GreatCall Logo

GreatCall

check_circleVerified

star star star star_border star_border
445 User Reviews

4.1

Overall Score

cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
star star star star_border star_border

Larry Tarrytown, NY

We had a Great Call Lively that wouldn't hold it's charge so we replaced it (for a fee) in December. Two months later, the brand new device is not holding a charge for more than 7.5 hours at a time. My Mom is 95 and needs something that won't require constant charging. The agents available on the phone keep trying to reboot it and this doesn't correct the issue, which I suspect is a design flaw. It's a good concept ... cellular signal that is not reliant on a base station. But if it is not practical, it doesn't matter how good an idea it is.

2 years ago

star star star_border star_border star_border

Marianne Cavelti Seattle, WA

I really, really wanted for this to be the right service for my Dad. I've experienced exceedlingly long wait times when calling about problems with the Jitterbug flip phone. I opted for the flip phone because it was simple to use, when my Dad had some medication related encephalopathy. The phone itself is just a piece of JUNK. I routinely have to drive over to check on him because the phone isn't ringing. About once a week, the battery needs to be removed, because the phone locks up. This is impossible for my Dad to do himself. I think the service would be great, if the phone itself worked at all reliably. As it is, right now, I can't get a hold of my Dad. Again. The whole point of a simple phone is undermined by such a low quality phone. I'm looking for a different service presently.

3 years ago

GreatCall Logo

Reply from GreatCall

Hi Marianne, we are sorry to hear of your experience with the Jitterbug Flip phone. GreatCall strives to provide the highest level of Customer Service available. All calls are answered in the order they are received and although hold times vary, most calls are answered within a few minutes. We encourage you to charge your phone every day. This will ensure that the Jitterbug Flip phone is power on throughout the day to make or receive calls, should the need arise. For further assistance, please contact our Customer Service at, 1 800-733-6632, between 5am and 8pm, Pacific Time.

Jan. 10th, 2019

star star star star_border star_border

Carol Seal Beach, CA

I've had several Great Call devices because they have stopped working (holding a charge) after only a few months. Customer service was courteous but ineffectual. They finally replaced my last one with no charge but I'm about ready to finally find another company - even if it would be more expensive than Great Call. My current device only keeps a charge for 6-7 hours which is not very helpful when one is out and about during the day for several hours.

3 years ago

star star star star star

linda siegel Brownsburg, IN

This experience with great call is fabulous. I never feel alone and I am not afraid of falling. I have Meniere's Disease and recently had a mastectomy and great call is a blessing to have.

3 years ago

star star star star star

Elizabeth Chambers

Haven't needed to use for emergency yet but each time I've tested it the response is immediate and identifies me & my location. Very helpful & polite response to see if help is needed.

4 years ago

star star star star star

Buddy Slate

Hi, My name is Buddy Slate and i just say that this service is awesome, simple and sophisticated and customer service is also 5 star service and device signal is also good. thanks to great call service

4 years ago

star star star star star_border

Carole Barnes

Have Great Call for 3yrs. Haven't had to use. Customer service reps are excellent. Unit is long lasting. Conveniently fits in purse or pocket. I sometimes clip it to my outer clothing when I'm walking alone and carrying things in both hands, especially at night. Makes me feel safer.

5 years ago

star star star_border star_border star_border

Gus Altadena, CA

Ordered this for a family member and came as advertised. Calling in for support is trying on patience since they seem to continue to be under staffed in this area. Quick to order, slow on support. But once we got in, they were nice, polite and good. Problem is the neck device we have has totally died twice now requiring a new complete one to be resent - taking a week without support. You would think after the 2nd one in 3 weeks, they would overnight at their cost - but no such luck. We will see how long it take before another failure - still waiting now on 2nd box. This does not leave us feeling good about our loved ones. I would expect a much better response and turn around for a company in the market.

5 years ago

star star star star star

Len Bogdan Glendale, AZ

Never a problem Easy to communicate with agent. I did get needed assistance when needed on one occasion. It never broke. I thought a wrist band holder for the device was too expensive, so I did not buy one.

