Blue by ADT Logo

Blue by ADT

star star star star_border star_border

5.7

Overall Score

LAST UPDATED: October 12th, 2022

Previously known as LifeShield, an ADT Company, the company has rebranded to Blue by ADT. The security provider is a pioneer in DIY smart home security, offering Wi-Fi-enabled security products that are compatible with Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant. Homeowners and renters can choose from three security sets or build their own custom security set to fit their needs. Low monthly monitoring starts at $19.99 per month to $24.98 per month plus tax. Read our full Blue by ADT review below to see if the home security company is right for you.

Click here to go straight to Blue by ADT reviews.

Top Ranked Companies

thumb_up

The Good

  • Equipment Warranty and 30-Day Money-Back Guarantee
  • Remote Access on All Plans
  • No Landline Phone Connection Required
  • 24/7 Professional Monitoring
  • Home Automation Options
  • Transparent Blue by ADT Pricing

Equipment Warranty and 30-Day Money-Back Guarantee

Blue by ADT provides its customers with Wi-Fi enabled, wireless security products for up to 40% off. An equipment warranty is added to provide protection throughout the entirety of the service contract. All of Blue by ADT products also come with a 30-day money-back guarantee. The 30-day money-back guarantee refund covers upfront costs, including activation fee when applicable, and shipping. Note that customers must return promotional items. 

Remote Access on All Plans

The completely wireless home security systems use internet and cellular connections to monitoring centers. Users can use the Blue by ADT app to arm and disarm the alarm system from any location. With four layers of protection (including high-speed internet, cellular signal, cellular text, and landline phone) and 24-hour battery backup, the home security system stays connected to help you stay protected. 

No Landline Phone Connection Required

Customers have the option of using landline phone connection as an unrequired backup, but Blue by ADT home security systems don't need a landline connection to operate; rather they operate via cellular and wireless networks.

24/7 Professional Monitoring

Three coast-to-coast monitoring centers help protect you day and night from burglary, fire, and flood. They are backed up with two generators and uninterruptible power supplies. These monitoring centers will immediately alert the customer and emergency service personnel the moment a signal alert is triggered.

Home Automation Options

Blue by ADT has smart home automation included in all plans. With the free Blue by ADT mobile app, you can manage your home security system and your smart home devices. Blue by ADT systems are compatible with Amazon, Alexa, Google Assistant, IFTTT applets, and Z-Wave Plus devices. Blue by ADT customers can access the following home automation functions directly from their smart device:

  • Locking and unlocking smart door locks
  • Dimming or turning on/off your lights
  • Turning smart outlets on/off
  • Controlling smart thermostat temperature and controls
  • Opening and closing your garage door

Transparent Blue by ADT Pricing

Blue by ADT has all pricing information listed on its website. The security systems are priced from $199.15 to $376.10. There is also an option to build your own custom security system.

Monthly monitoring is $19.99 without video storage and $24.98 (plus tax) with 30-day video storage. Available smart home security products with Blue by ADT include:

  • Patented base station
  • Entry keypad
  • Security touchpad
  • Indoor camera
  • Outdoor security camera
  • HD video doorbell camera
  • Door sensorWindow sensor
  • Pet-friendly motion sensor
  • Fire safety sensor
  • Glass break sensor
  • Nest thermostat
  • Carbon monoxide alarm
  • Flood sensor
  • Keychain remote
  • Yard sign and window stickers
  • 30-Day cloud video storage
thumb_down

The Bad

  • No Professional Installation
  • Company History

No Professional Installation

Blue by ADT is a DIY installation home security system. ADT provides plenty of resources and customer support to help homeowners properly install their ADT security system, customers are responsible for installing every component themselves, which may lead to some issues including connectivity problems.

Company History

The company's overall history has been relatively unstable. The company was founded in 2004 and then purchased by DIRECTV in 2013, which then became a part of AT&T in 2015. In April of 2017, the former CEO of Blue by ADT, previously known as Lifeshield, acquired the company from AT&T and brought back the original self-installation platform with a direct-to-consumer approach.

