Sunnova Logo

Sunnova

star star star star star_border

8.5

Overall Score

error This company may not service all states.
See states serviced
LAST UPDATED: February 1st, 2023

Since 2012, Sunnova has been providing solar power and energy storage to residents and business owners across the country. The company offers a solar industry-leading 25-year service commitment on all solar panel installations, with an additional 10-year roof warranty. Meanwhile, the Sunnova Adaptive Home solution integrates smart technology into the solar installation by optimizing energy sources for the unique energy needs of the homeowner. The solar service provider offers a number of financing options, but conditions do apply.

thumb_up

The Good

  • Flexible Payment Options
  • Helpful Moving Options
  • Wide State Availability

Flexible Payment Options

Sunnova offers a number of payment options to help customers lower their dependence on the power grid:

The company's EZ Own option gives homeowners the opportunity to purchase a system without any upfront costs and pay a fixed amount each month for a 25-year term, which is substantially less than the average electric bill. At the end of the term, the customer will own the solar power system.

Sunnova's EZ Pay PPA is another diverse financing option that only requires customers to pay for the energy produced by the system at a flat monthly price. There is also a standard lease option available, during which the customer will essentially be renting the panels from Sunnova.

Helpful Moving Options

If a customer within Sunnova's residential solar market decides to move while under contract, Sunnova offers a number of options: the customer can transfer the service agreement over to the new owner, pre-pay the remainder of the contract and transfer it to the new owner, or move the system to a new address. This is especially beneficial for homeowners who are less permanent.

Wide State Availability

Not only does Sunnova install quality panels, but the solar company also provides backup battery storage in the event of a power outage in the following states: Arizona, California, Colorado, Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, Maryland, Massachusetts, New Jersey, New Mexico, New York, Pennsylvania, Nevada, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, South Carolina, and Texas.

The company's renewable energy services are also available in the Virgin Islands, which means many consumers have the option to go solar with Sunnova.

thumb_down

The Bad

  • Long Contract Terms
  • No Buyout Option for Leases

Long Contract Terms

Sunnova requires a 25-year service agreement, which is higher than the average 20-year agreement employed by most other solar energy companies. While this can still lead toward a path to ownership, longer-termed solar loans are often accompanied by relatively higher interest rates. Customers should get in touch with a Sunnova employee for specific terms and conditions prior to signing a contract.

Additionally, Sunnova does not offer a production guarantee for the PPA option, which can be detrimental if the system isn't producing as much as it should be during the length of the contract.

No Buyout Option For Leases

The company's lease options do not include a buyout option for the Sunnova customer, which creates a disadvantage for those who may need to move while under contract.

gavel

The Bottom Line

Sunnova has a simple mission: provide competitive solar solutions across several states and offers a variety of financing options, including cash purchase, a solar lease and PPA. The solar company also provides moving options to help customers establish energy independence.

However, the company's contract terms are longer than industry average. Additionally, Sunnova does not offer a buyout option for leases. If you're still unsure whether this company is right for you, read below for verified Sunnova Solar reviews.

View Best Solar Companies

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Message from
Sunnova

At Sunnova, our mission is simple — to power energy independence. And we are deeply passionate about providing homeowners with a real choice when it comes to powering their homes with cleaner, more sustainable and affordable energy solutions. We are equally committed to creating trusted, long-term relationships with our customers, as they are the very heart of our business.

Every day, our customers welcome us, in very real ways, onto and into their homes, and this relationship begins with our trusted sales, installation, and service dealers. While there are many things that set Sunnova apart from other energy providers, one of the biggest is our dealer business model. We work with a very select group of established local solar installers who have comprehensive knowledge of their markets, enabling us to provide the highest quality of service to our customers.

Sunnova offers options for every homeowner to help customers gain energy independence and lower their annual utility costs. Sunnova customers in most states enjoy guaranteed energy production, system monitoring, and a best-in-class 25-year warranty.

