Best Company Guarantee UnaliWear Logo

UnaliWear

check_circleVerified

star star star star star_border
101 User Reviews
LAST UPDATED: August 11th, 2022

UnaliWear is a medical alert company seeking to help vulnerable populations increase their independence while maintaining dignity. UnaliWear’s main product is the Kanega Watch. The company's founder, Jean Anne Booth, got the idea for the Kanega Watch when trying to get a medical alert system for her aging mother. Her mother would not wear a neck pendant and Jean Anne, as an electrical engineer/entrepreneur, felt she could work with her team of developers and investors to create a best-in-class medical alert alternative. The Kanega Watch is that alternative.

The only medical alert watch with built-in fall detection, designed to be worn everywhere (bed, shower, out shopping, visiting family, etc.), uniquely connects to both WiFi and cellular (for the best coverage) and never needs to be removed to charge – so you can truly be protected 24/7. To get help, simply use your voice or the watch’s alert button or automatically via the watch’s fall detection functionality. 

Any of those will immediately connect you to a 24/7 emergency response operator based in the United States with a TMA 5-Diamond and UL certification. The operator will seek to speak to you through your watch. If you are unresponsive, they can contact your emergency contacts as well as dispatch emergency services to your GPS location. 

Customers are charged a one-time fee upfront along with monthly charges to cover monitoring and cellular service. The cost of the Kanega Watch is more expensive than others on the market; however, the watch’s unique fall detection, voice activation, continuous wearing and multiple connectivity features rationalize the increased expense for many wearers – particularly those turned off by neck pendants that can be more stigmatizing

The watch comes in three accent colors: rose gold, black, and champagne gold. The watch is resistant to sweat and water making it easy to wear in the shower or while exercising. The design is both sleek and discreet making it a great companion for everyday activities. 

Keep reading the pros and cons of choosing the Unaliwear Kanega Watch. 

thumb_up

The Good

  • Fall Detection Machine Learning 
  • 3 Ways to Get Help (Including Voice Activation)
  • 30-Day Risk-Free Trial 
  • No Need to Remove to Charge
  • Wide Call Coverage

Fall Detection Machine Learning

Over time, the Kanega Watch learns your daily routines and movements to create a more accurate fall detection feature. You can also customize how sensitive you want the watch to be. The watch can detect when you’ve fallen and contact the operator to send emergency services. This automatic fall detection is a patented technology exclusive to the Kangea Watch. The technology is meant to cut back on the false fall alerts that notify medical alarm call centers even when there is no emergency.

Other companies often charge for an additional pendant whose sole purpose is to detect falls. UnaliWear offers the convenience of having these features along with others all include in one device. 

3 Ways to Get Help (Including Voice Activation)

Pressing little buttons on a small watch interface can result in a frustrating experience. When you’re in an emergency situation, you need to be able to communicate quickly.  That’s why UnaliWear created a watch that uniquely offers three ways to get help – fall detection, button, and voice. You can also press the watch button to connect with the response center based in the United States. The watch wearers can also set up medication reminders in the online portal. 

The watch does not require a landline or cellphone to work. The Kanega Watch has its own Wi-Fi connection and LTE technology. This gives you the freedom to leave the house without a phone while still keeping a communication device on you. 

30-Day Risk-Free Trial 

All purchases include a 30-day risk-free trial. That means if you are not satisfied with the product within the first 30 days of purchase, you can return the watch for a full refund. Risk-free trials show that the company believes in its product quality and value. 

None of the plans include a contract. You can cancel at any time for a pro-rated refund of all the unused months paid upfront; by simply returning the equipment back to UnaliWear in good condition. The initial set-up fee is not refundable after the 30 days have passed. 

No Need to Remove to Charge

One of the most convenient features of the Kanega Watch is its long-lasting charge. Each purchase comes with four rechargeable lithium batteries. You never have to worry about remembering to charge the watch at night and put it back on in the morning. Just swap out the batteries daily to stay protected. 

Watch batteries are easy to replace and require minimal finger strength. There is also a backup battery in the watch that provides GPS location and enough power to make a 15-minute call or remain on standby for up to 8 additional hours. 

Wide Call Coverage 

The Kanega Watch stays connected to Verizon’s cellular network at all times. In addition to the cellular connection, the watch also has Wi-Fi connectivity capabilities to keep your connection strong while you’re at home. Not all homes have reliable cellular service so this Wi-Fi connectivity helps ensure fast and consistent service. 

