Oscar Logo

Oscar

star star star star_border star_border

7.2

Overall Score

error This company may not service all states.
See states serviced
LAST UPDATED: December 7th, 2022

Key Details

  • Ability to Connect with a Doctor 24/7
  • No Referrals
  • Access to Dedicated Nurse and Care Guides

Summary

Founded by Mario Schlosser, Joshua Kushner, and Kevin Nazemi, Oscar is a newer name among health insurance providers. It has grown from its initial startup since its founding in 2012. The company values simplicity and communication, so it seeks to simplify policies in order to better cover the needs of its clients.

With Oscar, customers can find plans with health savings accounts (HSAs) and traditional health insurance plans for individuals and families. Oscar also offers Medicare. Oscar does not offer dental or vision coverage.

View Oscar Reviews

Oscar Health Insurance was created to give customers a new, simple way to get health insurance and affordable care. Its plans include perks for things like reaching a fitness goal.

Oscar puts a strong emphasis on technology to cater to customers’ needs and add convenience to health care.

Another distinguishing feature of Oscar insurance is its Concierge team. Each team includes a registered nurse and a care guide who are available to assist you in finding network providers and answer basic health questions.

Open Enrollment for 2021 health care plans runs November 1, 2020-December 15, 2020. If you missed the open enrollment period, check to see if you qualify for a special enrollment period.

Top Ranked Companies

thumb_up

The Good

  • Positive Customer Reviews
  • Plan Options Offered
  • Easy Quotes and Plan Comparison
  • Helpful Welcome Kit
  • Web Account and Mobile App
  • Unique Features
  • Helpful Concierge Team
  • Telemedicine Access

Positive Customer Reviews

Oscar has received many positive customer reviews on BestCompany.com. Reviewers frequently praise Oscar for its concierge team, customer support, and telemedicine access.

Review Icon

Customer Review: Penny Altman from Van Nuys, California

"Oscar has always been there when I needed them. Their concierge team has answered all of my questions and they're always available. They pay their claims without any problems. Good network of doctors available. Overall, I have been very happy with Oscar compared to other insurance companies I have had in the past."

Plan Options Offered

The insurance provider tries to ensure that each Oscar customer finds an easy health care plan to suit their individual needs. Oscar offers both on- and off-exchange individual plans in all states in which it operates, plus small business plans in New York, New Jersey, and Tennessee.

Under the Affordable Care Act on- and off-exchange plans must cover essential health benefits, like primary care, hospital stays, and mental health services. (The health insurance exchange is a government-created marketplace, also called the health insurance marketplace.)

Oscar's coverage options include: Health Savings Account (HSA)-compatible plans and self-funded options.

From the company's website, it's unclear what kinds of networks Oscar's plan options include. It's common for health insurers to offer plans with in- or out-of-network coverage.

For example, Health Maintenance Organization (HMO) plans only cover in-network care, except in emergencies. Preferred Provider Organization (PPO) plans cover in-network care and out-of-network care. Even though a PPO plan offers more flexibility with providers than an HMO plan, your out-of-pocket costs will typically be higher if you see an out-of-network provider than for seeing an in-network provider with a PPO network plan.

Oscar also offers Medicare Advantage plans. It does not offer Medicaid services.

Oscar offers three plan options:

  • Classic Plans 
  • Simple Plans 
  • Saver Plans

These plans are also organized using the metal tier system created by the Affordable Care Act. Depending on your area, each Oscar insurance product can be a bronze, silver, gold, or platinum plan. 

A bronze plan puts the most cost-sharing on policyholders and tend to have a lower monthly premium, while platinum plans put the least and tend to have a higher premium.

All Oscar Plans have free Doctor-on-Call telemedicine services, rewards for steps tracking, an Oscar Concierge team, and pre-deductible preventive care benefits to keep out-of-pocket costs to a minimum for both specialty and brand-name drugs.

Coverage for telemedicine is a rising trend in health insurance, so this offering makes Oscar a competitive insurance provider.

Oscar Classic plans generally match the policy and structures of most of the plans on the individual insurance market.

However, Oscar Simple plans are easier to understand, because clients only have one dollar amount to remember: all covered services are free after clients hit their deductible. This is because the deductible for an Oscar Simple plan is set at the same level as the maximum out-of-pocket amount. (Note: Care that happens before the deductible is met requires a copay, coinsurance, or full payment by consumers.)

Some Oscar Saver plans are HSA-compatible plans with low monthly premiums and a higher deductible. Members use the money in their HSA to pay for health care throughout the year.

Oscar Backup and Secure plans are a low premium, high deductible option designed for healthier people who was to save on upfront medical expenses.

Easy Quotes and Plan Comparison

Before becoming a member, potential clients can receive quotes on premiums from Oscar's website or by phone. With this tool, a customer can answer a few general questions about themself (zip code, age, how many people they want to cover) as well as about their expected medical needs in the next year. Through this brief process, Oscar can direct clients to the most cost-efficient health plan with the person's health in mind.

Individuals are then able to see all of Oscar insurance plans, costs (deductibles, copays, out-of-pocket maximums, and health insurance premiums, including government subsidies if you qualify), benefits, and recommended options to help decrease out-of-pocket costs.

