Wells Solar Logo

Wells Solar

star star star_border star_border star_border

6.4

Overall Score

error This company may not service all states.
See states serviced
LAST UPDATED: November 6th, 2023

Founded in 2014, Wells Solar has quickly made a name for itself in the Texas solar market. Wells Solar is an active member of the Texas Solar Energy Society, employs NABCEP-certified electricians, and is one of five certified installers of the Tesla Powerwall backup battery system in their state.

And with more than 4,000 solar installation projects representing 9,500 kilowatts of clean energy under its belt, the solar company earned a coveted spot on Solar Power World Magazine’s “Solar Contractors” list in 2019 and 2020. The company also ranked in Inc. 500 list #207 in 2018 and ranks #1,542 on the 2020 Inc. 5000 list.

Top Ranked Companies

thumb_up

The Good

  • Quality Equipment, Competitive Warranties
  • Multiple Solar Financing Options
  • Awards and Certifications

Quality Equipment, Competitive Warranties

Wells Solar showcases its high-quality solar panel installation projects on its website, and unlike many of its competitors, is upfront about the specific equipment it builds into each solar project. While the company primarily uses solar modules from Hanwha Q-Cell, it has also been known to use solar panels from Mission, Jinko Solar, and Panasonic. All four solar panel brands rank highly for energy efficiency, durability, and financially-stable backing.

As for inverter options, Wells Solar uses primarily SolarEdge, a leading solar inverter manufacturer that boasts one of the highest efficiency ratings on the market. Not only are homeowners receiving high efficiency panels with their solar PV system, but through the company's micro and string inverter devices, most of that energy (around 98 percent) will successfully be translated into usable renewable electricity for the home. Additionally, you can monitor and optimize your system from your phone using the mySolarEdge app.

These brands represent some of the best in the industry, and their high-efficiency products will ultimately help homeowners save on their electric bill.

In addition to its high-quality equipment, Wells attaches a 25-year warranty to each solar energy system it installs — including parts, labor, and any other system component. This means in the event of an installation error or faulty equipment, Wells Solar will service or replace the defective part free of charge during the first 25 years of system operation.

Multiple Solar Financing Options

Wells Solar offers three main financing options to Texas residents looking to invest in solar power:

  • Cash purchase — Wells Solar accepts all major credit cards as well as cash to fund a residential solar system. Through outright purchase, customers can start saving on their monthly utility bill from day one. They will also have access to the crucial federal tax credit, which will save the homeowner a significant percentage of the total retail cost of the system.
  • Solar loan financing — For customers who don't have the tens of thousands of dollars required to finance a system upfront, Wells Solar offers an additional financing option that allows them to pay off the system over time. Payment terms range from six months to 12 years, and customers will still enjoy all the benefits of ownership, including low monthly payments.
  • Solar PPA — Through the company's Power Purchase Agreement (PPA) option, customers don't pay for the system at all; rather they only pay for the energy that system produces each month, often at a lower rate than their current energy bill. The solar lease option is not available.

Wells Solar also arms customers with ample information on Texas' solar policies and incentives that will help them save even more on their solar panel systems:

  • Utility rebates — Austin Energy, CPS Energy, and Oncor, some of the leading utility providers in Texas, all provide some form of solar rebate to system owners, ranging from $2,500 to $8,500.
  • Solar buybacks (net metering) — Utility providers Green Mountain Energy, Austin Energy, and Reliant all offer some kind of net metering policy to customers, meaning they will credit solar users up to 100 percent for the excess energy their solar PV system pumps into the utility grid.

Awards and Certifications

In addition to its "Top Solar Contractor" status by Solar Power World Magazine in 2019 and 2020, as well as a nod from Inc. Magazine as one of the fastest-growing companies in the nation, Wells Solar also employs electricians who have been certified by the North American Board of Certified Energy Practitioners (NABCEP), meaning the company's technicians have passed exams recognized by the solar industry at large as representing the best practices and highest standards in solar installation.

