Best Company Guarantee SelectHealth Logo

SelectHealth

check_circleVerified

star star star star star_border
351 User Reviews

7.4

Overall Score

error This company may not service all states.
See states serviced
LAST UPDATED: February 3rd, 2022

With decades of experience, SelectHealth is committed to providing the highest quality of care to its members.

SelectHealth offers customers a variety of health care plans. Customers can also purchase dental insurance from SelectHealth.

View SelectHealth Reviews

SelectHealth works with Intermountain Healthcare to enhance healthcare value for members in Utah and Idaho. It has received several awards and recognitions for its health plans, caliber, and member satisfaction.

thumb_up

The Good

  • Positive Customer Reviews
  • Health Insurance Plans Offered
  • Member Resources
  • Unique Features
  • Customer Service

Positive Customer Reviews

SelectHealth's reviews on Best Company are primarily positive. The percentage of 4- and 5-star reviews is one of the highest on the site.

Reviewers express satisfaction with customer service, clarity, coverage, and claims.

Review Icon

Customer Review: Brittany Wilkinson from Herriman, Utah

"I choose Selecthealth for my health insurance every year because I trust them to take care of my family. They pay out quickly and cover everything we need covered. The customer service is always helpful."

Health Insurance Plans Offered

SelectHealth has a lot of health insurance plan options to choose from. The health insurance plans are not limited to just one format. SelectHealth offers private health insurance plans and health plans that meet the Affordable Care Act's requirements like covering the essential health benefits, including preventive care. It also offers Medicare, Medicaid, CHIP, and dental insurance plans.

SelectHealth even offers short-term health insurance for individuals or families who are in between jobs or simply need temporary coverage.

Health insurance premiums, annual deductible, and out-of-pocket expenses (copays and coinsurance) for each plan vary based on several factors, including the coverage offered, age of the insured, and number of people insured. Some consumers may qualify for a monthly premium subsidy instituted by the Affordable Care Act.

Provider networks may also vary based on the plan you choose. For example, Preferred Provider Network (PPO) plans cover in- and out-of-network patient care, though at different rates. PPO plan members benefit from greater flexibility when choosing a physician. 

Member Resources

The online member portal through SelectHealth is called MyHealth and gives plan enrollees access to so many tools. Through it, you can view your health plan's benefits, limitations, and coverage. You can also read up on your rights and responsibilities as a member and get help finding a primary care physician or specialist and setting up appointments. These services apply to both general practitioners, mental health physicians, and other care providers.

One perk to SelectHealth's claims process is that it is paperless. You won't have to deal with that hassle, and once you file a claim you can track it 24/7 online. SelectHealth has a member services phone number, but members can only contact them during certain business hours with this number.

Unique Features

Like most other health insurance companies, SelectHealth has both a Find a Doctor tool and a Find a Facility tool. On the website, you'll also find simple explanations for each plan and ways to contact the company to find out more (and shop for plans that are specific to you).

The mobile app is also convenient, which actually has several capabilities. On the app, users can view their health plan's benefits and see how much coverage has been used so far. Users can also use the app to find a pharmacy or urgent care, email your ID card information if needed, and even see what the status is on wait times at an Intermountain InstaCare facility.

Member discounts are definitely another advantage at SelectHealth. With a health plan, you could pay less on a gym membership, eyewear, or hearing aids. SelectHealth also has discounts on supplements, alternative medicine, and personal training-items that seem luxurious but could actually have a big positive impact on your health.

Select Heath offers health education to members who want it. Through its additional services, its programs can help get you on the road to stop smoking or to lose weight, for example.

Customer Service

SelectHealth was created and is operated by the well-known Intermountain Healthcare organization. This hospital system was founded in 1975, and along the way SelectHealth was initiated. It has expanded to serve customers through a variety of health plans. Intermountain Healthcare has a great customer service reputation, and this culture extends to its health insurance partner. Together, the two prize high-quality health care services.

Primarily, customers can contact SelectHealth through one of its main phone numbers (including numbers dedicated to member services) or a secure message form. It also offers the opportunity to set up a live chat or schedule a call.

