Meraki Solar Logo

Meraki Solar

star star star star_half star_border

6.0

Overall Score

error This company may not service all states.
See states serviced
LAST UPDATED: May 17th, 2023

Meraki Solar provides comprehensive solar services to residential property owners in several states across the country. Since 2017, Meraki Solar has worked to provide clients with custom solar systems specifically designed to the property and the overall energy needs. Rather than involve multiple moving pieces, Meraki Solar will assist clients throughout the entire solar process.

The professionals at Meraki Solar will provide a free initial consultation to each property owner interested in having a solar system installed. Following this consultation, the Meraki Solar design team gets to work quickly identifying potential equipment options and mocking up what the system would look like aesthetically speaking. Once all parties come to an agreement on a design, the installation process moves forward and the actual system is installed. Finally, Meraki Solar will ensure that the system is successfully activated and clients are ready to utilize clean, renewable energy. 

Since its founding, Meraki Solar has quickly expanded its operations, allowing more residential property owners the ability to be energy independent. Prospective customers can request a free quote any time and get the solar process started. 

Top Ranked Companies

thumb_up

The Good

  • Compare and Contrast Shopping Service
  • Broad Service Area
  • Payment Structure
  • Start to Finish Involvement

Compare and Contrast Shopping Service

The most unique service that Meraki Solar provides to its clients is the compare and contrast shopping service. Most solar companies will simply inform clients of what equipment can be installed or what equipment is accessible. Meraki Solar takes it a step further by shopping around on behalf of its clients.

After the initial home evaluation, a Meraki Solar professional will design the best solution for the home. After preparing, designing, and ultimately presenting the solar options, the Meraki Solar professional will go over these solutions with the client and compare and contrast the possibilities. This process ideally saves money and provides a completely customized experience that not all solar companies can provide. 

Broad Service Area

One of the most impressive aspects of the Meraki Solar operation is the fact that the company has rapidly expanded, servicing seven states with plans to reach even more. This is particularly impressive as Meraki Solar manages every aspect of the solar process for each client.

By offering services in multiple states, Meraki Solar is able to reach more prospective solar clients looking to become energy independent. To date, Meraki Solar offers services in the following states:

  • California — Laguna Beach
  • Florida — Clearwater, Destin, Ft. Lauderdale, Melbourne, Rockets, Orlando 300’s, Orlando Elit, Orlando Magic, Panama City, Pensacola, Tallahassee, Treasure Coast, and Empire
  • Texas — Brownsville, El Paso East, El Paso Elite, El Paso Strong, El Paso West, Horizon Strong, Rio Grande, and Valley
  • Colorado — Colorado Springs, Denver East and West
  • New Mexico — Albuquerque East and West, Santa Fe, Las Cruces East and West, Roswell, and Rio Rancho Ease and West
  • Utah — Provo
  • Arizona — Phoenix

Most solar installation companies only service one state or a select few of the more populated cities within a state. Meraki Solar has expanded to service multiple states and cities. 

Payment Structure

Most clients cannot pay for a solar system upfront and outright as the national average cost to have a solar system installed on a residential property ranges from $15,000 to $25,000. To combat this expense, many solar companies will offer some type of financing. Most commonly, solar installation companies will partner with a local credit union or bank to offer solar loans to clients.

Meraki Solar offers financing independent of these third-party sources. Clients will not have to put any money down initially for install. Clients will then pay for solar power by the month, just like a utility bill, but at a reduced flat rate. Over time, the panels themselves will be paid off and then the client owns them outright. 

Start to Finish Involvement

Typically, when a solar company expands into multiple states or covers a region of the country, there is some sort of outsourced work involved. Whether the installation process is outsourced to a local contractor or the sales process is handled by an entirely different company, that seems to be the most commonly seen makeup of expanded solar operations.

Meraki Solar has managed to keep all oversight and operations in-house, meaning the team handles all solar services from start to finish. There will not be middle man or outsourced work when clients decide to go with Meraki. 

thumb_down

The Bad

  • No Solar Lease or PPA Options
  • Undisclosed Workmanship Warranty

No Solar Lease or PPA Options

Meraki Solar only provides customers with two financing options: direct purchase and solar loan. While both options grant homeowners to fantastic federal tax credit incentives, direct purchase can require tens of thousands of dollars upfront, while the solar loan can require even more money over time.

Solar lease and power purchase agreement (PPA) options are incredibly cost effective in that they place the financial burden of installation and maintenance on the company; the customer meanwhile only pays a flat monthly rate for either the system or the solar power — and often at a lower rate than the electric bill.

Undisclosed Workmanship Warranty

Although Meraki Solar provides customers with robust product warranties through their manufacturing partners, the solar company has not disclosed the terms of its own workmanship warranty, which provides additional protection for the system against installation errors and necessary maintenance. Leading solar panel installation companies provide workmanship or labor warranties of up to 25 years — the lifespan of the system.

gavel

The Bottom Line

Meraki Solar provides a complete solar service to clients all across the country. With the company’s professional compare and contrast shopping service, clients can pick and choose equipment before it is drafted up or installed. Despite only having been in operation since 2017, Meraki Solar has found a way to expand into seven states and is looking to continue that trend.

