply from GoFundMe

Thanks for sharing your kind feedback, Cindy! We never want to keep a tip you didn't mean to give to GoFundMe, and if we can help with anything else at all, our Customer Happiness Team is always here to help.

Oct. 18th, 2018

star star star star star_border

Lumary East Hartford, CT

Great experience , The customer service response team should improve theur time responding or add to Option for customer service over the phone. But overall it was a great experience and big help

5 years ago

GoFundMe Logo

Reply from GoFundMe

We're so glad to hear you've had a positive experience on GoFundMe, Lumary! Our Customer Happiness Team helps thousands of people each day, and keeping all communication via email makes sure that you're never on hold over the phone. We're always looking to improve our support speed, and we'll absolutely look at a faster way of providing help! If you have any other questions or concerns while on GoFundMe, please do let our team know.

Oct. 10th, 2018

star star star star star

Dennis Fermin Saint Augustine, FL

Great customer service. I made an donation amount error. Super quick response and issue was taken care of propmtly. I wish all companies were like this.

5 years ago

GoFundMe Logo

Reply from GoFundMe

We're honored to receive such kind feedback, Dennis! Thank you for your kindness, and should you need any other assistance while on GoFundMe, our Customer Happiness Team is here for you.

Oct. 5th, 2018

star star star star star

Furtuna Hailemariam Saint Charles, MO

I love this app. I like the fact that it can help so many people in the world... just by having this cool awesome app!!!!! It’s very thoughtful and thank you!!!

5 years ago

GoFundMe Logo

Reply from GoFundMe

We're so glad you like our app, Furtuna! We're happy to help connect people together through our platform, and if we can help with anything else during your time on GoFundMe, please do let our team know.

Sep. 1st, 2018

star star star_border star_border star_border

chris kinnell

they pick and choose who to support ,ive begged for help as i said to who i mailed i have no friends etc on facebook and twitter is disapointing as nobody supports guys like me ,however although they choose who to support it should be reverse ,new people get support it will help new cummers to come back if you go on and dont help you leave ,but if you dont get support you still have to pay if you did get donations it would make more sense to help those with no funds thanks anyway chris #poor get poorer,rich get richer

5 years ago

GoFundMe Logo

Reply from GoFundMe

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, Chris. GoFundMe is a do-it-yourself platform, and we aren't able to find donors for you or donate to your campaign. However, we're committed to offering the best possible tools for you to gain support on your campaign, and our Customer Happiness Team is always here to help, 24/7.

Sep. 1st, 2018

star star star star star

Mike Bridge

The platform makes it so easy to use and to both update and thank people that donate. The charges for processing transactions is a fair one unlike other similar platforms.

5 years ago

GoFundMe Logo

Reply from GoFundMe

Thanks for your kind words, Mike! We're glad to hear our platform is easy for you to use to contact your donors and send your thanks!

Our payment processing fees help ensure the safe transfer of funds, and we're always committed to the lowest possible fees, along with our 0% platform fee. If you ever have any questions while using GoFundMe, just let our team know!

Sep. 1st, 2018

star star star star star

Regina Cates Beverly Hills, CA

This is my first campaign and I am still learning. The staff is very helpful with answering questions. So far this is a positive experience of helping my friend.

5 years ago

GoFundMe Logo

Reply from GoFundMe

Welcome to GoFundMe, Regina! We're glad you're able to use our platform to help your friend, and our Customer Happiness Team is always available to give the best tips for a successful campaign. If any questions come up while on GoFundMe, just let our team know, and we'll be here for you 24/7.

Aug. 31st, 2018

star star star star star

Pam Szczesny Leverett, MA

Very easy platform to present your story. Support staff responds quickly and thoroughly. I’ve never created a Go Fund Me Campaign before and found it easy to figure out.

5 years ago

GoFundMe Logo

Reply from GoFundMe

We're so glad GoFundMe was easy for you to use, Pam! Thanks so much for your kind words about our Customer Happiness Team, they'll be here for you 24/7!

