Select Home Warranty Logo

Select Home Warranty

star star star star_half star_border

5.4

Overall Score

error This company may not service all states.
See states serviced
LAST UPDATED: December 7th, 2022

Select Home Warranty has a proven track record of success. Several customers mention excellent customer service in Select Home Warranty reviews, and the company offers very competitive pricing. The warranty company has a free online quote generator and allows customers to file claims online. The home warranty company is headquartered in Mahwah, New Jersey, and has been in operation since 2011.

Read Select Home Warranty reviews below to see what real consumers have to say about the warranty service provider.

Top Ranked Companies

thumb_up

The Good

  • Online Claims Submissions
  • Coverage Options
  • Promotions
  • Helpful Website

Online Claim Submissions

Submitting claims is simple through the online submission form on Select Home Warranty's website, regardless of what warranty policy you have. All a customer must do is input their personal information and policy number, as well as a description of the problem. A Select Home Warranty claims representative will then contact you shortly after your submission. This provides peace of mind to homeowners, ensuring them a technician will be contacted quickly and be scheduled to repair or replace the problematic appliance in a short amount of time.

Coverage Options

Select Home Warranty has multiple coverage options for homeowners, buyers and sellers, contractors, and people in real estate. Customers also have the choice to upgrade to Gold Care or Platinum Care if they aren't satisfied with the Bronze Care home warranty plan and they want more peace of mind. If customers are willing to spend a bit extra, Select Home Warranty offers packages that cover all major appliances and home systems. A detailed list of all appliances that are covered for each home warranty plan is as follows:

Bronze Care

  • Washing machine
  • Clothes dryer
  • Garbage disposal
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove/oven
  • Built-in microwave oven
  • Cooktop
  • Dishwasher

Gold Care

  • Electrical system
  • Air conditioning & cooling 
  • Ductwork
  • Plumbing system
  • Water heater
  • Heating system

Platinum

  • All covered items in Bronze Care and Gold Care

Optional Coverage

  • Pool
  • Central vacuum
  • Second refrigerator
  • Sump pump
  • Well pump
  • Roof leak
  • Stand-alone freezer
  • Lawn sprinkler system
  • Septic systems
  • Ice maker (in-refrigerator)
  • Lighting fixtures/plumbing fixtures
  • Additional air conditioning unit (each)
  • Additional heat/furnace (each)
  • Spa

Promotions

Select Home Warranty offers the occasional promotion. In the past, the warranty company has offered up to $200 discounts on the plan pricing, has given customers a few months of free home warranty coverage, and has even offered free roof coverage to new customers. These plans are usually time-sensitive and have deadlines, so new and potential customers would be wise to take advantage of promotions when they come along.

Helpful Website

Select Home Warranty has an extensive website that is easy to use and has a wide selection of information. The website includes a free online quote generator, making it easy for customers to get an idea of what their individual pricing and coverage would be like if they went with Select Home Warranty. The company's website also has a FAQ page and Blog section where they answer common questions and discuss topics related to the industry. 

thumb_down

The Bad

  • Repeat Service Fees
  • No Mobile App
  • State Availability

Repeat Service Fees

Select Home Warranty charges a service call fee, which customers will be expected to pay every time a technician visits their home, regardless of whether or not the item has been looked at recently. The payment must be paid at time of service, and failing to do so will result in your home service contract being suspended. If any suspension of the service contract occurs, this does not change or extend its original termination date. And any pre-existing conditions or malfunctions are not covered by the service contract. However, normal wear and tear of appliances is covered, and Select Home Warranty will repair it as part of the contract. Also, this is not uncommon within the home warranty industry to charge money for every time a repair person visits a customer's home. 

No Mobile App

Select Home Warranty does not offer a mobile app for Android or Apple devices, unlike some other home warranty companies. Mobile apps are useful for customers to submit claims or pay fees through their mobile device instead of having to access a desktop, so the fact that the company doesn't offer one makes some processes less convenient. 

State Availability

Service from this home warranty provider is available in most of the country. However, the company doesn't operate in the following states: 

Click on your state in the list above to see the best-ranked home warranty companies available in your area. 

gavel

The Bottom Line

Select Home Warranty is a highly legitimate company that offers extremely competitive pricing, a number of package options, a simple online claims process, a helpful website, and occasional promotions. Select Home Warranty has a proven track record and is great for providing homeowners protection for the wear and tear of major systems and appliances and to save money through avoiding high repair costs. With many positive reviews, the customer satisfaction level seems to be high. The company backs up its quality service with great home warranty coverage options.

We recommend that customers consider Select Home Warranty for its fantastic service and home warranty plans.

Read hundreds of Select Home Warranty reviews below to hear what customers have to say about the home warranty provider. 

