PetersenDean Logo

PetersenDean

star star star star_border star_border

4.2

Overall Score

error This company may not service all states.
See states serviced
LAST UPDATED: June 22nd, 2022

PetersenDean has been installing solar systems and roofs for residences and businesses since 1984, which is much longer than many other solar installers have been in business. The privately held contractor works to provide residential and commercial customers with high-quality solar panels and roofs, helping them take the next step towards energy independence. 

The PV installer has a unique market approach because it has roofing solutions that are often part of the solar panel installation process. Residential energy storage solutions and battery backup options are available as well. The solar company believes that high standards are reached through the best quality, craftsmanship, and working materials.

A potential drawback with PetersenDean is its limited availability and lack of options for a solar lease or power purchase agreement (PPA). 

Note: This review primarily focuses on PetersenDean Solar. If you're interested in PetersenDean Roofing, you can read our PetersenDean Roofing review here.

Top Ranked Companies

SunPower Logo
#1 SunPower chevron_right
9.4 Overall Score
4.5
star star star star star_half
(3,380)
ADT Solar Logo
#2 ADT Solar chevron_right
8.7 Overall Score
4.5
star star star star star_half
(1,370)
thumb_up

The Good

  • Excellent Transparency
  • Buy and Loan Options Available
  • Low-Hassle Installation Process
  • 25-Year Warranty

Excellent Transparency

PetersenDean Solar is unique compared to other solar power companies in the industry because it discloses the price of its services. You can go to the company's website, select your state, and see pricing information for different packages and solar power systems. 

PetersenDean Solar packages start off with a minimum of 6 panels, which generate 1.68kW of power, and increase by increments of six to a max of 36 panels, which produce 10.08 kW of power. The residential solar installer advertises the use of high quality, American-made products in its solar modules. 

PetersenDean Solar also took the time to display the federal and state tax credits that come along with system ownership and calculate those into the price. 

Buy and Loan Options Available

The solar PV company's payment options include buying the system outright or getting a loan. PetersenDean's Freedom Flex loan allows customers to go solar for $0 down with no interest or payments for the first 12 months. Plus, there are no pre-payment penalties on the loan. 

Low-Hassle Installation Process

PetersenDean strives to make its solar installation process simple and low-hassle for customers. The process is as follows:

  1. Professional consultation: Consumers may calculate their savings online or call PetersenDean to get a free estimate over the phone
  2. System design: The solar energy company will measure the roof and find the best placement for solar panels
  3. Installation: The install will be carried out by true professionals with decades of residential roofing and solar experience to ensure that the system is built right and the roof is protected
  4. Final inspection and power up: Proper inspections will be made by the local building authorities and utility, and then the system will be powered up and begin producing energy

25-Year Warranty

PetersenDean Solar has one of the best warranty options in the solar industry, which covers you for 25 years and guarantees a certain level of production. 

If you decide to make changes to your system after a roof or solar panel has already been installed, you'll be able to take advantage of the contractor's reinstallation guarantee. If you want to upgrade your system through PetersenDean, the solar installer's trade-in guarantee promises that PetersenDean will buy back the original system. If you end up moving, your Protection Plan will be transferred to the new home owners. 

thumb_down

The Bad

  • No Leases or PPAs
  • Limited State Availability
  • Reported Customer Service Issues

No Leases or PPAs

PetersenDean does not offer any leases or PPAs. There are benefits and disadvantages with every payment option, but leases and PPAs help eliminate barriers to going solar because there is no down payment required.

Some customers may not have the savings to buy a solar system outright or the credit to get a loan, so offering a solar lease or PPA would provide opportunities for more consumers to take advantage of renewable energy with PetersenDean. 

Limited State Availability

PetersenDean is currently available in only six states: Arizona, California, Florida, Hawaii, Nevada, and Texas. This is relatively few when compared to some other top solar companies that are available in more than 15 states. 

There is an opportunity for this solar installer to grow and broaden its reach, therefore giving more consumers the chance to purchase one of its solar systems. 

Reported Customer Service Issues

Several user reviews on our site explain that one of the major issues with PetersenDean is its customer service. There seems to be some miscommunication between the corporate offices and its regional dealers, which causes delays getting solar PV modules and roofing systems installed. 

On top of that, PetersenDean does not have a good reputation for dealing with customer complaints. There have been a few cases reported where legal action was taken in order to resolve the issue. 

gavel

The Bottom Line

Overall, PetersenDean is a great company to consider for a solar installation if you live in one of the states it services, especially if you are interested in solar roofing systems and/or solar and battery systems. The solar contractor does an excellent job of being transparent by disclosing pricing and package information on its website, as well as information about federal and state tax credits.

Additionally, the solar energy company has been installing solar for more than 3 decades and has experience in both residential and commercial construction. Further, PetersenDean Solar has one of the best warranties in the industry. In addition to providing rooftop solar services, PetersenDean is also a roofing contractor and a battery installer, which is convenient if you are interest in a wider variety of product offerings.

