Oscar Logo

Oscar

star star star star_border star_border

7.2

Overall Score

error This company may not service all states.
See states serviced
LAST UPDATED: December 7th, 2022

Key Details

  • Ability to Connect with a Doctor 24/7
  • No Referrals
  • Access to Dedicated Nurse and Care Guides

Summary

Founded by Mario Schlosser, Joshua Kushner, and Kevin Nazemi, Oscar is a newer name among health insurance providers. It has grown from its initial startup since its founding in 2012. The company values simplicity and communication, so it seeks to simplify policies in order to better cover the needs of its clients.

With Oscar, customers can find plans with health savings accounts (HSAs) and traditional health insurance plans for individuals and families. Oscar also offers Medicare. Oscar does not offer dental or vision coverage.

View Oscar Reviews

Oscar Health Insurance was created to give customers a new, simple way to get health insurance and affordable care. Its plans include perks for things like reaching a fitness goal.

Oscar puts a strong emphasis on technology to cater to customers’ needs and add convenience to health care.

Another distinguishing feature of Oscar insurance is its Concierge team. Each team includes a registered nurse and a care guide who are available to assist you in finding network providers and answer basic health questions.

Open Enrollment for 2021 health care plans runs November 1, 2020-December 15, 2020. If you missed the open enrollment period, check to see if you qualify for a special enrollment period.

Top Ranked Companies

thumb_up

The Good

  • Positive Customer Reviews
  • Plan Options Offered
  • Easy Quotes and Plan Comparison
  • Helpful Welcome Kit
  • Web Account and Mobile App
  • Unique Features
  • Helpful Concierge Team
  • Telemedicine Access

Positive Customer Reviews

Oscar has received many positive customer reviews on BestCompany.com. Reviewers frequently praise Oscar for its concierge team, customer support, and telemedicine access.

Review Icon

Customer Review: Penny Altman from Van Nuys, California

"Oscar has always been there when I needed them. Their concierge team has answered all of my questions and they're always available. They pay their claims without any problems. Good network of doctors available. Overall, I have been very happy with Oscar compared to other insurance companies I have had in the past."

Plan Options Offered

The insurance provider tries to ensure that each Oscar customer finds an easy health care plan to suit their individual needs. Oscar offers both on- and off-exchange individual plans in all states in which it operates, plus small business plans in New York, New Jersey, and Tennessee.

Under the Affordable Care Act on- and off-exchange plans must cover essential health benefits, like primary care, hospital stays, and mental health services. (The health insurance exchange is a government-created marketplace, also called the health insurance marketplace.)

Oscar's coverage options include: Health Savings Account (HSA)-compatible plans and self-funded options.

From the company's website, it's unclear what kinds of networks Oscar's plan options include. It's common for health insurers to offer plans with in- or out-of-network coverage.

For example, Health Maintenance Organization (HMO) plans only cover in-network care, except in emergencies. Preferred Provider Organization (PPO) plans cover in-network care and out-of-network care. Even though a PPO plan offers more flexibility with providers than an HMO plan, your out-of-pocket costs will typically be higher if you see an out-of-network provider than for seeing an in-network provider with a PPO network plan.

Oscar also offers Medicare Advantage plans. It does not offer Medicaid services.

Oscar offers three plan options:

  • Classic Plans 
  • Simple Plans 
  • Saver Plans

These plans are also organized using the metal tier system created by the Affordable Care Act. Depending on your area, each Oscar insurance product can be a bronze, silver, gold, or platinum plan. 

A bronze plan puts the most cost-sharing on policyholders and tend to have a lower monthly premium, while platinum plans put the least and tend to have a higher premium.

All Oscar Plans have free Doctor-on-Call telemedicine services, rewards for steps tracking, an Oscar Concierge team, and pre-deductible preventive care benefits to keep out-of-pocket costs to a minimum for both specialty and brand-name drugs.

Coverage for telemedicine is a rising trend in health insurance, so this offering makes Oscar a competitive insurance provider.

Oscar Classic plans generally match the policy and structures of most of the plans on the individual insurance market.

However, Oscar Simple plans are easier to understand, because clients only have one dollar amount to remember: all covered services are free after clients hit their deductible. This is because the deductible for an Oscar Simple plan is set at the same level as the maximum out-of-pocket amount. (Note: Care that happens before the deductible is met requires a copay, coinsurance, or full payment by consumers.)

Some Oscar Saver plans are HSA-compatible plans with low monthly premiums and a higher deductible. Members use the money in their HSA to pay for health care throughout the year.

