Progressive Auto Insurance Logo

Progressive Auto Insurance

Is This Your Business?
star star star star star_border

8.3

Overall Score

LAST UPDATED: September 21st, 2023

Progressive Insurance is known for offering savings on car insurance. You can benefit from using its quote comparison and signature Name Your Price® tool to find good coverage that fits your budget. You can also benefit from the many discounts that Progressive offers its clients.

In addition to personal car insurance, Progressive offers many other kinds of specialized car insurance. These policies include rideshare, commercial, classic car, and auto insurance in Mexico.

You can also meet many of your other insurance needs when you choose Progressive because it offers dental, life, property insurance and more. We recommend working with Progressive especially if you have other insurance needs.

Read Progressive Auto Insurance Reviews

Top Ranked Companies

thumb_up

The Good

  • Positive Reviews
  • Excellent Coverage
  • Classic Car Coverage
  • Mexico Car Insurance
  • Variety of Discounts
  • Snapshot® Discount Program
  • Policy Features With Savings
  • Useful Rate and Comparison Tools
  • Helpful App
  • Convenient Customer Support
  • Additional Insurance Policies and Quotes

Positive Reviews

Progressive car insurance reviews on BestCompany.com reveal high levels of customer satisfaction.

Positive reviews mention good customer service and satisfaction with rates and savings.

If you're looking for a good car insurance rate, Progressive is worth exploring further.

Excellent Coverage

You can include the following when you buy from Progressive:

  • Liability coverage
  • Comprehensive coverage
  • Collision coverage
  • Uninsured or Underinsured motorist coverage
  • Medical payments
  • Roadside assistance
  • Loan or lease payoff
  • Rental car reimbursement
  • Custom parts and equipment value
  • Rideshare coverage
  • Deductible savings bank (lower your deductible by $50 for each policy period without an accident or violation)

This variety of offerings means that you can find a policy with the coverage and perks you want. Keep in mind that some offerings from this auto insurance company can vary by state.

Classic Car Coverage

Progressive Classic Car by Hagerty is designed for cars 25-50 years old that are stored in an enclosed structure and are not used frequently. It offers Guaranteed Value® coverage for your classic car's real value. It also includes original replacement parts coverage. This policy is a great option for insuring your classic.

Car Insurance Coverage in Mexico

If you're planning a road trip to Mexico, you can choose from three coverage options for your trip. All of the options include roadside assistance in Mexico.

  • Basic coverage includes level liability, travel assistance, medical payments, and legal assistance. It's ideal for cars over 20 years old.
  • Standard coverage includes everything that Basic coverage does. It also includes collision and theft coverage.
  • Extended coverage builds on both the Basic and Standard options by adding vandalism partial theft and U.S. repair coverage. You'll also benefit from fixed deductibles.

You can also purchase insurance for your RV or motorcycle. Having any of these coverage options will give you peace of mind while you drive in Mexico.

Variety of Discounts

You can find a variety discounts on Progressive car insurance. With such a high number or discounts and more flexibility with these discounts, it's easy to save money on your car insurance policy. Many of these discounts are also competitive for the auto insurance industry.

Progressive offers the following discounts:

  • Snapshot® program participation
  • Multi-policy
  • Multi-car
  • Continuous insurance (based on how long you've been consistently insured even through other insurers)
  • Teen driver
  • Good student
  • Distant student (full time students age 22 or younger away at school without a car)
  • Homeowner (just for owning a home)
  • Online quote
  • Online document signature
  • Going paperless
  • Full 6-month payment
  • Automated payments

You can also save by bundling policies. Three consecutive years without accidents or tickets also results in lower premiums.

Snapshot® Program Discount

Many car insurers offer programs that customize your auto insurance rate based on your driving habits. Progressive stays current with industry trends by offering its Snapshot® Program. Through this program, you can get a personalized rate based on your driving. This rate won't be offered until your first policy period ends, which is typically six months.

You can use the Snapshot® app or the Snapshot® plugin to track your driving and get tips to improve your score. It only counts when you're driving the car, so you can deselect trips where you didn't drive.

The app notes when you use your phone, hard brakes, and fast acceleration. The plug-in is attached to your car and beeps when you brake hard. In general, you can improve your score by avoiding hard brakes, using slower acceleration, not using your phone, driving less frequently, and not driving at night.