However, PetersenDean does not offer leases or PPAs, which limits some consumers' ability to find a payment option that meets their needs. If you are someone who is looking to get a lease or PPA, a different solar power installer may be a better fit.

View Best Solar Companies

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Star Rating

3.0

star star star star_border star_border

98 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

37%

4 grade

14%

3 grade

2%

2 grade

7%

1 grade

40%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star_border star_border

Quality

star star star star_border star_border

Service

star star star_half star_border star_border

Trustworthiness

star star star_half star_border star_border
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Kb Citrus Heights, CA

I will not be recommending this company to anyone in fact they are scam artist and shouldn’t be in business all they care about is getting paid once that’s done we’ll forget about getting your issues address from one project manager to another to not uploading documents for inspection I’m paying for a solar system that is not even functional as it can’t pass inspection and no return calls or emails. This company bullying you into signing your financing so they can get paid with the promise of delivering on the job to make it right well it’s been 6 months now! Im considering legal action at this point! Do your self a favor just skip over this company as it’s no good!

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Linda van Ekelenburg Santa Rosa, CA

We have been trying to get our job done for ten months. The solar panels installed over a new roof are installed but not functional. Delay. Delay. Delay. There seems to be a cavalier attitude toward customer service. This can happen in any industry, but I'll tell you the unusual reason why this one issue of corporate malfeasance particularly galls me. I have seen Jim Petersen's commercials for years. When we moved to Santa Rosa we left a big house with 20 solar panels (from a different company) because of which the electric portion of our PG&E bill was always under six dollars. Why did I call Petersen Dean? For a very personal, illogical reason: I liked Jim Petersen. There, I said it. Right from central casting. He has the aura of a "Jack Armstrong, All-American" type character, the absolutely honorable, trustworthy guy, a big, tall, handsome, square-jawed, square-shouldered man with a steadfast gaze at the camera. A straight-shooter. And I fell for it. Panels made in America, by American workers: what's not to love? He is a celebrity executive. We have paid cash. Our job is about $25,000. They have been sitting on our money. We are in our seventies. I would pursue a case for the difference between what we should have paid in electric charges in the last six months and what we did pay, based on the PG&E usage charges but my life is stressful enough. I'm not a litigious person. I feel like I've been personally duped, and yet I have seen that there are many dissatisfied customers out here in the world. Actually, there is enough anger about this company, I wouldn't be surprised if someone filed a class action suit. My fantasy of the all-American good guy blew up in my face. It is a dirty feeling.

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Robert M Davis, CA

A disappointing experience. The sales team was prompt and excited to get the sale, developed a good proposal and worked to get a contract. Signed contract in May 2019. Project manager changed four times. Poor communication. Expected roof and solar to be installed in July. Roof installed in Sept. PD told us to be expect workers on Fri. No one showed up. Two weeks later, another call form PD, workers showed up. Was advised solar would be installed within a couple of weeks. Solar finally installed in Dec 2019 after we contacted PD numerous times. Jan 2020, the solar is still not turned on. We are making payments to both PG&E and PD. PD says PG&E is the delay, PG&E says PD is the delay. Others in the neighborhood who had solar and roof by "local" companies with contracts signed after May 2019 have working solar. PD has no idea when they will be able to turn on the solar they installed. However, keep making those payments to PG&E and PD. PD not returning either calls or emails. The radio commercials are not accurate. In my opinion, a joke of a company. Wish I could do it over.

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Jeremy Reno, NV

$17,688.20 refund... 3 months of lies and run around . DO NOT GIVE THEM MONEY !! Peterson Dean management and the accounting are not honest and deceitful . after my 3rd coordinator gave up on getting a response from management/accounting( this took 3 months) I have been told to call customer care. now after failed call backs and runaround from customer care now Ive been told to wait till the 20th of next month to get my money...lol I was told this back in November also. really what are they waiting for? " Peterson Dean has done me wrong" is the sign I want to make up ...boycott Peterson dean , they are not representative of American business and values . I know the two owners would never make a sweet uplifting commercial about what I've gone thru and plaster it all day long on tv ... oh by the way no corporate person has ever called me or emailed to help me , even though I have been told many times I would get a call the next day lol. You know folks I'm starting to think Peterson Dean management/accounting doesn't care about me ... that hurts my feelings ...lol Thanks for reading this and I hope you give this a thought before you spend your hard earned and taxed heavily money.

