Select Home Warranty Logo

Select Home Warranty

star star star star_half star_border

5.4

Overall Score

error This company may not service all states.
See states serviced
LAST UPDATED: December 7th, 2022

Select Home Warranty has a proven track record of success. Several customers mention excellent customer service in Select Home Warranty reviews, and the company offers very competitive pricing. The warranty company has a free online quote generator and allows customers to file claims online. The home warranty company is headquartered in Mahwah, New Jersey, and has been in operation since 2011.

Read Select Home Warranty reviews below to see what real consumers have to say about the warranty service provider.

Top Ranked Companies

thumb_up

The Good

  • Online Claims Submissions
  • Coverage Options
  • Promotions
  • Helpful Website

Online Claim Submissions

Submitting claims is simple through the online submission form on Select Home Warranty's website, regardless of what warranty policy you have. All a customer must do is input their personal information and policy number, as well as a description of the problem. A Select Home Warranty claims representative will then contact you shortly after your submission. This provides peace of mind to homeowners, ensuring them a technician will be contacted quickly and be scheduled to repair or replace the problematic appliance in a short amount of time.

Coverage Options

Select Home Warranty has multiple coverage options for homeowners, buyers and sellers, contractors, and people in real estate. Customers also have the choice to upgrade to Gold Care or Platinum Care if they aren't satisfied with the Bronze Care home warranty plan and they want more peace of mind. If customers are willing to spend a bit extra, Select Home Warranty offers packages that cover all major appliances and home systems. A detailed list of all appliances that are covered for each home warranty plan is as follows:

Bronze Care

  • Washing machine
  • Clothes dryer
  • Garbage disposal
  • Refrigerator
  • Stove/oven
  • Built-in microwave oven
  • Cooktop
  • Dishwasher

Gold Care

  • Electrical system
  • Air conditioning & cooling 
  • Ductwork
  • Plumbing system
  • Water heater
  • Heating system

Platinum

  • All covered items in Bronze Care and Gold Care

Optional Coverage

  • Pool
  • Central vacuum
  • Second refrigerator
  • Sump pump
  • Well pump
  • Roof leak
  • Stand-alone freezer
  • Lawn sprinkler system
  • Septic systems
  • Ice maker (in-refrigerator)
  • Lighting fixtures/plumbing fixtures
  • Additional air conditioning unit (each)
  • Additional heat/furnace (each)
  • Spa

Promotions

Select Home Warranty offers the occasional promotion. In the past, the warranty company has offered up to $200 discounts on the plan pricing, has given customers a few months of free home warranty coverage, and has even offered free roof coverage to new customers. These plans are usually time-sensitive and have deadlines, so new and potential customers would be wise to take advantage of promotions when they come along.

Helpful Website

Select Home Warranty has an extensive website that is easy to use and has a wide selection of information. The website includes a free online quote generator, making it easy for customers to get an idea of what their individual pricing and coverage would be like if they went with Select Home Warranty. The company's website also has a FAQ page and Blog section where they answer common questions and discuss topics related to the industry. 

thumb_down

The Bad

  • Repeat Service Fees
  • No Mobile App
  • State Availability

Repeat Service Fees

Select Home Warranty charges a service call fee, which customers will be expected to pay every time a technician visits their home, regardless of whether or not the item has been looked at recently. The payment must be paid at time of service, and failing to do so will result in your home service contract being suspended. If any suspension of the service contract occurs, this does not change or extend its original termination date. And any pre-existing conditions or malfunctions are not covered by the service contract. However, normal wear and tear of appliances is covered, and Select Home Warranty will repair it as part of the contract. Also, this is not uncommon within the home warranty industry to charge money for every time a repair person visits a customer's home. 

No Mobile App

Select Home Warranty does not offer a mobile app for Android or Apple devices, unlike some other home warranty companies. Mobile apps are useful for customers to submit claims or pay fees through their mobile device instead of having to access a desktop, so the fact that the company doesn't offer one makes some processes less convenient. 

State Availability

Service from this home warranty provider is available in most of the country. However, the company doesn't operate in the following states: 

Click on your state in the list above to see the best-ranked home warranty companies available in your area. 

gavel

The Bottom Line

Select Home Warranty is a highly legitimate company that offers extremely competitive pricing, a number of package options, a simple online claims process, a helpful website, and occasional promotions. Select Home Warranty has a proven track record and is great for providing homeowners protection for the wear and tear of major systems and appliances and to save money through avoiding high repair costs. With many positive reviews, the customer satisfaction level seems to be high. The company backs up its quality service with great home warranty coverage options.