Additionally, the company is a Tesla Powerwall Certified installer and offers bundle options for customers looking to invest in solar while also retaining a battery backup strategy in the event of a power outage. The company holds active status as a member of the Texas Solar Energy Society, a nonprofit whose mission is solar advocacy within the Lone Star State. Wells Solar was also voted #1 turnkey residential solar installer for the state of Texas.

thumb_down

The Bad

  • Limited Service Area

Limited Service Area

Wells Solar’s service areas is limited to select cities across Texas, including the following:

  • Austin
  • Bastrop
  • Belton
  • DFW
  • Harker Heights
  • Killeen
  • San Antonio
  • Temple
  • Waco

Although this service area represents a fairly numerous customer base, the company is still at somewhat of a disadvantage when compared with solar providers with a more established national presence. Leveraging verified Wells Solar reviews from actual customers can sometimes help locally focused companies distinguish themselves from the rest of the crowd.

gavel

The Bottom Line

Overall, Wells Solar is a reputable company that has the evidence to back up its claims of high-quality solar cells and service. Despite a limited service area, the company has provided solar to thousands of Texas residents, and has both an impressive portfolio as well as financing options that are worth investigating.

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Star Rating

info

2.2

star star star_border star_border star_border

73 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

59%

4 grade

15%

3 grade

3%

2 grade

3%

1 grade

21%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star_half star_border

Quality

star star star star star_border

Service

star star star star star_border

Trustworthiness

star star star star star_border
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Robin Roberts Boerne, TX

Customer Review Video

1 year ago

Wells Solar Logo

Reply from Wells Solar

Robin, thank you for such a delightful review. Makes me very happy to read that our team delivered results to you. It is very encouraging as they work very hard to deliver these results consistently. From all of us here at Wells, thank you.

Aug. 8th, 2022

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Josh H. Austin, TX

I love the attention to detail, I love the service, and I love how smooth the whole process was for solar! If a 10 was to be given I would give them a 10! By far the best solar in Texas. I would recommend to anyone who wants the job done right the first time.

2 years ago

Wells Solar Logo

Reply from Wells Solar

Thank you so much for your feedback, Josh. We really appreciate your review and your trust! We offer $1,000 for your referrals if you do want to recommend a family, friend, or neighbor. Visit our referral page on the site for more details!

Feb. 16th, 2022

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Barbara Johnston Lott, TX

Service was prompt. They kept in touch with me so I was aware of any problems that should arise. And have stayed in touch even after install was finished. Very good people to work with.

1 year ago

Wells Solar Logo

Reply from Wells Solar

Thank you for your kind words, Barbara. We'd feel as though we have very good people to work with as well. We'll be monitoring your system for years to come!

Aug. 8th, 2022

star star star star star

Long Tall Texan Irving, TX

I have not started the installation process as of yet. However, Michael R, the sales rep that came to my home, is an exemplary representative for his company. If Wells Solar is as professional and upstanding as he is, I am confident in the outcome of my project. I tend to overanalyze everything and he took my many questions in stride as he went through his very persuasive presentation. He was very personable and made me feel like I was talking to a friend. I signed the contract rather than shopping around because someone else might beat the price but they will be hard pressed to match the service.

3 years ago

Wells Solar Logo

Reply from Wells Solar

Thank you so much for your detailed review. Michael is one of the star players on the team. We will deliver on Michael's pitch and guarantee a beautiful and functional system that will save you money over the course of its lifetime. Additionally, we'd like to agree with you, our competitors will be hard pressed to match our #1 voted turnkey service.

Nov. 30th, 2020

star star star star star

Gage Loots Leander, TX

I did a lot of research before selecting Wells Solar, obtaining proposals from six established solar installation companies. Wells offered the best value to me in the mix of price, quality, service/warranty, local presence and experience. In Wells, I found a good, quality product at a reasonable price, from an established, local company. One of the deciding factors with Wells was their sales approach. No games. No talking negatively about their competition. My sales representative, Erik B, was knowledgeable and straight-forward throughout the process; something that I really appreciated. The planning and installation process went great. Wells handled everything from HOA to PEC to the City. I would absolutely recommend Wells Solar.

