Caliber Home Loans Logo

Caliber Home Loans

Is This Your Business?
star star star_border star_border star_border

4.0

Overall Score

LAST UPDATED: September 16th, 2022

Caliber Home Loans, founded in 2013, is a national private mortgage lender known for its VA loan options. The lender offers a variety of loan types to meet the varied needs of homebuyers with a streamlined application and mobile app, making it easier to get and manage a mortgage.

Users give Caliber Home Loans around 2/5 stars for its overall services — however this feedback is from a small sample of reviewers.

Learn more about this mortgage lender or jump down to read Caliber Home Loans reviews from real customers.

Top Ranked Companies

thumb_up

The Good

Several Loan Programs

Caliber Home Loans offers several basic and government-insured loan programs, each of which include a variety of specialized loan types:

Conventional Loans

  • Conventional Loan — basic loan option insured by the lender
  • HomeOne — only requires a 3% down payment
  • HomeStyle® Renovation Loan — available for new and existing homes (including new constructions)
  • Home Possible® — a Freddie Mac loan program with low down payment options and lower credit score requirements
  • HomeReady™ — a Fannie Mae loan program for buyers with limited household incomes

FHA Loans

  • FHA Loan — a good option for first-time homebuyers
  • FHA 203k Home Loan — secure funding for home repairs or renovations
  • FHA Streamline Refinance — a refinancing option if you currently have an FHA loan

VA Loans

  • VA Loan — a loan option for military service members and veterans
  • VA Streamline Refinance — allows you to refinance a current VA loan and lock your rate

USDA Loans

  • USDA Loan — a loan option for buyers looking to purchase a rural property

In addition to these basic and government-insured loan programs, Caliber also offers the Smart Series, which includes various specialized loan options:

  • SmartEdge — a jumbo loan mortgage program for those unable to secure financing due to a recent credit event
  • SmartSelf — an option for self-employed homebuyers looking to secure financing
  • SmartVest — an option for real-estate investors looking to finance their next investment property

Because there are so many options, borrowers have the ability to find the loan option that works best for them and their individual situation.

Mobile App 

Caliber's mortgage servicing mobile app includes the following features, compatible with both iPhone and Android devices:

  • Set up banking information for mortgage payments
  • View loan and escrow financial details
  • Upload loan applications and associated documents
  • Schedule one-time or monthly payments
  • View loan payment history
  • View the status of an in-process loan
  • Find a loan officer or contact the company 

Emphasis on Military Loans

Caliber Home Loans appears to place particular emphasis on military lending programs through its VA loan products, and its separate website to serve military members: military.caliberhomeloans.com.

Personalized Mortgage Support

Caliber Home Loans has experienced loan consultants that can help answer any of your questions and resolve any of your concerns throughout the mortgage process. You will be assigned a loan consultant when you choose to get a Caliber mortgage.

Disaster Assistance

Caliber Home Loans offers mortgage payment assistance to homeowners in the event of certain extenuating circumstances. Houses that are in designated FEMA areas potentially qualify for the following assistance under the direction of Fannie Mae, Freddie Mac, the USDA, VA, and FHA entities:

  • Late fees will be suspended
  • Loan payments will not be reported as past due to credit bureaus
  • Possible eligibility for additional disaster loan options (depending on your loan program and situation)
  • Some foreclosure protections may be accessible

Real Estate Listings Search Tool

To help you find your future home, Caliber Home Loans provides a search tool to show real estate listings in your area, price range, size, and more. This is a helpful tool because you can find homes that you're qualified for right away, and you can get pre-approved for certain homes within just a few minutes.

Educational Resources

Because buying a home can be a somewhat confusing process, Caliber Home Loans provides a wealth of educational resources to help prospective homebuyers better understand what is happening. The company offers a resource library that includes information about loan qualification, mortgage rates, escrow costs, mortgage insurance, closing costs, and other topics helpful to the consumer.

thumb_down

The Bad

No Rates Displayed Online

Caliber Home Loans does not provide several important pieces of information on its corporate website. For example, the company has not listed interest rates, closing costs (including origination fees), or minimum credit score on some loan types.

