CreditAssociates Logo

CreditAssociates

star star star star star_half

6.0

Overall Score

error This company may not service all states.
See states serviced
LAST UPDATED: June 7th, 2022

CreditAssociates is a debt relief company that specializes in settling credit card debt. According to the company’s website, it has helped thousands of customers settle millions of dollars worth of debt. The company says the length of its debt settlement program depends on each client's financial situation, but that it can help most customers become debt-free in 24 to 36 months.

CreditAssociates offers only debt settlement, not other debt relief services such as debt consolidation or debt management plans. CreditAssociates customers set up a special savings account, where the customer makes monthly deposits. Eventually, once the account has enough money, the debt settlement company negotiates with each creditor to lower the client's debt amount.

Because CreditAssociates only offers debt settlement, it can only help with unsecured debts such as credit card debt and personal loans; the debt settlement company can’t help with secured debt like a mortgage, auto loan, or home equity loan.

Top Ranked Companies

thumb_up

The Good

  • Free Consultations
  • Online Account Access
  • Accreditations
  • Performance-Based Fees

Free Consultations

CreditAssociates offers free consultations to help potential clients decide whether its debt settlement services are right for them. This is essential among reputable debt settlement companies and in fact, you should never work with a debt relief company that does not offer a free consultation with no strings attached.

Online Account Access

CreditAssociates customers can access their accounts online, giving them 24/7 access to information and resources. This is a nice feature in a debt relief company, because you will want to be kept up to date on the progress of your debt settlement case and what creditors still need to be dealt with.

Accreditations

CreditAssociates boasts accreditations from the American Fair Credit Council and the International Association of Professional Debt Arbitrators, two important organizations in the debt relief industry.

It also has a majority of 5-star reviews. One recent CreditAssociates review states that the company is "wonderful...to do business with", has "great customer service," and helped the client get back on their feet and establish their credit once again.

Performance-Based Fees

CreditAssociates doesn't charge clients any upfront fees. The company only charges a performance-based fee after it has negotiated, and the client has accepted, a settlement offer with one of the customer's creditors.

The company states throughout its website that this is a fixed fee rather than a percentage of the client's enrolled debt, but does not disclose the actual dollar amount of the fee.

thumb_down

The Bad

  • State Availability
  • Limited Pricing Information
  • Must Demonstrate Financial Hardship

State Availability

CreditAssociates does not provide nationwide services. In the debt settlement industry, it is not uncommon to find companies that will service all 50 states. CreditAssociates mentions on its website that the following states are not serviced: Colorado, Connecticut, Minnesota, Maryland, Vermont, and Wyoming. However, it also mentions there are other states it does not service, and we don't know what these are.

Limited Pricing Information

According to the CreditAssociates website, the company doesn’t charge any upfront fees; it only charges a flat performance-based fee after the customer accepts and funds a settlement offer. However, CreditAssociates doesn’t detail how much that fee is.

CreditAssociates also does not disclose a minimum debt requirement. Some of its top competitors like National Debt Relief or Freedom Debt Relief have minimum debt requirements of $7,500. We do not know if CreditAssociates has this same requirement, a higher requirement, or no requirement at all.

Must Demonstrate Financial Hardship

CreditAssociates customers must demonstrate financial hardship in order to use the company’s services. The company doesn’t provide details about this process on its website, except to say that customers must substantiate and prove their financial hardship.

gavel

The Bottom Line

CreditAssociates provides debt relief to customers struggling with unsecured debt. The debt settlement company helps clients through debt negotiation over an average period of 24 to 36 months, only charging customers a flat performance-based fee after their debt has been settled. 

The company has several important accreditations, including from the American Fair Credit Council and the International Association of Professional Debt Arbitrators. Additionally, the company offers 24/7 access to its online system, where customers can access helpful resources. 

Although it doesn't offer details about its pricing on its website, potential customers can learn more through CreditAssociates' free consultations. If you're looking for a debt settlement program and you live in one of the states where CreditAssociates is available, the company is worth looking into.

View Best Debt Relief Companies

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Star Rating

info

4.4

star star star star star_half

328 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

66%

4 grade

19%

3 grade

9%

2 grade

4%

1 grade

2%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star star_border

Quality

star star star star star_border

Service

star star star star star_half

Trustworthiness

star star star star star_half
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Willie brown

Very mature and to the point, when we talk I everthing is clear and by the end of the conversation I know what to exspect and look forward for another account to be handle with the proper care from that I can appreciate their knowledge because I know iam getting one step closer to change my life and be back on track with good standards to live better without the fear of a high paying account .

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Connie Edery

They are very informative and the customer service department does a really good job explaining everything. I don't really no everything they pay it's been one year and I'm still getting credit calls and reports from creditors. I have reported them and uploaded my documents but when I call I can tell that no one has read them. That is the only complaint I have

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Maria

Everything is consolidated easily and they let you know the payment up front. I wish they had a more clear timeline as to when everything will happen but aside from that, it is a very good process. I know they have to work with creditors so it is not a black and white process. I never hesitate to call the and if I have a question, they don’t transfer me over to another associated, they know the answer.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Stacie Torres

Good so far! I've been with the program for over a year now. My only concern is they need to communicate more with their clients. I'm always calling to ask/find out information. It would like to great a summary at least once a month.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Patricia

