BlueStar SeniorTech was founded in 2013 and is headquartered near Washington, DC. The company offers high-quality products and services backed by excellent customer service. The company's medical alerts keep customers safe in every state supported by its U.S.-based 24/7 professionally staffed monitoring centers. BlueStar SeniorTech doesn't require a signed contract, making it easy to discontinue service when circumstances no longer require the need for a medical alert.

The company has a free membership to all veterans and their families, with 100% of its clientele being former military. BlueStar SeniorTech is owned and run by veterans and gives 10 percent of its profits to veteran-related causes and charities. The company specifically offers assistance and aid to charities which serve those helping homeless veterans.

The Good

  • Comprehensive Suite of Products and Services
  • Free Membership Benefits
  • CSAA Certified

Comprehensive Suite of Products and Services

BlueStar SeniorTech offers a comprehensive suite of products and services for their members at competitive prices. They have a return and guarantee policy that is far more liberal than any other in the industry. Indeed, if at any time, a customer is unhappy with their equipment or service, they simply return the working equipment to the company and contact the company's president for a refund of past service fees.

Free Membership Benefits

  • For the first 10,000 members, free access and use of BlueStar SeniorTech's health-monitoring software. After reaching 10,000 members, the price will be $6.95/month
  • For the first 10,000 members, free use of Brain HQ Brain Exercise software. After reaching 10,000 members, the software will cost $14.00/month
  • Members receive discounts of 10% to 40% on over one hundred retailers
  • Free subscription to "News you can use," in newsletters covering senior issues, veteran issues, and health issues, and in BlueStar SeniorTech's enormous resource library
  • Access to discounted Blue Star services, which are available only to vets and to their families

CSAA Certified

All of BlueStar SeniorTech Center employees are certified members of the Central Station Alarm Association and have received extensive training. Additionally, BlueStar SeniorTech is a certified small business employer of veterans, with a long-term vision of employing a network of at-home wounded warriors as virtual agents. They also keep and maintain contact records of family or other contacts their customers would like to be alerted.

The Bad

  • Limitations
  • Medical Records

Limitations

While BlueStar SeniorTech offers a number of effective and easy-to-use medical alert devices, the company does have some drawbacks. For example, the maximum range of its base unit for the Sentry Plus package has a range of 600 feet. While this is fairly standard for the industry, top companies feature an extended range of up to 1,000 for the same price.

Medical Records

BlueStar SeniorTech provides additional protection to its customers by alerting emergency contacts or family members in the event of a fall or other accident; however, the company does not currently disclose whether it keeps its members' medical records on file, which could be particularly useful for emergency responders who need to make a house-call.

View Best Medical Alert Companies

The Bottom Line

BlueStar SeniorTech has competitive pricing and equipment and service which are cutting edge, allowing veterans and their families added security and peace of mind. Despite its focus on serving the veteran community, BlueStar SeniorTech can be a viable option for non-military personnel as well, but if you'd prefer a system with a wider range, you might want to consider top medical alert companies before considering BlueStar SeniorTech.

View Best Medical Alert Companies

Why Can I Trust Bestcompany.com arrow_drop_down

User Reviews

Star Rating

4.3
starstarstarstarstar_half

52 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 star
65%
4 star
13%
3 star
10%
2 star
4%
1 star
8%

Sentiment Criteria

Value for your money
starstarstarstar_halfstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar_half
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar_half
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar_half
search cancel

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar

Gail Hencken

October 19th, 2020 DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

Quick response. Courteous. Good newsletter and information resources.

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar

Ruth Wilkinson, Daughter in law of Pat Wilkinson

October 19th, 2020 DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

They call right away when needed. My Mother in law says that they are very quick to respond even if it is set off on accident.

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar_border

Ken Pilecek

October 19th, 2020 DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

Good Client follow-up. Unfortunately, due to some cognitive challenges, the patient {Wife = Beth} doesn't use the device in any consistent manner. This is not good as she has fallen twice in the last year, once hurting hwer head and the other when I was away from home for an hour. We are seeing additional Specialists for the cognitive challenges. Wish us Luck.. Ken

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar

betty letsinger

October 9th, 2020 DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar_border
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

i only had to use them once in 2 years. they got the help on he way

Verified Customer

starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

Mary Sears

October 9th, 2020 DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

Because it to big to wear around my neck and it to Easy to go off.my when off when I were not home and the fire department took my door down.