Though mortgage rates vary depending on loan types, loan amounts, and each customer's eligibility, many top companies provide calculators that give prospective borrowers an interest rate estimate based on a 30-year conventional loan scenario.

No Home Equity Loans or Lines of Credit

Caliber Home Loans doesn't offer home equity loans or lines of credit. If you are interested in these products you will need to look into other mortgage lender options.

Caliber Home Loans Reviews

The majority of Caliber Home Loans ratings reward the company only 1 star. Many customers outline dissatisfactory experiences with the company, with most complaints centered around poor customer service - difficulty in connecting with Caliber representatives, endlessly being sent from one representative to another, not receiving answers to questions, etc. 

It is important to note that Caliber Home Loans reviews are currently limited and so they may not paint the most accurate picture of the company.

gavel

The Bottom Line

Caliber Home Loans is a well-known and trusted mortgage lender, providing a streamlined online loan process and a variety of loan products to choose from to meet your specific needs. 

If you are a member of the military, a Caliber home loan could be a good choice for you because the company offers specific resources and tools to assist with VA loans. Caliber Home Loans has even participated in community outreach initiatives to help military members and their families feel more at home in their communities, including providing room makeovers.

However, Caliber Home Loans doesn't list rates or fees on its website making it difficult to know how much it will cost you to take out a home loan. You will be able to see these personalized factors upon pre-qualifying, but it can be helpful to see that information upfront. In addition, current Caliber Home Loans ratings are low and many reviews express poor experiences with customer service.

View Best Mortgage Lenders

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Star Rating

1.8

star star star_border star_border star_border

55 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

11%

4 grade

7%

3 grade

2%

2 grade

9%

1 grade

71%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star_border star_border star_border

Quality

star star star_border star_border star_border

Service

star star star_border star_border star_border

Trustworthiness

star star star_border star_border star_border
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
star star_border star_border star_border star_border

DeeDee Reston, VA

Don't get a mortgage with them. Just don't. Buying and owning a home is stressful enough and they will make it worse. They forced me to open an escrow account but failed to pay my first property tax bill on time, resulting in a penalty for late payment. They didn't effectively notify me of a shortage in my escrow account that would require higher payments for 12 months and would permanently increase my payment after the shortage was paid off. They claimed they mailed a statement regarding the escrow shortage that must have gotten lost in the mail (their words) because I never received it. But they also did not send an email notification. Tired of dealing with them already but can't afford to re-finance elsewhere.

4 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Lysia B Forney, TX

This company has THE WORSE customer service and they’re scam artist. We’ve been trying to get ahold of our loan officer for weeks now and finally we called the corp office. A guy name Todd L (if that’s even the guys real name) is the rudest person I’ve ever talked to in my. I asked him about about our loan officer because we’ve been trying to contact her and he was talking over me then hung up on me. I also called and talked to another guy which was really nice he sent me to the refund department, a lady answered and told me to hold on while she pulls up my information. She hung up! I have no clue how these people are still in business but steer clear away from these people.

5 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

awesomeness of life martinez Chicago, IL

i would give Caliber Home Loans a negative star if i could, worse company ever to deal with, they paid my home owners Insurance to my previous insurance company in January and they didnt include a disburement list so ins co sent check back nobody knows where the funds are, now in May and still dont know making my Escrow account negavtive and my Mortgage payments higher & nobody can help.

7 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Ivy Harper Jacksonville, NC

