Powur Solar Logo

Powur Solar

star star star star_half star_border

5.9

Overall Score

error This company may not service all states.
See states serviced
LAST UPDATED: December 3rd, 2022

Headquartered in Del Mar, California, Powur is a solar energy installation company that has installed thousands of residential solar systems across 13 US states since its founding in 2014. Powur has partnered with a number of industry leaders to provide homeowners with quality solar panels, inverters, backup batteries and solar generators, and other energy efficiency upgrades designed to reduce the monthly utility bill as well as help the environment.

Powur Energy was featured as a top-thousand fastest growing company on the Inc. 5000 list for 2019.

thumb_up

The Good

  • Simple Installation Process
  • Competitive Warranties
  • Zero-Down Financing
  • Broad Service Area

Simple Installation Process

Going Solar with Powur is straightforward. Customers will first meet with one of the company’s Solar Consultants to assess the home’s current energy needs and solar output potential. The homeowner will then provide the consultant with the home’s latest utility bill to help the company calculate potential savings.

Following this initial consultation, the Powur will consult with its partner network to develop a number of possible solutions customized to the homeowner’s needs. Once homeowners have reviewed this custom proposal, they will be able to choose the plan that works best for their budget as well as their solar energy ambitions. Once the solar installation contract is signed, the installation process will begin.

Though Powur subcontracts the labor portion of the solar installation process to qualified partners, every solar project is overseen by Powur’s quality-assurance team, project managers, operations managers, and operations directors.

Competitive Warranties

Per information on the Powur website, all solar equipment comes with manufacturer’s warranties good for up to 25–30 years (solar panels, 25-year minimum; solar inverters, 12–30 years), which guarantees performance and protects against damaged or defective equipment for essentially the lifetime of the solar energy system.

Powur also provides its own, 10-year workmanship warranty, considered the industry average. This guarantees all installation work on the solar panel system, electrical panel, and roof, for the first 10 years of operation.

Zero-Down Financing

In addition to direct purchase, Powur also allows homeowners the option to finance their solar energy system through a zero-down, low-interest solar loan. Solar loans provide all the advantages of direct purchase, most notably access to the Federal Solar Tax Credit, while also alleviating the substantial upfront costs of going solar.

Broad Service Area

Although Powur has only been around since 2014, the company covers a lot of ground, serving residents of 13 US states and districts:

  • Arizona
  • California
  • Colorado
  • District Of Columbia
  • Florida
  • Maryland
  • Nevada
  • New Jersey
  • New Mexico
  • North Carolina
  • South Carolina
  • Texas
  • Virginia
thumb_down

The Bad

  • Not Vertically Integrated
  • Specific Solar Brands Not Mentioned
  • Not NABCEP Certified
  • No Lease or PPA Options

Not Vertically Integrated

Though Powur Solar is well-versed in the solar installation process, the company is not vertically integrated, meaning multiple parties from different companies are involved in installing the actual solar PV system on the roof. This type of business model, while shown to reduce costs to homeowners, can create confusion for customers as well, as it can engender multiple points of contact and possible communication lapses.

Specific Solar Brands Not Mentioned

Every solar project installed through Powur comes with industry-leading warranties; however, customers may not see the exact brand of solar equipment available to them until they receive their customized proposal. Not all solar panel or inverter manufacturers are created equal; the brand of solar panel in particular can affect the energy efficiency, durability, and overall cost of the solar panel system.

Leading solar companies make this information clear and available without requiring customers to obtain a free quote.

Not NABCEP Certified

Powur Solar does not appear to hold a certification from the North American Board of Certified Energy Practitioners (NABCEP), considered the gold standard in solar installation training. Though the absence of this designation in no way implies poor service or installation quality on the part of the company, NABCEP-certified solar installers set themselves apart as true, industry-recognized experts.

The presence of an NABCEP certification can also make the difference to homeowners comparing multiple providers.

No Lease or PPA Options

While Powur provides two paths toward solar panel ownership, the company does not offer solar leases or power purchase agreements (PPA), which can prove incredibly cost-effective for customers with limited budgets. Both options place the burden and benefits of ownership on the installing company, meaning homeowners only pay for use of the system (or the energy it produces) and not for installation or necessary maintenance.

gavel

The Bottom Line

Powur allows each customer to choose from multiple, customized plans to help them make the switch to solar. Every solar project comes with a zero money down option and is overseen by a qualified team. Homeowners are encouraged to read verified Powur reviews to see if this company’s solar offerings are right for them.

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

not_listed_location

Powur Solar Frequently Asked Questions

How will I know if my house qualifies for solar? Do I need a certain type of roof?