Verified Customer

starstarstarstar_borderstar_border

Emma SwinneyPrice

October 9th, 2020 DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border

The neck band irritates my neck, i wish there was one for the wrist lika a bracelet

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar

Carol Goyena, his wife

October 2nd, 2020 DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

I receive a call whenever I accidentally drop my med-alert on the table, even though I'm fine. They follow-up all of the time.

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar

carolyn Killebrew.

October 2nd, 2020 DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

Thdey are quick to respond to my alerts. Saved my lifee when i was una le to hd.p myself. up and in ab,e

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar_border

Jackie Stumpf

October 2nd, 2020 DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar_border
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar_border

Sometimes my device picks up different telephone signals. It's like people are calling me through by alert system. They have nothing to do with my blue star

Verified Customer

starstarstarstar_borderstar_border

Mrs. Ruth Henderson

October 2nd, 2020 DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border

I think that their service staff needs more training, e.g.,although tech that answered did not have info I needed, she offered to get an 800 # to call. Then she hung up. I do not call that customer service.

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar

Violet mies

October 2nd, 2020 DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

Whatever problem i have they solve it soon after in very friendly manner

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar

Julianna

October 1st, 2020 DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

It's a great company. I appreciate that they call me and let me know to charge it. They are always there when I call them. They keep me on track. I wish it were a little smaller but it works good. Nobody can beat the price.

Verified Customer

starstarstarstar_borderstar_border

James

October 1st, 2020 DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar_border
Customer service
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border

I don’t like that I have to charge it every day and they called me back about it. When it touches I ended up with a whole bunch of people at my front door. They have some improving to do.

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar

Susan

October 1st, 2020 DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

The company has been very helpful answering my questions. I like the convenience of having it with my husband since he is legally blind and sometimes I am not there to help him, it is comfort for me.

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar

Barbara

October 1st, 2020 DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

You guys called me and stayed on the phone with me until I was able to get up when I fell on my back. Makes me feel safe.

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar

Carol

October 1st, 2020 DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

When I have to plug it, in they remind me to recharge it. It trigger very fast. It is good.

Verified Customer

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

Anita

October 1st, 2020 DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

Had to cancel the service because it was not working. They need to stop charging me for it.

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar

Carolee

October 1st, 2020 DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

They have been upfront with me about everything. I like that it is sensitive but sometimes I am afraid to wear it because it goes off so I wear the bracelet. I feel safe with it. The tech is very nice.

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar

J

October 1st, 2020 DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

They have been very nice. I wear it all the time so it protects me.

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar

Sandra

October 1st, 2020 DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

It's awesome. I have friends that are paying a lot more than I pay. I have told them a lot of times about BlueStar and I will keep telling them about it. They are always kind when I call. I know I am protected when I am alone. I am happy I have it.

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar

Anonymous

October 1st, 2020 DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

A couple of times I have accidentally called them, and they responded very well, very quickly.

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar_border

Marjorie

October 1st, 2020 DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar_border

The string was way too long. We shortened it to fit her. It works good. They were kind on the other end. I feel comfortable knowing my mom has it because she lives by herself and is ninety four.

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar

Laura

October 1st, 2020 DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

It is expensive for me but I think it is worth it. I feel confident when I am wearing it. I have had several friends fall down and they don’t have anything and it is disastrous. When mine was running on low battery all the time, they sent me a new one free of charge. I know it works. I feel all set.

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar

Anonymous

October 1st, 2020 DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

Anytime I need help, they are there if I punch my button. Once I was riding my scooter and I took a corner too sharp and my scooter landed on top of me. I punched the button and they were able to get me the help I needed. It’s wonderful.

Verified Customer

starstarstarstar_borderstar_border

Jerrold

October 1st, 2020 DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar_border

I am having trouble charging it. One time when I was testing it, the firemen came to my house by mistake.

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar

William

October 1st, 2020 DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

I love it. It does a really good job. They have been very helpful. I wish the battery would last longer and it was waterproof but it works fine.

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar

Delores

October 1st, 2020 DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

As long as I keep it charged, it is there for me to contact someone if I need help. I feel very safe. It is very affordable.

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar

Brenda

October 1st, 2020 DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar

They are very prompt and trustworthy. I like it all, the whole thing.

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar

Irene

October 1st, 2020 DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

So far, I am satisfied with bluestar. It has worked out really well. I never have problems with them.

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar

Anonymous

October 1st, 2020 DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar

Glad it is there for me. When we had a flood in our home, I was able to use it for the fire department to come and rescue us. I know it is there for me. I have been very pleased with it.

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar

Charlene

October 1st, 2020 DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

BlueStar SeniorTech is a good company. I have confidence in them. I think the price is great. I had to use it when I fell down my stairs. It helps me when I need help. All I have to do is press the button and help is there.

