Pacific Debt Inc. Logo

Pacific Debt Inc.

star star star star star

6.8

Overall Score

error This company may not service all states.
See states serviced
LAST UPDATED: October 9th, 2023

Pacific Debt Inc. is a nationally recognized leader in debt settlement services. It requires a $10,000 minimum debt to offer services.

The company holds significant industry accreditations with the American Fair Credit Council (AFCC) and the International Association of Professional Debt Arbitrators (IAPDA). US News and World Reports also recognized Pacific Debt as one of the best debt settlement companies for 2018.

Pacific Debt was named the #1 Debt Settlement Company by Best Company for 2016. US News and World Reports and Bankrate ranked Pacific Debt as one of “The Best Debt Settlement Companies of 2020."

Pacific Debt has achieved a top spot on our list of debt settlement companies because it offers its debt relief services at one of the industry’s lowest prices. Pacific Debt's pricing ranges from 15 to 25 percent of the total debt you enroll. The company then personally negotiates with each lender to reach a settlement agreement. While negotiations are underway, clients stop making monthly payments on their bills and put the money into a separate account that is used to fund the negotiated settlement payment to each lender.

As a debt relief company, Pacific Debt specializes in unsecured debt, which is debt that doesn't have an asset or collateral tied to it. Examples of unsecured debt include student loan debt, medical debt, credit card debt, and utility bills.

The downside to Pacific Debt is that its debt management services may not be available in your state. For example, Pacific Debt does not operate in Washington, Oregon, Kansas, Vermont, or some other states. Headquartered in San Diego, the company has been in the debt settlement industry since 2002.

View Pacific Debt Inc. reviews below.

Top Ranked Companies

thumb_up

The Good

  • High Savings, Low Fees
  • Industry Accreditations
  • Positive Client Reviews
  • Personal Account Manager
  • Client Resources

High Savings, Low Fees

Throughout Pacific Debt’s website, the company prides itself on how much it has reduced personal debt. In most cases, the company can reduce your debt by 20 to 50 percent, which is significant in this industry.

Pacific Debt's ability to effectively settle your debts makes it much easier for you to pay the debts and be on the road towards being debt-free and enjoying financial freedom.

Not only can Pacific Debt reduce the amount borrowers pay on each of their unsecured debts, but it also has low fees. To work with Pacific Debt, you will pay the company 15 to 25 percent of your total enrolled debt. Most of the companies we have reviewed charge an average of 21 to 24 percent.

Though Pacific Debt does charge a percentage of enrolled debt for its settlement services, the nature of debt settlement companies makes it challenging to judge pricing (since individual pricing depends on each customer’s enrolled debt). However, the opportunity to pay a lower percentage increases your savings as you work to become debt-free.

Pacific Debt, Inc. also does not charge upfront fees for settlement. Customers choosing a debt settlement company should only work with companies with no upfront fees.

Industry Accreditations

According to consumers, one essential thing a debt settlement company should offer is accreditation. Pacific Debt is accredited with the AFCC and the IAPDA. Being an accredited member of the AFCC means Pacific Debt submits its website for an audit each year. The AFCC makes sure its accredited members conform to industry standards and strives to protect consumers.

Positive Customer Reviews

Pacific Debt reviews are overwhelmingly positive and speak highly of its customer service. The most common review we see of Pacific Debt is that company representatives know what they are talking about when clients call. They keep clients informed throughout the entire settlement process.

Many clients also praise Pacific Debt for early settlements. A debt settlement company’s main job is to negotiate a lower total debt with a customer's creditors, and the sooner this happens, the better it is for the client.

Though debt settlement can negatively impact a client's credit score, it will also relieve debt for customers with nowhere else to turn — those who already have lower credit scores.

Credit card debt, medical debt, and student loans are difficult to escape, but companies like Pacific Debt are designed to protect you from creditors and debt collectors; that's why it's essential to take a close look at Pacific Debt reviews.

Previous clients are the best reference for checking the quality of debt settlement companies and debt consolidation companies. Positive reviews and a high rate of customer satisfaction can indicate that you will also have a good experience, should you choose to work with Pacific Debt. 

Personal Account Manager

When a client agrees to a debt settlement program, Pacific Debt assigns each client a personal account manager as a debt specialist.

This single point of contact works with clients throughout the entire negotiation and settlement process. This may be another reason why clients seem to love Pacific Debt, as not having an assigned debt specialist is one of the most common complaints of other debt relief companies, like National Debt Relief.

Working with a single point of contact is especially great for clients because they do not get passed to different people. It ensures that their questions are answered and that their needs are met.

Client Resources

Clients who wish to receive an education more specific to their circumstances will not be disappointed by Pacific Debt's online resources.

The company website clearly defines each of the clients' various options within debt relief, even some that Pacific Debt doesn't offer (including consumer credit counseling, bankruptcy, and debt consolidation). It then clearly outlines the benefits and downsides to each of the debt relief options.

