Best Company Guarantee Sun Badger Solar Logo

Sun Badger Solar

check_circleVerified

star star star star star_half
200 User Reviews

7.6

Overall Score

error This company may not service all states.
See states serviced
LAST UPDATED: June 24th, 2022

Headquartered in Wisconsin since 2018, Sun Badger Solar is a full-service company providing both commercial and residential solar installation services to home and business owners in Florida, Illinois, Minnesota, and Wisconsin. Despite being in business for a relatively short amount of time, the company has already made a name for itself, making Solar Power World Magazine’s “Top 500 Solar Contractor” list every year since its founding (2018–2020 to date).

Sun Badger Interview with Best Company

thumb_up

The Good

  • Tier-One Equipment
  • NABCEP Certified

Tier-One Equipment

Sun Badger Solar carries inverters from Enphase, which supplies a proprietary consumption monitoring system that syncs with the Sun Badger Solar mobile app.

On top of its impressive array of solar panel and inverter selections, Sun Badger Solar also installs solar backup battery solutions through its partnership with Tesla Solar. The Tesla Powerwall is one of the most efficient solar batteries available today, and can harness and store enough energy to keep the lights on at night or in the event of a power outage or other grid mishap.

NABCEP Certified

Sun Badger Solar employs electricians and technicians who have been certified by the North American Board of Certified Energy Practitioners (NABCEP). The NABCEP is an industry-recognized organization that has authored numerous and rigorous certification programs aimed at raising the standard in solar. The organization actively educates companies on best installation standards and solar technology. Companies with this certification distinguish themselves and experts in their field, so Sun Badger Solar customers can rest easy knowing their installation will be done right.

Visit Site

thumb_down

The Bad

  • Utilizies Electrical Partnerships for FL
  • No Lease or PPA Options

Utilizies Electrical Partnerships for FL

Sun Badger Solar’s team of certified solar technicians are present at every solar panel installation in Illinois and Wisconsin; however, the company does contract out its installation services to qualified partners in Florida. While the difference in quality may be negligible, Sun Badger Solar customers living in these locales should be aware of these partnerships that may or may not maintain NABCEP-certified status the way that Sun Badger Solar does.

No Lease or PPA Options

Like many companies in the solar industry, Sun Badger Solar readily offers customers direct purchase of its solar energy systems, or financing through a third-party lender in the form of low interest, long term loans, zero-down, zero-interest for up to 12 months solar loans or home-equity lines of credit (HELOC). However, the company does not appear to offer customers the option to lease its solar energy systems, or pay for solar power through a power purchase agreement (PPA).

Both of these options can be incredibly cost-effective for customers on a fixed income who want to get involved with solar power. They both charge monthly fees that are often lower than utility bill payments, and place the burden of ownership (along with installation and maintenance fees) solely on the company.

gavel

The Bottom Line

Overall, Sun Badger Solar checks several boxes for what a competent, quality solar installation company should have. Its technicians are NABCEP certified, and are authorized to install some of the best and most energy-efficient solar equipment on the market.

Florida customers should note that the company contracts its solar project installations to partners local to those states, and Sun Badger Solar customers everywhere will have to choose between purchase and loan financing. With all that in mind, customers are encouraged to obtain a free quote with the company to see if Sun Badger Solar is the best solar company for their needs.

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Message from
Sun Badger Solar

Sun Badger Solar® is a top rated solar developer servicing residential and commercial customers. We focus on high-quality solar PV systems and the best customer experience, including education, design, and application for state and federal rebates. All of our work is performed by licensed electrical contractors.

Experts in the Field Our solar experts will walk you through the financial benefits and financing options, as well as customizing the most efficient and appropriate system design for your home and budget.

Only the Best Take the guesswork out of which panel is best for you. A solar project with Sun Badger® means you are getting the best product & technology available.

Fair Pricing Ensuring you have the right balance between energy production and consumption while reaping the most incentives available is our number one priority. All in all that means you’ll be getting the best pricing out there.

Quick Work You don’t need anything else in the way of taking your energy into your own hands, so time is of the essence. While most installers are quoting 5 to 6 months, Sun Badger® strives to have your system up within 3 to 4 months. This means more money back to you, faster.

keyboard_arrow_up keyboard_arrow_down
bestcompany guarantee

Best Company guarantees your satisfaction if you choose a company that has earned this distinction. If you're not satisfied after 30 days, simply let us know and we'll give you $100. Yes, it's really that simple.

