Oscar Logo

Oscar

star star star star_border star_border

7.3

Overall Score

cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Jessie Richardson Brooklyn, NY

Total slime, this insurance company. Does not have it together at all. Runs about 100 dollars more a month than most comparable insurance but with a deductible nearly twice as high. Canceled my insurance without notifying me due to a payment that was just a few hours late but still accepted my payment. They said they are refunding me for the payment but still haven't seen it. Will be hiring a lawyer.

7 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

cynthia Los Angeles, CA

I signed up with Oscar because of the providers in their network. However, when I tried to access the pediatricians in their network half of them (about 40 doctors) would not take Oscar. It has been over a month and Oscar has not resolved the issue. When I call, they say they are waiting to hear back from the clinic the doctors work from. But it has been over a month and each time I call, the representative doesn't understand the issue.

7 years ago

star star star_border star_border star_border

michael Los Angeles, CA

I called 5 docs listed on their site and none could see me for weeks if not months. I used a different UCLA doc assuming UCLA docs all accepted Oscar. Apparently not. Stuck with a $1000 bill now. Will be switching plans in the open enrollment window. Oscar is worthless.

8 years ago

star star star star star

Medard Etienne Dacula, GA

So far, we phave been happy with Oscar. It is much, much better than my wife’s insurance .

9 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Jen Morris Plains, NJ

Do not get this health insurance! It's been a MISERABLE EXPERIENCE! I've belonged to Oscar Imsurance for 3 years and they partner with QualCare who DENY EVERYTHING! They make doctors, patients and staff bend over backwards for approvals that they mostly deny! SAVE YOURSELF THE MISERY AND DON'T SIGN UP WITH THIS PLAN!!

1 year ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Hi Jen, we’re sorry to hear about this experience and our team would like to learn more about what may have occurred. Please check your inbox for a followup message.

Dec. 20th, 2022

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

ShopAtRyannes Tampa, FL

I had two screenings done ; a mammogram and a bone density test as my Dr suggested. Both are on my Oscar plan as $0. So Oscar paid for the test but charged me for the radiologist to read the test. So these common preventative tests all women over 60 get cost me $125 . I have never paid a cent for these until I got Oscar insurance this year.

1 year ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Hi, can you please confirm your name and Oscar ID so that we may route this internally for assistance?

Nov. 23rd, 2022

star star star_border star_border star_border

Shawna Smith Denver, CO

There requirements for claims and prescriptions is ridiculous. The people seem friendly enough, but they can't really help you. I will switching to a different company in January.

1 year ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Hi Shawna, can you please confirm your name and Oscar ID so that we may route this internally for assistance?

Nov. 2nd, 2022

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

David Rivera Trenton, FL

This company is making it very difficult for me to get my diabetes meditation that I have been taking for a while now. My doctor sent it an alternative and now they want a prior authorization. I have been dealing with this for over a month now. STAY AWAY. I should have stayed with my previous provider.

1 year ago Edited October 13, 2022

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Hi David, we are sorry to hear that you are frustrated and our team would like to learn more about what may have occurred. Please check your inbox for a followup message.

Oct. 13th, 2022

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Ivan gomez Homestead, FL

Complete garbage. I called to have my insulin refilled before it was due because I lost my pen during the process of moving and I spoke to a person in the Phillipines with a rooster yelling in the background. She couldn’t transfer me to a supervisor. A complete joke of a company. STAY AWAY!

1 year ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Hi Ivan, can you please confirm your name and Oscar ID number so that we may route this internally for assistance?

Oct. 3rd, 2022

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

M Judd Englewood, CO

Prescriptions are totally broken. If you have been on a drug for 10 years, they will argue with you every month about sending you more. They will need to talk to you on the phone, they will need bloodwork, they never have the info they need to approve it. It is never a "send a refill" and done.

1 year ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Hi, we are sorry to hear that you are frustrated and our team would like to learn more about what may have occurred. Please check your inbox for a followup message.

Sep. 13th, 2022

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Kas Bradenton, FL

You will sacrifice your health with this cheap company. Despite having one of the most expensive plans- I haven't been able to get medicine that enables me to exist. I'm about to have to deal with bleeding feet because they don't want to help me. Your bank account is important to them. Not your health. Live short and suffer is their motto.

2 years ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Kas, we are sorry to hear that you are frustrated and our team would like to learn more about what may have occurred. Please check your inbox for a followup message.

