Best Company Guarantee Spectrum Logo

Spectrum

star star star star_half star_border

7.2

Overall Score

error This company may not service all states.
See states serviced
LAST UPDATED: February 28th, 2024

Spectrum has been operating since 1993 and is a household name in the United States. The company, which recently merged with Time Warner Cable and Bright House Networks, serves more than six million people, making it the fourth largest cable company and one of the largest internet providers in the country. 

Spectrum provides internet speeds up to 60 Mbps with no data caps. Its internet service requires a one-year contract.

View Spectrum Reviews

Spectrum offers services in a huge span of the country, especially compared to other internet service providers. 

Spectrum has been able to grow rapidly in just a few decades, attributing this success in part to its customer service commitment. That commitment involves a fast broadband network and all the tools necessary to meet internet connection needs. 

The Spectrum team is willing to help their customers in any way they can to have a positive experience with their company. They offer cable and fiber-optic internet plans.

thumb_up

The Good

  • No Data Caps
  • Short Wait Window
  • Spectrum Enterprise
  • Bundling Options
  • No Hidden Fees

No Data Caps

Spectrum internet doesn't limit its customers with data caps. A lot of competitors have data limits, and when customers go over these limits they pay fees or their services are disrupted. It's a convenience worth looking into, and this feature alone may be what steers you to Spectrum.

Short Wait Window

The Spectrum internet team knows losing internet service can mean losing time and money. At some point, you'll probably need a technician to come to your home or business to work on network equipment. 

Many companies who send out technicians leave the time window wide open and make the customer wait for hours for the technician. Thankfully, Spectrum is different. They set a two hour window that the technician will be there. If the technician does not make the allotted time, Spectrum will pay the customer $20.

They also have a 30-day money-back guarantee their customers can take advantage of if they are not satisfied with their service or the products they receive.

Spectrum Enterprise

Spectrum offers fiber-optic business internet for companies who want a fast connection for phone, internet, and TV service. Spectrum Enterprise also delivers cloud services for their business customers.

Bundling Options

While Spectrum may not have a variety of standalone internet packages, they do have several options that can help you bundle internet, phone service, and cable channels:

  • Spectrum Double Play — $89.98 per month, 125+ channels and 100 Mbps
    • Silver — $109.98 per month, 175+ channels and 100 Mbps
    • Gold — $129.98 per month, 200+ channels and 100 Mbps
  • Spectrum Internet & Phone — $64.98 per month, unlimited calling and 100 Mbps
  • Spectrum Triple Play Select — $99.97 per month, 125+ channels, unlimited calling, and 100 Mbps
    • Triple Play Silver — $119.97 per month, 175+ channels, unlimited calling, and 100 Mbps
    • Triple Play Gold — $139.97 per month, 200+ channels, unlimited calling, and 100 Mbps

No Hidden Fees

While Spectrum does charge a fee to lease a router and another fee for installation, the company is more transparent than some service providers in the industry. Be sure to read contract terms thoroughly and take time to understand billing, your monthly rate, and whether you'll pay more after a certain duration of service.

thumb_down

The Bad

  • Limited Internet-Only Packages Available
  • Highest Download Speed is 60 Mbps

Limited Internet-Only Packages Available

Most internet service providers try to meet various audience needs by offering many different plans and bundles. These packages usually have a large selection of internet speeds (download and upload speeds), features, and prices to choose from. With all of these options, you're more likely to find the best fit for your specific internet and pricing needs. This is not the case with Spectrum internet, as they only offer their customers one package:

  • Spectrum Internet: 60 Mbps for $44.99 per month

If you're only looking for internet and this package doesn't impress you, you'll need to choose another ISP.

However, you may be interested in Spectrum's internet and cable TV bundling options.

Highest Download Speed is 60 Mbps

Spectrum offers an internet speed of 60 Mbps. Some competitors offer high-speed internet up to 1 Gbps for slightly higher prices. Potential customers will have to decide what speed they need and if Spectrum internet service is capable of delivering these needs.

gavel

The Bottom Line

Overall, Spectrum Internet is a good choice for those customers who are looking for relatively quick speeds in their internet network. The package it offers would work best for those customers who know exactly what they are looking for and do not need a lot of variety.

View Best Internet Service Companies

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

We'll Introduce You!

Call our recommended rep over at Spectrum below.

1-(844) 784-2149
bestcompany guarantee

Best Company guarantees your satisfaction if you choose a company that has earned this distinction. If you're not satisfied after 30 days, simply let us know and we'll give you $200. Yes, it's really that simple.

