Skillshare is an online learning community with thousands of creative and entrepreneurial classes to fuel lifelong learning. Students can access 100s of classes for free or upgrade to Premium to unlock access to the entire catalog of 20,000+ classes. Focusing on in-demand creative and entrepreneurial skills, Skillshare classes cover popular topics like design, marketing, freelancing, and more. Plus, classes include resources, projects, and community to provide a rich learning experience.

Top Ranked Companies

company logo
8.7 Overall Score
2.3
starstarstar_halfstar_borderstar_border
(97)
company logo
#2 KelbyOne chevron_right
6.1 Overall Score
2.6
starstarstar_halfstar_borderstar_border
(26)
company logo
GoSkills chevron_right
0
starstarstarstarstar
(0)

The Good

  • Nontraditional Schooling
  • Free Trial
  • Premium Perks

Nontraditional Schooling

Skillshare is proud to focus on reinventing learning as it strives to break away from the "degree" mold and provide students with an innovating and intriguing training program to learn new skills. The online classes are full of creative online discussions and self-paced learning. Skillshare's training courses range from design to business to technology, and for a competitive price, users have unlimited access to thousands of interactive online courses and communication platforms to share projects and ideas. 

Each program offers short, on-demand video training from teachers who actually work in the subject field. The online classes are designed to help students complete their work on their own time, helping students progress at their own pace while still continuing to interact with other students and instructors throughout the duration of the class. Most instructional videos range from 45 minutes to an hour, which helps to hold the attention of the students and also provide significant time to complete assignments and projects while still maintaining a regular social schedule.

Free Trial

Skillshare also offers a free 2-month trial for new users that gives you unlimited access to Skillshare's course catalog of over 24,000 classes. If students like the material, they can then access classes anytime by paying $15 monthly or $99 for an annual premium membership. There is no contract so members can cancel their subscription at any time. In short, Skillshare is setting itself apart from the competition in three significant ways:

  • Charges a comparatively low monthly fee for unlimited access to the online learning platform
  • Provides offline learning for users on the go
  • Gives a 14-day free trial, also with unlimited access

Premium Perks

When signing up for a premium membership, members receive the following perks:

  • Unlimited access to over 24,000 classes
  • Ability to download classes within the app to watch later
  • No ads
  • Support Teachers
  • Scholarships
  • Get discounts on services and benefits*

*Annual premium membership only ($99/year) 

The Bad

  • Traditional Education Seekers
  • Unclear Course Access

Traditional Education Seekers

For learners who are looking to have one-on-one contact with an instructor or teacher, who are wishing to be tested and quizzed on a regular basis, or who are hoping for a "typical classroom structure" Skillshare is not the appropriate option. 

This company also doesn't offer any proof of completing a course to be used in the workforce. Teachers and courses aim to help others learn new skills in their respective fields with an online learning community, not provide certification. 

Lastly, not all instructors are certified teaching professionals. Class videos can be taught by nearly anyone (this is not to discount the level of learning possible) and are not generated through Skillshare's internal company. This makes an traditional, instructor-led training even less likely.

Unclear Course Access

Skillshare offers those who are hesitant to sign up access to watch the beginning clip on thousands of their free classes. This gives potential members a feel for how the classes on Skillshare work. To unlock the rest of the course, Skillshare requires either a free or premium membership. 

However, if members only have the free membership, venturing beyond the free classes page can be frustrating since most of the classes require the premium membership to access the entire course. There is also no way to see which classes are a part of the premium membership. So members won’t know if they have access to the entire class until they click on it.

The Bottom Line

For individuals searching for an online learning platform with affordable costs, endless class options, and independent, hands-on activities, Skillshare is a training provider that they should definitely look into. Customer reviews appreciate Skillshare's usability, the hundreds of free classes offered, and the quality of the short instructional videos. For many students, it seems to be the perfect training center. Furthermore, Skillshare offers packages for companies or teams hoping to include a large group of individuals in an instructional class.

However, potential members should consider and weigh the company's flaws to its strengths. The programs do not have direct instructor-led training, meaning students and instructors do not interact directly. Skillshare also does not offer any form of certification completion and they are not AICC or SCORM compliant, and many of the classes are locked unless you purchase the premium membership.