Learn More

Star Rating

4.4

star star star star star_half

206 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

69%

4 grade

16%

3 grade

7%

2 grade

4%

1 grade

4%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star star_half

Quality

star star star star star_half

Service

star star star star star_half

Trustworthiness

star star star star star_half
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Joe Smith Beloit, WI

My overall experience was positive. Knowledgeable and helpful staff. A bit disappointed in power production, but the system has been functional for only 3 months, and the power company credit for energy is poor.

2 months ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

Thank you for your feedback! We are pleased that you had a great experience working with our staff through the solar installation process! In looking at your system's production, I see that the first few months of the year will not exceed the energy usage for your home. However, the next several months you will see a drastic difference in the production of your system versus the energy usage of your home! Looking forward to many sunny days to come!

May. 24th, 2022

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Jeff Boudreau Oregon, WI

Ever since signing up with Sun Badger my wife and I have been getting spammed by multiple companies, I am very disappointed in this. Good support. Ok install. The stickers I was told would get mailed to me still haven't arrived. The original stickers were put on lte and then over the protective plastic bag on the box

3 months ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

Thank you for your review Jeff! Being spammed with emails is never enjoyable, but Sun Badger does not sell your information! Perhaps this could have been in result of your search for solar. Our operations team will be re-sending you the stickers that were supposed to arrive, so please keep an eye out for those! If you have any questions please don't hesitate to reach out to [email protected] or our dedicated service department at [email protected] Stay sunny!

Apr. 1st, 2022

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Jay Highland, WI

Customer Sales and service was exceptional, crews performing the work were very helpful, and polite, Project Management was pleasant. We had a minor issue related to installation that caused our septic alarm to go on, which was resolved without issue. Overall, a great company to work with. would be 5 stars if we did not have the minor septic issue.

5 months ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

Thank you for your review Jay! We appreciate your understanding on minor issues that can arise during installation, and we always are striving for a smooth process from start to end. It was a pleasure working with you and we look forward to working with your referrals in the future! ☀️

Feb. 9th, 2022

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Benjamin Martin Mound, MN

Sun badger did their best but the installers were an unorganized mess. I've always wanted solar panels since I was a kid and the dream was nearly a nightmare. Granted nearly all the issues were the third party installers so sun badger was fine and good when viewed on what they were like and could control.

5 months ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

Thank you for this feedback Ben and we sincerely apologize that the dream you had was not met by our installers. Sun Badger wants the best experience for our customers and for that reason, we have made changes on the installation teams we work with. Thank you for still choosing to go solar with Sun Badger, and we know that your high quality system will meet those dreams of yours going forward!!

Feb. 9th, 2022

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Isral DeBruin Milwaukee, WI

My sales experience with Sun Badger was excellent -- the provided multiple design options at different price points with clear, well-explained documents that helped me understand how much electricity the system would generate, how much it would cost, etc. Installation was pretty good, though I had some issues with communication about where specific pieces were installed. Finally, my communication with the company owner about final payment was challenging and tense at times... however, we did ultimately come to a mutually agreeable solution. In the end, I'm pleased with the installation and the product and would recommend Sun Badger to a friend.

11 months ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

Thank you for your feedback Isral! Sun Badger Solar's sales team takes pride in being honest and ensuring our customers are well informed on the decision they make when going solar. We are pleased that you had a great experience and would recommend us to your friends! Be sure to do so through our Sun Badger Solar app and let us know if you have any questions going forward! Here's to many sunny days ahead for you!

Aug. 24th, 2021

star star star star star_border

Bennett Brantmeier

Great set up , but my shed roof leaks and nobody coming to fix it

5 months ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience of going solar with us! Your system looks beautiful on your shed, and we can't wait for you to see the benefits of producing your own energy on your next utility statement! Congratulations on going solar and thank you for choosing and trusting in Sun Badger!

Feb. 8th, 2022

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Matt Messenger Elk River, MN

Friendly company, some delay and difficulty getting answers why there was a delay. Sunbadger was very apologetic when I reached out to them.

5 months ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

Thank you for your feedback Matt! We do our best to give as much detail when/if there are delays in a project, and we apologize if that was not the case for yours! However, we are pleased that your solar system was energized within the expected timeline and before the end of the year! Thank you for choosing Sun Badger to go solar with!