Helpful Welcome Kit

After Oscar members pay the first premium, they receive a welcome kit, which includes the client's ID card(s), an in-depth look at the free perks and benefits, as well as the individual's Schedule of Benefits and Coverage. This welcome kit also has a "Health Care Cheat Sheet" to help break down all the details of the chosen insurance coverage within the individuals' plan.

Web Account and Mobile App

Lastly, Oscar offers a web account and mobile app to its customers. The online account and health insurance app allow users to search for health professionals covered by Oscar's plans, book appointments with healthcare providers, and view detailed doctor credential information and reviews to find the one(s) best suited to handle their specific needs. The Oscar app makes the features of the member portal more convenient to access on the go.

Members can call or message their Concierge team by simply clicking a button within the app. This app also provides members with a "Health Timeline", which contains their personal medical information and history such as appointments, prescriptions, lab results, and billing information.

Unique Features

Oscar has unique features that many other competing health insurance companies do not. One of these is the fast registration process. Because the company emphasizes simplicity, Oscar has taken many steps to remove the complication of choosing a health insurance plan and registering. It also seeks simplicity by providing efficient customer service, clarifying information on health insurance policy and potential medical expenses, and more.

Furthermore, instead of casting a wide net and contracting with every health care provider, Oscar has developed a curated network of medical groups and doctors in each of its service areas to ensure tighter integration and higher quality health insurance policy for members. Additionally, they use data science and complex modeling to assess network coverage, provider quality, and service volume to improve their offerings.

Oscar also provides rewards to customers who reach their step goals. Customers track their steps using the health apps that come with iPhones and Androids. When they reach their daily step goals, they can receive up to $240 per year.

Helpful Concierge Team

Oscar provides excellent customer support. They provide phone support from 8 a.m.-8 p.m. Monday-Friday local time in each of its markets, and 9 a.m.-5 p.m. on weekends. When clients call or secure message Oscar, you are connected to a Concierge team. Each Concierge team consists of a care guide and a registered nurse. This unique model provides customers with additional support.

In addition, due to the nurse's experience on the team, they can also handle clinical questions, including assessing a member's needs and connecting them with the proper type of doctor to address their needs. This assistance with scheduling appointments, finding a doctor, and care coordination are benefits of working with Oscar.

Concierge teams proactively reach out to members if they visit the ER or hospital unexpectedly to make sure they are okay and that they have done all the follow-ups the doctors requested.

Because they're familiar with you and use Oscar's powerful backend systems to see your history instantaneously, there is never a need to be passed off to another department.

The access to a concierge team to help you navigate your health plan and receive the care you need makes Oscar stand out as an insurance carrier. Other insurers offer similar case management services to members who meet eligibility criteria.

Telemedicine Access

Oscar also provides what they call Doctor-on-Call, a telemedicine service that lets members talk to a doctor 24/7 for free over the phone. This service is especially convenient for getting medical advice when you don't want to take a trip to the doctor's office.

thumb_down

The Bad

  • Negative Customer Reviews
  • Limited Availability
  • No Dental or Vision Insurance
  • Limited Plan Types

Negative Customer Reviews

While a majority of Oscar's reviews are positive, it has also recieved a high percentage of 1-star reviews. Negative reviews are common for the health insurance industry. 1-star reviews mention difficulties with communication, finding an in-network doctor in the area, scheduling appointments, and billing issues. These issues are concerning, and Oscar is responsive to these reviews.

As you consider working with Oscar, pay attention to where reviewers are from. If reviewers in your area have good experiences, that's an indicator Oscar may be a good fit. If reviewers in your area are mostly negative, you may decide to work with another company.

Limited Availability

Oscar health insurance plans are only available to customers in some parts of the United States, including New York, New Jersey, California, Texas, Ohio, Michigan, Florida, Arizona, and Tennessee. Small businesses may also be eligible for Oscar coverage in California, Tennessee, New Jersey, and New York. To check availability, input your zip code on Oscar's website to see the plans available to you.

No Dental or Vision Insurance

Oscar health plans don't include dental or vision coverage, except for children under the age of 18. Many competing insurance providers do include dental and vision options.

Limited Plan Types

Oscar doesn't work with customers on Medicaid. Depending on your plan, you may get health care, prescriptions, and medical supplies from providers who take Oscar plans. This might mean you don't need a referral for a specialist, but it may also mean that you have no out-of-network benefits, except for emergency situations or if you sign up for out-of-area coverage as a small group customer. Be sure to understand how your health coverage works when looking for health care providers.

Oscar insurance customers should also make sure they understand the terms of their health care plan. They should understand under what circumstances they need prior authorization and what kind of coverage is available for pre-existing conditions.

gavel

The Bottom Line

Finding affordable health insurance and a trustworthy insurer is an important step for finding affordable care. There are plenty of plans and health insurers to choose from. How good is Oscar health insurance?

While Oscar is a newer health insurance company, its plan offerings and simple process make its health insurance plans worth considering. If Oscar has a good network and a plan that meets your health and budgetary needs, it's a good option. Pay attention to what reviews from customers in your area say about Oscar.