Because debt settlement and debt negotiation are better options for long-term debt, clients are encouraged to consider not making minimum payments, as there are more efficient ways to become debt-free. The online company resources say that debt negotiation is a much more aggressive approach to debt relief and may result in a lower credit score.

In addition to online resources, potential clients can have a free consultation with a certified debt counselor who will review their financial situation and options for becoming debt-free. Providing comprehensive information allows potential clients to make better decisions about addressing their debt.

thumb_down

The Bad

  • Service Limited to Certain States
  • Doesn't Work With Secured Debt

Service Limited to Certain States

While there are unique perks to using Pacific Debt (relief from credit card debt, medical bills, student loans, etc.), unfortunately, they are not available to everyone. Pacific Debt offers services only in certain states. 

This leaves much of the United States unable to take advantage of Pacific Debt's low cost, industry experience, and customer service. Some debt settlement companies are available in all 50 states, so compared to the industry, Pacific Debt is lacking in state availability.

However, if Pacific Debt Inc. is available in your state, it is a great option when choosing a debt settlement company. You can find out if Pacific Debt operates where you live by consulting the company's website.

Doesn't Work With Secured Debt

Pacific Debt does not indicate anywhere that it can help people seeking relief from secured debt, such as mortgage loans, car loans, or other forms of debt that are attached to some form of collateral. Most of the debt relief companies we have reviewed also do not offer debt relief services for secured debt, so if you have exclusively secured debt and no unsecured debt, you probably won't be able to work with a debt relief company but rather will need to work with your lender or credit counselor to find other solutions for you.

gavel

The Bottom Line

Debt management programs like debt settlement are highly complex and challenging to do right, and there is always a level of risk involved in paying another company to handle your debt. So, if you are looking for a debt relief option, Pacific Debt's high customer reviews are critical to you making the best decision for your debt situation. 

Compared to debt consolidation companies, a debt settlement program is usually approached as a last resort, when you have a low credit score and lack the money to make monthly payments.

Settlement companies negotiate with lenders for a lower total debt. Pacific Debt focuses on unsecured debt, including student loan debt, health care debt, personal loan debt, payday loans, and consumer debt (e.g., credit card debt). If a consolidation loan is not a good fit for your financial situation, debt settlement may be a good fit.

Debt settlement allows you to eventually recover your credit score quicker than bankruptcy (which stays on your credit report for up to 10 years) and saves you from debt collectors. Pacific Debt does a fantastic job of negotiating lower debt with your creditors.

The positive Pacific Debt reviews speak for themselves. If you find yourself more than $10,000 in debt — student loans, medical bills, or high outstanding balances on your credit card — and live in a state that Pacific Debt services, we highly recommend using Pacific Debt to help  you pay off your debt. The company is held to high industry standards as a member of all four major accreditation organizations, and it has a proven track record of settling debts for much less than what is owed.

View Best Debt Relief Companies

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Star Rating

info

4.8

star star star star star

2,381 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

84%

4 grade

13%

3 grade

2%

2 grade

1%

1 grade

1%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star star_half

Quality

star star star star star_half

Service

star star star star star_half

Trustworthiness

star star star star star_half
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Edlin Hurtado

I had a consultation this morning with an advisor who by the way was great initially. I asked him to send over some information so I can then have a conversation with my husband. I spoke to my husband and asked him what his thoughts where. He went ahead and asked if he could possible have a credit card that was missed added to the list and see how much our payment would increase by, to my shock I went ahead and open my emails and this was his response closed it out. Very confused on what you guys plan on doing with your monthly overhead and current income. Way too much debt to do this on your own. This was your best option to become debt free quickly to buy a home one day. Going to waste a lot of money on interest and many years of your life trying. Good luck. Here if needed.) I immediately called back and was transferred to a supervisor I didn’t feel like he was genuine with his apology and decided to not go forward with this company it left a bad taste of this is their way of handling questions they may have not understood I wouldn’t trust them with my finances. By the way they could’ve called and asked for clarification at any given point. I offered to send my thread over as well I noticed that they didn’t ask to verify my complain.

4 months ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Steven Kuhn Surprise, AZ

I just had too many credit cards and high balances. The credit card companies were unwilling to work with me, so I tried to work with Pacific Debt Relief. Now I think I shouldn't have done it in the first place, I should've figured another way to do things. Whenever I called they would have no answers for me. I had to check online for progress updates, that was how I got most of my information. They didn't explain things well to me either. I wasn't told about how my taxes would work with them. I just got my 2017 taxes and I'm paying about $7,000 extra in taxes because I went through a debt relief program. Anybody else looking into a debt relief program should really look into everything.