Feb. 9th, 2022

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Kevin Klein Milwaukee, WI

Working with Sun Badger was generally smooth, but it took longer than expected to schedule the install and there were a few hiccups with the system design.

8 months ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience here! We appreciate your patience through your project, and although it took a bit longer than expected your system was still powered on within 6 months! We look forward to many sunny months ahead for you! Take care.

Dec. 15th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Nathaniel Ferendzo O'fallon, IL

good sales department, installation team was great. took very long to get it installed. they went to install on a house in a different state which pushed it back another month

10 months ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

Thank you for your feedback! In this rare occasion, we appreciate your understanding and patience while our team worked to rearrange their installation schedule to ensure you did get installed as quickly as possible. Now that you have your beautiful system installed, we know you will see the benefits for years to come! Please do not hesitate to reach out to us if you have any questions. Stay sunny!

Aug. 25th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Nancy Muehllehner Middleton, WI

They were very responsive and professional. There were a few hiccups when a financial employee was new, and MGE was difficult to schedule, but each time I found them responsive to the issues. All in all I can highly reccommend SubBadger

1 year ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

Thank you for taking the time to write this review! Scheduling with utility companies can sometimes be a challenge, but our goal is to always keep you updated along the way! We are always here if you have any questions or concerns. Stay sunny!

Feb. 15th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Joe Teunessen Chicago, IL

Overall, they did a great job installing 25 solar panels on our South facing roof. Some of the timeliness dealing with inspections, et al, could be a little frustrating but not the fault of the installer.

1 year ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

Thank you for sharing your experience! Your solar array looks beautiful and is producing right on track with what we predicted. We appreciate your understanding of the different parties that are involved in this process, and how delays may occur due to outside factors of Sun Badger. If you have any questions, please do not hesitate to reach out to us!

Feb. 15th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Vadim K.

Best price, competent field workers and knowlegable saleman, The only issue is extremely protracted drawings/permit/approval process. Looks like they need to strengthen the office team.

1 year ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

Thank you for your review! Since your project, we have strengthened our team to ensure we are providing the best customer experience possible! We also have made changes to our project management software and added onboarding sessions for new customers. Our focus is on our customers and hope that your future referrals will see the difference as we continue to grow!

Feb. 15th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Kaleb Haugen Madison, WI

SunBadger offered great quality of materials and installation. Their price was competitive, and considering the high quality LG panels and Enphase inverters used the price to value is much better than competitors.

1 year ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

Thank you for the review Kaleb! We are here if you have any questions at all. Congratulations on going solar and we are so happy you chose us here at Sun Badger!

Feb. 8th, 2021

star star star star star_border

Dave Klocke Hastings, MN

The best part of my experience was the one day install for my system. The system is up and running now and looks good. The people I worked with were all friendly and professional. Disappointments included a significant delay in install compared with promised and the need for a few return visits by electricians and power company to satisfy inspectors. The company indicates they have made some adjustments to improve these issues. I would rate between 3-4 stars where five stars would have been best price, accurate install date, and flawless install with all inspections passed the first go around.

1 year ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

Thank you for your feedback. You have a high quality system that will produce savings for you for years to come! We appreciate your patience through some of the delays, and we look forward to many sunny days ahead for you!

Apr. 16th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Jean Janesville, WI

the sales was great, no pressure, but customer service could use an improvement/communication

5 months ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

Thank you for your feedback! We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review and are always striving to improve wherever we can. Stay sunny!

Feb. 9th, 2022

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Frank Stanek Madison, WI

The process took longer than expected, but they did communicate the entire time. We had a leak issue afterwards that caused some damage though

10 months ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We understand that there were some permitting delays with your municipality, but happy to hear you were communicated with during this process! Please reach out to our service department if you ever have any issues relating to your solar project- [email protected]

Aug. 25th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Lisa Kregel Minneapolis, MN

Disorganized at times, my installation pushed into next calendar year delaying my rebates by a full year. But the panels are producing well.

10 months ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

Thank you for sharing your feedback Lisa! We have already made some adjustments to our growing MN market to account for some of these delays. We appreciate your patience and understanding through the project, and know that over the next few decades you will see that your high quality system will continue to produce solar energy for your home!

Aug. 25th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Jay Mews Saint Paul, MN

Installation went well: crew friendly and professional. The biggest issue was not getting a heads-up on material drop off and confirming work start date.

