Best Company Guarantee Project Solar Logo

Project Solar

star star star star star_half

8.3

Overall Score

sell See Special Offer chevron_right

error This company may not service all states.
See states serviced
LAST UPDATED: February 20th, 2024

Project Solar is a professional solar installation company that also offers customers a do-it-yourself option.

Founded in 2016, the company is dedicated to reducing the cost of going solar by reducing overhead, streamlining its lean infrastructure, and doing away with the door-to-door sales force so many other solar companies have come to rely upon. Instead, the company employs a salsmen-free calculator that pulls from multiple government APIs to accurately measure and predict the solar performance of a given customer's roof. In short, Project Solar can give homeowners an accurate solar quote in real-time

Through its expertly designed solar panel systems, Project Solar aims to not only make solar affordable, but also accessible to anyone wishing to save money on their utility bill and achieve energy independence.

thumb_up

The Good

  • High-Quality Solar Equipment
  • DIY Solar Option
  • Transparent Pricing
  • Sufficient Workmanship Warranty 

High-Quality Solar Equipment

Project Solar sources its solar equipment from a number of top-level manufacturers. It’s standard solar set features panel from Jinko Solar, which come with a 25-year equipment warranty and an energy efficiency of more than 20 percent — considered an elite rating in the solar industry. The company also uses Enphase micro inverter modules and ranking equipment from industry leader Iron Ridge that can be affixed to either asphalt or tile roof types.

If customers wish to upgrade their panels, Project Solar has partnered with the following manufacturers:

  • Aptos
  • Q CELLS
  • LG
  • Panasonic

In short, regardless of budget, Project Solar has a solution for everyone. 

DIY Solar Option

Project Solar aims to turn the traditional solar business model on its head by providing customers with the option to install the solar PV system themselves. To accomplish this, and make the process as simple as possible for customers, Project Solar’s expert team handles the design, engineering, permitting, and final electrical work.

Meanwhile, all the customer needs to do is climb up on the roof and affix the mounting equipment, screw on the solar panels, and run the wires to the home’s electrical panel — and save thousands of dollars in the process.

DIY Solar installation through Project Solar is available across the majority of the continental United States (jurisdiction permitting).

Transparent Pricing

Because Project Solar makes its solar energy systems available to DIY enthusiasts via delivery, the company has applied and disclosed a flat-rate pricing model to help curb the cost of adopting solar energy.

The company does not discriminate based on state incentives, and calculates its price in terms of price per watt — meaning the cost of equipment and/or labor per watt of clean, renewable the system is designed to produce:

  • Equipment — $1.19 – $1.40 per watt
  • Full-Service Installation — $1.54 – $1.75 per watt

All of these figures reduce significantly once state and federal incentives (like the Federal Tax Credit) area applied. Once the customer is ready to move forward with the projected quote, Project Solar requires a $100 deposit.

As a bonus, Project Solar provides customers with a free solar ROI calculator that analyzes roof layout and past utility bill costs to produce a custom solar system built for maximum solar savings.

Sufficient Workmanship Warranty

Though the company focuses mainly on designing systems that almost any homeowner can install without professional help, Project Solar does offer professional solar installation services, with a workmanship warranty of 10 years — considered the industry average.

Most solar companies warranty their systems against damage or errors caused during the installation process, as well as the cost of accompanying maintenance, for anywhere between 5 and 25 years.

Visit Site

thumb_down

The Bad

  • No Lease or PPA
  • Additional Fees for Non-Standard Solar Panels

No Lease or PPA

As Project Solar is mainly interested in helping customers take full advantage of all available solar incentives — many of which are only available to customers who own their systems — the option to rent a system via solar lease or buy solar energy via a power purchase agreement (PPA) is not a part of the company’s financing product.

Instead, Project Solar requires a $250 deposit from both DIY customers and homeowners interested in full-service installation. For DIY customers, full payment (either in cash or via a solar loan) is required before parts can be delivered; for professional installation, half the payment is due upfront and half after the system has been installed. 

Additional Fees for Non-Standard Solar Panels

Customers should be aware that if they opt for panels from Panasonic, LG or any other manufacturer not mentioned in Project Solar’s standard set, the price of their solar panel system will increase.

This price variance is true of all solar panel installation companies. That said, Project Solar’s standard package with panels from Jinko Solar will satisfy the energy needs of most customers.

gavel

The Bottom Line

Project Solar has a unique approach to solar installation that translates to greater savings for everyday customers. Its top-of-the-line solar equipment and flat-rate pricing model are attractive selling points for DIY enthusiasts and solar supporters alike.