Visit Site

thumb_down

The Bad

  • No Wearable Neck Pendant Options
  • Higher than Average Monthly Cost 

No Wearable Neck Pendant Options

The majority of providers offer medical alert pendants you can wear around your neck or wrist. UnaliWear only sells a smartwatch, rather than wearable pendants. However, this may not be seen as a disadvantage if you prefer a smartwatch over a wearable pendant. 

Expensive Monthly Cost 

UnaliWear offers a quarterly and an annual payment plan. The annual plan includes an upfront cost of $199 for the watch and ongoing monitoring service for $59.95 per month. The quarterly plan is a little more expensive with a one-time fee of $299 and $69.95 per month for monitoring services. 

Other medical alert smartwatches have comparable up-front prices with a range between $49.99 to $199.00. Some medical alert companies offer the equipment for free on lease and only charge you a monthly service cost. Based on our research, UnaliWear has one of the most expensive monthly service charges for its smartwatch. This is something to consider if you are trying to find an affordable medical alert option. 

Note: The company offers discounts for individuals buying two Kanega watches in the same location. You can also get a free month of service if you are an AARP member or a family member of active duty military or veteran. 

gavel

The Bottom Line

UnaliWear has taken medical alert smartwatches to the next level by including several exclusive features such as voice-activation, smart fall detection, and Wi-Fi compatibility. The long-lasting battery makes it easy to wear the watch day and night. Individuals won’t have to worry about forgetting to put it on every day. 

The Kanega Watch is priced above other traditional medical alert products. This watch may not be the right fit for you if you have a tight budget and need a very simple medical alert pendant. 

The company does not offer other medical alert devices. However, the Kanega Watch is a versatile product that works in the home or when you are outside. UnaliWear’s watch is a good fit for individuals seeking a simplified device that provides safety and independence; particularly for those looking for a fall detection device that does not require wearing a neck pendant.

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Message from
UnaliWear

Unali means “friend,” and Kanega means “speak” in the Cherokee Native American language. So we aspire to be “the friend that speaks to you” and helps you stay independent with dignity.

The Kanega Watch is the only medical alert watch with built-in Fall Detection. Until her mother passed away in late 2018, Jean Anne Booth, our founder, continued to run every prototype by her mother to make sure her tech made sense in the real world. Her mother had the title of "Senior Experience Officer" – both literally and figuratively.

That's why the Kanega Watch is waterproof, voice, button and fall detection activated, and it never needs to be removed to charge (among other key features) – providing real round-the-clock peace of mind for wearers and those who care for them.

keyboard_arrow_up keyboard_arrow_down
bestcompany guarantee

Best Company guarantees your satisfaction if you choose a company that has earned this distinction. If you're not satisfied after 30 days, simply let us know and we'll give you $200. Yes, it's really that simple.

Learn More

Star Rating

3.9

star star star star star_border

101 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

43%

4 grade

21%

3 grade

24%

2 grade

8%

1 grade

5%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star_half star_border

Quality

star star star star_half star_border

Service

star star star star star_half

Trustworthiness

star star star star star_border
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

BARBARA R MYERS

I have had several problems with the watch itself and am on my fourth replacement watch. Problems included microphone not working; watch draining battery power too quickly; chipped battery compartment and broken hinge. However, I do have peace of mind knowing that I can reach a live person at the monitoring service 24/7 if I am in trouble. Customer service has been excellent in providing quick responses to each problem I have had with the watch.

3 weeks ago

UnaliWear Logo

Reply from UnaliWear

Thank you for your kind review. We are sorry you have had the number of issues you have had with your Kanega Watch. That is not the normal experience for our wearers. We appreciate your understanding and willingness to help us resolve these issues for you promptly. We hope your experience from here on in is flawless and we can continue to provide you the discreet peace of mind that you deserve. All the best and stay well and safe.

Jul. 19th, 2022

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Judy Ray

They are extremely helpful and patient on the telephone for questions. Reading the numbers on the batteries is very hard to see. I keep track of batteries just put in watch and those in charger. Then I know which ones work best.

3 weeks ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Ellen Naor Seattle, WA

I love the Kanega watch and the extent to which it is designed and engineered for older people including those with arthritis or other dexterity issues. The only problems i have had with it are the difficulty in getting a stretchy band small enough to fit my wrist snugly while allowing it to slip over my enlarged knuckles (small magnetic mesh band is still too large); and secondly, the batteries fall out and get lost rather frequently. However, Unaliwear has always been quick to replace the batteries at no charge, and to work with me in trying to get an ok fit on the band.