A Powur Independent Energy Consultant will meet with you at your home to look at your roof’s orientation and material to find out if you can go solar. The consultant will take into consideration how much sun exposure the roof has by using your specific location or coordinates, whether there are any obstructions, such as large trees, and whether the roofing material is suitable for solar panels. Most roof types are suitable, but certain types may require a different type of installation, and your consultant will submit all the details for an accurate proposal. Your roof and sun exposure will be analyzed by professional solar designers who use state-of-the-art software to design the most beneficial and efficient system for your home.  If there are problems or limitations with your home, the consultant will let you know if they can be fixed. Sometimes a new roof or creative solutions, such as a ground mount, are required.

What is the process after I sign the contract with Powur Solar?

Powur has an eight-stage process for installing and turning on a new solar energy system: 1. Contract Signing with your Powur Independent Energy Consultant 2. Site Survey Scheduling — Stage 2 will begin up to four days after the completion of Stage 1. Powur will do an onsite property survey so it can create an accurate solar design. Your Powur Independent Energy Consultant may complete this immediately after contract signing, or a Site Survey Technician will conduct it at a later date. Powur recommends that someone is home during the survey. 3. Site Survey Completion — Stage 3 will begin up to four days after the completion of Stage 2. When the site survey is complete, Powur’s design engineers will draft a unique plan for your property, which will be submitted to the local city government for review and permit approval. 4. Permit Submission — Stage 4 will begin up to two weeks after the completion of Stage 3. Final plans will be submitted for permitting with your local jurisdiction. This is generally the longest part of the process as Powur waits for approval from your local permitting office. No action is required on your part. Powur handles everything. 5. Permit Approval — Stage 5 will begin up to four weeks after the completion of Stage 4. Once the permit is approved, Powur will reach out to you to schedule an installation date. Once confirmed, the equipment will be ordered and the installation team will get ready.  6. Installation Scheduled — Stage 6 will begin up to three days after the completion of Stage 5. Once the installation is scheduled, it will be time to prepare for the big day. A typical home installation takes one to three days. A team of Powur installers will bring the system components to your home and complete the installation as efficiently and safely as possible. Please plan on being home at this time. Also, please read Powur's COVID-19 No Contact Solar Policy to understand our safety protocols. 7. Installation Completion — Stage 7 begins up to four weeks after the completion of Stage 6. Once your new solar power system is installed, Powur will schedule an inspection with the local building department. 8. Permission to Operate (PTO) and POWUR ON! — Stage 8 will begin up to four weeks after the completion of Stage 7. Once inspected and approved, the utility will install the net meter. You will be asked to attend a post-installation orientation and Q&A session, as well as fill out the company's customer success survey to ensure all of your questions are answered and you are completely satisfied. Powur will also email you a Customer Closeout Packet, which contains all the documentation related to your project.

How long does installation take with Powur Solar?

The entire process can take a few months (see the question “What is the process after I sign a contract?”) since acquiring permits and scheduling inspections make up the bulk of the installation process. But the actual installation only takes about one day. Very complex or large systems often take two days. 

With solar technology improving regularly, why should I go Powur Solar now?

Yes, solar technology has shown vast improvements over the last few decades, and more people have adopted solar in the last 5 to 10 years than ever before due to the Federal Investment Tax Credit, which has saved U.S. homeowners millions of dollars.  Unfortunately, the ITC is stepping down from 26 percent in 2020 to 22 percent on January 1, 2021, and then disappears entirely on January 1, 2022, for residential properties. So if you want to save as much money as possible, go solar right away. It often takes a couple of months between signing a solar contract and turning on the system, and the system must be installed by December 31 to qualify for the ITC. 

Are there product and labor warranties and guarantees with Powur Solar?

All panel manufacturers warranty their products and provide a guarantee of energy output. Depending on the manufacturer and model, a typical warranty is 10 to 12 years and energy output is guaranteed for 25 years. Inverter warranties range from 12 to 25 years depending on the manufacturer. Most batteries carry a 10-year warranty, and solar installers usually warranty their work as well. In addition to manufacturer warranties, Powur offers SolarInsure end-to-end insurance on the solar energy systems that we sell. SolarInsure’s policy offers 30-years extended warranty protection that covers 100 percent of the parts and labor associated with the manufacture, delivery, and installation of panels past the manufacturer’s warranty with no deductible.

How long do Powur Solar solar panels last?

