Best Company Guarantee Sun Badger Solar Logo

Sun Badger Solar

check_circleVerified

star star star star star_half
200 User Reviews

7.6

Overall Score

error This company may not service all states.
See states serviced
LAST UPDATED: June 24th, 2022

Headquartered in Wisconsin since 2018, Sun Badger Solar is a full-service company providing both commercial and residential solar installation services to home and business owners in Florida, Illinois, Minnesota, and Wisconsin. Despite being in business for a relatively short amount of time, the company has already made a name for itself, making Solar Power World Magazine’s “Top 500 Solar Contractor” list every year since its founding (2018–2020 to date).

Sun Badger Interview with Best Company

thumb_up

The Good

  • Tier-One Equipment
  • NABCEP Certified

Tier-One Equipment

Sun Badger Solar carries inverters from Enphase, which supplies a proprietary consumption monitoring system that syncs with the Sun Badger Solar mobile app.

On top of its impressive array of solar panel and inverter selections, Sun Badger Solar also installs solar backup battery solutions through its partnership with Tesla Solar. The Tesla Powerwall is one of the most efficient solar batteries available today, and can harness and store enough energy to keep the lights on at night or in the event of a power outage or other grid mishap.

NABCEP Certified

Sun Badger Solar employs electricians and technicians who have been certified by the North American Board of Certified Energy Practitioners (NABCEP). The NABCEP is an industry-recognized organization that has authored numerous and rigorous certification programs aimed at raising the standard in solar. The organization actively educates companies on best installation standards and solar technology. Companies with this certification distinguish themselves and experts in their field, so Sun Badger Solar customers can rest easy knowing their installation will be done right.

Visit Site

thumb_down

The Bad

  • Utilizies Electrical Partnerships for FL
  • No Lease or PPA Options

Utilizies Electrical Partnerships for FL

Sun Badger Solar’s team of certified solar technicians are present at every solar panel installation in Illinois and Wisconsin; however, the company does contract out its installation services to qualified partners in Florida. While the difference in quality may be negligible, Sun Badger Solar customers living in these locales should be aware of these partnerships that may or may not maintain NABCEP-certified status the way that Sun Badger Solar does.

No Lease or PPA Options

Like many companies in the solar industry, Sun Badger Solar readily offers customers direct purchase of its solar energy systems, or financing through a third-party lender in the form of low interest, long term loans, zero-down, zero-interest for up to 12 months solar loans or home-equity lines of credit (HELOC). However, the company does not appear to offer customers the option to lease its solar energy systems, or pay for solar power through a power purchase agreement (PPA).

Both of these options can be incredibly cost-effective for customers on a fixed income who want to get involved with solar power. They both charge monthly fees that are often lower than utility bill payments, and place the burden of ownership (along with installation and maintenance fees) solely on the company.

gavel

The Bottom Line

Overall, Sun Badger Solar checks several boxes for what a competent, quality solar installation company should have. Its technicians are NABCEP certified, and are authorized to install some of the best and most energy-efficient solar equipment on the market.

Florida customers should note that the company contracts its solar project installations to partners local to those states, and Sun Badger Solar customers everywhere will have to choose between purchase and loan financing. With all that in mind, customers are encouraged to obtain a free quote with the company to see if Sun Badger Solar is the best solar company for their needs.

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Message from
Sun Badger Solar

Sun Badger Solar® is a top rated solar developer servicing residential and commercial customers. We focus on high-quality solar PV systems and the best customer experience, including education, design, and application for state and federal rebates. All of our work is performed by licensed electrical contractors.

Experts in the Field Our solar experts will walk you through the financial benefits and financing options, as well as customizing the most efficient and appropriate system design for your home and budget.

Only the Best Take the guesswork out of which panel is best for you. A solar project with Sun Badger® means you are getting the best product & technology available.

Fair Pricing Ensuring you have the right balance between energy production and consumption while reaping the most incentives available is our number one priority. All in all that means you’ll be getting the best pricing out there.

Quick Work You don’t need anything else in the way of taking your energy into your own hands, so time is of the essence. While most installers are quoting 5 to 6 months, Sun Badger® strives to have your system up within 3 to 4 months. This means more money back to you, faster.

keyboard_arrow_up keyboard_arrow_down
bestcompany guarantee

Best Company guarantees your satisfaction if you choose a company that has earned this distinction. If you're not satisfied after 30 days, simply let us know and we'll give you $100. Yes, it's really that simple.

Learn More

Star Rating

4.4

star star star star star_half

206 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

69%

4 grade

16%

3 grade

7%

2 grade

4%

1 grade

4%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star star_half

Quality

star star star star star_half

Service

star star star star star_half

Trustworthiness

star star star star star_half
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Disappointed Madison, WI

The farm after work two current electric but didn’t tell me that in the sale. They made it seem as though they had their own project manager and such. They did not So I had to put up with it and uncooperative contractor

1 year ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

Sun Badger takes pride in ensuring our customers are satisfied with their solar project. We apologize that we did not meet these standards for you. I hope to be able to connect with you to see if we can look further into what occurred during your project and see how we can help alleviate some of the frustrations.