3 years ago

Wells Solar Logo

Reply from Wells Solar

Gage, we're so happy to hear from you. Even happier to hear that you are thrilled with the entire process and Erik. When you're happy, we are happy. Make sure to refer your friends and family through the Wells Solar app! For every referral that goes to sale, we'll send you $1,500!

Nov. 30th, 2020

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Kathy Dallas, TX

called in for a couple of questions i had on wells solar and jessica answered each one with an awesome attitude! cant thank her enough ,really guided me through everything , great customer service

8 months ago

Wells Solar Logo

Reply from Wells Solar

Thank you for the kind words, Kathy! We hope to continue providing you with the Wells Solar experience for years to come.

Jul. 28th, 2023

star star star star star

Hansel Cundill Carrollton, TX

I had a great experience with Gabriel and Wells Solar. He was really knowledgeable and professional and able to answer all my questions. I'm really excited to get my solar system installed. Highly recommend anybody who is looking to go solar go with Wells Solar.

11 months ago

Wells Solar Logo

Reply from Wells Solar

Thank you for meeting with us, Hansel. We're elated to hear you will be switching to solar with us on your side. We won't let you down!

Mar. 30th, 2023

star star star star star

CW Kenneaaster Belton, TX

Amazing job from start to finish I came out installed in one day, next thing I knew it my tesla power wall's came in… they came in installed it in one day kudos well solar true professionals. The follow ups been magnificent… Thank you Jessica for stellar job in keeping me in on the loop throughout the whole process I would recommend them to anybody… Everything and I just told you really happened in that order. CW Kenneaster

1 year ago

Wells Solar Logo

Reply from Wells Solar

Really happy to hear about your experience, CW. Thank you for your review.

Mar. 30th, 2023

star star star star star

TheyCallMe Lo San Antonio, TX

I worked with Gabriel, and he was awesome. I'm extremely happy with the service I received. Gabriel was very informative and answered any questions I had, he also never made me feel pressured, and walked me through this purchase every step of the way! Shout out to wells solar for hiring such amazing workers. I will definitely be recommending you guys to everyone I know!

1 year ago

Wells Solar Logo

Reply from Wells Solar

We appreciate your very thoughtful review. Glad to hear Gabriel and our team gave you the experience we strive to deliver.

Nov. 28th, 2022

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Dani Lindsay Houston, TX

I am ecstatic over my experience with Wells Solar. The installation process was done in one day and the crew was incredibly thoughtful and left my home in better shape then when they had arrived. My energy bill is basically non-existent and with my backup battery I never worry about a power outage or using electricity during peak hours. I can’t recommend Wells Solar enough!

2 years ago

Wells Solar Logo

Reply from Wells Solar

Thank you so much for your review, Dani. We are glad to hear about your smooth installation process and that your battery is providing you with true independence from the grid. Don't forget you can recommend us to family, friends, and neighbors through our app and receive a $1000 referral bonus!

Feb. 18th, 2022

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

EishPott Fort Worth, TX

Great price, with great financing options as well. The installation was great! Very professional crew, ontime and cleaned up all the trash when they left. Our consultant Andrew B was great throughout the entire process through the end. He even gives us updates as the solar is producing. We have had to call customer support one time to help us with the setup of the system and they were so helpful. We highly recommend Wells Solar to our friends, family and neighbors

2 years ago

Wells Solar Logo

Reply from Wells Solar

It brings us great joy to read about your experience with all of our teams. We strive to deliver excellence at every step of your solar experience. Thank you for your review!

Jan. 17th, 2022

star star star star star

Cassie Wilson Dallas, TX

I met with multiple companies before we picked wells solar. My husband and and I chose wells because of their attention to detail and confidence to get what we wanted done. The price was great for Tesla panels (which nobody else offered) and their consultant Andrew knew the exact answers to every question we had. Since we got solar we have not had an electric bill and the payments are very low. We would highly recommend this company for anyone looking for quality solar in the dfw area.