ABSOLUTELY NOT!!! PLAYS GAMES WITH PEOPLES ESCROW ACCOUNT. CUSTOMER SERVICE IS A JOKE.. I WAS HUNG UP ON 4 TIMES IN THE LAST 3 HOURS HOLDING FOR THE INSURANCE DEPARTMENT. CUSTOMER SERVICE SAID THEY CANNOT HELP ME BECAUSE THE INSURANCE DEPARTMENT DOUBLE PAID MY HOMEOWNERS INSURANCE AND MY ESCROW ACCOUNT IS ALMOST $2,000 IN THE NEGATIVE, YET THEY WANT ME TO USE A $15,00 I GOT FROM MY FORMER HOMEOWNER INSURANCE AND REMAIN $500 IN THE NEGATIVE AS OPPOSED TO BE $380 POSTIVE IN ESCROW. WHO AUTHORIZED YOU TO PAY TWICE? LIKE YOU DID NOT SEE PAYMENT 12/21/2021?? NO EMAIL, NO MAIL, NO CALL, NO NOTIFICATION WHATSOEVER. THEY KNEW FOR WEEKS WE WERE WAITING ON A REFUND CHECK TO PUT BACK IN OUR ESCROW TO BRING OUR FEW HUNDRED DOLLAR BALANCE BACK... BUT THEY DECIDED AT RANDOM 10 DAYS AGO TO SEND ANOTHER CHECK TO OUR CURRENT COMPANY? FOR WHAT PURPOSE??? AND I HAD TO ASK THEM AT THE BEGINNING OF THE YEAR TO DO THE ESCROW ANAYLYSSI BECAUSE THEY ARE TRYING TO ACT LIKE WE WERE NOT POSITIVE BEFORE WE CANCELLED THAT POLICY AND WE WERE. WE WERE POSITIVE AND WILL BE POSITIIVE A FEW HUNDRED DOLLARS NOT (ZERO) AS YOU STATED. YOU CANNOT STEAL ESCROW IT ROLES OVER INTO THE NEXT YEAR. YOU CANNOT DOUBLE PAY COMPANIES. YOU CANNOT DO WHATEVER YOU WANT OT DO WITH MY MONEY. I HAVE ALREADY FILED A COMPALINT WITH THE BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU AND SENT ANOTHER 30 INTERNAL MESSAGES TO SEE WHO IS ACTUALLY GOING TO FIX THE MISTAKE. ABSOLUTELY DEPLORABLE TREAMENT TO SOMEONE THAT PAYS THEIR MORTGAGE ON TIME EVERY MONTH. ALL YOU HAVE TO DO IS HANDLE THE ESCROW AND THIS IS WHAT YOU DO? TRY TO SCAM PEOPLE OUT OF MONEY THEY DONT EVEN OWE YOU? DOUBLE PAY INSURANCE AND TAXES LIKE THAT MAKES ANY LOGICAL SENSE? AND THEN HANG UP AND IGNORE REQUEST FOR IT TO BE FIXED?? THREATEN TO RAISE THE MORTGAGE TO COVER COST WHEN ITS MONEY THAT IS NOT EVEN OWED ON OUR END? ARE YOU KIDDING ME??? DO BETTER!!!! THEY TOLD ME MANAGERS AND SUPERVISORS DO NOT EXIST... THEY TOLD ME NO ONE CAN HELP ME... THEY TOLD ME THERES NOTHING I CAN DO BUT TRY AND REACH THE INSURANCE DEPARTMENT... WELL WE WILL SEE HOW FAST THEY RESPOND TO ME NOW.