May. 27th, 2022

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Shirin Richardson, TX

Just look at the oscar's reply to messages here and you can assess how is this company. They don't even ask your full name or Oscar ID. They just send a general message to everyone that soon someone will contact you, and of course they never do! In my case after 4 months!! HORRIBLE INSURANCE AND CUSTOMER SERVICE

2 years ago Edited June 15, 2022

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Shirin, we are sorry to hear that you are frustrated and our team would like to learn more about what may have occurred. Please check your inbox for a followup message.

May. 19th, 2022

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Scott Moldenhauer Rockford, IL

Very limited doctor selections, especially orthopedics. Also, when I considered Oscar, I called to make sure that they cover people out of state. They said yes. I did have an out-of-state need and they said "no coverage." I will be switching plans next year.

2 years ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Scott, we are sorry to hear that you are frustrated and our team would like to learn more about what may have occurred. Please check your inbox for a followup message.

Apr. 29th, 2022

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Morgan Omaha, NE

Awful! Coming from a provider's office. Not a single person working here knows what they're doing. They deny authorizations for bogus reasons & charge their patients ridiculously high co-payments. Don't let the "no deductible" fool you! They will screw you over

2 years ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Morgan, we are sorry to hear that you are frustrated and our team would like to learn more about what may have occurred. Please check your inbox for a followup message.

Apr. 8th, 2022

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Hannah Kroff Round Rock, TX

They were great 2 years ago. Now it is the worst experience of my life. The team is not properly trained. I was preauthorized for speech therapy for my kid, then after 3 months was told all my claims were denied for being out of network. THOUSANDS of dollars charged that they won't cover because the negligence of the

2 years ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Hannah, we are sorry to hear that you are frustrated and our team would like to learn more about what may have occurred. Please check your inbox for a followup message.

Mar. 31st, 2022

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Omar Jimenez San Antonio, TX

They will take your cash but are completely negligent and deny any and all Dr's recommendations. They act as if they don't have medical professionals reviewing anything or just delegate all responsibility on the mater to someone with sycophantic tendencies and no regard for peoples health. If I could leave a lower rate then 1 star I would!

2 years ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Omar, we are sorry to hear that you are frustrated and our team would like to learn more about what may have occurred. Please check your inbox for a followup message so that we may look into this for you.

Mar. 4th, 2022

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Samantha Stout Media, PA

This company deserves 0 stars. They are nearly impossible to get ahold of, and when you finally do, their responses are so generic I questioned whether it was a real person or not. Was paying almost $400 a month for health insurance with them. I am now over 15k in dept from medical bills that were not covered. This company is a joke.

2 years ago Edited February 24, 2022

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Samantha, we are sorry to hear that you are frustrated and our team would like to learn more about what may have occurred. Please check your inbox for a followup message so that we may look into this for you.

Feb. 28th, 2022

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Scott K Lake Zurich, IL

Worst commercial I've ever seen where the black man indicates doctors don't believe an injured black child or adult because the color of their skin. I cannot believe you made a commercial about your services while tying in race. How low and desperate do you have to be?

2 years ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Hi, Scott, there are barriers in our healthcare system that have created health inequity in many communities. One of these barriers has to do with how some Black patients are perceived by their doctors when they present with pain-related symptoms. In a recent study, 40% of first- and second-year medical students endorsed the belief that “Black people’s skin is thicker than white people’s.” Trainees who believed that black people are not as sensitive to pain as white people were less likely to treat Black people’s pain appropriately.

Research also shows that health outcomes for minority patients are better when they are treated by providers who understand their race, culture, and religious preferences. In fact, the data states that when provided care that is culturally competent, individuals are 40% more likely to use needed health services, 22% less likely to delay seeking care, and there’s a 50% reduction in newborn mortality. Annals of Family Medicine has a peer-reviewed paper that digs deeper into some of this data.

Nov. 15th, 2021

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

jabc chubg Queens, NY

He are the worst insurance you can get. They made everything extremely hard to access. Their concierge team is unbelievably bad. They provide uncertain answers to just get over with you. I had a concierge women named Eva who refused to call my doctor and do explanation and when I asked to talk to another person she hanged up on me.

2 years ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

We are sorry to hear that you are frustrated and our team would like to learn more about what may have occurred. Please check your inbox for a followup message so that we may look into this for you.

