Vudu Logo
star star star star_half star_border

5.2

Overall Score

LAST UPDATED: September 10th, 2022

Vudu is an online movie and TV streaming service owned by Walmart and has been around for over ten years. Its main business stems from digital streaming, providing even more entertainment options to consumers. Vudu is compatible with a service called UltraViolet, a service for storing and accessing digital copies of DVDs. Vudu is an on-demand subscription-free video streaming service. 

Top Ranked Companies

Netflix Logo
#1 Netflix chevron_right
8.2 Overall Score
4.4
star star star star star_half
(1,827)
Amazon Prime Logo
#2 Amazon Prime chevron_right
7.8 Overall Score
4.3
star star star star star_half
(924)
YouTube Logo
#3 YouTube chevron_right
7.8 Overall Score
4.4
star star star star star_half
(828)
thumb_up

The Good

  • No Monthly Subscription
  • Free Content
  • Watch New Releases
  • Easily Save Your Movies Online
  • Watch From Anywhere

No Monthly Subscription

With Vudu, you only pay for what you watch. There are no subscriptions and no late fees. You can choose which movies to rent or buy and also have the option of buying TV series by the episode or by the season. This absence of a monthly subscription is attractive to those who only want to watch a few things and don't feel like they would get their money's worth out of a monthly subscription. 

Free Content

Vudu offers a library of free content that you can watch without an account. Some titles stay free, and others are swapped each week. These TV shows and films are supported by short ads throughout. However, the quality is good and the ads are minimal. All paid streaming through Vudu is ad free.

Watch New Releases

Vudu claims movies will be available the same day they are released on DVD. This is a huge advantage over Netflix, at which you have to wait 28 days after a movie is released before it's available. Vudu boasts a large media library of over 15,000 movies and 2,000 TV series. Movies are available to rent in standard definition (SD) and high definition (HD) options such as HDX and UHD. For some movie options, SD and HD are the same price, but for most the HD version is a dollar more. 

Easily Save Your Movies Online

Vudu is now compliant with UltraViolet, meaning any DVDs or Blu-ray discs cleared by studios for digital distribution can be uploaded to the cloud and watched through Vudu. This makes a digital copy of your movie that you can watch from anywhere and keep for forever. This service gives you an easy way to keep your collection of movies digitally without taking up storage space on your computer and without the fear that your DVDs or Blu-rays will get scratched or broken. When you buy a movie through Vudu, it gives you a digital copy.

Watch From Anywhere

You can access your digital movie collection from any screen or device with internet. Some of the places you can watch Vudu movies and shows include: smart TVs, internet-connected Blu-ray players, game consoles, streaming devices (like Apple TV, Roku, or Chromecast), Nvidia Shield, iOS and Android devices, as well as Windows 10 devices. Vudu also has a mobile app that receives high ratings in the app store. 

thumb_down

The Bad

  • Expensive Rental Prices
  • Charged Per Upload to UltraViolet

Expensive Rental Prices

Services like Netflix or HuluPlus cost only $7.99 per month for unlimited viewing while just one movie on Vudu could cost you $4.99, and a TV episode will run you a couple dollars. If you want to just watch one film, you can buy it from other websites. Vudu does not provide rental options for live TV like sports or news. 

Charged Per Upload to UltraViolet

As we mentioned before, you can upload any UltraViolet movies you've purchased to Vudu. However, Vudu will charge you for each movie that you upload (between $2-$5). 

gavel

The Bottom Line

If you are watching Vudu like you would use an unlimited streaming service like Netflix or Hulu, it will get pretty pricey. However, if you want to use vudu to purchase a few select movies or films, it could be a perfect video streaming option for you. Many only use Vudu for its free library of content.

With Vudu, you get access to a wide selection of movies and TV shows, and most important of all, you get them as fast as possible. There is no contract or subscription with Vudu, so if you don't like what you are getting, then you can stop and find another company to stream with. Overall, we recommend considering the top rated companies before making a final decision.

For more information, check out our Vudu reviews below from customers who have used the product. 

