Best Company badge 10,000 Reviews Medical Guardian Logo

Medical Guardian

star star star star star_half

8.9

Overall Score

sell See Special Offer chevron_right

cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Judith Clark Odessa, FL

Medical Guardian's representatives have always been very nice when I test the system.

6 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Robert Morris Aurora, KS

The representatives were professional but uneventful, however, I haven't had to use the service yet.

6 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Janice Fallis Spokane, WA

I haven't had to use the service yet, but I'm very pleased with it as it is. They've offered a positive experience.

6 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Jim Garvis Bullhead City, AZ

I feel there was a misunderstanding with the representatives because I ordered it 10 days ago, and I have not received They should get the equipment to your customer a whole lot sooner.

7 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Billy Morris Chino Valley, AZ

I wouldn't know how their people were because my brother handles that, however, I know it definitely works. I was asleep and I rolled over on the button by accident, and before I knew it, everybody showed up.

7 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Helen Whatmough Fountain Hills, AZ

I usually just use the device when I'm around the house, and I only spoke to the representatives the time I tested it. Besides that, the only feedback is that it's too large.

7 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Christian Bosecker Midland, TX

Speaking with the representatives was very fun! I just wear it around my neck without a problem.

7 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Patricia Schmitz Delray Beach, FL

I've had prior experience with falls. Medical Guardian is very good and easy to use

7 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Anna Crofcheck Freeland, PA

It was easy to set up and the representative was good. Although we recently purchased it, I'm satisfied with the service.

7 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Roland Roederer Fishers, IN

I got the Necklace because my husband was having strokes and I didn't realize it. It's been a satisfactory experience so far. There's no major complaints.

7 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Helen Kursteiner Cisco, TX

I have some mobility issues. I found medical guardian online and I give them 100%.

7 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Carolyn Nelon Fort Worth, TX

Heard about this at a doctor's office and never had to use it, but it makes me satisfied, it's here if I need it.

7 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Patricia Harmony, ME

This was purchased for my mother, the person I spoke with to get information about the device was fantastic, answered all my questions

11 months ago

Medical Guardian Logo

Reply from Medical Guardian

Thank you for taking the time to write a review Patricia! Our customer care specialists are highly trained to be as professional and efficient as possible when on the phone with a customer. I am glad they were able to provide you with the assistance you needed.

Jun. 14th, 2023

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

sleg Nawon Tucson, AZ

I paid a year in advance I called to test it 8 min to answer the phone Then 15 min to be transferred to monitoring I asked if this was normal lady got huffy and said if I didn’t like it she would transfer me so I could canceshe didn’t know if I’d get a refund or not So, I still have it I’ll test again soon and see if that was normal Also 2 days ago I dropped the necklace thing off a house roof I expected a call to see if I was ok, nothing. Still waiting.

1 year ago

Medical Guardian Logo

Reply from Medical Guardian

We are sorry to hear about the negative experience you had with one of our representatives. We will take the time to look into this situation and provide the necessary evaluation and retraining for the customer care representative. Again, we apologize for any difficulties you may have had. At Medical Guardian, we pride ourselves in providing a great customer experience and we want to make sure you receive nothing less. If you wish to discuss this matter further, you can reach us directly by dialing 1-800-313-1191. We look forward to speaking with you soon.

May. 4th, 2023

star star star star_border star_border

Patricia Atno Gilbertsville, PA

Continued issues with unit not holding charge. We needed to charge daily. Also called today to return, since my dad died. Can you believe the person stated we are paid to date but if it is not returned by the 18th, we will be charged additional!

1 year ago

Medical Guardian Logo

Reply from Medical Guardian

Hi Patricia Atno, we received your review and we apologize for the issues you are experiencing. If you have not yet had a chance to speak with our customer care team, a representative will be happy to help resolve this problem. You can reach us directly by dialing 1-800-313-1191. We look forward to speaking with you soon.