Oscar Backup and Secure plans are a low premium, high deductible option designed for healthier people who was to save on upfront medical expenses.

Easy Quotes and Plan Comparison

Before becoming a member, potential clients can receive quotes on premiums from Oscar's website or by phone. With this tool, a customer can answer a few general questions about themself (zip code, age, how many people they want to cover) as well as about their expected medical needs in the next year. Through this brief process, Oscar can direct clients to the most cost-efficient health plan with the person's health in mind.

Individuals are then able to see all of Oscar insurance plans, costs (deductibles, copays, out-of-pocket maximums, and health insurance premiums, including government subsidies if you qualify), benefits, and recommended options to help decrease out-of-pocket costs.

Helpful Welcome Kit

After Oscar members pay the first premium, they receive a welcome kit, which includes the client's ID card(s), an in-depth look at the free perks and benefits, as well as the individual's Schedule of Benefits and Coverage. This welcome kit also has a "Health Care Cheat Sheet" to help break down all the details of the chosen insurance coverage within the individuals' plan.

Web Account and Mobile App

Lastly, Oscar offers a web account and mobile app to its customers. The online account and health insurance app allow users to search for health professionals covered by Oscar's plans, book appointments with healthcare providers, and view detailed doctor credential information and reviews to find the one(s) best suited to handle their specific needs. The Oscar app makes the features of the member portal more convenient to access on the go.

Members can call or message their Concierge team by simply clicking a button within the app. This app also provides members with a "Health Timeline", which contains their personal medical information and history such as appointments, prescriptions, lab results, and billing information.

Unique Features

Oscar has unique features that many other competing health insurance companies do not. One of these is the fast registration process. Because the company emphasizes simplicity, Oscar has taken many steps to remove the complication of choosing a health insurance plan and registering. It also seeks simplicity by providing efficient customer service, clarifying information on health insurance policy and potential medical expenses, and more.

Furthermore, instead of casting a wide net and contracting with every health care provider, Oscar has developed a curated network of medical groups and doctors in each of its service areas to ensure tighter integration and higher quality health insurance policy for members. Additionally, they use data science and complex modeling to assess network coverage, provider quality, and service volume to improve their offerings.

Oscar also provides rewards to customers who reach their step goals. Customers track their steps using the health apps that come with iPhones and Androids. When they reach their daily step goals, they can receive up to $240 per year.

Helpful Concierge Team

Oscar provides excellent customer support. They provide phone support from 8 a.m.-8 p.m. Monday-Friday local time in each of its markets, and 9 a.m.-5 p.m. on weekends. When clients call or secure message Oscar, you are connected to a Concierge team. Each Concierge team consists of a care guide and a registered nurse. This unique model provides customers with additional support.

In addition, due to the nurse's experience on the team, they can also handle clinical questions, including assessing a member's needs and connecting them with the proper type of doctor to address their needs. This assistance with scheduling appointments, finding a doctor, and care coordination are benefits of working with Oscar.

Concierge teams proactively reach out to members if they visit the ER or hospital unexpectedly to make sure they are okay and that they have done all the follow-ups the doctors requested.

Because they're familiar with you and use Oscar's powerful backend systems to see your history instantaneously, there is never a need to be passed off to another department.

The access to a concierge team to help you navigate your health plan and receive the care you need makes Oscar stand out as an insurance carrier. Other insurers offer similar case management services to members who meet eligibility criteria.

Telemedicine Access

Oscar also provides what they call Doctor-on-Call, a telemedicine service that lets members talk to a doctor 24/7 for free over the phone. This service is especially convenient for getting medical advice when you don't want to take a trip to the doctor's office.

thumb_down

The Bad

  • Negative Customer Reviews
  • Limited Availability
  • No Dental or Vision Insurance
  • Limited Plan Types

Negative Customer Reviews

While a majority of Oscar's reviews are positive, it has also recieved a high percentage of 1-star reviews. Negative reviews are common for the health insurance industry. 1-star reviews mention difficulties with communication, finding an in-network doctor in the area, scheduling appointments, and billing issues. These issues are concerning, and Oscar is responsive to these reviews.

As you consider working with Oscar, pay attention to where reviewers are from. If reviewers in your area have good experiences, that's an indicator Oscar may be a good fit. If reviewers in your area are mostly negative, you may decide to work with another company.

Limited Availability

Oscar health insurance plans are only available to customers in some parts of the United States, including New York, New Jersey, California, Texas, Ohio, Michigan, Florida, Arizona, and Tennessee. Small businesses may also be eligible for Oscar coverage in California, Tennessee, New Jersey, and New York. To check availability, input your zip code on Oscar's website to see the plans available to you.

