Blue by ADT Logo
star star star star_border star_border

5.7

Overall Score

LAST UPDATED: October 12th, 2022

Previously known as LifeShield, an ADT Company, the company has rebranded to Blue by ADT. The security provider is a pioneer in DIY smart home security, offering Wi-Fi-enabled security products that are compatible with Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant. Homeowners and renters can choose from three security sets or build their own custom security set to fit their needs. Low monthly monitoring starts at $19.99 per month to $24.98 per month plus tax. Read our full Blue by ADT review below to see if the home security company is right for you.

Click here to go straight to Blue by ADT reviews.

Top Ranked Companies

thumb_up

The Good

  • Equipment Warranty and 30-Day Money-Back Guarantee
  • Remote Access on All Plans
  • No Landline Phone Connection Required
  • 24/7 Professional Monitoring
  • Home Automation Options
  • Transparent Blue by ADT Pricing

Equipment Warranty and 30-Day Money-Back Guarantee

Blue by ADT provides its customers with Wi-Fi enabled, wireless security products for up to 40% off. An equipment warranty is added to provide protection throughout the entirety of the service contract. All of Blue by ADT products also come with a 30-day money-back guarantee. The 30-day money-back guarantee refund covers upfront costs, including activation fee when applicable, and shipping. Note that customers must return promotional items. 

Remote Access on All Plans

The completely wireless home security systems use internet and cellular connections to monitoring centers. Users can use the Blue by ADT app to arm and disarm the alarm system from any location. With four layers of protection (including high-speed internet, cellular signal, cellular text, and landline phone) and 24-hour battery backup, the home security system stays connected to help you stay protected. 

No Landline Phone Connection Required

Customers have the option of using landline phone connection as an unrequired backup, but Blue by ADT home security systems don't need a landline connection to operate; rather they operate via cellular and wireless networks.

24/7 Professional Monitoring

Three coast-to-coast monitoring centers help protect you day and night from burglary, fire, and flood. They are backed up with two generators and uninterruptible power supplies. These monitoring centers will immediately alert the customer and emergency service personnel the moment a signal alert is triggered.

Home Automation Options

Blue by ADT has smart home automation included in all plans. With the free Blue by ADT mobile app, you can manage your home security system and your smart home devices. Blue by ADT systems are compatible with Amazon, Alexa, Google Assistant, IFTTT applets, and Z-Wave Plus devices. Blue by ADT customers can access the following home automation functions directly from their smart device:

  • Locking and unlocking smart door locks
  • Dimming or turning on/off your lights
  • Turning smart outlets on/off
  • Controlling smart thermostat temperature and controls
  • Opening and closing your garage door

Transparent Blue by ADT Pricing

Blue by ADT has all pricing information listed on its website. The security systems are priced from $199.15 to $376.10. There is also an option to build your own custom security system.

Monthly monitoring is $19.99 without video storage and $24.98 (plus tax) with 30-day video storage. Available smart home security products with Blue by ADT include:

  • Patented base station
  • Entry keypad
  • Security touchpad
  • Indoor camera
  • Outdoor security camera
  • HD video doorbell camera
  • Door sensorWindow sensor
  • Pet-friendly motion sensor
  • Fire safety sensor
  • Glass break sensor
  • Nest thermostat
  • Carbon monoxide alarm
  • Flood sensor
  • Keychain remote
  • Yard sign and window stickers
  • 30-Day cloud video storage
thumb_down

The Bad

  • No Professional Installation
  • Company History

No Professional Installation

Blue by ADT is a DIY installation home security system. ADT provides plenty of resources and customer support to help homeowners properly install their ADT security system, customers are responsible for installing every component themselves, which may lead to some issues including connectivity problems.

Company History

The company's overall history has been relatively unstable. The company was founded in 2004 and then purchased by DIRECTV in 2013, which then became a part of AT&T in 2015. In April of 2017, the former CEO of Blue by ADT, previously known as Lifeshield, acquired the company from AT&T and brought back the original self-installation platform with a direct-to-consumer approach.

However, in 2019, LifeShield was acquired by ADT. Recently rebranded to Blue by ADT and with ADT support, the company is now taking product innovation to the next level, while continuing to make excellent customer service a top priority.

gavel

The Bottom Line

Blue by ADT offers total security solutions to customers across the United States. Monthly plans feature 24/7 professional monitoring, equipment warranties, and remote access from virtually anywhere. Starting at $19.99 per month for entire home coverage and included smart home automation features, service plans are competitively priced against other home security marketplace options. Ordering is easy on Blue by ADT's website without credit checks or activation fees. There are also home automation options controlled through the Blue by ADT mobile app that allows homeowners to synch their home security system and their smart home devices. To hear what past and current customers have to say, read Blue by ADT home security reviews below.