While you'll need to wait six months before your discount kicks in, you do receive a discount just for participating in the program.

Policy Features With Savings

Progressive offers Small Accident Forgiveness that starts with your first policy. Your rate stays the same if the claim is less than $500. This accident forgiveness is a nice feature that protects your long-term budget.

Progressive clients who have been with the company for at least five years and have had no accidents in the last three years benefit from Large Accident Forgiveness. You won't have to worry about a rate increase if you're in a large accident and you meet Progressive's criteria.

You can add a Deductible Savings Bank feature for an increased premium. This feature knocks $50 off of your comprehensive or collision coverage deductible for each policy period without an accident or violation. These savings can come in handy when you do have an accident and need to pay your deductible.

Useful Rate and Comparison Tools

Progressive's platform allows you to compare rates and policies from other insurers, which will help you find the best policy at the best price.

Progressive's signature Name Your Price® Tool makes the car insurance company stand out from others. With this tool, it's easy to see car insurance policies that fit your target budget. This makes it easy to sort results and find policies that fit your budget.

Keep in mind that the coverage offered may not be as robust as more expensive insurance policies.

Helpful App

The Progressive App makes managing your insurance policy simple and convenient. You can view your policy information, billing and payments, ID cards and documents, and browse other insurance products from the app.

You can also use the app to request roadside assistance, file a claim, and upload photos for repair estimates. The Progressive App is full-service and makes it easy for your to manage your car insurance policy.

Convenient Customer Support

By choosing Progressive, you'll also benefit from convenient customer support. Progressive offers 24/7 customer support.

You can get insurance quotes and buy policies online. Once you have a policy, you can also manage your car insurance and file claims online. If you prefer, you can also call for a quote and call to make a claim.

You'll also benefit from Progressive's network of repair shops. These shops can do inspections or repairs. Progressive offers a limited lifetime guarantee for these repairs, which gives you additional peace of mind and confidence in the repairs your car gets.

Additional Insurance Policies and Quotes

Progressive offers many kinds of insurance. If you need a specific kind of car insurance, you can probably find it at Progressive. Progressive offers the following:

  • Commercial auto
  • RV
  • ATV/UTV
  • Golf cart

If you're looking for a different kind of insurance product, you'll most likely be able to find it through Progressive. You can purchase the following from Progressive:

  • Motorcycle insurance
  • Boat insurance
  • Property insurance
  • Dental insurance
  • Health insurance
  • Life insurance
  • Vision insurance
  • Pet insurance
  • General liability insurance
  • Professional liability insurance

You can even look for personal loans using Progressive. With its impressive selection of insurance types, Progressive is a great choice if you're looking for a one-stop shop for all your insurance needs.

Visit Site

thumb_down

The Bad

  • Coverage Levels May Not Be Enough with the Name Your Price® Tool
  • Personal Information Required for Quote

Coverage Levels May Not Be Enough with the Name Your Price® Tool

Since the Name Your Price® Tool shows policies based on what you want to pay, these policies may have less robust coverage than more expensive ones. As you use this tool, pay close attention to the coverage offered by the policy and note the deductible.

You should also understand what kinds of coverage you can include in your policy and decide which ones you need. Knowing how car insurance works and looking at the deductibles will help you use the Name Your Price® Tool wisely.

Personal Information Required for Quote

To get a car insurance quote, you'll need to provide details on your car, your address, and driver's license. While this information is much more specific than what other services or insurance policies require for a quote, an auto insurance provider will need personal information to determine your quote.

gavel

The Bottom Line

While you should use the Name Your Price® Tool wisely, Progressive is an excellent way to find savings on car insurance. Its helpful features allow you to compare auto insurance rates and policies. You can also narrow your options down to policies in your price range with the Name Your Price® Tool. You'll also benefit from savings with Progressive 's many discounts.

Progressive offers many kinds of car insurance, so you'll be able to find even a specialized policy through the company. With each type of car insurance, Progressive offers good coverage options.

Whatever kind of car insurance you need, you're likely to find a good coverage option at Progressive.

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Star Rating

4.1

star star star star star_border

539 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

53%

4 grade

22%

3 grade

13%

2 grade

5%

1 grade

7%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star star_border

Quality

star star star star star_border

Service

star star star star star_border

Trustworthiness

star star star star star_border
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
star star star star star_border

Christian Nakamura Secaucus, NJ

I've never had more than the most basic coverage because prices on auto insurance are so high, but Progressive is the cheapest for me. The roadside assistance service has been very useful to me in the past.

