Powur Solar Logo

Powur Solar

star star star star_half star_border

5.9

Overall Score

error This company may not service all states.
See states serviced
LAST UPDATED: December 3rd, 2022

Headquartered in Del Mar, California, Powur is a solar energy installation company that has installed thousands of residential solar systems across 13 US states since its founding in 2014. Powur has partnered with a number of industry leaders to provide homeowners with quality solar panels, inverters, backup batteries and solar generators, and other energy efficiency upgrades designed to reduce the monthly utility bill as well as help the environment.

Powur Energy was featured as a top-thousand fastest growing company on the Inc. 5000 list for 2019.

thumb_up

The Good

  • Simple Installation Process
  • Competitive Warranties
  • Zero-Down Financing
  • Broad Service Area

Simple Installation Process

Going Solar with Powur is straightforward. Customers will first meet with one of the company’s Solar Consultants to assess the home’s current energy needs and solar output potential. The homeowner will then provide the consultant with the home’s latest utility bill to help the company calculate potential savings.

Following this initial consultation, the Powur will consult with its partner network to develop a number of possible solutions customized to the homeowner’s needs. Once homeowners have reviewed this custom proposal, they will be able to choose the plan that works best for their budget as well as their solar energy ambitions. Once the solar installation contract is signed, the installation process will begin.

Though Powur subcontracts the labor portion of the solar installation process to qualified partners, every solar project is overseen by Powur’s quality-assurance team, project managers, operations managers, and operations directors.

Competitive Warranties

Per information on the Powur website, all solar equipment comes with manufacturer’s warranties good for up to 25–30 years (solar panels, 25-year minimum; solar inverters, 12–30 years), which guarantees performance and protects against damaged or defective equipment for essentially the lifetime of the solar energy system.

Powur also provides its own, 10-year workmanship warranty, considered the industry average. This guarantees all installation work on the solar panel system, electrical panel, and roof, for the first 10 years of operation.

Zero-Down Financing

In addition to direct purchase, Powur also allows homeowners the option to finance their solar energy system through a zero-down, low-interest solar loan. Solar loans provide all the advantages of direct purchase, most notably access to the Federal Solar Tax Credit, while also alleviating the substantial upfront costs of going solar.

Broad Service Area

Although Powur has only been around since 2014, the company covers a lot of ground, serving residents of 13 US states and districts:

  • Arizona
  • California
  • Colorado
  • District Of Columbia
  • Florida
  • Maryland
  • Nevada
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • North Carolina
  • South Carolina
  • Texas
  • Virginia
thumb_down

The Bad

  • Not Vertically Integrated
  • Specific Solar Brands Not Mentioned
  • Not NABCEP Certified
  • No Lease or PPA Options

Not Vertically Integrated

Though Powur Solar is well-versed in the solar installation process, the company is not vertically integrated, meaning multiple parties from different companies are involved in installing the actual solar PV system on the roof. This type of business model, while shown to reduce costs to homeowners, can create confusion for customers as well, as it can engender multiple points of contact and possible communication lapses.

Specific Solar Brands Not Mentioned

Every solar project installed through Powur comes with industry-leading warranties; however, customers may not see the exact brand of solar equipment available to them until they receive their customized proposal. Not all solar panel or inverter manufacturers are created equal; the brand of solar panel in particular can affect the energy efficiency, durability, and overall cost of the solar panel system.

Leading solar companies make this information clear and available without requiring customers to obtain a free quote.

Not NABCEP Certified

Powur Solar does not appear to hold a certification from the North American Board of Certified Energy Practitioners (NABCEP), considered the gold standard in solar installation training. Though the absence of this designation in no way implies poor service or installation quality on the part of the company, NABCEP-certified solar installers set themselves apart as true, industry-recognized experts.

The presence of an NABCEP certification can also make the difference to homeowners comparing multiple providers.