If you’re ready to take the first step, learning more about the financial impact that solar will have on your household in your area, Sunnova is the perfect place to start.

keyboard_arrow_up keyboard_arrow_down

Star Rating

3.9

star star star star star_border

1,399 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

59%

4 grade

11%

3 grade

6%

2 grade

4%

1 grade

20%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star_half star_border

Quality

star star star star star_border

Service

star star star star_half star_border

Trustworthiness

star star star star_half star_border
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
star star star_border star_border star_border

Philip Bartrum Pawtucket, RI

Insulation was great. But customer service has been terrible no body calls us back. We are still waiting for someone to explain what we need to do to set up our account with the app so we can monitor are system.

3 days ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Robert Parris Newington, CT

Still paying 750 / month in electric bills. I have a house that is less than 1500 sq ft. This may be an NG problem, but isn’t solar supposed to reduce electrical costs? That’s what I was told anyways.

6 days ago

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Hello Robert Parris, thank you for bringing this to our attention. Can you please email us at [email protected] with your system ID and a phone number where we can reach you? We'll look into this right away. Thank you. *DMS*

Jan. 26th, 2023

star star star_border star_border star_border

Chang Ha Hayward, CA

I am very disapointed that your monitoring system shows only ONE day of lifetime before it went down. Still it is down and I was told you will look at issue on Jan 10, 2023. Big promise and no followthrough. The system turn on 21 of Dec last year and worked only one day before it went down.

4 weeks ago

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

*Due to phone panel issues 12/15/2022 preventing phone calls to customers in PR, an email update was sent to the customer. *Please review FSL-WO-0000371009 opened 10/14/20222 for any updates regarding pending RMA status **REMINDER - remember to check the sent emails for the customer who needed rescheduling Hello Chang Ha, thank you for bringing this to our attention. Can you please send us an email at [email protected] with your system ID and a phone number where we can reach you? Thank you. ^JE

Jan. 4th, 2023

star star star_border star_border star_border

Kelly Baptista Magalia, CA

Communication with Premier Solar was terrible. Installation of tesla battery took forever. I asked for explanation of monitoring system and I was told to look at the app, but the app was confusing. I finally called and requested someone come and talk to me and show me how it works. And, I am no dummy

1 month ago

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Hello Kelly Baptista, we are excited to welcome you to the Sunnova Family! We work hard to make the switch to solar hassle-free, and we are so happy to hear your experience reflected what we strive for. We appreciate the positive feedback. +KL

Dec. 20th, 2022

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Ortiz Fresno, CA

The system is operating normally, and the installation seems to have been done well. I understand Sunnova did not install it but subcontracted it to a local installer, so maybe that doesn't speak about Sunnova itself. I did not choose Sunnova, it was the only *option* I had when I bought my new construction home. What I do not like about Sunnova: - First and most importantly, their customer service. It took 3+ months to get PTO from the utility. There is ZERO initiative from the Sunnova interconnection department to look into projects that are not moving along and getting a response to emails is impossible. I had to call and email countless times just to get an update, and was quickly dismissed with the usual 'we're waiting on the utility' response. I had to beg them to follow up with the utility to see if anything was wrong and eventually they escalated it. The second thing I dislike about Sunnova is their pricing -- they charged me more than DOUBLE what you'd expect for such an installation, especially considering it was for a new construction which greatly simplifies it. I've worked in solar for 10 years and this price per watt was hard to be okay with. Again, I didn't have a choice, the home came with a Sunnova system and it's possible that the price was not just set by Sunnova but by the builder as well (even though the builder explained they had no say on the price of the system).

3 months ago

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Thanks for reaching out, Mr. Ortiz! Our goal is to provide an exceptional experience. We value your feedback and will use it to improve. Thank you for helping us create more homes that are energy independent!^AG

Oct. 31st, 2022

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Ray V Cranston, RI

Sales person Bob F was fantastic. Unfortunately that's where the good ends. I had my panels set to be installed that were to cover the entire back half of my roof, when they did the install in April, there was a ton of empty space. I had to purchase an additional 5 panels and was told that would fill it. I then had to wait from April until late July to have my system turned on. August 1 I had the new panels arrive and I still have empty space on my roof. The 2nd group of installers informed me the wrong inverter was delivered and is not compatible with what smart green installed in April. I am still waiting and had to contact the corporate number to try to find out what is going on. The Installers left trash from the install strewn all over my yard and deck as well as left bags on my roof that were left for me to have to clean up

5 months ago

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Hello Ray V, thank you for bringing this to our attention. Can you please send us an email at [email protected] with your system ID and a phone number where we can reach you? Thank you. ^AG

Aug. 5th, 2022

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Brian

The organization of the entire process top to bottom has been unpredictable and difficult. While I believe that intentions were in the right place, the organization and scheduling of the install was random and my expectation were constantly challenged. Dates and timing changed constantly, and all parties didn't appear to know what others were doing. In hindsight, I wish I had did more research into solar providers before I went with Sunnovo. Very disappointed.