5 years ago

star star star star star_border

mary fellini

This has been a new freedom for me. I spend a lot of time in the summer on a small boat and was happy to have the security of Great call with me. i did a test call from our mooring and received an immediate response. Price is competitive.

5 years ago

star star star_border star_border star_border

George Newberger Akron, OH

The electronic equipment and response are very good,but attachments are not.I'm an active 90 year old who cuts my own 1 acre lawn and plants and cares for 60 Dahlia plants I can't have the great call on a lanyand around my neck.The wrist band is a very insecure attachment for the 5 star. It has fallen off many times.I lost my original unit when the band broke when working in the woods. I got a replacement but the new unit has to be removed from the wrist band to place it in the charger which is an added task I like the fact that the unit works away from the home, but as I indicated the attachment equipment has some serious design flaws.

6 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Timothy Page Newfane, VT

This company is expensive, gets kicked off-service for hours by the companies whose towers they use, and has a shoddy proprietary phone. They are best known for what they do NOT offer.

4 months ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

mk305 Fowler, OH

Great coverage, great price. My mother in law was able to learn how to use the phone.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Lilly Fort Lauderdale, FL

It is very easy to use and convenient. Customer service has always been friendly and patient.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Maggie Fullerton, CA

It was easy to set up on line and the customer service was also a pleasant experience.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Janice Phinney

GreatCall gives excellent service. My only negative is the on/off button on the Lively. hard to turn on.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

H. Myers

The phone is reliable, easy to learn/use, and the company's customer service is exceptional.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Bernice Zeckzer Lake Elsinore, CA

I had to call them today and they were very good in helping me and talking me through it.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Virgie Clark Milwaukee, WI

I never have any problems, everything is clear and has large numbers. The price is good.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Rhoda Rogers Greeley, CO

I wear it every day, and when I needed it it was there and I was responded to appropriately.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Jeanne Mckay Norco, CA

I'm an older person, and I don't know how to use iPhones or iPads, but this is easy to use.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Harold King Port Jervis, NY

I could never get ahold of customer support when I wanted to. The phone is not as easy to use as they say it is. I always push the wrong button.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Bill Sirk

Easy to use! The customer service department was very knowledgeable and helpful to me.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

R.S Roseville, CA

I'm not a high-tech person so it's good that it's very easy to use and has good sound to it.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Faye Ellenburg

I use it when I am travelling, I have no problems with it and it's good for my purposes.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

L.N

I only wear it when I go outside sometimes, but it's been working just fine for me.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Ruth Fiero

I haven't had to use it yet, but it's always there when I want it and I know I can rely on it.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Janice Burns Montello, WI

I've never had any trouble with it. I like that it is louder and easy for me to hear.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Anonymous Massapequa, NY

I only had the cell phone service with them but any question I had was readily answered.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Lucille Boonville, IN

The two main things that I like are their phones and the price. We only really use it when we are gone or in the car.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Barbara Schirmer Rush, NY

The buttons are bigger which makes it convenient. It's always been very reliable and handy.

3 years ago

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Ruth

I appreciate the large size keys, the volume, and personal caring customer service

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Coni Foss ,

I have worn the Lively plus for several years. I have just had a nasty fall on my face in asphalt. Broken nose, broken finger, badly messed up face with cuts and bruises, as well as painful. Lively did not activate. A couple days later when I could think a little more clearly, I called Great Call support. I was very rudely told that the unit had to be on the outside of my clothing to be effective. Picture this: this 1.5"X2.5" unit on a heavy black cord, flashing a green light , hanging on my chest. People might be wondering how I escaped from the home. I commented that there was nothing in the advertising or information that came with it, and why wouldn't I be informed of this restriction. The person, certainly not gentleman, said he would cancel my account right now and hung up on me as I was asking another question. I have been a customer for many years and do not deserve this ultimate rudeness. Yes, I am going to immediately switch to another company.

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Zoe Herrod Pearland, TX

Terrible equipment, even worse service. First numbers were locked out - our granddaughter's phone somehow registered the number as spam - took more than a week to correct that. For the past three weeks, you can call out, but the person on the other line cannot hear you - service department says they don't know how to fix that. We bought a new phone and tried to transfer the number to the new company; Great Call said we had to wait until the end of the billing cycle. Now there is an "issue" (Hailey's technical explanation) with the transfer, and we will have to wait at least two more business days with a phone that doesn't work.

