E-File Logo

E-File

star star star star star_border

5.3

Overall Score

LAST UPDATED: July 14th, 2023

E-File.com was founded in 2013 and provides affordable tax software that is reportedly up to 50 percent less expensive than some other online preparers. E-File.com provides software to help individuals electronically file both federal and state taxes in a quick and easy way. The company offer three different options for tax filing, including a free service. E-File.com does not sell any of its customer information to third parties, as opposed to many other software providers; its goal is to provide an affordable product without sacrificing a customer's privacy. 

thumb_up

The Good

  • Plan Options
  • File Quickly
  • Qualified Tax Support
  • Guarantees and Audit Protection

Plan Options

E-File offers three different plans to help with tax filing. The first is a free plan, which includes features to file single or jointly and covers federal taxes. The second plan that E-File offers is the Deluxe Plus E-File, which costs $24.99. This option allows customers to file with dependents and includes mortgage interest and retirement income. The last plan is the Premium Plus E-File, which costs $45.99. Although this option is the most expensive, it includes the most features, such as support for all deductions and coverage for all personal and business income. With each of these plans, customers can also file their state taxes for an additional $25.

File Quickly

Filing taxes can be painful and miserable, E-File's software makes the process quick and easy. In fact, many of the company's customers use the online tax software to file their taxes in less than 15 minutes.

Qualified Tax Support

Filing taxes can be confusing, but E-File online support, which is available to all users, can help answer questions within minutes so that customers don't have to spend hours on the phone with the IRS. Customer support can be accessed by following these steps:

  1. Login to your account at https://www.e-file.com/login.php
  2. Once logged in, click the "Help" button in the top right corner of the page
  3. Enter a brief question and click the "Search" button to view a list of articles pertaining to your question
  4. If an answer cannot be found in one of the help articles, click the "Click here" link at the bottom of the help window to issue a support ticket
  5. Enter your message and click the "Submit" button to send it and open up a ticket

Guarantees and Audit Protection

E-File provides a 100 percent accurate calculation guarantee with every purchase. It also provides a maximum refund and lowest price guarantee. Further, E-File provides audit protection, but it is part of the Protection Plus package and therefore costs extra to acquire.

Visit Site

thumb_down

The Bad

  • Limited Customer Support

Limited Customer Support

The qualified online tax support is a bonus, but the lack of additional customer support is one negative for E-File. It is always helpful when companies offer multiple customer support options to ensure that customers receive the maximum refund and follow up on their taxes. With E-File, customer service is not available via phone, live chat, or social media.

gavel

The Bottom Line

There are many things that E-File does well, including it's multiple plan options and free service for tax filing. The company also has an easy-to-use software that makes the filing process quick and simple. 

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Star Rating

info

4.2

star star star star star_border

134 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

66%

4 grade

14%

3 grade

4%

2 grade

3%

1 grade

12%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star star_border

Quality

star star star star star_border

Service

star star star star star_border

Trustworthiness

star star star star star_border
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Gail A. Germantown, MD