2 years ago

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Good morning Brian, Thank you for bringing this to our attention we use all of our customer comments to better our customer service programs. If you could please send us an email to with your contact information/system id and one of our Issue resolutions specialist will contact you within 1-2 business hours. Thank you ^MP

Feb. 11th, 2020

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Brian

their website is lacking. the are my loan company for my solar and also provide one of the 25 year warranties. i cant get a real bill off of the site. i had an issue and was given a case. i was told it would take 8 days for someone to review and get back to me. i cleared it up with my inverter company directly. sunnova closed the case without contacting me at all.

2 years ago

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Good morning Brian, Thank you for bringing this to our attention we use all of our customer comments to better our customer service programs. If you could please send us an email to with your contact information/system id and one of our Issue resolutions specialist will contact you within 1-2 business hours. Thank you ^MP

Feb. 11th, 2020

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Donald Coppock

Your installer (Infinity Energy) damaged our roof. I called you first and was told to contact Infinity. It took 4 calls to get throug to you first. After 5 or 6 attempts I finally got an answer at Infinity ans was told they would refer this to their service department. I am 2 weeks into this issue by now and it is now almost 4 weeks and still no response. I paid a roofer to fix our roof, only cost $100 so not a not deal but Infinity's service sucks and that reflects on you equally.

3 years ago

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Good Morning Donald, We are sorry to hear this was your experience with our partner, this is not a typical Sunnova Experience. Our drive is to make Solar hassle-free by being attentive. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We use all of our customer comments to improve our customer service programs. ^MP

Oct. 14th, 2019

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Jorge & Margee L

We are happy with the product; however, there were issues with their customer service. They arrived at our house multiple times for service calls without notice. This was inconvenient to both us and the Sunnova technician, who was only doing what he was told. In spite of our complaints it happened at least 3 times.

3 years ago

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Hello Jorge & Margee L, we are sorry to hear that this was your experience with Sunnova. If you could please send us a message to with your System ID/Phone number where we can reach you? One of our Issue Resolutions Specialist will contact you. ^OA

Jan. 8th, 2020

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Julie Peters Surprise, AZ

I'm not able to monitor my system unless I go onto their website. Help provided was to leave two voicemails. When I return the call I received voicemail. No other attempts were made. I tried to download their app to my phone,the app does not recognize me. I am left to figure items out. At this moment not thrilled.

3 years ago

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Good Morning Julie, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. One of our Issue Resolutions Specialists will reach out to you within 1-2 business hours to assist with your customer portal login. Thank you^MP

Dec. 3rd, 2019

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Anthony Dela Rosa St. Cloud, FL

I have had zero contact with anyone from sunnova; I would appreciate an email from an employee or a phone call.

1 month ago

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Hello Anthony, we will like to help. Could you send us your system ID and a phone number where we can reach you at?*EB*

Dec. 29th, 2022

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Michael Rayner New Bedford, MA

Awful. Got delayed numerous times (took about 6 months from the first date). Kept getting phone calls while I was working despite telling them to email me. 100s of emails that are impossible to keep track of what is important. The install team left a bunch of trash in our yard. My dog ate something they left and got sick and had to go to the vet.

8 months ago

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Hello Michael Rayner, thank you for bringing this to our attention. Can you please send us an email at [email protected] with your system ID and a phone number where we can reach you? Thank you. ^AG

May. 23rd, 2022

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Ron Wiacek

I have reached out to my sales rep multiple times with no follow up, I have also emailed the company and called with no follow up. When will someone get in contact to address my concerns?