10 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

C. Simpson Coventry, CT

Been with Caliber since 2012. Never had a problem until November 19, 2021. I made a Principal Only payment, as usually do, and it somehow strangely ended up in Escrow instead. I take screenshots of all my payments, in case something hiccups, which it did for the first time. I put in a request to please remove the payment from Escrow and put it back to Principal Only. I used their online communication "Message Center" system, only to get an encoded numeric, weird. I tried again and finally got a response to call Customer Service and that "THIS IS AN ATTEMPT TO COLLECT A DEBT". I asked them to please remove that horrible disclaimer (which they did), because this wasn't about debt but a simple discrepancy they need to rectify. I made my regular monthly mortgage payment due Dec. 1 on 11/29/2021, and it cleared on the 30th. I went back in to check in on the original 11/19 issue, and to my astonishment, there was a new mortgage payment on 12/9, and another on 12/10, payments I never made! The original Principal Only payment was restored, however, but on 12/10. I was finally able to reach an agent days later and even she commented how odd all that was and that it shouldn't have happened, and apologized. As a result of this whole fiasco, now my next payment is due in March 2022, and I've only just paid for January last night! I cannot make extra principal Only payments now without affecting the due dates. So today I went back into my account again to check on my recent payment, and alas, now the March 2022 mortgage payment amount went up! Now, I know that Caliber used to always give fair notice well in advance of any mortgage escrow changes, and those notices typically arrive around the springtime and coincide with any tax or insurance increases. Today I spoke with Customer Service and was told that our taxes went up and that's why the monthly payment went up. I replied that they're supposed to send a notice to clients, and I didn't get anything from them in paper or online (I continue to have paper statements sent to me, just in case...). Coincidentally, I now can't access any document statements in my online account. Nor can I upload any files to them. Doesn't work. It's all very odd, never in my 20 years of having mortgages have I ever had these experiences. I feel like I'm being treated unethically and unfairly by Caliber, right now. I'm at my wits end and don't know what to do. My payments are always on time. I was making great progress paying down the mortgage. until November when the error occurred. This is ludicrous! What bank does business like this? I read that they changed ownership in early 2021. I don't like the way the new owners are treating me, right now. Wish I could change out, but I don't want to refi. I'm going to pursue this. And fyi, BBB has nearly 500 consumer complaints file against Caliber Home Loans. So it's not a "handful" of complaints. Something's terribly wrong there.

11 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Chris Anderson Canby, OR

Everything was fine with them till August of 2020. Had been with them since 2010. Refinanced through them in 2017. In August of 2020 I was out of work because of the pandemic, and by October 2020 I reached out to them for a forberance program. I had run out of money and savings. Worst mistake ever. Initially only wanted/needed 3 months to get back on my feet. After that 3 months they had never completed any of the proper paperwork or documents and was asked if I wanted to do another 3 months and that would give them time to complete the changes/documents. Those 3 months went by, now March of 2021 and again, there was issues on their end. I resumed making payments in April 2021 but had multiple documents that I had to overnight to them. Fast forward to August 2021, and still the documents and loan modifications had not been completed. Was asked to skip September payment, so they could do the loan modification and get the paperwork squared away. Again overnighted signed documents to them. And resumed payments October 2021. Here it is December of 2021...no dimensions filed, no loan modifications, nothing. Still considered to be in forberance according to them. Received a letter today saying I was 277 days past due. Very upsetting. They have absolutely turned into the worst mortgage company I've ever dealt with. Long holds on phone, sometimes in excess of 1 hour. No response to emails. And don't get me started on the crazy amount of interest they are racking up on these skipped payments that they refuse to adjust on my loan. Started at 211k in 2017, at 210k in Dec of 2021 because of their screw up. It's appalling. Probably gonna have to lawyer up and get my money back that they are robbing from me. Run away, do not ever use this company.

11 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

cynthia amaro Buda, TX

Seeing all the reviews on this site and we’re exactly in the same boat, with no resolution 4 months after starting an investigation. Caliber has been refusing our mortgage payments and we’re being told it was due to customer request, when we never asked them to do that. We will likely be taking legal action against them as lot of customers are having similar issues.

10 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Tricia Lynn Clinton Township, MI

RUN. Smartest thing we could have done was refinance this past spring. If you are ever in a position of having your PMI removed (or know that you are at the 78% LTV point to have it removed, good luck with Caliber. I cannot even get into how long it took for this pesky extra $67 a month to be removed. Try like 2.5 years late, a ton of phone calls, and in the end, their reasoning for never removing it? 'You never called'. Class action law suits up the wazoo... In the beginning, you will feel well taken care of, but later on, you can forget it. If you are unfortunate enough to have a mortgage with Caliber, and you think you are at about 78% LTV, REFINANCE with another company!!!! Get out!!!!! I would give them zero stars if it were an option.