E-file.com is a SCAM. They do not have their customers' best interest in mind. They simply want our money. I thought I had found E-file.com through IRS Free File, but I guess not because E.file.com is nowhere to be found on the IRS website. I probably found E-File.com because they pay for their website to show up in searches. Anyway, I carefully followed all the directions on the website, and I thought everything was fine because my three returns (one federal plus two states) were accepted. Also, I received a direct deposit from the IRS in the amount that I had expected one week later. Nevertheless, I decided that I should try entering my information on another website. I received way different results on FreeTaxUSA than I did on E-file.com, which is illogical. It turns out that E-file.com makes assumptions instead of going through each return line by line as they should. For example, there was no option to note how much income I made in each state, so all my income was included in both state returns, which caused more money than necessary to be owed to each state. The incomplete and incorrect instructions on E-file.com generated several errors on my federal and state returns. Once I realized that I received less and owed more than I should have, I googled what to do and discovered that the only solution was to amend all three returns. When you click on the "amended return" section on E-file.com, you are brought to a page that demands $29.99. You cannot even work on your amended return without paying first. After gathering all this information and realizing that E-file.com is a SCAM, I submitted a support request from my account and demanded a full refund. A week has passed, and no one has gotten back to me, which is not surprising at all. E-file.com states that only deluxe members receive phone support, and I cannot find a customer service number for them anywhere. How convenient for them and frustrating for any of the people who choose them because they need a free tax return. I wanted to amend my returns electronically because of the convenience of doing so, but I refused to give E-file.com any more money. I discovered that I could amend my returns on FreeTaxUSA if I first entered my information exactly as I had on E-file.com. Even though I entered the same information, the values (amount overpaid to the government and amounts owed to the states) were not matching those on E-file.com. Figuring out how E-file.com had computed the values that they did was a guessing game because, again, they assumed information rather than asking for it. To receive the values from E-file.com on FreeTaxUSA, I had to enter incorrect information that I had never specified in the first place. By the way, I thought all the returns would be free on E-file.com, but that was not the case. The federal return was free, but each state return was $29.99. I found a 40% off coupon on Google, so I paid a total of $35.99. Unlike E-file.com, FreeTaxUSA allowed me to file/amend all three returns for free. If you are someone who needs free federal as well as state returns, check out IRS Free File because several websites allow you to file both kinds of returns for free. FreeTaxUSA is much more detailed and modern than E-file.com. With that website, I was able to 1. increase my federal return by nearly $2,000 by claiming a credit that E-file.com had failed to mention and 2. decrease the total amount I owed to both states by nearly $500. On the bright side, I learned to stay far away from E-file.com and found an amazing resource in FreeTaxUSA. TLDR: Stay far away from E-file.com because they incorrectly input your information and cause a much smaller tax return than you deserve. Also, they charge you for state returns. If you are looking for free federal and state returns, check out IRS Free File for websites that offer both. I highly recommend FreeTaxUSA.

1 year ago

E-File Logo

Reply from E-File

I’m very sorry that you had trouble allocating your state income. Our software does offer the ability to allocate income to the state return in which it was earned. It sounds like you may have had difficulty with the questions/instructions associated with doing this. We work very hard to make the software easy to understand for all users. I apologize that you had difficulty with this. We have gone ahead and refunded your purchase. Please let us know if you need any further assistance.

May. 6th, 2022

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Kristin Glendale, AZ

This company took my money but never filed my taxes. I have been in touch with them to see why 1) I received an automated email stating my taxes were filed after submitting them on their website and 2) my credit card was charged, yet my account says they were NOT filed now and the government has not received my documents. It's been over a week since I have reached out once realizing their error. They admit that this happened but no one has been in touch with me to say it is resolved or refund my money so that I can pay for someone else to file the paperwork. If you want RELIABLE and a place with QUALITY customer service, DON'T GO HERE. They are not these things.

4 years ago

E-File Logo

Reply from E-File

Hello Kristen, I am very sorry for the trouble you have had with this. While there was not enough information provided in this post to find you in our system, it sounds like you may have finished preparing your tax return but not completed the steps that the IRS requires to digitally sign your tax return so that we may transmit it electronically. Digitally signing is an IRS requirement, and only required when electronically transmitting a tax return. This is what the IRS uses to help combat taxpayer fraud. I certainly understand that there was some confusion over this and it sounds like our initial response to your inquiry did not clear this up. As such, we would be happy to provide you with a refund as well as assist you further with this filing. Please feel free to email us at info@ our domain name.

Jun. 18th, 2019

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Kevin A Callaway, MD

Assisted my mother in-law with filing her taxes as I do every year. She is not eligible for social security and keeps a part time job just to keep busy and have a small income. So her return was as simple as they come...one W-2 and no dependents. Got to the very end of the online program and was told that she had been automatically upgraded to the deluxe version with no explanation of why. When I inquired, I was told that she was not eligible for the free version because she was over 65. Really E-file? I can understand if her age caused additional forms to be required, but it didn’t. Also, you should state why a client does not qualify for your free service immediately when it becomes known. Otherwise I would not have wasted time continuing on. Deceptive company...stay clear!

