Blue by ADT Logo

Blue by ADT

star star star star_border star_border

5.7

Overall Score

LAST UPDATED: October 12th, 2022

Previously known as LifeShield, an ADT Company, the company has rebranded to Blue by ADT. The security provider is a pioneer in DIY smart home security, offering Wi-Fi-enabled security products that are compatible with Amazon Alexa and Google Assistant. Homeowners and renters can choose from three security sets or build their own custom security set to fit their needs. Low monthly monitoring starts at $19.99 per month to $24.98 per month plus tax. Read our full Blue by ADT review below to see if the home security company is right for you.

Click here to go straight to Blue by ADT reviews.

Top Ranked Companies

thumb_up

The Good

  • Equipment Warranty and 30-Day Money-Back Guarantee
  • Remote Access on All Plans
  • No Landline Phone Connection Required
  • 24/7 Professional Monitoring
  • Home Automation Options
  • Transparent Blue by ADT Pricing

Equipment Warranty and 30-Day Money-Back Guarantee

Blue by ADT provides its customers with Wi-Fi enabled, wireless security products for up to 40% off. An equipment warranty is added to provide protection throughout the entirety of the service contract. All of Blue by ADT products also come with a 30-day money-back guarantee. The 30-day money-back guarantee refund covers upfront costs, including activation fee when applicable, and shipping. Note that customers must return promotional items. 

Remote Access on All Plans

The completely wireless home security systems use internet and cellular connections to monitoring centers. Users can use the Blue by ADT app to arm and disarm the alarm system from any location. With four layers of protection (including high-speed internet, cellular signal, cellular text, and landline phone) and 24-hour battery backup, the home security system stays connected to help you stay protected. 

No Landline Phone Connection Required

Customers have the option of using landline phone connection as an unrequired backup, but Blue by ADT home security systems don't need a landline connection to operate; rather they operate via cellular and wireless networks.

24/7 Professional Monitoring

Three coast-to-coast monitoring centers help protect you day and night from burglary, fire, and flood. They are backed up with two generators and uninterruptible power supplies. These monitoring centers will immediately alert the customer and emergency service personnel the moment a signal alert is triggered.

Home Automation Options

Blue by ADT has smart home automation included in all plans. With the free Blue by ADT mobile app, you can manage your home security system and your smart home devices. Blue by ADT systems are compatible with Amazon, Alexa, Google Assistant, IFTTT applets, and Z-Wave Plus devices. Blue by ADT customers can access the following home automation functions directly from their smart device:

  • Locking and unlocking smart door locks
  • Dimming or turning on/off your lights
  • Turning smart outlets on/off
  • Controlling smart thermostat temperature and controls
  • Opening and closing your garage door

Transparent Blue by ADT Pricing

Blue by ADT has all pricing information listed on its website. The security systems are priced from $199.15 to $376.10. There is also an option to build your own custom security system.

Monthly monitoring is $19.99 without video storage and $24.98 (plus tax) with 30-day video storage. Available smart home security products with Blue by ADT include:

  • Patented base station
  • Entry keypad
  • Security touchpad
  • Indoor camera
  • Outdoor security camera
  • HD video doorbell camera
  • Door sensorWindow sensor
  • Pet-friendly motion sensor
  • Fire safety sensor
  • Glass break sensor
  • Nest thermostat
  • Carbon monoxide alarm
  • Flood sensor
  • Keychain remote
  • Yard sign and window stickers
  • 30-Day cloud video storage
thumb_down

The Bad

  • No Professional Installation
  • Company History

No Professional Installation

Blue by ADT is a DIY installation home security system. ADT provides plenty of resources and customer support to help homeowners properly install their ADT security system, customers are responsible for installing every component themselves, which may lead to some issues including connectivity problems.

Company History

The company's overall history has been relatively unstable. The company was founded in 2004 and then purchased by DIRECTV in 2013, which then became a part of AT&T in 2015. In April of 2017, the former CEO of Blue by ADT, previously known as Lifeshield, acquired the company from AT&T and brought back the original self-installation platform with a direct-to-consumer approach.

However, in 2019, LifeShield was acquired by ADT. Recently rebranded to Blue by ADT and with ADT support, the company is now taking product innovation to the next level, while continuing to make excellent customer service a top priority.

gavel

The Bottom Line

Blue by ADT offers total security solutions to customers across the United States. Monthly plans feature 24/7 professional monitoring, equipment warranties, and remote access from virtually anywhere. Starting at $19.99 per month for entire home coverage and included smart home automation features, service plans are competitively priced against other home security marketplace options. Ordering is easy on Blue by ADT's website without credit checks or activation fees. There are also home automation options controlled through the Blue by ADT mobile app that allows homeowners to synch their home security system and their smart home devices. To hear what past and current customers have to say, read Blue by ADT home security reviews below.