However, in 2019, LifeShield was acquired by ADT. Recently rebranded to Blue by ADT and with ADT support, the company is now taking product innovation to the next level, while continuing to make excellent customer service a top priority.

gavel

The Bottom Line

Blue by ADT offers total security solutions to customers across the United States. Monthly plans feature 24/7 professional monitoring, equipment warranties, and remote access from virtually anywhere. Starting at $19.99 per month for entire home coverage and included smart home automation features, service plans are competitively priced against other home security marketplace options. Ordering is easy on Blue by ADT's website without credit checks or activation fees. There are also home automation options controlled through the Blue by ADT mobile app that allows homeowners to synch their home security system and their smart home devices. To hear what past and current customers have to say, read Blue by ADT home security reviews below.

View Best Home Security Companies

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Star Rating

3.2

star star star star_border star_border

139 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

24%

4 grade

29%

3 grade

14%

2 grade

8%

1 grade

24%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star_half star_border star_border

Quality

star star star_half star_border star_border

Service

star star star_half star_border star_border

Trustworthiness

star star star_border star_border star_border
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

V.N. DeKalb, IL

LifeShield's system is simple, easy to understand, easy to install, and it works effectively. I've had it for 3 years now, and I haven't had a problem with it; it's done everything I expected. The unit looks modern, it works effectively, and I'm very pleased. It's not like the previous system I had. The other one had 2 extensive wired systems that weren't reliable, and they always needed some sort of repairs. With LifeShield, I can control it with my iPhone; I love that! I would only recommend them to expand their product line, but besides that, it's been a very positive experience.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Cheryl Z Congress, AZ

I was pleasantly surprised that, whenever there was a problem, the police did come out, or the sheriff I should say. For some reason, the technician forgot to plug in the keypad into an outlet, and the system was operating mainly off the battery. Of course, the battery would completely drain, so that caused the police to come over. Fortunately, I already changed the battery and plugged it into an outlet. Besides that, it's very simple to use, however, I still think that having a dog would be a wonderful alternative.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

B. H. Mision Hills, CA

I decided to go with LifeShield because of a burglary to my house, and ever since, I have sleeping easier at night, not being worried when I'm away from home. However, the only thing I'd suggest them to polish is their alert notifications because the text messages and email alerts have a delay, they don't go out at all sometimes.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Eric Jones Fort Lauderdale, FL

They should have regular updates on customer satisfaction. We've had some issues with the equipment, and we haven't really heard any feedback from LifeShield about fixing it or replacing it. We did appreciate the ability to look at the cameras when we're away from home, and to know that our home is safe when we aren't there.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Micki Walsh Clarksville, TN

After my husband died, my car was broken into, so my son-in-law recommended a security system. I think the biggest benefit LifeShield has provided is that we feel safer now. We installed it ourselves, and it was actually very easy to install. Plus, technical support was excellent, and everything they've had to deal with has been terrific.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Richard Nichols Groveland, FL

It's been really handy. We feel pretty safe with it. The only negative thing we can think of is that my system was an older version, and it didn't have the cellular connection. Unfortunately, it wasn't possible to update. Either way, it's been a good company.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Ann Block Woodsfield, OH

LifeShield is actually for my small business, and I like the fact that I'm notified and monitored. I can monitor who is entering and leaving the building, when it's locked, and other issues, Overall, I don't have any complaints; I'm very satisfied with the service.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Fank Fazil New Windsor, NY

Overall, my experience has been great. I wanted to entirely secure my home and in case of an emergency being able to contact the police and fire department. I haven't had any problem with it, it works well and I am happy.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Anonymous Farmington, MI

We have had several false alarms, however, Lifeshield has always called us right away, before the police showed up. We like their Quick response time to the alarm when it goes off!!!!

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Karen Miller Orting, WA

I'm really happy with it, and I like the fact that I can tell when people come and go from the house. I also like that it was portable. Actually, I had to move, and it was really easy to move.

5 years ago

star star star star star

joe ullman Durham, NH

man, some of these criticisms are just BS. I've had this for over 10 years. Yeah, there were some installation issues but the customer service is excellent; they are always there and very helpful. Once it is installed i've had few problems that weren't related to dying batteries. Monitoring service is excellent; i don't know what these people are talking about. I've often gotten alarms that I didn't even know about because I didn't answer the phone. I get email, text or calls. Door and window monitors, motion sensors are all fine. Never had a problem. I have dogs and cats and the alarms never go off. Easy to use interface on web and phone. Maybe if I was doing it again i'd use simpliSafe because the monitoring fee is less but i'm happy with the existing system.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Jeremy Fox Fort Worth, TX

So far, my experience with LifeShield has been very positive. There's not really anything I'd change about them, although, I really like the camera features.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Barry Feck Nicholasville, KY

So far, I haven't had any concerns. I sleep better at night! My only suggestion would be that they should make the equipment a little more user friendly.