Mar. 9th, 2023

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Rhonda Dodge City, KS

My mother died in June 2022. We called Medical Guardian to cancel her account and transfer her Medical Guardian to my sister who was born with spina bifida. The representative insisted on sending us a new Medical Guardian device for my sister. Now, more than 8 months later, they have been harassing my sister saying they have been calling me, leaving messages and that I have not called them back. I have received no calls and no messages from Medical Guardian. I called yesterday, assuming the credit card I used to pay my sister's account needed to be updated because we cancelled it due to fraudulent charges. I gave them the updated card number and asked if they needed anything else. I was told everything was taken care of. Today they called my sister once again. She told them I had called yesterday and everything was taken care of. They insisted (RUDELY) that I had not called. I called them again. Again I was told that everything was taken care of and nothing else was needed on the account. I also learned that they had recorded my phone number incorrectly. The last digit was off by 1. Finally, they called my sister and insisted (RUDELY) that I needed to call them about Lila's (my mother's) account. I called back and explained that my mother had DIED nearly nine months ago and that her account had been closed when we set up my sister's account. After the representative insisted on ARGUING with me, I finally just hung up. I must say, I've beginning to HATE these people!!! Apparently all that matters to them is MONEY. Even on a closed account for someone who DIED nearly 9 months ago! Absolutely INSANE!!!

1 year ago

Medical Guardian Logo

Reply from Medical Guardian

Hi Rhonda, we received your review and we apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced with the billing for your account. At Medical Guardian, we pride ourselves in providing a great customer experience and it sounds like we didn’t do that. Please reach out to us directly by dialing 1-800-313-1191 so we can help make it right. We look forward to speaking with you soon and resolving this issue.

Mar. 8th, 2023

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Gwendolyn TX

My wife and mom are at home alone and the response when a fall is detected is excellent. I have pease of mind knowing they can get help in a matter of minutes

1 year ago

Medical Guardian Logo

Reply from Medical Guardian

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review Gwendolyn! We strive to provide peace of mind for each of our customers, and we are so glad that you are satisfied with your experience.

Mar. 8th, 2023

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Matt Vogt Miamisburg, OH

I called to get Medical Guardian because my daughter was having health issues. She passed before we even opened the box or got it activated. Because I had never returned the calls asking me to activate the unit, I figured I was out the $300, and that was that. I found out two months later that I was still being charged the monthly rate. I called, asked them to stop the account, and asked if I could return the unit, to which she said yes, I can. I then find out I am still getting charged, and I can return the unit (unopened), but I will receive nothing for it! I filed a dispute with my bank, who said that MG showed it was my fault. Complete BS! I never signed anything! I had to change my debit card to stop them from billing me! I will send it back to them, but only after I take a hammer to it! Hate this company, and the way the tipped me off for hundreds of dollars!

1 year ago

Medical Guardian Logo

Reply from Medical Guardian

Hi Matt Vogt, we received your review and we apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced with the billing for your account. At Medical Guardian, we pride ourselves in providing a great customer experience and it sounds like we didn’t do that. Please reach out to us directly by dialing 1-800-313-1191 so we can help make it right. We look forward to speaking with you soon and resolving this issue.

Mar. 1st, 2023

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Susan Richmond, KY

I like the ease of use (if I could just get in the habit of wearing each morning). Fortunately, I’ve not had any emergency, so it is my hope that, in an emergency, it works efficiently.

1 year ago

Medical Guardian Logo

Reply from Medical Guardian

Thank you for this wonderful review, Susan. We appreciate you being part of our growing community. All the best and stay well and safe.

Feb. 23rd, 2023

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Nicolette Toussaint Aspen, CO

Very quick response to a real emergency. The operators were kind and forgiving when my 92-year-old husband was learning to use the alert and had a couple false alarms.

1 year ago

Medical Guardian Logo

Reply from Medical Guardian

Thank you for taking the time to write a review Nicolette Toussaint! Our customer care specialists are highly trained to be as professional and efficient as possible when on the phone with a customer. I am glad they were able to provide you with the assistance you needed.

Feb. 22nd, 2023

star star star star_border star_border

Patricia Peru, IN

The one thing I dislike are the upsell calls. They try to sell fear. If I wanted fall detection, I would call and order it. Each person that has called, I ask them to please remove me from the call list. So far I have not had to use the product. I bought it as it has high ratings.