Nov. 12th, 2021

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Sally P Liberty, MO

They have no clue what they are doing processing claims. I have now waited 7 months to have a claim paid to the hospital. Oscar can't tell my why it is still in pending status. Can't talk to anyone who nows. hospital can not refund my over payment because Oscar won't tell them I have paid my max out of pocket for the year.

2 years ago Edited February 8, 2022

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Hi there, we're sorry to hear about your recent experience with us. Please check your inbox for a message from our team.

Sep. 21st, 2021

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Anon Such CA

I paid close to $200 monthly, got into an accident, and they literally took off $1.00 off my $5000 bill! High deductible - I might as well not have had insurance and save myself the monthly payment since I covered the whole bill anyway. Terribly slow processing. Claims came in 15 months after the incident. Just awful.

2 years ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Hi there, we apologize for this experience. Please check your DMs for a message from one of our team members.

Sep. 14th, 2021

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

sapphiresky83 St. Cloud, FL

Haven’t really had to use my insurance yet, but so far you have been great. Would like to see the ability to change email/contact info in the app or on the website.

2 years ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Thank you for your kind words! We'll make sure our team gets your feedback about updating contact information.

Sep. 6th, 2021

star star star star star

Lisa Schwartz Mason City, IA

Love Oscar as they are great insurance. When you call they are considerate & help you resovle the issue..

2 years ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

We're always here to help, Lisa!

Aug. 24th, 2021

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Gregory Berlanga Houston, TX

As long as I have been with Oscar they have been very helpful and supportive and my needs as a customer

2 years ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Thank you for the kind words, Gregory!

Aug. 24th, 2021

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

All Things Film Santa Monica, CA

Very easy and friendly processing of my claims and a clear and straight forward navigation on the Oscar website.

2 years ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Thank you for your comment!

Aug. 24th, 2021

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

payal patel Orlando, FL

Customer service is always great! In network referral partners are plenty to choose from in my area

2 years ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Happy to hear you're enjoying your experience, Payal!

Aug. 24th, 2021

star star star star star

Patricia Anderson Placentia, CA

Loving the personalized care team that's easy to contact, and stays with you till any issue is solved

2 years ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

This is great to hear, Patricia! Please reach out if you ever have any questions.

Aug. 6th, 2021

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Marla Horsman Los Angeles, CA

I AM IN A LIFE THREATENING SITUATION. RECENTLY RELEASED FROM ICU WITH THE AGREEMENT TO SEE DR IN ONE WEEK. OSCAR HAS GIVEN ME OVER A 6 MONTH WAIT TO GET A BASIC APPOINTMENT I WON'T MAKE IT. ONLY GET THIS JOKE OF A BUSINESS TO COVER YOU IF YOU WANT TO DIE SOONER THAN LATER...AND PAY FOR IT.

2 years ago Edited September 14, 2021

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Hi Marla, we apologize for this experience. Please check your DMs for a message from one of our team members.

Jul. 13th, 2021

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Karen Luster Gallatin, TN

My issue is that I can't rely on the EOB's. They will tell me I owe nothing, but the provider will then tell me they're out of network. Customer service has never given a reasonable explanation for the disconnect; they'd only agree with the provider.

3 years ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Hi Karen, thank you for bringing this to our attention. Our team would like to learn a bit more about this issue and will follow up with you over DM!

Mar. 16th, 2021

star star star star star_border

Kaili Baines ,

Oscar has GREAT customer service! They are friendly and quick to help! I just wish there were more options for providers in my area.

3 years ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Thank you, Kaili! Our team would be more than happy to help you locate a provider in your area. Feel free to send us a DM to get started!

Jan. 28th, 2021

star star star star star_border

Lisa Guy Chardon, OH

I have not had Oscar for too long but the process of signing up was seamless. Anytime I had a question I always had a quick response!

3 years ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

We're so happy to have you as part of the Oscar family, Lisa!

Jan. 28th, 2021

star star star star star_border

Claudia Miami, FL

Have good list of Doctors. What i don't like is: Hospitals choices aren't good. It should include at least one that have a 5 star rating

3 years ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Thank you for your feedback, Claudia. Our team is consistently evaluating our partnerships with providers and hospitals to ensure our members have access to care in all of our markets. We will make sure your insights are shared with the appropriate teams here at Oscar.

Oct. 23rd, 2020

star star star star star_border

Michael Main San Antonio, TX

I find this insurance is readily accepted. They do a great job with telemedicine. I have found them to be responsive

3 years ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Hi Michael, thank you for the kind words!