Review Icon

Customer Review: Kilee Wagner from Bountiful, Utah

"We've had select health for years and have been very happy. The EOB's are very easy to read and self explanatory. Customer service is great to answer any questions."

SelectHeath does have a helpful FAQs section, social media profiles, and even a company blog. All of these resources connect them to members and potential customers as well. Once you are a member with SelectHealth, of course, your resources leave little to be desired.

This insurance company has done an excellent job of providing members with almost any tool they would need. These tools help members find health care services by locating primary care doctors or specialists and hospitals. Other tools allow members to view benefits, file a claim, and even find advice for their health.

Get Quote

thumb_down

The Bad

  • State Availability
  • Business Hours Only

State Availability

If you're a potential Select Health customer, you'll want to know that the company only provides insurance in Utah and Idaho. If you don't live in these states, you'll need to find another insurer.

Business Hours Only

Customers can only contact Select Health during certain business hours, not 24/7. Even though members can access their online portal 24/7, it would be nice to have the option to contact a company representative, if needed, during the evening or early morning.

gavel

The Bottom Line

Medical expenses can be high and difficult to pay for. Having a health insurance plan provides policyholders with access to discounted health care prices and help paying for care. These discounts, deductibles, and limits on out-of-pocket expenses are frequently referred to as health benefits.

Select Health is a recommended insurer because of its high customer ratings. Its service area is quite small, limited to only two states: Utah and Idaho. Because of this, its customer base and network are much smaller, and SelectHealth insurance policies aren't available to most consumers in the United States.

As long as you live in one of these two states, this insurance company offers positive customer service, a variety of health plans, and convenient tools. It's easy to explore plans, compare premium costs and deductible amounts.

Once you enroll, SelectHealth makes it easy to find a network doctor with its Find a Doctor tool. Its paperwork is all available online through a member portal.

Considering the good service it offers, SelectHealth is a recommended insurer.

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

We'll Introduce You!

Call our recommended rep over at SelectHealth below.

1-(844) 961-0613
bestcompany guarantee

Best Company guarantees your satisfaction if you choose a company that has earned this distinction. If you're not satisfied after 30 days, simply let us know and we'll give you $200. Yes, it's really that simple.

Learn More

Star Rating

4.0

star star star star star_border

351 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

49%

4 grade

29%

3 grade

8%

2 grade

3%

1 grade

12%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star star_border

Quality

star star star star star_half

Service

star star star star star_half

Trustworthiness

star star star star star_half
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
star star star star star_border

Cf Kaysville, UT

I had had good experiences with Select Health for many years. In 2018, I got cancer and wanted to go to the Huntsman Cancer Center. I called and the representative said I wouldn’t be covered elsewhere at the U, but expenses at the Huntsman would be covered. So thankful to have gone to Huntsman. I had a great experience and felt the care was better than I received elsewhere. (I tried another hospital first.) If you have cancer, go there, quickly. When the bills started coming, there were a few surprises. The statements were months late, so I couldn’t remember the service or the date. Thankfully I keep a journal and a calendar. They didn’t want to cover a blood draw lab at Huntsman, because the bill said “University if Utah” on it. It was in the Huntsman Center, the lab was there, but the bill said U of U. However, a very kind lady at Select Health helped me find an appeal form and get it in. They did accept the appeal. I had to do this several more times, which was difficult while dealing with cancer. However, the phone service reps are exceptional. So unusual to find well-trained customer service reps nowadays. I even received thoughtful notes from several of them, with their direct phone number so I could get straight through to them the next time there was a need. I did that a few times. It felt like a friend was helping me. I’m so grateful to be able to speak to a person, even on Saturdays!! Because of my mom’s Alzheimer’s and my own health concerns, Select Health provided someone to check in with us and make sure things were going okay. We didn’t need financial help, but they were willing to help with that. I can’t express how much Zane S and Patricia G helped us. So very thankful for them. Select Health also has a lot of wellness programs, if you have the time to take advantage of them. I was able to do their weight loss program for free because of my BMI. Because of that program, I no longer qualify for it!! Yay! I have checked the reviews for other insurance companies in this area, and Select Health outshines them all. Like any company, they have their moments, but their intent is good. BBB gives them an A+ rating, while another local insurance company I considered gets a D+. BBB has served me well, and my own experience tells me to stay with the company who cares, Select Health! Thanks to their leaders, who foster such an atmosphere of caring.