2 years ago

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Good morning Ron Wiacek, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are sorry to hear this was your experience with Sunnova. An Issue Resolution Specialists will reach out to you shortly to address any questions or concerns you may have. We are here to help. Thank you ^MP

Apr. 21st, 2020

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Sabrina Neri Dos Palos, CA

I was told I'd have the back up battery so when the power went out I'd still have power using the panels and battery...I did not get the batterY because it needs to be purchased separately

3 years ago

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Hello Sabrina, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. One of our Issue Resolutions Specialists will contact you. Thank you again^MO

Dec. 31st, 2019

star star star_border star_border star_border

The Dad Port Saint Lucie, FL

Wish I could say this is a great idea to invest in this company. Unfortunately they have done very little for support and service. They are great at coming and doing the sales process. But I sit here with half of my solar panels not working, NONE of my batteries working and any phone call dead ends at "we'll call you back with your appointment date" that was 3 months ago. At the point where my lawyer is probably going to get involved. Don't trust this company and their false promises. They will pay for the good reviews.

9 months ago

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Hello, thank you for reaching. We are sorry to hear about your experience. Can you please send us a private message to [email protected] with your system ID and a phone where we can reach you? We'll look into this right away. Thank you.^JD

Apr. 26th, 2022

star star star_border star_border star_border

Robin Bass Seabrook, TX

sit back folks...this is not for the faint of heart. The whole process took over a year. First I signed a PPA with Sunnova in December of 2018 through Solar Wells. After 3 months, the whole thing went dark and I lost faith. So I switched to Infinity/Sunnova after I was told they'd have solar on my house in 30 days. They ran a new credit check and that one failed although I was in the high 600's. . So I had to find a co-signer. I later found out by own research that a loan option was available so I had them redo the paperwork for a 3rd time and my credit went through Ok. what a pain. Anyways...flash forward to end of July (for those with calculators out, let me help you....from a May 9th signed contract to end of July is NOT 30 days). Meanwhile, my electricity bills are averaging $600 since I wasn't under contract thinking my solar is coming in. As others report, a third company entered the scene to do the install. They showed up, promised to finish that day...left a couple hours later though....everything laying out. The team didn't want to do my high roof (um, that was a known factor!). A new team eventually showed up late on the 2nd day. Left pretty late...stuff still laying around my drive way and backyard, and not finished. Didn't come back. Meanwhile my HOA called to say they didn't have approval and was issuing a cease. My rep went dark. I never could get an update. So while I was actively involved in getting HOA on board, ppl would show up to do something on my system, say they didn't know what was going on and leave and noone else would tell me what to expect next. Remember all that stuff in my driveway etc? Well I pointed it out to one of the guys who came through and he didn't know what it was for so he took it back to Dallas. A month later, a crew showed up from Dallas on a Friday asking for the "stuff" to finish installing. Um...yeah, that stuff is in Dallas! Took another 3 weeks for them to find it and come back. I had to get very involved with understanding the process. I got ahold of everyones emails and cell numbers and had to start getting everyone on the same page. So meanwhile I found out that HOA had approved a design from the previous Solarwells team that had panels on my garage instead of the front of the house. The team confirmed that design was better anyway since my oaks would be covering those panels soon. so the reissued another design that mirrored the one done previously..and used the HOA approval that I ALREADY HAD FROM JANUARY...and the whole confused, unmanaged install process started all over again where they relocated my panels. In the process, they patched my roof and its horrible. This is still an open issue. It took until end of Aug for a PTO to come. But I JUST got an email from Sunnova that my PTO came through and my system was in place. JUST. The installers pretty jacked up the rest of my roof as well. Insurance declined fixing it. And this is the short version of the story. Can't spend the time to put everything in here cause I have a job. Thanks for reading :). The End.

3 years ago

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Hello Robin, We are sorry you had to go through this ordeal. This is not a typical Sunnova Experience. One of our Issue Resolutions Specialist will contact you within 1-2 Business hours. ^MO

Jan. 9th, 2020

star star star_border star_border star_border

Lauren Lancaster, PA

My experience has not been a positive one. Initially, I had a great meeting with the consultant. He was informative and knowledgeable while presenting things in a direct way. Install began in June and seemed to be going great, until they came without parts necessary to complete the job. They made at least five to six other appointments to continue install. I was able to accommodate because I have summers off work, but if not for that, I would have had to miss work on numerous days. I was told October 23 my system was operating and turned on. Two appointments later, my system was still not properly working and we are now in December. Had I know this is the way the process was going to go, I probably wouldn’t have switched to solar with Trinity. Communication wasn’t great towards the end of the process either.