No Lease or PPA Options

While Powur provides two paths toward solar panel ownership, the company does not offer solar leases or power purchase agreements (PPA), which can prove incredibly cost-effective for customers with limited budgets. Both options place the burden and benefits of ownership on the installing company, meaning homeowners only pay for use of the system (or the energy it produces) and not for installation or necessary maintenance.

gavel

The Bottom Line

Powur allows each customer to choose from multiple, customized plans to help them make the switch to solar. Every solar project comes with a zero money down option and is overseen by a qualified team. Homeowners are encouraged to read verified Powur reviews to see if this company’s solar offerings are right for them.

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

not_listed_location

Powur Solar Frequently Asked Questions

How will I know if my house qualifies for solar? Do I need a certain type of roof?

A Powur Independent Energy Consultant will meet with you at your home to look at your roof’s orientation and material to find out if you can go solar. The consultant will take into consideration how much sun exposure the roof has by using your specific location or coordinates, whether there are any obstructions, such as large trees, and whether the roofing material is suitable for solar panels. Most roof types are suitable, but certain types may require a different type of installation, and your consultant will submit all the details for an accurate proposal. Your roof and sun exposure will be analyzed by professional solar designers who use state-of-the-art software to design the most beneficial and efficient system for your home.  If there are problems or limitations with your home, the consultant will let you know if they can be fixed. Sometimes a new roof or creative solutions, such as a ground mount, are required.

What is the process after I sign the contract with Powur Solar?

Powur has an eight-stage process for installing and turning on a new solar energy system: 1. Contract Signing with your Powur Independent Energy Consultant 2. Site Survey Scheduling — Stage 2 will begin up to four days after the completion of Stage 1. Powur will do an onsite property survey so it can create an accurate solar design. Your Powur Independent Energy Consultant may complete this immediately after contract signing, or a Site Survey Technician will conduct it at a later date. Powur recommends that someone is home during the survey. 3. Site Survey Completion — Stage 3 will begin up to four days after the completion of Stage 2. When the site survey is complete, Powur’s design engineers will draft a unique plan for your property, which will be submitted to the local city government for review and permit approval. 4. Permit Submission — Stage 4 will begin up to two weeks after the completion of Stage 3. Final plans will be submitted for permitting with your local jurisdiction. This is generally the longest part of the process as Powur waits for approval from your local permitting office. No action is required on your part. Powur handles everything. 5. Permit Approval — Stage 5 will begin up to four weeks after the completion of Stage 4. Once the permit is approved, Powur will reach out to you to schedule an installation date. Once confirmed, the equipment will be ordered and the installation team will get ready.  6. Installation Scheduled — Stage 6 will begin up to three days after the completion of Stage 5. Once the installation is scheduled, it will be time to prepare for the big day. A typical home installation takes one to three days. A team of Powur installers will bring the system components to your home and complete the installation as efficiently and safely as possible. Please plan on being home at this time. Also, please read Powur's COVID-19 No Contact Solar Policy to understand our safety protocols. 7. Installation Completion — Stage 7 begins up to four weeks after the completion of Stage 6. Once your new solar power system is installed, Powur will schedule an inspection with the local building department. 8. Permission to Operate (PTO) and POWUR ON! — Stage 8 will begin up to four weeks after the completion of Stage 7. Once inspected and approved, the utility will install the net meter. You will be asked to attend a post-installation orientation and Q&A session, as well as fill out the company's customer success survey to ensure all of your questions are answered and you are completely satisfied. Powur will also email you a Customer Closeout Packet, which contains all the documentation related to your project.

How long does installation take with Powur Solar?

The entire process can take a few months (see the question “What is the process after I sign a contract?”) since acquiring permits and scheduling inspections make up the bulk of the installation process. But the actual installation only takes about one day. Very complex or large systems often take two days. 

With solar technology improving regularly, why should I go Powur Solar now?

Yes, solar technology has shown vast improvements over the last few decades, and more people have adopted solar in the last 5 to 10 years than ever before due to the Federal Investment Tax Credit, which has saved U.S. homeowners millions of dollars.  Unfortunately, the ITC is stepping down from 26 percent in 2020 to 22 percent on January 1, 2021, and then disappears entirely on January 1, 2022, for residential properties. So if you want to save as much money as possible, go solar right away. It often takes a couple of months between signing a solar contract and turning on the system, and the system must be installed by December 31 to qualify for the ITC. 