Learn More About Our Guarantee

Star Rating

info

3.7

star star star star_half star_border

1,205 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

31%

4 grade

25%

3 grade

21%

2 grade

9%

1 grade

14%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star_border star_border

Quality

star star star star_half star_border

Service

star star star star_half star_border

Trustworthiness

star star star star_half star_border
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Amanda Joensen Bradenton, FL

Moving SCAM! watch out!! I had been a loyal customer of spectrum for years and then I had to move. I called spectrum and told them I moved November 2023, then I asked if there was anyway i could keep my account because I liked them so much, but I would not move to my new address until sometime the following year 2024 and I did not know when. The representative I spoke to said 'sure you can go on seasonal hold for 4 something a month'. I agreed to do it. she neglected to tell me that I would have to pay for the month of november - regular bill of over $70 - even though I was not and had not used the service before the seasonal hold kicked in. ok so thats not even the worse part. I got calls from spectrum about my bill and I was informed that my about the neglect and i paid willingly. I explained AGAIN that I had moved from the address and was on seasonal hold. They told me it was fine and I would only have to pay $4 something from then on. THEN January 2024 I start getting multiple calls from spectrum again. The representatives said I had to close my account because someone was moving into my old place. I said 'but I am paying seasonal hold, and I told spectrum I moved in November'. They said it did not matter and I HAD TO CLOSE MY ACCOUNT. THEN they told me in order to do so they would put me on hold to speak to multiple representatives on phone - billing, accounting etc - to close my account. But I said ' you called me. find a solution and then call me back. I cant be staying on the phone talking to multiple people for hours because a mistake spectrum did'. THEN THATS when the HARASSEMENT started. I got multiple calls a day for 3 days straight with different representatives telling to call spectrum to close my account. Finally I told one representative that spectrum needs to pay me back the months I had on hold first if they sold me on the idea i could keep my account when I specifically told them I moved and would not know when or where yet. Then not only were they all extremely rude and unsympathetic to my situation, even laughed at the fact I said I needed to write a review and warn people, but blamed the last representative for neglecting to telling me that seasonal hold is not for people who have moved out AND they have no record of me EVER saying I moved!!! What!?!?!? I thought this was recorded lines? so i ended up being on the phone January 13th for over an hour trying to close my account because no one would help. spoke to 5 representative and the last said YOU CANT CLOSE YOUR ACCOUNT because your on seasonal hold. what is going on?? Eventually someone was able to call their manager and tell them to close my account. nightmare over... or was it? YOU WONT BELIEVE WHAT HAPPENED NEXT. I continued to get - THAT SAME DAY I was told my account was closed by a MANAGER - MULTIPLE to calls from spectrum representatives saying to close my account. For the record thats today. Literally just got another call while writing this. Now i dont know what to do. I just keep getting harassed by spectrum representatives and probably will continue getting charged by them. what a scam!! and what a nightmare!! beware

1 month ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

carrie sargent San Antonio, TX

I'm totally unhappy with their service because they want to offer lower prices and charge your credit card and refuse to give paper notices. Never again will I sing up. It's not cheaper if you're getting charged interest on a card...wake up people.

1 month ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

O Sadek Lillington, NC

Horrible and rude customer service!! They keep increasing your monthly bill and when you call to talk to customer support, they make you feel like you’re not welcome with us anymore and you can cut your service with us now. No matter how long you have been with them.

2 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Steve H Ferris, TX

Was told I would have service, then had appointment canceled without notification. Called and was then told that even though my address shows as Spectrum that I would need a construction survey. Waited, waited, finally received a call from world class jerk that told me nothing of substance. Only that it's part if a larger project that hasn't been approved by spectrum and there is nothing I can do to get their service. I have always wanted spectrum but feel as though I dodged a bullet by not getting it because of the way I have been talked down to and gave the run around. I won't be bothering you guys again, you can bet on that.

4 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

christina Flesch Barre, VT

Worse provider. Services are extremely unreliable and they do not maintain lines. Be prepared to spend most of the time without internet and charge ridiculous prices for service that barely works!

2 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Greg Buttner

Customer service is not allowing me to disconnect until I tell them why I want to disconnect the service. They are trying to get me to agree to a temporally cheaper plan. I keep telling them I have switched and am filling out surveys while on hold.

3 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Keith Parks Sparks, NV

Absolutely terrible, the internet is slow and almost everyday I have to restart the the router and modem until my home devices connect. I call the isp and they say everytime well everything on our end looks good, they send someone and charge $100 for them to come take a look nothing seems to be the problem. But nothing ever stays connected and even my pc is hardwired to the damn thing, there's no service. The only thing they offer is to increase my speeds for another $20-$30. Not only that they're charging me up the wall with the internet and yet offering the same services at lower prices and I can't change my services to the cost of what they're offering. I want to change but no one is offering the same speeds in my area.