Aug. 23rd, 2018

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Jasmyne Walker

*UPDATE* Since writing this review my issue with GFM has been resolved, but I'm going to leave this review here as it may help someone in the future. Go Fund Me had replied to my requests, but had used a different email address so the answer was in my spam folder. I never use my laptop for emails, and as spam folders are not supported on tablet, I had no idea. I had received confirmation from GFM that they had received my request email, but then nothing...so I made the assumption they were not attempting to reply to me and didnt even consider they would use a different email to make contact. I have suggested they add to their support information that they reply from a different email, and to check spam email. What a rort. There is $10k in a Stripe acc that can't be accessed (I cannot figure out why as one intial payment of $5k was paid to the beneficiary without issue) and GFM will NOT reply to my REPEATED requests over the past 3 weeks to help me pay this money to the 23yo stroke victim that our rural, small community has managed to raise the funds for. For the record Stripe have tried to help but I've been advised that ultimately GFM have precedent over the funds. THERE IS NO WAY TO CONTACT GFM.

5 years ago

GoFundMe Logo

Reply from GoFundMe

Thanks so much for sharing your feedback with us, Jasmyne. We're glad we could help get this resolved for you, and we always recommend creating a GoFundMe account with an easily accessible email. If we can help with anything else at all, please do let us know.

Jul. 31st, 2018

star star star star star

Kelly

I reached out to the customer service team to make some corrections on an account. The staff were amazing and helped to resolve my issue quickly. Excellent service.

6 years ago

GoFundMe Logo

Reply from GoFundMe

We're so glad to hear our Customer Happiness Team was able to help, Kelly! If you ever have any other questions or concerns while using GoFundMe, they'll be here to help, 24/7.

Jun. 14th, 2018

star star star star star

Rita Chicago, IL

Very helpful customer service. Site is easy to navigate. Having some trouble with the app in that it keeps logging me out but otherwise overall positive experience.

6 years ago

GoFundMe Logo

Reply from GoFundMe

We're glad to hear our Customer Happiness Team was able to help, Rita. We've made a few updates to our app and it looks beautiful and works great! If you're continuing to have that issue, please do let our team know, we're here for you 24/7.

Jun. 14th, 2018

star star star star star

Sonia Orlando, FL

I had an issue with the withdrawal process and the person on the other end with customer service was efficient, fast, kind and professional. I was very pleased.

6 years ago

GoFundMe Logo

Reply from GoFundMe

We're glad our Customer Happiness Team could help during your time of need, Sonia! The team will be happy to help with any other withdrawal issues or any questions during your time on GoFundMe.

Jun. 13th, 2018

star star star star star

Matthew Eastridge Waco, TX

The customer service reps were extremely helpful, knowing how to fix the problem I had almost immediately. Getting everything set up was also easy to do.

6 years ago

GoFundMe Logo

Reply from GoFundMe

We're so glad to hear you had a great support experience, Matthew! Our Customer Happiness Team will be here to help if any issue comes up during your GoFundMe experience.

Jun. 13th, 2018

star star star star star

Stanley Glenn Lewis Studio City, CA

Because I'm currently out of the country, I was having a problem making a withdrawal. The quick, courteous and friendly email exchange helped me solve the problem?

6 years ago

GoFundMe Logo

Reply from GoFundMe

We're glad our Customer Happiness Team could help with that, Stanley! We're committed to getting your funds to you since we know they're so valuable. If we can help with anything else at all, our Happiness team is here for you, 24/7.

Jun. 13th, 2018

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Linda Shawnee, KS

I really wish I'd given them a fake e-mail address. I got signed up for their e-mail list after donating to one campaign, despite never checking a box or otherwise asking to be added. I hit the unsubscribe button on multiple e-mails before finally contacting customer service, since the unsubscribe button wasn't unsubscribing me. Customer service responded quickly and got me unsubscribed, but then I got not one, not two, but THREE follow-up e-mails asking if I was happy. No guys, sorry, I'm not happy. I really didn't want any more e-mails at all. I'm sure some people would be grateful that you care this much about customer service, but I feel more like my privacy has been violated (especially since I originally asked to have my info expunged from the database, not just to be unsubscribed.)

6 years ago

GoFundMe Logo

Reply from GoFundMe

Thank you for the valuable feedback, Linda! We're always looking to improve our satisfaction survey, and with your help, we can make sure the messaging we give is as minimal as possible. We've ensured that your information has been removed and our Customer Happiness Team will always be here to help, 24/7.

