Best Company Guarantee Sun Badger Solar Logo

Sun Badger Solar

check_circleVerified

star star star star star_half
200 User Reviews

7.6

Overall Score

error This company may not service all states.
See states serviced
LAST UPDATED: June 24th, 2022

Headquartered in Wisconsin since 2018, Sun Badger Solar is a full-service company providing both commercial and residential solar installation services to home and business owners in Florida, Illinois, Minnesota, and Wisconsin. Despite being in business for a relatively short amount of time, the company has already made a name for itself, making Solar Power World Magazine’s “Top 500 Solar Contractor” list every year since its founding (2018–2020 to date).

Sun Badger Interview with Best Company

thumb_up

The Good

  • Tier-One Equipment
  • NABCEP Certified

Tier-One Equipment

Sun Badger Solar carries inverters from Enphase, which supplies a proprietary consumption monitoring system that syncs with the Sun Badger Solar mobile app.

On top of its impressive array of solar panel and inverter selections, Sun Badger Solar also installs solar backup battery solutions through its partnership with Tesla Solar. The Tesla Powerwall is one of the most efficient solar batteries available today, and can harness and store enough energy to keep the lights on at night or in the event of a power outage or other grid mishap.

NABCEP Certified

Sun Badger Solar employs electricians and technicians who have been certified by the North American Board of Certified Energy Practitioners (NABCEP). The NABCEP is an industry-recognized organization that has authored numerous and rigorous certification programs aimed at raising the standard in solar. The organization actively educates companies on best installation standards and solar technology. Companies with this certification distinguish themselves and experts in their field, so Sun Badger Solar customers can rest easy knowing their installation will be done right.

Visit Site

thumb_down

The Bad

  • Utilizies Electrical Partnerships for FL
  • No Lease or PPA Options

Utilizies Electrical Partnerships for FL

Sun Badger Solar’s team of certified solar technicians are present at every solar panel installation in Illinois and Wisconsin; however, the company does contract out its installation services to qualified partners in Florida. While the difference in quality may be negligible, Sun Badger Solar customers living in these locales should be aware of these partnerships that may or may not maintain NABCEP-certified status the way that Sun Badger Solar does.

No Lease or PPA Options

Like many companies in the solar industry, Sun Badger Solar readily offers customers direct purchase of its solar energy systems, or financing through a third-party lender in the form of low interest, long term loans, zero-down, zero-interest for up to 12 months solar loans or home-equity lines of credit (HELOC). However, the company does not appear to offer customers the option to lease its solar energy systems, or pay for solar power through a power purchase agreement (PPA).

Both of these options can be incredibly cost-effective for customers on a fixed income who want to get involved with solar power. They both charge monthly fees that are often lower than utility bill payments, and place the burden of ownership (along with installation and maintenance fees) solely on the company.

gavel

The Bottom Line

Overall, Sun Badger Solar checks several boxes for what a competent, quality solar installation company should have. Its technicians are NABCEP certified, and are authorized to install some of the best and most energy-efficient solar equipment on the market.

Florida customers should note that the company contracts its solar project installations to partners local to those states, and Sun Badger Solar customers everywhere will have to choose between purchase and loan financing. With all that in mind, customers are encouraged to obtain a free quote with the company to see if Sun Badger Solar is the best solar company for their needs.

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Message from
Sun Badger Solar

Sun Badger Solar® is a top rated solar developer servicing residential and commercial customers. We focus on high-quality solar PV systems and the best customer experience, including education, design, and application for state and federal rebates. All of our work is performed by licensed electrical contractors.

Experts in the Field Our solar experts will walk you through the financial benefits and financing options, as well as customizing the most efficient and appropriate system design for your home and budget.

Only the Best Take the guesswork out of which panel is best for you. A solar project with Sun Badger® means you are getting the best product & technology available.

Fair Pricing Ensuring you have the right balance between energy production and consumption while reaping the most incentives available is our number one priority. All in all that means you’ll be getting the best pricing out there.

Quick Work You don’t need anything else in the way of taking your energy into your own hands, so time is of the essence. While most installers are quoting 5 to 6 months, Sun Badger® strives to have your system up within 3 to 4 months. This means more money back to you, faster.

keyboard_arrow_up keyboard_arrow_down
bestcompany guarantee

Best Company guarantees your satisfaction if you choose a company that has earned this distinction. If you're not satisfied after 30 days, simply let us know and we'll give you $100. Yes, it's really that simple.