Aug. 25th, 2020

star star star star star_border

V P Sangani Austin, TX

Optimum use of fund to receive good health care facilities of Hospitals and laboratories. Mobile App is easy to find healthcare details.

4 years ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

We're glad to hear that you're enjoying your Oscar experience! Please let us know if you ever have any questions. We're happy to help.

May. 22nd, 2020

star star star star_border star_border

John Menzel Neptune City, NJ

I am fairly new to the company. The premiums are better than most. But I have not been able to take advantage of wellness services for various reasons, including Covid-19.

4 years ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Hi John, thank you for your insights. Our team would be more than happy to help provide resources and support during this time. We recommend reaching out to your Concierge team via your web profile, the Oscar app, or by calling 855-672-2755.

May. 27th, 2020

star star star star star

Patricia Mundaca Orlando, FL

Thanks Oscar's team who helped me for my surgery and special Viridiana who was my angel. Patricia Ruiz

4 years ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

We're always happy to help, Patricia! Don't hesitate to reach out if you ever need anything.

May. 22nd, 2020

star star star star star

geoffrey norton Columbus, OH

Minimum wait time for a concierge team members. Team is polite and knowledgeable! They also follow-up!

4 years ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Thank you for your kind words, Geoffrey!

May. 22nd, 2020

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Mizash Upadhyay North Richland Hills, TX

Recently I had this insurance.....I am tried to find OBGYN in my area Forth worth, Texas but they have only one OBGYN and that doctor does not take patient on oscar network hospital.....but they put bunch of OBGYN doctor list on website but non of then take oscar......worst insurance ever

4 years ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Hi Mizash, thank you for bringing this to our attention. We would like to look into this issue further and see how we may be able to help. We've sent you a direct message to get started.

Feb. 26th, 2020

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Jason Burbank, CA

They have no providers in-network for higher tiered plans, only the lower tiered plans have doctors. However, the lowered tiered plans have an extremely high deductible you must satisfy before the plan starts paying. May as well not have insurance. Worst insurance ever!

4 years ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Hi Jason, we want to apologize for the frustration this has caused. We would be happy to assist you. To get started, please check your direct messages for a new message from our team.

Feb. 26th, 2020

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Nikita Rvachev Brooklyn, NY

I will recommend you to not use Oscar as your insurance. Every step except paying money to them is always pain and waste of time. When something is going wrong be ready to spend hours to speak with them and get zero results. Awful bureaucracy.

4 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Robert Maspeth, NY

Daughter was sick can’t. Talk sore throat high fever and they want her to go on website to fill out paperwork before helping even though paperwork already done twice before ,can’t go to hospital cost to much no doctor in maspeth area to see less than 10days out so to me not very good

4 years ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Hi Robert, thank you for letting us know about this. DM us your Oscar ID number and we'll be happy to look into this and have someone get in touch with you to help.

Sep. 14th, 2019

star star star star star

Patricia Ruiz Orlando, FL

I'm very happy with this Insurance (OSCAR), because they have a very good Professionals on the web.

4 years ago

star star star star star

José luna San Antonio, TX

Every time I have a problem I call Oscar and always help me ! I am very happy with Oscar Insuranse .

4 years ago

star star star star star

betty Randolph Township, NJ

needed to ascertain whether a nurse practitioner visit would be covered and was able to do so quickly and conveniently

4 years ago

star star star star star_border

Cindy F Puk Gardena, CA

I love that I can talk to a live person or my own team on line. So far my experience has been great with this company!

4 years ago

star star star star star

Ann Bublitz Cedar Park, TX

Any time I have had questions they have been quick to respond and treat me as if I really matter to them.

4 years ago

star star star star star_border

Vin Manhasset, NY

Oscar has been good for me. Haven’t been sick much, but I love how you can track your steps and get rewarded for reaching your goals.

4 years ago

star star star star star

Dena W Sherman Oaks, CA

It is great to have your own concierge so you talk with the same people when you call with any questions.

4 years ago

star star star star star

Neil Heffernan East Setauket, NY

Easy process to sign up. havent used benefits yet, going to get/look for my gp as soon as i get a free min

4 years ago

star star star star star_border

Shahana San Antonio, TX

Oscar is a very good insurance sometimes your customer service people are not aware of benefits details but not all the times ,

4 years ago