View Best Home Warranty Companies

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Star Rating

3.7

star star star star_half star_border

3,856 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

58%

4 grade

7%

3 grade

3%

2 grade

3%

1 grade

29%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star_border star_border

Quality

star star star_half star_border star_border

Service

star star star star_border star_border

Trustworthiness

star star star_half star_border star_border
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Debra

It is affordable. I did have some issues, but customer service was able to rectify them. They give you the contact information for the people that are supposed to be the contractors for the service so make sure they are really contracted and the first people they sent me, I called and they were not contracted and wanted me to pay for the service but they second people that were contracted did a great job.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Carol

I was happy with them for the most part though when my washing machine went out, they got somebody out within a day or two but then denied my claim and never let me know but it all worked out. When I used them for some electrical, they guy came out the same day and it was great. It didn't transfer with me when I moved, it would have nice if it transferred but everybody was not on the same page when I moved.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Denise

Our past situations, there have been some good ones and some bad ones. I didn't take the time to read my contract so I discovered that my air conditioning wasn't going to be covered. Though another time I called about it, they came and fixed it. The people are receptive and respond to me timely and were professional. I think the price is appropriate.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Vishal Castle Rock, CO

They were able to send a plumber in a couple days when I called to report a problem. I think the customer service is excellent. They actually understand my problem quickly and try to give me a resolution as soon as possible. The contractors they hire have the same attention to detail. I do think they should give freedom to contractors for them to do their job instead of calling for approval.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Steve taylor

Fast, efficient, communication is okay! I was a little confused as to how the provider doing the work was to be paid. Althouse my first claim was to have no co-pay I received a call from them that you told him that You were not waiving it. It took three calls before it got straightened out. Overall I am pleased!

2 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Ernest Wilkinson Grand Prairie, TX

Service is good .I have not had to use it that much so far. I had a problem with my Garage door and ended up paying about what I would pay if I didn't have the warranty.All in all Select is about as good as you can get for the money. to

2 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Chris mcgaughey Houston, TX

On call outside so far, they have done a pretty good job kn response time. Seems to be getting better. I would like them to have more contracts with vendors in the Houston area. I am glad I paid up for 3 years for the service.

2 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Carmen & Phillip

Affordable and allows me to get the services I need in a timely manner. They are pretty good about communicating , though there is some hick ups around the holidays, though I don't know if that is them or the third party companies that they are using.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Trudy

I like the price, forty five dollars for them to come out. I had another company and I paid seventy five dollars. I didn't have to wait when I called them or they were calling me right back. One time I needed to use it and I had quick service, he came out the very next day and fixed the problem.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Peggy

Right price for the services offered. Everything has always been resolved but depending on who you speak to in customer service, sometimes you get great responses or sometimes you don't. When I needed it for my water heater they came out and checked in replaced the thermostat.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

George

They provide the most comprehensive coverage at a discount price. There was a little back and forth my fist time using them but ultimately they got it squared away and everything was taken care of. I've good experiences once we got past the initial confusion of my initial claim.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Naveed

It's more convenient if you have it. The few cases I have had, I got quick responses within forty eight hours and the technicians were quite knowledgeable. I think they could create an app or something for more easy access if you to report quickly, that is my suggestion on how they could improve.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Tony

It takes way too long to get someone to ask for service. I had to call about my air conditioning. It took four days to get someone to look at it and then there was a miscommunication with the console about whether I was paying the whole bill. According to my warranty, they were supposed to pay the total.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Hayati

Sometimes if something happened, I called them and they called me with the service people after two or three days. My AC was broken and we called Select Home and they sent us the only outsourced people available and it was about three days but they didn't fix it in one time. After about twenty days they only sent us the technician.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Amy & Morgan

Customer support is there to answer your questions but it almost feels like they are sales driven and after the first year of the warranty, the price went up. The company as a whole is not a bad company but I wish they kept their prices from going up. They are friendly and professional.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Ann

It seems to be the best value for what you get. I had a plumbing leak and I had someone come ou the next day and I can get an answer from them when I call. I do with there was a little more freedom as to who was going to do the work and maybe there was a little more background on who was going to come out.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Janis

Air conditioner went out and I ended up having to pay twenty-five hundred dollars. I was upset about that because they did not cover the parts that were needed tofix it. They have the lowest deductible. They only send email, they don't give me a call back.

3 years ago

star star star star star_border

mobeen ahmad Los Angeles, CA

Covered central HVAC repair after quick escalation. Highly advise reading the fine print in the agreement. Water heater leaks were not covered so I ended up paying out of pocket for that.

3 months ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Michael

They took care of my claim but there were huddles that had to be crossed where they catch payments to vendor for other service claims in our metropolitan area before he would come to our home."