Nonetheless, Skillshare is a great online training site for those who are interested in a nontraditional way to gain experience in many different fields, expand their networking community, discover new opportunities and learn valuable soft and technical skills.

Disclaimer

As part of our service, we attempt to partner with all the companies that we review, and may get compensated when you click or call them from our site; however, regardless of any current, past, or future financial arrangements, companies listed on Best Company cannot buy their position, nor do we manipulate or inflate a company's ranking for financial gain. A company’s ranking is based on and calculated by an objective set of ranking criteria, as well as user reviews. See our How We Rank page for more information regarding our ranking algorithm.

All user reviews posted on Best Company are subject to screening and approval. We reserve the right to approve or deny any review posted to this site in accordance with our Review Guidelines. Best Company never suppresses user reviews—unless they are being investigated for authenticity, or if they violate our review guidelines. We encourage anyone who suspects a user review to be fraudulent or intentionally inaccurate to please notify our review moderation team.


User Reviews

Star Rating

2.3
starstarstar_halfstar_borderstar_border

97 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 star
30%
4 star
6%
3 star
1%
2 star
4%
1 star
59%

Sentiment Criteria

Value for your money
starstarstarstar_halfstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstar_halfstar_border
Customer service
starstarstar_halfstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstarstar_halfstar_borderstar_border
search cancel
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Steven Lambert
August 21st, 2019 Indianapolis, IN DETAILS
Value for your money
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

Awful company. Don’t subscribe to them. If you’re doing a Free trial don’t forget to cancel your membership.

starstarstarstarstar_border
Navygem
July 8th, 2019 DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border

Great for learning. I was offered the free trail for 2 months. BEFORE YOU START YOUR TRIAL you will see it has two payment options and explains that after the trial is over you get automatically charged onto the bank card you provided. Most people are getting charge $99 after the two months because they chose the $8/month and right under that it says $99 annually, meaning you get charged the whole annual cost at one sitting but it is cheaper in the long run. You aren’t getting scammed, you just don’t know how to read. Maybe take some english courses?

starstarstarstarstar
Jenny Eric
July 3rd, 2019 Bethania, NC DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

Skillshare is the best too to get advanced knowledge and ideas for concerned industry and upgrade existing skills and expertise. I would strongly recommend Skillshare to all my colleagues.

starstarstarstarstar
Tamanna Pande
May 9th, 2019 East Rochester, NY DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

I like the content of the tech courses provided by SkillShare. I consider the main benefit is having the course content. I think the content is relevant to our internal demand for up-to-date tech courses.

history
starstarstarstarstar
Jesica Henry
May 9th, 2019 San Marcos, TX DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

I recommend Skillshare.com to anyone I come into contact with that works in the design field. It is an excellent platform for growth and the knowledge I have gained learning from some of my favorite designers is priceless!

starstarstarstarstar
Nila Zoey Carter
May 9th, 2019 Porterville, CA DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

Skillshare is a tremendous asset! The content and variety of classes is extraordinary. I wish there was more time a day to explore more!

starstarstarstarstar
Amyra James
May 9th, 2019 Phoenix, AZ DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

It has been almost 2 years as a premium member of skillshare. It is a good source for creative learning. There are plenty of courses that matched my interest.

starstarstarstarstar
Mila William
May 9th, 2019 Philadelphia, PA DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

I have been using Skillshare for over a year and I have found it an excellent resource for online art classes. A lot of my favorite designers and illustrators teach there, the variety of subjects is pretty staggering, and you always get feedback on your projects.

starstarstarstarstar
Lina Liam
May 9th, 2019 Waterbury, CT DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

Courses on Skillshare are all top-notch. Instruction is through, to the point, and actionable. Pretty impressive.

starstarstarstarstar
Abantica Noah
May 9th, 2019 Columbia, MD DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

Skillshare Quality content is amazing & the number of topics the classes cover is almost mind blowing. I couldn’t recommend it enough!

starstarstarstarstar
Nena Gomez
May 7th, 2019 Keyes, OK DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

If you love learning something great & in a short time, like me :) Skillshare is an amazing platform to learn new skills in short and very effective classes.

starstarstarstarstar
Eva Nar
May 7th, 2019 Lakeland, FL DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