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

April ,

My mother and father both had the old jitterbug flip phones, recently we bought the new lovely flip phones. Everything works great except when my husband and I call them they can hear us but we can’t hear them. When they call us we can hear them just fine. And when other people call them they can hear them. I called great call, they said everythingvwas fine on their end, so we called Apple as we have the new Apple I phone pro. Apple said there doesn’t seem to be a problem on our end, we even called our provider Verizon and they spent along time with us and said nothing is wrong on their end. Still this is not resolved. My parents are both 80 years old and I sure would like to be able to talk to them.

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

DCwriter Bellevue, WA

Please note that my experience is based on the fact that I'm hearing impaired, which has made it even more of a challenge to work with Great Call. I've had their flip phone for many years without a problem, and although now I can't hear much on it, I carry it for emergencies. Have had no problems with the phone for the many years I've had it. But the Lively is a different case. The first time I used it, I bent over and must have set off the alarm that I couldn't hear. The light that flashes was not noticeable in a well lit room, and the dispatcher's voice was not audible. Suddenly I heard someone pounding hard on the garage entrance to my bedroom. Terrified, I ran into the living room, only to see two paramedics coming through the front door with oxygen and stretcher. Then it all made sense. Thankfully the local FD was very understanding. That night, I decided I did not want this unit. I took it off and bent over to put it in its cradle which was on a low shelf next to my bed. Thankfully I saw the light flash. Although I couldn't hear the voice, I repeated over and over that it was a false alarm. I didn't touch it again until I was sure the batter had died. Again, this may be a good unit for others, but I certainly don't recommend it for the hearing impaired who might not be able to communicate with the dispatcher etc.

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Cory Camallieri ,

GreatCall Is LousyCall Understand GreatCall is not a friendly simple service for seniors, but more a “Lousy Call” that offers inept arrogant lame customer service (telephone reps and general operations). One agent lied or reported I must file a police report to change my telephone number, not the norm. The website is confusing and not user-friendly; it lacks some basic simple user features and is temperamental in function. You will generally encounter poorly trained staff people who create problems instead of solving them. Wait times are long if they are not using the auto-call back system, and they usually do not. It is unfortunate “GreatCall-LousyCall” customer service is so terrible because their phone (Jitterbug smartphone) is an inexpensive okay/easy-to-read device with not all the preinstalled junk you find on others.

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

William Lusby Pinellas Park, FL

I purchased a Jitterbug phone for my 90 year old, home alone mother, on April 7, 2016. At that time the product did pretty much everything as advertised. The main purpose for the purchase was to give my mom some peace of mind and give me the opportunity to monitor her activities, since I live in St. Petersburg, FL and she lives in Louisville, KY. The system did not work perfect all the time, but usually could be fixed with a phone call to Customer Service (CS) or a simple reset. Several months ago I noticed that the APP formats on the monitoring service had completely changed. Since then I've had nothing but problems connecting her Jitterbug to my cell phone. The first problem had to do with tracking, it pretty much quit working and when it did work, I was usually notified 2-3 hours later. Then her phone began to fail due to age, so I purchased her a new Jitterbug phone on March 14, 2020. When the phone was received and activated I continued to have the same connection problems . After numerous emails ( because it's nearly impossible to get CS on the phone without waiting an unreasonable amount of time) with Customer Service it was determined that the new phone was probably defective. My mother received replacement phone this past Wednesday (4/22/2020) and it was activated on Friday (4/24/20). I then reinstalled the Great Call APP on my cell phone and it seemed to work. However, in less than 24 hours the same issues started all over again. Sent some more emails to CS and have yet to hear from anyone. Its really frustrating and unfortunate that you took a pretty reliable APP and after changing it made it so unreliable. I certainly could not recommend this service to anyone.