1 month ago

star star star star star_border

Nichole Davidson Sandy, UT

I hate commercials, but Flo is my girl! I love that Progressive went with a humor theme and used actors that look normal. I've been with Progressive for 5+ years and am happy so far. Prices seem fair and have gone down a bit since first signing up with them. Their website and mobile app are great and surprisingly easy to navigate. If you need to make any changes the online/app process couldn't be any easier or quicker! I am nervous if I get into an accident (knock on wood!) that I'll have to really fight them to get the money I need. I haven't heard great things in that regard.

5 years ago

star star star star star_border

C.T. Kerney Lyndhurst, NJ

As my own driver, without my parents, Progressive was one of the only places in NJ that would provide me with good coverage without pay hundreds of dollars a month. Since I've been with them, they have worked with me to be able to lower my rate and really find me affordable coverage with great protection. That doesn't happen often apparently in NJ. Thanks for your help!

7 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Jackie Hanko Tampa, FL

When I move to Florida I switched my insurance to progressive since travelers was not available in Florida and I was originally happy with the rate that I had for six months… Unfortunately after six months my rate was increased $250 which prompted me to look for other insurance which is why I switch to Geico… Prior to that however I will say that their customer service was amazing and the person that I had spoke on the phone with one originally getting my “explained everything to me in detail as to what all the coverage is meant since some in Florida or not provided or required up north so she took the time to explain everything to me and I am greatly appreciated for that… I can honestly say that I would’ve stayed with progressive had the rates stayed lower but like everybody we all want to save money

2 years ago

star star star star star_border

myron s krouse

about a month ago,i noticed someone scrapped my bumper and fender on the left side. have no idea when or how this happened.i called insurance co they got me a body repair place and rental car asap,after a week my car was back to me as good as new

3 years ago

star star star star star_border

Pete Centerville, UT

I've never used Progressive insurance, but I've seen a lot of their commercials. Most of them are very annoying. I just wish there wasn't a progressive commercial every commercial break. Maybe cut back on the amount of commercials you guys have? Then maybe I would like you more..

5 years ago

star star star star star_border

Jonny Hancock Draper, UT

Progressive is an easy to work with company that provides great service and affordable rates. I purchased my motorcycle insurance through their personal lines and it was fast and simple to get it set up. I highly recommend using Progressive as your personal auto insurance provider.

6 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Tammy Koch St Louis, MO

Only been their customer for a year or so, but so far so good. Their app makes reviewing my policy super easy. Providing proof of coverage is convenient with the app as well. I was with another company for years but switch to save money. I don't think I've heard from an agent yet, so no sales calls. But that also means no proactive customer service.

2 years ago Edited September 17, 2021

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

KimDugan Kailua, HI

My rates with Progressive have been great and even when I got in an accident a couple of years back, the customer service team was very compassionate and helpful while submitting my claim. They walked me through everything step-by-step and followed up to make sure that I understood the process. Their app needs a bit of work, as there are a lot of things that have to be accessed externally, but aside from that, I have had a very positive experience with them.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Dawn Stoliker Madawaska, ME

Good company, good prices, but they messed up when signing us up. I signed us up, used my email, and pay all the bills. Husband was clueless, as I take care of bills. Progressive automatically put policy under his name, so I was unable to make any changes without his permission. I was very insulted, and it was very inconvenient. They could not fix it. They would have to cancel entire policy and give me a new policy, but by doing so, it flagged us as changing insurance in a short period of time, and the price would have been a couple hundred dollars more.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Jaiden Barney Seattle, WA

I’ve had Progressive for about 5 years, and I’ve loved it. They have good benefits and were the cheapest option for my husband and I when we combined accounts. They do tend to take a while to respond when a claim needs to be reported, which can be inconvenient. We also had a pretty high raise in our payments when a claim was filed for a rear ending (but that is pretty normal).