1 month ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Shirley Lundin La Grange, IL

Contacts are very responsive, but the ultra-sensitivity of radiio contact has created some unnecessary alarms that have brought help when none was needed. This mornng, for example, the watch picked up a radio commentator's voice and reported it as an alarm, while we were still in bed. Responders came and woke us up. I suppose this can be considered "a learning experience."

1 month ago

UnaliWear Logo

Reply from UnaliWear

We are sorry you are experiencing this, Shirley. Note that the Voice Activation feature is listening to activate the watch if it believe it hears the wake word and Get Help - so lots of ambient noise (like a loud TV or radio over extended time) can sometimes trigger it. Note that you can contact our Customer Success Team to reduce the sensitivity of your watch's Voice Activation. We can even turn it off remotely, with your permission, if that is something you would prefer. The most important aspect of the Kanega Watch is that you wear it, so if you are finding these alerts annoying, know you have options to make it better for you and your lifestyle. All the best and stay well and safe.

Jun. 17th, 2022

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Robert Ledogar New York, NY

The Kanega watch is the best in all categories except one, durability. I found its construction to be very fragile. The watch broke on me twice and in the end I returned it. Subsequently I got an Apple watch but that lacks the key safety features that the Kanega has. I wish that the Kanega were more robust.

5 days ago

UnaliWear Logo

Reply from UnaliWear

Thank you for your compliment. We are really sorry to lose you as a wearer in our growing community. You are one of about 2% of our community that has experienced repeated breaks of their Kanega Watch's battery carriers. Alternatively, we have many wearers who have had the same Kanega Watch for 3+ years with no breakage issues. We hope to have an option to serve you better in the near future and will proactively reach out when that is available. All the best and stay well and safe.

Aug. 12th, 2022

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Mrs. Carol Pfister Palatine, IL

My watch frequently sends an alert when it shouldn't. I do prefer it to those worn around the neck. One of the contacts, James, often answeres before listening to the complete question, answers before he knows what I asked and makes noises when he is on the phone, so I am not sure what he is doing.

1 month ago

UnaliWear Logo

Reply from UnaliWear

Thank you for your review. Regarding the alerts, please note that the Voice and Fall Activation sensitivity can be customized to your preferences, which would reduce the number of alerts you are getting. Please contact our Customer Success Team if you would like to discuss those options further.

Jul. 7th, 2022

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Carol Wessel Green Valley, AZ

Excellent operator support but watch goes off far too often, when there is a phone call, when there is a loud voice, when the tv is high. Sensitivity is supposed to be adjusted after the first few weeks but still having many "false alarms." Customer support for batteries and trouble shooting is excellent.

1 month ago

UnaliWear Logo

Reply from UnaliWear

Thank you for your review. The alerts you are referring to are all voice activated - and we need to reduce that sensitivity through our Customer Success Team. They will reach out shortly to discuss your options.

Jul. 7th, 2022

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Tricia Baughman Phoenix, AZ

I have severe migraine neck issues which prevent me from wearing a typical fall detection device around my neck so, the Kanega watch is my best solution. It does tend to be over-reactive to supposed verbal requests for help among other things; however, the comfort of being able to be in 24/7 contact with their customer support system more than makes up for it. Also, while they tell you that the batteries will last 24-36 hours, in my experience over the past year plus… that is definitely a stretch! It would be nice if batteries lasted longer AND if there was some way to charge it in your car instead of only being able to charge it in an electrical outlet.

1 month ago

UnaliWear Logo

Reply from UnaliWear

We are happy that the Kanega Watch gives you a medical alert option that works for you given your neck issues. Regarding the over-reaction to voice activation, please contact our customer success team if you'd like us to reduce the sensitivity of your voice activation, which would alleviate that issue. In addition, the batteries are designed to last 24-36 hours on a full charge - the lower number is for those that are mostly out of the house on cellular all day and the higher number is for those that are mostly at home on WiFi (which drains the batteries more slowly). If you are finding that is not your experience, please contact our customer success team for troubleshooting and assistance. All the best and stay well and safe.

Jun. 29th, 2022

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Amy Johnson

Great product. Band could be improved. A little rough for fragile skin and clasp sometimes comes loose and can fall off.