2 years ago

Wells Solar Logo

Reply from Wells Solar

Thank you for choosing Wells Solar. There is a reason we are one of very few solar companies with the certification for Tesla Solar. We appreciate your kind words, Cassie.

Jan. 17th, 2022

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

TammyJ Fort Worth, TX

The company is very responsive about any questions I had along the process of installation as well as showing me how to monitor the solar system. I did have an issue at install with some equipment needing to be moved to another side of the house, but I like where it is now. Andrew was my consultant and was responsive with all my questions at the beginning as well as throughout the installation. I would highly recommend

2 years ago

Wells Solar Logo

Reply from Wells Solar

Hi Tammy, we're grateful for your trust with your home. Your reviews and recommendations are the highest compliments we can receive. Be sure to download the Wells Solar app and refer your friends, family, and neighbors to receive a $1,000 referral fee.

Jan. 17th, 2022

star star star star star

JW Tyson Hutto, TX

Can I give my rep a 6? She has been the best. I am a skeptical buyer and didn't believe her math or her engineering, but I have to admit, she was more than right and has taken care of every detail all they way through the project. Thank you Kristen for your diligence (not to mention your patience with a cantakerous buyer). I can't say enough nice things about them and their team.

2 years ago

Wells Solar Logo

Reply from Wells Solar

You absolutely can! We appreciate your trust and business, JW!

Jan. 17th, 2022

star star star star star

Sarah Arnold Cedar Park, TX

My sales person, Sam, is absolutely wonderful. He made the whole process completely seamless, and now, almost a year later, I can still text him with any questions about our solar panels, or solar energy in general. The installation was quick and easy, the team comes out to check the panels any time we need. What's even more amazing- we had a huge hail storm that requires us to need a whole new roof- but our solar panels were unharmed! Couldn't recommend this company more.

2 years ago

Wells Solar Logo

Reply from Wells Solar

Thank you for taking time to review Wells Solar, Sarah. We'll be sure to let Sam know about your positive experience.

Jan. 17th, 2022

star star star star star

Stephen Hufnagle Weatherford, TX

Andrew has been the best solar consultant I have talked to. And I’ve talked with about a dozen. He was very informative not only on his products but also products he doesn’t even sell. He made sure I was informed and knew everything I wanted to know. There was no pressure at all to buy even on his follow up call he just wanted to make sure I still understood it all. Before you make any decisions, call wells solar and ask for Andrew. They were also very competitive on price

3 years ago

Wells Solar Logo

Reply from Wells Solar

We appreciate your review and agree with you about Andrew. He's an excellent resource for solar and we're glad to have him on our team. Thank you for your review.

Jan. 17th, 2022

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Chappell/McIntire Helotes, TX

Easy to deal with. Although I had the transformer replaced twice in the three years we've had them and it took anout 3 weeks to get a replacement

1 year ago

Wells Solar Logo

Reply from Wells Solar

Thank you for your review! We strive to get things to our homeowners as quickly as possible and we appreciate your positive review despite supply chain issues that tend to delay replacements or product availability.

Aug. 8th, 2022

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Paul Still Chicago, IL

I wanted more information about solar energy for my house but didn't know where to start. Luckily, Monte Y from Wells was able to break things down for me item-by-item, taking my budget into account. He was very helpful without being an overly pushy salesperson. If you're thinking of going solar, ask for Monte!

1 year ago

Wells Solar Logo

Reply from Wells Solar

We couldn't agree with you more, Paul – Monte is a wonderful team member and energy consultant. Thank you for taking time to meet with us.

Nov. 28th, 2022

star star star star star

Phillip J Barrish Charlotte, NC

Monte was great. He provided lots of information, was patient with questions, and he didn't pressure us to make a decision right away. We're still thinking, but so far our experience with Monte and Wells Solar has been very good.

1 year ago

Wells Solar Logo

Reply from Wells Solar

We appreciate your time and consideration, Phillip. Thank you so much.

