Sungevity Logo

Sungevity

star star star star star_border
1,990 User Reviews

6.3

Overall Score

error This company may not service all states.
See states serviced
Megaphone Icon

Sungevity is now part of the Pineapple Energy family.

Sungevity was acquired by residential solar provider Pineapple Energy in November of 2020. As such, all information in the following Sungevity review remains accurate and up-to-date. Check out our full Pineapple Energy review for more information.

With so many solar energy companies out there, it can be difficult to know which one provides the most value for you as a consumer. That's why we've done the hard research—so you don't have to.

We've weighed the pros and the cons and found Sungevity to be one of the top solar installers in the industry. Read on to discover The Good, The Bad, and The Bottom Line about Sungevity, as well as view Sungevity reviews from real customers. 

thumb_up

The Good

  • Several Financing Options
  • Helpful Remote Solar Design Tool
  • Customized Solar Solutions
  • Lengthy Warranties
  • Informative Mobile App
  • Highly Rated Customer Service

Several Financing Options

Sungevity offers several solar financing options, which means that taking advantage of renewable energy and obtaining a home solar system through Sungevity is possible for customers of all budgets.

With Sungevity's solar lease, solar loan, and PPA payment options, solar homeowners can begin saving on their electricity bill for zero to little down. Each of these options comes with 24/7 system monitoring, a 20-year manufacturer warranty on the panels, and a 20-year system warranty that encompasses the solar inverter and workmanship.

For customers who are looking for the solar power plan with the most long-term savings, buying the system outright is probably the best option. Customers cover the cost of the system and solar panel installation upfront, but then they own the system and reap the long-term rewards.

Helpful Remote Solar Design Tool

Sungevity's proprietary Remote Solar Design tool allows customers to get a personalized quote quickly without having to crawl around on the roof.

After answering a few questions over the phone with a Sungevity rep, the Remote Solar Design tool can view the roof of the customer's home, track the amount of sunlight that hits their house, and give them an accurate picture of how their solar panels will look and function.

Remote Solar Design can also show customers how much they are going to save with each payment option the solar company offers.

Customized Solar Solutions

As a solar panel installer, Sungevity doesn't believe in cookie-cutter solar solutions. As a result, the company's professional advisors custom design every solar power system to meet the needs and budget of the customer.

Sungevity uses sleek black-on-black solar panels and low-impact mounting hardware, and each of its solar energy systems is designed to accommodate multiple storage options and other functionalities, such as EV chargers, so customers can add those features now or in the future.
Lengthy Warranties

Sungevity offers a number of different warranties to ensure that its customers and their solar energy systems are taken care of.

The solar company provides a 20-year equipment warranty, which covers the panels, inverter, and other equipment; a 25-year performance warranty, which guarantees a certain level of energy output; and a 20-year workmanship warranty, which covers the labor and installation.

Informative Mobile App

With the Sungevity mobile app, customers have information about their solar system at their fingertips. Whether customers have an Android or an iOS device, the Sungevity app allows them to track how much energy their solar panels are producing and how much power they are using from anywhere in the world.

In addition to giving customers the ability to monitor their solar systems, the Sungevity app lets users contact customer service and earn rewards by referring friends and family through the app.

Highly Rated Customer Service

The Sungevity reviews on our site, which have been submitted by real customers, shed some light on the company's business practices and praise the solar provider for its customer service. Consumers are saying that Sungevity's customer service team is professional, helpful, and quick to reply to questions and requests.

Sungevity also offers helpful options for clients who need to move before the contract terms have expired, including assigning the energy plan to the new homeowner; prepaying the remaining payments and assigning the non-financial obligations to the new homeowner; and purchasing the remaining time on the lease, terminating the lease, and asking the company to remove the system.

Considering switching to clean energy with Sungevity?

thumb_down

The Bad

  • Embattled History
  • Lack of Site Information
  • Limited Availability

Embattled History

By summer of 2016, Sungevity had become the fifth-largest residential solar installer in the U.S., but the company's history since that point has proven chaotic. Sungevity experienced widespread layoffs along with a chapter 11 bankruptcy filing in 2017 before selling its America-based assets to private equity firm Northern Pacific Group. The company later rebranded as Solar Spectrum, and in concert with residential installer Horizon Solar Power, effectively relaunched as Sungevity.