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Star Rating

3.5

star star star star_half star_border

165 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

44%

4 grade

19%

3 grade

5%

2 grade

2%

1 grade

28%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star_half star_border

Quality

star star star star_half star_border

Service

star star star star_half star_border

Trustworthiness

star star star star_half star_border
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
star star star star star

samantha coriell Valdosta, GA

I have my ups and downs at times with VUDU with the app being glitchy when updates are going on, but sometimes that can be expected and can't be helped even other major streaming service apps have had the occasional glitch when I have used them or certain content I've wanted to watch just didn't want to work. VUDU, however is wonderful if people would only give it a chance. My family loves watching movies and tv shows quite often, and the fact that we are able to purchase our favorites and watch them from anywhere is amazing. Especially, without having to worry about that the content is going to be taken down or replaced with something else like a normal streaming service. Also, being able to slowly use the disc to digital service and have most of our DVDs turned into digital copies for just a few dollars is really great. There are someone that unforatelty the disc to digital won't allow us to transfer to digital, but that has more to do with copyright and rights to those particular movies, and nothing to do with VUDU themselves. VUDU often has great weekly sales, and some great finds for older movies or even newer ones if you watch the sales and I often safe movies to a Wishlist and when it has a good sale price buy it to own. Love their service and hope they are around for a long time to come.

5 months ago

star star star star star

Bridget Walker Bay Saint Louis, MS

Vudu TV is the ultimate tv show and movie lovers streaming subscription. Its very affordable and has something for everyone in the family to watch. I love my Vudu Tv. It is money well spent because I can watch anything and everything my little heart desires.

3 months ago

star star star star star

PISSED OFF CUSTOMER Covington, VA

They are GREAT! They have a lot of the titles that I look for and they have a whole lot of movies and shows to watch for free!!

1 month ago

star star star star star

Fanisha Houston, TX

Love Vudu! Best free movies all around. Anything you can think of they have it. Movies period.

3 weeks ago

star star star star star

Kathryn Glendale, AZ

We have really enjoyed VUDU. It has allowed us to consolidate our movie collection that was in the cloud, all into one place. Add to that the ease of taking your collection with you when you travel with a ROKU stick and you are all set. To date, have only stayed at one resort where the whole tv was boxed in and there was no access to use a ROKU. Vudu allows us to watch our tv shows and movies wherever we are. When there have been any issues, they have been very available to try to remedy them. The only issue we have had is some of the coding of genres and I don't think that is VUDU. but the studios who originate the codes. For example the newer Cinderella should show up under Family & Kids but it doesn't. I just wish Disney would get on board again with their services and allow the disc to digital conversion. We have so many Disney movies that are not in the cloud that our grandchildren would enjoy. That being said, I refuse to pay full price twice for a Disney movie.

3 years ago

star star star star star

Aubrey Dallas, TX

There's a really great range of shows on vudu that you really can't find on other streaming services—especially for the prices vudu offers. I personally love it and it's a platform to give a try if you like watching t.v.

8 months ago

star star star star star

Jim Sarcia

Phenomenal streaming site. Has one of the largest UV libraries plus has several hundred movies that aren't ultraviolet compliant yet. Their disc to digital program is very affordable, plus when you convert over 10 movies the price gets cut in half. Customer service is great. Had an issue with Walmart saying they couldn't upload my movies to the site. Called vudu customer service and they told me every Walmart has the capability and to demand to talk to a manager. Did that and finally found someone who could help.

5 years ago

star star star star star

Robert Mott

They have great movies on Vudu, and the number of titles is endless. I love Horror movies and watch a different one every night. Love it!

5 months ago

star star star star star

Gia Regina Waco, TX

I really like Vudu. I found some older movies on there and it was great. Vudu also offers updated content as well. However, I do love the wide variety of programming.

6 months ago

star star star star star

Marci Randall Sandy, UT

I love having Vudu! I love that I could upload all my existing movies and have them at my fingertips on my phone and tablet at all times. It’s great!

8 months ago

star star star star star

Darbie Vos Lehi, UT

Movie nights are the best! I love the variety and the option to rent/own plus it works on multiple devices. When I have purchased through other methods before it doesn't work on all devices.