7 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Anonymousbuster

Restocking fee fraud. Sold me a phone over phone call as part of internet bundle. The cost, service and phone was not as advertised. Upon return charged a restocking fee which was not informed at time of purchase. Promised to waive the fee but didn't honor the promise. Abusive, unethical and worst customer service

4 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Lisa Boglin Beaumont, TX

In a nutshell, and to put it quite simply, Spectrum is terrible. For the past 3 weeks , my internet has gone down every night for 2 -5 hours per night. During a few of those nights, my service was down twice in one night. It makes things hard for me because I work remotely. Their customer service is horrible and rude. I live in an apartment complex that requires us to use only spectrum. Otherwise, I would not be complaining, I would have just dumped them. The one star that I gave them was being generous. I wish that I could have given zero stars, because that is truly what I believe that they deserve.😡

9 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Megan Columbia, SC

I have internet outages approximately once every two weeks for about 5 hours. About three months ago, I had an outage for two days. As I am in medical school, this disrupts my study schedule. When I called customer service, they said they refunded me for the one day without service (which is probably like 1 dollar). Gee, thanks for that...... I have consistently used all my data for the month during these outages. I finally got so fed up with it the service outages that I switched providers and asked to be refunded for the weeks of service that I did not use. They don't even have the decency to do that. They clearly do not care at all about providing their customers with "reliable" service or ensuring customer satisfaction.

9 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Barry Borgerson Wake Forest, NC

Internet and cable TV were out many times in June 2023. I could not conduct an important webinar for 20 people. After an hour in a chat session with 2 people, they gave me a minimal reduction on bill for month and would not provide me an email address where I could file a formal complaint. Very dissatisfied!

8 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Kenya Moody Los Angeles, CA

This is the 3rd time I’ve ran into trouble with this business. I ask for a change in address for my service. The customer service agent give me an entirely new customer account, nothing transferred more additional cost and wrong service given. I now have two accounts. I specifically asked for internet. I was give internet plus $20 of streaming channels. I didn’t find this out since already went into the store and ask for just internet and the bill amount was given to me so I didn’t think much of it until my bill got increasingly higher (a year later). I call to see what’s going on and charter tells me it was added at their store then they said wait, you added it. Once I move from this apartment. My business is done with these people

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

samarah v thorpe Brooklyn, NY

i have been with this company for more than 3years, so i have a multitude of knowledge about their programs. pros and cons. cons- the website to check your account information is confusing and doesn't reflect accurate updates. they continuously upsell, they dont give you the best deals for your neighborhood (you can have promotions in your area for 14.99 or 19.99, even if the 14.99 has better speeds they will push for 19.99), they have blatantly lied about deals to the detriment of the consumer (was told if i tried a TV program i would have better internet for the same price after i cancel within 7 days , that was a lie, i went from paying 20 to 151) . plus, no reprimands for Judy and supervisor Joy for lying and giving no information about fixing the problem. pros- free modem, decent prices (but you have to fight for it), good internet with ethernet cable

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Jackson Chambers Raleigh, NC

Unreliable. Horrific experience trying to get it disconnected. We were misguided by a rep on the disconnection process, and they continued to charge our account while we had no equipment and zero usage. Called service and supervisors multiple times but they never could work in any capacity on our behalf.They also tacked on Spectrum TV which we never have used or applied for in the 2.5 years we had internet, and the supervisor showed little concern.They will not pull phone calls as they say they will. Do not use this service. Avoid like the plague if you can. Paid $182 to get them to stop calling me or send us to collections unjustly.

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

MELISSA RITCHIE Covington, GA

DO NOT SIGN UP FOR CHARTER SPECTRUM. I signed up last year for a 24 month promotion and 1 week after signing up a sales rep called to ask my husband to try out video service. My husband said he didn't want it and they added it anyway and then charged us for it. After going back n forth, the service was finally removed. Now they're saying that because that service was added and then removed it took away our 24 month promotion we originally signed up for. The internet continuously goes down for maintenance which, causes me to lose hours and money from work and my kids also lose hours from their virtual learning because of the horrible service we get in the Covington GA area. I turned down several companies that offered internet service in my area, but definitely will be looking for another company for internet service. Totally disappointed in the service and the increase in my bill because of a change that was made by them and not us. DO NOT GET CHARTER FOR SERVICE..

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Jay Clemmons Cottontown, TN

Spectrum’s business model from start to close has been one misrepresentation and non-disclosure after another. The original equipment was returned to a Spectrum Corporate store and the account closed on the 3rd of January 2020. The representative was asked at the time of cancellation for any outstanding balance so that it would be settled; the representative stated the account was closed and gave a receipt for $0.00 outstanding balance. Three months later Spectrum is threatening to place an outstanding balance in the credit bureau though not having presented any outstanding balance before this time. When asked about the receipt showing a zero balance, literally stated no balance remaining, the response from two representatives and two supervisors was that the representative at their corporate store would not know if there was any outstanding bill and this was not their concern. In addition to the aforementioned, the monthly bill was 24% higher to additional fees associated with the service NOT disclosed, but added AFTER the contract was signed. By effectively threatening credit worthiness, this company extorted and extra month of billing, charged late charges and additional fees making them more than 125% higher than ATT and all other competitors in the Louisville area. If ever Caveat Emptor (Buyer Beware) had a living example, it would be in dealings with this organization. One star shows because you cannot post with a 0 or negative rating but this is the ONLY area where they truly exceeded market standard…in their malfeasance, misrepresentation and apathetic caviler concern for consumer confidence.