No Dental or Vision Insurance

Oscar health plans don't include dental or vision coverage, except for children under the age of 18. Many competing insurance providers do include dental and vision options.

Limited Plan Types

Oscar doesn't work with customers on Medicaid. Depending on your plan, you may get health care, prescriptions, and medical supplies from providers who take Oscar plans. This might mean you don't need a referral for a specialist, but it may also mean that you have no out-of-network benefits, except for emergency situations or if you sign up for out-of-area coverage as a small group customer. Be sure to understand how your health coverage works when looking for health care providers.

Oscar insurance customers should also make sure they understand the terms of their health care plan. They should understand under what circumstances they need prior authorization and what kind of coverage is available for pre-existing conditions.

gavel

The Bottom Line

Finding affordable health insurance and a trustworthy insurer is an important step for finding affordable care. There are plenty of plans and health insurers to choose from. How good is Oscar health insurance?

While Oscar is a newer health insurance company, its plan offerings and simple process make its health insurance plans worth considering. If Oscar has a good network and a plan that meets your health and budgetary needs, it's a good option. Pay attention to what reviews from customers in your area say about Oscar.

Be sure to understand how a plan's network and coverage work before enrolling. If Oscar doesn't offer the kind of network plan you're looking for, you may need to consider another insurance company.

Because Oscar does not offer Medicaid, those seeking a Medicaid insurance policy should also find another health insurer.

Oscar offers a wide array of member tools and support options. Its mobile app and Concierge Teams offer customers abundant and easily accessible customer service.

For customers in the available states who are looking for these types of plans, however, an Oscar health plan is a fantastic option. Oscar boasts reasonable rates, several customer service contacts, a fast enrollment process, and offers free services with every health insurance plan.

View Best Health Insurance Companies

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Star Rating

3.1

star star star star_border star_border

722 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

37%

4 grade

14%

3 grade

7%

2 grade

5%

1 grade

37%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star_border star_border

Quality

star star star star_half star_border

Service

star star star star_half star_border

Trustworthiness

star star star star_half star_border
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
star star star star star_border

Jessica Morris Clermont, FL

I love the ease of access of having my claims, prescriptions, bill pay, and lists of providers right at my fingertips with the app. Also, everyone I have spoken/chatted with through customer service has been wonderful. However, there is a noticeable lack of mental health providers. Within an hours’ drive of my home there is only 1 female psychiatrist (a necessity for my issues) who is taking new patients. Also, when I had a mental health crisis earlier this year it was difficult for me to find any quick help aside from just a hotline which isn’t effective when I knew it was a specific medication rather than a pep talk I needed. I hope Oscar can work on improving this lack of care.

1 year ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Hi Jessica, thank you for the kind words! We'll make sure we share your feedback with our team.