1 year ago Edited January 10, 2024

Medical Guardian Logo

Reply from Medical Guardian

We are sorry to hear about the negative experience you had with one of our representatives. We will take the time to look into this situation and provide the necessary evaluation and retraining for the customer care representative. Again, we apologize for any difficulties you may have had. At Medical Guardian, we pride ourselves in providing a great customer experience and we want to make sure you receive nothing less. If you wish to discuss this matter further, you can reach us directly by dialing 1-800-313-1191. We look forward to speaking with you soon.

Feb. 23rd, 2023

star star star star_border star_border

Patricia Martinez, CA

Well my necklace falls apart and the pendant falls detecting a fall. It’s like one side slips out of the magnet. I need to know who to talk to about getting a new necklace part. I won’t wear it because I’m afraid it will fall and I won’t know it.

1 year ago

Medical Guardian Logo

Reply from Medical Guardian

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, Patricia. I am sorry to hear about your poor experience with our product. I would suggest calling our customer care team at 1-800-313-1191. They will be able to assist you with your product.

Feb. 22nd, 2023

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Janet Helstrom NC

PLEASE DO NOT TRUST THIS COMPANY!!!! They ASED are CROOKS!!! I purchased THIS JUNK FROM MEDICAL LADYVTOLD ME MY TOTAL WOULD BE 33.00 I SAID BUT I WANTED THE FALL PROTECTION 10.00 MORE TOTAL WAS THEN 43.00. FURST UNIT I GOT WAS DEFECTIVE SO WAS THE SECOND ONE. I WAS ASSURED IT WOULD ALERT FOR HELP. IF FELL AND WAS UNCONSCIOUS. WELL I DID FALL WAS ON FLOOR RESCUE TEAM TOLD HOSPITAL 5 OR 6 DAYS. I WAS IN A COMA 2 WEEKS. IN HOSPITAL 5 MONTHS. RULE ISS PLEASE DO NOT TRUST THEM. MY RN TOLD ME THEY STOPPED USING THEM ALSO. WELL UNIT WAS DEFECTIVE TALKED TO 2 OTHER BUSINESS NO. ONE CAN GIVE YOU FALL SO THUS IS A QUICK SCAM TO GET 10.00 MORE FROM YOU! ALSO MY BILL WAS FOR 143.00 WHICH THEY REFUSED TO REFUND MY 143.00 SO NOW I AM PURSUING THEM IN SMALL CLAIMS ADEPT.

1 year ago

Medical Guardian Logo

Reply from Medical Guardian

Hi Janet Helstrom, we received your review and we definitely understand your concern. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. At Medical Guardian, we pride ourselves in providing a great experience and peace of mind to our customers, and we want to make sure you receive nothing less. You can reach us directly by dialing 1-800-313-1191. We look forward to speaking with you soon.

Feb. 7th, 2023

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Terry Eisnaugle

Well I sent back the device's ane was promised my refund in 3 to 5 days. I was told by David That mt refund would be 3 to 5 days i confronted him about it. So 2 days ago i spoke with him and he had a whole different story He said 30 days .I told him he was a lier Not what he told me before... So i spoke with Eva she sair a check was a check mailed out Keep in mund this company is in Pennsylvania also same as me she said the check was mailed I haven t receiver anything yet.. I am about take this company to court i should have gotten this so called refund already.. I spoke with a Lawyer anr says i have a good case against this company... So i am about to go to court with this lying company.. So its their choice as i proceed with this judgement against them.. Beware people this company is horrible .. Bunch of liars

1 year ago Edited November 23, 2022

Medical Guardian Logo

Reply from Medical Guardian

Hi Terry Eisnaugle, we received your review and we apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced with the billing for your account. At Medical Guardian, we pride ourselves in providing a great customer experience and it sounds like we didn’t do that. Please reach out to us directly by dialing 1-800-313-1191 so we can help make it right. We look forward to speaking with you soon and resolving this issue.

