Pacific Debt Inc. Logo

Pacific Debt Inc.

star star star star star

6.8

Overall Score

error This company may not service all states.
See states serviced
LAST UPDATED: October 9th, 2023

Pacific Debt Inc. is a nationally recognized leader in debt settlement services. It requires a $10,000 minimum debt to offer services.

The company holds significant industry accreditations with the American Fair Credit Council (AFCC) and the International Association of Professional Debt Arbitrators (IAPDA). US News and World Reports also recognized Pacific Debt as one of the best debt settlement companies for 2018.

Pacific Debt was named the #1 Debt Settlement Company by Best Company for 2016. US News and World Reports and Bankrate ranked Pacific Debt as one of “The Best Debt Settlement Companies of 2020."

Pacific Debt has achieved a top spot on our list of debt settlement companies because it offers its debt relief services at one of the industry’s lowest prices. Pacific Debt's pricing ranges from 15 to 25 percent of the total debt you enroll. The company then personally negotiates with each lender to reach a settlement agreement. While negotiations are underway, clients stop making monthly payments on their bills and put the money into a separate account that is used to fund the negotiated settlement payment to each lender.

As a debt relief company, Pacific Debt specializes in unsecured debt, which is debt that doesn't have an asset or collateral tied to it. Examples of unsecured debt include student loan debt, medical debt, credit card debt, and utility bills.

The downside to Pacific Debt is that its debt management services may not be available in your state. For example, Pacific Debt does not operate in Washington, Oregon, Kansas, Vermont, or some other states. Headquartered in San Diego, the company has been in the debt settlement industry since 2002.

View Pacific Debt Inc. reviews below.

Top Ranked Companies

thumb_up

The Good

  • High Savings, Low Fees
  • Industry Accreditations
  • Positive Client Reviews
  • Personal Account Manager
  • Client Resources

High Savings, Low Fees

Throughout Pacific Debt’s website, the company prides itself on how much it has reduced personal debt. In most cases, the company can reduce your debt by 20 to 50 percent, which is significant in this industry.

Pacific Debt's ability to effectively settle your debts makes it much easier for you to pay the debts and be on the road towards being debt-free and enjoying financial freedom.

Not only can Pacific Debt reduce the amount borrowers pay on each of their unsecured debts, but it also has low fees. To work with Pacific Debt, you will pay the company 15 to 25 percent of your total enrolled debt. Most of the companies we have reviewed charge an average of 21 to 24 percent.

Though Pacific Debt does charge a percentage of enrolled debt for its settlement services, the nature of debt settlement companies makes it challenging to judge pricing (since individual pricing depends on each customer’s enrolled debt). However, the opportunity to pay a lower percentage increases your savings as you work to become debt-free.

Pacific Debt, Inc. also does not charge upfront fees for settlement. Customers choosing a debt settlement company should only work with companies with no upfront fees.

Industry Accreditations

According to consumers, one essential thing a debt settlement company should offer is accreditation. Pacific Debt is accredited with the AFCC and the IAPDA. Being an accredited member of the AFCC means Pacific Debt submits its website for an audit each year. The AFCC makes sure its accredited members conform to industry standards and strives to protect consumers.

Positive Customer Reviews

Pacific Debt reviews are overwhelmingly positive and speak highly of its customer service. The most common review we see of Pacific Debt is that company representatives know what they are talking about when clients call. They keep clients informed throughout the entire settlement process.

Many clients also praise Pacific Debt for early settlements. A debt settlement company’s main job is to negotiate a lower total debt with a customer's creditors, and the sooner this happens, the better it is for the client.

Though debt settlement can negatively impact a client's credit score, it will also relieve debt for customers with nowhere else to turn — those who already have lower credit scores.

Credit card debt, medical debt, and student loans are difficult to escape, but companies like Pacific Debt are designed to protect you from creditors and debt collectors; that's why it's essential to take a close look at Pacific Debt reviews.

Previous clients are the best reference for checking the quality of debt settlement companies and debt consolidation companies. Positive reviews and a high rate of customer satisfaction can indicate that you will also have a good experience, should you choose to work with Pacific Debt. 

Personal Account Manager

When a client agrees to a debt settlement program, Pacific Debt assigns each client a personal account manager as a debt specialist.

This single point of contact works with clients throughout the entire negotiation and settlement process. This may be another reason why clients seem to love Pacific Debt, as not having an assigned debt specialist is one of the most common complaints of other debt relief companies, like National Debt Relief.