Are there product and labor warranties and guarantees with Powur Solar?

All panel manufacturers warranty their products and provide a guarantee of energy output. Depending on the manufacturer and model, a typical warranty is 10 to 12 years and energy output is guaranteed for 25 years. Inverter warranties range from 12 to 25 years depending on the manufacturer. Most batteries carry a 10-year warranty, and solar installers usually warranty their work as well. In addition to manufacturer warranties, Powur offers SolarInsure end-to-end insurance on the solar energy systems that we sell. SolarInsure’s policy offers 30-years extended warranty protection that covers 100 percent of the parts and labor associated with the manufacture, delivery, and installation of panels past the manufacturer’s warranty with no deductible.

How long do Powur Solar solar panels last?

Solar panels are designed to continue operating for decades, and most manufacturers guarantee they will produce energy efficiently for 25 years. Many panels will produce energy at a lower efficiency for another 20 years. Panel efficiency decreases over time due to chemical deterioration or just wear and tear after years of weather exposure. The National Renewable Energy Labs (NREL) has studied panel output and degradation — or efficiency reduction — and found that on average, panel efficiency goes down by 0.5 percent per year. So after 20 years, panels will produce 90 percent of the energy they produced in their first year.

How long after my Powur Solar installation will I start saving money?

Once your system is connected to the electrical grid and turned on, you’ll start saving money on your electric bill immediately. You will still receive a bill from the utility for monthly grid access fees (and gas charges). You may also still use some electricity from the utility if your solar energy system doesn’t offset 100 percent of your energy needs, but your bill should be significantly reduced from your pre-solar days.

I live in a neighborhood with an HOA. Can I still go solar with Powur Solar?

Many HOAs do allow solar panels on homes, but homeowners must ask their permission before signing a contract with a solar provider. HOAs control the aesthetics of the neighborhood and may not allow systems such as ground mounts. Solar access laws exist in several states, which prevent HOAs from denying or severely restricting solar energy for their residents. Find out what covenants, requirements, or regulations are in place at your HOA, and be sure to tell your Powur Independent Energy Consultant so he or she can have your system designed following the guidelines.

What is $0-down solar and how does it work at Powur Solar? What about leasing?

Many people think that solar is expensive and that they have to pay for a system in full and upfront. You can do this if your finances permit, but there are two easy ways to finance a system: A low-interest loan and a lease.  A low-interest loan allows you to choose a term (5 years, 10 years, or more), and a fixed annual percentage rate. You would finance the loan for your system with no money down. Once your system is installed and turned on, you would pay back the loan every month for a fixed amount, and your electric bill would be greatly reduced as your system provides all or most of your energy needs. The monthly payments are typically lower than your average electric bill and help to build equity in your home since solar energy is an asset. Leasing a system also lowers your monthly energy costs during the term of the lease (typically 20 years), and you would make monthly payments to the lessor. However, you’re renting the system, and the lessor gets all of the available incentives and rebates. Also, if you decide to sell your home, the lessor must transfer the lease to the home buyer. The lessor is responsible for maintaining the system, and the lease should include a “buyout” price if the homeowner decides to purchase the system at the end of the lease.

What if I don’t qualify for a traditional loan or lease?

Some states or cities offer Property Assessed Clean Energy Programs (PACE). Homeowners who want to make major home improvements, including solar energy, can apply for a PACE loan, which is guaranteed against the home rather than the homeowner. The money is paid back to the lender through annual property taxes.  A Solar Power Purchase Agreement (SPPA or PPA) is similar to a lease in that the homeowner doesn’t own the system, the SPPA company receives all the incentives, and maintains the system. But instead of renting the system, the homeowner agrees to purchase the power generated by it at a per-kilowatt-hour price for the life of the contract (usually 15 to 25 years) and for less than what the utility company would charge.  It’s important to compare the prices of buying vs. using an SPPA to make sure you’re saving money. And ask the provider before signing a contract what happens if you decide to sell your home before the contract expires.
Message from
Powur Solar

You have made the decision to switch to solar energy — that is awesome! Now the next decision you have to make is who to trust with this decision. Who will be the best partner to take you on this journey to energy independence? The answer is Powur.