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar

Ivona

October 1st, 2020 DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

When my battery goes low, they always notify me. I fell once and pushed the button and rescue came. I like the white one.

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar_border

Anonymous

October 1st, 2020 DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar_border
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar_border

It is nice to have just in case. I have used it three times and it had worked out perfectly. I’d rather have a smaller button but that is okay.

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar

Frank

October 1st, 2020 DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

Thank god I haven’t had any emergencies but when I check on it every month, they always answer with ten to fifteen seconds. They are very polite. Everything is good. It is a good service.

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar

Philip

October 1st, 2020 DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

Many times I have tested it by accident, and they answer very quickly when I touch it.

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar

Lenora

October 1st, 2020 DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

Good communication skills. I like everything about the service. I can live by myself with it.

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar

Edith

October 1st, 2020 DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

Very satisfied with BlueStar SeniorTech. They have always been there for me. They come right on. The only thing that bugs me is every time I dock it, it gets set off.

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar

Anonymous

October 1st, 2020 DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

It makes me feel more secure because they keep in touch with me. When they thought I fell when I dropped it, they called me immediately. Anytime I have a question, they answer me right away. That is always nice. It is a little big sometimes but I like that I have it.

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar_border

Reba

October 1st, 2020 DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border

I like it. They employ a lot of veterans. We did have to replace the cord because it was kind of uncomfortable. I would like for them to follow up to make sure the device is working and customer service, the couple of times I have called, does not seem to be interested in solving problems.

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar

John

October 1st, 2020 DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

It is convenient. If it ever goes off, they always call and check on me. I feel safe with it.

Verified Customer

starstarstarstarstar_border

James

October 1st, 2020 DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

Blue Star is trustworthy. It always seems to work. They sent someone out to check on me when it rang. I like that it tells me when I need to charge it.

starstarstarstar_borderstar_border

Jeff Childress

August 17th, 2020 Bryan, OH DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border

I am VERY dissatisfied with this company. We got this for my mother-in-law because she wanted independence at 91 years. We had the thing for just about a week when she had a fall. The fall detection did not work so no help was sent. The following week we decided to move her closer to her son. My wife called them, gave them the new address and phone number. She was assured that everything was updated. However, supposedly my mother-in-law bumped the button and the company was not able to reach her and sent an ambulance to her old address. And… only a few days later, the company received a FALSE notification again and sent another ambulance to the old address. I am a navy veteran and one of the things that attracted me to this company was that it was created and run by veterans. All I can say is that I am glad that I was not a part of their command because if this is an indication of how well they run things then I would likely not be here to write this review. I would recommend finding a different company. As stated, we have had three responses, in less than a month, from this company and all have been wrong. Now I will wait to see their generic response that they give everyone on these reviews. UPDATE... The CEO has responded to my complaint and has taken many actions to make this situation right. I have changed my review ratings to give them the benefit of the doubt. I respect the quick respo, and believe that the service is better than my previous remarks reflect. I would say that they deserve consideration.

BlueStar SeniorTech Logo

Reply from BlueStar SeniorTech

Aug 22, 2020

Dear Mr. Childress: I’m Robert Wray, the CEO of BlueStar, and retired Navy admiral. First, I apologize for the difficulty we have caused your family. We don’t get scathing negative reviews like yours very often, and we take them very seriously. Second, our COO (also a retired two-star Navy admiral) and I have conducted a thorough investigation to learn what exactly happened in the situation with your family. Third, we screwed up big-time, and we apologize. We didn’t change the address as you asked. The issue was that you asked for it to be changed in the future, on a weekend, and our customer service agent entered it in the system, but didn’t follow up to get it changed. She has been punished with a formal letter of reprimand, and we have had training for our entire company, twice, to learn the lessons from this matter. There is no excuse for our having made this mistake, and we apologize. Fourth, the issue of fall detection is a tricky one. Your fall detection system is indeed working—there were four different instances over a 12-day period of the system detected a fall for your mother-in-law. After we detect a fall, we immediately call to confirm that everything is okay. If we can’t reach the user, or a family member, we send emergency help. Sometimes this means that we send an ambulance when it’s not needed, but we’ve found it’s better to send an ambulance when it’s not needed than to not send it when it is needed. This is completely different than the problem with the address change not being made, for which there is no excuse. Actions on our part:  I called your family the day we first learned of the problem—told you we’d investigate, and get back to you. I will call again, and send a final resolution letter to follow this on-line response.  We have correctly updated the address, obviously.  We punished the employee who messed up, and we re-trained our entire staff.  We are prepared to pay for any ambulance charges you might receive for going to the wrong house.  If you are interested, we are prepared to keep you as a client for the next 12 months at no cost to you, saving you about $420. But we’ll understand if we’ve lost your confidence. Again, Mr. Childress, our apologies for our failure to live up to your very reasonable expectations. We’re grateful that you took the time to let us know about our mistakes. It’s painful for us, obviously, but it will make us better, so that others don’t have to have the same problem you did. I provided my cell phone and e-mail address in the text to your family. Very sincerely, Rob Wray