Following multiple acquisitions, the company returned to acclaim as the seventh-largest residential solar installer in 2018; however, subsequent reporting revealed that both of Sungevity's subsidiaries (Solar Spectrum and Horizon Solar Power) subcontracted all installation work, while Sungevity itself was operating on an expired solar installer license.

By late 2020, Sungevity experienced its final round of layoffs, leaving several rooftop contractors without work or recompense, as well as many more customers with incomplete solar panel systems on their roofs. By December of 2020, many of Sungevity's US assets were bought at auction by Pineapple Energy, a residential solar provider also owned by Northern Pacific Group.

Lack of Site Information

Sungevity has a lack of solar system information available on its website. While a basic explanation of each system component is provided, more technical specifications of the system are nowhere to be found.

Sungevity's FAQ section is sparse and does little to fully educate consumers on the value the company has to offer, and its website lacks a live chat option, which could provide quick and easy access to important company information.

Limited Availability

Sungevity is currently only available in California, New Jersey, Connecticut, Massachusetts, and Colorado. This limits the number of customers who have the opportunity to receive a solar installation from Sungevity.

gavel

The Bottom Line

Sungevity, which is one of the top installers in the solar industry, is a highly recommended option for consumers who are considering a rooftop solar system to look into. If you live in one the states it covers, Sungevity's multiple financing options, proprietary Remote Solar Design tool, insightful Sungevity app, and top-notch customer service are hard to beat.

View Best Solar Companies

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Star Rating

4.2

star star star star star_border

1,990 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

64%

4 grade

16%

3 grade

4%

2 grade

3%

1 grade

13%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star_half star_border

Quality

star star star star_half star_border

Service

star star star star star_border

Trustworthiness

star star star star star_border
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
star star star star star

Carol Luber Palm Desert, CA

I RECENTLY CONTACTED WHAT I THOUGHT WAS SUNGEVITY TO ASK ABOUT MY SYSTEM. I'VE DISCOVERED THAT SUN JEVITY IS NO LONGER IN THE BUSINESS OF SOLAR PANELS AND THAT IT HAS BEEN TAKEN OVER BY a DIFFERENT COMPANY NAMED PINEAPPLE ENERGY. I ALSO FOUND OUT THAT AS I SUSPECTED MY PANELS WERE ALL PLACED ON THE WRONG SIDE OF MY HOUSE WHEN THEY WERE ORIGINALLY INSTALLED 10 YEARS AGO. I SUSPECT THAT I AM NOT GETTING AS MUCH SOLAR ENERGY FROM THESE POWER PANELS AS I MIGHT HAVE IF THEY HAD BEEN PLACED ON THE CORRECT SIDE OF MY HOME. THE SERVICE PROVIDER GRACE A HAS BEEN VERY HELPFUL TO ME AND VERY INFORMATIVE WE TALKED ABOUT PUTTING IN ADDITIONAL PANELS AND THE COST OF SUCH A THING, IT IS SOMETHING THAT I WOULD LIKE TO DO IN THE FUTURE. WHEN I CAN'T AFFORD IT FINANCIALLY. GRACE COULD NOT HAVE BEEN NICER OR MORE HELPFUL.

1 month ago

Sungevity Logo

Reply from Sungevity

Carol, thank you for your positive review! We look forward to adding solar to your home when the time is right.

Jun. 15th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Michael Bakersfield, CA

They were thorough but I logged on to the website and was trying to figure out how much solar energy it was producing and it took numerous calls before they could ever fix it. They had sent out a technician and they realized that the solar wasn't communicating the power company so I have to pay the company a bill. It's just kind of frustrating because for 2 months I was making phone calls and they have to credit my account cause even though I have a contract for the summer and start paying on a certain month, it wasn't connected. I'm not also comfortable paying $170 for the solar when I have to pay $300 for my other utilities because it wasn't linked to the solar.