View Best Home Security Companies

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Star Rating

3.2

star star star star_border star_border

139 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

24%

4 grade

29%

3 grade

14%

2 grade

8%

1 grade

24%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star_half star_border star_border

Quality

star star star_half star_border star_border

Service

star star star_half star_border star_border

Trustworthiness

star star star_border star_border star_border
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Martin Constanzer Phoenix, AZ

I am very happy with the assurance that we have, everything's safer when we go to vacations. With my phone app I can track what's going on the house, I can see who's in, and who's out the house. Their customer service is great, they're very helpful and responsive, it's easy to replace batteries or any warranted items. My only suggestion is if it was easier to get new cameras into the system, so it can worth the monthly fee.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Anonymous White Lake, MI

Lifeshield failed to deactivate a recent alarm that was set off due to a mistake from my part. I confirmed my information and requested to the agent that the alarm be stopped while on my way to work, but instead the police showed up unnecessarily. It was a major waste of time from my part and the part of the officer, which could have been easily prevented from Lifeshield.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Billie Brown Navarre, FL

My husband was going out of town a lot and I needed something to make sure I was safe, so I decided to go with LifeShield. I like the fact that it alerts me as soon as the door is open, so they gave me the secure feeling of knowing that if somebody opens the door, it will set off. Another thing I really like is the notifications you get when the alarm goes off, they call right away.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Allan Perkins Plant City, FL

Thinking positive about LifeShield, we just lock up everything and set the alarm every day, before we go to bed. However, the alarm has gone off, and we never had a call back from anybody. I would think somebody would call back and find out why the alarm went off. I don't know now if there's going to be any response, as far as local authority, if it goes off.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Angela Alexander Baltimore, MD

I purchased the system because I believe that it would keep my home, myself, and all my valuables safer. I would say that I appreciate that when an alarm goes off, they call to identify if there's a problem, instead of automatically sending over the base officers. I've had these few false alarms, but I've also had legitimate alarm go off. One thing I did notice is a deduction on my insurance policy.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Phil Gallegos Norwalk, CA

A few upgrades would be beneficial to the customers. We've had a few issues where the sensors didn't work properly. My wife set the alarm off, and she thought the alarm was on, so she walked away. When I got home, the alarm wasn't even on, so I guess the alarm didn't catch. My previous providers didn't install properly their systems, so this is my last hope, and besides that situation, it's been working just fine.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Gary Schwertly San Diego, CA

We've really loved the LifeShield system! We've had it for about 3 and half years, and we've been very pleased with it! Due to technology upgrades, the equipment has changed. AT&T has offered us their own system, but LifeShield is still better. It gives us a peace of mind, knowing everything is protected when we leave. If someone were to try to break, there would be a response by our security system to call the police, or fire department, and that peace of mind is very important to us.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Lisa Correia Providence, RI

So far, I've been happy with the service I've been provided with. I'm at ease, especially during the night, it is good to know that a burglar would have to by pass a sensor just to get into the main level, it just gives protection and peace of mind to my family.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Phillip Petty Lonsdale, AR

We live in a remote area, so we needed an alarm system because we're not close to any responders. The fact that the system will alert us if there was ever an event has given us a peace of mind. I've been really happy with it.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Thomas Mcdaniels Massillon, OH

There was a little issue with the keyless remote because we dropped it and it broke. After calling, they sent me another one immediately. There was also a little problem with our camera, but it had more to do with our WiFi than LifeShield's actual camera, so basically, we've been issue free. It's given us a peace of mind.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Rebecca Pruitt El Paso, AR

Usually there's kids in my house, and since it's a large home, most of the time I don't hear when somebody is knocking the door. I like that I know when somebody comes in and goes out, and that helps a lot to make sure the teenagers get home in time. I enjoy the system, but I do wish that it came with a camera instead of having to buy one.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Christopher Lewis Springfield, VA

I really like the 24 hour a day access to it. It's all set up with my doors, to open or close, and I can do that from anywhere. Plus, it has the option to call for emergency services in case of a fire, so it's not just for burglars.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Yan Chen Cherry Hill, NJ

Now, we don't have to worry about being inside or outside of our home if someone breaks in. It's provided safety and security to our house. I do have to say that the sensor sometimes happens to be off, even if we don't do anything.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

George Gentis Troy, OH

The kids are all grown up, so we really thought that we needed a little more security in monitoring all the doors and windows in the house. It's given us a little extra assurance when we're not home. I just think there should be more flexibility on the app. My telephone app failed to access the individual sensors, the alarms and stuff on it.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Lydia Lockett Pooler, GA