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Shawn D Chase Santa Rosa, CA

I will try and make this short. I signed a contract with PetersenDean and paid a 10% down payment on October 22, 2018. During this process, a PetersenDean inspector came out and checked out my roof. Although I was told on more than one occasion that my project would be completed (the last time was on September 11th of 2019, the Project Coordinator at that time told me that she was going to go to upper management if my roof wasn't fix soon). PetersenDean stopped communicating with me after that point until early November when the Project Coordinator responded to an email to tell me that they had canceled my project a month earlier. I called to find out why they had canceled my project and why they had failed to notify me only to learn that the project coordinator had no explanation. I spoke with a supervisor who said he would look into things for me. He failed to call me back. Finally, the day before it started to rain, a representative of PetersenDean called to say that they did not have the "resources" to get on my roof. I explained that other roofers had accessed my roof to get to neighboring condos. But i was assured that PetersenDean did not have the ability to access my roof. So, to believe PetersenDean, their own inspector did not realize that they did not have the resources to fix my roof when they signed my up. It then took them a year to figure out that they could not fix my roof. Upon learning that they did not have the ability to access my roof they failed to notify me. Finally, when confronted with the fact that they canceled my project without notifying me, their supervisor with whom I spoke with failed to call me back in a timely manner. As I write this, water is dripping into my bedroom, thanks PetersenDean!

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Lozada Daly City, CA

I had my Roof installed by PetersenDean I thought the sales men that came out were honest we talked about the Roof & gutters & they said it was all included the papers were sent by email I read the contract signed & sent it back! It was hard to set a installment day the workers finished the roof & ask why we did not get gutters ! I don't even want to get into what this company put me through & I realize the sales men were not honest at all & there is no way to make a long story short! I was looking into Solar & the warranty from my roof & solar but after reading a review from another person who decided to go Solar with PetersenDean because he had his roof done by them and it turned out to be a disaster can you imagine what would happen to me !

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Jay Fresno, CA

Like you John B. My system was based on my family size and I was told it would supply more than power that my small family needed. I paid over 1200 the first year and over 1300 the second of True Up and that does not include my monthly bill. Why is it that they can respond to these reviews, but they don’t call you back to help with solar issue. I thought customer satisfaction was important. Apparently not in this company. Those five and four star reviews, I don’t think the real.. If it was possible to give a zero rating I would. Because for the last two years I have not had one dime a savings only when I completely shut off the power in my house.

3 years ago

PetersenDean Logo

Reply from PetersenDean

We thank you for your feedback. What you have described is not the typical customer experience. I would like to look into this for you. Can you please provide the property address of your solar system and the best contact number in a private message or contact us at or (800) 564-0362?

Jun. 19th, 2019

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Chris Reed Reno, NV

Please read this if your looking into a solar system. I recently had PetersenDean put a solar system on my roof and felt compelled to write a review. Let me start, I consider myself a reasonable person and have only ever written 1 other bad review. But I feel compelled to help my fellow consumers. If I could turn back time 6+ months I would not have picked Peterson to install my solar system. I had 3 companies bid the job in the beginning and went with Peterson because the cost was about the same as others and they installed my roof so they would warranty any leaks or roof damage if anything came up. That was a big deal for me. In hind sign I have very little confidence in the system at this point and am really disappointed by how everything was executed. I will go over the issues that happened to me. Timeframe- much longer than they promised at the sales visit. Incentive (NV Energy portion)- Ended up being about 20% less than the proposal after everything was calculated. I am OK with this because I feel the other companies could or would have had the same things happen. The things that I found extremely concerning are as follows. Install Layout: If I had not be on site when they laid the system out they would have put it on the wrong roof! I literally stop the crew doing the layout and had to walk then through the blueprint they had. Actual Install- My biggest concern. Electrical- Major issues with how the electrical portion was installed. NV Engery had to rewire the main shutoff-done incorrectly. Exposed wire termination in the attic, a number of trips back to make things right. FYI they fired their electrician after my install. Structural- They need to hit rafters in your attic with large lagbolts for the aluminum runners the panels sit on. I inspected the attic side and a large percentage of lag bolt didn’t land in rafters/studs. Just in plywood, I’m nervous for the next big wind storm. They stated they install additional lag bolts but have recently removed a tilt in problem areas then they blatantly lied. Panels- Were installed not flat (looked live a wave on the roofline). I had to complain about it, PD said it couldn’t be done (to hard to get level) initially and it took the crew 10 minutes to fix in the end after I told them I would go up and straighten it out. Panel Wires- Failed inspection first round because they didn’t tie wires to the panels and were laying on the tiles to get abraded by wind. Inspector rejected it immediately. Vents- I don’t feel these were done to code. We will see if I get water, snow ingress this winter, or mice running down them. Update- I had both mice, water and wind ingress in two vents they modified. Roof- Tiles were broken and they didn’t fix all of them, had to clean up trash on the roof after install. Process- Labeling for code was a joke. Took them multiple visits to get write. It almost seem like it was this companies first install. Pretty much everything about the process made me question if spending $30K with this company was the right choice. I have very little confidence in the long term quality of this job. I plan to report back after 1 year. Update: 6 months in and the system is not producing what they promised AND I have had leaking issues on my roof that PD still have not come out and fixed. I spoke to three separate inspectors about some of these issues while they were at my house (Fire, Washoe and NV Energy). All three of them told me the best installer (that they see when inspecting) is Solar City/Tesla. I almost went this route and wish I had read a review like this, it was the same cost but I worried about Telsa at the time. I hate doing this (bad reviews) to companies, but this has been one of the worst consumer experiences in my life and its my home and cost a LOT of money so it has really impacted me and my opinion of PD. I really hope PetersonDean get this stuff fixed because I want them to be successful in the Northern Nevada market.