5 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Robert Ashbee Mason, OH

It detected even the smallest of movements within the house. Unfortunately, we had a small dog that tripped the motion sensors repeatedly. Not ADT's fault ,, Overall the response time for these incidents was fast & responsive. Kudos

6 months ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

steelerfan Bel Air, MD

They have been very helpful and responsive when I needed support and when my alarm went off a few times, the police were dispatched immediately.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

David Veilleux North Las Vegas, NV

LifeShield is an outstanding company to deal with. I like the cameras in my home when I'm not here. They've offered a great experience so far.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

C.S. Fort Wayne, IN

It's given me a sense of being secure. We haven't had any issues with the system, so I'd say it's been a very positive experience so far.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Richard Braun Harriman, TN

We switched to LifeShield because they had a better deal than our previous company, and it's worked great! It's given us a chance of security.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Richard Ryland Chattanooga, TN

Life Shield's system provided the security I wanted. Plus, it's easy to install and maintain, so that's why I chose them.

5 years ago

star star star star star

Jeff Jablon

Just got lifeshield didn't do credit check and only paying $20.99 had called ADT first sales guy was a joke wanted the $27.99 service nope 54.99 if you don't have landline lifeshield does more than ADT and at better price also have money back if don't like cant lose

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Maria Tabor Portsmouth, VA

LifeShield is very reliable, they're always call when the alarm goes off, it's a great system, I feel safe at night.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Michael Cofield Rotonda West, FL

There's not really much to say; they're doing a good job! Now, I can sleep without worrying about a possible break in.

5 years ago

star star star star star

Denise E Cummings Philadelphia, PA

My experience with Life Shield has been great. I'm new to having an alarm system but it is very easy to use once you get the hang of it. It comes with everything you need for self installation, I really enjoy my system.

3 years ago

star star star star star

Dorethea Harrison Rochester, MI

We live in a very safe community, however no place without crime. Having LifeShield gives us an extra sense of security. They've always been very professional and available when we've needed them!

3 years ago

Blue by ADT Logo

Reply from Blue by ADT

Hi Dorethea, So glad you shared this review! Your satisfaction and safety are so important to us. Our goal is to make you feel safe and secure in your home. Please do not hesitate to contact us at 877-464-7437 if you ever have any questions. Enjoy your day and stay safe, Alex, Customer Reviews Manager, LifeShield

Jun. 21st, 2019

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Alexandria Lekberg Chesterfield, VA

I enjoyed using this company for 2 years. The unit was top of the line and had a great warranty! It was a little expensive but with a military discount it was better, and free smoke detector batteries for life! I could always count on this company. We stopped using this company when we moved and the new house had a setup with a different company.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

James Sharkey Freehold, NJ

Excellent service! I haven't had any break ins, and it's given me a sense of security now.

5 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Aubrey Greenville, SC

Love this security company. The customer service is amazing; they've had the best respond time out of all the companies i've used in the past.

6 months ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Anonymous Folsom, CA

Affordable and easy to use

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Anonymous Anaheim, CA

Call center very responsive

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Anonymous Gainesville, FL

Very reliable, quick response and thorough

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Ramon Flores Yuma, AZ

Everything works well, so just keep doing a great job!

5 years ago

star star star star star

Barbara L Claypool Jeffersonville, NY

Excellent help with installation, questions answered well. The system is well planned and easy to use.

3 years ago

Blue by ADT Logo

Reply from Blue by ADT

Hi Barbara, Happy to hear you are enjoying our customer service and security system. We're here to make you feel safe and secure. Thanks for sharing! Enjoy your day and stay safe, Alex, Customer Reviews Manager, LifeShield

Jun. 21st, 2019

star star star star star

GREGORY WILHELM-WENZEL Denver, CO

Good experience and friendly personnel. Good customer Service. Ease of self installation.

3 years ago

star star star star star

Joe from Mount Laurel Mount Laurel, NJ

I have been using LifeShield for over 6 years. Love it. Great service and hardware!

3 years ago

Blue by ADT Logo

Reply from Blue by ADT

Hi Joe, Thanks for leaving this review and being a customer of LifeShield for over 6 years! We value your safety, satisfaction and peace of mind. Enjoy your day and stay safe, Alex, Customer Reviews Manager, LifeShield

Jun. 21st, 2019