2 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

anonymous Oakland Gardens, NY

I got no support after I got the solar panels. The inverted panel didn't work from the very beginning, and it took several months for them to finally fix it. It was outrageous that I didn't get solar electricity for 6 months. When I found out that my bill was exactly the same as last year, I questioned it to them. I reported that to the project manager, and he said he would check on it after he was done with another project. Eventually after a few weeks I got a case number. I tried to call customer service to get help, but couldn't speak to anyone. I would try to call the project manager again, but he doesn't answer 80% of the time. Finally, I went online and found someone to talk to about what happened to me and my inverted solar panel, and about how it wasn't producing any electricity. It finally got fixed, but I'm very unhappy with their customer service system because they never get back to you, and it takes forever for anything to get fixed. I wouldn't' recommend Solar Spectrum to anyone. Thankfully, the installation was great and they were prompt in doing that.

2 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Wen-Huei Chow Sunnyvale, CA

I picked them because of the online reviews they had. Everyone, from the sales rep, to customer service, technical support, project managers, and even the installation team were all very helpful. Customer service was fantastic in terms of preparation. They gave me very detailed information in terms of logistics. They also provided me all the details of how the equipment and the procedures work as well as the designs. I had a customer service representative, or maybe it was a project manager, who contacted me at almost every step of the way. Everything was done on time and according to plan and they matched whatever we estimated in the designs. I never missed any of their messages and they were very responsive. It was a wonderful experience. It can be a little on the expensive side of things but considering the quality of the product and the success with customer service, I feel it's well worth it. We're pretty happy about it at this point.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Herndon family Winchester, CA

We had talked to a few different companies that had come by the door but we liked their representative, Ryan. He was very easy to talk to and he never talked down to us. He just spoke with us as if we were intelligent humans. We liked the idea of getting the solar panels without having to buy them. Sungevity would take care of the maintenance and everything. We also wouldn't have to pay anything out of pocket at first and we would have a fixed rate for 20 years. They worked with us on the lay out of the roof since it was important for us to be able to use the roof for other things, especially because my husband is really into Christmas competitions. Installation was done in one day. They were all really polite and professional. They did forget to cover some of the repairs done on roof tiles and our work order for that got lost in the paperwork at some point, but they took care of that later on. We were always able to get a hold of someone anytime we called. Even when we texted them, we got responses on the spot or on the very same day. Everybody was really polite too.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Patty Wildomar, CA

My home seems to run as effectively as it did before I went solar, so I was very happy with the product. Truthfully, I believe it was the salesman that I spoke to who made me decide. He was just very informative, and very reassuring, and I felt very comfortable with him. He did a very good job with keeping in touch with me, and he knew his product very thoroughly and understood how everything worked. It was a pleasant experience having him help me out. Besides, it was extremely easy to install everything. It all worked out without a problem, and even the man that came over to install it was very kind and generous, and overall, did a great job.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Nelson Zagalsky Laguna Niguel, CA

I reviewed the several other companies none of which were willing to give me a good proposal for a purchased system. They answered all my questions and were very straightforward about what the system would do and what it would cost me. Just outstanding the front end of the experience with Sungevity. When installing, they kept me informed of how they were doing against the milestones. I was very anxious to make sure I got my system installed prior to the end of the year so I could kept my tax credit for that year. They assured me that they would be able to do it they did make it happen so I was very pleased.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Ed Thibodo Santee, CA

"I researched a number of solar companies and Sungevity was able to give me the best marketing plan available that fit my needs. I thought he did a good job explaining the process and made me comfortable with the plan. I believed it took longer than anticipated, but what I've seen in the solar industry that's kind of a common thing. I'm very amazed with the installation process. The contractor that I used did an amazing job coming in, setting it up and getting it installed. They were very good. I'm very pleased with the system. It's still producing above the projections and we went from a $900 a month bill from month in summer time to maybe $300 for the year."