Feb. 6th, 2023

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Larry hardy Mission, KS

I purchased medical guardian for my father. On 9/23/2022, my father fell, the device did not detect the fall even though I was paying for it- my father pushed the button for help 20 times, no one answered- three hours later I found him on the floor- he was extremely bruised and banged up- hospitalized for for a couple of days. I called medical guardian explain the situation- the woman on the phone ran a couple of test on device and found it was defective-she told me some one would call me back- I never received a called- I called them back 4 days later- the woman said she was sending a new device- three weeks later I received a letter-telling me if I didn’t return old device-I’d be charged 345 dollars- the letter insinuated they did me a favor by sending the new device . Buyer beware horrible service horrible product

1 year ago

Medical Guardian Logo

Reply from Medical Guardian

We are sorry to hear about the negative experience you had with one of our representatives. We will take the time to look into this situation and provide the necessary evaluation and retraining for the customer care representative. Again, we apologize for any difficulties you may have had. At Medical Guardian, we pride ourselves in providing a great customer experience and we want to make sure you receive nothing less. If you wish to discuss this matter further, you can reach us directly by dialing 1-800-313-1191. We look forward to speaking with you soon.

Feb. 9th, 2023

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Carole Snowflake Philadelphia, PA

HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE I AM Extremely disappointed with this I was told I had fall protection and now I told it’s an extra fee. I was told it was included. I.am dissatisfied and mad I am a heart patient and I suffer from vertigo WHY would I not ask if it was not $520.40 plus $74.90 $10 extra month. for fall protection However they couldn’t reach me for an EMERGENCY CALL That they placed to me and DID NOT CALL MY EMERGENCY CONTACTS to see if I was ok.I could have been laying here sick or unconscious and that DID NOT CHECK ON ME THE RUN AROUND I’m getting is each person is giving this all to another person who cannot answer my questions They continue to pass each all to another person THIS ISA HORRIBLE WAY TO TREAT A PERSON WHO IN GOOD FAITH BOUGHT THIS FOR SAFETY REASONS

1 year ago

star star star star_border star_border

Audrey Jones Tallahassee, FL

It doesn't seem to be so easy to cancel. I'm told they will not cancel my service until the device is returned. I had to sit through an exhaustive sales pitch attempting to get me not to cancel my service. I found the device heavy and uncomfortable.

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Charles Van De Weghe Minneapolis, MN

I purchased a Mini Guardian device for my elderly mother-in-law. One of the features that attracted me to this device was its "Advanced location tracking using WiFi & GPS" as touted on their public website. We have owned this device now for 2+ months and have yet to receive any usable location tracking information. I have contacted Medical Guardian several times to report this issue but am only now starting to see any location information in their customer portal. To date I have yet to get any usable near real time location information, so I consider this feature "broken" and effectively useless. I am very disappointed with Medical Guardian's lack of transparency regarding the root cause of this problem and their plans to fix it.

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

MLeicht1 York, PA

This is a horrible company to deal with when you have a billing issue -- even a minor one. I'm due a small refund because I overpaid (due to a communication error on their part). After four phone calls, two emails, and multiple promises of, "We'll look into it and call you back shortly," I've still made no progress. Never received any calls back. Have reported them to the Better Business Bureau, and, if necessary, I'll have to file a small claim against them -- all this rigmarole for an extremely minor issue that any normal company could remedy within 48 hours. Don't use this company if you value your sanity.

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Erik Johnson Sacramento, CA

We had a unit for several years for my father. It was helpful to be able to monitor his health remotely. Unfortunately, Medical Guardian changed their equipment and discontinued key features for our father who is at risk of strokes--they had no motion detectors offered anymore but they did not advertise this feature going away. After talking to multiple agents by the phone we finally discovered this. Canceling the service was a horrible experience. There was no acknowledgement that this was an important feature for our safety and all their cancellation department did was be rude and abrupt as we tried to get our money back for a system that doesn't do what we need. In addition to this, we are having to mail this equipment back that does not meet our needs at our expense AND we have to pay for the service until they get it AND we have to pay a $50 "restocking fee".

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Shelly D Baker Ozark, MO

My mother died in her home, when first responders arrived they pushed the button and nothing happened. When I was able to be notified and arrived I pushed the button nothing happened. I found the information and called them, I was told my mother or someone must have pushed a wrong button!!!! what wrong button. There is only 1 button on the machine. I was told I would be refunded based on a prorated basis, after they received the machine. UM NO! I better be refunded for the whole year because this machine failed! NO HELP came! if I could give less than a 1 rating I would. Don't waste your money go with LIFE ALERT!