Be sure to understand how a plan's network and coverage work before enrolling. If Oscar doesn't offer the kind of network plan you're looking for, you may need to consider another insurance company.

Because Oscar does not offer Medicaid, those seeking a Medicaid insurance policy should also find another health insurer.

Oscar offers a wide array of member tools and support options. Its mobile app and Concierge Teams offer customers abundant and easily accessible customer service.

For customers in the available states who are looking for these types of plans, however, an Oscar health plan is a fantastic option. Oscar boasts reasonable rates, several customer service contacts, a fast enrollment process, and offers free services with every health insurance plan.

View Best Health Insurance Companies

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Star Rating

3.1

star star star star_border star_border

722 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

37%

4 grade

14%

3 grade

7%

2 grade

5%

1 grade

37%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star_border star_border

Quality

star star star star_half star_border

Service

star star star star_half star_border

Trustworthiness

star star star star_half star_border
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
star star star_border star_border star_border

Shawna Smith Denver, CO

There requirements for claims and prescriptions is ridiculous. The people seem friendly enough, but they can't really help you. I will switching to a different company in January.

1 month ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Hi Shawna, can you please confirm your name and Oscar ID so that we may route this internally for assistance?

Nov. 2nd, 2022

star star star_border star_border star_border

Sylvia Vicari Palm Beach, FL

Before I signed up for Oscar I asked Oscar if my doctor was part of their network and was told he was. My doctor thought he was. I went to my PCP and then got an EOB with a denial of coverage saying he was out of network...WHAT!! I call and ask WTF they told me he is out of network at that location. UMMMM thats his only location so again WTF. Doctors office was saying the same thing WTF apparently they did this to everyone in his office with Oscar. Now I need an MRI to see if a breast implant I got 13 years ago after a mastectomy is leaking and causeing my recent pain. Today I got a letter saying they need more info like last mammogram and ultra sound. I had a bilateral mastectomy 13 years ago there is no mammogram. So now I have to wait up to 2 weeks for their doctor to decide if an MRI is necessary. How is their doctor who did not see me suppose to figure out what my doctor that did see me is correct in ordering an MRI. In the meantime I can sit and wait...cuz they sure as hell don't care about me. I can't wait until December when I can get rid of this crappy insurance company.

7 months ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Sylvia, we are sorry to hear that you are frustrated and our team would like to learn more about what may have occurred. Please check your inbox for a followup message.

Apr. 12th, 2022

star star star_border star_border star_border

Eliza Hechmer Columbus, OH

I'm six months past getting an annual pap and mammogram and I am still in a billing nightmare over it. It's incomprehensible.

1 month ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Hi Eliza, we are sorry to hear that you are frustrated and our team would like to learn more about what may have occurred. Please check your inbox for a followup message.

Oct. 18th, 2022

star star star_border star_border star_border

LAlvey Fort Worth, TX

I’m so disappointed with Oscar. We live in Fort Worth and the only imaging facility approved is a hospital, which is more expensive. I signed up with Oscar because of the low cost of insurance. Dr offices and imaging facilities are cancelling Oscar mid year leaving us with very few options to use. We can only use 1 hospital which is not one of the major hospitals. None of our doctors want to use Oscar. We are basically stuck for the year. You get what you pay for

8 months ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

LAlvey, we are sorry to hear that you are frustrated and our team would like to learn more about what may have occurred. Please check your inbox for a followup message.

Apr. 6th, 2022

star star star_border star_border star_border

Bernard Kida Culver City, CA

I have to say now that Oscar has paved its way; it has since gouged it pricing to a point where I can no longer afford it. To jump $60 a month is ridiculous. Even when I asked questions about it they brushed me off and were happy to just cancel my plan. I was really hoping Oscar would have been different, but they are just becoming like the rest of the greedy health insurance companies and I'm just another number to them.

11 months ago

star star star_border star_border star_border

Sheryl Brooklyn, NY

I have been a customer since 2013 when the exchange opened. I used to be a big fan of Oscar, going so far as getting friends to sign up because of the great service and benefits. It has been an increasingly disappointing experience that has significantly worsened in 2021. The customer service has been terrible, the policies opaque, and I am still considering whether to contact the Department of Consumer Affairs over my experience with Oscar when I had to deal with a Durable Medical Equipment claim this Spring. I have gotten factually incorrect information, I have waited for a call from customer service for days only to get a call (with no voicemail left) at 6pm on a Saturday and no way to follow up on the call I was desperately waiting for. I was told a person I had never been contacted by (and who never seemed to be in the office) was handling my case. I finally spoke to a manager who actually followed up with me, only to have her tell me she couldn't help me and that my problem was a known issue the company had no interest in solving. Her resolution was to tell me I should file a grievance. A nightmare for someone with a chronic illness like me who is simply trying to get my prescriptions filled. They also suspended my account immediately when I was a day late to pay premium (I paid it on the first of the month and the account was put into a grace period at midnight the night before), which caused a prescription to be rejected - again, not great when you have a chronic illness. Update 1 - Oscar did DM me (early Sept), and I responded with more details on my grievances, and have not yet received any acknowledgement of that message or a response nearly two months later. Update 2- Oscar responded to this update (late Oct) saying that the matter was escalated internally and someone will contact me. I will be waiting to see if that happens.