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Steven Sloan Apple Valley, CA

They gave me the same product at a much lower rate, a very good product. I reviewed probably a half a dozen solar companies and for the system for my house which is a 6.25 kWh system, Sungevity gave me the best price. The project management was very good, efficient and headed up on my roof in functioning within a day. They maintain the system very well, it did have a one part which they provided but it was made by another company. It went out and they had it replaced at no cost to me in a very short time. I was without power probably less than a day before they have it resolved and again there's no cost to me.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Debi Brown Jurupa Valley, CA

They were amazing- they always contacted me to tell me where we were during the entire process, they even sent a gift card to say they were sorry that things weren't moving as quickly as they anticipated and that wasn't their fault, it was because they are waiting for inspections to come through. When we received the gift card, we were very happy that they thought enough to send it to us but I really did appreciate them letting us know in constantly updating the progress. From the beginning it was just a great experience and that's why I referred Sungevity to a friend, best friend, my daughter, my parents. I would not recommend them if I wasn't a 100% satisfied...even more than a hundred percent satisfied if that even counts. Sungevity is just amazing, we wish we would have done this a long time ago. We are so happy, we didn't go with the other company that we were looking into and I really believe it was Rick who really, he knew his business and he sold a sun everything. He was wonderful and we're very satisfied, very happy customers.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

William Griswold San Diego, CA

I like working with Sungevity's online tools they made it easy to research the system, I like their sales representatives and in some way the pricing arrangement was very favorable. The savings on my electrical bill have been amazing and basically we haven't had some electrical bills for three years which is, been a real pleasure. Sungevity used local contractors, which I like, so they were enhancing the ongoing business of existing contractors. They were very nice to work with. There were some issues on scheduling because there's so many types of contractors to bring in, but you know you're going have a lot work and it worked out great. The actual system is fantastic, it's basically trouble free. At one point we had a failure with the network communications device, the solar system talks over the internet, but we had people come out and fix it, it's been great.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Jack Tobin Massapequa, NY

I did my homework and checked almost a year and a half before I chose Sungevity. I won't give you any names of any other companies, but all of the other ones were parasitic wanted to get into my checking account. They were basically predator solar companies. The installation was perfect... there have been two hurricanes with no problems, my next door neighbor who went with another company has already had major problems and a leak in his roof. I've never had any problems with Sungevity. The only problem I have is with my energy company...we produce energy for PSE&G they gave us 3.1 cents for what we give them and they have no cost to produce the energy and they still sell it for 42 cents of kilowatts.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Robert Rosiello West Haven, CT

I had six companies come out to the house and the first four would not put solar panels on both front and the back of my house. The fifth company came out, they would do it but their price for the lease was double. Sungevity came in and made me a great offer, would put panels on both front and the back and stood right behind their work. They stood behind their word and everything. I had an electrical piano that needed to be replaced, they replaced it no charge to me which I thought was fantastic. I'm just very happy with the system, it's making more than they actually accounted for and I'm very happy with it.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Rebecca Lindland Cos Cob, CT

I had very good interaction early on with them. They were professional and courteous and I like the materials that they were using for the fastenings and the panels. Its been very good, they've been very professional, very helpful and the people coming to my house, the ones when I needed service, they've been terrific. It was very good, it was actually faster than I expected. They were able to install the system sooner than the original target date. Its been fantastic, I definitely feel like I save money on electricity. Its nice to know that I'm not feeding the grid and so I'm living fairly green that's a positive as well. Overall it's been a positive experience

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Paul Bloom Valley Cottage, NY

Um I was presented with a promotion when I went to a loans store in my neighborhood. I looked into it further I read online reviews by local neighbors of the services. I went to the website, I spoke with them and I decided if they offer me a program that I wanted then I wanted to have it. Again they were very professional and they did a very good job. They did all the work and all I got to so was go to the town hall to get my certificate of occupancy. Again they were very professional, they did everything they promised to do and I was very satisfied with the whole experience. We had it for almost 2 years now, and the experience was very good. I save some money every month because I got tax rebate legally on my deposit and I feel like I'm doing the right thing. When I have questions they've been very responsive.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Dennis Shimkoski Auburn, MA

We went with Sungevity because of cot of value. And after reading so many reviews, most people are happiest with Sungevity. Project management team its very good, they really had a lot to work with with an old historical building and they worked with us to make sure that it'll look not be seen from the road, its really good its well-designed. they call us whenever there's a problem they monitor it and it surprises me whenever they do. But they give us a call and let us you know go check on things that has been a problem which is incredibly to me just very helpful. It is beyond just installation they really do a good job and keeping its warm performance.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

