SunPower by Sun Solar Logo

SunPower by Sun Solar

check_circleVerified

star star star star star_half
58 User Reviews

5.8

Overall Score

error This company may not service all states.
See states serviced
LAST UPDATED: June 28th, 2022

Formerly Sun Solar Energy Solutions, SunPower by SunSolar is a leading solar installation provider serving the Central Valley area of California since 2008. The company installs SunPower's award-winning SunPower Equinox system, boasts a certification from the North American Board of Certified Energy Practitioners, and was named one of Solar Power World's "Top 500 Solar Contractors" every year between 2012 and 2016, averaging an impressive 8,400 kilowatts per year for each of those five years.

thumb_up

The Good

  • SunPower Equinox System
  • Complete Confidence Warranty
  • Price Match Guarantee
  • Buy, Loan, Lease, or PPA
  • NABCEP Certified

SunPower Equinox System

One of the most enticing aspects of Sun Solar is its partnership with industry leader SunPower and its installation of the SunPower Equinox system. This particular solar PV system features both solar panels and solar inverters manufactured by SunPower. As a solar panel manufacturer, SunPower is second to none, and its panels rank as the most energy efficient on the market; in fact, the Sunpower solar panel has better solar panel efficiency than almost any conventional panel, averaging about 22.8 percent. This means a residential solar customers could effectively power the home with fewer panels by going with a SunPower dealer.

SunPower panel and inverter modules come with a 25-year equipment warranty (more on that below) that covers the system in the event of a product defect or damage that existed prior to installation.

The SunPower Equinox system is also compatible with leading solar energy storage solutions. At the homeowner's request, SunPower by Sun Solar can add either the SunVault Storage system by SunPower, or the Tesla Powerwall. Both options collect clean, renewable energy from the solar panel system that can be used at night or in the event of a power outage or other emergency.

Complete Confidence Warranty

SunPower by Sun Solar provides customers with a Complete Confidence Warranty, which provides comprehensive protection and coverage of every solar project the company installs. Unlike conventional warranties that provide partial coverage and short terms, the Complete Confidence Warranty provides full coverage of parts, labor, and maintenance for 25 years, the projected lifetime of the solar energy system. Specifically, the Complete Confidence Warranty provides the following:

  • Free repair or replacement of defective parts (includes labor and shipping)
  • Rust damage protection
  • No proof of purchase or written claims required
  • 90% peak system AC power for 25 years
  • 8% DC power decline for 25 years

Price Match Guarantee

SunPower by Sun Solar is one of the few solar companies operating today that provides potential customers with a price match guarantee on comparable SunPower systems. If a customer receives a lower quote from another solar company within Sun Solar's service area on a SunPower Equinox system of similar size, SunPower by Sun Solar will match it, ensuring that the homeowner is getting the best deal possible.

Buy, Loan, Lease, or PPA

SunPower by Sun Solar offers homeowners a full suite of available financing options. In addition to direct purchase, which requires the greatest out-of-pocket investment but also provides the greatest long-term return on that investment, the company offers the following financing routes:

  • Solar Loan — zero down, low interest, qualifies for federal and state tax credits and incentives
  • Solar Lease — rent the system, no maintenance fees, monthly rate lower than the utility bill
  • Power Purchase Agreement (PPA) — pay monthly for solar energy output, 25-year terms, less expensive than the utility bill

Customers can speak with one of the company's energy consultants to determine the best option for their energy needs and budget.

NABCEP Certified

SunPower by Sun Solar is also NABCEP-certified, which means technicians have undergone advanced solar installation training and solar technology education from one of the most credible and widely respected institutions in solar. An NABCEP certification is considered the "gold standard" among solar experts, and homeowners can rest assured that they will receive the best service and solar installation in the industry.

thumb_down

The Bad

  • Only Available in Central Valley

Only Available in Central Valley

SunPower by Sun Solar has four main offices in the Central Valley area of California: Bakersfield, Fresno, Visalia, and Anaheim. While this reflects a high level of expertise and knowledge of these local markets, SunPower by Sun Solar is one of literally thousands of solar providers, installers, and manufacturers operating in the State of California.

In a highly competitive solar market, leveraging and promoting verified SunPower by Sun Solar reviews is one of the most effective ways for the company to stand out and highlight the experiences of actual satisfied customers.

gavel

The Bottom Line

If you live in the Central Valley area of California and are looking for a quality solar panel installation from a company with industry expertise and local knowledge, SunPower by Sun Solar would be a great choice. The company builds long-lasting solar panel systems covered by an industry-leading warranty, and provides customers with numerous financing options to help them invest in clean energy. Customers are encouraged to obtain a free quote from this company and compare it to other leading companies in their area.

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Message from
SunPower by Sun Solar

As a proud locally-owned and operated solar company serving California’s Central Valley since 2008, SunPower by SunSolar provides reliable solar solutions to home and business owners.

We don’t “sell” solar; we help our friends, family, customers, and community find ways to save and make the best solar decisions for their families and organizations.

Backed by SunPower’s industry-leading warranty and high-quality products, we design and install solar systems that are built to last and provide guaranteed solar power to our customers for years to come.

keyboard_arrow_up keyboard_arrow_down

Star Rating

4.3

star star star star star_half

58 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

69%

4 grade

10%

3 grade

9%

2 grade

2%

1 grade

10%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star star

Quality

star star star star star

Service

star star star star star

Trustworthiness

star star star star star
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

David Swenson Denver, CO

I have had a Sunpower system on my home for 5 months. I am very impressed with the quality of the system and the service of the team. My app works great and provides accurate data to make sure my electric company is charging me correctly!