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

J in LA Long Beach, CA

Spectrum in Southern California is the WORST. As one of their 25 million cable and internet customers for nearly two years, the internet speed varied more radically than the stock market. Upload speeds were virtually non-existent. (They only advertise the number which is their download speed, 200 MBPS, when our average speed was about ten percent of that.) Customer service was horrid, both in person and by phone. When we received notice they were hiking our bill 60 dollars per month the first of 2020 (GREED at its worst by a mega-company), we decided to cancel and move to Frontier and cut the cable. Our bill is now 80 dollars less per month including HULU LIVE (which provides all the channels we would normally watch) and NETFLIX. With Frontier, we receive a SOLID 500 MBPS speed both download and upload. As icing on the cake, after returning all the equipment and boxes to Spectrum, and after being told there would be no more fees, we were just charged the 200 dollars on our credit card and informed by phone that our billing cycle began two days prior to our canceling and they DO NOT PRO-RATE service fees (a policy I was told was in the fine print on ONE (yes, just ONE) bill sent last April. That policy should be on EVERY bill. GREED AT ITS WORST AGAIN. Frankly, if I hadn't had the option to move to Frontier (many communities sadly have no options), I'd be ready to simply watch "TV" on a phone or iPad app and use mobile data just to remind companies like Spectrum that we DO have a choice! It's already ridiculous to pay such exorbitant rates to watch programming WITH commercials. Streaming WITHOUT ADS AND WITHOUT GREEDY INTERNET providers is the future, as the younger no-cable generation already demonstrates. If I had stock in Spectrum, I'd be selling it immediately, as that company is in for a major fall. All of these ratings offered begin at one star. They should begin at MINUS five stars, which is where I would rate them.

4 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

James Flowery Branch, GA

Everything was fine until I moved. Internet at the new place comes and goes at least 5 to 10 times a day for long periods of times. Apparently my old equipment was still matching my old address. I have asked previous techs to change my equipment and they are too lazy they said everything was fine. Last tech didn't know what to do so decided to change my equipment. Well that didn't do anything. The same day right after he left I had no internet. I thought only Comcast had unknowledgeable technicians but Spectrum techs are the same. About 4 technicians have come to my house in the past 2 months and still haven't figured out what's going on. They have my account monitored so they know for a fact the times I have gone without internet. Getting in touch with a technician is about 20 to 40 min. It is VERY FRUSTRATING just thinking about giving them a call. Have lied to me multiple times about giving me credit and sending a supervisor technician and that has not happened. If you call to get your service disconnected hold is for 40 plus minutes. But anything else will get you a representative in 15 to 20 minutes. That's still a long time. Bill for both internet and cable is now at 160 and keeps going up. They keep saying I have high speed internet but that is also not true. Don't have a problem with Cable that's why I give them 1 star.

4 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Rachel Valders, WI

I have just gotten Spectrum installed. I am happy with the internet speeds. Everything works great, however, I am very disappointed with the install. My appointment was for noon and my installer arrived at 2:00. The home that this was being installed in was never equipped for internet. The installer ran new coax which was nice because I got to put the router where I wanted. Today I looked outside and saw a orange cord running from the utility box across my yard. I was very puzzled by this. My installer never mentioned this. Now I am wondering how I am supposed to get this cord covered so that I can cut my grass. It is also on my neighbors yard. Where I live the ground does freeze, however, it is not frozen at this time.... Very upset.

4 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Amy West Columbia, SC

How to sum up this company in one word is trash. We have just reactivated with the company and when talking to customer service about why the internet was inactive when we just received the router was them saying that our whole house was inactive... Which makes no sense when we just had internet before changing it when we suggested to move to a different outlet the lady then said "no that won't work I told you that the house is in active, sometimes technichines turn off the outlet when canceling and you have to have one" which then we set up an appointment for no reason because after hanging up we switch outlets the internet WORKS! So we called back to cancel the appointment and ask why we were told that our whole house is inactive when we have internet. The manager then said "yeah she wasn't suppose to say that we can't even see if your house is inactive the only way to see is to try multiply outlets" which she told us was pointless please explain your customer service skills like you just trying to get extra money and waste our time? Honestly, most distrust worthy company I have EVER met I'm about to start my own company which will actually have a good product and decent customer service skills, DO BETTER

4 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Cin Winter Park, FL

By far this is the worst TV/Internet company that I have had the displeasure of dealing with. I recently moved and unfortunately for me, this company is the only company that provides services to my area. I used this company a few years ago and switched to Uverse because my internet connection was horrible and everything was overpriced. When I made the initial switch to Uverse, I had a technician come to my home to pick up the equipment. Fast Forward to this past month when I had to use this company again I was informed that I never turned in the equipment and the charged me for it. I was also notified that I could not get service until that was paid. So I paid it. Thirty minutes later, I received a call stating that they found the equipment. I recently received a bill for services that I did not sign up for and when I called, no one could find any notes on my initial phone call.