Customers should note that solar lease and PPA options are not available through Project Solar, and they are encouraged to read verified Project Solar reviews to see if this company is right for them.

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

bestcompany guarantee

Best Company guarantees your satisfaction if you choose a company that has earned this distinction. If you're not satisfied after 30 days, simply let us know and we'll give you $200. Yes, it's really that simple.

Learn More About Our Guarantee

Star Rating

info

4.4

star star star star star_half

165 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

64%

4 grade

19%

3 grade

4%

2 grade

4%

1 grade

9%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star star_half

Quality

star star star star star_half

Service

star star star star star_border

Trustworthiness

star star star star star_half
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Leann Pioneer, CA

We had a great experience with the original purchase and install. However, when we have tried to get contacted about installing battery backup we have not been successful with them returning our inquiry, this has been disappointing to say the least. We would say the first install was 5 star and our attempt for battery backup has been one star so for that reason, I guess I need to give them a 3 for now.

5 months ago

Project Solar Logo

Reply from Project Solar

Hello Leann, thank you so much for sharing this valuable feedback. We're sorry to hear that your experience the second time around hasn't met expectations, and we're looking into this further. Our team has been in touch to assist you with your inquiries. Please contact us with any further questions or concerns at [email protected], and have a great rest of your day!

Sep. 14th, 2023

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Shawn DeLand, FL

My project took over a year, account reps changed more than a few times, and then in the end it was a lot of stuff that was overlooked that I had to deal with after the fact. Install was troublesome. The installer took Three weeks with almost zero communication. They would leave and I had to find out when they were coming back after all that it took them two months to come replace the faulty main breaker, which was dangerous because the equipment could not be shutdown if the utility company needed to. I would be liable if anyone was hurt on working on the line So it was kind of bumpy all the way from purchase to install. The equipment is from a well tested industry, standard stuff, no complaints of hardware whatsoever. Wish it had gone a little smoother 🤷🏽‍♂️

1 year ago Edited January 10, 2024

star star star star_border star_border

Jamie Jones

Update: Project Solar has reached out and worked with us to resolve our issues and compensate us for lost solar generation. Our project took almost a year to complete. Our financing (through their company) expired twice because of delays on their part costing us tens of thousands extra. Communication with the company is almost non existent. We recieved and signed an initial agreement that the company is now refusing to uphold, and they are now billing us a much higher price including late fees (even though this is the first invoice sent) and extra labor for their screw ups, delays, and inability to get quoted parts. The extremely limited customer service has been rude, dismissive, unhelpful and threatening throughout the entire process. Save your time, money and sanity and go with a reputable company, which Project Solar is not.

8 months ago Edited July 17, 2023

Project Solar Logo

Reply from Project Solar

Hello Jamie, thank you for reaching out. We apologize that your experience has not met expectations, and we'd like to provide some clarification on this issue. You signed your original contract on July 18th, 2022. After completing engineering for your project, we discovered that a derate would be needed for your project, and we provided an addendum to your contract for an added cost of $650. The calculations for this document unfortunately populated the equipment cost (not including installation) as the "New Project Total Cost". This is clearly an error, as the equipment and installation costs are listed directly above, and do not add up to the listed total cost. Additionally, we clearly communicated to you that a derate would add $650 to your project, not reduce the cost. Our Director of Customer Experience and other management are reviewing this information, and we will reach out to you directly to work with you to further discuss this issue and negotiate a solution. In the meantime, please reach out to [email protected] with any further questions or concerns.

Jul. 3rd, 2023

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Avi

The workers rushed through the installation process which I wasn't happy about. The costumer service is pretty laid back and extremely casual, so there was a lack of customer focus.

1 year ago

star star star star_border star_border

David Mead Denver, CO

Great price, horrible customer service. Delays due to incompetence over and over again. Swapped panels at install without knowledge, roof leak after install, microinverters not working at PTO. Unable to get replies back from the company to get my problems fixed. The day of this review a manager that could actually assist reached out. Compensated me financially and was able to get the job done shortly after. Project Solar stepped up with permits, and signage when the installer wouldn't respond. Reaching a manager that would actually respond didn't happen until my review. The product is good, getting to this point was painful. Happy to be done and happy that the panels are working as they should be at this time.

1 year ago Edited September 19, 2022

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Trevor Steen Commerce City, CO

Over 7 months start to finish. Long periods with no communication. I had to do a lot of the work at the end to get my system fully connected.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Gary W Johnson Grover Beach, CA

I had many problems/changes with your process and different staff movement in and out, you were very new

1 year ago