Aug. 24th, 2021

star star star star star_border

Kansan_Texan_perspective San Antonio, TX

Pros - I appreciate the coverage of my cancer treatment. It saved my life. Virtual visits are great. Please consider a synchronous, real-time face-to-face audio & visual telemed connection between physician and member as another virtual option. The encounter summary is helpful as well. I especially appreciate the portal and ability to message the concierge team. The Amazon gift card for hitting step count goals was a huge motivation for my husband to exercise this year, and for me also before cancer treatments started. Cons - Wouldn't allow me to carry my deductible forward if I switched to another Oscar plan during the extended enrollment provided by the Biden administration, which would have been a tremendous and much needed financial relief while I can only work part-time during treatments for breast cancer. My main ADHD med, Vyvanse, is not on formulary. I am the sole breadwinner for my family. My ADHD is worse with chemo brain added. Vyvanse helps me be able to work and also treats the fatigue caused by cancer treatments. I was not able to afford Vyvanse until after I met my deductible. I couldn't work much anyway near the beginning of the year, but I am dreading Jan 1st again when I won't be able to afford it once again until I meet my deductible. Additionally, I am the psychiatrist/owner for the adult ADHD Maintenance Clinic in San Antonio. In my experience, Vyvanse is by far the best extended release option from the Adderall family of meds as far as efficacy and tolerability. For many patients, it is the only things that works for them to get through a whole work day without start to get write ups. ADHD includes very real safety risks for many otherwise highly functioning adults such as when driving, operating power tools, chopping vegetables, leaving the stove on, adhering to med regimens from other providers, etc. I highly recommend Oscar put Vyvanse on the formulary for the benefit & safety of its members and for Oscar as well. Part way through the year, my EOBs started showing that I owed a co-pay even though I had met my out-of-pocket deductible well before that and had many medical appts prior to that without co-pay accordingly. When I called, there was no clear logical explanation for the change. The speculated explanation offered was "squirrely" and did not hold up to my questioning of it to the rep. As a psychiatrist also doing psychotherapy, I've heard first-hand from various patients confidentially of insurance company unethical practices. For example, if a team isn't meeting their "numbers", a manager will say to reject 1/3 of all claims that day with whatever reason they can conjure up, to help their numbers immediately as well as in the hope that members will give up and not pursue reimbursement further. I voiced that the change without an explanation had the appearance of impropriety. For some reason I thought Oscar was up front and not like that, that Oscar genuinely wanted to help people, but during that incident, I started to wonder if Oscar may have started out good, but as time went on started reigning things in like other companies with unethical covert methods. I was initially told my concern would have to be escalated to a higher level and that would take a certain amount of time, but when I expressed how financially distressing that was and stressful to consider that being a barrier to my healthcare needs in the short-run, and stress at the prospect of my providers wrongfully requiring a co-pay I couldn't afford at the time,, and considering that I am still doing rigorous treatments to help prevent recurrence of breast cancer sometimes with 3 appts per week, and that level of stress in the past has caused high spikes in cortisol for me and weakened my immune system to the point that I got sick. I was tearful and explained cancer treatment co-pays were expensive and high very early in the year. For example, I had to pay $3000 right after Jan 1st to keep getting radiation therapy that would reduce my risk of cancer recurrence by over 56%. I am still paying off the other $3000, sometimes with money gifted or lent by family with their own financial problems. I could also only work very part-time due to treatments, and actually couldn't work about 2 months from the worst radiation burn the clinic had ever seen early 2021. Cancer treatment & inability to work as the breadwinner for my family used up our savings. I shared this financial stress info with the Oscar rep. Then the Oscar rep became very empathetic and was able to reassure me suddenly it would be fixed and I would see the change soon and that he would follow up with me, which he did. The whole ordeal was quite upsetting and had my stomach in knots. I kept wondering if I was either randomly selected to make things harder for me to cut costs to Oscar or if my high cost of treatments triggered someone to target me, possibly without realizing my difficult journey battling cancer (or heaven forbid, while knowing it). I started to worry if/how Oscar would be able to consistently meet my healthcare needs when my life is on the line. The way Oscar shows my deductible status to providers' staff looking me up to see if I need a co-pay frequently confuses them. When I meet the out-of-pocket max, it apparently stops making any changes to the meeting my deductible part. The staff will see what looks like I haven't met my deductible yet and I always have to direct them to look at the out-of-pocket part to see I met that. Sometimes staff will still be confused with that tip. Please change how this gets reported to the poor staff working in clinics and for members facing that confusion. Even with these problems, so far Oscar is still the best insurance I've had. I often recommend it to my patients.

1 year ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Hi there! Thank you for your kind words and for bringing this issue to our attention. Please check your inbox for a message from our team.

Aug. 24th, 2021

star star star star star_border

Glenn S. Leander, TX

I was somewhat apprehensive about signing up with Oscar for 2018 because of negative reviews mostly from people in NY. But then I looked at the negative comments made more closely and noted that in every single case the critics should have been mad at themselves for not taking the time to understand what the Oscar policies cover and don't cover, what deductibles and co-pays mean and what doctors are in network BEFORE they signed up for their policies and/or went in for medical care. I live in the Austin, TX area and find those who are critical of Oscar have largely made the same mistakes as did the critics in NY. Anyway, having almost a year under my belt with Oscar now I can confidently state that I've been very pleased with my policy. Oscar processes claims quickly and accurately, has reps who have been very helpful and courteous on multiple occasions and their doctor on call has been a great free service. There is a wide selection of doctors (both general and specialists) and medical facilities to chose from and I can see anyone of them that I want to without having to select a primary care provider and don't need to get a referral for a specialist. And, since I took the time to understand my policy beforehand, there have been absolutely no bad surprises. Oh, yes, Oscar did raise their premiums by about 17% for 2019 and did increase their deductibles and max-out-of-pocket amounts but they are still the best cost insurance option on the ACA exchange, especially for those whose incomes qualify them for insurance premium subsidies. My only complaint: They do not provide medical procedure or prescription cost estimating tools. Most major insurers have these tools so their policy holders can make better, informed decisions regarding their health care options. It's important enough for me to take off 1 star for this reason.