All the courses I've done on Skillshare helped me develop my skill set and ultimately, grow my confidence in being creative without being too judgemental of imperfections of the creative process.

starstarstarstarstar
Susan
May 7th, 2019 New York, NY DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar_border
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

I've taken a number of classes on Skillshare, primarily in art techniques (gouache, pastel) but also in entrepreneurship. I really like the offerings and the format. Most of the classes are brief and to the point. They're taught by people teaching from their own experience, and that's what's really great for my purposes. For example, I took a couple of classes on how to get into design-related businesses by people who have done just that themselves. They told their own stories and gave concrete, realistic advice. The pastel class was great, all I needed to get going.

starstarstarstarstar
Jesica
May 7th, 2019 Austin, TX DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

SkillShare is focused on many topics such data analysis, machine Learning, open-source web technologies and artificial intelligence, which are useful in my future job.

starstarstarstarstar
Lisa Krause
May 7th, 2019 Cincinnati, OH DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

SkillShare gives lots of knowledge to colleague which benefits business. I learned Javascript, JAVA and much more programming technology through SkillShare learning platform.

starstarstarstarstar
milk mom
May 7th, 2019 Macomb, MI DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

The best thing about SkillShare is that it has wide variety of courses in every field. The courses are really good and explanation by the instructor is makes the hard course seem easy. It also has a good mobile application, which makes the learning more accessible. It also provides really nice feature of assessing ones knowledge for free once you complete your course.

starstarstarstarstar
Lucia6
May 7th, 2019 DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

I have used this for Public Relations, Marketing, social media engagement and several other business classes to help me improve my business knowledge and ethics.

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Coen
April 29th, 2019 DETAILS
Value for your money
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

STAY AWAY!!! I have been overcharged so many times, I have deleted my account but they still charge. I really, really regret this service. Also, there were no videos of any importance on this. Seriously, they are terrible, and just copies of each other. A million photography videos, nothing of substance.

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Beebel
April 25th, 2019 Adell, WI

These guys are scammer. The website itself is pretty poorly made and the selection of courses is rather poor. Once you enter your credit card info you can not remove it.

starstarstarstarstar
Elaine
April 22nd, 2019

I joined Skillshare to enhance my painting capabilities and have found the on-line courses very informative and helpful. I have been using various mediums like Gouache, watercolour and acrylic paints and the advice and techniques have given me very useful advice. The tutors are very knowledgeable and their course content is brilliant, the walk through at the beginning of each course on how to use colours from faint to dense colours , plus brush techniques are extremely useful.

starstarstarstarstar
Keila Diaz
April 22nd, 2019 Opa-locka, FL DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

Since I joined Skillshare a couple of months ago I have improved my photography and photo editing skills significantly. As a photographer and small business owner it is important to me to improve my skills at a cost effective option. Skillshare is that cost effective choice. Teachers like Cat C, Tabitha P and Kate A have been essential in my development as a photographer as well as my branding and marketing skills. I would 10/10 recommend Skillshare to anyone who is looking to improve any skill!

starstarstarstarstar
Tara Askin
April 22nd, 2019 Staten Island, NY DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

Skillshare gives me the confidence to try something new without feeling overwhelmed. The classes are enjoyable and easy to follow at your own pace.

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Marinika
April 22nd, 2019 DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

How you can trust company which doesn't have phone number or customer service contact list? You get trial for free, but you have to authorize your credit card, in my case PayPal for the time after trial period. From this moment, the most interesting happened, you can not cancel your membership and you charged for whole year until next time. My PayPal denied me in dispute of this charge, because of my prior authorization, and Skill Share do not respond to any of my attempt to solve this issue... THIS IS SCAM COMPANY!!!

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Fabian Vargas
April 10th, 2019 DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar_border
Customer service
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

Overcharging people after the free trial? ARE YOU KIDDING ME?. and not necessarily a small amount. OVER A HUNDRED DOLLARS!!!!!! Without any disclosure.