Powur is like no other solar energy company in the industry. Our sole mission is to accelerate the adoption of clean, sustainable energy worldwide, and we take the mission seriously. You can count on us to be with you every step of the way. Rest assured that we will work harder than any other company in the industry to ensure that you have an exceptional customer experience.

Why Powur?

Powur was named one of the fastest growing private companies in the United States by Inc5000 magazine. Powur is one of the largest residential solar providers in the United States. Powur has installed thousands of systems and offers the best in financing and warranty services. Powur is a Public Benefit Company — our mission is to do good by our community and the environment.

keyboard_arrow_up keyboard_arrow_down

Star Rating

3.3

star star star star_half star_border

98 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

45%

4 grade

8%

3 grade

6%

2 grade

11%

1 grade

30%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star_half star_border

Quality

star star star star_half star_border

Service

star star star star_half star_border

Trustworthiness

star star star star_half star_border
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Tatanisha

Communication is a little off. They need to work on communicating with their customers. There has been confusion. Still from my understanding that the equipment is good it is just their customer service that needs improvement.

2 years ago

Powur Solar Logo

Reply from Powur Solar

Thank you for the feedback Tatanisha, I will let the team know and make those suggested improvements.

Dec. 4th, 2020

star star star_border star_border star_border

Momo Oviedo, FL

Very disappointed, The fact that I was offered enough panels to produce 100% energy when I reality I’m only producing 30-50%. Right after installation the first few months was great. My electric bill was around $15 a month. Right around June or July I started getting a bill of $70 dollars. Communicated with installation company a number of time till finally they sent a technician to take a look at it. Was never told what was the problem. Ok so then the following month I get another bill for $65. I called and email installation company again, They said that it might be because of my trees blocking the sun. I said well the sales rep knew I had trees but never mention to me that the trees would be a problem. The only thing the sales rep said was to keep my trees trimmed. Which I did right after installation. Costing me $700 . Never heard back from the again. So I got in contact with the sales rep and explained what was going on and he said the same excuse , I need to trim the trees and again I said I did right after installation and have proof. Then he said he will contact the installation company so they can take a look. They came over and said the system is working fine. The only problem is that I’m getting a lot of shade. I said well if my trees are a problem then why sale me a system that cost me a fortune knowing that was going to be a problem? I live in central Florida and I get plenty of sun year round. Just around fall and winter the sun is more south and of course the tress are in the south side of the house. So most of the morning sun is blocked. But how would I known that. I trust your company to know this things. So now I’m only producing around 35-40% energy and still getting a $60 bill plus the loan. So in reality I’m being screwed any ways paying two different company when j thought I’ll just be paying the loan. I feel lied to and taken advantage. I’ve had taken pictures of the roof at certain hours of the day and have seen the sun hitting directly to my panels and when I look on the app it seems like if there was no sun at all. I keep saying to them through emails that I think there is a problem with the panels even though it shows it’s working but I never get a response back. But what do I know. I don’t sale or install solar panels. I guess I’m pretty screwed for the next 20 years. And never had someone teach me how my system or my app works . I do as best as I can using google.

11 months ago

Powur Solar Logo

Reply from Powur Solar

Dear Momo, thank you for taking the time to bring this issue to our attention. We're sorry to hear you're not receiving the anticipated value of switching to solar with us and that you feel like Powur was not transparent. This is not how handle our business and we'd like to address the situation so we can get you back to that $15 electric bill and back to enjoying your solar system. Please email our Customer Care team at [email protected] Once we receive your request, our specialists will immediately take a deeper look into your system performance. We look forward to working towards a satisfactory resolution for you.