We recommend that customers consider Select Home Warranty for its fantastic service and home warranty plans.

Read hundreds of Select Home Warranty reviews below to hear what customers have to say about the home warranty provider. 

View Best Home Warranty Companies

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Star Rating

3.7

star star star star_half star_border

3,856 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

58%

4 grade

7%

3 grade

3%

2 grade

3%

1 grade

29%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star_border star_border

Quality

star star star_half star_border star_border

Service

star star star star_border star_border

Trustworthiness

star star star_half star_border star_border
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Elaine Ceigler Chandler, AZ

This is the second year I've had Select Warranty. The first and second year both the reps were great! The first year the rep quoted me 1 extra month for free and he waived the 30 day waiting period. The problem being is they never send you any information on what you're getting! Had to use the warranty before 30 days and after many phone calls an arguments they came! This year ... they still haven't sent me anything saying what I get. I've left messages and the rep said he would send me the info! I have nothing stating he gave me 2 extra months for a lesser fee for fixing stuff . Getting ready to cancel if I don't get something in writing!

2 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Judy Murray

In general, I believe all home warranty companies, including Select Home Warranty, have clauses built into policies that a written in a way that makes it hard for consumers to know what is a "covered repair". These clauses are then used to disqualify a repair request. With respect to Select Home Warranty, I was particularly disappointed when I requested the company send a repair person to verify if the problem was what they told me would not be covered so I could at least get it fixed. I was told they do not send technicians to investigate uncovered repairs, but if I had another company fix the problem I could request reimbursement if they determined the problem to be covered by policy..

2 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Justin

They sold me the plan knowing that I live in the west and they do not provide coverage they don't provide true coverage for people on the west they only operate on east coast time and if you have a claim that you're trying to fill and you want to do it in the afternoon even if it's early afternoon you're going to, you have the strong possibility of running into a case for you can't get your claim approved and they're also not open on the weekends so it's incredibly difficult to get a claim approved and get service like this. Again their availability is really poor for people on the west and there aren't very clear about that when you sign up with them but they are friendly enough you know is there decent customer service.

2 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Raymond

I recently tried to process a claim and it took much longer then it should have. We had our washing machine break, they sent a tech out. The tech was great, he was very prompt and came out immediately and addressed my problems. It would have been 950-1000 dollars to fix it. We decided to buy a new one. It took a long time to get reimbursed for the new washer. It needs to be easier to process claim, nobody would follow up, I had to make all the phone calls.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Richard Henderson

I have experienced delays getting warranty work done because several contractors have refused to work with Select Homes Warranty company. Additionally, Select Homes Warranty didnt make clear what would be covered by my policies and there have bee several times were a claim was generated only to be notified after diagnosis that this problem would not be covered.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

K Woodbridge, VA

They're doing a good job getting the claims in and the customer service is generally up to par. My AC was pumping warm air so I phoned Select Home Warranty and put the claim in and I was pretty much set from there. The customer service feels like a bunch of sales people trying to make a sale. The rates are good and general customer service is good when you're calling to put in a claim.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Juan

For what we pay yearly for the service it seems that we gotta pay more for charges you don't cover.. You pay for very little while I got stuck playing way more so in a way I don't think this service is worth having.. Could be better in many ways.. Not sure if I'll be renewing again next time''''im pretty disappointed..

2 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Michael Yundt

1. Nonsense of urgency. If a problem occurs on a weekend, no one is contacted until the work week. 2. Disagree with how they decide what to cover. Had a water heater fail and was told the water tank wasn't a part and therefore not covered. They did 'graciously' offer $300 towards it.

2 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Virginia

They answered all the questions that I had about joining the program. I needed help with my dishwasher and they came out twice. They installed the new part and it's worse than before but I think they are going to help me out. The people that came out were very hard working.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Gaurang

We were expecting a check for our washer, and it took nearly 4 months to get our check when we were promised after 30 days. When our refrigerator had issues with lights, we were told that it was not covered! Are lights not an important component of the refrigerator? I would suggest more clarity at the time of issue of policy.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Jeff H

They hide a lot of things that won't be covered under n fine print. We had our AC go out and because I didn't have it maintained on regular basis. They only covered a small portion. This isn't something they tell you when they sell their service.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Earl

We are having troubles getting reimbursed when we had to pay the refrigerator man out of pocket. We don't have a computer so it is a challenge, they should change how they reimburse people to make it easier and more streamlined.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Ron Charlton