1 month ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Eric Poore Bakersfield, CA

As a retired building inspector, I watched the install with great care.What I observed was quite unusual from from all the other solar companies. They were all very professional and very. There installation was the best l had seen in all the years I inspected solar installations.

7 months ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Pamela Quick Bakersfield, CA

Any questions we might have are always answered quickly. Our system has been operating over a year without one single problem . The right amount of panels were installed. They are producing more than enough power for our home!

7 months ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Thama McAfee Taft, CA

We began the process of having Solar Installed in the Spring of 2018. Our interaction with everyone at SunPower by Sun Solar has always been very positive. They always did what they said they were going to do.

6 months ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Carlee Barros Hanford, CA

We have had no problem with the unit, except for one unplug. The service person came out and fixed it the same day. Our unit is on ground so easy to clean.

7 months ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

John Dirkse Bakersfield, CA

The installation was done quickly, the system is producing the amount of energy that was promised, and they provide good customer service.

6 months ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Laurie Bakersfield, CA

Installation was quick and done very well. Looks much better than others I have seen. Love the app for keeping track of power generated.

7 months ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Kenneth J. Witham Bakersfield, CA

The install seemed good and I have had no problems with it. I only wish they had a reasonably priced service to clean the solar panels.

7 months ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Richard Los Banos, CA

I received what I purchased. System works great no, conduit on the roof. Also no boxes on the outside looks good.

7 months ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Sheila Bakersfield, CA

Got a good discount, they fixed the problem with my connection to their reporting system efficiently.

7 months ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Don Mickey Taft, CA

I have had a couple problems with my system and they were prompt in coming out and fixing the problem

7 months ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Lynda Hampton Bakersfield, CA

This is the second home we've used them. Very professional, no mess and did exactly what they said they would do.

7 months ago

star star star star star

Robert Maidment Bakersfield, CA

Had my solar system for about 3 years now and have had no issues. Website is easy to monitor your production and when not performing at its best they will send a rep out to check it out (only happened once thus far). But far the best feature is the look of the panels, no outside wiring or pipes and the placement on our house, you cant even see it from the front. Still have solar companies come to the door asking if I though about going solar. Saving me around $100-$150 dollars a month. Thanks sun solar.

4 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

ramesh pothuru Morrisville, PA

technician is very knowledgeable, verified roof health and offered multiple finance options.

1 month ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Ann Smith Bakersfield, CA

The sales and installation process was professional and completed as expected.

7 months ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Larry Cabibi Bakersfield, CA

From the start you guys have done everything you said you would do and very quickly

7 months ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Anonymous Diamond Bar, CA

The employees are very courteous and very attentive to answer and resolve questions and problems.

7 months ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Ron Gross Bakersfield, CA

Easy to work with. Very professional and punctual. Got things done very quickly.

7 months ago

star star star star star

Tony CA

Best solar company to work with here in Bakersfield, Ca . Installation crew professional and respectful , customer service was excellent . Will be recommending to friend and family .

11 months ago

SunPower by Sun Solar Logo

Reply from SunPower by Sun Solar

Thank you for the 5-star review, Tony! We look forward to helping your friends and family save with solar!

Dec. 29th, 2021

star star star star star

Shannon Hughes Fresno, CA

We recently leased our system with Sun Solar and our experience has been great so far! Our Sales Rep Duane and the rest of the team are knowledgable and have been extremely helpful and responsive throughout the process. We can't wait to start saving with solar and our 2 home batteries!

1 year ago

star star star star star

Scott Bakersfield, CA

Going on my third year with Sun Solar, installation was done in the quoted time frame. Monitoring platform to stay up on daily KWH production. (1) panel repair needed in past three years., it was completed with-in three days. So far Reps have returned any calls & done work on time. Than you Sun Solar.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Rudy Aleman Bakersfield, CA

they did a great job on my home Solar System and it was clean job

6 months ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Dennis Handel Bakersfield, CA

We are pleased how well our solar has significantly dropped our power bills.

6 months ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

David Clark San Juan Capistrano, CA

Achieving the savings projected and installation was as promised!

7 months ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Terrell Tucker Bakersfield, CA

Great customer service. Very helpful when I have any questions.

7 months ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Pierre Bakersfield, CA

Good and professional advices. Help through the all process.

7 months ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Denice Schweer Bakersfield, CA

Great service very knowledgeable. Installation was very easy

7 months ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Robert Dominguez Bakersfield, CA

Very professional employees. Job quickly done. Happy with my solar panels.

7 months ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Dale Milligan Caliente, CA

Good assessment of needs and selection of components. Work done well

7 months ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Donna Moralez Tulare, CA

I never have had a true up bill. Our Edison bill is no more than $20.

7 months ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Randy Dennis Tulare, CA

Cleanest installation in the business, great syste. With zero issues

7 months ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Craig D Harrell Bakersfield, CA

efficient install. Took care of dealing with utililty.

6 months ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Carl Williams Bakersfield, CA

They have so far followed through with their comments

6 months ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Renee Ballard Bakersfield, CA

Great Customer care, friendly and helpful

7 months ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Tina Giblin Bakersfield, CA

Excellent customer service; quality of product

7 months ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Edward Velasquez Bakersfield, CA

Both customer service and products are outstanding.

7 months ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Harold Maas Bakersfield, CA

Had our system two years everything working great.

7 months ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Steve Whitaker Bakersfield, CA

They are knowledgeable and have great product.

7 months ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

David Linnell Bakersfield, CA

Quality's product and service are a priority.

7 months ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Lorita Casanova Atwater, CA

Amando was very instrumental in my decision

7 months ago