3 years ago

PetersenDean Logo

Reply from PetersenDean

Hello Chris, Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and concerns with us. We look forward to resolving these concerns with you, and work towards a positive resolution. Thank you, Corporate Customer Relations Petersen Dean Roofing and Solar

Apr. 2nd, 2019

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Cheri Somers Chandler, AZ

first off I had a 5.25wK solar array installed. It took them over 4 months to finally start the installation, then they used and inverter that was over 7 years old which I found out only has a 78% efficiency rating, and the solar panels were designed for northern California ( I live in the Phoenix AZ area) so again that also depletes the efficiency rating. My 5.25 kW system has yet to produce more then 3800 W in the heat of the day. My average daily output is about 18kW (per 6 to 8 hours productions). Then to top it all of they charged me $19,864.32 plus interest compounded daily. Then PD has tried to put my solar array as part of my mortgage, even though I am paying separately for this garbage. I am looking into possible legal action against PD for not disclosing that this is what they were doing to me. At this point in time between the lack of output and the "Demand Charges" that our Electric company is charging us (up to $38.57 /kW peak) my electric bill has more then tripled. I would never recommend PD for any person in AZ, and really don't recommend them for any area.

3 years ago

PetersenDean Logo

Reply from PetersenDean

Hello Ms. Somers, Thank you for your feedback. We maximize the efficiently of our install process while obtaining all necessary approval from the local jurisdiction and utility. Transparent communication on our equipment and system performance is important to us. The SMA inverter installed in your system has an efficiency rating of 97% percent. The solar panels are designed to withstand all weather conditions. We recommend cleaning modules a few times a year in dry arid climates where there is no rain to regularly wash the modules off. Transparent communication on our financing terms and conditions is important to us. We have several financing options available to service a variety of homeowner needs. Your feedback will be considered to improve our customer experience. Feel free to contact us at with any further questions or concerns. Best,

Apr. 3rd, 2019

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Don stout Lemoore, CA

Well it started off great. Then they said I would need to change the panel. We talked more money and we backed off. Then all of a sudden they came up with a brilliant plan. Add a sub panel like everyone else does. Hmm install day comes like a herd of buffalo on our roof. They broke and chipped many tiles. Replaced with completely different color or glued together with same color difference. The mess on the roof continued to fall off for a couple of months but the mess from their lunch I was able to pick up that day. After a roof leak I did a further inspection of our roof. Now I must replace our roof. Thinking that any good company would stand behind their product I offered PetersenDean the chance to take off the solar and reinstall after I do the roof. These guys are great let me tell you. They offered to cut the price of install in half. Only 3000$ to do their job a second time time only with my direct supervision. Personally I don’t know what I was thinking. They would probably damage my new roof too. For your own sake don’t pick PetersenDean

4 years ago

PetersenDean Logo

Reply from PetersenDean

PetersenDean goes to great lengths to satisfy our customers, while realizing we are in fact human beings that do at times make mistakes. That said your particular experience and review, which you have repeatedly posted across multiple regions has no basis in fact. It is merely an attempt to make a baseless claim for financial reward. We come to this conclusion with great pause, as we hold ourselves to a very high standard, but after reviewing your direct communication with our team members wheriein you make specific representation about your intent to litigate we are left with no other plausible option. Our legal department is now engaged in a investigation of all events and individuals involved so that both consequences and exonerations are meted out accordingly. Gary Liardon President - Consumer Division PetersenDean

Apr. 3rd, 2019

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Jennifer Marshall Harbor City, CA

I had to report Petersen Dean to the CSLB and a Citation was issued against Petersen Dean on 5-25-2018 and will remain on Petersen Dean’s License for 5 years. Citation No: 2 2017 1887 Petersen Dean brokered HERO Financing without a broker’s license. Petersen Dean revoked the financing when HR Block reported Petersen Dean and HERO misquoted the price and savings and were conducting a properly tax credit scam. Also, Petersen Dean left rotten wood on the roof, damaged the electrical, caused an autistic resident breathing problems by filling his bedroom and air vents with stucco powder and refused to use licensed Remediaton businesses to clean the vents, instead pressing 65 year old mom to allow strange men from Petersen Dean’s office to clean the two story house and vents with a leaf blower INSTEAD of a licensed Remediator. Building and Safety reported that Petersen Dean did not apply for a solar refund permit when they promised to remove the unaffordable solar panels and also failed to get a permit to alter the water heater on November 2, 2016. Space does not permit an account of the months of elder abuse the homeowners suffered as multiple Petersen Dean men took turns trying to scare her into signing documents.

4 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Scott J Fruchter Long Beach, CA

The pre-sale and installation was fantastic. They were very careful to make sure that everything looked great. But a computer based monitor that was supposed to be included, would take another 10 days. It is over two years and we still don't have it despite numerous phone calls. When the panels were damaged by a tree limb, they were too busy to inspect the damage despite my signed to a document allowing them to keep offer to pay for service call. My name was signed to a document allowing them to collect the government rebates despite my refusal to sign until my questions were answered.