Solar panels are designed to continue operating for decades, and most manufacturers guarantee they will produce energy efficiently for 25 years. Many panels will produce energy at a lower efficiency for another 20 years. Panel efficiency decreases over time due to chemical deterioration or just wear and tear after years of weather exposure. The National Renewable Energy Labs (NREL) has studied panel output and degradation — or efficiency reduction — and found that on average, panel efficiency goes down by 0.5 percent per year. So after 20 years, panels will produce 90 percent of the energy they produced in their first year.

How long after my Powur Solar installation will I start saving money?

Once your system is connected to the electrical grid and turned on, you’ll start saving money on your electric bill immediately. You will still receive a bill from the utility for monthly grid access fees (and gas charges). You may also still use some electricity from the utility if your solar energy system doesn’t offset 100 percent of your energy needs, but your bill should be significantly reduced from your pre-solar days.

I live in a neighborhood with an HOA. Can I still go solar with Powur Solar?

Many HOAs do allow solar panels on homes, but homeowners must ask their permission before signing a contract with a solar provider. HOAs control the aesthetics of the neighborhood and may not allow systems such as ground mounts. Solar access laws exist in several states, which prevent HOAs from denying or severely restricting solar energy for their residents. Find out what covenants, requirements, or regulations are in place at your HOA, and be sure to tell your Powur Independent Energy Consultant so he or she can have your system designed following the guidelines.

What is $0-down solar and how does it work at Powur Solar? What about leasing?

Many people think that solar is expensive and that they have to pay for a system in full and upfront. You can do this if your finances permit, but there are two easy ways to finance a system: A low-interest loan and a lease.  A low-interest loan allows you to choose a term (5 years, 10 years, or more), and a fixed annual percentage rate. You would finance the loan for your system with no money down. Once your system is installed and turned on, you would pay back the loan every month for a fixed amount, and your electric bill would be greatly reduced as your system provides all or most of your energy needs. The monthly payments are typically lower than your average electric bill and help to build equity in your home since solar energy is an asset. Leasing a system also lowers your monthly energy costs during the term of the lease (typically 20 years), and you would make monthly payments to the lessor. However, you’re renting the system, and the lessor gets all of the available incentives and rebates. Also, if you decide to sell your home, the lessor must transfer the lease to the home buyer. The lessor is responsible for maintaining the system, and the lease should include a “buyout” price if the homeowner decides to purchase the system at the end of the lease.

What if I don’t qualify for a traditional loan or lease?

Some states or cities offer Property Assessed Clean Energy Programs (PACE). Homeowners who want to make major home improvements, including solar energy, can apply for a PACE loan, which is guaranteed against the home rather than the homeowner. The money is paid back to the lender through annual property taxes.  A Solar Power Purchase Agreement (SPPA or PPA) is similar to a lease in that the homeowner doesn’t own the system, the SPPA company receives all the incentives, and maintains the system. But instead of renting the system, the homeowner agrees to purchase the power generated by it at a per-kilowatt-hour price for the life of the contract (usually 15 to 25 years) and for less than what the utility company would charge.  It’s important to compare the prices of buying vs. using an SPPA to make sure you’re saving money. And ask the provider before signing a contract what happens if you decide to sell your home before the contract expires.
Message from
Powur Solar

You have made the decision to switch to solar energy — that is awesome! Now the next decision you have to make is who to trust with this decision. Who will be the best partner to take you on this journey to energy independence? The answer is Powur.

Powur is like no other solar energy company in the industry. Our sole mission is to accelerate the adoption of clean, sustainable energy worldwide, and we take the mission seriously. You can count on us to be with you every step of the way. Rest assured that we will work harder than any other company in the industry to ensure that you have an exceptional customer experience.

Why Powur?

Powur was named one of the fastest growing private companies in the United States by Inc5000 magazine. Powur is one of the largest residential solar providers in the United States. Powur has installed thousands of systems and offers the best in financing and warranty services. Powur is a Public Benefit Company — our mission is to do good by our community and the environment.

keyboard_arrow_up keyboard_arrow_down

Star Rating

3.3

star star star star_half star_border

98 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

45%

4 grade

8%

3 grade

6%

2 grade

11%

1 grade

30%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star_half star_border

Quality

star star star star_half star_border

Service

star star star star_half star_border

Trustworthiness

star star star star_half star_border
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Chris Gotcher McKinney, TX

Ghosts. That is the best representation of this company. I'm in west Texas and I believe I have been screwed with a $40k system that is not going to help me. Since they supposedly finished a month ago and got permitted to turn on the system, nobody from any of the 3rd parties involved to the company that sold me the system will return emails or phone calls. I have no idea if we are producing power or if its just sitting there looking pretty. These people have no idea what customer service is.