4 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Cincinnati Sawyer Cropseyville, NY

We have had Spectrum for a little over a month now. A few days ago, our internet cut out. After two days, we decided to call. We live at an apartment complex, so the neighbors and I obviously live under the same address, but with different apartment numbers. Well, Spectrum did not seem to understand the concept of this. My neighbor canceled her service with them, which in turn canceled ours! And when we tried to turn it back on, we were given the run around for THREE DAYS. I was told they would not reactivate our account unless my neighbor called to activate it. That never made sense to me, because why does she all of a sudden have authority on our account? So, she called, and sure enough they told her that WE had to call them to fix it because it was OUR account. Next day, they tell me I owe over $100 which made no sense, seems I had only had them for over a month and had already made my two payments. After being on hold for an hour, they told me I had to go to my nearest Spectrum store with my lease to prove that I was who I was, and that I live where I do. Luckily, Daniel at the Spectrum store was our saving grace. I'm most likely going to be switching providers, because I'm not paying a company that is so ridiculous and unprofessional.

4 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Cassie Columbus, OH

I just received a letter in the mail that Spectrum will be increasing my bill from 49.99 (which has been the rate that I have paid for the past 3 years) to 69.99 starting next month as it was only a 12 month promotional plan (still unsure how I had it for 3 years if it was only a 12 month plan). On top of that they are issuing a yearly rate increase that takes effect in September of $5. So moving forward my new bill will be $74.99. I called to dispute the bill and was spoke to in the most condescending tone. I wasn't thrilled with the increase but their customer service is what has piloted my interest in other providers.

4 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Zhicheng Deng Austin, TX

I had a prepaid internet service with Spectrum for several years until August 20th when I didn't catch up with my bill payment. The company practiced what they call a "soft disconnect" on August 20th and I haven't had any internet service on my account since then. On September 10th, I logged onto Spectrum's website to view my account, made a phone call to verify the past due amount of $157.13 for the last billing cycle, and cleared it with a payment using my debit card. The representative on the phone closed my account per my request, but I saw there was still a balance of $83.04 due on September 18th on my deactivated account, for the billing cycle from August 29th to September 28th. I thought this charge was unfair and unreasonable, so I spoke to three different representatives through the chat platform on Spectrum's website, yet they repeated the same narrative, saying this was due to a new policy enacted on June 23rd that I was never informed of. I fail to comprehend why I have to pay for something I have never used since the service date for this payment started. There has been no data flow on my Spectrum internet service since August 20th, yet I'm having to pay for a bill for the period that starts 9 days later and ends on the end of September.

4 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Dakota Austin, TX

DO NOT USE SPECTRUM Last December I discussed with an agent a reduction request for my bill. We settled on a price and I thought everything had been taken care of. Come to find out it wasn't taken care of. My service had been upgraded. Apparently it was upgraded through my remote (which I would not have done.) For 3 months I was owing more than I was paying. I didn't know this until I received a call from Spectrum saying that my bill was past due. I spoke with a representative who assured me that this was an error on their end, who apologized for the mistake, and assured me that it would be taken care of once they had a supervisors approval. I left it alone for a few months thinking everything was taken care of. It wasn't. Come to find out I now owe more in late fees than I did for the actual bill. A Total of 99.03. I am not going to be paying for this and I am ready to cancel my services with Spectrum. I can't believe I am having to deal with this. I called months ago to have it resolved for a mistake that I didn't make and now Spectrum is trying to tell me that they can't fix it because it is more than 30 days away from when the service was upgraded. They made a mistake, promised to fix it, didn't fix it, and now I am suffering for it.

4 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Alison Mira Loma, CA

Spectrum is quite honestly the worst company I have ever done business. Aside from their prices changing every 12 months and skyrocketing by 50% increase but their customer service is despicable. I called 5/15/19 to downgrade but the service rep was extremely unhelpful, when I asked for a survey or a way to provide feedback they said there was no way to provide any feedback, I asked to speak to a supervisor they put me on hold for 15 minutes and hung up on me. Again 5/17/19 I called to downgrade my services and was confirmed that the change would be effective immediately. I then got 6 missed calls and voicemails per day for a week while I was unable to answer at work, when I finally got a chance to call back I was told there was no issue and I can disregard the voicemails. Well the downgrade I requested NEVER was changed on my end. I called back to finally cancel my account because of the awful customer service and awful internet speed (I was paying for the 400mg and was getting 80 on the spectrum speed test) and after being on hold for 45 mins I was told there was a pending change on my account and I can’t cancel!!!!!!!! They said someone would call me within 2 days, they would not tell me when nor who. I called back today after not berating anything 5 days later and I was told it was still being processed and would take an additional 8 business days!!! I am not getting past due emails saying they are going to file it with the credit bureaus for non payment!!! SPECTRUM SERVICES ARE NOT WORTH THE MONEY AND THE CUSTOMER SERVICE IS ATROCIOUS!!!! DO NOT EVER DO BUSINESS WITH THIS COMPANY!!!! And I work in a customer care call center so I understand the hardships they deal with but the service level I was provided was honestly disgusting for a company trying to change me $180 for internet and 10 Cable channels. Disgusting.