The A/C repairman didn't communicate to me what he did about my A/C failure. He did communicate that I owed him $45! My regular A/C service said he didn't think the defective circuit board that was suspect was changed!! I thought it had been.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Darlene Hendersonville, TN

They failed to let me know that my contract was about to expire. They never left a message on my answering machine so I called about a situation and they said my contract had expired the day before I've been with them several years I was not a happy camper. They did give me some extra coverage to retain me as a customer.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Anonymous Sandy, TX

They are very friendly and personable on the phone but they don't follow through. I've only used it one time for the garage door and they wanted me to pay the vendor and then they cut me a check, so it took several weeks to get my money. The next time I called, it wasn't covered.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Stephanie

They harass you when it's time for renewal and they don't keep notes in your file. When you call about something you already talked to them about they have no idea about previous conversations."

2 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Teresa Husbands

Very deceptive. Talks about covering all systems in the home. Neglects to mention that systems covered wil. Be pro tated for reimbursement will be based on age of said system

2 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Corky Henderson Chicago, IL

The responsiveness and communication are pretty good, but some of the vendors chosen to do the work seem to cause further issues and additional money, time and effort to get to a complete repair.

2 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Debra Davis Los Angeles, CA

They are prompt in sending out a technician to your residence. The telephone reps remained professional during each of our telephone communications. Select Home Warranty reimbursement process is quite lengthy.

2 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Kapil

I had an understanding that they were going to repair or replace, and they didn't really do that for my dishwasher, which is just kind of sitting in limbo right now. I'm not impressed at all.

2 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

anonymous

They lost my warranty information and it took me a week to get a warranty claim process because they messed up on the initial warranty. It took 3 phone calls and two and a half weeks to get my dishwasher fixed.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Barbara Curry

Been a little disappointed in the quality of service people that have showed up at my house. Usually not local. I have used quality people locally that actually I would prefer using.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Dianna

Everything you turn in, it seems like they don't accept it. They tell you to call your own repair person. My water faucet was leaking and they told me that I have to call my own person and then they refused to pay it.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Rohit

Seems like customer service was responsive. I do think there should be some sort of little regular maintenance for me who are not filing any claim complaints as part of the policy.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Gwendolyn

A friend of mine had it and said it was a good company and I now I have it. I wanted to use it for IT service but they refused the service because I didn't have anything wrong.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Shirley

When I need it, I need it quickly because I am handicapped, and it took two or three days to get my air conditioning fixed. They should send a service company quicker since we pay them a reasonable price.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Stephanie

Lack of support. I made a claim and they had to do some research to figure out if it was covered. Select never called me back. In the meantime I found out I could fix it for cheaper than my deductible.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Tl

The companies they choose for repairs are no where close to being great. In many circumstances the repair company ends up contacting you because Select doesnt pay all the fees.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Katie Chaska, MN

Needed to use our warranty in January and were told twice we hadn't read the fine print. So they weren't going to cover our claims. They did come through quick but not upfront about the fine print.

3 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Jeannette Mesa, AZ

I'm new to home warranty services. I had a right leaking faucet on my washing machine setup. The tech was prompt, courteous and knowledgeable. After he left I noticed the left faucet was leaking and wondered why he didn't fix it. BECAUSE I only reported the right one leaking, that's why! I wasn't aware the left was leaking, if the tech knew it he didn't say anything . So I have to arrange another service call, this time with a washing machine in the way and pay another $45 fee because of something that I didn't discover but I'm sure the plumber did. . . it's the way this warranty works, I was told. Am I to be nickled and dimed for the next 5 years?

3 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Alice B. Hill Ocala, FL

I felt as though the representative was trying to "fast talk" me into something I didn't want. He would quote me a figure, then, put me on hold (said I have to check with my manager) in an attempt to make another deal. I know that occured at least 3-4 times. Each one supposed to be a big discount for me, however, price starting with 499.00 and ending with 1,750.00 granted for more years, however, I felt that I was being pressured into something I did not want. When I refused he became "short" with me,I told him confirm the 399.00 on my credit card or this call is over. I know he's a salesperson, however, I don't liked to feel I'm being coerced or belittled.