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Eric Dearstyne Lynnfield, MA

My wife has had 3 seizures over the last 4 months and most recently, she collapsed on the floor and was not conscious. The device never went off for any of the seizures. Luckily I was home and I called 911. When I called Medical Guardian they tried to reset it and it still wouldn't work so the woman told me she would talk to a lab tech and call me back. That was 75 minutes ago. When I called them back, the operator told me they have to talk to the manufacturer and I may not get a response for up to 24 hours. We use this so my wife can be somewhat independent. I am currently taking the day off from work so I don't have to leave my wife home alone. Not a happy customer at all right now.

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Kathy Harvey Richmond Hill, GA

I got everything for my mom by calling the company. Insurance, fall alert etc. my brothers helped set it up and they took it on a trial run and took her out to eat at a restaurant 30 miles away. They pushed the alert button and called them saying it was a test. They said that they could locate her and she was at her apartment. Very wrong! So they thought they got the gps set up again and she took it to the bank the next day and pushed the button and then tried to tell the items a test but they put her on hold. The ambulance went all over the tow square looking for her and didn’t find her. An apple phone could have located her much better! For over $800.00 this thing should work much better

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Jeffrey Lowden Hamtramck, MI

Purchased medical to find that whenever I pushed alert button to test an address in a different state would show on their screen . They did an unauthorized withdrawal on credit card raising annual rate never offering any upgrades I finally canceled service sending final check and medical alert button to only address listed on invoice. I'm still receiving invoices and was told I sent check and alert button to wrong address and they would not cancel until they receive they receive alert button or sign a form saying I sent items to wrong address..what a hassle! Poorly run company with poor customer service Would NOT recommend medical guardian to any potential customer

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

F. E. Burton Seneca, SC

1. The device(s) they provided FAILED TWICE IN LESS THAN 1 YEAR. 2. At that time there was no technical support between 12;30pm Sat and 09:30am Monday - so you were just outa luck if you had a weekend technical problem 3. I cancelled my my service in August 2020 but they automatically charged my credit card in November 2020 for another year's service. 4. After rec'v'g my device on 1/28/21 they promised a refund to my credit card within another 30 days. My credit card's customer service confirms this happened. 5. FYI, since 1/6/21 I've lived in a retirement community which provides their own alert device and do not need Medical Guardian's.

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Kyle Burkhart , PA

I ordered my system on 3/16 and money was immediately taken from my account, now on 3/18 I have still not received any shipping information. First I inquired on the website to send a message through their portal that states they will respond in 1 business day, once you fill that out and click contact us the website gives you an error. Then I tried to use the chat option to inquire about a tracking number and the chat agent's only response was to call in (what is the point of having a chat platform then?). Then today when I called in the customer service representative was not helpful and rude. This is not a great way to start off new business with a company. Since the order has been pending processing on their end for 3 business days I inquired if they would expedite the shipping and waive the cost since their website does not include processing time it only states for standard shipping it is 7-10 business days (this would start after the item has actually processed). I am rethinking now this company that I just opened an account with, this is not great customer service nor does it live up to the ratings on their website. I would potentially think twice before ordering from this company.

3 years ago

Medical Guardian Logo

Reply from Medical Guardian

Greetings and thanks for reaching out. We are sorry you found your experience to be less than satisfactory. Please respond to the following private message with your email address and phone number so we can further investigate your experience.

Mar. 26th, 2021

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Kim Higginbotham Stamford, CT