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Linda L. Burns/James R. Lambert Jr Spartanburg, SC

I set up my Dad back in March of 2019 with the neck device for his assistance at age 91 at the time. The device has been very helpful until maybe the past 6 months at which time it kept going " dead " on me- I had to call customer service for it to be reset and was advised to place it near a window location. This Sunday, 4-19-20, I had put the device in the charger and my Dad had his Verizon cell phone in his pocket. He fell and could not get up, could not remember any phone #s and finally dialed 911. Paramedics came out to the house after notifying me based on their records, got him up and checked him for possible rib injury. At that time I noticed his call device with Great call was not charged and was red. I called Customer Service for the reset, as I had been doing for the past 6 months, and was advised at that time the device was not useable!!! When I questioned her about resetting as before, she said the device was OBSOLETE and had been OBSOLETE at the time it was sent and paid for back in March of 2019. She said that the company KNEW it was OBSOLETE and sent it out anyway EVEN THOUGH there was a current model available. She said she was getting A LOT OF CALLS from other folks with the same situation. I AM FURIOUS that was my 92 year old father was subjected to possible harm because this company OPTED to clear out their stock knowing full well it was not the current model AND that it was going to fail without ANY ANY ANY notice to my Dad or myself, his daughter, creating a unnecessary issue for his health and wellbeing. Now we are sitting here waiting on " the CORRECT device " and my Dad is having to rely on a cellphone that he has trouble dialing due to his hands. I think this company preyed on innocent seniors, probably in certain age brackets, with the belief they probably wouldn't be around much longer and have now created the issue of high concern that this next device may be obsolete and we will not be notified. I plan to notify AARP, Consumer Protection Agency, as well as, a very aggressive attorney that deals with consumer issues. In addition, you have certainly been reaping the benefits of our monthly draft payment without question because we thought you were a company of honor. I hope all of the other clients that your customer service representative told me about will read this review and we can band together to be refunded all of our payments that were made in good faith only to find out there WAS OBSOLETE equipment being shipped out. Linda L. Burns on behalf of my wonderful Dad, James R. Lambert Jr.

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Stephen Danielson Lincoln, NE

I have owned a Jitterbug Smart 2 phone from Great Call for several years. They sent it to me to replace a Jitterbug Flip phone that I had a lot of trouble with. I like the Smart 2 even less. Among my complaints about the Smart 2 are the 5 Star button that cannot be disabled. I often call 911 unfortunately when I meant to hit the Home icon next to it. The Home icon usually takes me to somewhere else and seldom to Home or nothing happens when I touch it. When I try to use my voice to write a text, any hesitation between words causes the phone to want to send the text whether it is ready or not. The phone can only be charged with the cable that is too short for most uses. Informative texts are too tiny for me to read oftentimes. I have tried to get Customer Service to help me with these and other problems, but often they say that the phone was designed to be that way and can't be modified. Maybe, they need to think about these and other issues when and if they ever develop a new phone model. Steve

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Steve Brandon, FL

This is a company that does not tell you the truth. It seems like they know the will deal with seniors so when you question there actions they want to answer by saying OH! maybe you did not hear or understand it. After they (sales person) being asked multiple times if there is and restocking fee or do I have to pay to ship the phones back. The sales person said no. They say they record all phone calls. When asked to play back. They say they will review it and refuse to let you hear it. Very bad company. They should really be looked into by the BBB. I received the phones on 3/19/2020 evening. They take $85+ the next day without my permission. I call to return the phones. I stay on hold for about 25 minutes. Then to be told I have to pay to return them and also pay a restocking fee for each phone. Then was told I will have to wait 15 days for my $247.91. Plus another few days for it to show back up in my bank account. They said if I would have refused shipment I would have not have to pay the return. BUT the box was left at my front door. It was not handed to me. Be very careful with this company. Record your call if you want to deal with them.

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Tracey Davidson Dawsonville, GA

I was a customer of Great Call for 8 years. I purchased the button for my 84 year old Mother. My Mother used the device a total of 3 times during the 8 years I was a customer. I paid extra each month for fall detection and for 24/7 Dr. Advise. My mother has fallen through a plate glass door, fell on concrete on top of a birdbath, fell so hard in her living room floor that it knocked her out. The button never worked. The doctors on the 24/7 assistance never called her back the one time she used this service. All this company cares about is the money. I never received a refund for any monies I paid. I was promised a $5.00 refund but just like their service, it never happened. I would not recommend this company to my worst enemy. They are horrible. They promise services that are never happen and lie over and over.

