Best Company Guarantee Spectrum Logo

Spectrum

star star star star_half star_border

7.2

Overall Score

error This company may not service all states.
See states serviced
LAST UPDATED: February 28th, 2024

Spectrum has been operating since 1993 and is a household name in the United States. The company, which recently merged with Time Warner Cable and Bright House Networks, serves more than six million people, making it the fourth largest cable company and one of the largest internet providers in the country. 

Spectrum provides internet speeds up to 60 Mbps with no data caps. Its internet service requires a one-year contract.

View Spectrum Reviews

Spectrum offers services in a huge span of the country, especially compared to other internet service providers. 

Spectrum has been able to grow rapidly in just a few decades, attributing this success in part to its customer service commitment. That commitment involves a fast broadband network and all the tools necessary to meet internet connection needs. 

The Spectrum team is willing to help their customers in any way they can to have a positive experience with their company. They offer cable and fiber-optic internet plans.

thumb_up

The Good

  • No Data Caps
  • Short Wait Window
  • Spectrum Enterprise
  • Bundling Options
  • No Hidden Fees

No Data Caps

Spectrum internet doesn't limit its customers with data caps. A lot of competitors have data limits, and when customers go over these limits they pay fees or their services are disrupted. It's a convenience worth looking into, and this feature alone may be what steers you to Spectrum.

Short Wait Window

The Spectrum internet team knows losing internet service can mean losing time and money. At some point, you'll probably need a technician to come to your home or business to work on network equipment. 

Many companies who send out technicians leave the time window wide open and make the customer wait for hours for the technician. Thankfully, Spectrum is different. They set a two hour window that the technician will be there. If the technician does not make the allotted time, Spectrum will pay the customer $20.

They also have a 30-day money-back guarantee their customers can take advantage of if they are not satisfied with their service or the products they receive.

Spectrum Enterprise

Spectrum offers fiber-optic business internet for companies who want a fast connection for phone, internet, and TV service. Spectrum Enterprise also delivers cloud services for their business customers.

Bundling Options

While Spectrum may not have a variety of standalone internet packages, they do have several options that can help you bundle internet, phone service, and cable channels:

  • Spectrum Double Play — $89.98 per month, 125+ channels and 100 Mbps
    • Silver — $109.98 per month, 175+ channels and 100 Mbps
    • Gold — $129.98 per month, 200+ channels and 100 Mbps
  • Spectrum Internet & Phone — $64.98 per month, unlimited calling and 100 Mbps
  • Spectrum Triple Play Select — $99.97 per month, 125+ channels, unlimited calling, and 100 Mbps
    • Triple Play Silver — $119.97 per month, 175+ channels, unlimited calling, and 100 Mbps
    • Triple Play Gold — $139.97 per month, 200+ channels, unlimited calling, and 100 Mbps

No Hidden Fees

While Spectrum does charge a fee to lease a router and another fee for installation, the company is more transparent than some service providers in the industry. Be sure to read contract terms thoroughly and take time to understand billing, your monthly rate, and whether you'll pay more after a certain duration of service.

thumb_down

The Bad

  • Limited Internet-Only Packages Available
  • Highest Download Speed is 60 Mbps

Limited Internet-Only Packages Available

Most internet service providers try to meet various audience needs by offering many different plans and bundles. These packages usually have a large selection of internet speeds (download and upload speeds), features, and prices to choose from. With all of these options, you're more likely to find the best fit for your specific internet and pricing needs. This is not the case with Spectrum internet, as they only offer their customers one package:

  • Spectrum Internet: 60 Mbps for $44.99 per month

If you're only looking for internet and this package doesn't impress you, you'll need to choose another ISP.

However, you may be interested in Spectrum's internet and cable TV bundling options.

Highest Download Speed is 60 Mbps

Spectrum offers an internet speed of 60 Mbps. Some competitors offer high-speed internet up to 1 Gbps for slightly higher prices. Potential customers will have to decide what speed they need and if Spectrum internet service is capable of delivering these needs.

gavel

The Bottom Line

Overall, Spectrum Internet is a good choice for those customers who are looking for relatively quick speeds in their internet network. The package it offers would work best for those customers who know exactly what they are looking for and do not need a lot of variety.