4 weeks ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Stacy Los Osos, CA

I am not sure what "home office" is for San Luis Obispo County. There are several different locations for Powur solar throughout California, and I see that some of them get good reviews. Our experience with Powur in our local area was terrible. The sales rep (Rick J) was at the least not upfront with us and at the worst flat out lied to us to make the sale. He told us that Powur's solar panels are made in the United States, while competitors panels are made in China. This was a big selling point for us. We actually asked for clarification from him several times about this, because in the contract it did not specify that the panels were U.S. made. He assured us that yes they are made in the United States. When the crew came to install, a local company called Axiom (which, by the way, they were great), the panels were in a box with "MADE IN MALAYSIA" on it. I immediately took a picture and text Rick and our "project manager" (who by the way was a total lop and did next to nothing) to ask for an explanation. We never got a satisfactory answer. After doing some research on the company, Hanwha, I found out that they have facilities in China, Malaysia, South Korea and the newest facility is in the United States. Hanwha panels can be made from any one, or a combination of, any of these faciltites and you don't know where yours are coming from exactly, but that's not what the sales person told us. They should be up front and direct with people about that. We complained, and Powur just told us too bad so sad, we didn't do anything illegal. Knowing what I know now, we would have went with the local company Axiom, the subcontractor. They did all of the work anyway. Our experience with Powur was awful, there was little communication from our assigned "project manager" (I put that in quotes cause she managed nothing, that title is a total joke). Go elsewhere.

3 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

David Arlington, TX

The Powur salesperson promised me that I would be able to get power from my solar panels if the grid went down. Oncor said I could have my solar panel power my house if the grid went down. However, my installer said I would lose power if the grid went down. I have worked with Sarah W for over 8 months now trying to get what my Powur sales professional promised. Even though I bought 23 solar panels, Mon, Aug 8, 2022 at 5:03 PM Sarah W wrote: "We can only sell you a battery with 8 panels attached as per the finance companies and our current business model. I have not been able to talk to a manager and customer care has been a complete waste of my time.

4 months ago

Powur Solar Logo

Reply from Powur Solar

Hello David, We're so sorry to hear about your less-than-optimal experience. Here at Powur, we strive to provide world-class service for everyone interacting with our platform. We appreciate that you've brought this to our attention, and we would like to offer education about how your solar system works. Since a battery is not listed in your contract, it can't store the energy produced; the meter was changed to connect to the utility grid. This allows you to draw power from the grid when your system is not producing power, like at night. During the day, your home self consumes the energy it makes, and any overproduction is automatically sent to the grid. Don't hesitate to contact your utility company to inquire about a net metering plan and confirm that you are on a solar buyback plan to ensure that the utility company is crediting you for overgenerating power. For your convenience, here is the link to the solar buyback plans in Texas: https://www.texaspowerguide.com/solar-buyback-plans-texas/. Powur is committed to serving our customers, and we are constantly striving to improve the overall customer experience. Please let us know if there are any other questions or concerns we could help you with, and it will be our pleasure to assist. You can get in touch with us directly by emailing [email protected] Respectfully, Powur Customer Success Team 1-866-GO-POWUR

Nov. 17th, 2022

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Terry Dallas, TX

Around April of 2020 I had my Solar panels installed. I was initially told by sales representative Levi that the panels would reduce my electric bill by approximately $180 a month. I’ve never received more than $25 credit to my monthly bills for solar. In fact, the first month I received a wopping $7. I have text Levi on several occasions and recently requested that he send someone to checkout my system. He text me saying I have to contact your company to have the system checked. No one explained how the system operates. I’ve had these panels for 27 months and have never received a credit on my monthly bill of more than $25. I’m still paying over $290 for bill averaging monthly plus the monthly payment for the solar system. I’m extremely dissatisfied with this system and requested that you stand behind your product and make this right.

4 months ago

Powur Solar Logo

Reply from Powur Solar

Dear Terry, Thanks for bringing this concern to our attention. We are sorry to hear this has been an inconvenience to you and would be more than glad to help you understand how your solar system works. The electric company does not credit you for 100% of the energy your solar system produces. You consume energy directly from the system in the daytime and only send the excess energy you do not consume into the grid, which then gets applied as a credit on your bill. So, for example, if your solar system produces 1,000 kWh, you only see 500 kWh applied as a credit on your utility bill for that same time. You consumed 500 kWh of solar energy directly from the solar system during the day. You consume from the grid, which is your total consumption on your utility bill. The cost of your consumption is offset by the excess solar energy sent to the grid. Your electric company does not measure how much solar energy you consume from the panels; they only measure what you pull from the grid. After thoroughly reviewing the information you provided, we could not locate you in our system. Don't hesitate to contact us via [email protected] or by phone so that we can assist by reviewing if your system is functioning appropriately. Respectfully, Powur Customer Success Team 1-866-GO-POWUR