To combat potential financial constraints, Meraki Solar offers a $0 down plan for anyone wanting to install solar sooner rather than laters. Lastly, Meraki Solar does not outsource any of their work. The company manages the entire solar process from start to finish. 

Even though Meraki Solar has been able to quickly expand, there are potential concerns prospective customers should be aware of. For starters, Meraki Solar does not have equipment partnerships and instead shops around for equipment. There is no way to disclose the equipment used because each case may be different. Also, Meraki Solar only does residential solar systems, so any other solar project will need to look elsewhere for services.

Considering all of the contributing factors, clients looking to use Meraki Solar should do thorough research and seek out experiences by former or current clients. There are some concerns mentioned, but there are also some proprietary services that can save clients money and allow for a better customized system.

View Best Solar Companies

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Star Rating

3.4

star star star star_half star_border

133 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

37%

4 grade

15%

3 grade

17%

2 grade

11%

1 grade

20%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star_half star_border

Quality

star star star star star_border

Service

star star star star_half star_border

Trustworthiness

star star star star_half star_border
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Celesta Johnson Pensacola, FL

They told me it would not cost me anything, power company will get the money from a Grant, but they socked it to me with a $22,000. loan for installation. Now they are advertising the State will pay for the installation. where is my money or why is the State not paying mine? ed it to me with $22,000. loan. Now they are advertising the State will pay the installtion fee and I am stuck d it to me with $22,000. loan. I never saw the loan until I requested it while disputing the payment. It was not my signature or inituals. It as an electronice from a previse

8 months ago

Meraki Solar Logo

Reply from Meraki Solar

Can you please contact our One Stop team at (850) 220-6533 or email [email protected] to provide more details? We would sincerely like to better understand your situation and offer insight to help resolve your concerns.

Jan. 20th, 2023

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Stacey balkcom Fountain, FL

Well, since the beginning I've been told things that weren't true. The biggest thing was my FPL bill would never be over $40 a month but sadly it's been well over $100 every single month. This month it was over $200. So with having to refinance my home in order to pay you guys the 12% so my monthly bill wouldn't increase I'm also paying a monthly bill for solar panels and a very high FPL bill. I'm now paying more than what I was paying when I just had FPL. I've talked to customer service several times including one time recently and the person I spoke with concerning limbs over my panels couldn't even find the pics of my house. I'm confused because I was also told my panels are only working at 30%. I questions the installers and sales associate when they first installed the panels as to why they were placed on one side under the big tree. I was told they could get some in the company to cut the limbs but no one has shown up. Also, there was never a shade ordinance signed. I really need help and questions answered. I've called several times but no one seems to be able to give me answers. Soon I'll either have to get an attorney or sell my home. I really need someone to look into my account and explain why my panels aren't working like they should please!!

9 months ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Valerie

I was told that part of my bill would be lower, like $60 to $80 a month and my utility bill is still running high and now I got to add a deal so I'm paying twice the money that I was before. I think it's a waste of money. I don't see that it's working at all.

7 months ago

Meraki Solar Logo

Reply from Meraki Solar

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, Valerie. We are sorry to hear that your solar panel production isn't as expected. Please contact our One Stop team at (850) 220-6533 or email [email protected] to provide more details. We want to assist you in the best way possible!

Feb. 15th, 2023

star star star_border star_border star_border

Frank Townsend Crestview, FL

I was contacted multiple times right after my install to leave a review. I wanted to wait until I had time to see how well it worked, how well the support was if I needed it. So here we are 1 year later. While I do like my solar system, I would NOT recommend this company. I asked about specific things I would be able to see via the app and system capabilities. I was told I would have....I did not. First was the consumption meter (aka Import/Export). After asking about it once I realized I did not have those capabilities I was told they do not install those pieces. I have added it since, but did it myself for ALOT less than I'm sure they would have charged me now that they started installing these meters. **Don't do this yourself unless you are knowledgeable about electrical circuits as it can kill you** Another issue was app access. I was told I could see all my panels and equipment so I can see what they are producing. After the install and it went live I received the email for the app access and SolarEdge instructional videos on the how to use/understand. I noticed I did not see nearly as much info as the what the video was showing. When I contacted Meraki I was told that they don't provide access to the full view. At one point I had an inverter get delivered to my house. Had no clue why until I called Meraki. They told me one of mine was not working and they would replace it. Someone would contact me in the next day or two to setup a time. Went smooth enough...but zero communication from my "monitoring" company. Next was when I received a $100'ish bill one month and then a $300+ electric bill. When I called and asked about it. They were looking and said the panels on one side of my house were underperforming and possibly being blocked by the trees. Wow....thanks for letting me know "monitoring" team. Took care of the trees and washed the panels...back to producing like it should. Meraki will NOT give you "Full Access" to YOUR monitoring dashboard. You will only get "Dashboard" level and it will only should you how much your system produced total. Had to fight with them for "Full Access" and finally got "Dashboard + Layout" so I can see my panels. I still want "Full Access" so I can setup alerts and see the charts for the system. Their excuse is that is only for them because I can change something and it would affect the system. "Full Access" only gives FULL monitoring access, not system administration. In hind sight, I would totally get a solar system again, just not with Meraki.