6 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Sandra Burns Oroville, CA

Most of their consultants have been pretty nice, although, I do have to say that there was a time or two that I was pretty nasty. My daughter-in-law recommended it for me, and she now feels sorry about that. I was just not very pleased with them. If everybody would've been truthful from the beginning, I would've told them I couldn't afford what they charged down the line. My bill started at $305 a month, to $570 a month. I didn't like the fact that some promises were made, and that I was not getting anymore paper work from anybody. Being paid off is the good experience, but I guess I was expecting too much.

6 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Sharon Getlofs Albuquerque, NM

This has been a very bad experience, the account manager would say they would call back on a specific day and would not call that day. Would leave messages for account managers and it would take days to get a return call. I was assigned recently to new account manager who said there was another credit account that needed to be paid off when previous account manager had reported the one I recently paid was the last account. The present account manager could not find a record of the account that was paid off due to the previous account manager not having a record filed. I was told I would have to wait to next week for the manager to review the record because she was “out of town”. I would not recommend this company to settle a debt.

6 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Vincent DeBaggis South Dennis, MA

Overall, it has been a bad experience. They turned out to only care about their own profits and are greedy. They want to collect outrageous fees for little or no work on one of my settlements. They claim to be a consumer protection agency but make no mistake, they are a for profit company whose sole aim is to maximize profits at the expense of people trying to climb out of debt. I do not recommend them to anyone.

3 years ago

Pacific Debt Inc. Logo

Reply from Pacific Debt Inc.

Thank you for sharing your review. We are disappointed and surprised by the one star rating given the tremendous success you have had in our program. In looking at the accounts you have enrolled, we settled all four active accounts at an average of 36% of the current balance. You have saved tens of thousands of dollars, even after accounting for our fees. In terms of our program fees, yes we are a for profit entity, like most businesses, and have never represented ourselves as non profit. With most non profits, you would be paying back 100% of the balance plus interest. We also charge no upfront fees, meaning all of our fees are contingent on your success. The fact that we are for profit, does not negate the fact that we advocate for our clients and truly care about our clients and their program outcomes. It is surprising that you state you would not recommend our program to anyone, given that you just added an additional account to your program last month. Please reach out to your Account Manager, Nicole, should you need further assistance or clarification on the status of your program. Thank you for being a client and while we understand you are unhappy with certain aspects, we certainly appreciate your feedback and are happy to see that your enrolled accounts are in settlement status.

Jun. 5th, 2020

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

VM Pompano Beach, FL

*******ZERO STARS ******* !!!STAY CLEAR OF THIS COMPANY.!!!!!THEY ARE A BUNCH OF LIARS. FIRST THEY DON’T TELL YOU WHAT THEY REALLY ARE DOING IS SHUTTING THE LIGHT OUT ON YOUR CREDITORS, THRN YOU GET HUNDREDS OF CREDITORS CALLS A DAY. ALSO NEVER EVER REFER A FRIEND OR FAMILY MRMBER TO THEM IN HOPES OF GETTING A $ 200 REFERRAL BONUS CHECK THEY WILL LIE TO YOU AND STRING YOU ALONG FOR MONTHS TELLING YOY THEY SENT IT AND YOU WILL GET IT IN A WEEJ AND YOU WILL NEVER GET IT TERRIBLE COMPANY BUYER BEWARE !!!!!!!!!

4 years ago

Pacific Debt Inc. Logo

Reply from Pacific Debt Inc.

We are sorry to hear about your experience. One of our managers reached out this past Friday to address your concern about the referral fee. First off, your referral check for $200 was mailed on Sept 4th, you should have received it, or should be receiving it any day now. We do require that your referral clear their first full payment before the referral check is issued. Secondly, we make every effort to fully explain our program, both in writing and over the phone. During the recorded QA call from August 1st, you advised that you had a firm understanding of the program and had fully reviewed the enrollment package. Also, it appears that you are still enrolled with our Trusted Partner. All of that said, our management team will continue to reach out to you, so that you can further voice any concerns you have and hopefully we can "make it right" for you.

Sep. 16th, 2019

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Kim Keltz Phoenix, AZ

Spent an hour on the phone with a gentleman who only gave me nothing but sympathy absolutely no debt relief help whatsoever just a bunch of numbers to call. It was just “I’m so sorry for your situation” sorry there is nothing I can do to help you. What a scam not happy at all!

2 years ago

Pacific Debt Inc. Logo

Reply from Pacific Debt Inc.

We are sorry to hear you were unsatisfied with your recent consultation. We do our best to assist everyone we speak with; however, our program is not appropriate for everyone and unfortunately not everyone qualifies. In these situations our goal is to try and refer you to someone who can help or who is a better fit. We certainly dispute your notion that our service is a scam. We wish you the best of luck.

Aug. 9th, 2021

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Richard Fresno, CA

Erin was the Rep I was in contact not only was she slow getting back to me. But when we finally got to council about my situation she played brand new about what we talked about previously and after playing phone tag for a week it proved to be a waste of my time. Shame on you Erin goodbye.