4 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Michelle Derry Altamont, NY

Yet another form of discrimination against families who live in rural areas? Spectrum committed to extending their services to NYS rural areas. When will they fulfill their agreement? It is the year of 2019 and Spectrum continues to say they will not service my area. Our children of school age need highspeed internet, our farmers, professionals who work out of their home, small bussiness owners etc. Personally, my career is dependent upon reliable internet services. Do I move from my home of 35 years or lose my job? What a disgraceful decision to have to make. Many companies are moving toward employees working remotely. Why won’t Spectrum help secure jobs for professionals working remotely or have small businesses from their homes? Is it because there are not enough customers in the rural areas, hence MONEY TO BE MADE? A formal complaint has been filed with Spectrum and the Attorney General. I pray this gets the necessary attention to escalate and resolve this dispute timely!

4 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Regina L. Lee Lancaster, TX

y experience was horrible. As a very upset new customer to the Spectrum family. My service was installed Wednesday April 3rd, or so I thought. The technician did not remove any of the ATT hardware and seemed liked he would have rather been anywhere else. However, he hooked up the cable and the modem and when I asked about my smart home features he said everything was working. That is until I realized the system was still plugged up and hard wired into the ATT products. Once I unplugged the ATT equipment, the WiFi and the internet stopped working. I immediately called customer service but even with their help they felt I needed another technician to come out but were not available until Monday. The next technician came out and I was not there but left my sister who lives there. Once I got home, she stated this technician said the 1st technician left some components out but he fixed them. But when I looked at my smart thermostat it would not even come on, plus the doorbell camera was still not able to use the WiFi. Again I called customer support who told me they should not have given me that modem because my WiFi was not able to reach my front door. In addition, upon checking my download and upload speeds they were 28.7 and 2.8 respectively. The agent apologized and set up another appointment for Wednesday but said they may call if they have availability for Tuesday. Tuesday I received a call from Spectrum and they set up an appointment for that day. Alvin was the technician who showed up and he was awesome! He said they never disconnected the ATT service from outside and that he would hard wire me because with that modem, I would need that to maximize the WiFi. He ensured everything was done correctly and working properly. Only he doesn't normally work in my area and could not find the upgrade for the modem and router. Last but not least, Leland showed up Thursday to change the modem and router. He also was awesome, but the persons he called into were not as good. It took him a minimal amount of time to change everything out, but an eternity just for them to remove the old equipment and add the new equipment. Then it was working and the agent refreshed and again everything stopped. A side note is the 1st and 2nd technicians supervisors called to ask about the service. They apologized and said this information would help them to have teaching moments. I also spoke with customer service and emailed this to a manager with no input except a $17 dollar credit to an almost doubled bill that had a 50 dollar service charge for the correct modem. I should have stayed with AT&T. Straight crap. I will not be staying with them for long. Horrible customer service!!!!

4 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Jean Engstrand Traverse City, MI

I have a Charter (Spectrum) account that can only compete with my 1993 dial-up connection. The internet speed is adequate for TV and voice, but the Spectrum website is as slow as molasses. When I try to access my account, it takes at least a minute (or more) to even load the home page. When I enter my user name and password (which should not be necessary), loading emails takes from 2 to 3 minutes. Deleting emails is so slow that the computer sometimes goes into sleep mode before it is finished. My other option is to spend the time accessing and reading dozens of other websites while waiting for my Spectrum email to delete a few messages. And often I come back to my email page only to find out that the deleted emails are still there. Today, I was trying to send an email to a company I had purchased a product from online and when I pressed the enter key, Spectrum not only deleted my message, it also deleted the previous order information I needed to communicate with that company. For a company whose bread-butter is operating a digital online service, you have failed in your mission . I can only hope there will be a competing service in my area soon, and they will likely put you out of business.

4 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Brian Jasper, AL

Caution! Incompetent and misleading company. Switched to spectrum mobile because I was told that I could retain my current phone with service to spectrum. I asked this question specifically, twice. Agreed to keep my phone and order a new phone for my wife. Upon arrival of new phone I realized I had not been sent a new sim card for my phone. Called Spectrum and a different agent informed me that my phone would not work, had to order a new one. Immediately returned the phone and was credited with a portion of my initial payment. Called Spectrum requesting a full refund since misrepresentation on their part was only reason I agreed to switch. Was told on two different phone calls this would happen. Never did! Upon third call I was finally put with a supervisor named Chris. Kept me on line asking several questions repeatedly. Was told he had to charge me the restocking fee. Offered to put me with another department but at this point I've grown tired of the endless conversations. Not worth the trouble. I've been with Spectrum over 20 years and they could care less how they treat customers. As soon as a viable alternative for internet becomes available, like so many others, I'll be dumping Spectrum! Worst customer service I've ever experienced.

