Alert1 Logo

Alert1

star star star star_border star_border

4.6

Overall Score

LAST UPDATED: June 27th, 2022

Alert1 is a leading provider of medical alert systems in the United States. The company provides award-winning service and has received top ratings from consumers and industry leaders. Alert1 has protected and gained the trust of over 200,000 members to date with a 98 percent member renewal rate. Alert1 offers friendly sales representatives, clear pricing and terms, and a 30-day money-back guarantee (only eligible for the 10-month plan).

Read Alert1 reviews below to see what past and current customers have to say about the medical alert system provider. 

Top Ranked Companies

thumb_up

The Good

  • Excellent Customer Service with Quick Response Times
  • Personalized Accessories
  • Automatic Fall Detection
  • No Equipment or Activation Fee*
  • Referral Discounts
  • Money-Back Guarantee*
  • Warranty

Excellent Customer Service with Quick Response Times

One of Alert1's primary benefits is its customer service, which includes access to a professional monitoring center that is CSAA certified with trained operators that stay on the line with the customer until help arrives. In addition, the company offers a personalized response, meaning operators go beyond calling 911; they also contact a family member or friend from a customized list of contacts in the event of an emergency.

The Alert1 base unit is equipped with two-way communication, so when you have an emergency and press the alert button, the monitoring center responds quickly, between 30–45 seconds. Also, while most other medical alert companies have only one command center, Alert1 has two fully independent, U.S.-based command centers in different states to ensure that service will still be available in the case of power outages. 

Personalized Accessories

Alert1 offers an array of personalized accessories, including lanyards and wristbands with different color options. Accessories are made of silicone for flexibility and are 100 percent waterproof. Customers don't need to choose between a lanyard and a wrist button for their medical alert device because Alert1 makes it easy to transform the alert button from a necklace to a wristband and vice versa.

Alert1 also offers a protective case and belt loop attachment if you prefer to wear the medical alert device on your belt. The attachment is velcro and works only for the on-the-go devices. 

Automatic Fall Detection

Alert1 offers a mobile medical alert system with a fall detection pendant that senses a fall and automatically notifies the command center. The mobile fall detection pendant includes the same benefits as the company's other systems, such as 24/7 monitoring service, a customer service representative that stays on the line until help arrives, and two-way voice functionality in the base unit.

The emergency button has a battery life that lasts for five years, and it includes a low-battery notification. Alert1 will send you a new button when the battery life is low, so you don't have to worry about replacing it yourself.

Typically, medical alert companies will offer fall detection as an add-on to any medical alert package and will charge an extra $5–$10 per month. Alert1 instead offers fall detection as part of a few of its offered plans. Pricing is on par with other medical alert options (That is if you opt for the 10-month pricing plan. The month-to-month plan is significantly more expensive than other medical alert systems on the market). 

No Equipment or Activation Fee*

Alert1 does not charge for equipment or activation. This can give seniors peace of mind that there aren't many required fees to use Alert1 services. The only cost you will be responsible for is the monthly monitoring fee, which varies based on the plan you select.

*However, be aware that if you don't opt for the 10-month plan. Alert1 does require a $19.95 activation fee. 

Referral Discounts

For every friend you refer to Alert1, you receive one free month of service. This is a great offer if you have a spouse or friend who also needs a medical alert device. Also, if you have a second medical alert user you want to sign up on your same plan, Alert1 offers up to 60 percent off of the second user's service. 

Money-Back Guarantee*

Alert1 provides a money-back guarantee if you cancel its services and return the alert device and other equipment within the first 30 days. Any costs paid for shipping and activation are non-refundable. 

*To qualify for the 30-day money-back guarantee, you need to pay for the 10-month plan. If you have the month-to-month plan, you miss out on this benefit, in addition to a free month of service and free activation.  

Warranty

Alert1 has a warranty for any physical damages that occur to the equipment after purchase. This means customers do not have to pay for any replacement costs. Also, if anything manufactural happens with the equipment, Alert1 will always take care of it at no cost to the customer.

thumb_down

The Bad

  • Limited Plan Options
  • Activation Fee for Month-to-Month Plan
  • No Two-Way Communication for At-Home Plans
  • Limited Range
  • Missing Features
  • Alert1 Reviews

Limited Plan Options

Alert1 pricing is on the more expensive side when compared to other medical alert companies. The company only offers either a month-to-month plan or a 10-month plan. Because of this, Alert1 has higher monthly fees, especially if you opt for the month-to-month plan.