Jun. 13th, 2018

star star star star star

marcia l o'neal Knoxville, TN

I am getting help from GO FUND ME that would not happen any where else. I am so grateful to all my friends and family for their giving on our behalf.

6 years ago

GoFundMe Logo

Reply from GoFundMe

We're so glad to be the trusted platform for you, Marcia. We hope your friends and family are able to help you reach your goal and we'll be happy to answer any questions or concerns you may have.

Jun. 12th, 2018

star star star star star

Steve Brotzman

There was a problem with the location of the recipient of my campaign. Customer service was back with me quickly & was eager work out the problem as fast as possible.

6 years ago

GoFundMe Logo

Reply from GoFundMe

We're glad our Customer Happiness Team could fix that up for you, Steve! If we can help with anything else during your GoFundMe experience, please write back in!

Jun. 12th, 2018

star star star star star

Anabela Godoy Miami, FL

I got help right away to solve all the difficulties I had. I had everything resolved in a day and you guys were so kind and helpful. Thank you so much

6 years ago

GoFundMe Logo

Reply from GoFundMe

You're so welcome, Anabela. Please let our Customer Happiness Team know if there are any other issues with your account. We'll be happy to help, 24/7!

Jun. 12th, 2018

star star star star star

Amanda U. Ajuluchuku Beverly Hills, CA

Excellent service. Due to lack of funds, my telephone was disconnected. Gofundme referred me to TextNow. I now have number and a phone. I would to thank you, Gofundme.

6 years ago

GoFundMe Logo

Reply from GoFundMe

We're happy that you were able to get a phone number another way, Amanda! If you ever have any other questions during your GoFundMe experience, our Customer Happiness Team will be ready to assist.

May. 25th, 2018

star star star star star

Sherry Rochdale, MA

Excellent customer service. Rosa was able to answer every question I had and was able to help me make a refund and close the campaign successfully and easily.

6 years ago

GoFundMe Logo

Reply from GoFundMe

We're so glad to hear Rosa was able to help with your refund and campaign, Sherry! She's a wonderful member of our Customer Happiness Team and the whole team will be here for you, 24/7.

May. 11th, 2018

star star star star star

Robinson Guzman Rochester, NY

The team at customer service help me with my concerns and questions and even gave some suggestions on how to get the most out of my campaign. Thank you

6 years ago

GoFundMe Logo

Reply from GoFundMe

We're glad to hear our Customer Happiness Team was able to help with your campaign, Robinson. Our team will always be available for any questions about your campaign or coaching tips, 24/7.

May. 11th, 2018

star star star star star

Gene Diamond Ocala, FL

I appreciate the service that you provide many people in need of financial aid. It affords the public the opportunity to share in random acts of kindness.

6 years ago

star star star star star

J M Paige, TX

Excellent Customer Service. Everyone was super helpful and answered right away. They must treat their employees well because they are all doing their job!:)

6 years ago

star star star star star

Louise Brooklyn, NY

The costumer service on line dept at Go fundme responded quickly to my question and gave me a comprehensive answer to my question within moments! I was impressed-

6 years ago

star star star star star

Mary Setrakian New York, NY

When I had a financial question they responded immediately, understood the problem, fixed it in the moment and handled the matter with care and compassion.

6 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Martha John-Rose

I used GoFundMe collect donations for the Dominica hurricane. In response to the scenes of devastation and knowing my relatives were enduring this, I looked for a funding site to start collecting donations straight away. GoFundMe was one of the first sites to pop up from my internet search. I hadn't used a funding site before but should have taken the time to read the small print, (my fault) as it was a surprise to see the size of the cut the company took from the donation. I felt bad about this, as that money could have made a difference to some very desperate people and I realised there were other organisations who wouldn't have charged so much, and also, individuals who I could have made arrangements with. For me, the site has some positives, but I wouldn't use it again or recommend it, as there seems a bit too much focus on the money making side of things (e.g. a bit overly enthusiastic in promoting ideas for generating more funds, which course result in an even bigger percentage raised for the site). I don't have an issue with companies needing to make a living, but the way this company (and others like it) goes about it doesn't resonate with me.