11 months ago

star star star star star

Alexander Johnson Burbank, CA

I love vudu. Plenty of great horror which is my fave. I wish the ads weren’t there but it’s pretty good stuff. Interface needs work but it’s a good cheap or free option if you’re bored of Netflix or hulu

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Kogan Powell West Valley City, UT

Vudu is genius. I've never really liked the monthly plan because I rarely watch movies, but this way you can just choose what you want when you want AND...for most movies, you don't have to re-buy it if you already have it...you can just enter the code.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Aidan Keogh Ogden, UT

Vudu is THE channel for streaming movies and TV series. Great if you want new releases early (before in DVD in stores) or want to find an obscure movie that you haven't seen in ages. They have a decent free selection of movies and good picks for monthly deals. I buy 2-3 movies a month from the site.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Zac Cannon Long Beach, MS

I have streamed and purchased movies from Vudu a few times. Being able to stream and save content on all digital devices is really easy. They have great deals sometimes and you can get great movies at a great low price; plus being able to stream on all devices makes it well worth it.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Tony Gibson American Fork, UT

I love Vudu. I am a movie fanatic so I always buy the dvd with the digital code so I can have my own collection online all the time. I love that I can get to my movies in a hotel room or anywhere else. It even allows me to add existing movies to the collection for a small fee. I will keep using it and adding to it.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Jaime American Fork, UT

I love being able to watch the movies I buy digital copies of from my device anytime I want. I especially love Vudu's connection with my Wal-Mart account, so anytime I buy a DVD that comes with a digital copy at Wal-Mart, it is automatically added to my Vudu account. It makes it so easy on my end! I love this service.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Ashley Pleasant Grove, UT

I enjoy using Vudu because it is extremely simple for me to use. I find the video content of my choice then I download it and then I have 24 hours to watch it. It is very simple and the selection of movies is high quality. When you sign up you get 3 rentals for 99 cents! Its awesome!

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Debbie Aston Alpine, UT

We have over 700 movies on vudu. We love vudu, it is very affordable and very user friendly. they have great customer service, my son bought some movies by accident and they took them off and refunded us the money no questions asked.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Dan Colton Gilbert, AZ

I love Vudu! I have a ton of DVDs/BluRays, and I am trying to migrate everything to the cloud. Vudu lets me purchase digital copies of many of the videos I already own for less than I would have to pay to buy the video again. It's a great service!

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Shayla Hankins Lehi, UT

Vudu is amazing for both renting/buying movies and tv shows but also getting a digital version of the discs you already own by just putting in a simple code. Once you put in the code you can watch all your movies anywhere and that is amazing.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Spencer Scoville American Fork, UT

It is so fun to carry around movies in your pocket! VUDU is so easy to navigate it took me a total of 15 seconds to understand how to use it. I enjoy being able to download movies I have purchased on DVD straight to my phone.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Abigail scoville American Fork, UT

I love having an app on my phone that I can easily download and watch movies. Unlike other competitors Vudu also has a free movie section that you can enjoy with just a select number of ads. I also really enjoy having vudu as my digital backup for DVDs I own.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Kristen Schow Pleasant Grove, UT

I have really enjoyed our membership with Voodoo! It allows me to share the movies with all of my kids and keep them in one place! And I love how they've integrated with Walmart also. Great service and I would highly recommend.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

wanda Saint George, UT

i like the selection they have and allows me to buy movies for my kids on there devices. movies start from where you left off which is great. i like the benefit of not having to remember to return it and get charged extra for late fees.