Nov. 17th, 2022

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

surfr10132 Agoura Hills, CA

TOTAL BAIT AND SWITCH COMPANY - This company installed faulty wiring and installed a battery that does not last for more than 2 hours. Worse, I gave them 3 chances to fix my issues and they no showed me and then called saying that they refuse to fix it. Per their supervisor Daniel they would not be fixing my solar or battery. I was told that I would get a battery system that would power my lights at night and instead after they installed the job they said that I would have to spend even more just to get what they had promised me in the first place, makes no sense why I would have to spend more money just to get what I was promised in the first place. They also use sub-contractors who are greasy at best and mark up their pricing. Powur is a sales organization that will take your money and run! Buyer beware!

4 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Daisy Astudillo Spring, TX

Worst company ever. My solar panels stopped working 3 months ago and this company avoids your calls to fix it. They take your money and then leave you with a loan and high electrical bill. Other customers with same complaints. Wish I would of picked other solar company

3 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

DMitch Arlington, TX

My salesman, Moses, promised me that I could have electricity when the grid went down and that I could bank the electricity in fall, winter, and spring to offset the high electric bills during the TX summers. He lied. I contacted my project manager (Sarah) and customer service many times to work out a solution. On 5/10/22 @ 7:37 I was told that my system was wired to code. ...in other words 1. My salesperson and project manager weren't properly trained. If they were, they would have known what code was and wouldn't have made those promises or 2. My installer had more than one way to wire my system to code and chose not to deliver what I bought. I am stuck with solar panel that won't provide me electricity if the grid goes down and won't provide enough electricity to allow me to exchange my monthly payment for my panels for my electric bill as I was promised. I am now paying about 25% more a month with solar heading into the summer month where my electric use more than doubles. I tried to make things right with Powur and was stonewalled. I would not buy from Powur again and would welcome a call from them to verify this is true. They have my number.

6 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Sean Kelly

Zero stars. Worst company I have ever worked with. Sub contracted all work then I was required to coordinate with the sub contractors if there was an issue. Installation was supposed to be 2 days. Waited a month to be inspected by the local power company before system could be green lighted to be turned on. After the system was green lighted to be turned on it took 4 more visits and 3 weeks for them to come out and troubleshoot between other installations. 7 full weeks between install and power output by solar panels. Another issue. I was supposed to have a connector installed with the system to use my generator for power at night and during power outages. This is not installed 2 full months since solar installation. Every step of the way communication, specifically returning my calls, has been an issue. Not merely a matter of a few minutes or hours to receive replies but several days or to a week for replies. I have called their help desk and the sales associate again and again trying to find out when my system will be completed. I am 100% fed up with them. 8 months from initial contact to nearly complete solar install with the contract being signed and permitted for 4 months of that. 4 months to go from approved permits to nearly complete solar install. DO NOT USE POWUR.

8 months ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

M. Manyweather

Once the contract was signed I never heard from the sales agent again. I was dealing with a new person/company with no real explanation of the parties. My roof was not checked prior to install and wouldn't have been if I had not insisted. Today, I don't even have Solar but I keep getting these requests to review which is evident that there was no follow through.

1 year ago

Powur Solar Logo

Reply from Powur Solar

Thank you for your feedback, I will get your info over to our Operations Team to see how we can get this resolved for you.

Jan. 4th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Martha

Once installation was done there were a couple of issues, we had broken roof tiles and it took three months for us get the monitoring program so we were not happy with that part. The whole system went down during a storm and we didn’t have access to the backup battery. They need a service oriented person for once the system is up an running to explain how it works and make sure things are programmed correctly.

2 years ago

Powur Solar Logo

Reply from Powur Solar

Thank you for this very constructive feedback, I will let the Ops Team know that we need to get someone in place for system issues post installation.

Dec. 4th, 2020

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

John Schloeter Tampa, FL

Nothing, they are terrible. They install my system in March 2021 and it stopped working in June 2021, we are in April 2022 and it still has not been fixed. Customer service is terrible, they have no idea what they are doing and do not respond to emails or calls I have been paying double for the panels and my electric utility and they are not even taking responsibility for any of these costs.

7 months ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Luis

I have had a couple of issues with the process and I am still waiting for some answers. Installation was scheduled for a certain date and it did not occur that day. It happened a different date where I wasn’t notified. I think the equipment seems fine but I am still waiting for the app information so I can monitor the output.