David Janelle Mendon, MA

I looked at a lot of different companies. What I really liked about Sungevity is that they guarantee the amount of electricity that we would generate. Installation was very neat and quick. The installation took a few hours, maybe 5 or 6. There was no mess, it was so neat. They did a very good job. The management team was excellent. They kept in contact with me through the entire process letting me know what was happening, when it was happening, when I could expect things to happen, so it was very good to be able to not have to worry about things. After a year of having the solar panel installed I was able to generate 97.5% of my total electricity, which I thought was great.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Kathy Beaubien Hastings, NY

"When I contacted them, they answered all my questions, it didn't matter how big or small my concerns were, they answered everything and they took their time on me. And I search for other solar places but they couldn't bother to answer my questions and people from Sungevity did, they took the time, you know they were patient I can't say off about them, they were so good that I have my other daughter live in New York and she also went well with them, so there's 2 of us now, my house and my daughter's house. Other than the people that they had the company they go through to install it, after they install it they were very very good. They cleaned everything up, barely nothing, not even a nail, wrapper, nothing. I was very pleased with them It was very good"

4 years ago

star star star star star

Tom E Los Angeles, CA

I experienced some frustration initially as I was trying to get an installation done in the middle of Covid Crisis 2020 and my Sungevity rep changed four times during the process. Eventually I was assigned to Sherril T. She did a good job of keeping me in the loop with regard to the process and progress of the permitting and such. (Permitting still the worst part of the process....how does it take my city a month to approve panels up on a roof??) She was also good about "one off" requests. Overall, I was ultimately satisfied with the whole process (at least from Sungevity's side, hence the five star rating). They did what they said they would do, at the price they quoted me, and their contractors showed up on time and did a good job.

8 months ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Anonymous

Always keeping me informed of progress. We had to have special inverters and they flew in a specialist to train the crew in how to instal them. The manufacturer of the inverters sent their person along who stayed for the entire time of the instal. The whole process from start to finish was first class. We could not be happier with Sungevity and their attention to detail and basically 'holding our hand' through the entire process!

1 year ago

Sungevity Logo

Reply from Sungevity

Hello there, We are glad to hear things went so well! Please just let us know if any questions or concerns ever come up and we will be here to help you out. Thank you for choosing us as your solar provider. Blake Hazelrigg Senior Manager

Feb. 19th, 2020

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Dave Los Gatos, CA

Would rate higher but we were continually dealing with otating personell. First we had Scott, then we got Christina then it was Sean... We eventually got used to this, but we were still confused by the repeated requests for additional signatures. These e-documents were returned signed and the e-response we received from Sungevity was that the document was rejected. After talking with Sean or Christina or Scott - we were informed that this was normal and a glitch in te system. So I did not know whether to respond or ignore the communique. For these reasons, I rated the comany a "7", instead of a higher score.

1 year ago

Sungevity Logo

Reply from Sungevity

Hi Dave, Thanks for the review! Sorry to hear so many people had their hands on your project to help get it to the finish line but I am glad to hear it went well. Please don't hesitate to reach out to us if there is ever anything we can do to help you out. Thanks again. Blake Hazelrigg Senior Manager

Jan. 27th, 2020

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Brian

I think we kind of made our decision to get the solar panels before we fully understood what our electrical bills we're going to look like because we had just moved to the state. During the hot summer months, you're paying almost as much to you guys as to our power company, when the solar panels were supposed to completely negate our power bills from our power company There were a few issues, when they installed it there was garbage left behind that we had to clean up. Then our meter wasn't set up properly so they ended up having whole months go by without any of the electricity coming from our panel.

1 year ago

Sungevity Logo

Reply from Sungevity

Hi Brian, Thanks for the review. Sorry to hear that the seasonality on solar your production wasn't fully explained to you. When we design systems and speak to their offset, we use an annual perspective using your historical electrical usage data to speak to your systems estimated offset. Often times, solar production will out produce your households electric needs in the Fall and Spring and will carry over into the hot summer months to help alleviate those higher electric bills. If you would like for me to deep dive into your production figures I would be happy to, please just reach out to my contact info below. Blake Hazelrigg Senior Manager

Nov. 12th, 2019

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Linda

They have provided me with outstanding support, they're just a wonderful company. I highly recommend them anybody because this young man Alex will explain it detail by detail and if you don't understand it they'll make sure you do. Alex is the reason that I chose it and then every person that had any type of contact with me was just absolutely wonderful. The installation was slower than expected but I know I got good service.

