Best Company Guarantee Travelers Logo

Travelers

star star star star star_half

6.8

Overall Score

LAST UPDATED: November 30th, 2022

Founded in 1864, Travelers is a trusted insurer. Its home insurance policies are competitive for the industry, though it stands out for its coverage and discount for green homes.

Travelers policyholders can also benefit from using Amazon Alexa to manage their policy and receive advice on maintaining their homes.

Read Travelers Homeowners Insurance Reviews

thumb_up

The Good

  • High Financial Strength Ratings
  • Competitive Coverage
  • Green Home Coverage
  • Discounts and Savings
  • Amazon Alexa Features

High Financial Strength Ratings

Travelers is a financially reliable insurance provider. It has stood the test of time and earned high financial strength ratings. 

Financial strength ratings indicate the likelihood that an insurance company will be able to meet its claims obligations, so it's important to choose an insurer with a high financial strength rating when you buy an insurance policy.

Travelers's high ratings make it competitive.

Competitive Coverage

Typical for the home insurance industry, Travelers offers loss of use, personal property, dwelling, other structures, and personal liability coverage with its homeowners insurance policies. You can add identity fraud coverage, water backup and sump pump discharge overflow, and special coverage for high value items to your homeowners policy. 

You can choose to cover your home and property at replacement cost value and even increase your replacement cost value coverage for your home.

Flood and earthquake insurance are sold as separate policies, which is typical for the industry.

Green Home Coverage

Travelers stands out from other insurers because it offers green home coverage. With this additional coverage, you receive extra protection for repairing, replacing, or rebuilding with green materials in the event of a covered loss. 

Sustainability and being conscious of the environment are becoming more important to consumers, so this offering makes Travelers a good option if you're concerned about sustainability and the environment.

Discounts and Savings

Travelers offers discounts typical to the industry, including the following:

  • Multi-policy
  • Home buyer (purchased home within 12 months)
  • Loss-free (no losses in a set time period)
  • Protective device

These discounts allow you to save on your insurance premium. 

Travelers stands out from other insurers and shows its commitment to sustainability and the environment again by offering a green home discount on homes with a "green home" certification from the Leadership Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) organization.

Amazon Alexa Features

Travelers clients can also benefit from home maintenance tips and manage their insurance policy through Amazon Alexa. To enable these features, visit Travelers website.

This is a unique offering, which sets Travelers apart from other home insurers.

thumb_down

The Bad

  • Limited Customer Reviews
  • No Branded Policy Features

Limited Customer Reviews

Best Company has not received many Travelers home insurance reviews. While it's a good sign that these customer reviews are mostly positive, more customer insight is necessary before reaching general conclusions about customer satisfaction.

No Branded Policy Features

Some home insurance companies offer branded policy features. Travelers does not. If you're set on a home insurer's branded feature, you may want to stick with that company. 

Often branded insurance coverage or policy features are versions or expansions of typical homeowners insurance coverage options. You may be able to work with Travelers to find comparable coverage.

gavel

The Bottom Line

Although more insight on the customer experience is necessary, Travelers is a reliable home insurance carrier. It has many years of industry experience and has earned high financial strength ratings.

You'll find a competitive home insurance product from Travelers. What sets Travelers's home insurance apart from competitors is its green home coverage and green home discount. The insurer may be a particularly good fit if you're an environmentally conscious homeowner.

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

We'll Introduce You!

Call our recommended rep over at Travelers below.

1-(833) 340-1459
bestcompany guarantee

Best Company guarantees your satisfaction if you choose a company that has earned this distinction. If you're not satisfied after 30 days, simply let us know and we'll give you $200. Yes, it's really that simple.

Learn More

Star Rating

4.3

star star star star star_half

43 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

60%

4 grade

16%

3 grade

14%

2 grade

5%

1 grade

5%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star star_border

Quality

star star star star star_border

Service

star star star star star_border

Trustworthiness

star star star star star_half
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Ronald Cohen Sherwood, AR

Travelers Insurance is my current insurer (3 years). I have found them to be excellent. Near the end of the first year we had an overflowing toilet that caused water damage and mold to three bedrooms and both bathrooms. I called customer service to report the damage and within minutes I was contacted by an adjuster who came out three days later He wrote a check and assured me that if further damage was found that it would be covered. The reimbursement was accepted by the home restoration company that did all the work. Overall I am highly pleased with Travelers Insurance .

4 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Jerry Cantrell Columbus, OH

I have been with Travelers for almost 2 years.I saved over $1,000 a year when I applied with Travelersn on my house and vehical insurance. For 2022 my monthly payment was reduced $19. First time I had this happen. Travelers is the obly company that would insure my 18 year old grandson for a affordable rate. I am really pleased to be with Travelers!!