4 years ago

E-File Logo

Reply from E-File

Hello Kevin, I apologize for any confusion with this. The IRS actually did have a rule that changed the filing type for anyone 65 years or older, this criteria disqualified taxpayers from using a federal 1040ez form (which is free to prepare on our website). This is why your account had been upgraded by our system from free to deluxe. Now, with the recent tax law changes, the 1040ez form is no longer available. This year we continued to provide free software to all those who would have qualified for the ez form. We are looking at ways to expand this and the age criteria is one that we are trying to do away with. If you or your mother-in-law would like, we would be happy to provide this years software free of charge. Just reach out to us at info@ our domain name and we will provide you with a coupon code to do so.

Jun. 18th, 2019

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Melody Los Angeles, CA

Just terrible!!! I couldn't even end up filing with them even though I filled out the forms because they asked for one piece of information I forgot about/didn't have AFTER payment so that was $65 thrown in the garbage. Also, their customer service is absolute trash. No way to speak to someone on the phone and the people working behind the scenes just copy and paste pre-written messages that don't even address the problem. They refused to give me a refund! They say they charge for the preparation, not to e-file...what exactly did they prepare?! I have to punch in all the numbers and info myself that I enter into their calculator! If I wanted to pay for preparation, I would've just gone to a CPA who would do a much better job. Bottom line: DON'T WASTE YOUR TIME/MONEY (P.S. it isn't really free)

5 years ago

E-File Logo

Reply from E-File

Hello Melody, I am very sorry for the trouble you had with this. Now, $65 is not a price that we typically charge, please make sure that you used (with a dash) and not another tax software provider. With that said, it sounds like you prepared a tax return but did not have the information that the IRS requires to digitally sign and electronically transmit it. Digitally signing is a requirement whether you used our software or not. Now, we are happy to assist you with trying to locate the information you do not have or if you are unable to locate this, you can always print and mail the return that you prepared. For additional assistance with this, please contact us at info at . Sincerely, Customer Care

Apr. 25th, 2018

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Lynnelle Detroit, MI

I filed my taxes for the first time and went through you guys. I owed money but I wasn’t worried about that, the down fall of this company. You guys go through a middle man (Meta Bank) when owing money. All they took was my state taxes and I was fine with that. My refund said it was sent today, but guess what no refund in my account. I had to call several numbers just to be told they don’t know when my refund will be credited to my bank account. Which is a bummer because I have bills to pay and now I can’t do that because I don’t get paid until the 26th. So I’m broke until then. I will not be filing with you guys next year, this is to much of a hassle. You have answers for everything but as soon someone asks how long before it’s in my account no one has a answer. Smh

5 years ago

E-File Logo

Reply from E-File

Hello Lynnelle, I am sorry for the time it has taken the IRS to process your refund. Unfortunately, there is no way for us (or any other tax software provider) to make the IRS expedite your refund. As for the bank you mentioned, I believe you opted to pay for your software out of the proceeds of your refund rather than use a credit/debit card. When a taxpayer selects this, the refund must go to a third party financial institution (like an escrow service). Once received, that financial institution pays for your software and disperses the balance to you. This can take up to 3 days for it to post to your account although it is usually faster. I apologize if this was not made clear in our previous correspondence. Sincerely, E-file Customer Care

Mar. 15th, 2018

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Taxpayer Portland, OR

I never received the check E-File said they mailed to me. After a month, I asked them to reissue the check. They said no. Then they tried to blame it on COVID19 but still said no. Finally, I got them to issue a reimbursement to my credit card but they only reimbursed less than half. After quite a bit more back and forth, they issued another reimbursement to my credit card. But they still owe some and they say they won’t pay. They also won’t provide a rejoined number to call and refuse to escalate the issue internally. Very frustrating and time-consuming.