1 year ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Hi Sheryl, please check your DMs for a message from our team!

Sep. 6th, 2021

star star star_border star_border star_border

KD Orange, CA

I guess with everything, you get what you pay for. In the case of Oscar, you have to pay for the gold or better plans in order to really get access to coverage. I have the silver classic select, and there are very few doctors, that I can actually see, Of those doctors, even fewer actually will even take me as a new patient. Access to specialty? Sure, on paper at least- but in reality, not so great. So my advice is stick with a larger company, United, Blue Cross, or pay even more to have broader access. The US Healthcare system is a disaster, and all insurance companies are not in the game to do more than make money so its a roll of the dice regardless, but I've had better experiences with larger providers. Oscar is a baby, and has a lot of growing up to do.

1 year ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Hi there, thank you for bringing this to our attention. Please check your inbox for a message from our team.

Aug. 6th, 2021

star star star_border star_border star_border

An Avid Observer Tampa, FL

It was fine when all I needed was the basics taken care of. But once I start getting into advanced imaging or outpatient procedures it turned into a mess of uninformed employees, runarounds and terrible pricing policies. First I had an MRI scheduled, when I checked for pricing, I did not get an answer until the DAY it was done. However upon receiving reciept, I found it says "Price is just an estimate and may change". This was after I asked the clerk to verify the cost prior to me coming into the office. I have yet to see the claim appear on my account. My current issue: I had a procedure scheduled a month in advanced. It's now three days till the procedure and I have No IDEA what the cost will be. I have contacted OSCAR 5 times, and each participating physician offices about 15 times this past month trying to figure out the pricing for this procedure. I have received numbers between $45 and $3500 for this procedure. How can you be this incompetent? How hard is it to give an accurate price beforehand? The sheer number of uninformed people I spoke to is telling of how OSCAR operates. While the concierge team is generally polite, being polite isn't being informative and that doesn't help my plan to pay for necessary procedures. I have never experienced an issue with cost appraisals at my previous insurers. They would have a price in a few days so I can plan accordingly. At this point I'm already looking at other insurance companies, this place is a joke. This is my first year with Oscar and hopefully my last.

2 years ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Hi there, we want to apologize for this experience. Please know that we take your feedback seriously. A member of our team has reached out to you via direct message so that we may investigate further.

Nov. 24th, 2020

star star star_border star_border star_border

John O Lewis Center, OH

I hope that I didn't make a HUGE mistake changing insurance to this company. Signed up thru healthcare.gov - after selecting, directed me to website to make a payment. Website would not accept it - didnt recognize the forward. So i tried to setup an account using my social. Then it asked me to select a plan.????? Just did that. Tried to link the two with no luck.....Finally Received a bill on 12/26/19 with a due date of 1/1/20 and a threat to cancel if not received. Again on website, tried to enter Member id as shown on invoice ** EXACTLY**. responded bad formatting. although my social was correct, still could not pay bill online as there was no account associated with it. tried to call the "concierge" number just to figure out how to pay the bill.....no answer after extremely lengthy hold. I hope this is not an an indication of how they plan on doing business on Ohio.

2 years ago

star star star_border star_border star_border

Victoria Brooklyn, NY

I'm 63. I pay over $5,000 a year for medical insurance with Oscar. I have a $7,000 deductible so I don't go to doctors if I can avoid it. It's hard to put a positive spin on this. That said, if I could do better elsewhere, I would switch insurers. (I will be voting for the Democratic Presidential candidate in 2020...) I give Oscar credit for how they have streamlined the experience of getting information, even if the information I get is regrettable. Their Web site is uncluttered and intuitive; the customer service representatives work hard to answer my questions in a timely manner and are always pleasant. What is it they say about democracy--that it is the worst form of government except for all the other forms? Well, though I give Oscar a 2, I give all the others a 1.

3 years ago

star star star_border star_border star_border

KevinB Brooklyn, NY

UPDATE June 15 2019 -- Oscar sent me a letter letting me know they will increase their premiums 22% at the end of the year. 22%?!! Of course their CEO gets a fat pay package, but obviously he's not doing a good job if he can't control prices. Can you imaging your Utility, your internet service provider, etc., increasing their prices 22% per year?? It's an OUTRAGEOUS GOUGING of their customers. Looking elsewhere and fighting the increase with the NYC Dept of Health Services. OLD REVIEW: Oscar lives up to the hype. Doctor on call or on the app is great. Concierge is very responsive. Have been pleased with the service so far.

3 years ago

star star star_border star_border star_border

John Austin, TX

I went for my "free" annual checkup in-network and had a blood table done and my bill is still $6,188.34 two months later. There are 3 general practitioners in Austin and 9 total in Central Texas (within 2 hours of Austin) that are available in-network. This company is a compete joke playing a dangerous game with people's lives. I would hate to be in a serious situation where I'm getting denied for what most other providers cover. Positives: cheap premiums (though denied when you use it), their app is easy to use, HSA available. Oscar may be good for something catastrophic but think twice before you dare use it unless you're on your deathbed.