2 years ago

Powur Solar Logo

Reply from Powur Solar

Sorry to hear your experience was less than optimal, we will strive to get you the answers you need.

Dec. 4th, 2020

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

William

At first it was great then they just stop communicating and taking my phone calls. Left them a million messages and never received a phone call back. Recommended to a couple of friends but will definitely inform them of the horrible service and miscommunication.

2 years ago

Powur Solar Logo

Reply from Powur Solar

William, this is not the service that Powur prides itself on, please reach out to [email protected] directly

Nov. 24th, 2020

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Jonathan Nakhla Marlboro, NJ

Stay away from POWUR under all circumstances possible. My family has had extremely terrible experiences dealing with them since the last week of July in 2021. It has been 6+ months since we first applied for our permits in NJ. It took them from July of 2021 until mid November to have the permits approved which were rejected by the township two times because their inability to follow correct fire protocols. I personally had to visit the township two separate times in order to get to the bottom of why our permits were being rejected so many times and send updates to the team since their own installers were lazy and not following up with our project. On the day of our installation in mid November I was told they would be arriving in between 8-9am on Nov 16. At 8:55 AM I receive a phone call that they will no longer be coming to install because the equipment did not arrive on time. I had taken a day off of work for this and they threw that at my face. Our system ended up finally getting installed on December 14th and we have been waiting for permission to power on but during the final inspection the township did not pass it because of certain fire conduits not following guidelines. During this whole process we have barley been updated or followed up with. We would go over 4/5 weeks without hearing from Ms. Lauren D & Mr. Domenic P. The lack of professionalism and responsibility from this company is infuriating. We were supposed to be installed and able to power on by the end of October at the latest and we are now towards the end of January with absolutely no progress. To top it all of Mr. P gave my family a $250 Amazon gift card for all of these inconveniences which is honestly a smack in the face after all the troubles and inconveniences this company has put us through. Their prices are competitive for sure but looking back I would much rather pay extra for a company that will do the job in a timely and correct manner. Stay away from POWUR. I have friends in the same township who applied for permits in august and were installed by mid/late September and able to operate their systems by late October. There’s no excuse for why our project is 6+ months in and we have yet to power our system on. Obviously they have no idea how to properly manage a project. The installer for our project who’s name was Ed was absolutely atrocious in handling our project and I would highly advise for you to avoid this company at all costs.

10 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Gail Port Charlotte, FL

We signed our contract in March 2022 and so far we still aren’t on solar. I feel like we have been scammed. Our solar panels so far are purely decorative. Not at all happy.

4 months ago

Powur Solar Logo

Reply from Powur Solar

We’re so sorry to hear about your less-than-stellar experience. Here at Powur we strive to provide world class customer service for everyone who interacts with our platform and truly appreciate you bringing this opportunity to improve the overall experience to our attention. After reviewing your project, we see your system has been completed pending main panel inspection. We've noted that you have also incurred property damage due to the recent hurricane. We have escalated your project and are working with your homeowners insurance policy to coordinate all necessary repairs to complete your project. Powur is committed to serving our customers, and we are constantly striving to improve the overall customer experience. If you need support in the meantime, you can get in touch with us directly at [email protected]

Nov. 15th, 2022

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Gregory Huntington Beach, CA

Never met any deadlines. Would not return my calls. Charging me 2650 to cancel after they continued to push back the project. Did not get a permit for my electrical panel. Worse experience I’ve had with any company. Please be careful with this company.

8 months ago

Powur Solar Logo

Reply from Powur Solar

Hi there Gregory, thank you for taking time out of your day to bring this to our attention . We apologize for the experience you had with our team. We set a high standard for ourselves, and we’re disappointed to hear you didn’t experience this level of work ethic. If you would email [email protected] with your full name and address, we'd like to rectify your situation. We've alerted our head customer specialist to anticipate your email in order to resolve this situation with a solution that you find fair and that meets your expectations. Again, thank you for bringing this to our attention.

Mar. 23rd, 2022

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Ross

There should be more streamlined customer support when things get installed. I had my system installed in August and it is November and it is still not turned on. It is not a good process.

2 years ago

Powur Solar Logo

Reply from Powur Solar

This is not good news, thank you for reaching out and letting us know. I will send your response to our Ops Team.

Dec. 4th, 2020

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Simonette

Installation was long and difficult. It took like three months before my work was completed. You can never reach anyone. They need to make sure they have a management team on board to answer any questions to help.

2 years ago

Powur Solar Logo

Reply from Powur Solar

So sorry to hear that you did not have an optimal experience with us. Hopefully you are enjoying your system and gaining some cost savings on your energy. Thank you for your business.