The majority of medical alert companies offer month-to-month, quarterly. semi-annual, and annual pricing plans. This provides flexibility when deciding which payment plan works best for your situation. It's disappointing Alert1 only gives its customers two options. 

The only way you can receive a discount on pricing is if you choose the 10-month plan where you pay for all 10 months upfront, and this will waive your activation fee and save you upwards of $100 throughout the span of your contract. 

Below you can find a breakdown of Alert1's package options:

  At Home Medical Alert At Home + Fall Detection On the Go On the Go + Fall Detection At Home + On the Go + Fall Detection
Fall Detection
Landline
Wireless Option +$10 per Month +$10 per Month
Range from Base Unit 600 Feet 400 Feet Unlimited Unlimited Unlimited
Battery Life of Button 2 Years 2 Years 30 Days 3–5 Days 3–5 Days; 2 Years
Button Type Wristband or Necklace Wristband or Necklace Necklace with Belt Clip Attachment Necklace with Belt Clip Attachment Necklace with Belt Clip Attachment
Month-to-Month Plan $28.95 $38.95 $38.95 $48.95 $58.95
10-Month Plan $19.95 $29.95 $29.95 $39.95 $49.95

Alert1 notes on its website that if your landline functions on a VoIP system or is bundled with cable and/or internet, you'll need to purchase one of Alert1's wireless medical alert options. 

Activation Fee for Month-to-Month Plan

As stated above, you can waive the activation fee if you pay for the 10-month plan. However, if you decide you want the month-to-month plan, which is the more convenient option for many customers, you are required to pay $19.95 to activate the Alert1 medical alert system. 

No Two-Way Communication for At-Home Plans

Alert1's at-home medical alert system does not include a speaker in the button. This means you'll be unable to communicate directly with the monitoring center through the emergency button. Instead, you'll need to be near the medical alert system. A voice extender to place in another common area of your home could potentially help with this if you aren't near your base station. However, Alert1 doesn't appear to offer voice extenders on its website. 

Limited Range

Alert1 has a limited range from the base station for its medical alert systems. You can have a system with a 400-foot range, or you can purchase the more robust plan that includes a range of 600 feet from the base station. However, many medical alert companies offer ranges up to 1,500 feet, so if you're looking for a medical alert system with a wider range, Alert1 may not be the best fit for you. 

Missing Features

Medical alert companies have begun expanding their services to include additional features for customers to take advantage of. For example, activity monitoring and medication reminders are features medical alert providers often include as part of their service. However, Alert1 has neither and seems to have a simpler offering that focuses strictly on traditional medical alert monitoring only.

Some medical alert providers are even offering smartwatch medical alert devices that offer medication reminders, activity monitoring, GPS tracking, weather information, etc. directly through the device. If you're looking for more robust medical alert offerings, Alert1 falls short on these offerings and features. 

Alert1 Reviews

Alert1 has more than 100 reviews but has fairly mixed feedback from its customers, about half of the reviews being 5 stars and the other half being 1 star.  Will you be the customer who has a great experience or will you be disappointed? With as much negative feedback as there is positive, it's difficult to know what to expect if your purchase an Alert1 medical alert system. It may be a better option to look into another medical alert service that has reviews with more solid positive feedback.

View Best Medical Alert Companies

gavel

The Bottom Line

Alert1 offers flexible medical alert service options and does not require customers to sign into a long-term agreement. Alert1 also has referral programs that give you one free month of service for every friend referred, and no equipment or activation fees are required as long as you opt for the 10-month plan. Personalized accessories and fall detection services are also available.

Because pricing is a bit more expensive when compared to competitors and it has a shorter range than most, you may want to consider looking into other top-rated medical alert companies.

You can also browse Alert1 reviews below to see what real consumers have to say about Alert1's medical alert systems and the company's service quality.