Learn More

Star Rating

4.4

star star star star star_half

206 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

69%

4 grade

16%

3 grade

7%

2 grade

4%

1 grade

4%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star star_half

Quality

star star star star star_half

Service

star star star star star_half

Trustworthiness

star star star star star_half
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Howard Reddan Madison, WI

The installation was done very well, the panels look great, the electrical interface was well done! The customer service was poor. We never received saw a sales person or project manage or coordinator. The system has still not been explained as far as what the electrical interface does. We have not had any information of any preventive maintenance or how to see if the system is operating properly.

5 months ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

Thank you for your feedback Howard! We are happy to hear you are pleased with the installation and the energy production of the solar system! Sun Badger is very proud to offer a dedicated service department and a success manager who handles post installation concerns. During your close out call, we provided access to your monitoring account where you can ensure the system is operating properly, and introduced you to the service department. Please use these contacts if you have any questions or concerns on the system's maintenance. They can be reached at [email protected] Stay sunny!

Jan. 26th, 2022

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Michael Naretta Rockford, IL

For the most part everything was fine. There was some weirdness regarding the install because they started installing, stopped because it was too cold, came back out in the same temperature and again said it was too cold, and finally finished installing when it was warm enough. Also, the solar credits with my energy provider are not working as initially described. I tried contacting Sun Badger via e-mail about this and never got a response.

10 months ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

Thank you for your feedback Michael! Sun Badger's installation teams install all winter long, but if weather conditions do not allow for safe installations, we will postpone for these reasons. We apologize that this occurred during your installation dates. As for the energy credits with your utility company, please reach out to [email protected] so that we can help you navigate this conversation with your utility company.

Aug. 25th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Joe O'Connell

Communication needs improved for the project. It seems like I have received more communication after than I ever did during the process. They over estimated how much solar I would collect which is disappointing as I'm still receiving high bills now on top of the loan. I'm techy and the app is garbage seems only made to try to solicit referrals vs the keeping the user/customer in mind. The alerts from the app were annoying so I deleted it. I just log into enphase app to get my details.

3 months ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

Thank you for your feedback Joe. It's best to compare your system's energy production to the monthly predictions rather than by annual averages. We are heading into the spring/summer months where your system is predicted to produce the most energy! Looking forward to seeing how your energy production compares once it's been energized for a full year! Please don't hesitate to reach out if you have any questions/concerns!

Apr. 1st, 2022

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

RAY DALY Elgin, IL

I PREVIOUSLY SAID THEY TOOK TOO LONG . THEY REPLIED FEBUARY TO MAY WAS WITHIN CONTRACT'S FOUR MONTHS. I SAY INITIAL PAYMENT WAS DECEMBER 29, 2020 TO MIDDLE OF MAY TURN-ON IS FIVE AND A HALF MONTHS. TOO LONG!

9 months ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

We appreciate your feedback Ray! Your system was installed within the 4 month timeline that is described to you in your contract. Design approval was completed mid February and installation wrapped by the end of May. We understand that this process is a very exciting time, and waiting for it to be completed can feel much longer! We appreciate your patience through this and are always here to help answer any questions you may have throughout the lifetime of your solar system!

Oct. 13th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

ChicagoO Lockport, IL

My rating is reduced to the complex contract process. Before signing with SunBadger, ask for the contract with the utility company. The utility company is holding you responsible for the solar delivery, not SunBadger. I was extremely happy with Sunbadger, the design, and implementation.

1 year ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

Thank you for your feedback. During your solar project there are many different parties involved in getting this system installed and turned on for you. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your experience working with Sun Badger Solar! Our goal is to ensure our customers are satisfied with their solar project, and handling the communications with your utility is part of that. Please do not hesitate to reach out to us if you have any questions or concerns! Stay sunny!

Feb. 15th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Peter Richardson Mount Prospect, IL

I am very happy with the system SunBadger designed and installed for me. I recommended them to 2 friends who also had systems installed. 3rd friend showed different panels in quote. They did not look as 3. Get multiple quotes and check the specs. Paperwork for sRECs was lost and delayed for a long time.

1 year ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

Thank you for taking the time to write this review! The SREC process is known to be lengthy so delays are often from within that organization, which Sun Badger has no control over. It was a pleasure doing business with you and we appreciate the referrals! If you haven't already, please download our Sun Badger Solar app to start earning rewards for those referrals!