3 years ago

star star star_border star_border star_border

zelda Santa Monica, CA

Let Oscar's robotic template responses to real people's reviews here be your guide, then pick ANY other insurance company. "Oh, sorry you're frustrated..." - as in, Oscar doesn't think their customers' experiences of their piss-poor insurance are legitimate. You'll *read* their same cut/paste responses about how "sorry that you're frustrated" Oscar is. But after two years with Oscar in a major metropolis (LA), I promise it's getting worse to actually get care through Oscar. "...our Curated Network..." - That means you'll wait a month to see a doctor, if you're lucky. Plan on waiting and waiting and waiting to actually see a doctor. By the way, a couple of the providers in their carefully "curated network" are actually deceased. Pretty disgraceful. Oscar's cheerful fonts, app, and cutesy language doesn't cut it when your health and life are concerned. Their robo-replies here are very telling about how "corporate" and robotic and incompetent Oscar actually is. STAY AWAY!

3 years ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Oh my! This isn't what we like to hear. If you’re having issues finding a provider, please reach out to your Concierge team and they’ll work with you to find one that fits your needs. In regards to deceased providers, we’d like to investigate this. Give us a call at 855-OSCAR-55 or send us a secure message via your Oscar profile with the details and we'll be more than happy to escalate this feedback accordingly. We apologize again for the negative experience, Zelda, and look forward to helping you when you reach out.

Apr. 17th, 2019

star star star_border star_border star_border

Rizz Ladera Ranch, CA

Pros: Lowest Price for any metal tier, same benefits as other metal-tiered plans as other competitors, and if you like gimmicky presentation with decent technology, then Oscar is good for you. Their customer service team is amazing! They are very helpful and pleasant. The Bad: Very limited medical access because they keep throwing this curated network to manage cost. The problem is the Curated Network chosen will decide which local providers they want to contract to be part of their network. So, if you can't see many providers in your area, blame the curated network that Oscar has chosen, indirectly blaming Oscar because they fail to address this effectively. Great idea, but horrible execution.

3 years ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Hi Rizz, thank you for taking the time to share this feedback. We’re happy to hear that our customer service team is very helpful and pleasant, however we’re sorry to hear you’re frustrated with our network. Oscar has a curated network of providers built around provider systems who, like us, are focused on keeping costs down for our members. Our team is here to help you find the right provider for your needs, so give them a call at 1-855-OSCAR-55 to get the conversation started.

Apr. 3rd, 2019

star star star_border star_border star_border

Arthur Ellin New York, NY

Oscar offers a pretty thin network. In TVs and cellphones, thin is good. In medical care, not so much. It means that it's hard to find a good doctor to treat your condition. Or hospital. Virtually no major New York hospitals accept this insurance except Mount Sinai, and almost none of my Mount Sinai doctors accept it either. None of the good doctors I have gone to in the past accept this insurance. Instead, I have been to some truly horrible practices and clinics . In one case, over three visits, I never saw an actual doctor, just a nurse practitioner. I have also seen good doctors who are part of terrible, factory-like practices that make it impossible from them to do their jobs well since they only have five minutes with each patient. I have been misdiagnosed, non-diagnosed, etc. Oscar is also extremely stingy with reimbursements for lab work, physical therapy etc. even for preventive or covered services. They always find ways not to pay for certain things. They focus a lot of PR on their app, their "wellness center" in Brooklyn, and other meaningless stuff. On the key issue—medical treatment—they are terrible. The only reason I gave them two stars instead of one is that they don't require referrals for you to see doctors in their crappy network. This offers some freedom to pick and choose so you are not completely at the mercy of a primary care provider. But your choices may not be great.

3 years ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Hi Arthur, thank you for sharing this feedback. While we can’t speak to your specific concerns on Best Company due to privacy laws, we’re happy to address your feedback generally. Oscar has a curated network of providers built around provider systems who, like us, are focused on keeping costs down for our members. Each member is assigned a care team who can advocate for them if they do think there is an access gap. If you have a concern with a specific provider, we recommend sharing your feedback with the provider directly as well as your care team at Oscar. Members can also rate providers using our tools to provide feedback. Keep in mind, coverage depends on the plan you have. If you think you might be on the wrong plan for your care needs, your care team can help as well. To discuss any of this in further detail, please call us at 855-OSCAR-55 to be connected directly with your team.