View Best Internet Service Companies

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

We'll Introduce You!

Call our recommended rep over at Spectrum below.

1-(844) 784-2149
bestcompany guarantee

Best Company guarantees your satisfaction if you choose a company that has earned this distinction. If you're not satisfied after 30 days, simply let us know and we'll give you $200. Yes, it's really that simple.

Learn More About Our Guarantee

Star Rating

info

3.7

star star star star_half star_border

1,205 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

31%

4 grade

25%

3 grade

21%

2 grade

9%

1 grade

14%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star_border star_border

Quality

star star star star_half star_border

Service

star star star star_half star_border

Trustworthiness

star star star star_half star_border
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Alisia A Steverson

Spectrum high-speed internet service is ok, but if I could get another internet service in my area I would. They are always going out and I work from home, so most of the time I cannot complete my job

4 weeks ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Chris G

They are better than anyone else in the area, but our internet goes out frequently and have to reset box. Each tech that comes out says they've fixed the problem, whether they've put in new wiring somewhere or replaced a box. But the problem always comes back within a few hours - weeks. Also the jump from their introductory rate to 1 year later is shameful! Every year you have to leave for a few weeks/months or threaten to leave (once you've shown you will follow through) to get the price back down to less than absolute robbery!

3 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

KATHLEEN KOTARA Katy, TX

Had a basic package of internet, TV, and mobile phone. I didn't need or want the phone service but had to keep it since it was a part of the initial introductory package. I told them I was on a fixed income and the most important item I required was the internet for my online business. My first year bills averaged around $145 per month. After the first year and the special introductory offer expired my bill jumped to an average of $260 a month for the exact same service. Then in Sept. 2023 my bill went up to $308 dollars a month. I could not afford this so I canceled the TV and phone service. I kept the internet and now my bill is around $117 a month with no specials or discounts applied. Service is moderately stable but I have had my internet go down more times than I would like. When we had the basic TV service it would go down at least once a month, sometimes for 24 to 72 hours. When the internet works it meets my needs.

4 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Annette Branson, MO

Wifi cuts out numerous times a week and they show no issues. They seem to raise overall cable internet rated by a couple of dollars every 3-4 months.

1 month ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Courtney De La Paz

Internet always goes out. Far from my favorite but it’s good for the prices.

6 days ago

star star star star_border star_border

A 1 Mesquite, TX

I had Spectrum in the past and I've considered going back to them. Although they offer 'no contract' options, their prices aren't much different from AT&T U-verse. This is the reason that I'm still with AT&T. I will say that Spectrum service is reliable although finding a branch location to retrieve and return equipment isn't very convenient. I had to travel to very undesirable neighborhood during the time that I was a customer. Frankly, that was one of the reasons I decided to do away with their service. Undesirable services tends to come with undesirable neighborhoods. When calling them on yesterday to consider getting their internet only, the representative I spoke with repeatedly gave me bundled service prices against my request. He asked me if I was interested in signing up and I told him no because he ignored my question just so that he could pitch a higher sale. He then told me that he was doing his job and I told him that his job was to listen to the customer FIRST... I assumed that was part of the job. I wish someone could listen to the call. I'm sure Spectrum did not train him in that manner. If you're not interested in a contract, this may be a good option.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Jessica Prater Ringgold, GA

I really like their customer service are or at least try to be as helpful as they can. The price for Spectrum is expensive it's ridiculous. For the longest time we couldn't use our DVR to record shows. Pause or fast forward would work either. They finally sent a worker to my house to try to fix the issue. It did for a few hours then right back to not working. I believe it's a problem at the pole and we have told them that, but they haven't fixed it yet. I get it's a digital service so there will be problems with some skipping and freezing but it's really bad where I live. The Internet often goes down once or twice a week . Overall it's ok.