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Maria
April 8th, 2019 Summerville, SC DETAILS
Value for your money
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

I was supposed to get a free trial for two months and the sign-up page even said I would be billed after the two months. It had trouble with my card for some reason even though I kept checking the numbers, so I gave up on it. Only to find out they had actually charged my card for that month. So much for the trial. I immediately requested that they refund me, but still haven't heard back after they said they were reviewing it and I'd hear back in a day or two. It's been over a week now, and I haven't heard back even after I followed up with a reply email asking about it.

starstarstarstarstar
Brian
March 28th, 2019 DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

Got billed automatically with limited notice Nevertheless named to get in touch via email within a few minutes. They issued refund via my payment method PayPal

history
starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
SkillshareIsSlow
March 26th, 2019 DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar_border

Signed up today. I tried to view the first lesson of a 3 minute lesson. It did not load. I tried another 1 minute introductory lesson, and started writing this review. It's been 5 minutes and the 1 minute video has not loaded. Extremely poor server capacity. I'm writing this review for the company to make improvements, not for consumers.

starstarstarstarstar
TooBossy
March 20th, 2019 Franklin, TN DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

I received 2 free weeks of Skillshare through a promotion on a YouTube video, and I signed up for a paid subscription before it was up. The volume and variety of classes on Skillshare is amazing and constantly growing. I’m so glad to have a resource this huge, at such an affordable price.

starstarstarstarstar
Sarah
February 6th, 2019 Howell, MI DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

I find it quite helpful and fun so I don't understand why people dont like it

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Melne
January 31st, 2019 Chicago, IL DETAILS
Value for your money
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

I went trough ton of reviews, seems that majority had the same issue. Trial ends, they just simply charge. Question - how do you expect people to remember about some payment when we have million other things to remember more important that Skillshare. Besides, content isn't worth anything.

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Mariana
January 22nd, 2019

I'm also very dissapointed with Skillshare, because they charged me $99 for the premium account after the free trial AND i didn't accept it nor want that type of account. I've sent 3 emails since then AND I'm still waiting for a response. I NEED THE rebound. AND i still am in the 30 days to fix it.

starstarstarstarstar
Sonia Graham
January 2nd, 2019 The Lakes, NV DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

It's very convenient. The free trial period allowed me to get a feel for the platform and quality of the courses. I thought all in all it was a very good investment.

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Nicolas
January 2nd, 2019 DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

Was premium for one year, and forget to cancel before being charged again. 250+ days remaining, and they offered no refund. This is on the limit of being a scam.

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Bill Steve & Gate Jobs
December 31st, 2018 South Berwick, ME DETAILS
Value for your money
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

I had promo code for skillshare 2 month premium trial so I go to link my PayPal which is an option but it doesnt accept my paypal unless I give them one of my bank cards also? What a huge scam skillshare is pulling trying to be sneaky with wanting not only my paypal but a bank card on top of it? I'll tell you why skillshare wants your card so bad is because they know they can over draft your account if you have no money in your account and also its harder to get the bank to reverse their transactions. Skillshare gives start up companies a bad name trying to pull scams like they are pulling. Skillshare dont have anyone answering their customer service line but they have someone answering everyone of these posts trying to undo the damage they probably wont be able to bounce back from. Thus the reason why they havent changed their scamming ways over the years because they know their company is horrible. I feel bad for anyone who gets taken by this company skillshare.

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Bryana C.
December 21st, 2018 Elmhurst, NY DETAILS
Value for your money
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