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Carl Sims Fort Worth, TX

Caliber homes representative contacted me and my family about April or May the sales agent name was Kennan H because he knew my son and my nephews it took me a while to get to invest to do business with him unfortunately we submitted an application application went well so we started all the paperwork send them all out personal information they finally sent the disclosure papers getting ready to close they requested $22 for a credit report we paid that then they requested $120 for closing cost which is no problem we dealt with a underwriting agent named Amy she said everything looks good we are going to close unfortunately the underwriters went by 7 to 8 years on something on our credit report they demanded us to pay when in fact they accounts were close we tried to reach out to them to show them proof and documents and they are mediately denied her alone which I had already opted out of the long after they ripped us off when they ran our credit report all they had to do is say we need to clear up these deaths I have a 725 credit score my wife has about a 680 the bottom line is they hustle of out of that money and we never heard from him again I would not recommend this company to nobody they are fake they will get your money and leave you high and dry😡😡😡😡

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Jang Thao New York, NY

My wife and I are over 700 credit scores. We’ve bought a home before and are not new to mortgages. We’ve been with this company since December 2019. We were reached by mail and phone about a promotional re-financing program through caliber loans (Brian Johnson) in September 2020. Provided all documents loan adviser needed. Was told and assured closing would happen within 30 to 45 days. 4 and a half months later, the loan processor can’t even remember our file. Processor will continue to send blind DocuSign documents to sign and will not be available to answer any questions regarding documents. Constant call the processor or call the manager, which warrantees no call backs. We just received an email stating we have a new processor 01/26/2021. This morning at 01/27/2021, we received an email stating they have withdrawn our application. Wasted 5 months of my life with these people and even got a negative credit inquiry due to refinancing process. Still currently a Caliber Homes customer, but will look elsewhere. This company will not call you back and good luck getting an explanation on the numerous DocuSign packages that continue to come without explanation. Will never do business with this company again!

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

KdblU13 Moneta, VA

When my wife abandoned our home I being disabled and limited income tried to get loan modification but each move followed was added another to make finally impossible. They act as though they are your friends but actually they are very much not. My exwife bankrupted her part in the loan leaving me in dire straits. At no time has Caliber ever been available for communication or real help. I was just encouraged to send money I didn't have. Rushing me to get my application for modification to them even unfinished which of course guarantees denial. If not for covid 19 restrictions I would be on the street with no way to keep my possessions. I recommend you go elsewhere for a loan but unfortunately they can buy it from your mortgage company.

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Shawn St. Petersburg, FL

I have tried numerous times to no avail to set up automatic payment of my loan. Most of the time, the website will not allow me to do it because a current payment is due (this makes no sense, as it should still allow future payments to be set up). Last month, I finally got through their website and set up the autopay only to be told this month that no payment was taken out and they have no record of it. Customer service just told me there was nothing they could to help me, and once again the site does not allow me to go through the setup process even though I just made my monthly payment. Clearly, they don't want to get paid, perhaps so they can collect more fees.

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Valerie Moreno Miami, FL

call for refinancing information . audrey a loan specialist offer me 3 routes and told me she would email me . 15 days after, multiple messages left to her , customer service and to her manager ; not even one call. today 16 days after , right after my complaint another specialist call me talking so fast that she even ran my credit one the first minute of the conversation and finally not understanding what i was asking she told me in 3 occasions she could not understand me went i get angry. i was not even angry but i should have been. but i wasn't , si instead i get insulted over a customer service with no shame at all. calliber loans have horrible customer service principals.

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Rene Joubert West Palm Beach, FL

Don't waist your time and effort with this company, 3 months after applying for a refinance loan with Caliber and providing everything they asked for the underwriters are still asking for more, like having our employers re do the employment verification forms because they say is incomplete. We have given them paystubs and everything they asked for but every week there seems to be something else. In the last 18 years we have done several home loans and refinancing and has never taking more than 45 days. Today I told the loan processor that we are done! We waisted 3 months in this process for nothing. We should have gone with our previous mortgage company and would have probably closed 45 days ago. Stay away from these people.

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

David Pehle Denver, CO

After receiving a pre-aproval letter from (David R.) in the Colorado Springs office we put a offer on a house. Throught the month before the closing he (David) said everthing was going well after giving him all paperwork he asked for! Then 5 days before closing the underwriter said she didn't believe that my wife a nurse worked 40 hrs a week because her daughter is a nurse and only works 36 hrs. This is even after supplying them with a paystub and a employment letter from the hospital she works for then the day before the closing the underwriter denied the loan, I am a veteran and I hope they don't treat all veterans that way.