4 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Don Y

Wish I had done more research and listened to my wife before wasting my time with this bunch, it wouldn't surprise me if they were used car salesmen in previous jobs. Got a quote from them last year, but I didn't trust their production calculation assumptions. In the end went with another vendor, who came in $2k less than PD's supposed best ever never before never again ad price, I wonder if people are effectively paying for their saturating TV ads. Things I learned: make sure to look at Yelp "Not recommended" reviews (Yelp's algorithm seems to scrub mostly negative ones, when you get bipolar distribution (super high and low), something seems off, right? One reviewer on Yelp claimed an attempted legal threat/bluff to shut him up, I wonder how many others just complied and removed bad reviews), as well as other sites, where some customers have detailed their tales of woe. Also look up (and some competitors if you like) in county court records (court search systems are dumb, use wildcards or they'll only grab exact spelling matches - hyphen, space, inc vs inc. vs incorporated), relatively busy bees there, do you wonder why? If part of the sales pitch is how bad the competitors are, probably not a good sign. Don't be mislead by a low quote and empty words ("believe me" - sound like a certain president?), if it's not in the final contract, you're on your own. CSLB can only help on outright non-function/damage on installation, not on any solar production claims (even if it were in the contract). Solarworld (panel maker on my quote) recently filed for bankruptcy, so what happens to warranties if they go bust? If you're willing to buy what you're fed hook line and sinker, or if you're lucky enough for everything to work out perfectly, maybe they rate a 10. But if the going gets rough.... watch your back.

5 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Rich H Coarsegold, CA

Please see my review on YELP. And photos of other Solar Sources Than Peterson dean. Their customer service sucks I understand your policy on referrals and it was not the referral policy I was upset with it was the insinuation of your office staff that me and my wife and your new customer Fred C were scamming Peterson Dean just to receive money and that we were lying about the referral. We're not liars we do not run scams as insinuated by your staff. Please note I am a business owner and if my staff made insinuations to my customers they would not be working for me they would probably be working for Peterson Dean. It sure seems convenient that when you check contracts they all have all the boxes checked when you check on them All your salespeople are perfect and never make any mistakes. Hope your profits go up this year. Rich H

5 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Gloria Espinoza

We have had service for two years and on the second year our PGE bill went up to $1750.00 overage for the year. We called Petersen Dean and they sent a man out and he went on the roof for about 10 minutes and determined nothing wrong. I kept calling and Raymond Torres said he was going to have someone call me back and also send someone else to check the system again. Well we have not heard from anyone yet. Very disappointing were just two older people who can not afford this type of unexpected bill. All we ask is to locate the problem so it doesn't happen again. But don't just ignore us. We paid cash for this system and wish we would have bought the swimming pool instead.

5 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Thomas Brown

28OCT16 - (We have been dealing with executive management level in CA for months!) We had to file a complaint with the Attorney General's Office and the Arizona Registrar of Contractors. The ROC listed Five Directives in a citation against Petersen Dean that they were to resolve, one being the tripping of the breakers. Even at this Petersen-Dean was being rude and belligerent in fulfilling the requests made by the directive and what they promised to rectify in the hearing in front of the Administrative Law Judge. It was determined during this hearing and later positively proved that I was NOT turning off the breakers on our solar panels as Petersen-Dean claimed in their "Written Response to Citation and Complaint" ROC# 2016-122. Petersen-Dean "FINALLY" (kicking and screaming) hired a real electrical company to come out and trouble shoot the issue with the breakers tripping; this was MORE THAN ONE YEAR after I first started reporting the issue to Petersen Dean with error reports generated by the monitoring software, pictures of the breakers in the tripped position and detailed emails; all going to deaf ears. It was discovered that the installation was of poor quality at best. The inverter boxes either were, or were about fill with water when it rained and the wiring from the service panel up to the the solar panels had nicks in it exposing bare wiring (which was causing the tripping of the breakers). Our warranty was "finally" with the threat of the Attorney General's involvement. Petersen Dean's "Written Response to Citation and Complaint" in regards to the voiding of warrant was also unjustified and totally inaccurate. I can and have proved everything in the "Written Response to Citation and Complaint" by Petersen Dean to the ROC and Administrative Law Judge as incorrect and out and out fabricated. We also had a battery backup system installed in Dec 2015 and it worked (maybe) for about a week. It sat along with our solar totally off for over 1 month. Petersen Dean NEVER sent out any technicians to trouble shoot the problems and blamed the manufacturer of the unit and myself for the problems. Since they never sent anyone or did anything to investigate the issue I have a tendency to believe that Petersen'd sub-par workmanship might have caused the battery system to malfunction (the breakers kept tripping during this time). We made a proposal to Petersen Dean after the ROC hearing that we would like a 100% refund on the battery system and they come and remove it from our home. This was yet another hassle with Petersen Dean. They just seem to come and lie and then argue with you. It was finally removed and then the next obstacle was to get our refund. I believe if we were still not communicating with the ROC and Adm Law Judge we still would be in Petersen Dean Limbo Land to this day. We requested and have never received the interest on the loans for the systems we had installed and have either never worked or only worked off and on (mostly off) for more than a year. They have refused to acknowledge this. Now that our system is up and running we have discovered it does not produced anywhere near what we were promised it would. arrrgggghhhh. We are still waiting on the determination of the ROC and Administrative Law Judge on whether Petersen Dean will even have a license to do business in the state of Arizona. As we truly expected here in Corrupt Arizona, the ROC and Administrative sided with PD even with evidence and proof of their corruption. This is one bad company and unfortunately we have a 20 year warranty on the solar panels. Our problems with customer service and being lied to and hassled by Petersen Dean have 19 more years to go. Something tells me this won't be my last post.