history
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

LeAnn C

August 16th, 2020 Bryan, OH DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

In July of 2020, my husband and I ordered the Ranger 4G Mobile Medical Alert device for my mother. We ordered it online with fall detection, which was never activated, but yet were charged for. The Mobile Alert was set up and tested but a couple of weeks after this, my mother moved to a new location. I called Blue Star on 8/7/2020 with her change of address and I was assured that her address would automatically be changed on 8/9/2020 to her new location, it was not. On Tuesday 8/11/2020 she accidentally bumped the Alert button and because the emergency staff did not have her updated information they sent an ambulance to her previous address and then they called me. Now my mother will be charged for an EMS arriving at her prior home. On 8/14/2020 I called Blue Star to give them my mother's new cell phone number and I asked what address they had in their system and I was given her old address. I then gave them (a 2nd time) her new address and then added her new phone number and I was assured that her new information was updated - it was not! I received a call the next day, 8/15/2020 from Blue Star's affiliate call center telling me that an ambulance was en route to my mother's house due to an alert and they could not make contact with her. I asked the address that they had on file and they gave me her old address!!! Another charge for an unnecessary EMS run?! This is unacceptable!!!! If I performed this poorly for my employer they would show me the exit! I have called Blue Star's "Main office" 3 different times and each time seems as if the call has interrupted that individual's nap time - they seem to scurry to collect themselves and the tools they need to use to talk to a customer. Obviously, the computer application/system that Blue Star uses does not have a "Save Button," or their staff is not trained on its location and how and when to use it. I can only think that the positive ratings that Blue Star has received are family and friends of those in management. My husband and I chose Blue Star because of the overall positive ratings, their lower cost in comparison with other medical alert systems, and because they advertise that they are created and run by Navy veterans, which they are using to provide reassurance to the buyer. My husband is also a Navy veteran and this is this was the deciding factor in choosing Blue Star. After all of this, my husband said that he will never recommend Blue Star! Buyer Beware! FYI - I have done a screenshot of my review as well as a copy and paste. You might want to train your employees on what those 2 things are!

BlueStar SeniorTech Logo

Reply from BlueStar SeniorTech

Aug 22, 2020

Dear Mrs. Childress: I’m Robert Wray, the CEO of BlueStar, and retired Navy admiral. I am responding to two reviews on the same mistake—one from you and one from your husband—so please excuse me if some of my wording is repetitive. First, I apologize for the difficulty we have caused your family. We don’t get scathing negative reviews like yours very often, and we take them very seriously. Second, our COO (also a retired two-star Navy admiral) and I have conducted a thorough investigation to learn what exactly happened in the situation with your family. Third, we screwed up big-time, and we apologize. We didn’t change the address as you asked. And we messed up twice, which is all the more inexcusable. The first time, the issue was that you asked for it to be changed in the future, on a weekend; our customer service agent entered it in the system, but didn’t follow up to get it changed in the multiple systems required. It was updated in one place, but not another. She has been punished with a formal letter of reprimand, and we have had training for our entire company, twice, to learn the lessons from this matter. The second time you called, our customer trainee (being supervised by the agent who made the first mistake) was not yet trained in a new software recently put in place; he generated a trouble ticket to have other staff members make the change. But before that change happened, your mother’s fall detection went off, and the system was alerted to the wrong address a second time. This is an explanation, not an excuse. There is no excuse for our having made this mistake. Fourth, we have hundreds of predominantly positive reviews on the web. Contrary to your assertion, I can assure you they weren’t generated by friends and family. We have 5000 customers and deal with hundreds of customer service issues weekly—most of the time, we do our job well, without mistakes. This is the first time I’ve had to respond to a review like yours. Actions on our part:  I called your family the day we first learned of the problem—told you we’d investigate, and get back to you. I will call again, and send a final resolution letter after this on-line response.  We have updated the address, obviously.  We punished the employee who messed up, and we re-trained our entire staff.  We are prepared to pay for any ambulance charges you might receive for going to the wrong house.  If you are interested, we are prepared to keep you as a client for the next 12 months at no cost to you, saving you about $420. But we’ll understand if we’ve lost your confidence. Again, Mrs. Childress, our apologies for our failure to live up to your very reasonable expectations. We’re grateful that you took the time to let us know about our mistakes. It’s painful for us, obviously, but it will make us better, so that others don’t have to have the same problem you did. I take full responsibility for our mess-up, and have provided my cell phone and e-mail address in the text to your family. Very sincerely, Rob Wray

starstarstarstarstar

John Olson

January 18th, 2020 Nine Mile Falls, WA DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