If it were possible, I would give this company negative stars for misrepresentation. I purchased the unit for my mother when we thought she had a stroke last February and she was in the hospital and then in rehab for physical therapy. I was assured when I purchased the device that I could return it at any time and receive a FULL refund minus a restocking fee of about $50-55 if the unit was never used or activated (which it wasn't). I returned the device in November after talking to a representative. She assured me again that I would receive a refund within 30 days. I called in December after waiting 30 days and after receiving an email stating that they received the device and would refund my money very soon and they were sorry for the delay. I called again in early January 2021 and they apologized for the delay and assured me they were going to expedite and rush my refund via the original payment method. I saw a one cent refund credited to my banking account and then it disappeared the following day. I waited a few days thinking it was just a test to make sure that the refund would go through. Today was my third attempt to inquire about my refund. The representative put me on hold and came back and said that they made an error and I'm not receiving ANY REFUND. They apologized for the representative giving me the wrong information. I explained that I spoke with THREE different people who all said I would receive a FULL refund minus the restocking fee of about $50-55. I told her it's not your fault, but may I please talk to your supervisor? I was on hold about 10 minutes. The rep said that her supervisor would call me right back. She finally called me back and was professional but she said the information I was given was incorrect and there will not be a refund. She told me that not all of my calls were logged into their computer so she can only review one of the other call that was made in November. She called me back after reviewing the recording. She insisted that the customer rep told me the refund would be pro-rated minus the restocking fee. I never recall anyone saying pro-rated but I went over the figure with the rep in November. She asked me how much money I would expect for the refund and I said about $550 - $600. She reviewed my account from the time we had the system and never disagreed with me. The supervisor told me that the representative was wrong and there were no other tapes that she could review. I basically have no leg to stand on. I told her I was completely flabbergasted and couldn’t believe that I wasn’t getting any refund. I told her I was at a loss of words. I was so angry but I didn’t know what to say. She said she skipped her lunch to review the tape. I kept saying that I didn’t know what to say and I was at a loss for words (I could think of mean things to say but I would never allow myself to do that if at all possible). I could tell by her tone that there was no other words to be said because she was standing her ground even though she was completely wrong according to my view. She was so curt over the phone, I couldn’t believe her incredibly poor customer service. She gave me her full name but I don’t feel comfortable putting her name in this review due to personal convictions. I’m absolutely disgusted with this company. Would I recommend this company? ABSOLUTELY NOT!

3 years ago

Medical Guardian Logo

Reply from Medical Guardian

Medical Guardian apologizes for any inconvenience you may have experienced. We pride ourselves on providing top of the line Customer Care and hope you accept our apology for any experience that was not reflective of that. Our Customers and their families are of the utmost importance to us. A member of the customer care management team will be in touch with you shortly. In the meantime, a full refund will be issued back to your payment method. Please allow a few days for processing. Thank you.

Jan. 26th, 2021

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Yasmin Elaine Waring Dallas, TX

I have had a MISERABLE experience trying to close this account. We used the service for a year. Thankfully, no emergencies. So, couldn't put it to the test. HOWEVER, when we tried to close the account and return the device, the process has been BRUTAL. We mailed the device back per their instructions and tried to contact several times to receive confirmation--left voicemail and email and no response. IN ADDITION they have been charging my account, which now shows inactive almost $60 for the last two months!!!! Further, they make it impossible to deselect autopay as an option!!! I DO NOT RECOMMEND THEM!

3 years ago Edited September 14, 2021

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Paul Davidowitz Long Beach, NY

My mother has the MiniGuardian, and recently fell (first incident with the unit). The system did in fact summon an ambulance crew (my mother pressed the button). But the crew could not get into the house for 15 minutes -- until I noticed flashing red lights from the window and opened the front door (I was actually home, but was pre-occupied in a different part of the house). What about the lockbox code? The crew was told by the dispatcher there was no such code. But after the incident, I called customer service and inquired about the lockbox code and the rep immediately told it to me! But the dispatcher (called the next day by pressing the button on the device) stated there was no lockbox code. What about calling emergency contacts? None were called (including myself who is first in the list to be called). The customer service rep said that there were none in the system and that's why no one was called. I told him to pull up the scanned signed doc of the system agreement which he did, and he admitted that yes there were four emergency contacts listed. He could not explain why the info was not in the system. A few days ago, it occurred to me to give Medical Guardian the garage keypad entry code (much easier entry than backdoor where lockbox is located). I was assured by a senior rep that the data would be transferred to the dispatch side within minutes. Four days later, alas the dispatcher (contacted via test button push) stated that the garage code was not in their system. Calling back to Medical Guardian in this regard was useless since they told me this code was in fact in the system (exactly same issue with lockbox code above). I finally got problem fixed by calling special Medical Guardian number on BBB website; this phone number is provided prior to someone writing a review about Medical Guardian, requesting that the number be called first. The problem was fixed within the hour! Moral of the story: Do not assume that dispatcher has any data such as lockbox code, garage code, emergency contacts -- unless you can verify it yourself by doing a test button push.