4 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Ben Tolsky Morris, IL

They have been very easy to deal with. We had a claim last year when a plumber flooded our house, and while the repair process was slower than I would have liked, the fact is they gave me a very fair price for all the work (we paid a bit extra for some minor improvements), and they even covered the cost of asbestos abatement as we discovered that our original flooring contained asbestos.

4 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Bob Biondini Medford, OR

Had one sizable claim and travelers came through with flying colors! Quick, professional, good communications. Strongly recommend.

1 month ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Robbie Wolcott, CT

So far we've been able to get the best rates on insurance for our rental property. Haven't had a claim with them, so we don't know how they'll respond.

2 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Brooklyn McDermott Columbus, OH

Cheaper than the other companies but still the. best service!

1 week ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Sean Zernickow Monument, CO

Current insurance carrier. Great rates. Have not had to work through the claims process and hope to never have to.

1 month ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Jerry Cantrell Louisville, KY

Travelers lowered my monthly premium premium 20% when I first got their coverage. At the beginning of the 2nd year my monthly premium was reduced $19.

3 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

JOld2 Sacramento, CA

I found Travelers Insurance through a local Insurance broker and recently had them research other companies to see if I could get a lower rate than what I am currently paying. Of course, they were the lowest by $1,000. I have had 2 non fault accidents and I was extremely impressed with the way Travelers took care of the insurance claim.

8 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Shalon Johnson Minneapolis, MN

I've had Travelers insurance for about two years and I have never had an issue. The agent was super helpful when explaining the different coverages to me and customizing a plan that fitted my budget. I would definitely recommend Travelers. When I did have an issue with my homeowner insurance the agent was extremely helpful and efficient in resolving my issue.

10 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Grace Citrus Heights, CA

My previous insurance was with a huge insurer. And it was thru my Union so I believed I had great insurance. I didn't even have good insurance. Today I am with Travelers where my deductibles are $500, at my old insurance company they were $1000.00, And I didn't have half the coverage I do now for half the price. I had called several other insurers before deciding on Travelers and I don't see myself ever changing.

11 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Moses F. Chandler, AZ

Travelers Insurance company has a wide range of Insurance options , for all levels of family choices. A Company that stands behind their commitment of Service & Trust. We have used their services with great satisfaction & success.

10 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Chimezie Ihuoma New York, NY

They are pretty good at what they do. They gave me a very good quote that still haven’t been matched or beaten. I would highly recommend them.

4 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Jen M Raleigh, NC

Great service! I had a flood in my house caused from my new washing machine. An adjuster came out the next day. My new floors were put in a week later and my check was already in the mail. A+ company!!

10 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Jenni Zollinger Aiken, SC

Our home is over 100 years old. We had trouble finding someone to insure a home of this age. We have been very pleased with Travelers home insurance for over 10 years. Rates are very good.

11 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

James Moss Newton, IA

Travelers offered me a better deal than my previous insurance company, so I went with them this last time. I had to contact them once, and their customer service people are very good at handling my questions.

11 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Becky Rasmussen American Fork, UT

Excellent customer service with financial umbrella of a lot of financial services. Security of knowing that property can be indemnified in case of a catastrophic event. Offers personal customer service with home visits from account executives.

4 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Samarra Miller St. Petersburg, FL

I called to get quotes and the young man was very helpful. Very knowledgeable on their products. Good customer service

4 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Tonya Doran Peterborough, ON

I’ve been with travellers for home and auto insurance for 8yrs and they have always been so supportive during claims and renewals.

6 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Lisa C Johnson Washington, DC

We have had Travelers home insurance for over 5 years now. Fortunately, we havent had to use it. The coverage is very reasonable and we pay for the entire year. We are happy with the service. No concerns.

1 year ago

star star star star star

Kaitlyn G. Vienna, VA

We have had our home insurance at Travelers for years with no issue. They are always the most cost-effective for the same coverage elsewhere. We've had no claims (fingers crossed), so I can't comment on that part.

4 years ago

star star star star star

Anne Kimball Salt Lake City, UT

We use Travelers insurance to insure the homes my work owns and they own thousands and thousands of homes and they have made it so convenient to manage of their insurance! They've always had great customer service.

4 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Liz Rockford, IL

So far this insurance company has taken good care of us and has been easy to work with.

4 months ago

star star star star star

Paula Shearer Omaha, NE

We have had Travelers for several years and have been very happy with their service. They have knowledgeable and prompt agents.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Srini Aiyer Glen Allen, VA

Nice company to work with.reasonable rates and good service!!

4 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Brian Slade South Jordan, UT

I had a conversation with their customer service department and it went very good. They were great to work with.

4 years ago