With the nature of the business they do, they do it well. They are very good at explaining the whole process and answering questions. There are fees associated with it but they are upfront but it is not as much savings as you could have and there can be long stretches where you don’t hear from anybody.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Patricia

Credit Associates should be more upfront about their fees. I was very surprised by it. It is quite expensive. It is a valuable service but they charge twenty five percent of the total debt amount settled. I’ve gotten mixed messages when I’ve called for customer service.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Sandra

Very professional. If I have a question concerning my account, they are there to answer it. When I initially started the program, I thought I would be paying a certain amount every month but despite that I am on budget they call and ask me if I want to pay extra.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Diane

It seems like they are trying to solve what they can within a reasonable amount of time. I think they opted to pay more to get things settled quicker. I haven’t heard much of what is going, I would like an update on the settlemnets.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Anonymous

Great customer service along with the fact that they have already removed one debt and almost finished with second debt.All representatives have been friendly and patient with me and have answered all of my questions to my satisfaction.I would and have recommended the company to friends.Happy with the results so far

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Lisa

Definitely recommend credit associates. They were able to put me at ease with my credit and assured me they could sort it out. I really appreciate that they were able to get me a lower rate than what the collection company was offering.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Nancy Geesey

Super good, it has been rough with all the phone calls from the creditors. They are persistent. My credit score has taken a really bad falling out so that part sucks. I know in the end, 4 more years, it will be a bit better but right now it's a rough going. I'm putting my trust in them and I am looking for the light at the end of my tunnel.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

James

When they send out a settlement stated they could be cleared who it is because I am stull missing some credit card numbers but other than that they have don’t a pretty good job and seem pretty concerned about my situation and have good advice. Hopefully is all work out in the end.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Tamesha

Customer support is nice and convenient. Initially I didn’t understand the portion of the debt I was actually paying off, they should make it clear, but I am actually getting my debt paid off.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Heather

Online debt consolidation. They counseled me over the phone and told me exactly what to expect. When an account is settled, they let me know and I have the choice to accept the offer or not.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Gloria

They promised a certain time and it seems like it is going to go over the time frame but that is my only issue that the time frame will not be met but they are able to answer my questions.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Misty yurisich

A little disappointed because they said within 6 months our score would go up and it's still hanging in the same area and I have been watching and they seem to be on the same accounts everytime I look

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Richard

They seem to care about my issues and the other things I need is more money never enough to help me. I'm not sure what to tell you missy but you need dirty words

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Anonymous

They have been very helpful. They let me know what is going on in a timely manner but I would just like a monthly update or an email letting me know my status.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Anisa Siddiq

They always have been very responsive. Provide answers for any question. And always help upon reaching them. Good is settling with creditors. I am satisfied so far.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Cheryl

I am satisfied with everything with customer service. They are pretty good. They get back to me. I am still a little confused as it is not much money.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Anonnymous

Once they got started, it seemed to be going well for other than that I did not think they were going fast enough. I would recommend them.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Lisa Pimsner

Gives me the data I need to know what is happening with my account and takes all the problems off my plate in getting my finances under control!

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Steve Thomas

Good so far. Use to get feed back on how everything was going. Had to call to find out where we were at. Use to get text where we stood.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Jacob

Customer service is great, very easy to work with. I think the service is great. They do what they say they are going to do.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Brian

At times they were not very communicative. I thank them for getting the three accounts settled but they need to let us know when it happened.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Lori

It took a lot longer to get my accounts settled than I thought it would, but it has been really good and my credit score is not that bad.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Nyron

I think creditassociates are doing a good job. I am still in the process but right now the way things are looking, I trust them.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Simone Seib-Horn

It's been a pretty good experience so far. I just don't know what's going on with my last two loans.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

M

The only thing wrong is that there is one of my credit cards that they have not contacted yet so they are harassing me.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Tajuana

Lower fees would be great but overall the service is good. The company tried to settle many accounts.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

John

At first I had a little problem when they started but now they seem to be going alright. I don’t have problems.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Bryan Eyman Indianapolis, IN

Overall a positive experience. It would be better if there was more one on one contact.

2 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Patricia Morris Avant

One incident changed my whole opinion of this company. Some things should be explained better.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Stanley

It could probably be better if there was a little more communication during the process.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Glenda

It didn’t start off very well but they’re taking care of what they are supposed to now.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Aldemar

Overall credit associates are good. Sometimes you have to wait a lot but everything seems okay.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Elmer C. McAfee

Great ! They helped me in resolving my debt and getting them paid off in a timely manner.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

cesley travis

my experience has been good so far. They are polite, knowledgeable and eager to help!

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

William Evans

great communcations nice people kept me informed on all things they have a great website

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Melrita

Already so good. I know they have paid off a couple of my collectors. They are pretty direct.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Pamela Qualis Kissimmee, FL

I feel 3 about the progress in settlements with my creditors.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Saul Saltares

It's been easy but could use some more updates and communication

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

I.P.

Good thus far. They have been helping me achieve my credit goals.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Norma

The service has been good but I would need them to contact me more often.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Anonymous

They work with me very well and are very polite and courteous.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Kelley

CreditAssociates have been patient excellent, thorough and professional.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Donald Hartman

Closed a lot of card accounts quickly. Good customer service people.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Andrew Habit

Good no problems doing their job well like there service and always get it done

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

william j. dube

very good at keeping me informed ,i feel they reach the best deals possible,

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Chris Kincannon

They have keep me up to date with what's going on with my account

3 years ago