3 years ago

E-File Logo

Reply from E-File

This is not the protocol that we take when refunding customers. It sounds like you may have used another website. I am very sorry for the confusion with this. Since you left this review under the name "Taxpayer" and included no other contact information, I am unable to provide much more assistance here. However, if you would like to email us at info @e-file.com we will be happy to help you identify the company whom you used.

Jul. 17th, 2020

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Grandma765 Marion, IN

2019 filing 2018 THEY SAY THAT YOU CAN FILE FOR FREE BUT THEY END UP CHARGING YOU IF YOU ARE BUT NOT IF YOU ARE OVER “65” YEARS OLD. I AM ON LIMITED INCOME AND MAKE LESS THAN 15,000 ON SOCIAL SECURITY. MAKES NO SENSE TO ME. I WOULD NOT I REPEAT NOT RECOMMEND THIS SERVICE TO ANY ONE. I FEEL THAT IT IS A RIP OFF. VERY BAD SITE IS NOT USER FRIENDLY. !!!!!!!!!! ASKED FOR MY ACCOUNTS TO BE DELETED.

5 years ago

E-File Logo

Reply from E-File

I am very sorry for this. The IRS required anyone 65 years or older to file a 1040A tax form rather than a 1040ez form. The federal 1040ez form has always been free to prepare on our website. This is why your account was upgraded by our system from free to pay. The recent tax law changes eliminated both the 1040ez and 1040A forms. This year we continued to provide free software to all those who would have qualified for the ez form. We are looking at ways to increase the number of users who we can offer free software to and the age restriction is something that we are working on removing to help accomplish this. I apologize for the trouble and confusion with this. If you’d still like to use our software we are happy to provide it to you free of charge.

Jun. 18th, 2019

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Richard

Wish I could give zero rating. This company changed the address entry on address line 1 and also used it as the employer name. They have not replied to my emails and I cannot amend the W-2's yet as the were submitted to the IRS over a week ago (and 10 days after I submitted) and cannot be amended until after acceptance by the IRS. NEVER USE THIS COMPANY - THEY SCREW UP YOUR FILINGS AND THEN IGNORE YOU, YOU WILL HAVE TO PAY TO FIX THEIR SCREW-UPS.

6 years ago

E-File Logo

Reply from E-File

Hello Richard, I am very sorry for this poor experience. I would like to investigate this matter more and try to resolve it if possible. Would you be able to provide me with your email address or last name so that I can try to find you in our system? Thank you for your help with this and I apologize again for the trouble you had with this. Sincerely, E-file Customer Care

Feb. 14th, 2018

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

yonne ramseur Suwanee, GA

Do not use this company, they are scam artist out to make a quick buck. I tried to use them to to file my taxes, and after I had paid the filing fee, it prompted my to for additional information, that I didnt have and so I did my on my own and when I requested a refund, they told my that, since I had used their site to calculate my return, that they would deny me request. That is a poor business practice and their management has questionable morals.

6 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

wanda Saint George, UT

only had a coupon and decided why not, i would try this out since i had a coupon and it was so cheap. i guess what i sent to the state was not correct because i had to corrfect it. and with federal i had to correct it as well. they wanted me to pay for some extension fee. i didn't see a phone number of who to contact to ask questions. i would not recommend E-File because i had errors and ended up fixing the errors on my own.

5 years ago

E-File Logo

Reply from E-File

Hello Wanda, I am sorry that you had to correct your tax returns and retransmit them. Unfortunately, when information is entered by a taxpayer that does not match what the IRS or the taxpayer's state is expecting it can result in a filing being rejected. Typically, when this happens you just need to correct the filing and re-transmit it. This is completely free of charge as long as you are using the same account. While we are not allowed to correct the return on a taxpayer's behalf, we are certainly happy to assist all taxpayers in correcting their return and retransmitting it. The best way to receive assistance on your return is to log into your account and click the "Help" link located on the top right side of each page. Sincerely, E-file Customer Care

Aug. 31st, 2018

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Sandra Bearchum

I don't think I got the all the return I should have gotten. You didn't ask if I was 65 or older, etc. I don't know if you even knew I was. I won't be using your service again.