3 years ago

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Hello Lauren, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. If you could please send us an email to with your system id/phone number where we can reach you?. We will look into this right away. ^OA

Dec. 12th, 2019

star star star_border star_border star_border

Frank Parker Desert Hot Springs, CA

I'm in the process of refinancing my home. Turns out even though Sunnova in their on-line adds say the do not put a lien on your home they do. It is called a UCC (Uniform commercial Code). This stops you from selling or refinancing your home without Sunnova being involved. They will lift the UCC for thirty days but it cost us $300 to do so. While this is pretty irritating in itself and a rip-off. It got worse, they were notified of the refinance 3 weeks before closing but failed to follow up and the invoice arrived the week of closing. Of course they do not take credit card payments, mailed checks only for this. So closing got delayed, more daily interest charges and we wait. I understand the need to protect their equipment on our house (we lease) but in a refinance nothing changes. Silly rip off and if they want to protect their equipment with a lien (UCC) why don't they pay to lift it for 30 days? Oct 9 Well it got worse, after three customer service people and one supervisor told me the $300 dollars is pass through money, that it all goes to the county to lift the lien and reset it 30 days later. I decided to check with the county and they charge a maximum of $40 for lifting and dropping it back on. So where does the other $260 go? As I guess into the pockets of the company, I'm sure they are not paying any employee $260 to call this exchange in. As I suspected a rip-off, since I'm not expecting a refund of $260.

3 years ago

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Good Morning Frank Parker , thank you for bringing this to our attention. Could you please send us a private message with your system ID/Phone number where we can reach you? We will look into this right away. ^OA

Oct. 8th, 2019

star star star_border star_border star_border

Waltg Stockton, CA

For the past week or so now I’ve been trying to get in contact with them about my bill. Seems like when I call it says there busy and I could wait on the phone or press 1 for someone to call me back. I’ve done both and still no response. So my question is I get an email stating I’m enrolled in the auto pay and every month on such n such date it’s going to be taken out my bank account. It still hasn’t been taken out. Then like I stated I call customer service and there’s nobody there to answer my call. My solar came with the house when I bought it. Had I known I was going to be dealing with B.S I wouldn’t had agreed to it 😡😡.

3 years ago

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Hello Waltg , We are very sorry to hear about your experience with your Customer Service issue. We'll escalate your note to the appropriate department. Can you send us a private message with your system ID and a phone number where we can reach you? ^OA

Jun. 27th, 2019

star star star_border star_border star_border

Lenhoyt Methuen, MA

We purchased our home in August 2017 and assumed the Sunnova lease with 23 years remaining. We’ve been satisfied with our system production, which generated enough credit with National Grid to carry us through last winter in the northeast with no electric bill and reasonable lease payments. But our system stopped working around April first. I didn’t realize it until early June because we were drawing down credits and I wasn’t paying attention. I called Sunnova and was told they knew I had a problem and there has been a ticket open since April 17th!! I’ve since emailed them twice and got a single response saying a technician will be contacting me. They’ve known I’ve been down and have had a job ticket open for two months and no one has contacted me! Two stars for system performance, but very disappointed in customer service.

3 years ago

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Hello Lenhoyt, thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are sorry you had to go through this ordeal. We do appreciate your patience. We were able to locate your account, one of our agents will contact you soon to help get this issue resolved. Thank you ^MO

Jun. 21st, 2019

star star star_border star_border star_border

Jessi Kennedy Livermore, CA

Install of the system from V3/Sunnova went fast and easy. However, once I got the go-ahead from PG&E to operate, it worked for a day, then I guess it stopped. I had no idea and it took Sunnova 4 weeks to contact V3. Customer service at Sunnova was completely lacking and all I got was that the development team was fixing bugs with the app. I got it working again, but a day later it stopped transmitting data, but still generating power. Billing.. I have no idea what is going on. As of now, if I were to get solar panels again, I'd go elsewhere. The only reason I'm giving 2 stars instead of 1 is the install and set-up was good.