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Kevin John Charleston, SC

I'm writing about my deceased fathers experience with GreatCall wireless. He had poor cell phone reception through his duration as a customer of GreatCall. I'm also going to talk about my experience. My father passed away about 6 weeks ago, it took me a long time to get his estate set up and get the legal right to handle his final bills and affairs. I've been calling all of the banks, services, companies and institutions in which he had accounts i.e. Insurance companies, cable providers and other services in order to cancel them. I called GreatCall today to cancel his account and asked them to backdate the date of his death because he obviously was not using the phone after he was deceased. They refused to do so and offered me no explanation as to why. For his insurance, cable/tv/internet bills and every other service they were happy to honor this request as long as I submitted his death certificate and my letter of appointment. This policy by GreatCall is incredibly scummy - it seems they really want that extra $45 and aren't willing to offer a reasonable request of not charging a dead man for a cell phone plan he's clearly not using. Also and this is the big one - they allowed me to cancel his cell phone plan without any verification of who I was. They also didn't ask for documentation like every other company I've dealt with has. This to me begs the question about security....if I can call up and cancel this cell phone plan without them verifying his identity, what could someone with bad intentions do? Clearly I'll never use GreatCall but I hope others reading this will make the same decision based on these crass, ridiculous practices.

1 year ago

GreatCall Logo

Reply from GreatCall

Hi Kevin, we are very sorry for your loss. GreatCall does not require a death certificate but we would be willing to back date the cancellation of your Father's account. Please look for a private message from us, requesting additional information.

Feb. 4th, 2020

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Gary Morris, OK

This phone and service is advertised that one doesn't need to add the emergency service, and I thought it might be a reasonably easy phone to use so I bought one and specified that I didn't want the emergency service. Now what happens is if you don't pay for the emergency service and you accidently allow your finger to approach the emergency key, it immediately dials 911 and there is no way to stop it. I asked them to disable the emergency service which I don't need or want and they refuse to do it. I tried sticking a thick tape over the button, but it still works anyhow. Now anyone who can unlock the phone and press the emergency key can just as well dial 911. It's not difficult, and please correct me if I'm wrong but I believe 911 operators have better things to do than answer spurious calls. I am going to approach my legislators about a law to make these things illegal unless the company can disable the emergency button upon request. I feel certain that this is a scam just to try to force customers to purchase their emergency add-on whether they need it or not.

1 year ago

GreatCall Logo

Reply from GreatCall

Hi Gary, we are sorry to hear about your recent experience. Please look for a private message from us, requesting additional information.