2 years ago

star star star star star_border

McKinzie Figueroa Provo, UT

Their customer service is why I stay with them. They are always very kind on the phone and are willing to go above and beyond what I would expect from a Health Insurance Company. Just a few months ago I was having issues with a Doctor's office and their billing department. Someone from Select Health was willing to call and talk to the Doctor's billing department and sort it out. It took them over a month to get a hold of the billing department, but the Select health representative called me at least once a week to update me on how many times she had tried to get a hold of the billing department and what was going on. Although the billing department was really frustrating, Select Health was very helpful with making it a little less of a headache.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Saraswati Manandhar Herriman, UT

I like Select Health as it has more providers and I can get most of the services closer to my home. They have good customer service. Once while doing MRI for my both knees,, there was miscommunication about estimated pay. I called them and they removed all my extra bill as it was mistake from their side.

6 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Valerie Peterson Herriman, UT

We have had Select Health Insurance for many years. It has served us well and helped us find quality providers and receive the medical services we needed. Most recently we have been able to take advantage of their mental health benefits, which have been so helpful. The copay is awesome and finding a provider online was easy.

6 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Brian Cowley Riverton, UT

They have the best selection of Hospitals in our area because they are tied to the largest and oldest hospital chain in the state. That was useful, however, they were pretty expensive and had higher deductibles than others we have had through work-sponsored plans.

6 months ago

star star star star star_border

Brady Hanson Orem, UT

SelectHealth is the number one choice for a Utah family. They have a good coverage network and some affordable plans. However, when signing up it is important to compare how you will use the coverage- if you don’t visit the doctor often you can go for a plan with higher copays and lower premiums. However, if your family gets sick a lot or you will have a lot of medical costs consider a plan with a higher deductible and lower copays. It really comes down to what your employer can provide. Their phone customer services is amazing and is open later than a typical work day so you can easily get quick answers to questions.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Kamron Dalton Riverton, UT

The healthcare provided is excellent, however, the communication between the provider and the billing team could be improved. Customer service is all automated and it's difficult to speak with a live person.

6 months ago

star star star star star_border

Molly Keogh Ogden, UT

Our coverage with Select Health is great. The are always very propt with paying our benefits and letting us know what we still owe. Their web site is not the most user friendly to figure out who we can see under our specific plan.

2 years ago

star star star star star_border

Suzanna Wootton Springville, UT

Select Health isn't my preffered insurance provider. My copays are really high and I don't love that. But, I don't really have any complaints other than that! I rarely go to the doctor so I haven't had much affiliation with select health themselves.

4 years ago

star star star star star_border

Hayley Lambdin Orem, UT

My husband and I have had a great experience with Select Health. They have covered quite a bit of our various medical needs. It's one of the best insurances we have had in regards to medical. I am never hesitant to go get something checked out or schedule a follow up. Their customer service is very fast and helpful.

4 years ago

star star star star star_border

Breanna Jones Herriman, UT

I have been more happy with Select Health than any other insurance. I have benefits for prescriptions that I never had before with other insurances. I have had to call customer service with questions before and their customer service was helpful. I can find providers everywhere and have never had trouble finding a doctor that takes Select Health.

5 years ago

star star star star star_border

Jonny Hancock Draper, UT

Select Health, has always been fair to my family. I've only had to use my insurance a few times and they paid the bill quickly and notified me when payment was processed. My only complaint is their call center tends to be a little slow in answering your calls.