5 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

USMC Vet

Promised October installation now in December and yet still no firm date of installation they have plenty of excuses but only if you contact them not very good at pushing you information you must request it. Their customer portal is very limited regarding project details even though you are encouraged to use it to "know exactly where your project is in real time". Mine said "customer delay" only because I asked a couple questions that took about 2 weeks to answer. Using customer delay on my account even though I new nothing about it until questioned. My sales rep agreed the Portal is too limited in information to the customer. I would strongly suggest obtaining a contract with actual committed dates otherwise.

5 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Thomas Brown B M Goldwater A F Range, AZ

Review I made on Yelp. Response from President/Owner Jim Petersen, Response from me. 12/29/2015 Petersen Dean Roofing & Solar has voided the warranty on my solar system (that is not working btw) in what I believe is retaliation for filing a complaint to the Better Business Bureau and calling out the inefficiencies of management with the installation of my solar system and auxiliary battery solution. All allegations listed in the reasoning I can prove are not legitimate allegations. The General Council for Petersen Dean, who sent the voided warranty document to me lists items that I can be disputed with documentation to back it up. But they will not listen to this and blame me for their failed install along with placing blame on their business partner JLM Energy for voiding the warranty. I have spent over $51,000 and have a system, eight months later, is still not totally functional and with a voided warranty. I have a lot more supporting documents that support my allegations against Petersen Dean Please don't review this business if you received a freebie for writing this review, or if you're connected in any way to the owner or employees. 1/1/2016 Dear Mr. Brown: I feel compelled to your respond to you review of my business because it is factually inaccurate. PetersenDean did install a JLM back-up battery at your home in Arizona. PetersenDean obtained all of the necessary permits and inspections during and after the installation was completed. You, Mr. Brown took the battery apart and tampered with it. We sent techs back over and over again to put the battery back together and we walked you through why you should not tamper with or take apart this device. You did not listen and continued to tamper with it and like any other item such as a computer, an engine, a blow-dryer or wrist watch, if you take them apart, it could result in the warranty being voided. You received a letter from our General Counsel because you were making threats to me and my staff and in today's day and age, we take all threats seriously. I strive to make all of my customers 100% happy, but there are certain events that leave me no other choice but to take action to protect both of our rights. Taking apart and tampering with an electrical device can cause tremendous liability for both parties. In this case, I have to protect the right of PetersenDean and its employees. I know Mr. Garcia (from PetersenDean) has been in constant contact with you and he is happy to continue to do so, in an attempt to bring about a happy ending to this matter. Best regards, Jim Petersen Read less Mr. Petersen, I am sorry that you are listening to the fabrications presented to you by your employees. I DID NOT take the battery system apart as you claim. The face plate was taken off to troubleshoot (on the phone with JLM) to get to the front control screen when the system would not switch over the web-based monitoring. I have done nothing to void the warranty on my solar system, everything was done with the knowledge and approval of representatives of Petersen Dean. Once the system was installed your team left. It was never a complete install. The purchase included Solar and Battery Backup and one would assume it would be complete from the get-go, not just leaving the customer without any knowledge of the operation and maintenance. When I questioned your supervisor, JB on the way the essentials panel was being configured I asked this doesn't seem correct. Why would I spend $21,000 on a backup solution when all it appears it will do is run my fridge and internet in the even of the rare power failure here in Buckeye, Arizona. Your supervisor, JB, could not answer that question and when I explained to him that I am supposed to be able to utilize the system to offset power from the Grid with power from the battery backup he still could not answer this. I stated that "maybe" the essentials panel with the four breakers in it is only for total power outage and the system still will offset power from the grid utilizing the battery during normal activity and he stated yes that must be what it does. Not a single Pedersen Dean person here on-site, or assigned to my project could answer this. Once the system was up and running (without monitoring capabilities) the Envoy/Enlighten monitoring stopped working. I requested help from Pedersen Dean to send someone out to trouble shoot but once again was ignored and nothing happened. I discovered that for some reason the envoy does not recognize micro converters that are running via the essentials panel through the battery system. I was accused by Petersen Dean that I modified the arrays in the enlighten software to monitor the solar system. I sent proof in an email that I did no such thing but also added this is only a software that retrieves information and does not send ANYTHING back to the solar system, so no damage is possible. I never threatened any of your employees, that is pure exaggeration, what I did mention was I was about to get an attorney and report complaints. Now how this is this a threat to any one person? If you consider it a threat then you may, but you never gave me the option of being threatened to cancel my solar warranty, you retaliated because you and your employees apparently do not like being challenged by a customer, myself in this case, that seems to know a lot more about a product that you sell than you do. I was told your team was going to California to be trained on the installation of the JLM battery solution, but come to find out just prior to my installation, your fist in Arizona, they reviewed installation videos. I also viewed these videos and they are for the end user not a qualified trained professional. When an issue of the system not starting when installed your technicians did not even have any support contact number. When you came back days later to try to trouble shoot this issue further it was apparent that the manufacturer was not contacted. It was not until I contacted the manufactures support department that day and connected him to your technician did the start up issue get rectified. The system has not been inspected by the city as you state and I have heard nothing more to when it is going to be inspected, or if it was canceled due to all the issues Pedersen Dean was having. Either way I have heard nothing (as usual). The conversation that I had with your supervisor, JB was he and the installation technicians had no clue what the city was going to inspect since they themselves did not know anything about the system and only went off the diagrams they were given on the electrical schematics. They even left the system up and running (which you used as an excuse to voided the solar warranty) and one of the reasons being is any breaker in the essentials panel will only produce power to the outlets they provide power to in the house when the system is up and running You are also now blaming the company JLM Energy that manufactures the battery solution of contributing the voiding of my warranty because it is their hardware and software that caused it. You are a business partner of JLM and to now treat them like you are treating me the customer. I believe it is mentioned someplace that you provide 100% customer satisfaction. Well that is not true. I have been a good customer, unfortunately it has come to this because your lack and expertise. I would also recommend that your technicians tell the customers that it is okay to power up the solar system prior to PTO from the utility companies.