4 months ago

Meraki Solar Logo

Reply from Meraki Solar

Hi Frank. We truly appreciate you taking the time to provide us with feedback based on your experience working with us. We would like to apologize that your experience was anything less than exemplary and will make sure that we improve going forward. Your feedback is valuable and not taken lightly. We will be passing along your notes to the appropriate teams. Obtaining full admin access to the monitoring dashboard would allow you to make changes to your system, which could alter your system's production and efficiency. You have been granted full access as a user rather than an administrator. Please do not hesitate to reach out if you have any more questions, comments, or concerns at (850) 220-6533 or email [email protected].

May. 22nd, 2023

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Barbara

I was introduced to Meraki Solar through a friend. I've called them and they were quick to respond. The installation went fairly well, we had some incidents, but it was taken care of so that was okay

7 months ago

Meraki Solar Logo

Reply from Meraki Solar

Thank you for that review. We are happy to hear that your issues were resolved. Please don’t hesitate to reach out if you have any additional comments, questions, or concerns.

Feb. 21st, 2023

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Shannon

I had some issues with them, and it took a very long time to finally get these issues resolved which are still not resolved. I'm still in the process of resolving things. Their salespeople didn't have the most accurate information.

9 months ago

Meraki Solar Logo

Reply from Meraki Solar

We are sorry to hear about the inconvenience, Shannon. Please contact our One Stop team at (850) 220-6533 or email [email protected]. We want to assist you in the best way possible!

Dec. 14th, 2022

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

John B Griffin DE Land, FL

Have been having problems waiting months for permit too change a braker when you sign the contract you will never see that salesman again and you will never get a call back they just want the sale do your homework. I would never recommend this company.

10 months ago

Meraki Solar Logo

Reply from Meraki Solar

Can you please contact our One Stop team at (850)220-6533 or email [email protected] to provide more details? We would sincerely like to better understand your situation and offer insight to help resolve your concerns.

Nov. 28th, 2022

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Eric Smith Crestview, FL

Their process is very smooth, the end result, however, was the worst possible scenario. I actually recommend people do NOT get solar panels. I now have electric bills double what they were before.

10 months ago

Meraki Solar Logo

Reply from Meraki Solar

Can you please contact our One Stop team at (850) 220-6533 or email [email protected] to provide more details? We would sincerely like to better understand your situation and offer insight to help resolve your concerns.

Nov. 28th, 2022

star star star_border star_border star_border

Darin Crestview, FL

Love the system, installation team was great yes we pay some higher FP&L bills at times. Also like others on the review we were told the tax incentives were refunds to give to our loan company to keep our payments at the current level so they would not increase within the first 18 months. So do not come back with your standard reply on my review that I have added to my review "Can you please contact our One Stop team at (xxx) xxx-xxxx or email [email protected] to provide more details? We would sincerely like to better understand your situation and assist you in the best way possible."

9 months ago Edited December 5, 2022

Meraki Solar Logo

Reply from Meraki Solar

Thank you for your review and feedback!

Dec. 12th, 2022

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Marlon

The installation process went pretty smooth. I'm still having a high light bill. They're not supporting customers very well.

7 months ago

Meraki Solar Logo

Reply from Meraki Solar

Thank you for your review and feedback. Please contact our One Stop team at (850) 220-6533 or email [email protected]. We want to assist you in the best way possible!

Feb. 20th, 2023

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Denise Kiedis Bonifay, FL

Your old salesman Michael, lied to me, just to get me to sign up. He told me it was a tax refund, not a tax credit, because he knew I won't have signed up.

9 months ago

Meraki Solar Logo

Reply from Meraki Solar

Hello, Denise. We are sorry to hear you have had a negative encounter with a sales representative. If you would like to provide your general area information to our [email protected] email, we can take a look at the area to see how we can resolve this issue.

Jan. 13th, 2023

star star star_border star_border star_border

holly elise Pensacola, FL

Does not honor warranty on timely fashion. Lots of lip service about being in a queue and parts being on back order but im going on six months of broken solar and no sense of urgency to repair on the part of Meraki. I would recommend that any customer signing with Meraki get it in writing that repair will happen in one months time or the customer has the option of outsourcing the warranty work without it breaking the warranty contract from Meraki.

10 months ago

Meraki Solar Logo

Reply from Meraki Solar

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us, Holly. We are sorry to hear that your solar panel production isn't as expected. Please contact our One Stop team at (850)220-6533 or email [email protected] to provide more details. We want to assist you in the best way possible!

Nov. 28th, 2022

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Ryan

Be more straightforward, respond to calls and messages.

7 months ago

Meraki Solar Logo

Reply from Meraki Solar

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us feedback.

Feb. 15th, 2023

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Rebecca Cox Panama City, FL

They don't return calls. The service has severely declined.

9 months ago

Meraki Solar Logo

Reply from Meraki Solar

Thank you for your review, Rebecca. We're sorry to hear that this has been your experience, but we really appreciate you bringing this issue to our attention.

Jan. 20th, 2023