View Best Medical Alert Companies

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Star Rating

3.1

star star star star_border star_border

104 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

40%

4 grade

11%

3 grade

7%

2 grade

2%

1 grade

40%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star_border star_border

Quality

star star star star_half star_border

Service

star star star star_border star_border

Trustworthiness

star star star star_border star_border
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Nancy Burkley

They always get back to me, and are not upset when it was because I accidentally pushed my button. I love having the locked box so the EMTs don’t have to knock down my door. I do have to keep in top on their billing. I signed up for the plan where they will not raise my rates if I pay yearly and they tend to “forget’. I have to call to fix the bill. If it was t for this, they would get five stars.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Sarah prouty Houston, TX

Alert 1 has been there for my mother more times than I can count. They always respond quickly and help arrives in minutes. It gives her such peace of mind. All the epitome to works flawlessly. So easy to set up, use, and maintain. I cannot day enough good things about this company.

2 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Jan Strongsville, OH

I was called immediately when my mother fell. EMS was already on the route to her house and Alert1 kept both my sister and I informed as she was speaking to emergency personell.

2 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Michelle Brazell

Everytime my parents have needed them they were right there! Anytime we had any problem with machine or just a question we were treated with nothing but professional kindness…

2 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Peggy Tekamah, NE

Both my mother and I have used Alert 1. I was able to contract friends and the local rescue squad just last month. Those who answer calls and testing are professional and friendly.

2 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Patricia Rambo Williamsport, PA

I have never had to use the service in an emergency. I have noticed that within the last few years when I test the equipment, it sometimes takes a while for someone to answer. This would concern me in an emergency.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Adele A. Germoles Carmichael, CA

1.sometimes caller does not hear me correctly even though I am in the very same room no more than 3 - 4 ft from device .2. need directions of what to do when the power is off and the speaker repeats.. no power etc. no telephone line etc.

1 year ago

Alert1 Logo

Reply from Alert1

Hello Adele, thank you for sending us your review. Your system has a backup battery in it, so that if the power ever goes out you will still be able to push your button and get help! If you have any questions or concerns about your device please give us a call at 1-800-693-5433 Option 3. Any of our Technical Support Representatives will be happy to help you.

Feb. 3rd, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Margarita Salas

Always there for me whenever I need them. Excellent response time also. Very good quality of the equipment and I feel like it’s out of sight and never a bother

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Janet

Quick phone response to alarm. Even tho it’s never been a real emergency, just our mom accidentally setting it off, we appreciate how fast response time is.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Kare West Islip, NY

Very satisfied. Only problem is that when received. All on cell it came it was identified as potential scam so i did not pick up but msg was calm and clear

2 years ago

Alert1 Logo

Reply from Alert1

Hello Kare, Thank you for taking the time to send us your review. We do apologize and are looking into why the phone number may have been listed as a scam. If you have any questions or want to verify any of our numbers please give us a call at 1-800-693-5433 Option 2. Thank you, Alert1

Jan. 8th, 2020

star star star star star

Nicholas Panuzo Woodbridge, VA

I have your service for my 83-year-old Father. He has used it 4 times in the last 6 months due to falls. He cannot get up, uses his necklace button, the Maryland State Police and St. Michaels FD respond, open a door with the assistance of a realtor type key box, and help him. I'm 2 hours away and it gives me great comfort knowing Alert One is there for him 24/7.

4 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Juanita Newbury Park, CA

Because a few years ago Alert 1 saved my life. I fell and cut my head and luckily pressed the button before passing out.t

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Mary Ann Sugarloaf, PA

When my mom would get into a difficult situation she would push her button and they were there. It gave my siblings and myself a piece of mind.

2 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Jennifer Baker

Always there at the ready even on false alarm operators always prepared to identify problem and send help immediately if needed

2 years ago

star star star star star_border

KR Alexandria, MN

In regard to AKC's post, I have two buttons. One is red and one is blue. So it's very possible that they might have white buttons as well. As far as service is concerned, I have always gotten prompt attention the few times I've needed to use it. I'm very satisfied with the service. Of course, I haven't tried to return anything yet. We do pay quarterly, I believe, which apparently is a good thing based on other's experience with not getting money back which should be reported to the BBB.