5 years ago

star star star star star_border

Adrianne murray Brigham City, UT

I would say this is one of the bigger insurance companies in Utah. We had them for a few years. Because we are a small business owner we are paying for our own insurance each month. The prices were getting more expensive. It ended up in the end not worth it but if the prices came down all that we would definitely go back as almost everybody except them. I do love their hospitals so that was definitely a plus

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

BeauCarl South Jordan, UT

Unfortunately SelectHealth has monopolized the medical providers in my area so we don’t have much choice what is really frustrating is the co-pay per office visit on my plan has gone up to $50 per office visit which can add up quickly with the family. I understand plans are different however we are paying the premium medical health insurance plan and the fees continue to go up but the benefits decrease.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Michele Gardner American Fork, UT

We have had Select Health as our health insurance provider for several years. They have generally been good to work with. A couple of years ago we had an issue when we received a statement saying that they weren't going to cover our flu shots. We hadn't had an issue before so we called and the rep who helped us was very pleasant and said she would take care of it and call us back when it was done. I didn't really think we would hear back, but was pleasantly surprised when we called a couple days later and said it was all taken care of.

2 years ago

star star star star star_border

Natalie Prestwich Taylorsville, UT

I have had Selecthealth insurance for almost 7 years. I have had 2 babies while on this insurance and they have always taken care of us. The only time I was frustrated was when our copays for specialists went up. I understand they have to increase sometimes but it was a 125% increase in one year. I guess they said they hadn’t raised it ever in the 20 previous years, but that was really crappy to go from paying one amount to more than double the next year. Other than that one instance, we have been satisfied with this insurance.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Michelle De Oliveira American Fork, UT

Overall I am very pleased with out health insurance with Select Health. They have great doctors who are attentive and give great care. Their customer service isn't always as helpful as I would like. I have called them to get estimates on care and check to see if doctors are covered and they have been rude and vague on costs. Sometimes I have to call back to get a different agent that is more helpful.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Keri Christensen Lehi, UT

We have had a couple different health insurance providers and select health is by far my favorite. Medical bills are usually very confusing but select health has always been very helpful in answering all of my questions. They are great to help you find providers and are very clear with what needs to be done when it comes to pre-approval for certain specialists or procedures.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Shari Evers Lehi, UT

I love that there are more and more IHC hospitals popping up around the state. It makes going to the doctor so much more convenient, especially since making time to go to the doctor is not fun at all! So, now that I'm on select healths insurance it has opened up so many more options of facilities and doctors! Between me and mys kids we should have a standing appointment weekly!

3 years ago

star star star star star_border

Mary Alice M. Orem, UT

When I've called SelectHealth to help me find certain doctors or set up appointments they are SO nice. You can tell they really take their customer service seriously, and I really appreciate that. We've had good experience with the coverage they provide.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Teah Garner ,

For the most part Select Health has been great. The biggest issue I’ve had is communicating with them. Their website seems to be down a lot and I’ve had to jump through a lot of hoops just to get ahold of someone. But in the end it has always worked out.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Yolanda Briganti Riverton, UT

I've had Select Health insurance since 2010. They have paid all the insurance that they say they would. Whenever I have called to make sure a claim has been paid it has been able to be taken care of quickly. I trust that Select Health will pay their claims.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Jonas De Olveira American Fork, UT

I have had Select Health insurance almost my entire professional career. I have been impressed with the doctors and the care we have received under this insurance. They are helpful when trying to determine out of pocket expenses for procedures which helps me plan.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Leslee Muramoto Draper, UT

I’ve dealt with several different health insurance companies over the years. SelectHealth has many different options for coverage, which is nice. I’ve never had issues with having to fight claims, they’ve been easy to work with. But like all other medical insurance, it’s pricey!

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Katie Howard Pleasant Grove, UT

We had a good experience with this insurance coverage. It is widely accepted in our area, with a full network of hospitals in its family. The premiums were reasonable for the coverage we got, although that was probably more to do with our employer plan than with the insurance company itself. Pretty easy to use without many problems.

3 years ago

star star star star star_border

Angela Pyrah Willard, MO

Coverage is great for where we live now. We had it in before but no health care providers in that area we within the plan. Now we have great coverage, just feel like this company does not do a great job of getting coverage in all places.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Amy Leifi Orem, UT

For the most part, I've been very pleased with Select Health. Their customer service has been great - super helpful and knowledgeable when I've had to call them. Insurance is so expensive, and i wish I got more for my money, but that goes for all insurance companies.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

mgillings

Wide variety of providers near me. We ran into a billing issue with one of our providers.... one quick call to customer service and they found that there was a code billing error, they quickly fixed the problem between the provider and Select Health! Everything was taken care of with one quick call!