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

FIXITART West Jordan, UT

Progressive saved me about $800 a year. You have to pay a full year to get the discounts but well worth it. Was not ready to have a driving monitor hooked to my vehicle. Was never informed we would have to participate in this monitoring activity. After 3 months we were able to remove the monitor and continue life as normal. My friend got a similar discount from another company and did not have to play the monitor game.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Angelina Hamilton Gulfport, MS

Have used them for several years. Always have competitive rates. Great customer service. When I got into an accident they had me go to their collision center. They assessed the damages, had a rental ready for me there, and repaired it there. It was a one stop shop and made the experience so much better. Took the stress right out of the whole thing.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Becky Rasmussen American Fork, UT

We typically shop auto rates every six months to ensure we're getting the best rate for our coverage needs. We insured our automotives with Progressive for a short period of time and the service and billing was fine, but they didn't maintain the most competitive rate, so we moved on. There was no hassle, or issues. I know their a good company, but I didn't have the kind of outstanding experience to keep me loyal long-term when there were more competitive options for our driving profiles.

5 years ago

star star star star star_border

courtney tennant Salem, VA

I tried Progressive Auto Insurance for about a year and it was more expensive than my other auto insurance company for the same exact coverages. Customer service was always fast but sometimes felt rushed to ask my questions.

2 years ago

star star star star star_border

Deborah Bastien Guyton, GA

I have been dealing with Progressive insurance for many years. They always have the lowest quote and good coverage. Easy to accesss your information with the app, and you can make changes to your policy on the app as well.

2 years ago

star star star star star_border

Nancy Paugh Long Beach, MS

Rates were easy to compare to other company's. Customer service personnel were helpful in quoting rates and finding a plan that would work for me. Payments were easy to meet on the day that was convenient for me.

3 years ago

star star star star star_border

Catrina L. Smith

I am satisfied with Progressive because it is affordable. The website is user friendly, and I can easily get access to my identification cards to print them, or I can have it digitally.

5 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Bobbie Thurgood American Fork, UT

I changed to Progressive after 50 plus years with Allstate. Allstate raised my rates almost every renewal with no accidents or claims. I saved almost 50% by switching to Progressive. I have not had any claims with Progressive.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

KG Lebanon, NJ

Progressive auto insurance is a good company that is reliable and holds true to their word in paying claims. I do feel that my insurance has definitely gotten more expensive over the years and I may need to review my policy since I have been with them for over three years.

1 year ago Edited January 3, 2022

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Brandon Berwyn, IL

Honestly, I was always pretty happy with Progressive. Had their auto insurance for 4 years and the only left because was StateFarm came in cheaper one year and Progressive couldn't match. They did try to negotiate and come down a little but not enough to warrant staying.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

TERRa femmer Houston, TX

I have always had fantastic customer service. There was an error on their part and they fixed it immediately. The only reason I don't give 5 stars is because i was not able to bundle homeowners and auto to save as it was not the best deal out there. Other than that, fantastic!

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Alicia Turner Denver, CO

Progressive has been great to work with and true to their customers. They cover what they say they will cover but like all insurances customer service can sometimes be hard. Also rates go up after adding a car taking it off and then putting it back on months latter.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

OverItAll Leesburg, FL

I am a new customer after running from the lizard company after 34 years! I am happy with my new coverage and with the customer service. And they gave me a great rate. Took advantage of their Snapshot program. I recommend Flo and her gang.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Tyler Strieby Lehi, UT

We currently have Progressive Auto Insurance. Every time we renew our insurance, I shop around to see if we can find a better deal. I have returned to renew our Progressive insurance every time. They are very competitively priced. They have also been extremely helpful in the few times that we were involved in a car accident.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

russbayles West Valley City, UT

Had Progressive for several years. Only had to use them once for an accident and their local store was so easy and stress free. Walked in and got assessed the damage and it was fixed fast. Windshield replacement is also worth the money.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Mickey Mangum Long Beach, MS

I have used for Progressive for several years now. I like the fact that I get digital copies of our insurance cards. I have the bill paid automatically through their website. The claim I have had with them was resolved quickly and efficiently.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Shauna Craig Pleasant Grove, UT

We have Progressive Auto Insurance and are very satisfied with the policy. Their rates were less than the other agencies we checked. We have not had to submit a claim, but if the service is as good as the people were who sold us the policy, I am sure we will be very happy.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Dasha Directo Provo, UT

Progressive has pretty good rates for auto insurance. With that being said, the prices have gone up in the past couple of years, but the price is still reasonable. When I speak to someone at Progressive, they've all been helpful.

4 years ago

star star star star star_border

Mildred Carter Woodbridge, VA

Pricey, but they're easy to use and easy to pay. You can either pay online or over the phone. Their website and their app is also easy to navigate, so when we had claims pending for an accident, I was able to quickly check on the status of it every step of the way.