Dec. 15th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Lucas Penitas, TX

I had some issues with installation crew which never got resolved in the way we wanted...I was never told about the way panels were going to be set up by the seller and I'm very disappointed on the outcome

1 year ago

Powur Solar Logo

Reply from Powur Solar

Lucas, thank you for your feedback, we work diligently to improve any issues out customers have with our installation partners so your feedback is valuable to us in making these improvements.

Jan. 4th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

William Bowen

The system that was discussed with me and the options I was supposed to have was not the system I ended up with. Now I am looking at another 9k plus to get the system to do what I wanted in the first place.

2 years ago

Powur Solar Logo

Reply from Powur Solar

William, this is unacceptable to us and we will get our Operations Team to reach out to you to resolve these issues.

Nov. 20th, 2020

star star star_border star_border star_border

59 Garage ,

Our Solar project got signed in October. We were promised a 4-6 week completion. Our sales rep helped take care of our loan and tried to keep communication with the permit and install process. The team dropped the ball and said they had submitted permits to the county. I checked the status and the county said this was incorrect and it should go through the city. Powur was a via a referral from another friend/neighbor who had his installation without issue. He confirmed that permits needed to go through the city. Our rep followed up and permits were submitted properly to the city. Did they lie about submitting or were they submitted without any follow up or known destination? There was never a reason from the team about what happened. The team appeared to be back on track. Our panel needed to be upgraded (Additional significant cost). Another plan was signed off and resubmitted. Permit was issued. Now there’s a drop in communication about the actual install even though the online process says we have a scheduled install date. The team says there’s a problem with underground wiring to the panel. We live in a residential city with a variety of neighbors getting solar installed without any issues. We’re about to pull the plug because we have no real communication with the team without constant prodding from our sales rep. We’ve consulted with other larger solar installers. They don’t seem to know about why underground wiring would matter. When we signed on in October, we wanted communication above all. This team is crushing that hope that this company is legitimate and will be able to complete the project let alone assist if there are any future issues with warranties or repairs.

1 year ago

Powur Solar Logo

Reply from Powur Solar

Thank you for your feedback and for the detail regarding your install. We will get to the bottom of this for you, please email [email protected] and we will get you updated and get this project back on track for you.

Jan. 12th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Maria

It’s not functioning. I am very dissatisfied that they have not gotten back to us. We have been paying a great deal on the bill still. They do not return phone calls.

2 years ago

Powur Solar Logo

Reply from Powur Solar

Sorry to hear this Maria, this is not the kind of service we aim to give to our customers. Please send an email to [email protected] so we can assist you with getting resolution.

Dec. 4th, 2020

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Amarjit

My bill is still high. It is almost a hundred dollar difference but they told me it was going to be more like a hundred and eighty dollars.

2 years ago

Powur Solar Logo

Reply from Powur Solar

Amarjit, sorry to hear that you are not getting the most saving possible, hope you are enjoying the extra $100 saving you have achieved.

Dec. 4th, 2020

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Nadezda

Because it's been four months and I'm paying for solar panels that are still not connected or activated

2 years ago

Powur Solar Logo

Reply from Powur Solar

We apologize for any issues you are facing as a result of not being connected, I will send this feedback to our Ops Team.

Dec. 4th, 2020

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Stephania Smith

Because we have had them for 2 months now and we're having nothing but trouble with thim

2 years ago

Powur Solar Logo

Reply from Powur Solar

Stephania, this is not acceptable to us, we will get our Operations Team to reach out to you to get your issues resolved.

Nov. 20th, 2020

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Anonymous

Because they took forever to complete the installation

2 years ago

Powur Solar Logo

Reply from Powur Solar

This is unfortunate, we apologize for any inconvenience this caused, hopefully you are enjoying your new system and saving money on your energy costs.

Dec. 4th, 2020

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Roberto Valdez Jr

Because I'm still getting a light bill over $200

2 years ago

Powur Solar Logo

Reply from Powur Solar

This is unfortunate for sure, I will get one of our customer care folks to reach out to you.

Nov. 24th, 2020