6 years ago

GoFundMe Logo

Reply from GoFundMe

Thank you for this honest feedback, Martha! It's never our intention to hide fees from our users. They're displayed here before you set up a campaign:

That being said, in response to the feedback we've received from users like you, we've recently decided to waive our 5% fee in the UK (as well as a few other countries): - Please note a standard payment processing fee still applies.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your thoughts with us.

Feb. 26th, 2018

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Cathy Salamon - Mauser Cares NJ

Customer service is reprehensible. We collected over $130,000 to help our employees in Houston - many of whom have lost EVERYTHING. Yet it has been impossible to withdraw the funds. We are a global company. Our CFO has on numerous occasions entered the information they requested. They email us asking for additional information and say they will remove the hold after receiving the information. We provide the additional the information. Then we receive another email from another representative with the exact same message asking for the same additional information, etc. etc. etc. WTF??? We have been trying to withdraw funds for the last 2 weeks. So while our employees are living in shelters in Houston, the GoFundMe clerks are sitting anonymously behind their computers in their air-conditioned cubicles or homes or on the beach or WHEREVER...doing nothing for anyone. I believe this company has lost sight of their original goal to help not just themselves, but others as well. They do not provide a phone number with good reason - because they would be inundated with angry phone calls.

6 years ago

GoFundMe Logo

Reply from GoFundMe

Hi Cathy,

Thank you for this honest feedback. After reviewing your message history with us, it looks like your campaign was caught up in security and verification measures of our payment processor. These measure are in place to ensure donations are sent safely and securely to the correct people or organization. That being said, I see that the resolution of this situation took longer than it should have during an urgent times. It looks like our team made a call to your organization and we were able to reach a solution that worked for both us to make up for the time that was lost.

Feb. 27th, 2018

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Karen Dudas Brentwood, TN

Klunky user experience, must use exact case for email address (its 2017?), closed our campaign and requested money 6 days ago and still have not received. We had a team within our organization raise money for others on our team impacted by Hurricane Harvey. We setup the campaign to appear as if it were from the team and not one individual person. Go Fund Me has all of my personal contact info, bank account info, SSN, and heck I even think they have my kids SSNs yet they refuse to send a payment because I will not post "I, , am deducting these funds" publically on the campaign site. We intentionally created this site as a group so it would show our unity as a team. If I post "I , am withdrawing these funds" everyone on my team will receive an email showing that. How embarrassing! Customer Support - just pick up the phone and call me back instead of trying to find ways to continue to earn interest on our money!

6 years ago

GoFundMe Logo

Reply from GoFundMe

Thank you for this feedback, Karen. I have reviewed your interaction with us and while it is common for us to require verification messages to be posted on campaigns that have the name of the campaign organizer hidden, it does appear like it took our team a bit too long to respond at some points during your interaction with us, so I apologize for that delay.

That being said, I can confirm that we do not require anyone's social security number except for the person withdrawing the funds. I can also confirm that we do not earn interest on holding funds. Our sole reason for holding funds is to verify they are being sent to the proper beneficiaries, and the verification message we required you post is part of that process.

I speak for the entire team when I say we're hopeful that the funds raised were able to help the families who were impacted by Hurricane Harvey.

Sincerely,

Rudolph
Customer Happiness Lead

Mar. 2nd, 2018

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Misty Brooks

My son Michael "Mike" Busbee passed away July 23, 2017. Insurance would not cover his death, because it was a suicide. Michael suffered from depression. Christopher "Topher" Nichols started a GoFund Me campaign to help with funeral arrangements. The campaign raised $8550.00. The campaign stated that all funds were to go directly to Michael's mom, however, Topher decided to keep the funds, and they were transferred directly into his personal account. My son's ashes remain in the cardboard box that was given to me from the funeral home. I made a claim to GoFundMe, returned all proof of identity for Michael's Mother, along with all other documents they requested. Go FundMe is dragging it out with no remedy for the situation. Their customer service sucks, with no contact to an actual person. Their Guarantee. Is a line of bs that they do not stand behind. I am a grieving mother that should not be having to deal with all this, I have lost my only child, and shpuld not be fighting this fight.

6 years ago

GoFundMe Logo

Reply from GoFundMe

Hi Misty,

Thank you for providing this honest feedback. I've reviewed your interactions with our Trust & Safety department and I can confirm that you your claim was covered under our GoFundMe Guarantee. It seems like this was a very complex situation, and I'm very sorry to see you had to go through that during your time of a grief.