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Basil City of Saint Peters, MO

This has been the worst, most stressful experience I have ever dealt with. Their representatives lied to me over and over, giving me misinformation when I was going through a hardship, causing me to have a late payment, which is what I was trying to avoid in the first place. They admitted to giving me misinformation, but still did nothing to correct the issue. Their customer service is extremely rude, and the right hand doesn’t know what the left hand is doing. At a later date, their representative text me about a VA streamline refinance, and we went through all of the steps, until they cancelled it on me the day before closing, because I had a late payment, which was caused by their misinformation. I have voicemails from them congratulating me for my approval, yet they didn’t finish the deal. Be careful with anything they say to you because it could be misinformation. Save yourself the headache and don’t deal with them. I have reported them to the VA and the state. I’m waiting for my credit to get fixed from having the late payment that they caused, so I can refinance with a different company who actually appreciates me as a Veteran and appreciates my business, so I never have to deal with Caliber Home Loans again.

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Sheena San Antonio, TX

I lost my job and applied for a forbearance, after finally calling 3 times after 30 days they told me I had been approved for 6 months but my payments would be lowered and wouldn’t be pulled until my full months payment was in a separate account and each month I didn’t make a payment it would hit my credit score, I also had bi- weekly payments pulled and cancelled when I lost my job but they still pulled 2 more times then tried telling me different times that I hadn’t been up to date on my payment, I finally got the 5th guy speaking to figured it out and realized I’m now a month ahead in payments opposed to being behind, I swear if my credit report shows it being late I will be calling a million more times to complain! My loan was sold to caliber so I didn’t have a choice but let me tell you as soon as I can get it refinanced and away from Caliber I plan on it! They are the worse ever!

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Bryan Kirklin, IN

Find another lender. These people are clueless. From day 1 it was just positive talk, that everything would be fine, taken care of and was in good condition. Then closing got delayed 3 times for Caliber purposes. By the time we purchased our home we were over it... Then we decided we’d sell, just to find out there is a lease on our property with a windmill company we didn’t know about. This prevented the buyers from getting a loan. Our loan specialist said she didn’t know of any lease. Then corporate tried to cover their tracks and claim they knew about it. There’s a bone to be picked with several parties, but when we needed Caliber to support proof of there being nothing in closing about a lease, they left us high and dry... Find another lender. Wish I would have.

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Elizabeth Wesley Odessa, TX

I recently did a FHA STREAMLINE. Caliber Homes found out because they monitor mortgage hits on your credit. They called immediately after I started a FHA Refinance through another lender. They sent me a counter offer even, that would have cost me 12,000+ to get. The FHA Streamline didn't cost me a dime. I signed the title papers on the 25th of March 2019, and they were wired their monies on 3-29-1019, I have the wire number. They turned me in for 30 day late payment and have not updated the credit reports; so my credit score went down because of them. I will never use another fly=by=night mortgage company again. Would go with Quicken Loans. They are #1 in the nation. Grrrr. Never again. Rude, unethical, and unprofessional. Don't use them.

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Nobert Fort Bragg, NC

Caliber acquired my VA loan from Veteran's United and jacked up the escrow payments from $150 to $750 with no explanation. The escrow only pays the tax and that would be more than my annual property tax in 2 months. My total payment went from $600 to $1200 with this change which is not affordable. This is practically criminal and while they may resolve it in the future, the goal seems clearly to exploit the escrow fund or to try to default the loan which is disgraceful for a VA loan especially so... Just wow! There are other instances of this online and yet they are still buying loans from other companies which you can't really control.

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Jeffrey Hawkins Cedar Rapids, IA

I see why Caliber has such a poor rating. Extremely poor customer service. Call to get a question answered and it takes 2 additional call backs and at least 10 days for the answer to be "researched". Hidden fees pop up and the fees change in amount and no one can explain why. I told them I would never refi through them because of their business practices and since then they have bungles my account terribly. I hate to do it but looks like I have to put down a chunk of cash and refi with another company just to get away from them, because my rate is so good this is the only way to keep my payments comparable. Spring of 2020 I'll have a new mortgage company because I'm definitely dropping these guys. Save yourself headache... move your loan asap.