Feb. 4th, 2020

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Gwen Coleman Sherman, TX

I have had a Grest Call device since shortly after I fell and broke my knee cap in 2010. Soon after acquiring the device I went on an extended road trip and while 1000+ miles away from home a red light appeared on the device. Not knowing what this meant I pressed the button to find what I should do. Immediately an agent answered and gave my name and location including the street name where I was calling from. I was so excited with this device and service that I started recommending Great Call to all my senior friends and acquaintances. I decided to get their Jitterbug phone and was equally pleased with the phone and it's performance. When the phone became outdated I got the first Jitterbug smart phone and when it developed a problem that couldn't be fixed they sent me a Smart Phone 2 at no cost to me. It was well that I had no money involved because this phone gave me problems almost immediately. I called customer service on two occasions and gave them permission to take control of my phone and on neither occasion were they able to fix the problem. Some time went by and then I found that I could not access the Internet on the phone even though I could on my laptop and tablet. The connection icon on the phone showed to be connected but a question mark was superimposed over it. I called customer service and gave permission to take control of the phone. The service tech immediately said you are connected. I called her attention to the question mark and she appeared to be trying to find the problem. after some time she asked to check my router for certain buttons and numbers. Then she asked me to take a picture of certain labels on the router. The pictures were not clear enough to help her so she suggested I contact the router service. At this point she signed off. I checked the phone and it showed that the question mark was gone and service was restored. On further checking I found that several things had changed such as data usage. I am a 92 year old person who no longer drives and seldom leave home so I only used my phone when I am away from home to make calls I did not have an unlimited data plan. I paid for 100 mg of data in case I had need when I was away . I had the phone set to alert me when I had used 97% of the data so I would not go over, Now I find that the data usage alert had been set for several hundred gbs. So i again called customer service and got a different rep who helped me reset the things that had been changed. Almost immediately I get an invoice for $156 and some few cents of data usage. What?? After a few minutes of scratching my head I realized this was connected to the service call. So I call billing and after some discussion they agree to deduct $50.00 and I thanked them and informed them that I did not plan to pay any of the charge. In the meantime I thought back to two previous charges I received for excess data usage, one for $60..00 and one for $40.00 which they agreed to mark off. I belatedly realized that these charges had occurred after my two previous service calls. Within a month I received a call from the billing office asking for payment of the remaining $106.00 I owed. After I explained why I didn't feel I owed this charge and would not pay it.This agent became angry and hung up. .I test my device occasionally to make sure it works. Fast forward to January 2020......I check and it doesn't work. I call customer service and find that service was cut off in November. Sneaky! They didn't notify me. Let me continue to pay a monthly fee as a way to recover the money I do not owe. So for two months I was without help in case I might have needed it. Thank God I didn't. I find it hard to think that a company that supposedly was founded to help the elderly and disabled would be so petty. What happened to this once good business?

2 years ago

GreatCall Logo

Reply from GreatCall

Hello Gwen, we are sorry to hear of your experience and appreciate your feedback. We would like to look into this further with you, please look for a private response from us.

Jan. 8th, 2020

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Joanne Siegla Vienna, OH

This is unchanged from my previous complaint on Dec 20th -- still -0-!! I have NEVER, ever returned an expensive item without authorization. My late husband did that once, they claimed they never got it, he was out of luck. So I was NOT about to start w/ this phone. I notified Great Call the 1st part of Oct that the phone could NOT be activated, and that I did NOT want it. I never got an answer to REPEATED requests until it was too late to return the phone. Then to add insult to injury, the company billed me additional fees for monthly "service". Rather hilarious considered the phone has never even been activated let alone used. Finally the end of Dec, they "suspended" my service. Ridiculous since that was impossible. I still feel I should not have to pay for this worthless object -- unchanged from my first notice to them on October 9, 2019.

2 years ago

GreatCall Logo

Reply from GreatCall

Hello Joanne, we are sorry to hear of your experience and appreciate your feedback. We do not have any long-term contracts and service can be cancelled at any time by calling our Customer Service. Additionally, GreatCall does have a 30-day return option, when you call within 30days the information is provided. We would like to look into this further with you, please look for a private response from us.

Dec. 20th, 2019

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Donna San Manuel, AZ

My mother signed up for great call and got a jitterbug flip phone. I have an iPhone and I could not figure out this stupid phone. She decided to go back with Verizon and when she did they refused to port her phone number over which she had had for many years and wanted to keep. We spent hours and hours between calling great Cole and Verizon with no luck. Great call gave her such a runaround it was terrible and we did not end up getting her number back. Not only that but when she went to get her contacts and copy them onto her new Verizon phone they had somehow wiped out all her contacts from her flip phone now she Doesn’t even have some of the phone numbers that she wants had. I would not recommend this company to anyone especially a senior citizen!

2 years ago

GreatCall Logo

Reply from GreatCall

Hello Donna, we are sorry to hear of your experience and appreciate your feedback. We would like to look into this further with you, please look for a private response from us.