5 years ago

star star star star star

AKC Williamsport, PA

In regards to the review by Thomas A Butler... I assure you that it was not Alert 1 that your mother had because their buttons are white. They have great member care services and are always polite and courteous to their members! I love Alert 1!!!

5 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Bill Moody Seattle, WA

Devices work OK. But try to cancel. After my MIL used this service for more than a decade, she died and I went to cancel. Alert1 wanted the devices returned (after a decade!). They had gotten lost in the shuffle. Alert1 is trying to charge me $600 penalty for two boxes that are so old they are throwaways. Use another service.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Helon Neeson Shreveport, LA

I was just charged approximately $130.00 on my credit card when I cancelled service and was told that was non refundable. That doesn’t seem right.

1 year ago

Alert1 Logo

Reply from Alert1

Hello Helon, thank you for taking the time to send us your review. We would like to look into why the account was charged after cancellation. Could you please send us the Members name or phone number so that we can look into your account?

Feb. 3rd, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Marjorie Meehan Aliquippa, PA

Always there when I need them whether I'm in the basement, in the backyard or on the porch or eating dinner.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Susan Wolf Garber Warminster, PA

I've been with therm for 12 years. I went to cancel and they want the prepaid amount in full. I only used it for one month. They wanted me to send three full months. I feel I should only send oner month that I used. Rewad your contract carefully. I did call the service rep a thief and she said I was using a curse word. Huih.

1 year ago

Alert1 Logo

Reply from Alert1

Hello Susan, thank you for taking the time to bring this to our attention. We do currently offer pro-rated refunds for any unused months that remain after cancellation. Could you please provide the account information so that we can ensure your account is taken care of?

Feb. 3rd, 2021

star star star star_border star_border

lewis bryant Cleburne, TX

POOR service, unit didnt work when mother in law fell and now she cant stay in her apartment. tried to cancel and get refund for the remaining 8 months that we paid in advance and they not only wont refund but we have to pay to send back their crappy equipment. Supervisor called and resolved issue very next day. The lady, Sarah I believe was very professional and polite.

4 years ago

star star star star star

Phil Findlay, OH

Once again Alert1 performed excellent. Mom fell again. They called the paramedics, then my brother then me just like we planned. Mom was ok this time but I couldn’t ask for better service from Alert1.

4 years ago

star star star star star_border

Terryski Levittown, PA

They saved my mother's life. She fell in the kitchen with a pot on the stove. It could have caused a fire. They had the ambulance there in minutes and they took her to the hospital. They called me to let me know what was happening. It was the best purchase I ever made for my mom.

7 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Patricia Di Leva San Pedro, CA

Dependability is important at my age. The operators are always courteous and helpful.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

JOY WOLFE Orwigsburg, PA

Always quick to respond - respectful - very helpful - listen to patient requests

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Mike Sutton, WV

My mother-in-law had been an Alert1 customer for a few years. Two months after the annual renewal she was moved to a care facility. They would not give her a prorated refund. Charged her for the entire year. Shameful!

1 year ago

Alert1 Logo

Reply from Alert1

Hello Mike, thank you for bringing this to our attention as we have reviewed our refund policies. Could you please provide the Member's name or phone number so that we can look into the account further?

Feb. 3rd, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Mary Bremerton, WA

Because they have always been ready to help me. I have her use Alert1 since 2012.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Natalie Borges Santa Clara, CA

They have not completed my requests. They do not communicate with each other. To top it off, they contacted me to check my equipment after they were notified that my Dad had passed away.

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Sue Passafiume

Fast reliable response, calls to recheck every month, stays on device until help arrives, price

1 year ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

helen d clayton Creedmoor, NC

well pleased with the services received since the very beginning. Great customer service reps

2 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Lucinda New Springfield, OH

Alert1 agents are always curteous, and helpful in being there for my 94 year old mom.

2 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Gregory M. Toledo, OH

When my mother actually needed it, neither the bracelet or necklace worked. She had to actually go to the main box to activate it.