4 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Shawn American Fork, UT

We had progressive insurance for quite a while and then switched over to another carrier while on progressive never had any accidents but the statements were easy to read payments one always smoothly and never any issues with customer service.

4 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Amy Leifi Orem, UT

Any time I've had a claim or question, they've been quick and thorough and helpful. I've been with them for years now and appreciate how they take care of me. I've been looking at my rates lately, though, and they've gone up a bit. As much as I appreciate them, I think it's time to shop for lower rates.

4 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

mgillings

So easy to get multiple quotes all in one place! I really love the snapshot add on. We didn't always have the best driving record so that drove our insurance rates up....we've grown up and become better drivers ... with the addition of snapshot we have been able to lower our rates because our new driving skills were monitored!

5 years ago

star star star star star_border

Hannah Cummins Gilbert, AZ

Progressive was the most affordable auto insurance I could find, they also offered a discount for using the tracker in my car which was definitely worth it. It was also easy to cancel when I couldnt afford the payment and the cutsomer service was great and respectful.

5 years ago

star star star star star_border

Jenny whipple Mesa, AZ

I am currently a Progressive customer and have been for more than 10 years. I always receive prompt service with any problem I encounter. They have made the claims process easy and were helpful with the rental process while my car was being repaired.

5 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Tyler Williams Gilbert, AZ

I have been pleased with Progressive so far, but I just started to notice that my rates are not as low as I would have expected, compared to other companies that I have researched in recent weeks. Coverage is good, but price is my concern.

5 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Joanna Hester Gilbert, AZ

When my husband was doing an internship at Progressive, we were so impressed by the company that we decided to switch to their auto insurance. We never had to file a claim, but I did contact customer service two times to inquire about our rates, and each time the customer service member was polite and answered all our questions.

5 years ago

star star star star star_border

Alle South Jordan, UT

Progressive has always been easy to work with. I've been with them for about 2 years and haven't had any problems. The prices are fair and competitive

5 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Shon Scoville Lehi, UT

I used progressive insurance to insure my motorcycle. The insurance was inexpensive, but the best thing was that it was so easy to set up through my independent insurance agent. I really like the ease of getting it set up!

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Mona-Lissa Tallahassee, FL

I just switched to Progressive and so far they have been really good in terms of what I get in my insurance and they also gave me a little discount since I am a college student.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

badal jain San Jose, CA

They are good as well but I think I wll rate geico above progressive just because of the premium. Geico mostly beats the price that progressive offers and I swtiched to Geico only because of that.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Marko Vrtikapa Arvada, CO

I have not had any issues nor have I filed a claim with them. However, I have a close friend who brokers insurance she HIGHLY reccomends Progressive. Fair rate for what I get.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Jocelyn Hamby Orem, UT

They are generally a good company. They’re expensive though and it doesn’t seem like the rewards for staying are worth it when their rates are always rising for no reason.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Ben Fresno, CA

Great prices easy to use web site nice customer service reps and always available to contact anytime progressive offeres a very inexpensive NOLO policy for people that need coverage when they don't own a car

2 years ago Edited November 14, 2022

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Sara Walton Kansas City, MO

Not what i thought it was going to be (Flo) makes it sound better lol. Good service nice prices but it doesnt remain consistent on the bill $$ could have just been mine but i had trouble i used then about a year

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Rachie Ray Riverside, CA

I recently got in a accident & they were great. Very helpful & responded in a timely manner. The man that was assigned to my case was so patient w/ me & explained everything as many times as I needed.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Maralisa Salazar ,

The best valued price for someone with a not-so-perfect driving history. Great if you have accidents or a DUI because they don't shoot their prices through the roof because you make mistakes.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

brandon bingham West Jordan, UT

I have trailer insurance through them. It is fairly inexpensive. I really don't use my trailer that much so I may just forego the insurance next year. It took a while to set up the policy.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Queendom Ally Miami, FL

Progressive is very responsive however like many insurance ompanies they don't really want to pay so the investigation is annoying. They were surprisingly affordable tho a d the customer service was A1

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Gilbert M Des Moines, IA

I am a three year customer now. I have not had any accidents. I do enjoy the discounts and look forward to having less price. I would always suggest progressive. They have taken care of me for sometime now.

2 years ago