3 weeks ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Jerry Robinson San Francisco, CA

I really like some of the features, such as waterproof, easy battery changes, and live phone calls. I do find some of the features are not so easy to use, although the manual is certainly helpful. The fall detection is probably very good, but as expected I am getting many false detections, one resulting in the appearance of the Fire Dept. I seem to have had a number of difficulties using the product, that has included having to return the watch for a replacement a couple of times. Recently, the plastic, or whatever material, that attached the watch face to the band simply broke. A new watch was promptly received. I have had to return the watch for a replacement a couple of times

2 months ago

UnaliWear Logo

Reply from UnaliWear

Thank you for review and allowing us to continue to keep you safe; within seconds of a emergency response agent 24/7 through your Kanega Watch. Yes, a small percentage of our wearers can find the battery changing a bit challenging and, forcing the batteries into and/or pulling them out can cause immediate breakage of the band or small fractures that can cause unexpected breakage over time. I would encourage you to contact our customer success team to review the process of changing these spring loaded batteries again so this is no longer an issue for you going forward. Regarding the Fall Detection, we can reduce the sensitivity of your Fall Detection so those alerts are not as bothersome for you. All Fall Detection is predictive, but we are the only company in the world that offers a medical alert device in which the Fall Detection sensitivity can be customized. We hope you take advantage of this unique feature to ensure you get the most out of your Kanega Watch experience. All the best and stay well and safe.

May. 31st, 2022

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Lois J Bjelke

The watch is a bit clunky, needs to be waterproof for swimming. Great customer service when my watch broke.

3 weeks ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Denny Baker Glen Burnie, MD

I like te fact that tyhe knwga watch is designed to address the 2 major areas of risk of falling. The ability to hide that one is wearing such a device , whji;le not a concern for mis also well done. And I tloime thatgthe company backs up their committm,ent by readily providing replacements if the hardware should fail. I remail fully committed to Unaliwear and the kanega watch

2 months ago

UnaliWear Logo

Reply from UnaliWear

Thank you so much for your kind words. We are a mission based company so knowing we are providing you and our many other wearers with this kind of peace of mind is what drives us everyday to make the Kanega Watch experience better and better for our growing community. All the best and stay well and safe.

May. 31st, 2022

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Joyce Wynn Chesapeake, VA

I have only had my watch for 6 months and this is the first of any kind of safety watch.

2 weeks ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Barbara Cambria Kilmarnock, VA

I feel pretty secure, but a piece of wire/fabric from watchband has poked out and catching on fabric, annoying

1 month ago

UnaliWear Logo

Reply from UnaliWear

Thank you for your review. Our Customer Success team will reach out to you shortly regarding the replacement of your watch band.

Jul. 7th, 2022

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Benjamin J Weinraub Philadelphia, PA

Great concept, simple and easy to use. Would prefer metal housing on the watch/batteries for durability.

1 month ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Linda L Parish Chesapeake, VA

Watch works great, but quality needs to improve> I have numerous replacements of batteries, straps, etc.

1 month ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

A.M.DAWSON

Customer service they all speak American makes it easier for me to understand.

3 weeks ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Suzanne Kemp

Love the convenience of the watch and the functions. Hate that it activates when I move my hands quickly.

1 month ago

UnaliWear Logo

Reply from UnaliWear

Glad you like your Kanega Watch. Note the fall detection sensitivity can be reduced, to limit the number of false activations you are getting. We will have our customer success team reach out to you to make that adjustment remotely. All the best and stay well and safe.

Aug. 1st, 2022

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Bruce E. Ryden Fort Mill, SC

Has been very effective in detecting falls.

1 month ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Phyllis Patricelli Valatie, NY

Reacts to deep voices without the password being said

1 month ago

UnaliWear Logo

Reply from UnaliWear

Thanks for taking the time to write a review, Phyllis. Note your watch's Voice Activation sensitivity can be reduced at your request. Please contact our Customer Success Team if that is something you would like to have implemented for your watch. All the best and stay well and safe.

Jun. 17th, 2022

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Debbie Lehbert Berkeley Springs, WV

It isuch better that the fall . Has been turned down

1 month ago

UnaliWear Logo

Reply from UnaliWear

Glad you were able to get the Fall Detection sensitivity customized for your preferences/needs. All the best and stay well and safe.

Jun. 17th, 2022