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Deborah Williams Chesapeake, VA

I would give it a minus star if I could. Their customer service reps are extremely rude and unhelpful. We purchased a Freedom device which is like a smart device. When tested during setup and the following month, it worked as advertised. For the last two months the device failed to connect to their network and never checked to see if the SOS was actually an emergency. When I called I was told it was due to a weak signal. However this was not the case earlier. If we cannot depend on this device to get mother help when she needs it, it is of no use to our family. Totally dissatisfied with this product and their support Will cancel service and go elsewhere for a dependable solution,

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Ckern Stafford, VA

They sold us the watch, which did not work. After a couple of months, we returned it and got the button. It did not always work. Watch out for their scam cancellation policy (which they did not disclose when I purchased). They billed my card without a reminder. When I called to tell them my mom had died and had not been using the system since October, could they reverse the current charge. No - they have to get the equipment back (which I paid for!!!) and they will refund me any balance left after 30 days. Complete ripoff! Be careful before you sign up. It's almost impossible to cancel.

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Kimberly Silvey Champaign, IL

I've had my mom fall twice since owning medical guardian. 1st time - the device said call failed - even when they researched it and it had a strong signal - so she did receive 911 but felt alone and scared while not knowing if the button she was pressing worked. So dispatch was sent out - however none of the rest of the emergency contacts where ever called so protocol failed. Then on the 2nd call - they answered and 911 was sent and they were on the line - but she told them to call her emergency contacts and still no call - it was within 30 mins that I called a logged a complaint with them for not calling any of the contacts which is their protocol per their sales person. Two strikes your out when it comes to providing service for two emergencies there is not going to be a 3rd.

3 years ago

Medical Guardian Logo

Reply from Medical Guardian

Medical Guardian apologizes for any inconvenience you may have experienced. We pride ourselves on providing top of the line Customer Care and hope you accept our apology for any experience that was not reflective of that. Our Customers and their families are of the utmost importance to us. A member of the customer care team will reach to you shortly to review your complaint. Thank you!

Dec. 1st, 2020

star star star star star

Marlyce George

I liked that you were rated #1 and many of the features. Scot was most helpful in explaining the features and his willingness to answer my questions

3 years ago

star star star star star

Cliff Martin

Best features on a mobile device, customer service was outstanding! Sherry was highly knowledgeable of the product and guided me to get the best item for my price.

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Sad senior ,

The people are nice, the equipment doesn’t. The person said I would get a new watch, it cam it was refurbished, the person said do the mini, it has a battery life of 5 days, got the info says 3 to 5 days, mine only lasts at the most 2 days. When these t me the device someone else information was in the box, before I knew the equipment was not reliable, I referred someone because it ranked high, they said I would get the $25, never did. My recommendation try another method and company, wish I would gone with the Iwatch or something similar that has reliable equipment. Also to correct things I must have had to call them more then 5 times and things were not corrected.

3 years ago

Medical Guardian Logo

Reply from Medical Guardian

Greetings and thank you for the review. Please answer the following private message so we can investigate your account further. Thank you again for your review, and have a great day!

Nov. 6th, 2020

star star star_border star_border star_border

AVTAR CHAHAL San Jose, CA

I am existing customer and experienced no response three times in one month in emergency. The call goes to the exchange/command center and then transferred to any agent which is time consuming and it happened me, somebody hit my car on Oct2,2020 and the call failed again. Its totally UNACCEPTABLE. came home and called the police and found the person. VERY FRUSTRATING

3 years ago

Medical Guardian Logo

Reply from Medical Guardian

Hello, Avtar. Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you had a less than satisfactory experience. Can you provide us with the full name on the account as well as the phone number associated with it so that we can investigate this for you? Thank you.