3 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Andria Guten Dallas, TX

I'm a new customer with Select Home Warranty. The salesman was very courteous and gave me a break in price. The only reason I rated this company 3 stars is because I haven't used them yet. Once I have a need to use them, then I will be able to rate them. My experience with other home shield warranty companies is that it has been very difficult to find a find technicians to come out to fix the problems after 4:30 P.M. or on Saturday. Prior to making my decision to select this company the salesperson Zachery and the claims dept. reassured me that this wouldn't be an issue. Going forward I hope that will be the case. Once I actually have an issue and need something repaired or replaced I would be willing to complete another survey and give my opinion.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Anonymous

The first time I used them, they did okay, but I didn't hear anything from them after. The second time, they did good but the third and fourth time, it was not so great.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Anonymous Summerfield, FL

They're not the easiest company to reach and get ahold of. I had a problem with my air conditioning and it took longer to get it taken care of then it should have.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Nooruddin Conway, AR

It takes a long time to get customer service. There's no fast response. They need to listen to complaints and determine the problem so it doesn't take that long time.

3 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Dawn Timbers Pottstown, PA

The first call was great! But, I should have asked to see what was covered or a sample of the documents Od receive BEFORE sending them money. Not doing do was just naive because, It’s been two weeks and I still have not received a copy of my warranty In my email. I am beginning to think it’s a scam and my representative said the company doesn’t mail paper copies. I’m in the process of trying to contact my rep. He’ll tell me to check my spam folder and I will/have- I just hope this company is legit.

2 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Trina Birmingham, AL

The wait time for costs and approvals before reimbursement or payment of service is inconvenient. Don't like the choices for when to email or when to call it should be one method of communication agreed with the customer to avoid misunderstanding or giving the customer a feeling they are being ignored when they don't know they've received an email or to expect a call at inconvenient moments.

2 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

K L Wright Wichita Falls, TX

Provided the multi year program although I was not looking for that program. I was told to take time to review and I could change program within 30 days and receive a refund of the additional amount. I requested to do an annual payment but I am confused on the refund because the original amount was a lot less. Still looking for the corrected contract to resolve questions.

3 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Bessie L. Talley El Dorado, AR

Return of reimbursement is SLOW the information is readily received and they will tell you it has been taken care of and you call back weeks later and it's like you are just starting over, I work M-F and do not appreciate to have to keep checking on a claim, this is just another thing I do not have tie to keep up with and I'm payinf for this service.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Edwin

Trouble communicating, it takes multiple calls for problems. I have a warranty claim and there have been three visits and it's still not resolved.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Bobbiette

So far it's ok. Our air went out and we called and had some difficulty with the tech and we were out of air all weekend.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Bob

When I needed a had service on furnace. Lag time was not hrs but another day. Though I got my own Serb. Took weeks to settle up and get reimbursed6

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Anonymous Little Elm, TX

I had an electrical problem and the person that came here was not good. The issue wasn't fixed properly with one of the things they came for.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

anonymous Sun City West, AZ

I've had them here once. The people who came out to work had a horrible time getting the job done without constantly calling for their permission.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Anonymous Deltona, FL

It is as good as any other company. They check in on us every once in a while to make sure we don't have any viruses or anything in our computer.

3 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Samuel Greenfield Middle River, MD

quick and fast response. unlike other company's I have delt with. no Hassel no fighting no screaming. been burnt alot with other warranty companys. so far select you go girl. update ended up leaving they jumped price and ended up not nice customer service

1 year ago

star star star star_border star_border

T ,

I just signed up and spoke with Ed. While he was very knowledgeable, I could tell he was getting impatient with me and the questions I had since I’m a new home owner. I have seen a lot of good reviews but after talking with him I have been questioning if I made a mistake. I’m hoping my experience with the warranty procedures will be better.

1 year ago

star star star star_border star_border

Lene Carter Richmond, IN

I called about my microwave oven. It wasn't working right. They checked the year of the serial and model number and told me I could get a reimbursement check and replace it for a total of $95.00. Not too sure where I can find one for that amount to match what I had. I guess that was better than nothing.

2 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Wayne Rockett Trussville, AL

I first called to hopefully expedite service on 9/16 to file a claim on my garage door. Everything was fine until they dispatched an HVAC contractor to repair my garage door. Had to call back & had to repeat everything from 1st call . Hopefully I’ll get the correct person dispatched soon as it’s very an inconvenience.

3 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Bernadette Fernandes Snellville, GA

I wish SHW would update their customers such as send weekly updates after the Tech visits the home. I had to keep calling the Tech for an update and then I ended up just calling SHW because I felt things weren't moving along fast enough. I appreciate your service but as a customer I would like to be updated when my ticket updates.

3 years ago