2 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Ken

Their service has always been responsive for any inquiries and issues. Their customer service has always contacted me in terms of installation process to resolve any issues. The installation for the most part was smooth. They tried to keep me up to date with appointments or any issues and rescheduling with the city. I would say for the most part I'm pretty satisfied. After installation I realized that I'm not getting much energy from the panel as I was promised so I will say that even though the installation process was really good I think the equipment might not have met the expectation I was promised.

2 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

John Murrieta, CA

Customer service was pretty much on top of it. Every time I called they called me back and answered every question. They were polite, courteous, and very respectful. They appreciate military and law-enforcement service. The installers were professional, which made it quick and easy. The panels are completely durable, we have a lot of wind/sand storms out here and I haven't seen one scratch on them. I clean them probably once every three months.

2 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

David Coarsegold, CA

They answered all my questions anytime I had them. They are friendly, helpful, professional, and go above and beyond the call of duty. The installation went quicker than I expected, there were 6-8 people here and they had everything done in 3-4 hours. They were a little bothering, but most of the time we hardly even noticed. They were very professional, I have nothing but good to say. I've had it about 6 months now and it's been performing really well and pouring out a little more power than they said. I think they said 3 kilowatts and it puts out like 3.1 at a time.

2 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Anonymous Oakley, CA

When we were shopping around to find the best deal and easiest process, we decided on Solar Spectrum. They got all the information up front and were able to move forward as soon as we had the information. There wasn't a lot of back and forth. Everyone was very prompt in getting back to us, and when there was miscommunication they were very personal and professional. We had great customer service experiences with this company. Installation was quick, and the workers were very respectful and did everything according to plan. The 4 panel design is out of sight, out of mind.

2 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

John Fremont, CA

I had a concern about their installation because they left a screw out of the inverter. I told them about it, but they never came to fix it. I think the installation looks nice. The equipment is good and it's producing a lot of power. They answer my phone calls when I call in, and they always have answers. For some reason, Solar Spectrum did not mention the PG&E chargers for having a bunch of solar panels, and I'm not very happy about that.

2 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Bruce Pittsburg, CA

I had an exceptional sales rep who was very helpful in analyzing between what was provided by Solar Spectrum and other competitors. I was able to negotiate the cost with information he shared with me. They are very helpful in terms of providing information. They are somewhat responsive, and I'm pretty happy with them. The installation was fairly quick. From the time I signed the contract, they were delayed the installation. Once they got to installation, it was quick and was up in one day. They are very sensitive to the appearance of their panels. They made them less visible, so I'm very pleased with the installation and product.

2 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Greg Mission Viejo, CA

Started out great. Good communication. Had some issues with which loans were available to me, but they figured it out. Then after the install, which was awesome, roof in 1 day, solar up the next, they just dropped off the map??? I had to call to see when we would be done. They told me different dates. Solar was installed on the 1st. I called on the 12th to see where we are at. They said they need to put in a breaker still, I asked why wasn't it done in the last 2 weeks? They come out to put in the breaker on the 26th finally. The Final inspection can't be finalized because of some typos on the paperwork... still waiting for my solar!

2 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Curtis Meyer Colusa, CA

Their communication is excellent. Any time we had a question, the answer was usually already in our inbox. The guys are very professional, confident, and calm. They are great at communicating. They kept their promise when we first talked and told me that if it took longer than forty five days from signing to completed installation, they would pay our next bill. That happened and they're going to pay our bill.

2 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Brian Menifee, CA

The installation process was smooth and professional. They set up a date and time for the installation people to come, and they explained everything to me and showed me how to work the systems. They completed the job in about half a day and then they were out. I've been saving a lot of money since going with Sungevity, and their customer support has kept me informed with the best deals. I felt very comfortable going with them.