11 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Kelsey Connelly Buffalo, NY

The internet works good when it’s hard wired,but I usually have to turn the wifi off on my phone to get anything to load

2 months ago

star star star star_border star_border

Amanda George IL

I had this company for internet and TV. I got a good bundle price each month, but the internet speeds were very slow. Tried to get faster speeds but was told I was at the highest speed available for the area I lived in.

7 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

JK Morgan Converse, TX

When I contacted spectrum inquiring if they serviced my area the agent said I was required to set up an account before I could find out . I declined. The agent the advised me I would be rejected if I called back. Again I declined. Hard sell tactic like that is poor service. Shame on spectrum.

6 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Shirley Vickinovac Lincoln, NE

When we had spectrum as our home/business Internet, I rarely had issues. My husband now has spectrum for his home Internet as he travels for work and he cannot get a wireless signal, the company wanted to have him install everything himself, and then still wanted to charge him for that.

8 months ago

star star star star_border star_border

Kathy Haiker

I am conflicted. The internet speed is decent but for home phone, internet and basic cable it's almost $190 per month. That's crazy. I called and if I take off the tv access I'll save almost $100. So that's what I'll probably do. They have priced themselves out of my league and I'll get one of the services offered online. Shoot for what I'm saving I could get a few service.

3 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

David Winn Cedar Springs, MI

Three calls to their tech's were required to fix a problem that shut down all services, internet, phone and TV. It was only after all the neighbors complained about the same problem that it was fixed. Only a few days later the Spectrum supplied virus program labeled the Spectrum(Charter) Email program as harmful. The work around is easy but the problem still exist.

4 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Kimberly Cohoes, NY

Internet is slow and spotty; customer service could be better.

4 weeks ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Nick Engledow Avon, IN

Internet is great and fast. Lots of channel and package options

4 weeks ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Tiisha Burrell Cleveland, OH

Been using Spectrum for at least the last 10 years . It’s slower than expected due to the cost of it, but that’s because it’s so many customers and not any other internet service providers in my local area. I think the price is sort of high compared to other companies which is not available on my side of town. But again it’s all we have in my neighborhood, which is the east side of Cleveland. I just wish it wouldn’t buffer so much during my favorite shows. Spectrum should also do something for their loyal customers to show appreciation.

10 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Todd Vallin Tampa, FL

All cable companies are bad at what they do for what you pay, I've had them all,cant continue changing accounts all the time,outages often 3yrs in this residence, have had them here minimum of 20 times,and at least 50 calls, and billing not good 3 separate times payment went to different accounts, service disconnected twice,even after they said it wouldn't be.

11 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Brittany Gould Augusta, ME

Unfortunately the area that I live in has very limited selection for internet and phone providers. Although I currently enjoy being able to receive discounted internet service from Spectrum, I haven’t always been happy with their customer service. I also think that they should allow people to make payment arrangements when or if they have fallen behind on their bill, instead of just disconnecting the service. Although they do allow you to go a couple of months behind before disconnecting your service, I believe that this should be an option. Many other utility providers allow arrangements for payment to be made, so why don’t they? On top of that, I have also paid for the highest wifi data connection that they offer, when I test the speed of my internet, it is NEVER what I am supposed to be receiving for what I pay for. I believe that if I pay the extra for the best connection possible, which isn’t cheap, I should be able to get what I pay for. But unfortunately this is basically the only wifi and high speed provider in my area.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Daisy's Mom West Bend, WI

We've used Spectrum for years and years and are less enthused each passing year. It seems they offer less, but continue to charge more. Seriously, cell service? No thanks Spectrum. Always going to their "new" channel first? No thanks on that too. For real, the same cables that are in the ground now, and have been there for decades, why do the fees go up and up and up? Supposedly faster service? No, I don't think so. But, once in a while you encounter a fabulous customer service person who actually finds savings for a year or two. Oh, and they're the only internet provider in our area. So yeah, captive audience unfortunately.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Andrea Simpson Forney, TX

I have been a customer for years. The price is always fluctuation and so does the service. They are usually very quick to fix issues but I do think some lines need to be replaced to avoid the constant outages.