Myself and the rest of the GoFundMe Team hope that the coverage of the GoFundMe Guarantee offered some relief during this difficult time.

Sincerely,

Rudolph
Customer Happiness Lead

Mar. 2nd, 2018

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Francesca R Nastasi Fair Lawn, NJ

Dear Gofundme, this is a very shocked user. My husband and I thought to use the site to help paying our beloved cat's expensive bill. I didn't think your rate to help us out were so outrageous. We remained appalled about your policy. Nothing is for free that's a given unless you agree on a fair trade. I would have appreciate a fair flat fee of for instance $25 or even $30 for you and whatever we make it was going towards the veterinarian's bill. Perhaps you should embrace the same plan as more fair companies like Airb&B or other ones. When people use your site is to get an extra help. Also, you didn't even circulate the page around. We had to take care of letting people know about the site. So the $67 you made through us are based of doing nothing. Congratulations you are definitely e legal unfair site! I We reached only $770 of this money gofundme kept about $67. I should be ashemed on a human and value creation society level. Some of our family and friends decided to donate separately. I am glad this happened. I am officially protesting against this abuse of power. You are taking advantage of people feelings and emotions. I read online some of the reviews and if I were you I would start expanding life through the process of introspection. Whatever we think say or do will have an equal effect. When we don't create value a lesson is about to occur. We only lost $67 you lost compassion, kindness, empathy and so forth. Meditate on that and work hard on how you behave in the future. I will send my daimoku for you to open the eyes and realize we are ONE and if dont' take responsibility on helping one another we totally miss the concept on being a human. Thank you for listening Francesca Romana Nastasi

7 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Jean E. Rightmire Williamstown, NY

Gofundme along with Wepay has ripped us off of $1,000, and that's not counting all the time I have had to spend trying to get the to understand their mistakes. They made them from the very beginning and their employees can't seem to comprehend simple things. I should be dedicating this time to the care of my husband who's in stage 3 of 4 of heart failure. Nope these yahoos can't tie their shoes. This originated from them illegally charging my friend's credit card twice. They cannot even admit their mistake, and they can't even understand their mistake, despite the fact it has been pointed out to them, practically with charts and such. They do not respond in a timely manner and there is no phone number to call and actually speak with a person. They are hiding behind a scam "security" screen about having a phone number!! I am filing formal complaints with the CA and NY attorney generals office and many more. I am taking to social media to call them out and warm others. I will be contacting people who have gofund me pages up b/c they are ripping people off at their greatest time of need.

7 years ago

GoFundMe Logo

Reply from GoFundMe

Hi Jean,

We've reviewed your account, and it looks like a bug caused some trouble here with charging a donor twice. To make up for that mistake, we waived our fees and covered the second charge while also refunding your donor. While this bug was a unique situation for your campaign, that's no excuse for the stress caused to you during an already stressful time in your life.

We wish you and yours the best.

Mar. 29th, 2018

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Oh man

I made a go fund me thinking I might be able to get some help buying a new computer. As an artist they can be pretty expensive. And even harder when you have a bad anxiety disorder and can't work. Magically I woke up to see someone gave me $3000 with the message to make it count. I was so happy and tried to withdraw the money. I got an email saying I wasn't clear about who I was (not possible, I used my Facebook, real name and stuff) I was too vague on what I'd spend the money on (a new computer, duh) and how I was related to the person the funds were being raised for. (Me) so I messaged them back saying it was all true and sitting on the edge of my seat. I get another message then next day asking how I was related to the Donor? I'm not, they were someone I didn't know. They could have been a fan of my work or just someone who felt really generous. So far no email back and my funds are on hold. I really got my hopes up here. This is Turing into a really terrible expirience.