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Sammy O'Deal Chicago, IL

Forget any communication with Caliber Loans. You can try calling any time during a day, night, work days, off-days, all the same - no answer, no chance to talk to a live person. Each time I renew my insurance they send me an official letter saying that my insurance expired and they will purchase a new one for me. It doesn't matter that the insurance company sent them a copy of the renewed policy. I still need to send another copy. Even though they get multiple copies of the policy they still bought me a second insurance. This company is a joke and you would only use them if all others turned you down. I only have it bcs my real estate agent convinced me to use them. Big mistake. There are other issues besides what I mentioned above, but I'm already boiling hot.

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Gerald Stark Griffith, IN

Absolute worst mortgage company we have ever had in 30 years of owning homes. Nickel and dime to death. Stay away!!! * Pay online (EFT) = $3.50 fee - never had this before from any company * Pay over phone = $15 fee - never had this before from any company * Online payments not posted until next day, even if done at at 8 AM - other companies post same day, unless really late at night * Can't send payment confirmation via email - in 2019???!!! Understand all of this is a just another symptom of companies today looking to turn anything they can into a profit center and customer be darned - but there are still better companies out there.

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

L.W Buffalo, NY

They took over a key bank home loan and thank goodness key bank initiated and I went through them and FHA is attached this company would have probably hiked my rates up. They have insulted me by calling in the past about my house payment late in the pass which I disputed a late fee charge for which my payment wasn't late no one on their end checked or it sat wherever they let mail collect. To add insult to injury to keep that from happening again I now certify my mail which If you do the math$3.40 I pay out even more just to protect myself from being charge late fees so to insure someone at their company Caliber will get the payment by mail and process it instead of using a tactic to get more money out of me. I would love to get out from under this company loan but my option is to refinance or to sell my home which I'm on the fence dealing with this company and they had the nerve to ask me about refinancing through them NEVER lol what a joke. Thanks to key bank too for selling of my loan to this company. Won't do business or recommend them either thanks to my experience with this company.

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Ola Severn, MD

Their customer service is the worst ever, if I can give zero star I would. Caliber was supposed to pay for my water and sewage bill, which they agreed to pay and add it to my mortgage. They sent the payment (from my escrow) to the wrong company twice. The payment was refunded back to caliber loans, but caliber loans kept charging me the higher mortgage payment. I called them when I realized the water and sewage bill was not paid to adjust my mortgage to the original lower amount. They never refunded me the difference that I paid. I was put on hold for a long time, while the manager Don pretended he couldn't hear me on the phone and then finally hung up without resolving the issue. This has been going on for the past 10 months. This is the worst mortgage company, ran by incompetent, rude people. The whole company should be thrown away with their employees. Shame on you caliber home loans. I never applied with you, but my mortgage got sold to your useless company. Prospective customers should find another company.

4 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Terence Higgin

They have regularly violated my consumer rights & state laws with impunity, have not responded accurately, fairly, or timely to resolve the situation. The company refused payment of the full arrears of the mortgage. It was sent with advance notice, but the company did not reply to indicate they would refuse it. They claim they refused it on the grounds that it did not "cure the default on the loan", but they had not filed or sent any such notice of default, nor did they specify what the amount was or how they arrived at that figure. They have also refused my request for monthly statements on an ongoing basis. In follow-up attempts to communicate with them expediently via telephone, they have violated state laws requiring mutual consent for recording of calls, and have explicitly stated that they do not reserve their recordings only for "internal quality control purposes (yada,yada,yada)". Then, after an email complaint, they took their sweet time responding, then sent a letter riddled with spelling and grammatical errors that did not address the substance of the complaints. In the meantime, I attempted to make payment through their electronic system, but was denied the opportunity to make payment via that method, instead being directed to call them again on a recorded line (when I requested a call back on a non-recorded line, as is my right, they again refused and claimed that "all calls are recorded", even call-backs. Then, as I was reviewing my legal options, the company chose to, without following prescribed state laws, file a notice of default, backdating their claim that they had fulfilled the required procedures (FALSE) before taking this aggressive action and unleashing the vultures. They are guilty of unfair business practices and multiple violations of state laws. I am attempting to contact them again for a resolution before taking legal action.