5 years ago

E-File Logo

Reply from E-File

Hello Sandra, I am sorry for the confusion with this. We get your age from your birthdate which is one of the first questions that users answer. The idea is to make the process as simple as possible and not ask questions that may be redundant. If you have any other questions about the software please do not hesitate to ask. Sincerely, Customer Care

Apr. 23rd, 2018

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Cw sellers Dripping Springs, TX

This company is a rip off. They say they will file an extension for free. But then they charge your credit card for $24.00. Total scam. Steer clear.

4 years ago

E-File Logo

Reply from E-File

Hello CW Sellers, Can you confirm that you used (with a dash)? $24 is not a fee that we have ever charged for extension software. Is it possible that you used a different website with a similar name? Now, we do charge $19.99 for our extension software. Included with this is free software to file your 1040 tax return (anytime between April 20th - October 15th). So, if you file an extension with us, you will receive software to file both your extension and your tax return (federal and state, regardless of filling type) for the $19.99 fee.

Jun. 18th, 2019

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Maggie Elliott

No reply for email at all! Site says a reply will be given but that is obviously not true—even after THREE days.

6 years ago

E-File Logo

Reply from E-File

Hello Maggie, I am very sorry for the poor experience you had and the difficulty receiving a response. I attempted to look for an account matching your name on our site and I was unable to locate any user with the name "Maggie Elliott" in our system. Is it possible that a different name was used when creating this account or could you have used a different website? We are (with a dash) this is sometimes confused with other websites? Thank you for your assistance with this. Sincerely, Customer Care

Feb. 14th, 2018

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Sherry Brownsburg, IN

Hard to use and was very confusing. It was the first time attempted for my 2019 taxes and I gave up and used TurboTax again

3 years ago

E-File Logo

Reply from E-File

I am very sorry that you found preparing your taxes confusing. We strive to make our software as simple as possible. Did you try contacting our support team for assistance with this? Since you only included a first name, I was not able to search for your account to check. If not, please know our account specialists are always happy to try and assist.

Aug. 27th, 2020

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Brandi Wilhoit Fairfax, VA

This was way to confusing. Everytime i tried to to efile my taxes it would kick me off and return to the beginning.

3 years ago

E-File Logo

Reply from E-File

NOTE - This individual did not have an account with E-file. They were confused about the website they used and mistakenly left a review here. Unfortunately, they have not yet taken steps to correct this. This is the communication that was sent to them: Hello Brandi, We are very sorry for the trouble you had. Can you please confirm that you used www e-file com (with a dash between e and file) and not a different website or software program? We do not show any accounts matching the name "Brandi Wilhoit" and each of the accounts that contain the last name "Wilhoit" and used us this year had a completed tax return associated with it . As such, it sounds like you may have used a different website or software program and left a review on our website by mistake. The account confirmation email you were sent when creating your account, should help to confirm this. We always send confirmation emails when creating an account. If you did not receive this or you did and it is from a domain other than ours, we ask that you please revise or remove the review from our profile and leave it with the company whom you had this experience with. Thank you for your help with this. Sincerely, E-file Customer Care

Sep. 8th, 2020

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Dissatisfied Denise

Filed on 2/9/18 it is two mos. later and I still don't have my money!

5 years ago

E-File Logo

Reply from E-File

Hello Denise, I am very sorry for any delay you have experienced with your tax refund. Unfortunately, we can't make the IRS process refunds any faster (nor can any tax software provider). If you would like, you can check the status of your refund at or call the IRS at 1-800-829-1040. Sincerely, Customer Care

Apr. 23rd, 2018