Customer service first rate. All minor problems solved. As of this writing I have not sent an alarm. Price reasonable. John Olson

BlueStar SeniorTech Logo

Reply from BlueStar SeniorTech

Feb 03, 2020

Thank you for the great review, Mr. Olson! We sincerely appreciate your trust and your testimonial.

starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

elaine kilgore

September 18th, 2019 Loveland, OH DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstar_borderstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

I am totally as upset with a system as I could be. They sold it to me on the phone and when it arrived I could not get it to charge. I complained about being charged 35. plus dollars a month. Was told they would only charge 19.95. When I finally got it charge. I did get it activated I believe. Never got a check on the system never got a notice to recharge battery etc. Called to cancel, told couldn't do that until I sent back equipment. They were to send me a return label; never received return label. Was told if I didn't return equipment would be charged for it. All this time being charged 35 a month. One year later being told they can not cancel my service. Had to pay $5 to send back the $50 equipment so I could get my service cancelled. I paid over $400 for service I never used. Get a less expensive service elsewhere. The person I talked to today was pleasant, the other guy just kept telling me they could not cancel the service. What would a disabled senior citizen on Soc. Sec. need with an extra $400 ha ha. I would give them -* if I could.

starstarstarstarstar

Darlene Carvin

July 2nd, 2019 Little Rock, AR DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

I purchased Blue Star Alert for my 90-year-old Mom. We used it several times and are very Happy we had the device! Darlene Carvin, Hot Springs, Arkansas.

BlueStar SeniorTech Logo

Reply from BlueStar SeniorTech

Feb 03, 2020

Thank you for the nice review, Ms. Carvin! I am sorry your mom has had to set off an alarm but thrilled that she received the help she needed. We hope all is well with you and your loved ones.

starstarstarstarstar

Pamela Vehrs

May 7th, 2018 DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar_border
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

Salesman showed me everything on my ALERT button. I was very pleased with the price also. I have NOT had any problems with Bluestar! I am younger than 65, but I am disabled, but with Bluestar I feel very safe! I have used my ALERT button once and it did what it was supposed to do. Very pleased. Thanks Bluestar. P.V.

BlueStar SeniorTech Logo

Reply from BlueStar SeniorTech

May 21, 2019

Thank you very much Pamela. We appreciate you taking the time to leave a review.

starstarstarstarstar

Edward J. Minor

November 28th, 2017 Waynesville, NC DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstarstar
Quality of product or service
starstarstarstarstar
Customer service
starstarstarstarstar
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar

I tried two of the top rated services and was totally disgusted with their inability to give me a system that was even remotely close to what I needed at a price I could afford (living on a fixed income) so I talked to my Doctor and he recommended "Blue Star Honor" because they are completely owned and run by Veterans. The CEO of the company is a four-star Admiral and all of the employees are Disabled Vets so they know exactly what we are going through. They offered their services at a reasonable price that I could live with and their service has been exemplary. Also, I received my Alert unit over the weekend

BlueStar SeniorTech Logo

Reply from BlueStar SeniorTech

May 21, 2019

Thank you very much for the nice review, Edward.

starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border

Myron Slater

November 7th, 2017 Woodstock, GA DETAILS arrow_drop_down
Value for your money
starstarstarstar_borderstar_border
Quality of product or service
starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Customer service
starstarstar_borderstar_borderstar_border
Company trustworthiness
starstarstarstarstar_border

The company takes too long to call on my mobile devise, I've had an issue with false alarms. The GPS doesn't work anymore, and their response to my call , sending EMS to my home when I wasn't at home . They didn't know where I was! I called the company to fix the problem, she said the manager would get back to me, no such call, so I called and cancelled and am checking other companies more carefully.

starstarstarstarstar_border

Dalene Nalley

August 6th, 2017 Bonney Lake, WA

Great service in replacing one I laundered!

BlueStar SeniorTech Logo

Reply from BlueStar SeniorTech

May 21, 2019

Thank you for the nice feedback Dalene!