Dec. 12th, 2018

star star star_border star_border star_border

Jon North Olmsted, OH

I liked the intuitive design of Oscar's website and app, but their computer systems clearly have some kinks to work out. For a few months, their site and app showed that I owed $0 in premium payments. It even showed my statements for previous and current months as being paid in full. Then I got an email one day warning me that if I did not pay my premium, my coverage would be canceled. Immediately upon receiving this email, I called customer service to figure out what was wrong. I was told that an error with their system had caused the website to inaccurately display that I was paid in full, and that I actually still owed premium payments. So I agreed to pay my entire outstanding balance over the phone that day, and then I set the website to auto-withdraw from my bank so that this would not happen again. Two weeks later in December 2018, I received a letter in the mail stating that my coverage had been canceled due to delinquent non-payment. It stated that I hadn't paid during the grace period of December 2018 to February 2019, and my coverage had been canceled as of November 30. Obviously, these dates made no sense. I also received at the same time a welcome packet and new ID cards. Yet whenever I logged into the site at this point, it said I no longer had a plan through Oscar. I called customer service again and found out that even though this whole thing was Oscar's error, they could not reinstate my coverage because it had been apparently canceled by the Federal Health Market. I then had to call the Federal Health Market in order to figure out that when Oscar had tried to reinstate my plan the first time, the Market did not let them because the Market's records still erroneously showed that I had failed to make payments. Now I'm waiting to hear back from the Market as they have escalated my case to be investigated. I've been assured by both them and Oscar that this process will finish within the next 30 days and then my coverage will be reinstated. I'm hoping that will happen. Nevertheless, it is still bizarre that a healthcare company's computer system could be so broken as to cancel someone's coverage for no reason and send out notices that are so bizarre and contradictory; and then have no way of easily reinstating the plan even when the error was on their end. I had to do an awful lot of investigation on my own to even figure out what had gone wrong. So I'm currently uninsured, and I have to pay out of pocket for prescriptions until my coverage is reinstated. Oscar has offered to reimburse these costs once my plan is back, which I hope will happen. And they say I'll be able to have my doctor bill claims reprocessed at that point. Even still, what would I have done if I couldn't afford to pay for the prescriptions out of pocket during this period? Hopefully once this is remedied, I'll have better experience with Oscar, but so far it's been a major confusing headache.

3 years ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Hi Jon, thank you for taking the time to leave this review. We’re happy to hear you like our website and app, but we’re sorry to hear you’ve run into billing issues and received conflicting messages from us. We know this didn’t make for a good start to the year, and we’re very sorry for any inconveniences this may have caused you and your family. If you have any follow-up questions, please don’t hesitate to call your Concierge team at 855-OSCAR-55 so we can make this right.

Feb. 13th, 2019

star star star_border star_border star_border

Amy Ivanoff North Ridgeville, OH

Anyone purchasing OSCAR insurance....be warned. OSCAR does not mean Cleveland Clinic. If you believe that any doctor you choose at the Cleveland Clinic will be covered by OSCAR you are WRONG. Also, if you go to a doctor in the OSCAR network you should know there is a good chance they will use a lab that is not in network and you will have to pay for it 100%. So if you have a colonoscopy (like my husband) make sure you say "I don't care which lab you normally use, please send my biopsy to a lab in network. Here is a list." That is YOUR responsibility according to Denton F., customer service supervisor at Oscar Insurance. If that doctor isn't contracted with an in network lab than you best ask for your biopsy sample in a to-go bag so you can get it to the right place. ALSO, if make an appointment with a doctor in an office at a Cleveland Clinic facility, don't let them offer you another doctor in the practice with whom you can get a faster appointment. They may very well be out of network. No one will tell you. You will just get the bill and have to pay 100%! There is a lot of work required on the part of members to make sure you get your medical expenses covered.

4 years ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Hi Amy, we're sorry to hear about the frustration. Due to privacy laws we're unable to discuss any specifics regarding a member's private health info here, but we've escalated this case and your husband should have received notification from our team. Our Concierge team is standing by to help find providers and vendors that meet our members’ needs – they can supply a list of preferred lab vendors according to any member’s plan. As always, if you have questions or would like help from our team, call us at 855-OSCAR-55 and you'll be connected directly to your Concierge team.

Sep. 12th, 2018

star star star_border star_border star_border

Joanne El Segundo, CA

DO NOT PROVIDE PHYSICAL THERAPY anywhere acceptable close to me (Los Angeles) I switched to Oscar from Blue Shield at the beginning of the year because Blue Shield premiums skyrocketed all of a sudden (we all know why). It was the only other insurance UCLA accepted from the self-insured ones. I thought it was good that they covered UCLA and USC doctors, which are research facilities and more trustworthy. However, I did not check their physical therapy network. It is horribly slim. UCLA has offices in many parts of LA, but their physical therapists are only around Santa Monica and central LA. I have a back injury, and cannot travel far for physical therapy: I don't drive and cannot sit long in a car. The closest physical therapist they gave me was 14 miles away in Santa Monica. Driving 14 miles into Santa Monica means sitting in a car for 45-60 min because of horrible traffic. By the time I would get there I would be in too much pain to do any exercises, and it would add up quite a lot with Uber ($45 for round trip), plus 1.5 hours gone a day that I could be working. You see a physical therapist more often than a doctor who could be farther for that one time check-up. This is not acceptable. I wrote to request I see the physical therapist I've used in the past who is 1.5 miles away and who knows my issues, but was denied because they are not in their network. This is a normal price physical therapy facility which accepts every insurance out there (but Oscar who they said wouldn't even return their phone calls and forced another patient of theirs to go 70 miles away for physical therapy). Yes, I understand what "in-network" means, and I agreed to it when I signed up, but I didn't imagine their network would be so poor. I am going to follow with the state and submit and IMR report, and may end up paying out of pocket to see my local physical therapist (which is the same as not having insurance and worse than having stayed with the more expensive Blue Shield). _____________________________________ Separately, I read the comment on the blood panel. Yes, Oscar did not cover my Vitamin D and calcium panels because those were not considered preventive. This at a time when Americans are largely suffering from a Vitamin D deficiency. __________________________________ Other than this I have been happy with their bill paying and letters regarding bills sent. That part of the insurance company works well. But if they don't cover physical therapy in a way that is manageable or acceptable, it is useless to have.