6 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Karina Segura Hesperia, CA

Internet service was ok at first. Ultimately switched providers because I kept having to call customer service way too many times due to Internet not working. Unsure if it was due to my area

7 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Delisa Rideout Wasco, CA

Not the best or the worst in terms of consistency with our signal. Prices are reasonable. Pretty responsive in the past when we have had issues we could not resolve ourselves.

8 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Ms Missy McDonough, GA

Spectrum is pretty pricey but they alert you to outages constantlyand they do not have many outages. I've been a customer for several years and I haven't had an issue with coverage.

8 months ago

star star star star_border star_border

Joshua Foster Gardnerville, NV

Spectrum has good customer service for the most part . When there service works it works amazing my problem is with there mobile service it’s terrible where I live and after calling 20 times and being told it must be my new iPhone 12 SIM card and that I was stuck with crappie phone service I wouldn’t recommend it at all

2 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Tammy Koch St Louis, MO

I was a customer for over 15 years and the costs just kept increasing exponentially. I got tired of calling every few years to negotiate a new rate. The internet speed was OK most of the time and most of my interaction with CSR's was OK. In the end, I just felt like I wasn't a valued long-time customer.

2 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

b zilla Spring Hill, FL

typical internet cable provider, they are there to make money they only care about share holders. customers are not important to them and unfortunately they are the only provider we have, as soon as another one can get out here i am jumping off this rat infested boat

2 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Ty Williams Irvine, CA

They could be more reasonable Price wise. Prime example I returned internet equipment with spectrum & they still reported that I never returned it on my credit report now I have to constantly let whoever buys the debt know that I returned the items & that I shouldn't be getting charged for this equipment.

3 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

LIZ MUSCH Long Beach, CA

very bumpy, both in NYC and Long Beach, CA. Coverage/service not always terrific, but always difficult to get help/customer service. Also they aren't flexible: recently wanted to put TV service on seasonal hold, they agreed, and then they turned everything off and it took me 24h to get internet back on

3 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Michael

they offered free wifi and a good rate. Then without notice, they started changing for the wifi after 2 years. it wasn't part of the agreement. then they increased rates for 2 months in a row. i called customer service and they insisted that i always paid for wifi and that wasn't true.

4 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Sally Schenectady, NY

customer service reps are great. Internet isn't very fast although supposedly I pay for the top speed. Fees are very high for "bundles" that only include one or two TV channels is use. And I resent "leasing" the box, can't own.

5 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Jeronimo New York, NY

Its has been generally good, their price is competitive and their product reliable. They could improve eith more efficient customer service sttention and particularly better acheduling methods for technicians; including availability and communciation.

5 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Ds Fort Worth, TX

Well, I would give less than a 1 to the experiences I have had with Charter over the years. But, my last experience with Spectrum would be a 5. They have definately upgraded their attitude and customer service since the purchase.

5 years ago

star star star star_border star_border

Rachel Bahl Rochester, MN

We have had charter for a number of years now. And the internet used to be pretty reliable. Lately we have been having to unplug our router over and over to get it to work sometimes. They also have not treated their techs very well, in the area we live.

5 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Louis

didn't like the service internet goes off

4 weeks ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Rhonda Hirner

Spotty wifi in upper apartments. Feel that they take advantage of people who spectrum is their only choice for cable. Constantly slowly raise your bill for stupid reasons and should offer better payment options for people retired or disabled

8 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Heather H Sanford, FL

Spectrum consistently raises their rates and throttles internet speeds. While Spectrum is easy to do business with, customers should expect zero rewards for being a loyal customer for years. Spectrum will always increase rates or give better deals through promotions to new customers only, leaving long-term customers with rate raising surprises.

10 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Jessica C Suwanee, GA

I would definitely for this service more the place that I'm at the Wi-Fi is terrible and it drops so many times like it's unbelievable how much it drops. We having to sign back in several times throughout the day. If it wasn't for that I would definitely rate five stars

10 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

BBQ Boy! LA

Over price! If an outage happens and your out of service you have to call for compensation. Sad it should be automatic. The price for the Internet is and cable is outrageous. When you do call they are quick to fix the problem or try to give you a "deal".