2 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Howard Chapman

I had a bad experience where the 1st vendor didn't notify they couldn't do the job and next vendor didn't have any availability that was timely. I had to self fix and paid more than reimbursement

2 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Jo Rosati

It is very good, but it seems like it takes forever to get a answer on something, then a contractor to come out and look at the problem.2 out of claims we put in it took a matter of almost a month to have it taken care of!

2 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

lisa oreilly High Point, NC

Never had a problem. They fixed any problems I have had along with my lights and my garage. They also fixed my refrigerator and had to wait on the part but they came out the next day

2 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Joe

A man came out and did the job correctly but did not put everything back that he was supposed to so I had to finish the job myself but everything was taken care of and I was happy and it was a good experience.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Ejaz

I wanted to try something different because I was dissatisfied with my previous company. So far I am satisfied with Select. I had a couple issues and they were timely in calling me back.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Carol Albuquerque, NM

When electricity went out in my house we had an electrician come out and he figured out the problem and it was fixed. One of the other things I needed, was considered cosmetic and they wouldn't pay for it.

3 years ago

star star star star star_border

Julia Los Angeles, CA

I was pleased with the knowledgeable Jonathan S. when he helped me walk through a quote and policy. He spent about 40 minutes working with me on finding the best plan and rate. Due to an unforeseen family decision I had to cancel my policy and thanks to Select Home Warranty's 30 day grace period, I was able to get a full refund on the CC. Jonathan called me to make sure everything was okay and even tried to get me a lower rate which I wish we could have accepted but again, due to a family circumstance we could not. Thank you Jonathan and please know that we will strongly consider Select Warranty for our next policy. The cancellation process could have been easier. I was supposed to receive a notification within 24 hours, but when I called after 36 asking for a refund status, I kept getting transferred from one rep to another 3 times until one of them was willing to look into it. He said the cancellation was 'stuck' and needed to be processed by the 'remorse' department. Ultimately the refund confirmation email took about a week, which I believe to be reasonable.

1 year ago

star star star star star_border

Da Asian Rice Bowl Woodbridge, VA

Customer service was great! Sam M was very nice and answered all questions. He is going to be our main contact person for any help we might need in the future. Though that remains to be seen, the previous company I was with doesn’t have this type of customer care where sales was its own department and if you had any issues with service later, you’re on your own. So we switched to SHW. I hope that Select will live up to its reputation of quality service and excellent customer service. That said, as a customer I will not abuse this privilege and will be reasonable should anything arise. I’m rating 5 stars for what I’ve experienced with them so far, and 3 for other services that I haven’t. Please don’t be misled by my 3-star rating, it was required in order to submit the review.

2 years ago

star star star star star_border

Mike Taylor Forney, TX

I just signed up with Select Home Warranty so I've only given a 4 star rating at this time. A better review would be after having service for a year. However, the experience I had with their representative, Sol, was outstanding. He searched and went above and beyond to get me the lowest rate for the highest coverage he could find. I'm formerly a customer of Home Warranty of America and the initial contact with Select Home Warrant far supersedes that of HWA. Hopefully after a year of service with SHW I will be able to provide the same or higher rating than I can at day 1. All ratings below are based on the fact that this is day 1 and I don't really have adequate information or experience to provide any higher on the other rating scales that follow this.

2 years ago

star star star star star_border

Ted Gonzales Albuquerque, NM

First time not ready to say anything except the first call was courteous and professional! But they seem to want you to add more to your warranty! Which again is costly to fixed income home owners!

7 months ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Johnny Q. Brown

I really haven't had to use them yet. They were very polite in the conversations I had with their customer service concerning the coverage I was looking for.

2 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Jameson berry Logan, UT

They've been fair prompt and friendly. The only thing I would say bad about them is they try to repair stuff that is just going to keep braking every month.

2 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Vicki

I had the garbage disposal and ceiling fan go and they replaced them for a good price, it just is taking forever to get the reimbursement for the ceiling fan.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

anonymous

I only used them one time but I thought the service was excellent. It just takes them a long time before they make the decision if they are going to pay for it or not.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

John

They have the best customer service and the lowest annual cost with the lowest copay. They are really quick to respond and they always email me right away.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Dale

We're happy with it and used it a couple of times. We used it on the microwave and they handled it well so we extended out contract for like five years.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Nicole Effingham, SC

Sometimes they don't call back and you have to wait about two months before you get a check. It took them like 6 weeks before my garbage disposal got checked.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Theodore Goodyear, AZ

We live in Arizona and I would like to have a list of who's available immediately for the air conditioning because that would need to be fixed right away.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Rochelle Stafford, VA

I have two issues right now. With the air conditioner and the central vacuum. I'm not happy with the central vacuum. They dropped the ball until I called back 3 weeks later.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Jennifer New Smyrna Beach, FL

I like select home warranty. I got a good price for it. I needed a roofer because I had a leak in my bedroom and I talked them coming out to see it and they fixed it.