Feb. 11th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

David Danner Racine, WI

I have had issues and left voice messages and emails and no one has responded. All the people I spoke with on preparation and installation are no longer there. Steer clear and do not give them any business. HORRIBLE

1 year ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

Thank you for your feedback David. We are sorry to hear that your frustrations come from not being able to reach us due to your original sales rep no longer working at Sun Badger. We are always available via phone or email. If you have future issues please reach us at 1-888-SUN-BDGR (1-888-786-2347) or via email at [email protected] If it's a service related issue please email [email protected]

Feb. 5th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Dorothy Gurnee, IL

Awesome the crew were knowledgeable and friendly. All questions we had were addressed

1 year ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

We are so happy you decided to go solar with us, and hope that we can point out that your system is performing as expected. Your system produced nearly 11,000 kWh last year, while we predicted that it would produce about 10,000 kWh. High bills can be frustrating but a lot factors into that, and with the amount of electricity that you use, we never guaranteed 100% offset. Without solar your utility bill would be even higher. We hope that this helps clarify any frustrations you have and that you understand the system a little bit better now.

Feb. 1st, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Ashok Patil Elgin, IL

Bad customer service, lack of project management and timeline, unstable staff so have to deal with multiple people for same think during entire project

1 year ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

Thank you for your feedback. You signed your contract mid February, just before we were hit with a global pandemic. Despite this, we were still able to get your system installed and turned on within 4 months of signing the contract. Our contract states project completion will occur in 60-120 days of final design approval. We apologize that you felt there was poor communication, but we sent updates throughout the project using our system at the time, Basecamp. Since then we have made changes by adding onboarding sessions, and a new project management software to continue to improve on our end! It looks like your system is producing as we predicted for you on the final proposal, so we hope that you can see the quality of work and product was worth your decision to go solar with us!

Feb. 10th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

JOHN C GRIDLEY Saint Charles, IL

it was a horrible process to get my solar installed and I was more than accommodating and yet it didn't help

11 months ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

Thank you for your feedback John. Our goal at Sun Badger is to make this a smooth and informative process for our customers. We apologize these standards were not met for your project. We are constantly looking to improve and grow, so with more details as to what occurred during your project, we can hopefully use this feedback to improve on our end. I see your high quality solar system is producing beyond what we predicted!☀️ Hopefully, Sun Badger Solar can regain your confidence with the system's expectations being met for years to come!

Aug. 24th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Travis Donovan

Horrible communication. The entire process felt like I was completely unimportant once they got a check from me.

11 months ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

Thank you for your feedback Travis. We understand you have communicated with us that your project had a slow very start, but that the remainder of the project (including the installation itself) was a much better turn around. Our customer's feedback is very important to us, so over this past winter, we made changes to our project management software which allows for more frequent updates to our customers. We also have added an onboarding process that provides our customers with an informative timeline of what to expect during the project. Your system has been producing beyond what we predicted, and we hope that over the years to come you will regain confidence in Sun Badger! Please do not hesitate to reach out with any other questions or concerns!

Aug. 24th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

jeff molitor Ohio, IL

misleading info on SREC payments would make me completely change my decision on going with SB

11 months ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

Thank you for your review Jeff. Sun Badger handles the SREC applications for our customers, however we do not control the timeline of payments. You should be receiving your incentive payments soon, as your application has moved through the process. Could you please clarify which part was misleading to you? We apologize that you are frustrated with this part of the process, but these delays are caused by the state of Illinois, and we do not have control as an installer over their process. Hopefully, once you receive your incentives you will be able to update Sun Badger on this review!

Aug. 24th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Kevin Navratil Elmhurst, IL

Solar output not as described , We have not come close to offsetting our production

11 months ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

Thank you Kevin for your feedback. As we previously discussed, your system is producing as we predicted. In fact, for the past two months your system produced 1.4MWh each month! The reason for your frustrations on the offset amount, is unfortunately due to your utility company's net metering rules. With this being addressed recently, you should now see the offset percentage being met going forward. We hope that you will regain confidence in Sun Badger Solar over the next 25+ years that your system will be producing energy for you! Please don't hesitate to reach out to us with any other questions or concerns.

Aug. 24th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Joshua Kossel Verona, WI

Terrible warranty experience thus far. Very unreceptive.

11 months ago

Sun Badger Solar Logo

Reply from Sun Badger Solar

Thank you for your review Josh. Would you be able to give us more details about the warranty experience you have described here? You can reach out to us at [email protected] Your system has an outstanding 25 year warranty! So we are hopeful that we can work out the concerns of yours that prompted you to leave this review. We look forward to hearing from you!

Aug. 24th, 2021