3 years ago

Sungevity Logo

Reply from Sungevity

Hi Brian, Congratulations on going SOLAR! We want to let you know how much we appreciate the time you have taken to write such a thoughtful review. Now that you have experienced the many benefits of going Solar with us let us reward you with up to $2000. Here’s how • Earn $500 for your first referral. • Earn $1,000 for your second referral. • Earn $2,000 for your third referral and every referral thereafter. * We make it as easy as 1, 2, 3, to share your love of Solar with family, friends, and neighbors. Login to the Ambassador portal. Straight from your portal you can share your Link on social media or enter referrals manually by using the direct entry form. For Assistance Call: (866) 488-1922 or Email Warm Regards, Liz D.

Jul. 2nd, 2018

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Joseph Munoz Calimesa, CA

They have great customer service and their sales team. They're very professional and honest. They did a great job breaking down every concept and letting me know everything that I'd need to do. They broke down my monthly payments and didn't finish the sale until they were 100% sure I knew what I was getting. The sales rep was very helpful in giving me all the information I needed. I was very confident moving forward with it. The installation process was very smooth. The install crew showed up and were done a few hours later. Everything works great.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Paul Distefano Menifee, CA

After I did my research I found they just had the best reputation. Everything was ahead of schedule with the installation. They promised to have everything up within 4 to 6 weeks and that was done as promised. The inspections after were supposed to take 2-4 weeks and they were done in just 2. I was probably a little bit of a pain through the whole process but they accommodated me through it all. They answered my calls promptly and never made me feel like my questions were stupid. My panels have out produced what I consume so I already have $260 credit.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Carol Winchester, CA

I was very satisfied with the installation process, and I'd say We're extremely satisfied with the product itself. The technician that installed it was very efficient, and even matched the paint of our house identically; plus, he was very courteous. On top of that, the salesman was very persuasive. He showed me the facts and numbers, and helped me purchase the best plan for me to use. I'd definitely recommend them!

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Tiffany Branom Winnetka, CA

The representative was very informative. He gave everything in detail, so I was happy with that. I haven't decided which company I'm going to go with yet, but he definitely explained the solar system, and why it was a good idea to go solar. He was very nice, and I even know more than I knew before talking to him, however, I'm still going to look at all the information before deciding for a company.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

James Ince-Scott Yorba Linda, CA

The Solar Consultant kept us informed throughout the process. They didn't make us feel left out of loop. I probably talked to half a dozen people at the company for various reasons and they were all very cheerful. It just made the process a lot easier. The only change we had was in our bills; they dropped significantly. It's been a great experience.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

W Mcclement Menifee, CA

I chose Sungevity because they were completely honest with me; they didn't lie to me like other companies. the Solar Consultant was completely informative and wonderful, and they all went out of their way to make sure that our experience was easy, fast and exactly what they told us it would be. I can't even say how magnificent the company was and how quickly it was done.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Martin Cox Twentynine Palms, CA

The team was great because they explained step by step what was going on and if I had a any questions I can call them up and get an answer. The installation is a little frustrating because of the permits that they have to get here. The inspector was not available, it took almost 4 weeks I think from the time that engineers came out surveyed my roof until they were. It took over all about 2 months from start to finish.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Timothy Dowell Huntington Beach, CA

The only thing I'm not happy with is the conveyor went out and it was out for a month and they had to repair it but it took them almost a month to repair it which means I had to pay full cost to Edison for a month. The installation went very well there was a minor glitch in it's bed I asked them to correct it and they corrected it right away. The system worked very well. We were able to run run our air conditioner all out summer and our bill from Edison was only like $2 $3 a month.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Neville Meade Fairfield, CA

They came out and worked very quickly and we had it installed within just a couple of weeks. I liked the fact that they had an online presentation rather than coming in your home. We had one problem with it after about 2 years and they came right out and replaced the piece of equipment that wasn't working properly and it's been working fine ever since.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Theophil Jarsen Vincentown, NJ

They were exceptional. They were right there on the phone if they weren't there I left them message and I would say within a half hour to an hour I have somebody live on the phone. So far the system appears to be doing a super job. It lowered our electric bill especially the last couple w/c was almost the heaviest with the cold weather and we noticed in July and August of this summer a fantastic saving, oh if you don't wanna use fantastic let's put a really big saving in the cost using the air-conditioner. They're in constant contact with us.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Dale Taylor Cortland, NY