2 years ago

Alert1 Logo

Reply from Alert1

Hello Gregory, We are very sorry to hear that her buttons did not work in her time of need! We would like to reach out and provide technical support to ensure that her buttons are working properly. Could you please send us a private message with the best phone number to reach you at? Thank you!

Jan. 14th, 2020

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Mark Scranton, PA

My mother needed assistance two times since installation. Alert1 was there both times to assist.

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Brian K Williamson Newtown, PA

Horrible Horrible People. They make you prepay money for a YEAR and when your parents don't use it they basically tell you - too bad, we are keeping your money. Oh and when your 90 year old parents don't even open the box that's your problem. And when they say "send it back" we will consider a refund, no one mentions you need to open it up and read the information and set it up. You try and do something to help seniors and yet here is another company that prays on them. Please Please don't get tricked into pre-paying for their service or products. We will be contacting the BBB and the State Attorney General's office. If you don't use a service why should anyone be allowed to keep a whole year of your hard earned money. And they prepopulate the review with "amazing" Horrible.

1 year ago

star star star star star

Jenni Beltz Minneapolis, MN

We have had quick responses to questions and any help we needed. Everyone has been very nice. Luckily my Boyfriend's mother has not needed to use it yet.

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

CJ Newton Durant, OK

I wish I had read the reviews read to me I had signed a contract with these people. I am an 88 year old Veterans widow with lung cancer, blindness, and deafness. I would have never dealt with these people. Their contract is not written with care for their customers in mind, it is designed for the company to get all the money possible from unsuspecting elderly customers. My advice: have a lawyer look over the contract before signing or, better yet, DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY! They are rude and unwilling to compromise in any way and do whatever possible to squeeze every dime possible from their victims.

2 years ago

Alert1 Logo

Reply from Alert1

Hello CJ, thank you for taking the time to send us your review. We apologize for any confusion but here at Alert1 we do not lock our members into any long term contracts. If you could provide the account information such at the Member's name and/or phone number we will look into this further for you. Thank you, Alert1

Aug. 17th, 2020

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Dorothy Jones Corryton, TN

I think I should’ve read the reviews a few years back before going with this company. I cancelled in the middle of May. The lady was really rude to me once I told her I was canceling. They went up on my Mom’s bill without telling us and I have notice it’s cheaper now then the 52.00 a month My moms been paying. But the kicker is I mailed the equipment back and because it got there 4 days into June they are charging my 88 years old mother full service for the whole month of June. They will have the equipment and no service will be given to my Mom but they refused to prorate it because She is under contract. So cruel and mean. Elderly are being taken advantage of by this company. The first lady I spoke with treated me like a child and was so rude. She kept repeating things over me while I tried to speak. I spoke with the manager and she was nicer but basically told me they would not do anything because of contract. Just because I got it there 4 days into June. They got a free 52.00 from an 88 year old widow on a budget. Rude and cruel people. Don’t do business with them There are much better people and companies with better offers!!!

2 years ago

Alert1 Logo

Reply from Alert1

Hello Dorothy, Thank you for taking the time to send us your review. We are sorry to hear that you had a less than stellar experience with Alert1 and would like to look into that for you. Could you please provide the account information such as the Member's name and/or phone number? Thank you, Alert1

Jun. 5th, 2020

star star star_border star_border star_border

Helen Lake View, NY

They do provide a service which does work. HOWEVER they are expensive and have no empathy with bill paying. Once paid you have it for a year even if you no longer need it the month after! The monitoring fees are higher than others. They will just sneak the annual monitoring charge on your credit card. Oh they may notify the 80+ year old by email. Shoddy company. Go to the VNA who are kind people and much cheaper!!!!

2 years ago

Alert1 Logo

Reply from Alert1

Hello Helen, Thank you for taking the time to send us your review. We are sorry that you did not receive the billing reminders that we do, not only via email but by phone as well. We would like to look further into the account for you. Could you please provide the Members name and/or phone number? Thank you, Alert1

May. 15th, 2020

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Nora Winston-Salem, NC

Called today to cancel service after several years of using alert one. Was told my mother needed to return base, wrist button, necklace and door key holder. Stated she did not have a wrist button device. Claimed one was requested and mailed in 2016 to my 92 year old mother. She would not have known where to call for that. Guess we will end up paying for it since there is not one to return. Was told when she signed up the door key holder was free for signing up. Now that we are cancelling they have changed. A return sticker would cost 15.00 to get. Ask for a two month refund and the rep could not do that. Very rude. I hope nobody else gets fooled with them and their lies.