3 years ago

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Hello Jessi Kennedy, thanks for bringing this to our attention. We are sorry to hear this was your experience with Sunnova. This is not a typical Sunnova Experience, we do appreciate your patience and one of our Sunnova agents will contact you soon to get this issue resolved. Thank you^MP

May. 24th, 2019

star star star_border star_border star_border

David Aparicio Montebello, CA

They take a long a long time ( setting dates after previous visits) to get things set up , actually the structural part was set up but the hookup takes a while and our yard looks like crap thanks to them. its been over 2 months maybe three we nave been waiting for them to finish the job. They show us a rating off five stars from their brochure. The people that set up the panels were very kind, but it's all a matter of tome when the inspector gets there to approve the work which is about a months wait another crew shows up a couple weeks later to install panels boxes for electrical. Were still waiting since early April it is now July.

4 years ago

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Hello David, thank you for reaching out. We are sorry for the delay on placing your system in service. We would like to review your account and provide further details and updates. Could you please provide your system Id or contact number on a private message? Regards. ^KM

Jul. 27th, 2018

star star star_border star_border star_border

Karen Berlin Los Angeles, CA

We have had the system on our roof for one year now. The sales department was great, quick and easy installation. But after having it for a while and seeing our bills and the constant fight with DWP the solar co. has been no help. There customer service sucks!!!! They told me to call DWP if I had a problem with the bill. They do not listen or call you back. I really need help with getting thru to them that they are over charging me for the service, it does not cover my bill and I am still getting charged from DWP. I am actually paying more now then before we go solar. So I say it is a rip off I would not do it again. If I could take it off and throw it in the alley I would.

6 years ago

star star star_border star_border star_border

Cm Piskula Northampton, PA

LACK of COMMUNICATION & UNDERSTANDING from start to finish! I CAN NOT recommend solar energy . I am now paying 4X’s more for my electricity than I did b4 I signed to renewable .

5 months ago

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Hello Cm Piskula, we are happy to help. Can you please send us an email at [email protected] with your system ID and a phone number where we can reach you? Thank you. ^AG

Aug. 2nd, 2022

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Rick Oxford

Took way too long to install system. Had almost no communication when they were going to show up and then numerous time they just didn't show up at all

3 years ago

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Hello Rick, Thank you for your 2-star review feedback and Welcome to the Sunnova Family! One of our Issue Resolutions Specialist will contact you today.^MO

Jan. 24th, 2020

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Temi East Northport, NY

The turnaround is too lengthy and the representative didn't want to give me that information immediately, I had to be persistent with my request for information

3 years ago

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Good Morning Temi, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. This is not a typical Sunnova experience we use all of our customer comments to better our customer service programs. Thank you^MP

Dec. 3rd, 2019

star star star_border star_border star_border

Frank Panazza Hartford, CT

I want to pay off my solar panels. I contacted Sunnova to get the bottom line owed. They came back with a figure that was $7,000 more than the what I showed. They then produced an initialed contract that I do not have in my Sunnova file. Asked to speak to a supervisor and as some of you already know, I’m still waiting. I’m still going to pay it off but after you become a customer dealing with this company is useless.

2 years ago

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Thank you for reaching out, Frank Panazza. We are very sorry to hear about your experience with Sunnova. One of our agents will reach out to you to address your concerns. ^TR

Nov. 24th, 2020

star star star_border star_border star_border

Alan love Bear, DE

The panels have not functioned properly since mid-may. After calling every two weeks for 3 months and hearing the same empty promise I was finally informed that as well as a case number a work order had been created. about 3 weeks ago I was told that the job had been assigned and I would hear from them within a week. No word yet, and for the best part of 5 months the panels have produced 0 electricity. Of course, I am still making the lease payments.

2 years ago

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Hello Alan, thank you for speaking with me earlier today. We look forward to helping you resolve this issue. Thank you. ^TR

Nov. 12th, 2020

star star star_border star_border star_border

kwjacq Yuma, AZ

Customer service is the worst! What a joke! The person can hardly speak english making it even more difficult when calling in. After three calls to address my issue over three months with no results I asked to talk to a supervisor. Was told they would call back as soon as I got of the line with the representative I was talking with. No call back was made to me. Good luck if you ever have any issues that need to be resolved.