View Best Home Security Companies

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Star Rating

3.2

star star star star_border star_border

139 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

24%

4 grade

29%

3 grade

14%

2 grade

8%

1 grade

24%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star_half star_border star_border

Quality

star star star_half star_border star_border

Service

star star star_half star_border star_border

Trustworthiness

star star star_border star_border star_border
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Mark Waller Blue Ash, OH

Worst service ever. DO NOT BUY!!!! Started the Blue by ADT service in November or December of 2021. Since that time I have had to call into customer/tech support for several issues that are still not resolved. I have asked that they let me out of the contract since my problems started before the cancellation period ended. They are not willing to let me out of the current contract and I am paying for a service that does not fit my needs. There are several notes on my account from the numerous phone calls and they have even given me bill credits and free months to compensate. My cameras do not function as they should and they have sent me new equipment several times without resolution. Every time I have to call them I am usually on the phone with them for more than a hour troubleshooting issues and changing settings, all for me to have to call back because things are still not working as they should. I am exhausted trying to get them to do the right thing and let me out of contract so that I can get something that works. The last thing they said to me was that there needs to be more troubleshooting done. I feel as if we have run through everything that can be done and it is not working. They also tell me that if I cancel there will be an early termination fee of over $1000. This system has never worked for me as it should and it is well documented.

1 month ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Shelby Morgan Irmo, SC

Ive called multiple times, requested multiple calls back, filed complaints with the inspector generals office as well as the BBB. I was supposed to receive a call back in regards to requesting calls to be pulled from October of last year. Blue by ADT is using deceptive practices to collect more funds and I am extremely frustrated with this entire practice. Not only have I requested multiple calls back, Ive also received two spam calls daily in regards to paying an overdue balance I shouldnt even owe. Ive never missed a payment with ADT and I will not be harassed when my issue has yet to be resolved. I relocated from Baltimore in October of 2021. At that time, the relocation team advised me my contract would remain the same, however, due to my relocation would need to be serviced by Blue by ADT. I confirmed MULTIPLE times that my contract would not be extended for an additional 3 years, but would instead continue as signed in 2019 at the start of my initial contract, and would end October of 2022. As of last week, I was advised they would pull the calls as requested- no response, but multiple spam calls daily to collect on a $41.00 balance. I called today to follow up, turns out they refuse to pull the calls and "I shouldn't have signed the contract". I specifically followed up on the contract when received and was told "don't worry about it and I have to sign it to get my equipment". That's what's on the recorded call they suddenly refuse to review. They make you pay to get out of the contract or pay to get into a new one. It's deceitful and deceptive.

1 month ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Bob Brezniak

I don't know if the product is great or not since I have not even been able to get it working. Trying to follow what little documentation there is about setup, i found the device didn't work at all. I called their support line on 9/5/22, 9/7/22 and 9/11/22 leaving my number each time since it was over a 15 minute wait EACH TIME. I never heard back. I finally waited the full 15 minutes, and their "support" person was too inept to even read the script correctly. When i wanted to talk to a manager, she hung up. I then called their complain line on 9/11/22, and i have not heard back in 9 days. DO NOT PURCHASE THIS SERVICE AT ALL

2 months ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Carol Howe Maricopa, AZ

I've had some problems with the systems from day one. The thing would go offline numerous times, so that's some real trouble. I remember one time, where the alarm just kept beeping and beeping as if there was something there, but there wasn't. My phone kept ringing, so I had to take out where it wouldn't alert me. They should make equipment that actually works.

5 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Eve Guilbault Lexington, KY

@BluebyADT is not user friendly. As soon as we installed it we received error messages. After calling support they informed us we would need to buy all new batteries. That would cost us a lot of money. It is not a very user friendly system. Basically I got it in March and have yet to get it to function properly so I switched to Vivint.

4 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Whitney Moore

This security system is a complete joke. None of my equipment hardly ever works. One of my cameras will not hold a charge at all, and there is a major delay in any alert. I also have a nest doorbell and I will get that notification MINUTES before I ever got an alert from ADT. I could not even get footage of a stalker for a restraining order to use from ADT. Everything was so delayed, I had to use my doorbell footage to get my DVO and finally start to protect myself. Then they wanted to charge me $60 for doing absolutely nothing to ensure my safety! I will never deal with ADT again! And I will make sure anyone in the market I know, knows about my experience. And good luck with the app, I rarely can get logged in and that was before they turned off my mobile access. ADT is just for show at my house, to make people think I have a security system.