"The system itself has been fantastic. Before I started, they asked me to give them a year's worth of my energy bill so they could determine my usage and then design a system based on that. They said, "we'll guarantee that you'll get at least 110% of what you used in the past". So last February I did have a bill I had to pay...I think it was $50 or $60. But then starting in March of 2016 until November I generated a credit each month and so I haven't have to pay a bill since that point other than the access fee that are local power company charges us $16 and $0.95. That should be my bills for the rest of my life…$16.95 a month. It's what I hoped would happen and it's what the Sungevity people had told me would happen you know sometimes you have to take people at their word and they did so I'm pretty happy. For the most part, the installation was all positive. One of the girls that I spoke with who was maybe an engineer, she wanted to start the process in March and I had to explain to her that in where I live in Central New York, March wasn't a good time to start the process. I was gonna have to wait until there was no chance of snow involved. At first she wasn't real hot on that idea she tried to convinced me that when you're up buying a roof and it's a micro climate it's different than when you're on the ground. As far as I can tell, they're a good company. It's not like I'm expert or anything, but I do know that it has worked for me."

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Laurie South Dartmouth, MA

They were absolutely wonderful. The technicians were great! They did everything as they said and did everything on schedule. I'm saving money with my solar panels and helping the endangered planet to survive a little bit longer. Installation was great - just what they said it was. They did an excellent job, definitely the best solar company. I've recommending them to everybody. I investigated a lot of solar companies and this is the one that's definitely the most reliable, has the best product and does the best follow up on it.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Eve Duddy Capistrano Beach, CA

Our solar system is good - we haven't have any problems. They were very responsive to any questions we their overall plan was very thorough. It took a little longer but I don't think that was their fault, I think it was just a matter of timing and I think they were very busy with installation so the whole process took a little longer than we thought it would set them. It's been running within a few months and it's working fine.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Gilberto Oterolozano Escondido, CA

Installation was fine, it was fast and they had no problems. The only thing is there's a lot of tools that they left out the house. The system works fine but it's not enough for our needs so we still have a little bit of money we have to pay to the power company. They had an incredible presentation. They used an electronic presentation where you can set it to your computer and a person will talk to you over the phone. The field director was excellent- very knowledgeable. They were very customer service oriented, arrived on time, and were easy to access. They gave us their cellphone numbers if we had questions and they were very prompt about getting back to us if we have a little voice mail. They were just very responsive, very knowledgeable and very warm in welcoming.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Vincent Avallone Hyde Park, NY

Seems to be working very well, we haven't had any problem. We only came across one issue with them and that was the referral. We had a neighbor that was 3 houses away from us that got the Sungevity system right after us, and we had hoped to get the $500 or thousand dollar referral fee that they offer. That was our only concern...We were hoping to get the referral fee and they didn't give it to us.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Jane Cordingley Concord, CA

I interviewed 3 different solar companies and they had the best explanation for the service I would get and the support I would get. They installers were incredible, they were immaculate. Everything was set very clean and neat. They were prompt and very polite, they even get me a table down from the top of my garage 'cause I couldn't reach it. I've been very pleased. It's been 5 months this year that I had no electric bill. The service has been good and I went from above $250 a month in electric $0.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

James Wellnitz Poway, CA

Getting everything set up took a little while, they had a few set back so it took longer than it probably should have, but they apologized and they even sent a small gift card for the extra wait...everything is working fine now. I like their online tracking of the performance so we can see how we're doing and and see how much the difference in the sun and the length of the phase in terms of how much the power it create.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Allen Hanford Carver, MA

For 5 years I've been trying to get solar collectors and everybody said they couldn't do it and Sungevity said they could. They predicted what amount of the electricity I would get and it is more than they predicted so that was good. I had a little trouble sometimes getting all of people there and keeping track of what was going on, but over all it was good.

4 years ago

We're on a mission to empower consumers to make the best decisions and connect confidently with companies that deserve their business.

© 2021 BestCompany.com LLC - All rights reserved Privacy Policy | Terms | Do Not Sell My Personal Information