Nov. 28th, 2022

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Jason Schmidt

From start to finish, was easy and great experience. Salesman was awesome, gave us all the information we needed and walked us through all the details and pricing. THe installers were on quick and we really didn't even know they were here. Are expectations have been met or exceeded from the beginning.

2 years ago

Wells Solar Logo

Reply from Wells Solar

Reviews like these make our day, Jason. Thank you for your kind words.

Jan. 17th, 2022

star star star star star

Matthew Ashcraft San Antonio, TX

I had an excellent experience with Wells Solar. Andrew B is a very knowledgeable and friendly rep. He was Johnny on the spot through the whole process. Wells did what they said they would do on time or early. Their installation crew was top notch and completed everything in one day. The system looks and works beautiful. Thanks y’all !!!

3 years ago

Wells Solar Logo

Reply from Wells Solar

Thanks Matthew! Andrew is one of our best!

Feb. 2nd, 2021

star star star star star

David Bellows San Antonio, TX

I had my solar system installed by Wells last year. They were courteous and professional throughout the process. I like that they handled all the permits and sending paperwork for HOA approval. Any little issue that came up was quickly addressed. I have always gotten someone on the phone very quickly and all of my questions get answered.

3 years ago

Wells Solar Logo

Reply from Wells Solar

Thanks David! Welcome to the Wells Solar family.

Jan. 18th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Chris Larson Austin, TX

Wells solar did a great job of installing the system and getting our generator out to us! Thanks wells solar!

1 year ago Edited January 10, 2024

Wells Solar Logo

Reply from Wells Solar

Thank you for choosing Wells Solar, Chris. We're elated to hear about your positive experience.

Nov. 10th, 2022

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Leonor Hernandez San Antonio, TX

They have been great, one of my panels wasn't producing, they contacted me and took care of replacingnit

1 year ago

Wells Solar Logo

Reply from Wells Solar

Our team is actively monitoring all Wells Solar systems to ensure they're functioning as they should. Thanks for your review, Leonor.

Aug. 8th, 2022

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Neal John-Jose McCloskey Austin, TX

They were respectful / informative during install and have proactively reached out before I saw an issue

1 year ago

Wells Solar Logo

Reply from Wells Solar

Hey there Neal, thank you for taking time to review us. We are elated to hear that you had a positive experience with us. We strive to deliver this service from start to finish.

Aug. 8th, 2022

star star star star star

mary ann catena Austin, TX

thank you jamica for following up on the 1000.00 referral fee. i received today thank you wells solor for your time and the work you completed and appreciate the 1000.00 check

1 year ago

Wells Solar Logo

Reply from Wells Solar

Thank you for referring us, Mary! That is one of the biggest compliments you can give us.

Mar. 30th, 2023

star star star star star

David Rhodes Dallas, TX

Our original solar installer not responding our any call or email. So we contact Wellssolar , They fix and replace bad inverter . GREAT SERVICE WITH REASONABLE PRICE !! Thank you

1 year ago Edited August 12, 2022

Wells Solar Logo

Reply from Wells Solar

Very happy we were able to help you with your inverter. Thank you for your review, David!

Aug. 12th, 2022

star star star star star

Rodolfo Gonzalez Killeen, TX

They were prompt, courteous, and the panels, are now paying for themselves, my last 2 electric bills, one for $50.45 another for $67.38. So I'm happy with that, and again, the guys that did the work were great.

2 years ago Edited January 6, 2022

Wells Solar Logo

Reply from Wells Solar

It gives us great pleasure to hear about your bills being reduced, Rodolfo. We'll be sure to let the install team know about your kind words.

Jan. 17th, 2022

star star star star star

Kevin Bice Austin, TX

It has worked beyond our expectations. Our salesperson, Matt, was very easy to work with. He promptly answered any questions we had during the process. We would definitely recommend Wells Solar.

3 years ago

Wells Solar Logo

Reply from Wells Solar

Thank you, Kevin! Matt is absolutely the definition of easy to work with.

Nov. 30th, 2020

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Charles Franks Fort Worth, TX

I identify them to be the best solar option for myself and they did a Great Job for me.