2 years ago

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Hello Mr. Jacques, thanks for bringing this to our attention. One of our agents will reach out to you shortly to help get this issue resolved. Thank you.^JD

Aug. 7th, 2020

star star star_border star_border star_border

Kim Ergin Alamo, CA

Well with our high electric bills we decided to go solar and thought we would be saving. Farthest thing from the truth in fact our annual TrU Up statement from PG&E has consistently been close to $5000 yearly. No savings at all here in fact we are paying the same as if we did not have solar. Biggest mistake ever. And Sunnova has been zero help the times I have called. Nothing like not doing the homework and being stuck in a worthless solar lease.

2 years ago

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Thank you for reaching out, Ms. Ergin. We are very sorry to hear about your experience with high electric bills. One of our agents will contact you soon to help get this issue resolved. ^JD

May. 19th, 2020

star star star_border star_border star_border

Art Correa

Nice and polite, but so far I am not getting consistency on power and there is not enough power as I was told. I have to many words to say about what I was told I would have VS. what I have today. No good words to say for now unless ION or SUNNOVA can get me what I was told before they start to bill me. Power is low , not as How I was told. So Far bad product and service unless they make a change.

2 years ago

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Hello Art, we value your feedback and are here to assist you. Could you please provide us with your system id and/or contact information ? we will be glad to contact you and address your concerns. ^KM

Jan. 30th, 2019

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

JAMES M GASKILL Selma, CA

They promised to has someone come out and clean the panels, since we've had them no one has ever showed up to clean them.

1 year ago

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Hello James, thank you for bringing this to our attention. One of of our agents will reach out to you directly to address this issue. Thank you. ^JD

Jun. 22nd, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

CDM

Once contract was signed, representative became irresponsible. No longer enthusiastic about answering my questions. Very unhappy.

3 years ago

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Good Morning CDM, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. If you could please send us your contact information to and one of our Issue Resolutions Specialists will reach out to you soon to further assist. Thank you^MO

Dec. 10th, 2019

star star star_border star_border star_border

CMarie Elder Jordan Portillo Kapolei, HI

I signed up in October 2019. Waited to January 2020 for install where I was pressured to add panels. I still don't have solar power Sept 2020. There's been @50 wrong contract updates from them delaying my service. I can't recommend them.

2 years ago

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Hello CMarie Elder Jordan Portillo, thank you for bringing this to our attention. Can you please send us a private message with your system ID and a phone number at [email protected] We'll reach out to you right away to help get this issue resolved.^IS

Sep. 4th, 2020

star star star_border star_border star_border

peter hutchinson Colchester, CT

Having issues getting switched on.Everything is set,theytell me to turn it on,then in an hour,they tell me to turn it off again.Now there is mysterious paperwork that needs to be signed,but no- one knows what it is.Waiting for a return call.I am losing patience.

3 years ago

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Hello Peter Hutchinson, we are sorry to hear that this was your experience with Sunnova. One of our Issue Resolutions Specialist will contact you by the end of the business day to further assist you. ^OA

Dec. 20th, 2019

star star star_border star_border star_border

norman hans jr Clementon, NJ

being able to tall to customer service is next to impossible.you are told there are several callers ahead of you, do you want to be called back which did't happen or stay on the line which lasted over 2 hours then disconnected. can't find anything out about case # 02328603!!!!!!!!!

3 years ago

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Hello norman hans jr. Thanks for your response with the case number. I will forward your information to the appropriate department to address your concerns.^OA

Oct. 25th, 2019

star star star_border star_border star_border

Stephanie San Juan Capistrano, CA

My system has been down for a month and a half, I have called multiple times, talked to many reps and a supervisor, was promised a return call from all of them and never got a one! I'm still waiting for my work order to be scheduled, even though it was "expedited" 2 weeks ago! Highly frustrating customer service. I just want my darn panels fixed!