Working with a single point of contact is especially great for clients because they do not get passed to different people. It ensures that their questions are answered and that their needs are met.

Client Resources

Clients who wish to receive an education more specific to their circumstances will not be disappointed by Pacific Debt's online resources.

The company website clearly defines each of the clients' various options within debt relief, even some that Pacific Debt doesn't offer (including consumer credit counseling, bankruptcy, and debt consolidation). It then clearly outlines the benefits and downsides to each of the debt relief options.

Because debt settlement and debt negotiation are better options for long-term debt, clients are encouraged to consider not making minimum payments, as there are more efficient ways to become debt-free. The online company resources say that debt negotiation is a much more aggressive approach to debt relief and may result in a lower credit score.

In addition to online resources, potential clients can have a free consultation with a certified debt counselor who will review their financial situation and options for becoming debt-free. Providing comprehensive information allows potential clients to make better decisions about addressing their debt.

thumb_down

The Bad

  • Service Limited to Certain States
  • Doesn't Work With Secured Debt

Service Limited to Certain States

While there are unique perks to using Pacific Debt (relief from credit card debt, medical bills, student loans, etc.), unfortunately, they are not available to everyone. Pacific Debt offers services only in certain states. 

This leaves much of the United States unable to take advantage of Pacific Debt's low cost, industry experience, and customer service. Some debt settlement companies are available in all 50 states, so compared to the industry, Pacific Debt is lacking in state availability.

However, if Pacific Debt Inc. is available in your state, it is a great option when choosing a debt settlement company. You can find out if Pacific Debt operates where you live by consulting the company's website.

Doesn't Work With Secured Debt

Pacific Debt does not indicate anywhere that it can help people seeking relief from secured debt, such as mortgage loans, car loans, or other forms of debt that are attached to some form of collateral. Most of the debt relief companies we have reviewed also do not offer debt relief services for secured debt, so if you have exclusively secured debt and no unsecured debt, you probably won't be able to work with a debt relief company but rather will need to work with your lender or credit counselor to find other solutions for you.

gavel

The Bottom Line

Debt management programs like debt settlement are highly complex and challenging to do right, and there is always a level of risk involved in paying another company to handle your debt. So, if you are looking for a debt relief option, Pacific Debt's high customer reviews are critical to you making the best decision for your debt situation. 

Compared to debt consolidation companies, a debt settlement program is usually approached as a last resort, when you have a low credit score and lack the money to make monthly payments.

Settlement companies negotiate with lenders for a lower total debt. Pacific Debt focuses on unsecured debt, including student loan debt, health care debt, personal loan debt, payday loans, and consumer debt (e.g., credit card debt). If a consolidation loan is not a good fit for your financial situation, debt settlement may be a good fit.

Debt settlement allows you to eventually recover your credit score quicker than bankruptcy (which stays on your credit report for up to 10 years) and saves you from debt collectors. Pacific Debt does a fantastic job of negotiating lower debt with your creditors.

The positive Pacific Debt reviews speak for themselves. If you find yourself more than $10,000 in debt — student loans, medical bills, or high outstanding balances on your credit card — and live in a state that Pacific Debt services, we highly recommend using Pacific Debt to help  you pay off your debt. The company is held to high industry standards as a member of all four major accreditation organizations, and it has a proven track record of settling debts for much less than what is owed.

View Best Debt Relief Companies

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Star Rating

info

4.8

star star star star star

2,381 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

84%

4 grade

13%

3 grade

2%

2 grade

1%

1 grade

1%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star star_half

Quality

star star star star star_half

Service

star star star star star_half

Trustworthiness

star star star star star_half
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Disappointed Hubert, NC

Was not explained exactly what to expect. This was the hardest thing I ever did depending on people that I never saw or met. Many times my calls were not returned when I thought my settlements were paid I still got served civil summons. One check for over $1600.00 went somewhere that was found out when on a teleconference with the debt collector and Pacific debt. I will never go through this type of process again. Lesson learned. I daily watched my account with Pacific Debt and Crossroads. Thank God I did. I questions constantly many transactions that did not add up. I got my self where I was financially and Pacific Debt helped. But it was a horrible experience.

6 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Larry Saline Sr

Over the course of the time that we've been with them, we paid through a little over $3,000 and they only made a tentative settlement on two accounts and they charged us $1,000 for making the tentative settlement on each account. So, they took $2,000 for themselves and only put roughly $700 towards paying down the balance on those two accounts. I would not sign up with them again.