10 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Claudia Patrick Cabot, AR

The system never worked. When the alarm is turned on, you can walk in and out of my house, and nothing happens. The alarm doesn't go off, and no one is alerted. I have spent more than 25 hours trying to resolve issues with ADT's technical support and nothing was resolved. I paid the Geek Squad to install the system to make sure it was done properly and they couldn't get it to work effectively. When I had the initial ADT system that they installed in another location, I never had an issue. The ADT Blue system is not worth the money if it doesn't work. I am sure there are environments that support their system.

10 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Chrystal Chyrai Hesperia, CA

If I could give them -10 stars I absolutely would. If you are looking for Security System PLEASE DO NOT GET BLUE BY ADT. The customer service is terrible and THEY ARE NOT AVAILABLE 24 HOURS. The equipment does not work properly, around 12am someone came past both my outdoor cameras and stand right in front of my door where my camera is pointed directly and These Cameras that I am being charged 400$ for never notified me about human activity or took a picture/video of the person and the only reason why i seen them is because my Ring Doorbell Cam detected it and notified me. These Cameras cost 200$ and don’t pick up any human activity or motion and even if you cancel within 30 day period they will still send you through hell to get your money refunded. Please choose a different company to secure your home, Blue by ADT is a complete waste of time and money.

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Aly Powell Sandy, UT

The worst of customer service and extremely overpriced. They advertise one low price then show up and install a $3000 system. Extremely sexist customer service. When my husband called to cancel they told him “no worries, but have your wife call in since she’s on the account” and then had the audacity to say to me “so you don’t want to protect your family?” and refused to let me out of the contract even though I canceled in the 3 day window. Sat on hold for over an hour, 4 phone calls, and multiple representatives later and all of them were extremely rude and unprofessional. Go to simpli safe and get the same package without their slimy businessmen for $400.

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

D.V.Johnson Omaha, NE

My experience with Lifeshield has been nothing but frustration and disappointment. The monitoring equipment fell off the wall multiple times. The system frequently went off-line. Technical assistance was not knowledgeable at troubleshooting this cut-rate equipment. Customer service was NOT helpful when issues arose whether related to equipment or the account. We gave up trying to troubleshoot the problems about 2 years into the contract. Ending the contract was not easy either. They want their crappy equipment back. Why I don’t know because it doesn’t work. Be careful. Better yet choose another company. Anyone you choose will undoubtedly be better than Lifeshield!

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

R Quinn

I had lifeshield for about a year. I would estimate my system became mysteriously offline unable to access through their portal about 200 times during that year. I had numerous surveillance, cameras set up and never could get all of them to work at the same time. the pricing in the package goes up if you want to monitor your own home mine went up $!0 for video viewing even though the camera is in the package, i called customer service about the issues with the system being unavailable and my cameras being undetected by the system thay would fix it till the next day when it would happen again then when my home was broken into while the system was unavailable they stole the lifeshield security tablet which is your lifeline to your system without it your whole system is worthless, i finally just stopped paying them, it damaged my credit score but im not paying for a home security system that only works when it wants to,

5 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Faith Michels Herrin, IL

Better off buying fake cameras and signs since the system never works. Good luck cancelling because they lock you in a contract as well.

3 months ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Anonymous Cary, NC

Website painfully slow. Products are just okay. My camera frequently stops working and I have to reset it. Cost seems high for the little I actually receive.

5 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Jeff Robbins Yoakum, TX

Support is ridiculous, never had a call on their system in 3 years. Still charged me another month after cancelling, wont get a final bill for 7 weeks. The lady in the cancellation dept. is nice but the policy is built to screw the customer (they are going to suck every dollar out of you). It took me 5 phone calls to be able to cancel. comparable...bleu or ADT is way too high . If you enjoy the personability of doing business with a company, don't choose Bleu or ADT! Michael Robbins ACCT NO. ***742247

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

K&E Dog training Winchester, CA

Please don’t go with this company if I could give negative stars I would. Absolutely a nighmare. I have never been scammed harder in my life. I have had the system for 4 months. The cameras have broken 2 x . They charged me 25$ to come fix it which they didn’t fix but they didn’t forget to charge me. Then they informed me if I wanna cancel it would be over 6,000$ . Also the cameras don’t work if your WiFi is to far or if it goes down . Just please stay away, just get a dog . Much cheaper and less stress full.