4 years ago

star star star star star

Brainsmasher Hamler, OH

Very large library of movies to watch for free. Great sales without leaving the house. Being able to download and watch anywhere on multiple devices is great.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Julie Taylor Ogden, UT

Good shows. It is a nice way to stream movies and stuff. Especially when I don't have a DVD or Blue ray player with me. I love Vudu and that I can take movies with me wherever I go.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

erin American Fork, UT

Digital storage of all my movies yes yes yes!! easily able to get all of movies is honestly the best thing!! i love having access to it all times it makes my life so much better.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Miles Strother American Fork, UT

I've only used Vudu for purchasing digital movies, and it's selection does not disappoint. Most movies are pretty cheap, and deals can be found online, making it a great source for owning online movies.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Tracy Womack Cedar City, UT

I LOVE THAT YOU HAVE FREE MOVIES ON VUDU! There's always good movies that other streaming services don't offer. It's also nice that I can download movies onto my phone and watch them while I'm offline.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Hailey Nilson Salt Lake City, UT

I bought a movie through Vudu that was very difficult to find. The billing process was simple, and movie turned out in a great quality. I would definitely buy from them again.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Shawn American Fork, UT

I have used Vudu mostly after purchasing a dvd or blue ray and the digital version is an option to download. It is sometimes a bit hard to down load, but appreciate being able to have it.

3 years ago

star star star star star

Jason Pyrah Willard, MO

Vudu is great! I can watch new releases on my home tv, no matter if I want to own them or just rent them. It's easy to search for the shows that I am looking for and I've never had a billing issue.

3 years ago

star star star star star

Randal hyde Springfield, MO

I like the ability to watch new and old movies on Vudu from my own home. It makes movie night easy and their prices are better than buying the movie from the store. It's easy to use and I would reccomend it to everyone.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Mali Orem, UT

we have a family account and we take turns buying movies we can watch over and over again, especially the kids who likes to watch the same movie over and over again. good quality picture. you can find good deals as well.

4 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Robin Orem, UT

i like that they have a variety of selections to choose from. picture quality is clear. my mother and sisters and i take turn buying movies and we have quite a selection already.

4 years ago

star star star star star

Brooklyn Bishop Smithfield, UT

Vudu is such a good streaming app! It’s so easy to navigate and everything downloads super fast. I would totally recommend!

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Audrey Mitchell Managua, MN

Vido is the best way to watch movies! They have movies on sale with good prices as well as an array of movies for a good price to either rent or purchase!

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Lily South Jordan, UT

Vudu has so many different movies it’s phenomena.There is so many different choices it’s crazy.Ilove using it for when isomer want tv show I just want a movie.

2 years ago

star star star star star

Zac Marx Brighton, CO

Vudu has been an excellent movie provider. Especially with T-mobile Tuesday deals, I enjoy getting cheap movies, and even free movies to watch and stream.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Cynthia Carman American Fork, UT

I love Vudu! We have been using it for 10 years now and it has never failed us! It is so easy to buy and watch movies, my family uses it on a daily basis.

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Lilly Logan, UT

I love vudu! It’s so nice to be able to put your movies that you buy as an actual dvd online. So then we have both the dvd and have it online. 10/10 love vudu!

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Isaac Kaysville, UT

We love Vudu! My parents have it and all of us kids can log into it and add our movies and use their movies as well. It’s a great way to share all of our movies.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Erika Thorn Riverton, UT

We buy many movies off of VUDU and I can’t complain. They run deals all the time which I really like. They download instantly and are ready to watch.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Oakley Rockwood Lehi, UT

I really like Vudu. I enjoy the amount of videos they have available and the ease of access. I can watch my movies anywhere and stay entertained when I need it.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Mary West Jordan, UT

Vudu has been a fantastic way to store all of our movies and access them easily! We haven't had any issues with their service so far. It's very user friendly and convenient.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Dylan Curtis Pleasant Grove, UT

We use it for the digital copies of our family movie vault so everyone can access the movies. It's handy because we can watch the movies on the iPad or the desktop.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Jess Root Gilbert, AZ

I love using Vudu to keep my digital video library. And with compatibility between platforms, it is even better. You can find deals on digital movies too.

4 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Jesse Rice Long Beach, MS

This is a good place to watch movies and you can buy movies from a store and put them on vudu and watch it on your phone

2 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Sage Robertson Cedar City, UT

Vudu is great! I love being able to watch my favorite movies everywhere and anywhere. Vudu is the most convenient streaming service.

3 years ago