6 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Victor Anchipolovsky Hialeah, FL

There is NO CUSTOMER SERVICE, I dare you ta call any of the telephone numbers listed in their many departments, you are referred to the website which is of no help. EVER YEAR we play the insurance game when they place their own insurance even though the property is covered under my insurance and this starts a week long faxing process with my insurance agent. I will NEVER do business with this company nor would I recommend it to anyone who wants to maintain their sanity.

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Mohamad awad ,

I can only speak about my honorable experience with Caliber home loans. they never communicate with me, never return my massages or emails, leaving me in the dark, people on your loan will change. same paperwork and info will be asked from you again and again. very lengthy process, and in my case 2 months after i started my refinance process they sold my loan to another company and once they approved me they want to charge me a fee to buy it back. sound very deceiving and they never disclosed this to me till last min. hopping I just sign. I backed away after 5 month of process.

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Jenny Quach Northridge, CA

This is coming from an experienced home buyer. I highly do not recommend anyone go with this company. Horrible customer service they do not do anything to help you and you get transfer to different people left and right and they all give different information which confuses you even more and info on your mortgage account. And as well have hidden fees and that come out of nowhere. I would highly not recommend this company to anyone PLEASE BEAWARE of HIDDEN FEES. They really do not care about you only care about money.

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Dave Johnson Middlesex, NJ

I am working with Envoy Mortgage, who in turn is selling my mortgage to caliber Home Loan, I was enrolled in a program that allowed me to put down 10% down, my credit is over 750 and my debt to income ratio was excellent! One week before the closing Caliber Home Loans comes back and says I have to put down an additional 5%!!! RUN from this mortgage company.

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Kevin

TERRIBLE customer service - they've been straight up wrong about my mortgage details multiple times. If you ask to speak to their manager they will offer to put you in a queue and they will say you should get a call in 48 hours but you won't. I had to call for PMI cancellation information THREE TIMES before they finally mailed it to me, 2 months later. The good news is I'll only ever make this mistake once. DO NOT CHOOSE CALIBER.

4 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Joe M. Coasty Palm Coast, FL

Loan transferred to Caliber after closing with Veterans United. Awful from the start! I am trying to reach a customer service rep as I write this review... been listening to this hold music for 30 minutes. No periodic "we appreciate your call blah blah blah.." I'll NEVER deal with this bush league call themselves a mortgage lender ever again.

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Reagan Portland, TX

The customer service after closing on my home has not been good. Their methods are extremly outdated and unhelpful. For example, the only way to provide documents after closing is to snail mail or fax.... really its 2020 right?

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Elizabeth Schneider Mont Clare, PA

Worst company ever dealt with. Mortgage loan officer incompetent and rude. HUD statement to close changed multiple times with no explanation. Tried to slip in a new agreement changing the agreement of sale without even speaking to buyer. Worst experience ever

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Jane Byers Granville, TN

Horrible Company!! 4 hard credit pulls within 1 week!! Had to open a complaint with the BBB to have them finally address their mistake. That was 2017. I thought it was finally taken care of. Today I see it wasn't! Terrible customer service and a rotten company.

4 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

phobson Caldwell, NJ

This company is horrible. If you want a good reason not to use them, try contacting them on any number provided on their website. There is no way to reach anyone in this organization. Horrible Customer service. Use someone else.

6 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Susan murphey Philadelphia, MS

Always charging me for home insurance when I already have my own n it takes me 6 months are longer to get it solved n then it goes against my credit score

6 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Julius Blair

I was preapproved by them and 48hours before closing on the loan was told that my loan was not properly calculated and i was denied

5 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Ellen Daly Buffalo, NY

They wrote a pre approval over the sale price and could not provide a mortgage commitment in 120 Days

3 years ago