I'm so relieved I'm not the only one who fell for this baloney. I used a promo code for Skillshare from a YouTuber I watched because the site seemed like it was a very good, reliable resource to learn new skills or brush up on old ones. Perhaps it is, though I also see reviews that say otherwise but I'll chalk that up to those users being unable to find courses that they're interested in. Like many other reviewers, I was also charged $99 for an annual Premium Membership. When I signed up for the free trial using the code, I recall seeing the check box asking if I allowed the site to charge me once the trial time was up and I remember explicitly leaving that box UNCHECKED, which should be an indicator to the company I did NOT want to be charged. On December 18th, however, I received an automated email thanking me for the $99 payment and welcoming me as a Premium Member (though my bank statements stated the payment was still pending from December 17th). I did not have money for a $99 charge (and, again, I told the site NOT to charge me after the trial) and immediately sent in a ticket stating this payment was done in error and that I would like a refund. I expected a response within the same day, as that is usually the case with other sites, but received none. "Alright," I thought, "these sites always say it may take 24 hours for customer service to respond. I'll give them time." A whole day and a few hours go by (maybe about a day and 5 or so hours), no response. I sent in another ticket since my bank account still showed the charge as pending. I was still up late last night/early this morning and received an email from my bank that I was charged an additional $34 for insufficient funds on a $99 charge. What?! I checked my account and sure enough the $99 payment patched through. I was furious, sent yet another ticket to Skillshare about the payment error and also sent a message to my bank, whom responded a couple hours later with a telephone number to speak with a bank clerk. It was late, so I decided to just go to bed and deal with it when I wake up. When I woke up this morning, I immediately called the number I was given; unfortunately, the bank was only able to refund the $34 they charged and they currently can't do anything about the $99 charge until 5 or more business have past before they can make a case to the company on my behalf. I was slightly annoyed the bank couldn't help me right away, but at least I knew they would be willing to help me, so I let it go. However, when I told my mother about the situation, she showed me a review from this site with a young woman who had the same exact problem. I check for myself and see my incident wasn't an isolated one, and I even saw a couple reviewers state Skillshare has a no refund policy. I don't recall seeing that ANYWHERE on the trial sign-up, and, if it was, it must've been very, VERY fine print because I did not see it. Should I have paid more attention? Yes. Am I completely at fault? No, I don't believe so. As many other reviewers have pointed out, I too did not receive any email or notification of any kind warning me my trial was ending soon nor one asking for clarification if I still wanted to upgrade to become a member (though the answer to the latter was obviously "no" because I left the would-you-like-to-be-charged-after-your-trial box unchecked). Even if they're short-handed on customer service staff, the fact I'm sending in THREE tickets should've indicated to them this is an emergency, and from the looks of it I'm not the only one who sent in multiple tickets and heard nothing (I believe there were a very small handful of reviewers who said they received a response, some even relatively quickly, and got their refund...and good for them). Again, I'm sure Skillshare is great, but the way they go about their payment methods and customer service is atrocious! Bottom line: If you have the money to be paying for an annual-$99 membership and want to learn new skills, by all means give this site a go and see how it works out. If you just wanted to check it out through a trial and/or you don't have the time nor, more importantly, money to actively put this site to use, avoid Skillshare; you're better off looking up information on Google or YouTube for free or just looking elsewhere for a cheaper online learning program. EDIT: Skillshare finally got back to me. I sent an email to [email protected] and received a response within the hour (just as fair notice, I DID give them an...let's just say ultimatum should they not refund my $99). I'm not sure if it was my "charisma" or sending an email to that email address, but I will say you may be better off sending a direct email to [email protected] and skipping the support center on the site since sending a ticket via that system seems unreliable.

history
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Yaakov Ozias
December 21st, 2018 Corpus Christi, TX DETAILS
Value for your money
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

I do NOT recommend doing this. I tried the free trial and was not impressed enough to continue a subscription so I cancelled the trial and I was still charged for an entire year. I don't want it and I haven't used it but they still took my money and haven't returned my attempts to contact them.

Skillshare Logo

Reply from Skillshare

Dec 21, 2018

Hi Yaakov — If you haven't heard back from our Support Team yet, you should soon! Please feel free to send us a private message with your email address, if you'd like us to take a look for your email even sooner.

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Mabohlokoa
December 20th, 2018 DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

I have really had a bad experience with the customer service at Skills share. There are no avenues where you can get assistance directly with someone from the support team. They send you automated emails that they have received your email but no assistance. After using countless online learning platforms Skillsshare is the only one I have come across which really implements unfair practices and worse they do not have the decency to get back to you.

Skillshare Logo

Reply from Skillshare

Dec 21, 2018

Hi Mabohlokoa — Sorry to hear about this! You should hear back from our Support Team if you write to [email protected] If you haven't yet, please check your spam folder to be sure our email didn't end up there. Feel free to send us a private message with your email address, and we'll make sure someone gets in touch ASAP!

starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
UGO
December 18th, 2018 DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

A lot of course for a single subscription. Covering all the subject you want and courses are made by everyone. Courses are made by everyone, and are mostly made by non professionnal, content is mostly low quality, and in general just cover the surface of most subject they treat. A very bad point with skillshare is their subscription plan, their very inaccessible and well hidden option to disable your subscription. The difficulties to reach their customer support, and the most happy part, they will disable your access if your cancel your subscription even if your are in the middle of the month you have already payed.