4 years ago

star star star star star_border

Jenifer Astoria, NY

I love the app. It is very convenient and easy to navigate. I've used the doctor on call service and it was quick and helpful. I've also reached out regarding admin questions and although it takes a little more time to get a response, I've always gotten a good response which clarifies my questions. I love the step counter and how it's synced with Amazon! I brag about that to all my friends. I am giving 4 stars mainly because the plan itself which is most affordable is still very limiting. And when I need more medical attention than normal, I feel I'm eating a lot of the costs. I appreciate the low monthly premiums very much, but the deductible is the sacrifice for such low payments. I think it would be a good idea to include other plan options on the app to make it easy for a member to switch if they feel they need different coverage.

4 years ago

star star star star star_border

Cristina Anderson San Antonio, TX

I had Oscar Insurance in Texas until I had to switch because I moved to a state where Oscar wasn't available. I switched to Oscar from another insurance after a multitude of problems getting my prescription medication approved. The old insurance company changed its formulary and it became and non-preferred medication. They decided I had to go through step-therapy despite me taking the medication for over 7 years. When I was started on the medication, my doctor didn't do a step-therapy (because it wasn't required at that time). So basically I had to try a medication that could put my health in jeopardy just because of an insurance company (un-named) changed their formulary to save money. I spoke at length with representatives at Oscar before switching and was very happy with the coverage and services I received from them. I am now back in Texas and am choosing Oscar again! No insurance plan is perfect, but I like the ease of use, transparency, and clarity of the website with Oscar.

4 years ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Thanks for the love, Cristina! We're glad to have you back. Don't hesitate to reach out if there's ever anything we can do to help.

Aug. 31st, 2018

star star star star star_border

M Mills

I was with Oscar for one year, this was a great and simple insurance company to work with. Loved the dedicated customer service team, they were very easy to contact, follow-up was great, and they were easy to use and provided great coverage. The biggest challenge was during the first half of the year having to spend a lot of time convincing healthcare providers and hospitals that Oscar was a real health insurance company. Oscar poorly communicated its entrance to the Dallas Texas market when it entered in January 2016. I was very disappointed that Oscar decided to leave Dallas after spending only six months of that first year in Dallas. This demonstrated very poor strategic and operational planning on their part. Given, that Oscar was a startup insurance company and took some losses during its first year, this was a major disruption for customers, medical providers and others. As much as I liked Oscar, I am reluctant to go back to them in the future given that they are so unstable and pulled out so quickly. I would not want to risk having to change my physicians and care givers again in such a short time. Although they were a good insurance company and was beginning to provide excellent service, they cost me a lot of unnecessary disruption during a critical time in my life including destroying critical relationships with some excellent healthcare providers due to the short coming and going and need to find providers in new networks. This was very painful and I felt abused. Oscar has lost my support and made me reluctant to support future new healthcare insurance company startups. M. Mills. Dallas, TX

5 years ago

star star star star star_border

Anne New York, NY

Best - web site is easy to use, easy to navigate, easy to get info Worst - after the easy navigation in search of answers, the answer is almost always "we don't cover that", or "that doctor is not in our network" Positive - the $1/day for walking 12,000 steps Negative - why stop at $100? That's less than one-third of the year! My suggestion is making it at least half the year. Your rates are very high for the coverage you offer. At least you can give subscribers some impetus to stay healthy.

1 year ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Hi Anne! Thank you for your feedback. We really appreciate it and will make sure our team receives your insights to help improve our member experience.

Sep. 6th, 2021

star star star star star_border

Glen Williams Columbus, OH

I don't understand why I have to jump through impossible hoops to get tier 1 Rx for free. You make me go through an emergency protocol with an online doc that has no idea about my background and then print off a 2ndary Rx card to take to my same pharmacy just give us the prices straight up it is a time suck and feels like i am being scammed by my insurance compant

1 year ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Hi Glen, thank you for your feedback. Please check your DMs for a message from our team.

Sep. 6th, 2021

star star star star star_border

Roxanne Fay Largo, FL

I have really appreciated the communication from Oscar regarding what my insurance covers, how to get help during the pandemic, what resources are available, etc. I am fortunate that I am in good health and haven't had much cause to use my coverage, but feel confident that if I should need care, I will know where and how best to receive that care.

2 years ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Thank you for your kind words, Roxanne! If there's anything we can do for you, please feel free to reach out.

Jul. 23rd, 2020

star star star star star_border

Cherie Crane Los Angeles, CA

Responsive, good online portal and online concierge. I like that I can get a plan with all the UCLA physicians included. My only complaint is that Oscar does not cover as much as Blue Cross does in costs associated with breast cancer - such as cold cap therapy to prevent hair loss, considering it purely aesthetic and not recognizing that it can be emotionally comparable to breast reconstruction.