Dec. 4th, 2020

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Kevin Elmer, NJ

So usually when something seems to good to be true it is. Everything they sold me sounded great. Well now that my system is up and running "where are the big savings I was told I would see". I rolled in a new roof and financed the solar for 15 yrs. I was told your system would generate 95% solar but more likely 100%. They advised you will probably have at most a $15 bill to pay to electric company. Plus $1000 sign up fee due to being law enforcement. So I did recieve $1000, but now I see everyone seems to get that. I was told you wouldn't have to make a loan payment from 2 months after install. Well 2 months when by and still wasn't on yet. So I had my $400 electric bill plus the loan for $240. Finally everything was turned on and so much for my $15 to electric company. It was close to $150 plus my loan payment. I gave it 2 more months and no difference in savings. On top of this powur subcontracts another company that you have to work with. Then there the trecs. Very confusing setting them up and you have to enter all these different production numbers from one website to another. And it's been 3 or 4 months and being told I won't see them until November. So basically they pitch a great game, but reality your not saving or at least I'm sure not. Kevin R

1 year ago

Powur Solar Logo

Reply from Powur Solar

Dear Kevin, thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. We are sorry to know that your solar panels are not performing as you expected. We understand how frustrating this can be, as you anticipated bigger savings with your electricity bill. We would like to look into this issue with you and see if there is anything that needs to be adjusted in your system. Please, get in touch with our Customer Care team at [email protected] Once we receive your request, our specialists will take a deeper look into your system performance. We look forward to speaking with you and working towards a satisfactory resolution for you.

Nov. 24th, 2021

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Erick Saavedra Cypress, TX

Worst company ever. From install to service. I have the solar panels for 1 year now . First after they install it, nobody came to show me or make sure it was working. I had to figure it out myself after 2 months of install. The company apologized after I left a bad review on bbb.org and promise to send someone and even issue me a refund for the first 2 months, but nothing ever happened. Now after 1 year, they stop working. The inverted went bad (I had to figure it out). Got a new inverted replaced by Solar Edge and called Powur to send someone to replace it. 3 weeks and they can't still get the post install manager to come or say anything. I wish I had never let my friend sell me this and did more investigation about this company.

1 year ago

Powur Solar Logo

Reply from Powur Solar

Dear Erick, we are sorry to hear of the difficulties you had from install to service. This definitely doesn't sound like the service we aim to provide to our customers. We apologize for any inconveniences caused. It is of deep concern that our standards were not met in your customer experience. We would like to look further into this with you and work towards a satisfactory resolution. To start the process, please get in touch with our Customer Care team at [email protected] Once we receive your request, our specialists will take a deeper look into your project. We will do our best to make things right for you. We look forward to speaking with you.

Nov. 24th, 2021

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Billy Atlanta, GA

My system was installed about nine months ago, still waiting to finish the project. The sales rep,Leesa, originally told me I would be able to monitor my usage, that was never installed. During the install I wanted to add an additional battery and do whole home back up which solar edge made but, Powur wasn’t offering at the time is what I was told, just like they weren’t able to get me the Tesla system in Texas, according to Leesa, which is originally what I wanted. She informed me I could add in the extra battery, whole home back up and new inverter but would need a quote and an additional install. Ok, nine months later I am still waiting for a quote on the addition items I originally wanted and still no monitoring. I believe they use independent sales agents here in Texas and I don’t think that’s the best option as they can’t control their product. Leesa did put me I n touch with another electrician she uses but, he wasn’t interested in the add on and wanted to charge almost as much as the original install. Still not sure why she hasn’t just provided a quote through Powur...

1 year ago

Powur Solar Logo

Reply from Powur Solar

Hi Billy- Sorry to hear about your disappointment with your system. Just to clarify, production monitoring is available as a system feature and we will work to set that up for you. Additionally, battery systems are absolutely a feature you can pick out and adjust in the process of designing your system. Powur does with an incredible network of independent energy consultants in Texas as well as throughout the country and each independent energy consultant supports the homeowner throughout their solar journey. Every consultant is backed by Powur's systems and people. We have in contact and look forward to helping resolve your questions and concerns.