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Jennifer Greenwood Draper, UT

I’ve been pleased with our service until recently when I really needed to go to a special doctor who wasn’t in our network, they won’t help us. It’s a serious back problem and the options we have aren’t as good as we need. I’m disappointed.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

tini mapu Orem, UT

I had this company for a short time. They were good during the time I was with a certain company. They were fairly priced. Customer service was always so prompt. I don't like calling a place when they take forever to answer the phones. These guys always let you speak to a real person not a computer.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Nicole Williams West Jordan, UT

We have SelectHealth insurance and they have been good. They have a wide variety of in network providers, and coverage is reasonable.

6 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Mike John Logan, UT

Pricing is a killer. I know it is not just their fault, but to have my health increased by 550% in less that 10 years is ridiculous

6 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Robyn Haight South Jordan, UT

We have been members of Select health for several years. Our claims have been paid quickly. I had a dispute once and they responded quickly.

6 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Uncle Reviewer for Fundraiser Syracuse, UT

Great coverage....if you live in the area. Has great customer service however I'm not impressed with the parent company.

6 months ago

star star star star star_border

Kylie Blood Salt Lake City, UT

I really love select health, they work really hard to make sure you understand your insurance plans, and help you find the care you need for a great price!

5 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

J Connelly Saratoga Springs, UT

We had select health for 12 years. I feel like almost all places take that insurance. We had a problem with billing when I had my last son and had to go through a process but they did end up covering it.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Sandi Burkinshaw South Jordan, UT

Great customer service and provide a wide variety of providers. I generally am able to find a provider that I am compatible with and will listen to my needs. Easy to contact customer service.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Nichole Hiatt Eagle Mountain, UT

I had Select Health for about 6 years. Overall, I was very happy with the service. I rarely had issues with billing errors during those years and customer service was always helpful to answer questions.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Bob Muench Sandy, UT

Provided through my employer. It was good insurance, and the options that we were able to choose. They have handled cases well with few problems. Their customer service people are always helpful and friendly.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Cam McClellan Magna, UT

Select Health has been easy to work with as our insurer. I don’t love that our premiums keep going up drastically but that is more the health system in general. The doctor selection is really good too.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Amy Boren American Fork, UT

We have this insurance through my husbands work. They have great coverage and When I call with questions most of the employees are great in explaining things and answering my questions.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Cathy Lloyd Pleasant Grove, UT

Overall, we really have been pleased with SelectHealth. Most of our doctors are on their provider list. The quality of care is great. However, sometimes their billing company is very difficult to deal with.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Cynthia Carman American Fork, UT

I have been with Select Health for nine years now, and the times I have needed to use it for my children's wellness checks have gone very smoothly and the billing process is quite easy.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Holly American Fork, UT

Select health has taken care of us and some very scary situations. I feel I can trust them to help me resolve issues. They seem to work extremely well with any doctor I’ve ever tried to see.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Ryan H American Fork, UT

Select Health is great. I have been a long-time customer and have always been able to have my questions answered. I would likely recommend to others if they live in Utah since that is where they primarily operated.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Dave Ros Pleasant Grove, UT

There are many primary and specialty doctors to choose from. I do feel that there are way too many people per doctor. The doctors within the network are great, but the office staff isn't very customer oriented.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Mauri Brewer Lehi, UT

Select health has been our favorite health insurance. We had to switch because of job change and we were so sad about that. Great list of providers and. Excellent customer service.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Virginia Rosenthal Pleasant Grove, UT

I have been able to find good primary doctors and specialists within the network. I do find that the doctors are always busy and it is difficult to find appointments times that are not out 3 weeks+.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Cori Jacobsen Ollerton Alpine, UT

Select Health has been ok to work with. However, There have been times when their phone support system is hard to get through. I have been on hold long wait times to speak to a representative. Overall, I am satisfied.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Dylan Curtis Pleasant Grove, UT

We had this healthcare through previous employers and we enjoyed their service a lot. When my daughter broke her arm their coverage was a blessing as I would have been in trouble trying to pay for all of it myself.

3 years ago