2 years ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Hi Cherie, we're happy to hear about your experience with our Concierge team! We would also like to thank you for your honest feedback. We'll make sure to share your thoughts with the appropriate teams at Oscar for consideration.

May. 22nd, 2020

star star star star star_border

bigblu Culver City, CA

Had Anthem BC before. Now have Oscar insurance with same coverage, but lower premiums. Oscar is more efficient (automated with a simple website). You don't get a lot of unnecessary paperwork in the mail like with Anthem. Of course, the deductible is high, but compared to Anthem, Oscar is much more user friendly. If you have a question, you can email the Concierge and someone will get back to you. You don't have to wait on hold on the phone, only to have someone not able to answer your question, requiring a callback. Just much easier to use than Anthem.

3 years ago

star star star star star_border

William C Turner Sherman Oaks, CA

I signed up for a high deductible Oscar plan through the ACA because it covered two doctors that I see regularly. Follow up tests and specialists were generally reasonable, but some had high unexpected costs. I was able to get some answers to health questions through their app or website. And one of their doctors called me to give me a lower cost alternative to one of my expensive medications. While premium costs remain low, one of my specialists has been dropped for 2020.

3 years ago

star star star star star_border

Thaddeus Bouska Brooklyn, NY

Oscar, like all modern health insurance companies, has its problems. Healthcare is expensive, and insurance never covers enough of the costs. But if you put aside industry-wide complaints about those costs, I find Oscar is pretty good in one big way that sets it apart from competitors in New York. They have excellent customer service who is very helpful at navigating the world of healthcare with you, explaining everything and trying their best to help you get the care you need. They make the service worthwhile over other similarly priced companies that don't offer such helpful service.

3 years ago

star star star star star_border

deborah hensley Austin, TX

This has been a more affordable plan , then the BCBS, that we had for years, they have great primary doctors on the plan and a good web site, and other features. This plan seems to pay the doctors the same as the BCBS did, and I have had no complaints about the payment. As the cost if insurance is rising and the benefits are lowering , Oscar is a good choice.

3 years ago

star star star star star_border

Paul New York, NY

The app is great; paperwork and reports are clear; and the drug coverage is excellent. I have no complains after about 14 months enrolled (though admittedly I haven't had any out-of-the-ordinary health needs). The only reason I gave 4 stars rather than five is the very high cost of the plan, which went up $100 after my first year, and is slated to go up about $140 after the second. (But then again, skyrocketing costs probably aren't limited to Oscar!)

3 years ago

star star star star star_border

Alexa L. San Antonio, TX

I really like the ability to have a phone conversation with a doctor. That feature has been incredibly helpful. I also enjoy the concierge team who help me navigate my medical care. It has been good being able to schedule specialist appointments directly too. So far the price is Ok as well. All that and a critical mass of providers who take Oscar make it great for our family.

4 years ago

star star star star star_border

Jeronimo New York, NY

Oscar provides a competitively priced insurance for the New York market, which is widely accepted with multiple pcp and specialists. Additionally, their digital platform allows you to speak with a dedicated concierge team and medical professionals on demand for minor inquiries, which are both time saving and very efficient, as well as helping you save on the co-pays with the doctors.

4 years ago

star star star star star_border

[email protected] Austin, TX

The app is convenient, the concierge team is very polite and helpful (even though it can take days to receive a reply to a query posted on the weekend), and the co-pays and monthly premiums are competitively priced. The in-network Dr.s are often far away and a relatively small number of drugs are Tier 1a.

1 year ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Thank you for your feedback! We'll make sure our plan design team gets your note about expanding our network and prescription benefits.

Sep. 6th, 2021

star star star star star_border

Vginestra Boca Raton, FL

It seems like Oscar is trying to make a difference. It seems to be more "reachable" and in touch with the needs of the insured. Less bureaucracy and more results. The quality and availability of the service providers may need some significant improvement.

1 year ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Thank you for your feedback! We'll be sure to share this with our team.

Sep. 6th, 2021

star star star star star_border

Felice Cohen Hyannis, MA

Have been with Oscar for a few years. Always easy to use the website, the app, get calls back from doctors, get scrips. Loved the encouragement with the Amazon gift card, but disappointed that it went from $240 max a year to $100, while my monthly cost went up substantially.

1 year ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Hi there, thank you for your kind words! We'll make sure our team gets this feedback related to step tracking rewards. Please know that our plan design team is always looking for ways to bring reduced health care services to you.