5 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Don Suffolk, VA

I've called them 5 times today (04 feb 19) about an appointment I set last Monday. They were supposed to be here today at 4-5 pm never showed up and I never got a call that's when the headache started. They put in a ticket for dispatch to call me and they never called, so I called back this time it was an email so it would be expedited still no call back. I called again and they set an appointment for tomorrow the 5th of Feb 2019 for 2-3pm I get an automated call and it says for Thursday the 7th of feb 2019 from 2-3 so I call back and oh yeah every time I called I was on hold for at least 15minutes. Then while I'm waiting for someone to pickup dispatch calls (3hours) later and says there's no way they can change it from Thursday a whole 10days and I still don't have my internet. Terrible service and the dispatcher had the nerve to have attitude on the the phone. Worst service I've ever had. This is how y'all treat someone who's just came back from overseas wow.

5 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

William S. New Port Richey, FL

If I could give them zero stars I would have! After reading some of the other reviews I’m somewhat confused. Are they dealing with the same company I am? Different states perhaps? Plus side: Internet has been just fine. Negative: Cable channels constantly freezing up and worse support, customer service I have EVER dealt with. EVER! They are short, rude and simply just don’t care if you are satisfied or not. Supervisor was no better. I was told outright that if I wasn’t happy with their service I could take my business elsewhere. That’s their idea of customer service? Yes, it is. If you have any other providers available in your area choose ANYONE ELSE!! ANYONE!! I live in rural Florida and not many choices available unless you want a dish (dish tv, direct tv) and appears they are well aware of that fact. Choose any other provider!! Spectrum, to be blunt, absolutely sucks.

5 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Maynard Mangan Charlotte, NC

Spectrum, formerly TWC offered a service for Gigabit with an installation fee of 199.00. They had stated that the cost of the installation fee to put in my house was for the Fiber that had to be pulled for the Gigabit service. Ordered on 19th of Jan and they installed on the 28th of Jan. Service tech came and installed a new cable modem and that was it, not pulling of or installing Fiber as was stated for the fee. Called later that night of 28th and told them of what happened and that there was no installation of Fiber as was stated and that it was just the install of a cable modem. Customer service person , Jamie stated that they had a promotion on Jan 23rd to waive installation and that she put it in to have the installation waived for me. Received bill on 10th of Feb to find that the installation was not waived. Called "Customer Support" and they said that the waive was denied by leadership team. Asked to speak to leadership and spoke to Brian. He stated they denied because I agreed to the installation fee at the time before they had the promotional installation waive and that even though the installation was done after the start of promotional waive, it was not going to be honored. Very poor customer service from "leadership team" not even willing to work with a long standing customer from legacy. Not the most professional way to keep customers with their bait and switch tactic. They knew they were gonna have the promotion even when I ordered, but did not tell me so they can bring up the "you agreed to the installation charge". Do not trust Spectrum and if you are customer currently go somewhere else.

6 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Dianne Anderson Cameron, NC

NIGHTMARE IN MILTON NC My sister decided to get Charter for her ISP after searching the net all week. Charter came out Friday (May 8, 2015) and installed their wireless internet service. The Charter tech that came out alone was very young she told me and had a hard time getting internet to work. After he made some changes on her new laptop he said, "At least you got internet." And my sister said she didn't know why he made a strange statement like that. Mind you, she never had any internet service at home. She always went to McDonald's restaurant to use her laptop without any issues. Well after the Charter technician left and she tried using the web her computer was bum bared with adwares, unpermitted downloads and many Trojans!!! Of course, she panicked and didn't know to do. I helped her clean all the crap off after installing a wonderful anti virus software. We went through all her laptop settings to make sure Firewall & IE Options were set securely. Everything was working great....until she got back home and hooked Charter ISP up again to go online and here they again: adwares, popup ads, etc. She called Charter & told customer service rep what is happening and the woman told her that their tech forgot to setup an online security software and told my sister to call HP to help her get rid of the junk that keeps bum baring her laptop. I told her this is NOT an HP laptop problem, this is a Charter ISP sorry equipment problem. My ISP is CenturyLink and I have never had a problem like that-never!!!! This is a feedback to Chapter CEO and a warning to anyone thinking about choosing this company for your internet service provider. Chapter needs to get up off their butts, if the company has any integrity and send a skilled tech out to fix this problem or cancel the services if they can't get it fixed right asap!

8 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Chris Gussenhoven TN

High Prices and Low Performance. Been their customer for years for Cable, Phone and Internet. Have never been satisfied with any of the Services. And now I just can't Afford it anymore.

6 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Laconia Byron Pleasant Grove, AL

Service is only great during the promotional time, after that the amount you pay for service and the service is constantly going out. Plus, they never reimburse you for those multiple continued service outages.

5 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Rebecca Kelly Darlington, SC

Worst company for spectrum business class. When spectrum goes down, we lose phone and internet and are basically dead in the water until it gets resolved. It has costs our company lots of revenue because we are unable to do anything - estimates, invoices, payments...NOTHING

6 months ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Mark Cave

I had Spectrum internet service and Spectrum TV for over 3 years. Their service in the St. Cloud, FL area is just mediocre. Download speeds are never over 100 megabits and the Spectrum TV app crashes frequently. I switched to T-Mobile home internet and I am very happy with the service.