10 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Forrest Newtom Ringgold, GA

The only issue that I have with Spectrum is the price. The service is adequate.

1 month ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Laura Weber Red Oak, IA

Was good when we first got it but price increases were out of control

1 month ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Mareema Hein Eugene, OR

It was really hard to find a plan that was straightforward and transparently cheap enough once the bill came to actually afford. Had some difficulty getting everything up and running and was still billed for the whole time we were evacuated from the wildfires. The bill is now in collection. Decent actual cable and internet though if you can afford it and if you get a straight quote stating what you're actually gonna pay.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

LCV Maddox

Spectrum's customer service is hit or miss, usually miss, unfortunately, because apparently, they pressure their customer service reps to sell more stuff and services when customers call to complain about the cable or internet being down. But at least their technicians are competent and at least in my experience aren't trying to sell more things or services to you!

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Joan Bridge Milwaukee, WI

We have Spectrum in our area and for the most part, the service is very good. Installation has become a problem because they have been outsourcing the installers and the communication between the 3rd party providers and customers is clumsy leaving long gaps (sometimes days) between order and service. Customer Service generally very good but wait times over very long. Plan to wait at least an hour to get your issue including billing resolved.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Jazz Rock Fusion & Synthesizer Music Wake Forest, NC

Overall they are a solid company providing us with internet, cable TV and phone service. Their techs are not professional and can be very irritating and downright lazy when doing installations. Their pricing is tricky and you have to jump through many hoops to find a decent deal. On top of that, you have to renegotiate a deal every 12 months instead of them offering longtime customers deals that lasted. Oh well.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Taylor Lindholm Hallowell, ME

Spectrum is sub-par. I have experienced both a business and personal account through spectrum and received equally ok internet and customer service. Patchy reception, frequent outages, and hidden fees are the first three words that come to mind with the people Internet that is provided. Customer service inquiries can take upwards to 1-2 hours to speak with someone. I will say they are always friendly at the service center and the techs are as well - it’s more a company issue than an employee - like most. Overall there is not much to choose in the ME areas, so it gets the job done.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Lando Morales San Antonio, TX

We were a customer with Spectrum (Time Warner) for nearly 10 years. I cannot recommend. The last 3 years have been ok, we had the ultimate package for about $140 per month, with only one or two outaged, but the previous 7 years were a nightmare. If you can get Google Fiber, choose that. But if yor choice is between AT& T and Spectrum, spectrum is better in everyway

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Kevin Peterson Orlando, FL

Been with Spectrum for over 4 years now. Speed of internet is fair although can be a bit laggy if the kids are playing online which is a big complaint for them and a reason we may look elsewhere. For working from home on a direct connection it gets the job done. Pricing could be better but I don't feel it is overly expensive for the product deliveres.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Shannon Renee Chagrin Falls, OH

The service provided for internet is superior compared to other options in the area, but the customer service is lacking. They keep raising rates, even though you see promotions available online. As a customer you have to leave before they will give you the new rate. Stop playing games, just give your loyal customers that same rate as you are offerring for new customers and quit wasting time and money. I recently tried to switch to their mobile, it has been a disaster. Their customer service has not been great during this whole experience.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Yvonne Mosley Fayetteville, NC

Reliable Cable and Internet Service Provider. Friendly staff, technicians are knowledgeable. I forgot to return my equipment when I moved away from the area and my account was turned over to collections agency. I had no past due bill (paid on time or early). Spectrum could have provided support for returning the equipment or offered to include in payment package from the beginning of service. I was a customer for 10 years. Surely they were never going to reuse that old tech. But I guess collections is a stream of income for them.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Austin Sisneros Idaho Falls, ID

Not worth the money. If you can get approved for t-mobile internet, do it! So much easier. No installation! I purchased internet from them in Idaho falls, and it cost me almost 100 a month for a certain amount of capped gigabits. I went over a couple times on data and it was pricey to pay for more. I will say the staff were very nice and they always fixed my issues quickly while troubleshooting.

1 year ago Edited May 4, 2022