3 years ago

star star star star star_border

Bhalchandra Pandya Austin, TX

I was their customer in previous year and because of their good services when needed, they were available. I had other companies like American Home Shield and Choice with littler lower quote but wanted to continue and give SHW an opportunity to add more services and good coverage. One star was less not because others were good but to give a chance to add more appliances or to improve service and reduce service call charges. Thanks again and hope you continue good rates and services.

1 year ago

star star star star star_border

Ken Boynton Beach, FL

I can't rate the organization until I have a claim. But the sales experience was fabulous. I've searched all reputable Home Warranty companies, and the price and coverage and deductible for Select was the best overall deal for us. And my sales consultant, Elliot from NJ was awesome: knowledgeable, friendly, answered all my questions. Good initial experience for sure. Pleased with my purchase.

1 year ago

star star star star star_border

Jojo ,

Haven't used the service yet, this is for the sales call. Good discounts they are offering but took me 2 calls to get a competitive rate. I do like this company uses domestic call centers and not overseas so the communication can be more effective and efficient. There was a mistake in the billing, different than what I was quoted. I trust it should be fixed now.

1 year ago

star star star star star_border

David Norum Atascadero, CA

I am giving 4 because I just got the warranty yesterday and of course have not had the opportunity to use the benefits so to give it 5 would be ridiculous at this point. But the sales rep I spoke with on the phone, I believe his name was Steven, made a very low key low pressure offer to extend my program over multiple years to decrease my payments and increase my benefits. I appreciated his very professional, respectful approach and decided to take advantage of the great program.

1 year ago

star star star star star_border

Vivian Wiggins Berkeley, CA

I spoke with Sam M who was very knowledgeable. Mr. M gave a great description to the policy I was interested in purchasing (as a new home buyer). He sensed my hesitation on the cost and preceded to inform me of a better plan which includes a discount for senior citizens. Sam M is knowledgeable and it was pleasure speaking with him. He is an asset to Select Home Warranty. Based on the conversation I had with Sam I would give SHW 5-star rating. However, I reserve the right of rating the entire company after I have had service request.

1 year ago

star star star star star_border

Sandra Persson Kerrville, TX

Tom B bent over backwards trying to find a plan that fit our needs and into our budget. After taking into consideration many avenues and "benefits" he was able to hands down beat out the plan that we had recently purchased {Totally wrong Plan}. Tom deserves 5 stars BUT alas we have not experience the promptness or quality of service yet and really need to withhold a star until then---We had some bad luck with our coverage over the last 3 years with another company with slow and poor service. We are looking forward to high quality with Select Home Warranty.

2 years ago

star star star star star_border

William M Harris Savannah, GA

I appreciated the rapid response of the company rep. I was still on the website comparing pricing when I received a call from him. What I did find unpleasing was the non-warning that he would be contacting me by phone. With the large number of unsolicited phone calls from unknown numbers, I seldom answer unknown calls. I had expected an introductory email before the call but all was well. The rep. Jeff S, was polite and listened to my needs and responded accordingly. He explained what I was to expect by email and the 30 day waiting period.

2 years ago

star star star star star_border

Bruce Scarbrough Pinson, AL

After looking at several home warranty companies, we chose Select Home Warranty. They offer several plans as well as optional add-ons. The agent, Jake H, I spoke with answered all my questions and was very detailed in outlining the various plans. After speaking with Jake, plus what I already knew about Select Home Warranty, it was an easy decision to make. Lord willing, we'll never need the protection but it's good to know if we do, Select Home Warranty, and Jake, will be there 24/7 to walk us through the process.

2 years ago

star star star star star_border

Jerry Hornung Darien, GA

Ben T was very knowledgeable concerning the home insurance package I wanted. He explained several options to include more coverage and to reduce cost. Some I chose to go with and some I declined. He was ok with my choice and did not high pressure me into purchasing something I did not want. If I choose to upgrade in the future, I will definitely choose him as my advocate. Thank you, Ben. Jerry Hornung

2 years ago

star star star star star_border

Dorothy Holiday De Kalb, MS

The only problem I have with Select Home Warranty is they cannot find a contractor near me, when I became a customer I was assure that they had contractors near. The one that came out to service me could not find a problem with my washer. I will give Customer service five stars because she is trying her best to contact someone to repair my washer.

3 years ago

star star star star star_border

Deborah Lake City, FL

At this time I cannot really say too much about this company. I can honestly give a very positive rating for the way my situation was handled in that the contract showed the wrong address for the home under warranty. I called and everything was handled in a very professional manner and promptly putting the correct address to my contract. It actually was a pleasure speaking with the representative I dealt with.

3 years ago