7 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

pamela Bloem New Concord, KY

JUST WHAT I THOUGHT, I DIDN'T GET A FULL REFUND, I WAS SUPPOSED TO GET $206.17 ONLY RECEIVED $69,62!!!! THEY ALL WERE LIKE NEW, AND ONE PHONE WAS NEW, I WAS SUPPOSED TO HAVE ONLY 2 PHONES AND THEY SENT 3!!!!!!!! I FULFILLED MY PART, but SPECTRUM DIDN'T, BUT I AM THE ONE GETTING RIPPED OFF!!!!!! SPECTRUM IS SCAMMERS AND LIARS!!!!!!!!!!!!! User's recommendation: Spectrum is a thief.

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Novalcal Novalcal Saint Paul, MN

As a long time customer that has ripped off many times over the years. They charge for services not provided and will not adjust the bill when the over charges are discovered. Escalation to executives doesn't help. They are not customer service orientated. They have to be sued to get adjustment. Search law suits. Best find order internet providers or be ready to be ripped off.

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Lisa Wyatt O'Fallon, MO

I'm a current customer because I can't get another provider in my area because they've monopolized it. They're way over priced, I'm paying over $250 a month! When I call them to downgrade my services I always get one excuse after another why I can't. Their service itself is good. I've only dealt with a few outages over the years. All in all I don't recommend them because of getting stuck in one of their overpriced deals

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Carla Milwaukee, WI

They make you think you’ll pay $49.99/mo for Internet but neglect to tell you that price is only valid for 12 months before you get a huge increase in your bill. They hide the bill on the website and then on 4 of a 6 page invoice (really, 6 pgs?) have in small writing indicating that it will end as a CYA. They know this is an issue, as the customer service representatives said they get this type of calls all the time. Internet is fine, but it has gone out on me quite a few times as a Spectrum issue.

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Hoang Nguyen Richardson, TX

I have been with Spectrum for at least 5 years. They have been raising the internet rates over the years. I paid for the internet service for the full month from Dec 22-Jan 21. I cancelled the service on Jan 9. Spectrum refused to refund the prorated premium, AND Spectrum cut off my service on Jan 9. They cannot have it both ways. This is unfair business. They should either refund the prorated premium OR allow the service to continue until the end of the billing cycle.

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

P. Williamson Bozeman, MT

Charter Spectrum has taken advantage of their local monopoly of broadband internet services to overcharge customers while throttling back on speeds. This ISP corporation like just about all of the others has an enemy of Net Neutrality, as it wants to divide the internet into fast and slow lanes and then charge more for the fast lanes while throttling the slow lanes further.

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

James Strassburg

I purchased a google Wi-Fi router the one supplied would on a good day give 30% of the stated speed. It would lock up once or twice a day. The modem freezes about every other day. When I called Spectrum and finally got a human. I was put on hold to transfer to tech support after 5 minutes on hold I was disconnected. This happened on 3 separate days

4 years ago Edited September 14, 2021

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Bradley kamke Appleton, WI

My apartment only allows Spectrum. I switched to Spectrum. Iv had Spectrum for the past 7 months I have had nothing but problems. My wifi has gone out 4 times for 5 to 7 days each time. I lived at another appartment prior to this for 2 years and had ATT and never had any issues with service or customer support. Each time Iv called "Spectrum" I have never talked to a human. I have talked to a machine every. Single. Time. Personally I recommend that you DO NOT CHOSE these crooks. They seems to not care about you and only care to a whole as Spectrum... I rate Spectrum 1 out of 5 easily.

4 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Sam Holden Los Angeles, CA

Spectrum sucks! I called to get internet service from them, because they are the only provider in my neighborhood, and it was like I was talking to a car dealership. There are all these hidden fees and charges that will hit you. Also never get the "free" modem from them it just a way for them to throttle you internet. This company is down right shady.

4 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Amy Q Grand Prairie, TX

We canceled 2 days after the $180 charge and found they do not prorate. Seriously! That alone is just tacky. Spectrum charged $180 for the same services as AT&T, who only charges $115. Stupid me for thinking the speed would make enough difference to offset the inflated charges. The remote is a disaster, so if you like football, you will HATE the Spectrum remote. You will lose the ability to skip forward or go backwards a few seconds. And, if you do not have the coax cables in your house, they will need to come out and it will cost you more than you want to pay.

4 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Renee Columbus, OH

Spectrum is the worst company ever. Everyone there is incompetent. I’m moving but said leave my old service on through 4/27. I said turn on my new service 4/11/2019. Then they mailed the box to the new house prior to us getting possession. Then I said I send a technician I will pay the $40. They charged me and never sent someone. Then I called and their services continently were down and they couldn’t help fix their mistake.

4 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Zhen Sun San Gabriel, CA

Spectrum for internet speed is slow and poor connection has been going on for past a couple years and I contact them for credit for the poor service most of the time they will refuse or they'll make it difficult for them to listen to me or even they promise to give credit for their poor service but later on they never apply credit. few occasions that apply but only 1 or 2 dollars here and there and they keep raising their price. they are monopoly. we need to take them accountable for their deeds! Thanks.

4 years ago