4 years ago

Pacific Debt Inc. Logo

Reply from Pacific Debt Inc.

We are sorry to hear about your experience. In reviewing the notes regarding your situation, it appears that you were looking to consolidate federal student loans along with your credit card debt. Unfortunately, federal student loans do not qualify for our program. We would be happy to refer you to a reputable service provider who can help you with your student loans however.

Sep. 6th, 2019

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Alejandra Gomez Hollywood, FL

Not able or willing to help. Girl said oh, if you can afford that payment I guess I can't help you. What?! You are talking to someone who cant make payments. So what's the point of your company? Your reviews are pure bullocks

5 years ago

Pacific Debt Inc. Logo

Reply from Pacific Debt Inc.

Thank you for your feedback. Our program is designed for individuals in a financial hardship to help get them out of debt in 2-4 years. In order to accomplish that, our guidelines require that the program payments be affordable. Based on a review of your situation, it was determined that the program was not affordable based on your budget constraints. We never want to set our clients up for failure, so we advised that the program would not be a good fit. I do show that we offered to refer you to a bankruptcy counseling service as our agent, Eva, felt that might be more appropriate for your situation. With regards to our reviews, all of the reviews are legitimate reviews submitted by consumers just like yourself. We apologize for being unable to help you, however, not everyone qualifies.

Oct. 19th, 2018

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Amelis Howard Pomona, CA

my crefitors6were still calling me months after they said they would stop. they lied and said their percentage would be collected after my debt was paid. they kept over 1000. and didn't pay a damned thing. don't trust them. . Amelia Howard ex client. with the money they collected6from me I could have paid them myself.

7 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Steve Hagan Chesterbrook, PA

I signed up in December and have left messages for guidance with collection calls and threatening letters...no response from Richard or anyone. I have invested 1100.00 so far and no answer to any questions.

4 years ago

Pacific Debt Inc. Logo

Reply from Pacific Debt Inc.

Thank you for sharing your review. Please know that we take customer service and client follow up very seriously. In reviewing the notes on file, I show our partner that you enrolled with, did speak with you recently regarding rescheduling a program draft as well as helping you unlock you client portal. Additionally, there is a pending settlement as well and we are waiting to hear back from you. Please check your voicemail and or email.

Feb. 6th, 2020

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Odalys Miami, FL

My last communication with you was 2 weeks ago not have any update

2 years ago

Pacific Debt Inc. Logo

Reply from Pacific Debt Inc.

We typically reach out to our clients each month, I do show it has been a couple of weeks since our team last reached out to you. We are having your assigned Client Care rep reach out to connect and update you on your account.

Mar. 10th, 2021

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Angelica

I was not told this is a debt settlement company until it was the signing process. I withdrew from the program the same day.

5 years ago

Pacific Debt Inc. Logo

Reply from Pacific Debt Inc.

We apologize for the experience you had and the misunderstanding. Please note we strive to educate our clients on the options available to them and enroll them in a program that is appropriate for their situation. On our web site it clearly states debt settlement, as well as the service agreement that was signed. That said, we know that misunderstandings happen and we will review the call to see if there is something we can do improve our process. We appreciate your feedback.

Jan. 7th, 2019

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Carol Lynn kane New Port Richey, FL

Customer service rep very nice but written contract too complex to understand. You will need an attorney to figure it out.

7 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Larry Field

No action has been seen yet. I am still receiving calls

3 years ago

Pacific Debt Inc. Logo

Reply from Pacific Debt Inc.

Thank you for sharing your review. I show that you just enrolled over a month ago, some of those calls are to be expected during the initial stages of the program. That said, we understand how frustrating they can be. I will reach out to our client service team to have someone follow up with you to assist you in the best way to manage those calls.

Mar. 23rd, 2020

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Ellen Hill Hatboro, PA

Their fees are super high and I am still being sued.

6 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Blazters Chula Vista, CA

Rep was very persistent, it was like talking to a used car salesman. Phone call took way longer than needed.

3 years ago

Pacific Debt Inc. Logo

Reply from Pacific Debt Inc.

We are sorry to hear about your experience - generally the enrollment process takes at least an hour - often times more. Our goal to understand your situation and give you a solid overview of your options, as well as the program and process.

Nov. 13th, 2020

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Randy Norris Gainesville, FL

They intentionally hold the debt as long as they can, this results in them making more money off of you

6 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

ESTHER ARANDA

you have loans for people that owe lots of money about people that owe less than 5000 why can we get a loan?

7 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Nosucker Bernalillo, NM

They couldn't offer any kind of debt relief because your debt had to be 10,000 or more.

6 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Broke and Denied Lewisville, TX

They dont consider anything about the person only if they have good credit.

6 years ago