Oct. 6th, 2020

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Cathi Hudson Goose Creek, SC

I received my Medical Guardian home unit 2 days later than promised; a full 12 days. What I received was not was I lead to believe during original sales call. The jewel medallion was not sent and when I called to inquire why, I was told that another $50 was needed and an additional monthly charge would be required!!! After being transferred to Return Dept with over 15 minute wait on hold, I was given an authorization code and told return shipping would be at my expense. No full refund would be promised until they received the unit back. And I’m supposed to trust them with mom’s security? No thank you! Find another service!

3 years ago

Medical Guardian Logo

Reply from Medical Guardian

Hello, Cathi. Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you had a less than satisfactory experience. Can you provide us with the full name on the account as well as the phone number associated with it so that we can investigate this for you? Thank you.

Oct. 6th, 2020

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Beth Furstenthal Oakland, CA

We got a Medical Guardian device for my husband and paid extra for fall detection because his main health problem is freezing and then falling and being unable to call for help because his voice as well as the rest of his body and brain has frozen. However, even though he falls frequently, his Medical Guardian almost never, and I mean almost never, activates when he falls. It does activate when he does simple things like take it off over his head. I would want a service where a voice would come on and ask if he were all right every time he falls. The company says that if he moves at all, they will not ask if he is all right. They will just assume he is unless he pushes the buttom. We paid just under $550.00 for a year's service, which we are cutting short.

3 years ago

Medical Guardian Logo

Reply from Medical Guardian

Hi, Beth. Thank you for your review. We are sorry that the device did not meet your husband's needs and understand your needing to cancel. We're going to send you a private message with more information regarding your account. Thank you.

Sep. 2nd, 2020

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Joy Bryant Nacogdoches, TX

ordered medical alert for my 90 yr old mother.... she fell twice, alert never worked. They replaced with a new one, it didn't work. Offered to send replacement again, you'd think they would have tested the first two. Returned equip. Medical alert didn't work. Paid $395.45 for yr. 5-29-20 Offer 1 month free. Didn't have it 2 mos b4 returning. Refund was $306.25. Kept $89.20 Said was pro-rated & restock fee. I say total rip off. Equip never worked. Luckily my mother was able to get up herself both times... with only bruises... I am not a happy customer..... Try to get someone on the phone if you have a complaint or want a refund. They put you on eternal HOLD I left a msg & finally someone called me back 3 days later...

3 years ago

Medical Guardian Logo

Reply from Medical Guardian

Hello Joy and thank you so much for the feedback! We are sorry to hear that you found your experience less than satisfactory. Please respond to the following private message and provide us with your account details so we can investigate your experience. Thank you again for the feedback Barbara, and have a great day!

Aug. 20th, 2020

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

lawyeril Chicago, IL

Unfortunately, I could not put ZERO STARS as an option! Horrible! BUYER BEWARE! DO NOT ORDER FROM THEM! They take advantage of seniors who are on fixed income. I ordered a device for my father. I was told that it would be delivered in two days. It never was. I called back and was told that the device was discontinued since it was faulty. I asked for a full refund for the prepaid quarter of service and equipment that had been paid and the overnight delivery fee and was connected to another person who said it would be refunded in 3-5 business days. The following week I get an email stating that they had send the equipment to my house for delivery. I immediately sent back an email stating that I was told a refund would be processed and to not deliver the equipment. The equipment was still delivered. I called on Wednesday of the same week and was told someone would call me back. No one did. I called again on Friday of the same week and was told that I had to send back the equipment before my dad could get a refund. I asked for a supervisor and the supervisor said she had no authority to process the refund even though someone from their company said the refund was processed and would take 3-5 business days. She said that the only two people in the entire company could authorize a refund and an overnight label were on vacation and one would get back to me on Monday. I am not holding my breath. 5 hours of my life wasted chasing them for a refund they said would be processed for my dad who is on a fixed income. I will be reporting them to the Pennsylvania Attorney General's office and the Better Business Bureau.

3 years ago Edited September 14, 2021

Medical Guardian Logo

Reply from Medical Guardian

Greetings and thank you so much for your review. We are sorry you found your experience to be less than satisfactory. We will respond to your comment with a private message requesting further information on your account so we can help expedite getting this resolved as soon as possible. Thank you again for your review, and have a great day!

Jul. 15th, 2020