Aug. 24th, 2021

star star star star star_border

Gatcha Brooklyn, NY

Oscar is amazing. My only concern is that Oscar does not cover my method of birth control (nuva ring) only the generic which is problematic and not effective. So I pay $160 every month for birth control. It’s a fortune. I am upset.

1 year ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Thanks for the feedback! Please check your DMs for a message from our team.

Sep. 6th, 2021

star star star star star_border

Suzanne Ohman Mission Viejo, CA

Oscar insurance has proven to be a great value with a large number of providers. Can’t beat a $5 co-pay! The provider list does not have a ton of information at this time, have to make the calls and view individual websites to make sure doctors’ are in-network.

1 year ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

We're glad to hear it, Suzanne! Please know that we also really appreciate your feedback and will take your insights back to the appropriate teams.

Jun. 24th, 2021

star star star star star_border

carole abel Palm Coast, FL

i like oscars reach to my chosen doctors and affordable premiums but dislike the copays and out of pocket expenses lately, they have been noticeably higher and we have a lot of tests coming up this fall. the customer service reps are great and knowledgable

1 year ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Hi Carole, thank you for your feedback! We really appreciate it. Please know we'll take your insights on cost back to our team.

Jun. 1st, 2021

star star star star star_border

Denise Bourcier New York, NY

The 2 best things about Oscar is being able to see a specialist without a referral and the price. The 1 thing I don't like about Oscar is that a lot of healthcare providers--including my therapist and psychiatrist--are out of network, and these are not easy providers to replace.

2 years ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Hi Denise, we appreciate your feedback as our team is always hoping to learn from our members and improve the Oscar experience. Please know that we are always evaluating our partnerships with providers in all of our markets.

May. 27th, 2020

star star star star star_border

Nikki Pileggi San Antonio, TX

I loved oscar. Very reasonable. More selections for specialist would have been nice. When you are no longer with Oscar and you try to log in to review & download EOB's, you are immediately locked out of your acct. Very disappointing

2 years ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Thank you for your kind words, Nikki. We'll make sure to pass along your feedback on our specialist network and account access to the right teams at Oscar. If there's anything we can do to assist you, please send us a direct message with your Oscar ID number and we would be happy to help.

May. 22nd, 2020

star star star star star_border

Susan B. Chatsworth, CA

I have access to many doctors and hospitals and a concierge team ready to help me at any time. The phone app is easy to use with the information I need at my fingertips. I do wish the annual deductible was lower but otherwise, this insurance company has made it all very easy to navigate.

3 years ago

star star star star star_border

Oscarnj Morris Plains, NJ

Customer service/concierge is great. Management/executive team takes forever to process a response if there’s an issue that needs to be escalated to them. Premiums are the cheapest around but you get what you pay for - higher co-pays.

3 years ago

star star star star star_border

Shira Lakewood, NJ

Good customer service and app is very continent. Does feel like I’m paying a lot on premium for very little benefits day to day and a pretty sizeable deductible. Again, the customer service has been very friendly, knowledgeable, clear and helpful

3 years ago

star star star star star_border

Christina G. San Antonio, TX

The best part about Oscar is the one call doctor. The call you back so quickly and get to the root of the problem quickly. I would recommend Oscar based soley on this! No more needing to make useless doctors apportionment for stuff you just need a quick fix on!

3 years ago

star star star star star_border

Steve Henderson, NV

I've had mixed experiences. My first appt was canceled after it was booked, my prescription medication was not covered, and the doctor I went to for my checkup sent me to two other doctors for the lab, which was very time consuming.

3 years ago

star star star star star_border

Nicole New York, NY

Love the teledoc. If you have regular doctors that you enjoy, I would make sure you confirm they take oscar before switching, as quite a number don't. For how little my husband and I need medical attention, our premiums seem outrageous to me, personally. Otherwise, they've been easy and pleasant.

3 years ago

star star star star star_border

Debra San Antonio, TX

I like the benefits of my plan. I would like to see more doctors added to the plan. The doctor that we were seeing in the plan is no longer in network. While looking for a new doctor, I noticed a list of doctors no longer in network. This concerned me.

3 years ago

star star star star star_border

Ecoughlin Austin, TX

Oscar has been a very good insurance for our family. We've had no problems at all with getting Dr. bills paid and it's easy to track claims and payments through the website. I am giving 4 stars instead of 5 because most communication with Oscar is by text or email. Sometimes you just need to talk to someone on the phone.

4 years ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Thank you for the kind review! Note that you can always call us at 855-OSCAR-55 to be connected directly with your Concierge team if you prefer to talk on the phone.