Skillshare Logo

Reply from Skillshare

Dec 21, 2018

Hi there — Thanks for sharing your feedback. We're sorry to hear you haven't had the best experience with Skillshare. If you need to get in touch with our Support Team, please email [email protected], and someone should be in touch soon.

starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Nishita
December 5th, 2018 McLean, VA DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border

I am an instructional designer and I can tell that they are trying really hard, their quality of courses and presentation is good, the content is well thought through. I understand the frustration that people have.. it is more to do with the administrative end. However, there is a huge room for improvement.

Skillshare Logo

Reply from Skillshare

Dec 21, 2018

Hi Nishita — Thank you for your feedback. If you'd like to share more with our Support Team, please feel free to reach out at [email protected]

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Lana Bogojević
November 27th, 2018 DETAILS
Value for your money
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

They charged my account for €91. After sending them various e-mails and trying to reach them regarding my problem I got no answer at all. I never subscribed to this site and I explained my problem in all my e-mails and they are not answering. I'm a student and I can't afford this kind of money and especially for site I'm not going to use nor did I ever used it before.

Skillshare Logo

Reply from Skillshare

Dec 21, 2018

Hi Lana — Have you heard back from our Support Team? If not, please send us a private message with your email address and we'll be sure someone reaches out soon.

starstarstarstarstar
Ed Nurse
November 8th, 2018 Mobile, AL DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

I signed up for Skillshare in July, 2017 and have been a happy customer ever since. Their classes on graphic design and photography are significantly improved versus what is available on YouTube. I've actually been able to use the learning I had on Skillshare to succeed as a freelancer in graphic design!

Skillshare Logo

Reply from Skillshare

Dec 21, 2018

Hi Ed — Thanks for leaving this review! It's really great to hear that you've been able to use Skillshare to become a freelance designer. Happy learning!

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Abigail
November 7th, 2018 Mount Vernon, WA DETAILS
Value for your money
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

Overall skillshare might be an okay platform but it's just insane that they have no customer service number. You have to email your question off into the void. Especially when it comes to services that are linked monthly to my bank account I want to be able to talk to a PERSON when I am having an issue.

Skillshare Logo

Reply from Skillshare

Dec 21, 2018

Hi Abigail — Thank you for sharing this feedback. We're always looking for ways to make our Support Team more accessible.

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
pcampagna
November 1st, 2018 Indiana, PA DETAILS
Value for your money
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

This site is HORRIBLE. Especially if you try and search for anything, or want to view all the videos. I type in 'premier pro 2018' and Excel classes come up?? Not to mention every other version of Premier pro come up which are meaningless and a waste of time trying to find the correct version. Plus photoshop classes come up and as mention freaking excel?? I try to view more videos and when I click on "Show all" I get 15 videos and that's it?? So the search doesn't work worth crap, the video are irrelevant for what I want, or search for, and what is 'recommended' doesn;t have any relevance to me and the list of things I selected when I created the account. . The worst part is you can't see all the videos available. Then when you do find something that looks like it would help, some guy who can barely speak english is teaching it. That's fine if I wanted to struggle to understand someone for 4 hours, but no thanks. Horrible site and just avoid it. Youtube has a million times better content for free. They woulld have to pay me to use this site. Worthless.

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Alicia
October 30th, 2018 Chelsea, MA

This company is the worst. They offer a nice service, but no customer service! I tried cancling my account a few times and still got charged! $99 its crazy for something I don't use and tried to cancel! I tried to contact them for a refund, no response!!! They are a scam! I can afford that this is why I tried to cancel, but nope they charged anyway. Do not use!

Skillshare Logo

Reply from Skillshare

Dec 21, 2018

Hi Alicia — Sorry to hear about this. You should be able to get in touch with our Support Team at [email protected] If you've had trouble reaching out, please feel free to send us a private message with your email address and we'll be sure someone contacts you ASAP.