3 years ago

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Thank you for your feedback. Stephanie, I apologize that this was your experience with Sunnova. This is not the typical Sunnova experience. I have reviewed your account and see that a case has been created to address your concerns. One of our Issue Resolution agents will be in contact with you today to ensure that all of your questions and concerns get addressed. ^MO

Jul. 11th, 2019

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Glenn Schoen

Had other panels before Sunnova added more.When finished they turned on their panels but not the others.

3 years ago

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Hello Glenn Schoen, we are sorry to hear that this was your experience with Sunnova. If you could please send us a message to with your System ID/Phone number where we can reach you? One of our Issue Resolutions Specialist will contact you. ^OA

Jan. 8th, 2020

star star star_border star_border star_border

shirley deel

I have true up each year besides PGE bill and $122. a mo to Sunnova. The true up is 1500, dollars a year. It is from PGE for electricity used but not covered by solar. It is awful. Isn't there a way out of this ?

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

O.O

my appliances are shutting off if the iron and microwave are being use at the same time.

2 years ago

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Good morning O.O, Thank you for bringing this to our attention . If you could please send us an email to with your contact information/system id and one of our Issue resolutions specialist will contact you within 1-2 business hours. Thank you ^MP

Feb. 11th, 2020

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Chris

Quick to Install but still have not fixed the hole they put in my ceiling it's been a month

3 years ago

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Hi Chris, thanks for bringing this to our attention. We are sorry to hear about your experience. Can you send us a private message with your system ID and a phone number where we can reach you? One of our Issue Resolution Specialist will give you a call.^MO

Nov. 15th, 2019

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Ashley Hamblin Lebanon, PA

Lack of communication, system has retired and been off line more than on and producing

3 years ago

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Hello Ashley, thank you for bringing this to our attention. We are sorry to hear that this was your hold time experience. Could you please send us a private message with your system or contact number. We will escalate your concern to the appropriate department to contact you.^MO

Oct. 21st, 2019

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Dianne Auburn, MA

Nothing happened as stated first bills coming in do not reflect savings instead an increase

3 years ago

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Hello Dianne, we are sorry to hear this was your experience with Sunnova, this is not a typical Sunnova experience. Our drive is to make Solar hassle-free by being attentive. Could you please send us a private message with your system id or contact number so we can reach you? Thank you!^MO

Oct. 21st, 2019

star star star_border star_border star_border

TG105 North Dartmouth, MA

Trinity Solar is great to work with especially salesman named Kyle. Sunnova was uncooperative when we tried to cancel & their customer service was rude/terrible.

2 years ago

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Hello Jillian, thank you for reaching out. We are very sorry to hear about your experience with the cancellation. One of our agents will reach out to you to discuss the conversation that took place. Thank you. ^JD

Jul. 20th, 2020

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

David

Our bills have gone up significantly since energy production

2 years ago

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Hello David, we are sorry to hear that this was your experience with Sunnova. If you could please send us a private response with your System ID/Phone number where we can reach you? One of our Issue Resolutions Specialist will contact you. ^MO

Feb. 26th, 2020

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Laura Curry

Contacting you is horrible and I keep getting bounced around

3 years ago

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Good Morning Laura, thank you for bringing this to our attention. Could you please send us a private message with your system ID/Phone number where we can reach you? We will look into this right away. ^MO

Oct. 8th, 2019

star star star_border star_border star_border

Gloria Louise Broussard Houston, TX

I like the savings . I don't like the way I have been treated regarding my contract. I have been put aside, like it doesn't matter.

2 years ago

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Hello Mrs. Broussard, we are here to help. One of our agents will contact you soon to help get this issue resolved. Thank you. ^JD

Jun. 1st, 2020

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

David M. Walker Deltona, FL

So far the system is not doing what I was sold on.

2 years ago

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Hello Mr. Walker, Thank you for reaching out. I see that the agent assisting you with your open case did attempt to reach out to you earlier today. I will contact her directly so she can follow up with you again tomorrow to address these issues for you. Thank you.^JD

Jun. 22nd, 2020

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Mrs Ream

They need better communication with the inspectors

2 years ago

Sunnova Logo

Reply from Sunnova

Good morning Mrs. Ream, Thank you for bringing this to our attention we use all of our customer comments to better our customer service programs. Thank you for choosing Sunnova. ^MP

Feb. 11th, 2020