5 years ago

Pacific Debt Inc. Logo

Reply from Pacific Debt Inc.

Thank you for taking the time to share your review of our service. In reviewing your program, I show we negotiated two settlements representing over $4800 in savings based on the current balances. Both of those settlements are on hold, as you have not made a program payment since December 2017. In reviewing our notes, it appears that things have been hold due to a separate financial matter outsider of the program. With that said, we want to do everything to help and support you through this process. I've shared your review with our Account Management team and we will be reaching out to you to see if there is anything further was can do to help you get back on track. We certainly want to keep you as a customer and deliver the level of service you expect.

May. 7th, 2018

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Collette Roberts Rockingham, NC

I get a statement on my email every month, so other than that, I don't have any kind of contact with other people. That kind of annoys me. The first 3 months were wonderful, and everything was great, until we started dealing with this new girl, Christine I believe.

6 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Wanda Howard Alexander City, AL

They've all been really nice to me! I can call knowing that my questions will be answered. I've never had any problems with them so far. Overall, they're really nice people to work with, and they got my bills straightened out for me. I just enjoyed being a part of the program.

6 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Jorge Galicia Gardena, CA

I feel like very important information was left out on my first conversation/interaction with the agent. If that information would've been disclosed to me I'd have taken my time to sign the documents.

3 years ago

Pacific Debt Inc. Logo

Reply from Pacific Debt Inc.

Thank you for sharing your review. I see that you enrolled a couple of months ago and recently completed your Welcome Call with our Client Care team. Our goal is to educate clients on our program, and their options, prior to enrollment. I see from the notes that there were some misunderstandings in terms of when negotiations take place, based on the conversation you had with Client Care. We will review your enrollment experience and use it to improve our process. Rest assured you are in good hands and we will strive to get you out of debt asap. Please call our Client Care team anytime you need an update or have a question.

Mar. 10th, 2020

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Jodee

In the beginning they were very attentive and had great communication and now that we are in the settwlmwnt process I have not heard from them in over 2 months without me contacting them first.

5 years ago

Pacific Debt Inc. Logo

Reply from Pacific Debt Inc.

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review. I have passed along your feedback directly to your Account Manager to ensure he follows up to update you on your account. A quick review of your program shows that enrolled in July of last year. Your original program estimate was 36 months and we appear to be right on track. To date, we have entered into settlements on your two Capital One Accounts - both were settled for approx 50% of the existing balances, representing a combined savings of approx $3400. Congratulations. You have four remaining accounts, and we should be able to settle those within the estimated 36 month estimate (roughly 26 months remaining).

May. 15th, 2018

star star star_border star_border star_border

Donna Adams Roundup, MT

I was looking into debt settlement companies and I came across Pacific Debt first. I called and spoke to a lovely young woman named Matisse . She spent considerable time with me going over my concerns, as well she should, it being a free consultation. This was on a Saturday. I told her I had things to consider and think about so I would call her at 11 am the following Monday, today. I decided to go with another company for a variety of reasons. I called Pacific Debt and told the woman who answered that I had spoken to Matisse but decided to go elsewhere but to note that Matisse did a very good job. Okay, she would pass the message. Well, a few hours later I received a call from Matisse wanting to know why I went somewhere else, what did they do that she didn't, that she had spent considerable time with me and thought I would be going with their program. She was mildly aggressive and finally said good luck to me in a very sarcastic tone. Shocking really. Since this is the way your consultants speak to potential customers I would not ever recommend your company. However, I would also not persuade anyone to go elsewhere if they chose your company just because of my experience. Perhaps Matisse was just having a bad day but I am glad I went elsewhere.

2 years ago

Pacific Debt Inc. Logo

Reply from Pacific Debt Inc.

Donna - thank you for sharing your review. We apologize for the service you received and will work with our team to do better. We are glad you were able to get help and genuinely appreciate your feedback.

Jul. 1st, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Monica E

They settle the higher debts to get more money and leave the smaller ones that could be paid settled with a couple of payments because they don't make money off of those.

5 years ago

Pacific Debt Inc. Logo

Reply from Pacific Debt Inc.

Monica our goal is always to settle the right debt at the right time. We never settle a debt based on the fee we generate. After all, our goal is to settle ALL of your debts. With that said, our number one priority is to settle the accounts first that pose the largest threat in terms of creditor collection activities. Often times, the larger balances run the highest risk of a creditor attempting to sue you to collect and we want to avoid that at all times. Please feel free to call your dedicated account manager for a review of your accounts and also remember that you must authorize all settlements before we proceed.

