The Solar Exchange Logo

The Solar Exchange

star star star star_half star_border
11 User Reviews
error This company may not service all states.
See states serviced
LAST UPDATED: January 5th, 2022

The Solar Exchange is a solar contracting company based in Arizona. The company has been in business for a much longer time than other companies in the solar industry. This experience is a great asset to the company.

However, there is a lot of information that customers will want to find out before choosing this company for solar installation services.

Top Ranked Companies

thumb_up

The Good

  • Grid-Tied and Off-Grid Systems
  • BBB Accredited Business
  • Time in Industry

Grid-Tied and Off-Grid Systems

Whether you are looking to install solar just to save money on energy bills, to have a backup in case of a power outage, or to be totally self-reliant with home energy, The Solar Exchange can provide the solution you need. The Solar Exchange will install solar systems and are fully tied to the grid. There are also grid-tied options with battery backups and off-grid solar. 

BBB Accredited Business

The Solar Exchange has been accredited by the Better Business Bureau since 2009. The company currently has an A+ rating and zero customer complaints, according to the BBB website. There are currently no existing customer reviews (positive or negative) for The Solar Exchange on the BBB website. 

Time in Industry

The Solar Exchange was founded in 1989. The solar industry has boomed in the past 10 years, causing many small solar businesses to be started, but The Solar Exchange has been in the industry far longer than that. This adds to the company’s credibility, experience, and expertise. 

thumb_down

The Bad

  • Vague Website
  • Small Service Area
  • Lack of Reviews

Vague Website

The Solar Exchange website provides very little information about the company and its services. Information about financing, warranties, and solar panel manufacturers is not readily available. One customer review even indicated that the company does not honor any warranties on its work. This statement was not verified, but there was no information on the company’s website that proved otherwise. 

Aside from the lack of detail, the website isn’t very professional. The website looks a bit outdated and has a number of spelling and grammatical errors. It could use an overhaul to make it more appealing and user-friendly. 

Small Service Area

The Solar Exchange only does solar contracting in Arizona. Its specific service area includes Snowflake, Showlow, Taylor, Holbrook, Pinetop, St John, and Heber. Arizona residents outside of these areas will likely need to find a different solar provider. 

Lack of Reviews

For a company that has been in business for over 25 years, The Solar Exchange has very few reviews. With so many years of experience, you would expect to see a lot more customer feedback on the company’s projects. 

gavel

The Bottom Line

The Solar Exchange has a lot going for it; however, with so much information lacking from the company’s website, it is difficult to compare with other companies in the industry. The best way to find out if The Solar Exchange is the top option is to receive a quote and inquire about the missing details.

With all solar installations, we recommend getting estimates from multiple companies to ensure that you get the most valuable deal possible. 

View Best Solar Companies

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Star Rating

3.6

star star star star_half star_border

11 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

64%

4 grade

0%

3 grade

0%

2 grade

0%

1 grade

36%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star_border star_border star_border star_border star_border

Quality

star star star star star

Service

star star star star star

Trustworthiness

star_border star_border star_border star_border star_border
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Lou Carlassara Saint Johns, AZ

Soar excage goes far beyond the call of duty . Since the lithium batteries were installed,I haven't heard the generator run . I get up I the morning and can make a pot of coffee. The simple things make me happy.

7 months ago

The Solar Exchange Logo

Reply from The Solar Exchange

Thank you for the review Lou! Glad we got to see you in the office today. Love the friendly, small-town vibe you bring with you.

Jan. 4th, 2022

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Clem

The quality of the service is timeless. I am completely satisfied with the work. They came on the scheduled date. It is top tier equipment. I would highly recommend everyone in the are use them.

7 months ago

The Solar Exchange Logo

Reply from The Solar Exchange

Thank you Clem. We appreciate you!

Jan. 4th, 2022

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Earl Anderson Concho, AZ

It's been 6 years since my last dealings with Solar Exchange. At that time they were fast, curteous, and professional. They got the work done, did the clean up well.

7 months ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Carmen

Good people, great vibes and very knowledgeable. They answer every question I have, even crazy questions. Installation didn't take too long. It is reasonably priced.

7 months ago

The Solar Exchange Logo

Reply from The Solar Exchange

Thank you for the review Carmen. Matt, the owner, has been in solar for 32 years and knows his stuff. We do our best to keep up with him and to provide the best service we can!

Jan. 4th, 2022

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Karon Willoams

Solar exchange does not respond in a timely fashion, they make appointments and don't show up, and don't call to reschedule. If there is a problem with your system they ignore you. It's has taken months to get any kind of response from them. They have horrible customer service!

7 months ago

The Solar Exchange Logo

Reply from The Solar Exchange

Karon, I've seen some communication between you and Matt, and there was a time when you were happy with the work we've done. The Solar Exchange went through a period of having an Office Manager who was not updating the calendar for our installers, and would not reach back out to inquiries. Unfortunately it seems like you were affected by that bad actor. I assure you that things are much different at The Solar Exchange now! Please don't hesitate to reach back out so that we can show you how we are improving.

Jan. 4th, 2022

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Gary

It's been fantastic. I never have any kinds of problems. Installation was fantastic. Everything works.

7 months ago

The Solar Exchange Logo

Reply from The Solar Exchange

Glad your system is running well Gary! If for some reason something stops working, we will honor any warranties on your system and get you back to living your best solar life ASAP.

Jan. 4th, 2022

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Win Snowflake, AZ

I requested a quote for an upgrade. They refused to do line item. Had them do a repair which didn't completely work and had to have another company fix the issue .

7 months ago

The Solar Exchange Logo

Reply from The Solar Exchange

Win, we are always willing to give an itemized bill for the work we do. If there was an issue with work we did, I'm sad that you didn't call us to let us know. We would have been more than willing to come back out and right the issue.

Jan. 4th, 2022

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Quint Heber, AZ

Knowledgeable, friendly staff, prompt and honest business.

7 months ago

The Solar Exchange Logo

Reply from The Solar Exchange

Thank you Quint. We always strive to be prompt, and we will always be honest with our customers!

Jan. 4th, 2022

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Cherie Concho, AZ

Honestly, we're knowledgeable about solar and the prices an items recommend were: under powered and over priced for the project.

7 months ago

The Solar Exchange Logo

Reply from The Solar Exchange

Cherie, I'm sorry you felt that our pricing was too high. The products we sell are top-notch, according to all major solar dealers. Our pricing is generally middle-ground. We aren't the cheapest, but there are certainly companies out there that ask much more. If you have any issues about specifics in your recent invoices, please call into our office and I'd love to break it down with you.

Jan. 4th, 2022

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Wendy and David Campbell Snowflake, AZ

Good service, decent price, good people.

7 months ago

The Solar Exchange Logo

Reply from The Solar Exchange

Thank you for the kind words!

Jan. 4th, 2022

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Judy Cooley Scottsdale, AZ

We have reached out to them multiple times to upgrade our Solar system and have yet to get an estimate.

7 months ago

The Solar Exchange Logo

Reply from The Solar Exchange

Judy, The Solar Exchange went through a period of having an Office Manager who was not updating the calendar for our installers, and would not reach back out to inquiries. Unfortunately it seems like you were affected by that bad actor. I assure you that things are much different at The Solar Exchange now! Please don't hesitate to reach back out so that we can show you how we are improving.

Jan. 4th, 2022