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Judith Rich Walla Walla, WA

The system itself is not bad but after 4 years my mom went into a skilled nursing facility. I called to cancel the service and ask for instructions for returning the equipment. After a few weeks of not receiving any instructions for returning the equipment I called back. They said that until I returned the equipment I was still being billed and that a bill for $599 had been charged that day for the coming year. So even though the service was not going to be used and I had previously called to cancel they were charging this fee. For a company that tries to say they care about the elderly...it is obvious that they do not. After much discussion they agreed to charge only 3 months of fee instead of a year (something they could have done from the beginning). They have called every few days since then to harass me for payment and assure me that they will continue to do so indefinitely. Horrible company.

2 years ago

Alert1 Logo

Reply from Alert1

Hello Judith, Thank you for taking the time to send us your review. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant experience cancelling your Alert1 account. We would like to look into this further so that we can better our services. Could you please provide the account information such as the Member's name and/or phone number? Thank you, Alert1

Feb. 25th, 2020

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

David Reimuller Great Falls, VA

Beware! I ordered the service for my 100+ year old mother. The service worked as advertised the one time needed - my mother fell at night and the emergency services were called. The problem came after my mother passed away. I called to cancel the service. They sent me a UPS label to return the telephone device. The system was sent by UPS using the label provided. If I received a receipt, I did not save it, since I heard nothing. Almost one year later I received a bill for another year of service. I called to say I had cancelled the service. I was told they had never received the telephone unit and the billing would continue until I returned it or paid for it -$559.95. I had the shipping number, so called UPS. They said they do not keep records after 120 days. UPS suggested an investigation, but said only Alert1 could request one, since the label was issued to them. I advised Alert1 of this. A week later they said there was no record and I had to pay. All the while the young ladies answering my calls were adamant that I must pay, would not accept any responsibility for the device perhaps having been mishandled by them after arrival. It was just "No. You have to pay." I felt blackmailed - pay when I believe I am not responsible and have done everything I could do, or suffer damage to my credit. Finally, in desperation and disgust, I paid, telling them to finally cancel the service. In typical fashion, I received no confirmation of they receiving my check or cancelling the service. This has been a most disappointing and disagreeable experience, and I caution all to consider before signing up and, if you do, to make absolutely sure you obtain and retain proof of sending the equipment back.

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Ron Bialek Chevy Chase, MD

Having used Alert1 since 2014, paying quarterly as suggested by the Alert1 sales agent, I now find myself scammed by Alert1. When starting this service, I was told that for any unused month, I'd receive a prorated refund. When my dad went into nursing home and then hospice care, I discontinued my dad's service. There as 1 1/2 months left on the three month cycle, so I expected to receive a 1 month refund. I was then told that NO refund would be issued as I supposedly agreed to in 2014. I NEVER agreed to this and NEVER received any notice of this supposed policy. Alert1 representatives insist they are correct and have threatened me with sending my account to a collection agency. They received over $1400 from me and refused to refund $34.80, as agreed to back in 2014. While the Alert1 service was good, I recommend NOT purchasing any services from this company. Not issuing a refund for unused service, and a service primarily used by the elderly, is unethical, and frankly, a scam.

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Patricia Wong Pleasanton, CA

I recently purchased the product for my mother. It did not fit her petite size. I received the product April 17, 2019 and returned it the next day, April 18 via FedEx. I'm within their 30 day refund policy. However, Alert 1 refuses to refund until I activate the product. They will return the product, at my expense, and for me to activate & return (also at my expense) before they would refund. In short, Alert 1 intentionally are being difficult to take advantage of their ELDERLY clients. I called their Sales Unit; Customer Service, Technical Support on the day I was returning the product. They are all CLOSED. There was NOBODY on their end to assist with any questions. It appears that their policy is once you BOUGHT IT, YOU'RE STUCKED WITH IT.