May. 28th, 2021

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Steven Ramirez La Mesa, CA

I tried to be patient and understanding with this company. Upfront Zarko is a great salesman. I was promised 3 for panels to be installed. Took longer than expected. I was told that they submitted permit to city and were waiting. I checked in that same week and there was no report of permit attached to my address. Eventually panels were installed. Longer wait than expected. It wasn’t until after install that I noticed that they drilled holes through the open ceiling and is visible from inside my home (I can share pictures if anyone is interested) my beams were damaged and ceiling panels were cracked and broken in half. I reached out to powur and of course they are blaming the contractor that they paid and approved to do the installation on my roof. I had them come out and repair some of the ceiling and they just bonded the ceiling panels with wood glue and sanded it. My ceiling looks horrible and patchy with other cracked spots. There was recently a storm and we had a leak. They blamed the storm for tearing off panels and causing the leak. I don’t believe this as other reviews shows that they have damaged roofing panels before. I am currently reporting this company and contractor to state license board and may pursue legal representation as they do not want to remedy the damage “only what is solar related”. They damaged my whole roof and are denying to fix the leak. MICHEAL M is the rep that I have been speaking with regarding remedying this situation. I hope this long review helps someone. STAY AWAY FROM POWUR! Their 25year warranty is garbage and they will fight you every step of the way.

1 year ago

Powur Solar Logo

Reply from Powur Solar

Thank you for allowing us the opportunity to address your concerns privately and work with you to resolve the issue to your satisfaction. We always strive to communicate honestly and openly throughout and after the installation process. We value all feedback as it helps us continually improve and are very happy that you were satisfied with the end result. If you have any further questions, please do not hesitate to contact us directly. We are always happy to help in any way we can.

Jun. 4th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Thomas Lynch

After installation support has been nonexistent. They don’t help me at all. I am not really saving money and they left my roof open for leakage. What they offer is crap.

2 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Sheldon Reece

Because my system still is not up and running. Nothing i was told have been done . I am very unsatisfied with the company and will not recommend them to anyone at this time.

2 years ago

Powur Solar Logo

Reply from Powur Solar

Hello Sheldon, we will get our Operations team to reach out to you and get these issues resolved.

Nov. 20th, 2020

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Ricky Rivera

cant get ahold of anyone and there are leaks throughout the entire house

1 month ago

Powur Solar Logo

Reply from Powur Solar

Hello Ricky, Thank you for bringing this to our attention. At Powur, we pride ourselves in the promise of open and honest communication throughout your solar system installation. Customer service is at the forefront of everything we do, and we would like to turn your experience around. We would like some help finding a project in our system for you based on the information provided. If you need help as soon as possible, please contact us. Our customer success team is waiting to help you. Respectfully, Powur Customer Success Team 1-866-GO-POWUR

Nov. 16th, 2022

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Todd

The representative I am dealing is great but the electric company they use as a subcontractor to install my equipment is terrible.

2 years ago

Powur Solar Logo

Reply from Powur Solar

Sorry to hear that our installation partner did not live up to your expectations, I will let our Operations Team know about your feedback.

Dec. 4th, 2020

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

James Walters Red Oak, TX

From the get go, its been a horrible experience. Numerous delays in getting the system installed, and the company is horrible about responding to requests. Have had the system installed for 3 months and already had several components replaced, but it's completely stopped working now and they aren't responding to my inquiries.

1 year ago

Powur Solar Logo

Reply from Powur Solar

Dear Mr. Walters, we are sorry to know that you had to experience this issue with your system and that your communication experience with us was not satisfactory. We apologize for the inconveniences caused. As mentioned through our email communications with you, on October 5th our service provider did a site visit to check your system. They were able to solve the issue you reported. Since then, your system is back up and running. The issue happened because your system required a firmware update. We are happy to report that the issue had nothing to do with the actual installation of your system. Please, know we always strive to provide a satisfactory resolution to any problems our customers could experience. If you have any other issues with your system in the future, please get in touch with us at [email protected] Also, based on your communication experience with us, we will make sure to improve it to provide an ever better experience. Thank you for your feedback.

Nov. 24th, 2021

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Lawrence Richards Clermont, FL

Signed contract in October 2020 and salesperson said will be up and running in 6 weeks. Now Powur company Account Manager says may take 3 months or more That means in 2021 March or April. I may not be able to use IRS TAX CREDIT FOR 2020. AVOID THIS POWUR COMPANY GO WITH A BIGGER CORPORATION.

2 years ago

Powur Solar Logo

Reply from Powur Solar

We apologize for the delays but due to COVID restrictions many of the local permitting offices and installation crews are down staff and this is causing delays in installation completion.

Dec. 4th, 2020

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Eduardo

Have not been able to use since it is not connected

2 years ago

Powur Solar Logo

Reply from Powur Solar

Eduardo, please reach out to the Sales Consultant that sold you the system in order to receive some guidance on usage of your system. If the utility gave you Permission to Operate then the system should be working.

Nov. 20th, 2020