8 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Cori Marie Scott

I will NEVER campaign through GoFundMe because they work alongside WePay, a joke of a company. They are the absolute worst. They take money straight out of your account for chargebacks (when the donations are supposed to be NON-REFUNDABLE, but don't let them fool you, they aren't), unauthorized! They refuse to return it to you, or be understanding in any way. They'll send you an email telling you that they had already done so, not even giving you a chance to contest or ask why. $45.46 stolen by WePay from my personal bank account, and I'll never see it again. I guess I do have one thing to thank WePay for... Thank you for showing me that I should have never done business with you or ever again, and now I can warn others against doing the same. I have nothing good to say about this company. Unfair and money-hungry... The absolute worst experience. The much worse part? GoFundMe would not help me in any way. My first, and certainly last experience, with GoFundMe or moronic WePay. It's a shame that GoFundMe works with them.

8 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

KRISTINA Q CA

Gofundme is a scam!!! They make it super easy to sign up and donate but then to withdraw the money is a nightmare. They ask all kinds of repetitive questions regarding the fund. I knew the campaign organizer for a funeral fund and they would ask her such questions as: what is the money being used for? Can you verify the expenses of the funeral? Can you verify that you are you? My poor sister in law couldn't even grieve her own mother because she had to deal with gofundme on top of planning a funeral she didn't have money for. Their customer service department is non existent. You can only contact by email and they respond with automated BS messages. You reply to that and then they don't reply. Eventually the cycle starts over because you have to reach out again. Gofundme.. Nah GOFRAUDME!!!!!!!

8 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Lyjan Graham

I don't like gofundme.com. I was campaigning for funds for less fortunate children in the Philippines that would run all year round, unfortunately I had no enough donation for my $2000 target (only $50.00 was donated), so gofundme.com removed the donation url for that reason. I checked my account why, and their reason is because the donation did not reach $500.00, Because of this, I was not able to make anymore donation from where I embedded the donation code in my own website for a few more people to donate. The link was removed without prior notice, living me expecting it was working alright until I noticed the link did not exist anymore. I still have to try more crowdfunding sites that has no such policy and be more helpful to anybody seeking help.

8 years ago

star star star_border star_border star_border

Kathie Bowman Lakeside, CA

I tried to contact gofundme.com, but could not get past the robot prove you are human by checking the box because it kept spinning around and around for over five minutes. Heard they do not like to answer questions. I donated $50 to a Fund and was charged $7.50, or 15% extra to process it. That really angered me. How much did the Fund have to pay to receive the donation, and how do I even know they received it or the fund received it? I really disliked having to give my credit card information and won't do it again. If I can't donate directly or by Paypal, I will not use my credit card info with the CCV. GoFundMe feels like a scam operation, excessively profitable for them

5 years ago

star star star star star_border

Amber C Frey San Diego, CA

I've donated to a handful of GoFundMe campaigns. It's a good service but you really do need to be weary of who you donate your money to. There's a lot of people that use it fraudulently just to get money from people. But the honest ones are worth donating to most of the time.

5 years ago

GoFundMe Logo

Reply from GoFundMe

We truly appreciate your feedback, Amber! Our team is consistently looking for ways to keep our platform safe, and if you have any concerns about the legitimacy of a campaign, please select the "Report this Campaign" button at the bottom of any campaign.

Jan. 17th, 2019

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Leslie West Jordan, UT

We used GoFundMe for a fundraiser for funeral expenses after my brother passed away. It was easy to use and recognizable to others who wanted to donate. I would definitely recommend!

5 years ago Edited September 14, 2021

GoFundMe Logo

Reply from GoFundMe

We're sorry to hear of the circumstances that brought you to GoFundMe, Leslie, but we're glad to be the platform to help you raise funds for these expenses. Our team is sending support to you and your whole family during this extremely difficult time, and we'll always be here to help if you have any other questions or concerns while using GoFundMe.

Oct. 18th, 2018

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Joy Henry Pleasant Grove, UT

I think this is a great service to help people out but I don't like how much they take of what is earned. I know they need something but this is to help people in great need and it seems too much to me. I like seeing it help people as they try to get back on their feet after tragic events.

5 years ago

GoFundMe Logo

Reply from GoFundMe

Thank you for sharing your honest feedback with us, Joy! Our 0% platform fee helps give more per each donation to the campaign organizer and beneficiary, and our payment processing fees go to our payment processors to ensure safe donation and withdrawal transactions. We're now powered by tips from our donors, and we're always looking to improve our platform for those in need. If our team can help answer any other questions or if we can help during your time on GoFundMe, just let us know!

Oct. 10th, 2018