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Tony
October 25th, 2018 Lake Villa, IL DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

I didn't watch any classes during my trial, though I would have loved to. 1 star is because of their bogus no-notification policy for charging your bank account when your trial ends. You sign up for a trial, then check a little box that says you're okay with them charging you for premium after your trial ends and also you're okay with their no refund policy and (unstated) no notification policy. Therefore, unless you want premium, you better have your calendar(s) marked to cancel your membership before it's too late or you'll be screwed out of 99 dollars. They won't give you any heads up beforehand, just a little email in your promo thanking you for choosing premium and notifying you that your card has been charged. I understand that if I paid more attention this wouldn't have happened, but it's truly a disgusting way to treat your customers.

Skillshare Logo

Reply from Skillshare

Dec 21, 2018

Hi Tony — Sorry to hear about this. If you haven't contacted our Support Team about this yet, please send us a private message here with your email address and we'll make sure someone reaches out ASAP.

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Cory
October 17th, 2018 DETAILS
Value for your money
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

Having watched multiple free classes I felt the time was right to try a premium membership. Not wanting to have my card on file I purchased a gift card for a 3 month membership. The code took 12 hours to be emailed and when I tried to redeem it I was greated with "there was an error processing this code". The only option for help is to email customer service..no phone and no live chat and zero guarantee that they will email you back. $36 wasted.

Skillshare Logo

Reply from Skillshare

Dec 21, 2018

Hi Cory — So sorry to hear you had trouble redeeming your gift card. I hope you were able to get in touch with our Support Team when this happened! If not, please send us a private message with your email address here and we'll make sure someone reaches out.

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Nathan Claeys
September 19th, 2018 Mesa, AZ DETAILS
Value for your money
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

I fell into the enticement of 2 months for .99$ I went through a few tutorials on HTML and CSS. The content was bad, but I actually found better tutorials and content for free on a variety of other sites including YouTube. I payed for 1 additional month @ 15$ becuase I forgot to cancel in time. Looking at my bank statement 3 months later I saw they they had continued charging me 15$/month. Apparently my cancellation didn't take, which admittedly may be my fault, as I was unable to locate the cancellation confirmation email. After actually cancelling I saw that you have to submit through several pages to finally cancel, and I still did not receive a cancellation confirmation via email. Like a typically salty ex-customer I requested a refund for the months I was charge for a service I did not use. I have been told to expect one months refund in 10 or so business days. They track your usage on the site so it looks like I was charged 60.99$ for 3.5hrs of tutorials.... College was cheaper...

starstarstarstarstar
Michael Gordon
September 10th, 2018 Lawrence, KS DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar_border
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

I really love skillshare and have learned so much from their great classes. I see a lot of people complaining about being billed, but it seems to me that Skillshare works pretty much the same way that every subscription in the world does (audible, netflix, whatever) where in exchange for a free trial you are responsible for canceling if you don't want to get charged. Seems pretty reasonable to me.

Skillshare Logo

Reply from Skillshare

Oct 11, 2018

Hi Michael — Thank you for your note! We're glad to hear you've been enjoying your classes, and hope you'll continue learning on Skillshare.

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Brenda Holman
August 9th, 2018 Colona, IL DETAILS
Value for your money
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

The classes they provide are easily found on you tube or google for free. Poor customer service. Would not recommend wasting money for information you can find for free.

Skillshare Logo

Reply from Skillshare

Oct 11, 2018

Hi Brenda — I'm sorry to hear you've had a poor experience with Skillshare. We strive to provide high quality content in a large variety of classes. If you have any specific feedback for our Support Team, please feel free to reach out at [email protected]

starstarstarstarstar
Patrick Hocking
July 30th, 2018 DETAILS
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

People complaing about the Company charging them, Need skillshare more than anybody or atleast really need to educated themselves. Skillshare doesn't charged the customers, Google does. You have to cancel the subscribtion in the pla store. Complaining about not being able to keep track. because of a busy schedule, just means that you are a management horror and I truely hope you don't have a high posisition in your Company. regardless, now my review. Skillshare is great and very cheap in comparison to alternatives. You may stick to Udemy or decide to take up official Courses costing a couple of thousands. Apart from increasing my know how on photography, SEOs, Animation and some Adobe Programms, I have also learned a couple of extra things and find interest in new Hobbies.

Skillshare Logo

Reply from Skillshare

Oct 11, 2018

Hi Patrick — Thank you for your review! We're glad to hear you've been enjoying Skillshare. It sounds like you've been able to explore a wide variety of classes and try out new hobbies. Thanks for being such an active member of our community.