May. 1st, 2018

star star star_border star_border star_border

Heidi Irving, TX

Pacific Debt really didn’t save me much of anything after their 22% fee and the fact that they don’t negotiate with companies for 6+ months. This means the interest and fees continue to accrue and then when it is negotiated it is on that new amount along with their fee. I essentially agreed to pay almost the original debt owed when entering into the program for the majority of my accounts but also now have bad credit! The only good thing is the fact that they make all of the payments to the creditors and you only have one monthly lump autodraft.

4 years ago

Pacific Debt Inc. Logo

Reply from Pacific Debt Inc.

Thank you so much for sharing your review. Just to address a couple of your concerns: 1) When we negotiate with each creditor it is a function of timing or money. We often negotiate earlier than 6 months but that will depend on your delinquency status and ability to save funds. Remember, our goal is to save you as much money as possible. The reality is, that if you are current or close to current on your accounts, the creditors will not approve a significant discount on your account. We understand that the early stages of the program can be nerve racking, but ultimately if you stick with the program and remain patient, you will see the results. 2) With regards to total savings, a 20-30% savings versus your enrolled balance is typical when accounting for our fees. That said, be mindful that most clients are only making at or near the minimum payments when enrolling, which means they are on track to pay 2-3 time what they currently owe. So the true savings is the years of interest you would otherwise pay. Additionally, our fees are 100% contingent upon results. We only earn our fee if you realize a savings and approve the settlements obtained. We also charge flat simple interest, not compounded interest like your creditors. We hope as you progress through the program you will realize the benefits and savings and we can earn a 5 star review from you in the future.

Nov. 13th, 2019

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Luis Cameron, MO

After being signed up with them for 9 months two accounts went legal?! How does that happen if they have been reaching out to these companies?

5 years ago

Pacific Debt Inc. Logo

Reply from Pacific Debt Inc.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. In reviewing your program, I show you enrolled approximately $28000 in debt with 15 different creditors. At the time of enrollment. many of these accounts were already one year behind. We have entered into 4 settlements during those nine months, all with law offices. Be mindful that we can not force creditors to not take legal action, but in most cases we ultimately can and will get the accounts resolved. In your particular circumstance, I see that you Account Manager is aware of the situation as your faxed him the paperwork, thank you. I will have him follow up with you to give you an update for the game plan to address these accounts.

May. 9th, 2018

star star star_border star_border star_border

jennifer pannebecker Lititz, PA

I get passed around to many account managers I on my 3rd which causes a lot of confusion and the 2nd one I had Jen had very poor communication and was not much help josh was a big help he tried very hard for me and kept me well informed we will see how the 3rd one ellen hill does hopefully she will be better but I have littlie faith in PDI

8 years ago

star star star_border star_border star_border

Lisa Brooklyn, NY

Thusfar Pacific has assisted me with the sstart in help I need to get out debt. I look forward to evening able to give an excellent review after experiencing this Companies expertise and professionalism.

6 years ago

star star star_border star_border star_border

mayan Brookfield, WI

The assistance and answering my questions was great. I do not like the fact that my interest will be so high when we don't even know yet what I will be saving.

3 years ago

Pacific Debt Inc. Logo

Reply from Pacific Debt Inc.

Thank you for taking the time to share your review. I see you recently enrolled in our program. Please be mindful we do not charge any interest on your account, but your enrolled accounts will likely still accrue interest during the early stages of the program. The fees we earn are 100% based on your success, meaning we only earn a fee once a debt has been resolved to your satisfaction. You have the opportunity to approve all settlements we negotiate. Additionally, the program estimate that was provided to you was a good faith estimate based on our years of experience.

Apr. 9th, 2020

star star star_border star_border star_border

Jo San Diego, CA

I am Not done yet with the settlements but I I will let you afterwards. So far it is taking longer to complete than what was quoted it would take to complete

7 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Anonymous Meadville, PA

Lack of communication and debt settlements are not in my best interest!

6 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star_border star_border star_border

Stephen Honeycutt

Some info provided did not pan out and reviews were poor

3 years ago

Pacific Debt Inc. Logo

Reply from Pacific Debt Inc.

Thank you for sharing your review. We will have a manager reach out to get more details in terms of the reviews and information you are referencing. Customer Service is at the core of what we do and your feedback is appreciated.

Nov. 13th, 2020