Jan. 7th, 2020

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Mark H Taylorville, IL

As others have stated...I wish I could leave a 0-star review. I cancelled service with GreatCall within 24 hours of activation (ironically because of an issue with the phone, not GreatCall). According to GreatCall's Customer Agreement, there is a 30-day full-refund policy. When I cancelled the service, I was assured that there would be an immediate refund and no further charges. I then received a bill from GreatCall for $51.69, contrary to what I had been told. When I called I was once again assured that the charges would be credited and there would be a $0 balance. I waited for a week to call and just check to insure that the charges were refunded. They had not been. I was once again guaranteed that THIS TIME it would be taken care of and all charges would be deleted. Yesterday (a full 2 months after my original GUARANTEE that I would receive a credit), I received a past-due bill for the full $51.69. Since it is obvious that GreatCall has no intention, or capability, of adhering to their own Customer Agreement, I paid the bill. However, I will do all that I can to dissuade ANYONE from ever using GreatCall. I wonder how many consumers like me have been defrauded by this completely incompetent company. They are either intentionally corrupt or incredibly incompetent. Either way, I encourage anyone who has a Legitimate and Provable case against them to file a formal complaint with both the Better Business Bureau and your State Attorney General's Office of Consumer Affairs, as well as leaving reviews anywhere you can. It WILL help potential customers. While I realize that GreatCall will never honor their Customer Agreement, I felt much better after filing the formal, written complaints. I am also continuing to search for ANY consumer websites with which I can relay my story. Absolutely a terrible company

2 years ago

GreatCall Logo

Reply from GreatCall

Hello Mark, we appreciate your feedback. As previously advised, because you cancelled withing 24-hours, you have received a full refund for both the activation fee and the monthly service fee. If you do not see the refund on your credit card statement, we suggest you contact your credit card company. Additionally, GreatCall’s 30-day return policy, packaged with the phone and which can be viewed on our web page, , states you will receive a refund less the restocking fee. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you.

Jan. 2nd, 2020

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

carol Greenfield, OH

If I could give it a 0 I would. We bought the alert for my father who was independent but a fall risk. The first problem: he has a pacemaker so we couldn't use the location part of it or the fall alert which both work by the magnet that holds the lanyard together although we paid for the service for two months. Second: he had a little bit of memory problem and didn't always remember to recharge it--the battery only held a charge for about a day. I bought it for $79.99 thinking that was the full price for the service. No. There's monthly fee as well. My father felt very confident with his device though and didn't want my brother and I hovering. I checked on him on Monday morning: everything was fine. My brother went over Tuesday evening, he'd been lying on the floor since noon on Monday. He kept pushing the button but the battery was dead. He was in renal failure from dehydration and muscle breakdown from laying in one position (he couldn't get up) for 30 hours! He survived after spending 3 days in the IC, but he was never the same and is now terrified of falling to the point he refuses to walk. I called and complained and cancelled the contract but continued to get bills, then a collection threat! I was so furious I threatened legal action and the calls and bills stopped. But the false sense of security the device gives families and users should be outlawed. When something is made particularly for an elderly person who MAY need help but is independent why in the world would they use something that had to be recharged every day? I'm 20 years younger and sometimes forget to charge my cell. Until they get the battery charging issue fixed, I would warn anyone against this. Get one that doesn't need recharging. Oh, and the fall sensor and locator work on the magnet so it can't be used for anyone with a pacemaker or defibrillator, something they don't tell you when you buy the thing or set up service. We could have killed him using it the first few days until I called about it not working (He fell and sensor didn't go off). On a positive note: the young man who helped me set it up was quite nice. I think if they got the bugs out of it, it would be a great thing. But the battery and magnet issue have to be fixed or the consequences for the next person like my father could be tragic.

2 years ago

GreatCall Logo

Reply from GreatCall

Hello Carol, we are sorry to hear of your experience and would like to investigate this further with you. Please look for a private message from us, requesting additional details.

Dec. 4th, 2019

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Patti Diamond Springs, CA

My mother had great call ...the devices never worked properly or at all for most of 8 months .every time she called the problem would be resolved and with in a day or a few , no longer working .i live a long way from her and this just came to my attention . I called the co .while I was there visiting ,the problem could not be resolved . They said they could send a new device ,but the new devises do not have the fall alerts . That’s no good ,because she has neuropathy and vertigo...the reason for the devise in the first place ... we cancelled and received less than 2 months back on her bill .i think she should have gotten a full refund .but , good luck with that !

2 years ago

GreatCall Logo

Reply from GreatCall

Hello Patti, we are sorry to hear about your experience and would like to look into this further with you. Please look for a private response from us.

Oct. 17th, 2019