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

James H Surprise, AZ

I have 'tested' the system several times since signing up and in all instances the test failed. Each time the representative had a different excuse for the failure. I had signed up for my wife and me and she passed away three months later. I called the company after another failure (no answer, just continuous beeping), and was told I could cancel but no refund was possible. I am an 83 year old man on social security and now living alone. I still have 9 months on my contract. I have had 3 strokes and one heart attack I cannot take a chance on this system anymore. I'll let my contract run out but I'' not renew. Meanwhile I'll hope I can use my telephone and 911 when I need it. GO TO ANOTHER COMPANY, NOT ALERT 1.

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Danielle Hays Lebanon, TN

DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY. My grandmother was set up with Alert 1 by her home health agency after she was diagnosed with terminal cancer. She literally received her Alert 1 in the mail less than 12 hours before she passed away. When I called the next day to inform them of her passing, they informed me she was set up with a quarterly account and no refund would be available. I was even willingly to a pay for a month but that I thought it was ridiculous since her family did not know she was signed up for 4 mos. given she was only given 2 mos to live and they did not care and were not willing to give any type of refund of any sort.

4 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Daphne Gregory-Thomas Mendham, NJ

Do not use this service! I got it for my elderly father and 6 months later he fell. I called to cancel since he was hospitalized and would be going into a nursing home. I was told I could not cancel for that year and when I asked what I was supposed to do , they suggested I give it away to someone else who may need it or donate it. They did not suggest, remind me, or send instructions regarding equipment return. I told them to cancel the service as soon as possible but could not get a refund for the unused time. 6 months later I got a bill for the next year and called again. I was then told I did not return the equipment and would be charged for the year AND the long gone equipment. When I reminded them of our previous conversation and that they told me to “donate “ or “give it to someone else who could use it” they THEN sent me an email with instructions on how to return it. I called back many times after that and finally settled the issue with an account rep who said she understood the misinterpretation of my first phone call and that the account would be closed with my previous year’s annual fee covering the missing equipment. Done deal? Not really... TODAY I got a bill for over one thousand dollars for this year’s fee and the missing equipment!!!!! I reminded them to check their notes which they did and confirmed my conversations with them. However, they were unyielding , rude, and insistent that I owed this money! My dad used this service for 5 months and the total was over $1,500 because of their poor communication and customer service. I informed them that my father died months ago and there was no money to pay these unwarranted fees! Answer: Sorry to hear that but you need to pay! DO NOT USE THIS SERVICE!!!! Customer service stinks!!!

4 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

tanya griffin Las Vegas, NV

Alert 1 Emergency alert for disabled mom 5 day battery -but it doesn't hold a Charge for more than 12 hours. My mother must wake up early at 5 am to Charge the battery for three hours everyday before she can venture away from the house. And then again at 5pm for three hours. At this time the emergency button is causing her more stress instead of making her feel confident and safe. The company switched her from a 30 day button due to cell tower changes and have given me two different buttons that have both not held a charge. Alert 1 refuses to give me a refund for the remainder of the year I have already paid for so I can afford a service that actually benefits my disabled mother so she Feels confident that emergency services can be reached when she leaves the house. The customer service has been less than poor. They have basically laughed at me when I asked what can be done with addressing the issue which I have brought to their attention. The product has been garbage but I am stuck with the malfunctioning device through the end of the year. IF YOU CARE ABOUT YOUR LOVED ONE, DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!

4 years ago

star star star star star

PennyTuberosa Tampa, FL

Thank you for the expedient response when my mother, Naomi was needing the immediate assistance. The turn around time as provided assistance could not have been better.

4 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

John

Service is mostly good. What I don't like is telephone responders tend to call the paramedics before trying to reach family members for non emergency situations such as a person having difficulty getting out of bed or having a BM accident.

4 years ago

star star star star star_border

Brandon Singleton Los Angeles, CA

Used Alert1 first time - dispatch of local emergency response and the Alert1 operators who communicated with family members was excellent! Only concern - it took 2+ minutes for Alert1 to respond after hitting call button.

5 years ago