Oct. 26th, 2018

star star star star star_border

Patty Santa Monica, CA

I found Oscar health insurance to be very efficient . Good communication, excellent healthcare coverage, and a willingness to research questions and respond- either by email, or phone call. I am hoping they will enter the Medicare field, so I can continue to have such excellent service. Thanks, Oscar!!!!!

4 years ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Hi Patty, thank you for leaving such a kind review! We have announced that we will be entering the Medicare Advantage market in 2020, but stay tuned for further details and timeline.

Oct. 24th, 2018

star star star star star_border

Holt Franklin, TN

Good insurance. Would be better if more providers were available. A great physical therapy office no longer takes Oscar because they state that the paperwork and phone calls take up too much time (difficult to work with) compared to other insurances.

4 years ago

star star star star star_border

Connie L. Cleveland, OH

So far Oscar Health is a great coverage program and very convenient access to the network I am familiar with. I was looking for a program that would allow me to stay with CCF and Oscar Health was it! I look forward to exploring more of what Oscar Health has to offer in the future.

4 years ago

star star star star star_border

Ric La Quinta, CA

Affiliation with UCLA Healthcare provides access to esteemed professionals and renowned full-spectrum services, for whole body Wellness. Top-5 Network, urgent care coverage, seamless billing, non-referral, Wearable incentive, "24/7 Doctor on Call"; a no-brainer.

6 years ago

star star star star star_border

Theresa School Jacksonville, FL

The website is very easy to navigate. If I had a complaint it would be that some services are not covered or very hard to get approved. The copay of coinsurance could be a little bit cheaper too!

1 year ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Hi Theresa, thank you for your kind words and for sharing your insights with us. We understand that keeping costs low is important to our members. Our plan design team is always looking for ways to bring reduced health care services to you. We'll make sure our team gets this feedback.

Aug. 24th, 2021

star star star star star_border

sylvia rendon San Antonio, TX

Was glad to have Oscar Insurance as I experienced an accident and had to utilize my medical insurance. They processed timely and I was able to see the discount of services by using in-network providers

2 years ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Hi Sylvia, thank you for sharing! We're glad we were able to assist you.

Oct. 23rd, 2020

star star star star star_border

Laurel Vail North Hollywood, CA

Covered CA messed up when I tried signing up and the Oscar team was very helpful and patient in the multiple phone calls needed to get my application processed. The reps were very friendly and helpful.

3 years ago

star star star star star_border

Nathan Los Angeles, CA

The overall experience with Oscar is great. Good website and app, generally forward thinking features. My only complaint is that there is a very limited selection of doctors in their network.

3 years ago

star star star star star_border

LeanderLil Cedar Park, TX

It is what it is - they do what what they say they'll do. Easy to find doctors and hospitals then read reviews too. Only drawback is using Quest Labs vs. doing Labs at the doctor's office.

3 years ago

star star star star star_border

Tatiana Firsova Los Angeles, CA

Solid price/ratio offer on the market. Good network coverage, responsive customer support (concierges specifically). Modern-looking app and a nice perk of being rewarded for a daily steps goal.

3 years ago

star star star star star_border

Melanie Sag Harbor, NY

Love the customer service and the App! Would have given 5 Stars if the coverage on the East End would be better. Most doctors don't accept Oscar and nearest hospital is about 1 hour and 10 minutes away.

3 years ago

star star star star star_border

Sean Lorre South Orange, NJ

I've been very pleased with the customer service (concierge team). They always do as much as they can to solve my issues. If they had a more robust provider directory, I would be completely satisfied.

3 years ago

star star star star star_border

katie10837948 Brooklyn, NY

Oscar has great customer service. I love the doctor on call feature, it makes it really easy to ask a question when my schedule doesn't allow me to go to the doctor unless I absolutely NEED to.

3 years ago

star star star star star_border

Mrs Williams San Antonio, TX

I love how easy it is to use the Oscar app. I have used the Service "Talk to a Doctor for Free". and it has saved me a great deal time and I was impressed with how quickly they responded.

3 years ago

star star star star star_border

Diane Hall Anaheim, CA

Used the 24 hours doctor service and was very satisfied. My call was returned quickly and the doctor was able to call in a prescription for my gum infection. This all took less than an hour.

3 years ago

star star star star star_border

Maria San Antonio, TX

The customer service is very good and both the website and app and very easy to use. The number of doctors that accept the plan is ok but I wish they had more Hospitals in the network.

3 years ago

star star star star star_border

Tony Murillo San Antonio, TX

The oscar app is awesome, you have everything you need. From looking for a doctor to a specialist and they pay you $1 everytime you reach your step goals. Friendly customer service

3 years ago