4 years ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Hi Joanne, we’re sorry to hear you’re frustrated with your experience. Due to privacy laws we’re unable to discuss any specifics related to your health information or claims here. We partner with a curated network of providers built around systems whose goal, like ours, is to keep costs down and provide a better experience for our members with excellent quality of care. Our full network of providers is searchable on our site at , but our Concierge team is also always happy to help you find in-network options. If you’d like to be connected with your team, please DM us your member ID number and we’ll have them reach out. Oscar follows the US Preventive Services Task Force guidelines. Services that are not deemed preventive by these standards – such as Vitamin D and calcium tests – are covered by your plan but subject to lab cost sharing. If you have any questions about these topics or anything else, please feel free to call us anytime at 855-OSCAR-55 or send a message via the app.

Jul. 9th, 2018

star star star_border star_border star_border

Amanda

My daughter was seeing a speech therapist prior to joining Oscar. We live in the big city of Austin and there is not one speech therapist with Oscar. When I contacted customer service about getting approved the the therapist she was already seeing and knew given there were no therapists in Austin, they told me I had to drive to TEMPLE (over an hour away) twice a week. I work so this is not a possibility. I would have to take off half a day everytime. So in the crucial point in development my only option is wait until Oscar can find a speech therapist in Austin to contract with or pay out of pocket to get less time with a therapist.

4 years ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Hi Amanda, we're sorry to hear this. We're always working on growing our provider networks to best serve our members. Due to privacy laws this isn't something we can help with directly here, but your concierge team will continue to work with you to find the best option for you and your daughter. If you'd like, feel free to message us your Oscar ID number here and we'll be happy to have someone from our team look into this further.

Apr. 3rd, 2018

star star star_border star_border star_border

PJ Brooklyn, NY

Oscar has paid per the terms of my insurance for some visits/procedures, but for others, refuses to pay for ridiculous reasons. With regard to one specialist, I checked the Oscar website before my visit to make sure she was listed as in-network, and her receptionist confirmed that she was in network at the time of my visit. Oscar then denied the claim, saying that the provider was out of network. I pointed the customer service rep to their website, and they eventually admitted that the provider was, in fact, in-network and the claim was covered. Now, more than three months after the visit, they are now claiming that, while the provider is in-network now, she wasn't at the time of the visit, even though their website plainly listed her as a provider at the time. With regard to the other specialist, an ophthalmologist, I also checked to make sure the provider was in-network before my visit. Oscar, however, denied coverage for the eye exam performed by the doctor on the grounds that eye exams are not covered by their policy, although this is nowhere stated in their policy. I have appealed this decision, but I have no doubt that Oscar will continue to deny coverage for whatever reason they can make up.

6 years ago

star star star_border star_border star_border

Allison M Austin, TX

Like most insurance companies, Oscar will refuse to pay for most tests and medical care until you pay their outrageous deductions first. It's only worth it having insurance with them if you plan to spend a lot of time in the hospital and have heavy medical expenses. If you have moderate expenses, you will spend thousands out of pocket, on top of your premiums, before Oscar pays for anything. We need to get rid of companies like this and institute universal, not-for-profit healthcare.

3 years ago

star star star_border star_border star_border

L.R Austin, TX

Most of the folks at Oscar are nice. The coverage language is slippery. For example - 'normal' foot care is not covered unless it has to do with diabetes. Apparently, removing a bone from a foot which requires 'normal' anesthesia in a hospital isn’t covered either. Oscar still has not resolved the issue with Anesthesiologist. Apparently the Anesthesiologist is submitting claim incorrectly but Oscar won't tell them how to submit with correct codes. So? I get pay because Oscar won't work this out??

3 years ago

star star star_border star_border star_border

Lauren New York, NY

Oscar isn't accepted by almost any doctor I've contacted and their Oscar clinic doctors left me disappointed. I felt my issues were left untreated and the doctor was not thorough. My high deductible has left me unable to get multiple prescriptions I've needed. Oscar tried to charge me over $300 for copays on meds. I give them two stars simply for their marketing and easy to contact customer service. Overall I would NOT recommend purchasing this insurance.

4 years ago

star star star_border star_border star_border

Maria Garza

Well let's see where should I start? I need an MRI that has been requested by two different doctors and Evicore denied it three times and so did oscar. I feel that if a request or several have been made by a doctor and I am paying my premium that I should be able to get my MRI. I am not happy with this insurance and wasnt happy with the last one which was Ambetter by Superior.

4 years ago

star star star_border star_border star_border

W. Brooklyn, NY

I love their concierge staff and the staff at their Jay Street medical center in Brooklyn. I am very unhappy with their high rates and high deductibles at the same time. For that reason I will look for more affordable health insurance come this fall.