I purchased LifeShield to improve my safety, however, it'd be nice if they call when I set the alarm off by accident. That makes me think they don't monitor my system as well, and to be honest, I'm actually thinking about switching to another company.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Maurice Jennings Hartford, CT

There haven't been more burglaries since we got LifesShield. It's given my sister and myself more security. I just wish they gave me some of the old stuff we got when I first got the system. It's been a great experience using their service.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Sean Fleming Hillsborough Township, NJ

The service is great, but ever since they were acquired by AT&T, their hardware pieces weren't available on their website anymore. It's like they went out of business. Besides that, we've felt better away from home now. It gives us a sense of security.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Jeff Williams Chico, CA

Having their security system is a peace of mind! Plus, being able to configure it for emails and text alerts is great! However, I currently have a problem with the cellular getaway; it doesn't work anymore. I can't seem to get anybody to help me with it, so the $400 piece of equipment I bought seems useless.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Ronnell Tyars Corona, CA

I'm able to look into my home when I'm away, so I like that. Plus, I get notifications about any unauthorized entrance. My only suggestion would be that they should have different camera sizes, and different prices as well.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Joe Story Kansas City, MO

It's been a satisfactory experience, but they should make the alarm sound in the new system louder. It's not very loud. It used to be 105 decibels with the old system, and now it's a lot quieter now.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Jay Barkman Santa Ana, CA

It's easy to use with different people, like our nanny and my grandparents. We can remotely turn it off and on, and use the cameras to assist us as well. We've just been happy with everything.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Kevin Staff Winston-Salem, NC

I've been happy with it. I've had it for over 5 years now, and things have worked well. Plus, it gives me a sense of security of having them when you leave your home, you know that it's protected.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Robert Keating Chalfont, PA

I wanted to replace an existent system in my house, so I chose LifeShield. So far, it's been excellent. However, it'd be great if they improve their communication, and a new equipment would be nice as well.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Pat Bishop Crossville, TN

One of the benefits of purchasing LifeShield is that nobody has entered the home if I have it on. Plus. I'm able to monitor it from wherever I'm at. We're fairly satisfied with the service.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Anonymous Yreka, CA

I just like the fact that I can view it in anytime on my smartphone. My wife feels more secure when I'm not home. Also, I like that we can leave our house, knowing that it's secure, and that's valued.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Eileen Zsoldos Stroudsburg, PA

I have a greater sense of security now, and I really appreciate the weather alerts. My only recommendation would be that they should find a way to help maintain their sensors. I've had a couple of sensors go bad on me.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Laura Nantovech Denver, NC

I've always had a security system, and the reason I chose LifeShield was that it's wireless and a self-install system. I'm happy with the system itself, except for the battery. Besides that, it works just fine.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Chong Lee San Jose, CA

I've benefited from the timestamp it gives when the doors open and close. I just wish it had a longer battery life, and that it came with more sensors.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Robert Loudermilk Dallas, GA

This service has added more peace of mind. I don't have to worry as much about my house, and I can use the access app to see if anything is going on.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Rene Rodriguez Beloit, WI

It's just a peace of mind! I just wish they had more camera options; something that's weather proof, so I can put outside.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Juan Mendez Lehigh Acres, FL

It's been an overall, positive experience. I do have to say that, for some reason, the little remote sets off my house alarm.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Michael Domingo Redwood City, CA

Knowing that my home and family is safe gives me a peace of mind. LifeShield has certainly provided a good service.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

K.L. Los Angeles, CA

There's nothing I really loved about the system, it just works fine to me. Plus, I have a peace of mind now.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Shae Martin Statesville, NC

The system is economically friendly, user friendly, and very acceptable. It's given me a safer home.

5 years ago

star star star star star_border

Vonnie Gainesville, FL

Easy to install. Tech support is great. Happy with product, I have had issues with a couple of sensors and had to replace them.

3 years ago

Blue by ADT Logo

Reply from Blue by ADT

Hi Vonnie, Thanks for choosing LifeShield to help provide peace of mind! We love to hear that you're satisfied and feeling secure with LifeShield - that's the goal! Please don't hesitate to reach us at 877-464-7437 if you ever have any questions or concerns about your system. Appreciate the review! Enjoy your day and stay safe, Alex, Customer Reviews Manager, LifeShield

Jun. 21st, 2019

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Anonymous La Mesa, CA

Camera doesn't work

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Anonymous North Olmsted, OH

Very prompt about calling when alarm is triggered

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Anonymous Clemson, SC

We feel safe with continuous monitoring.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Anonymous Caledonia, MI

fast response when alarm is triggered

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Anonymous Columbus, OH

good service, monthly rate a bit high

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Anonymous Sylvania, OH

Overall, good service. Seems to work well.

5 years ago