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Rajesh. Shah Roslyn, NY

Very bad experience. I will never deal. Salespeople call promise lot. Technician comes ask money for everything. Too much sales pressure. After installation they make you sign so fast . DocuSign. You don’t have chance to read. After 3 days you done. They don’t tell you that you have 3 days to cancel. Big penalties if you do. New installed alarm 2 times false alarm. Bad cheap equipment. They want big money for cheap installation. Never use ADT.at night alarm will go on. False alarm.

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Viviana Patricia Cortes Elkridge, MD

this is the worst security system don't buy them they only took money from my bank account in three moths they take $834.00 I call them and I do not have any response they just send me to collections for a amount of $1600.00 because they argument the I stop making my payments but how I can pay if I was waiting to get my refund of $834.00 please do not get this system. Now I am in collections with this big amount because they said I was broke my contract

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Patrick Fortuna, CA

Get a Dog better alarm system the ADT /Lifeshield the Dog will appreciate you . I REPEAT DON'T WASTE Your Money & Time NO Technicians to service you , Customer support is a 50/50 chance to get help had numerous hang ups , Hours are Eastern Standard Time . BAD PRODUCT ,BAD CUSTOMER SERVICE, They are fast commodity consumed by Large Corporations .STAY CLEAR OF LIFESHIELD & Michael in Customer Service Mgr.

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

John Pagano Staten Island, NY

From the begining problems, installation, priceing and overcharging for equipment that was never installed. A service call after 1 day of installation , front door camera went off line and smoke detector was beeping all night had to take it down and remove batteries. Loss of power to keypad door bell power did not ring and i was charged for a wi fi front door lock which was never installed. And they insisted i had one.

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Josh Minneapolis, MN

Garbage for a company I wouldn’t advise anyone who wants security through ADT BLUE, our first impression and experience was off the charts of horrible customer service!!! We are in the process of shipping back all their equipment and will not ever call them again as well will share our horrible experience to all who we know .

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Sheila Lincicome Bloomington, IL

Would give them a minus grade if I could. Terrible experience. Sold me a system that didn't exist and tried to sell me something more expensive. Customer service stinks. Waited on phone for an hour for help! DO NOT EVEN CONSIDER ADT!!!!!!

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

REITA Chamberlain

I will advise family and friends NOT to use LifeShield security. We have now had their equipment for nearly 2 years. It hasn't worked for more than half of that. You are stuck for another year if you don't call within 20 days before date service started. Were told one thing last year, and a different thing this year. Awful customer service!!!

4 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Noriel Reyes

Alarm goes "whacko" after a 15 min away mode. Happens 2x in a week period. We get billed twice for $130.00 for 1 serv rep visit. Not a cop but a serv rep from Lifeshield ... Cust serv states 2 visit... but we only had 1 signed visit. WHAT A RIPPED OFF. We cancelled our serv. before we max our contract...

5 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Shiv Shivakumar ,

Takes hours to connect with a person. Their Chat help always comes back as not available. I have been a customer for more than 10 years. Extremely frustrated as I cannot get any answers unless I am on the phone for hours.

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Tpz Evanston, WY

I have a problem in my system on Thanksgiving, they simple don't working on the burglary day in America. The people's no half of America dont home!!! Worst security company ever!!!

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Jim Davis

This system does not work well, Ive had it for over a year and it keeps going out of service, even had one false alarm. Would not recommend, I plan to cancel as soon as my contract is up.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Anonymous Sunnyvale, CA

The customer service for an incidence was horrible. They never honored the Warranty.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Shane Porter Aurora, CO

They used to work a lot better. My experience with their service has not been good.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Jamie Hoxie Taunton, MA

They should do a better job monitoring the alarm. So far, it's been a negative experience.

5 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Paul Mycroft Lafayette, IN

Nothing. Because they fail to listen to me when I kept calling fedex because the package was suppose to be delivered by the 1st but fedex never got the package

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

M Lincoln, NE

It goes off line all the time. The tablet broke.

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Anonymous Douglas, GA

Too many issues with equipment.

5 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Jessica Taul Monroe, MI

I've been trying to cancel for months to no avail. Even in my trial period. I can't get any answers. Ugh

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Brian stroud Grants Pass, OR

I am sending ur stuff back don't stick always falls off the wall.. and takes the paint I am done with it

4 years ago