1 year ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

Thank you for your review and we appreciate your feedback! Our new project management software that was recently put in place, should alleviate some of those communication errors. We do get excited for installation day though! :)

Feb. 19th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Craig Neenah, WI

They really know what they are doing. So far all the savings they predicted have been accurate.

8 months ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

Thank you for your review! Your system is producing beautifully☀️.

Oct. 28th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

JohnnJoyce Yorkville, IL

Top of the line equipment but just missed 5* with finishing touches from the install.

8 months ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

Thank you for your feedback! Your system is producing as predicted and we look forward to many more years of sunshine to come for you! Please don't hesitate to reach out if you have any questions!

Oct. 28th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Mark Stenftenagel Elmhurst, IL

They were excellent even though my salesperson quit in the middle of the transaction. The rest of the team picked up and finished the job .

1 year ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

Thank you for your feedback Mark! Don't forget about our referral program through the Sun Badger Solar app to earn more money back!

Feb. 2nd, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Frank Upshaw Chicago Heights, IL

I'm a little disappointed in my electric bill I was looking for a larger decrease in my bill

9 months ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

Thank you for sharing your feedback Frank! We would be happy to help assess the net metering details that are showing on your utility statement. Please email us at [email protected] to discuss this further. We are always here for questions and hope that we can better help you understand your solar energy production!

Sep. 16th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Stephen Hwang Naperville, IL

Couldn't set up system correctly at the first try. Some issues happened during my first year solar system ownership.

1 year ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

Thank you for your review! Your first full year of production very closely matched what we predicted for your system to produce! How exciting to see those utility bills go away! If you have any questions or issues regarding your system, please reach out to our service department at [email protected] We are always here to help! Congratulations on going solar!

Feb. 18th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Will Hornsby Skokie, IL

Customer service was spotty. One staff person we dealt with was underwhelming, while others were great.

1 year ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing Sun Badger to go solar with! We are always here if you have any questions, so don't hesitate to reach out!

Feb. 10th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Marc W. Hernandez Palos Park, IL

Very clear and supportive especially when deciding on our system.

11 months ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

Thank you for taking the time to write this review Marc! Please do not hesitate to reach out if you have any questions going forward! Stay sunny!

Aug. 24th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Anne Mason Wilmette, IL

There were some glitches, but they got the job done and we’re happy with the results.

1 year ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

Thank you for your review Anne! It was a pleasure working with you and we are pleased to hear that you're happy with your choice to go solar with Sun Badger! We are here if you have any questions or concerns!

Feb. 15th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Cheryl S Mahomet, IL

The product is great but our install was tough. Also for follow up your email to stay on them

1 year ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

Thank you for your review! We have recently made changes to our project management platform that is providing more updates to our customers throughout their project. We are committed to our customers and ensuring they are satisfied with their projects. If you ever have any questions, please don't hesitate to reach out!

Feb. 19th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Harold Oldenburg Burlington, WI

System does exactly what was laid out. Performance is 3 even on somewhat cloudy days.

1 year ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

Thank you for your feedback! Our design team works hard to provide accurate and honest predictions for your system, which includes taking into account the weather of your location. We are glad to hear you are seeing that first hand! Stay sunny!

Feb. 9th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Ali Valika Elmhurst, IL

Honest, good working people.. fast service,e

11 months ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

Thank you Ali for the review and for recognizing these factors in your solar project! Stay sunny!

Aug. 24th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Dean Englund Chicago, IL

They are honest, know their product, return calls promptly, have 5 installers.

1 year ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience! Don't forget to download our Sun Badger Solar app to earn rewards through our referral program! Congratulations on going solar!

Feb. 9th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Sunny Bear Park Ridge, IL

They made some mistakes along the way, still great customer service.

1 year ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

Sun Badger takes pride in ensuring our customers are satisfied with their solar project. We apologize that we did not meet these standards for you. Thank you for you review and for choosing us to go solar with! We appreciate your business!

Feb. 15th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Rich Brouillard

Nice job on the install and the system was up and running when promised.

1 year ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback! Don't forget about our referral program to earn more rewards! Congrats on going solar!

Feb. 2nd, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Ken Catalanotte Chicago, IL

Good quick installation. Good feedback throughout the process.

1 year ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

Thank you Ken for taking time to share your experience! Congratulations on going solar!

Feb. 2nd, 2021