6 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Mency Buado Granite Bay, CA

I just bought anewly built house in Rocklin,CA and with Petersen Dean solar. on our 2nd day in the house I called their office and left message for the rest of the month and nobody returned our call. in shourt, its been 1 month since we moved in and the solar was not installed yet because their office apparently doesnt want to deal with the homeowner,until I complained to the builder, then thats the only time they called me and set for appointment. then on the appointment day, nobody showed and I called their office, was told they could not reach their technician. in short, nobody showed up. They have DEFINITELY very BAD SERVICE! If I could only choose the solar company, it would never be the Petersen dean.

7 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

MG Corcoran, CA

Run away from PetersenDean and never look back!!! We've had malfunctioning or misfunctioning panels since 2016. We are now on our third service call because half of our panels are "off-line". No calls back at all. Boy, they sure took our money with great gusto though! This company should be ashamed of their business practices and be exposed for the poor quality of product and abysmal customer service they provide--oh, DON'T provide! Their "All-American" commercials are a bunch of false advertising and should be looked into by the authorities who regulate this industry.

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

SolarSuzie Reno, NV

I paid extra for the technology to be able to monitor each panel, but they can't find the panel info needed to allow me to connect. (Almost 2 months since my system was turned on.) They still need to do some finish work. They don't respond to status inquiry requests, even though they promise they'll do better. Unfortunately I have to say it's a mess over there. They now farm out most of the work. (That may be a good thing because it doesn't seem like they can do a good job themselves.)

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

rod

Started this process March 1, 2019. It is now almost the start of Oct and still do not have a install date. Reps do not return phone calls. The electrician that is supposedly coming out to do the electrical part next monthi is not a petersondean employee but a subcontrator. I was told all work would be preformd by their own employees. Would like to cancel contract if I could but told I can not. Save yourself the headaches, look elsewhere for your solar needs.

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Nathaniel Howard Simi Valley, CA

They've installed their system on our house. It doesn't deliver what they sold us. They say that "terms not in the contract are what they support"!!!! WTF??????? This company is a piece of garbage!!!! I'm still fighting them for a $10K battery that supports my alarm clock and toothbrush.... It won't even support my refrigerator!!!!! These guys are a waste of money and a worse waste of time dealing with them after install!!!! FFFF Petersen Dean!!!!!! I wrote the above two days ago... Today, the Solar Battery Inverter main is repeatedly tripping..... This company needs to be in court!!!!!!

4 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Jerry S Soquel, CA

PD is primarily a roofing company. Based on their TV commercials I had referred them to a friend who had his roof and gutters done. I called PD for solar because I wanted made in USA and we have a 45 degree roof on which most solar companies would not install. I figured it would be no problem for a roofing company. Surprise! PD would not work on 45 degree roofs either.! I guess there is too many easy roofs to work on. Sunrun said they would do it. System has been up and running for 1 1/2 now.