Feb. 8th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Berthold Boone Chicago, IL

I have not received any tax breaks mentioned by the sales person.

11 months ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

Thank you for your feedback Berthold. Based on previous notes and conversations that were had with your sales rep, we understand that you were aware you could be waitlisted for the SREC incentives in IL. Even though you are currently on the waitlist (along with many others industry wide), we are still hopeful that these funds will be re allocated this fall for our customers! Also, as a reminder, you will need to file for the Federal tax incentives yourself to receive the 26% tax credit. You can do that when you file for your 2021 tax returns. Please reach out to us if you need the tax form, otherwise it can be found on the IRS website in January.

Aug. 24th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Ken Peterson Saint Paul, MN

They were a good company to start, but their communications were terrible and the sales rep was not honest on installation timing.

1 year ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

Thank you for your feedback. Sun Badger Solar stays committed to our timelines and will always push for those, as long as it's within our control. We have since solidified partnerships with alternate installers. As well, your utility recently was involved in a lawsuit that has interfered with them meeting their timelines with us. We apologize that your project did not get installed as quickly as we had anticipated, but hope that once you see your system producing as expected, that it will be worth the decision of going solar with us!

Feb. 9th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Heather Quick Saint Charles, IL

Been a difficult first year, still only at 87% capacity for year, hard to contact team, lack of follow up.

1 year ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

Thank you for your feedback Heather! Unfortunately, it does look like an Enpase update occurred during one of the highest months of production for your system. Going into this next year, you should see that the predictions we made for your solar system will be more accurate! If you ever have any questions you can always reach out to us through our Sun Badger Solar app or contact us at [email protected]

Feb. 3rd, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Mary Zillmer Malone, WI

I wouldn't go with any solar company again. The savings isn't even enough to offset the installation cost.

1 year ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

Thank you for sharing your feedback Mary. Your system is on track to produce what was predicted annually (98% offset) so that is exciting! The system will pay for itself over time and with the tax credits and incentives, you should see that getting solar was a great decision! If you have any questions, please feel free to reach out to us through the Sun Badger Solar app or email us at [email protected]

Feb. 3rd, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Terry L Heavirland Moose Lake, MN

Never dealt with anyone face to face. Kinda makes me feel like a number.

10 months ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

Thank you for your review Terry. We typically do like to do in person consultations if possible, but due to the pandemic this past year, we did try to eliminate those for health and safety reasons. If you have any questions about your system going forward, please do not hesitate to reach out!

Aug. 25th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

John Miceli Milwaukee, WI

Several of the solar panels have not worked correctly, and service has been very slow.

1 year ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

Thank you for your feedback John! Delays in getting your system serviced were due to winter weather, and also not having a service team based here in WI at that time. Since then, we have added an installation/service team here in WI for quicker response times and better post installation service. Please do not hesitate to reach out to us in the future if you have questions!

Feb. 15th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Joel Quinones Orland Park, IL

Great Installers, Bad Management, no direction, deceitful, involved customer is company politics

1 year ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

Sun Badger takes pride in ensuring our customers are satisfied with their solar project. We apologize that we did not meet these standards for you. We stayed in communication with you regarding any delays, and even had the president of Sun Badger closely involved during your project. Having started this project right at the start of a global pandemic, it made much of the permitting process more difficult to obtain. We hope that as you continue to see your system produce as we predicted for you, that you will ultimately see that our work is honest and true to what was discussed up front during the contract phase.

Feb. 18th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Elizabeth Van Orden Arlington Heights, IL

Didn't tell the full truth on financing/start date, many delays in the project

1 year ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

Thank you for your feedback Elizabeth! I've touched base with your lender on these details, and what was explained to you by our staff was honest. If you would like to reach out to your lender directly you can reach them at 888.390.1220x1 for more details on when your start date was to occur. We hope that this clears up any confusion at this point! We are here if you have any questions or concerns!

Feb. 15th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Andrew Aurora, IL

Poor permit follow up and high employee turn over

1 year ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

Thank you for your feedback Andrew. Every municipality handles permitting differently, and we make sure that we follow each of their protocols in order to get timely permits on our customers' behalf. As well, we are a new and growing company, and are adding and making changes to our team as needed.

Feb. 3rd, 2021