1 year ago

Wells Solar Logo

Reply from Wells Solar

Hi Charles, that's a very nice thing to read. Thank you for your trust and your business!

Aug. 11th, 2022

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Amber Frymire Fort Worth, TX

We had the best experience with wells solar. Pur install looks wonderful and Our consultant Andrew stayed with us through the entire process. 6/10 stars if we could.

2 years ago

Wells Solar Logo

Reply from Wells Solar

Amber, thank you for a wonderful review. It makes us happy to hear that the team is delivering on our promises. We look forward to serving you for years to come.

Feb. 2nd, 2022

star star star star star

Justin Alexander Austin, TX

Good service and Amy helped a lot. She answered all my questions about the panels, system, and process. Installation was organized and communicated. Great job Wells.

3 years ago

Wells Solar Logo

Reply from Wells Solar

Thanks Justin!

Jan. 18th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Stuart Smith Crowley, TX

great individuals even help the neighbors with their system (not Wells System).

1 year ago

Wells Solar Logo

Reply from Wells Solar

Thank you, Stuart. Our team is made of very kind and friendly individuals; I love to hear that.

Aug. 11th, 2022

star star star star star

Gill Smith San Antonio, TX

Great customer service and responsiveness, including our salesman. A couple of minor issues were addressed immediately and resolved.

2 years ago Edited January 10, 2024

Wells Solar Logo

Reply from Wells Solar

Hi Gill, thanks for giving us the chance to correct your issues and for your review. It means the world to us.

Jan. 17th, 2022

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Cathy Korton Temple, TX

Very good and most went without a hitch.

1 year ago

Wells Solar Logo

Reply from Wells Solar

Hi Cathy, we sincerely appreciate your review. Our team does their best to deal with the curveballs that can happen during an install so we appreciate your trust, patience and business. We looking forward to serving you for years to come.

Aug. 8th, 2022

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Marvin Campbell Killeen, TX

The best I have invest in. Friendly customer service

1 year ago

Wells Solar Logo

Reply from Wells Solar

That is a big statement for us. Thank you for your feedback, Marvin.

Aug. 8th, 2022

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Aaron Bujnowski The Colony, TX

Wells Solar was excellent. They made the whole process of getting solar very easy. I would highly recommend them!

2 years ago

Wells Solar Logo

Reply from Wells Solar

Thank you for your review, Aaron. Keep in mind that you can refer to your friends, family, and neighbors through our app and earn $1,000 per referral!

Jan. 17th, 2022

star star star star star

Daniel Garcia League City, TX

Jessica was very helpful. Her customer service was great.

8 months ago

Wells Solar Logo

Reply from Wells Solar

Thank you for taking the time to review Jessica and Wells Solar, Daniel!

Jul. 28th, 2023

star star star star star

Stuart Smith Fort Worth, TX

Everything was taken care of and fixed immediatly if i had any problems which i have had very few.

2 years ago

Wells Solar Logo

Reply from Wells Solar

Stuart, we really appreciate you taking the time to review Wells Solar. We look forward to serving you for years to come.

Feb. 2nd, 2022

star star star star star

CJ Lab Dallas, TX

Very helpful. Much informed. We really appreciated the info!

2 years ago

Wells Solar Logo

Reply from Wells Solar

Thank you for taking time to meet with us, CJ.

Feb. 14th, 2022

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

anupam sumessur Baltimore, MD

They are very knowledgeable and gave me a thorough presentation of what I could expect.

1 year ago

Wells Solar Logo

Reply from Wells Solar

Hi Anupam, thank you for taking the time to meet with us. We'll be here to answer any questions you may have!

Jun. 22nd, 2022

star star star star star

mary laborn Mesquite, TX

No pressure from sales. Very thorough and knowledgeable.

2 years ago Edited January 10, 2024

Wells Solar Logo

Reply from Wells Solar

Thank you for your review, Mary. We strive to make the switch to solar an informed, no-hassle, and simple choice.

Feb. 15th, 2022