5 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

USMCVeteran Chino, CA

Bait and switch. I purchased panels from this company after spending many hours with various companies. After install I got a generic monitoring and not complete panel monitoring. I was told I had to pay $250 more to get this. They will not tell you about other options that fit your needs and will tell you that the others are no good and only theirs is the best. Don't make the same lifetime mistake I did. If I could do this all over again I would choose someone else.

5 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Kyle Wilson Orange, CA

Had solar installed by Peterson Dean. They ruined my roof. We had major water damage from rain. City inspector said it was the worst install they had ever seen. They admitted fault and offered to repair at first then back peddeled and did the least amount of repairs they could. We cancelled solar service with them..Do not use Peterson Dean for your solar. Go with someone who knows how to install solar correctly.

6 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Brandon Cheshire Phoenix, AZ

We held their hand through all of the Arizona installations until April. All we did was field complaints about working with their office. They are not a local company, and they no roofing, not solar. Get your solar installed by an electrical company and not a roofer...much different skill set required, and your producing electricity not roofing materials.

7 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Caroline Machi Lincoln, CA

We purchased a newly constructed home in July 2018 which came with a 21 panel PedersenDean solar installation. I just discovered they filed for Chapter 11 BK in June of 2020. I have been unsuccessful in getting any of the available phone numbers to answer or to even go to voicemail. Does anyone know how to contact them for a warranty item now?

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Angie San Mateo, CA

I started the process of getting solar in August, and was given a 2 month lead time. So far they gave me the wrong estimate for number and type of panels and scheduling and they are still nowhere near scheduling installation. They're extremely slow to respond, and lack of communication within is painfully obvious.

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Dean Anderson Kings Beach, CA

We were going to have solar installed at are property and Peterson & Dean gave us a quote, We went with it and give a deposit which they took promptly, They came out and looked at the house and told me they could not do it and will issue na refund, Now I'm getting excusess but no refund.

4 years ago

PetersenDean Logo

Reply from PetersenDean

Hello Dean, Thank you for your feedback. I am glad that we were able to resolve this with you.. Your feedback will be considered to improve our customer experience. Kindest Regards, Corporate Customer Relations Petersen Dean Roofing and Solar

Apr. 3rd, 2019

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

moises cordero Concord, CA

I was told my solar panels would be 24, instead they installed 22 only. Of course they charged me for the 24 panels. I know it was my mistake for trusting them and not reviewing the paper work when they changed it. My advise for you is to be aware of the changes they make to the contract and check the final product, don't trust them.

5 years ago

PetersenDean Logo

Reply from PetersenDean

Hello Moises, Thank you for your feedback on your experience with Petersendean. Your original contract was always for 22 panels and priced accordingly. On all jobs, the contract signed by the customer is what is ordered and installed unless an amendment is agreed upon and signed. Transparency with our contract pricing is important to us here at PetersenDean. Best Regards, Corporate Customer Relations Petersen Dean Roofing and Solar

Apr. 3rd, 2019

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

R Hannah Coarsegold, CA

Customer referral program seams to only work when they say. We referred a friend of ours and apparently he didn't tell them the first day before the installation so that voided our reference so at this point we refused to reference Peterson Dean solar because they don't honor their agreement thank you .

5 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Carolyn L. Cheyenne, WY

Still waiting for the executive division to get someone out here to repair damage when their panels leaked into our house despite what Mr. JimP promised on my yelp review. Guess they like bad publicity. Wish we had skipped solar completely.

5 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Louis

I was lied to. Don't make the same $30k mistake I did. Stay away from this company. Did not deliver what I wanted. Only argued with me instead of trying to fix the problem. Terrible with veterans. I will answer any questions.

5 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

SHERYL SMITH Big Sandy, TX

Our install was fine. During the install they damaged our roof. It's been 4 weeks and we are stI'll waiting for it to be repaired. We have called too many times to count and sent emails...all have gone unanswered. I would like to know what it takes to get a response from tbem.

6 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Jim Concord, CA

Asked the sales rep to give me an honest answer on the Return on Investment. He came back with a smart ass answer. "Who licked the red off your loly pop?" You will never make back your money on this system it is a 12 to 15 year Return and you are left with a half life system that adds no value to your home.

6 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Dean in Berkeley ,

This company delayed my installation for almost a full year, then when they installed the equipment, they did it wrong, then went out of business. Terrible service and unprofessional.

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

thomas abeyta San Diego, CA

They will charge 49.99 dollars to come out and give you an estimate. Asked for my refund on Sept 9 which i haven't received as of 10-7-15. Be aware!

6 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Stephen luis Lemoore, CA

They installed a undersize inverter on my system.

3 years ago

PetersenDean Logo

Reply from PetersenDean

Hello Mr. Luis, Thank you for your feedback on your experience with PetersenDean. We design our systems to maximize production within the local jurisdiction’s physical and electrical requirements. This will be considered to improve our customer experience. Best Regards, Corporate Customer Relations Petersen Dean Roofing and Solar

Apr. 3rd, 2019