2 years ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We understand that keeping costs low is important to our members. Our plan design team is always looking for ways to bring reduced health care services to you. If you have any remaining questions, our team would be happy to help. Just send us a direct message with your Oscar ID number and any questions you have to get started.

Jun. 22nd, 2020

star star star_border star_border star_border

JP West Hollywood, CA

I don’t like how my costs skyrocket and my benefits shrunk to basically nothing unless I spend $7500 out of pocket. So it’s basically not helpful and only catastrophic insurance, not HEALTH insurance. Not thrilled at all.

2 years ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Hi JP, thank you for sharing your feedback with us. We understand that keeping costs low is important to our members. Our plan design team is always looking for ways to bring reduced health care services to you. Please let us know if there is anything we can do to further assist.

May. 22nd, 2020

star star star_border star_border star_border

Max Delaware, OH

The only way to view claims and deductible for my child is to call them. The information is not provided online....yuck! So far, I am not impressed at all. I have already paid the first premium so I will keep for the year, but I will not be keeping it next year.

2 years ago

star star star_border star_border star_border

Joel Spring Hill, TN

Their network of doctors and hospitals is very limited. There is a good chance you could be driving 30+ miles to visit a doctor. The information on their website is not correct. The list doctors as in network when they actually aren't, and they don't list all the doctors that are in network.

3 years ago

star star star_border star_border star_border

Nina Pacific Palisades, CA

Oscar Health is the WORST health insurance that I have ever had. My family and I purchased their Platinum and Gold EPO plans and had horrible customer service, non-existent and unbending Mental Health coverage, NO Dental, NO Vision and no-one but UCLA takes their insurance in CA. I would not recommend them to anyone.

3 years ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Hi Nina, we're sorry to hear you're frustrated. Oscar has a curated network of providers built around provider systems who, like us, are focused on keeping costs down for our members. We currently do not offer dental or vision for adults as part of our plans, and can work with members to find in-network psychiatrists if they're having trouble finding one on their own. We'd love to further address your concerns, so call us at 855-OSCAR-55 to be connected directly to your Concierge team.

Jan. 10th, 2019

star star star_border star_border star_border

Chris Brunner El Segundo, CA

We have had Oscar for 2 years. Our experience was pretty good, until they raised our plan from $1200 a mo to $1600 and it's going up again. Then, my daughter hurt her shoulder in volleyball and to see an physical therapist ( approved by doctor) has taken us more than a month. They are insane. Stay away and find another provider.

4 years ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Hi Chris, we’re sorry to hear you’re frustrated. Due to privacy laws, we're unable to discuss the specifics of your daughter's private health information here, but we're happy to address your general concerns. The rising cost of health care is an industry-wide issue. As the cost of doctors, hospitals, and drugs have increased, we have had to increase our premiums slightly. If you have questions about how to find the best care at the best price, reach out to your Concierge Team for support. Note that if a recommended provider is out of network, your team can work with your provider to update the prior authorization with an in network option. We've escalated your message to get this process started for you. If you'd like to speak directly to your Concierge Team don't hesitate to reach out at 855-OSCAR-55.

Nov. 29th, 2018

star star star_border star_border star_border

michael Los Angeles, CA

I called 5 docs listed on their site and none could see me for weeks if not months. I used a different UCLA doc assuming UCLA docs all accepted Oscar. Apparently not. Stuck with a $1000 bill now. Will be switching plans in the open enrollment window. Oscar is worthless.

6 years ago

star star star_border star_border star_border

Michelle Columbus, OH

I shared it in the survey. Doctors offices didn't want to take me as a patient because Oscar is so difficult to deal with . I was told that on more than one occasion. However, the OBGYN I ended up selecting I am happy with.

3 years ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Hi Michelle, we're so glad to hear you're happy with your OBGYN. Even so, we'd like to look into the providers you were having trouble with. Please don't hesitate to give us a call at 855-OSCAR-55 and our team will look into this for you.

May. 29th, 2019

star star star_border star_border star_border

B-dog San Antonio, TX

Most doctors, hospitals, and urgent care do not accept Oscar. I end up having to pay out of pocket and it does not count towards my ridiculously high deductible.

2 years ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Hi there, we are sorry for the frustration this experience has caused. Our team is consistently evaluating our partnerships with providers to ensure our members have access to care in all of our markets. We'd like to follow up and have sent you a direct message with more information.

May. 22nd, 2020

star star star_border star_border star_border

mike taranto Pataskala, OH

Getting help is futile. Long holds. Online staff not aware of the plan details. Was charged $40 for a drug on their $3 Rx list.

1 year ago

Oscar Logo

Reply from Oscar

Hi Mike, we apologize for the longer wait times you have experienced due to high call and message volume. Our team has followed up with you over private message so that we may assist further.

Jan. 12th, 2021

star star star_border star_border star_border

imboulos Orlando, FL

Oscar is an OK health insurance company. Wish they have more doctors in network and better customer service.

3 years ago

star star star_border star_border star_border

Darrell Round Rock, TX

They DO Not Pay for RX your Primary Doctor writes... fight and find a way out is their policy!!!

3 years ago