Scout Alarm Logo

Scout Alarm

star star star star star_border
26 User Reviews

6.5

Overall Score

Scout was founded in 2013 with the launch of a successful crowdfunding campaign for do-it-yourself home security similar to Abode or Nest. The company boasts sleek and technologically advanced equipment. Scout is one of many self-installed home security systems that requires professional monitoring for users to be able to fully use all of the available features. The company is based in Chicago, Illinois.

Top Ranked Companies

thumb_up

The Good

  • Quick and Easy Installation
  • Helpful Tutorials
  • Choice of Three Colors to Match Decor
  • Can be Moved to a New Residence
  • No Long-Term Contract

Quick and Easy Installation

Scout offers its customers many attractive features in that they may quickly and easily install door/window sensors or door panels that pair with the Scout Hub with little effort required. Equipment is as follows:

  • Scout hub — Scout's version of a typical WiFi-enabled control panel or base station
  • Door panel — A disarmable door sensor that contains an RFID scanner and siren
  • Access sensors — functions as door/window sensors
  • Motion sensor — a sleek version of your typical motion detector
  • Water sensors — senses flooding in areas like your kitchen or bathroom
  • Indoor camera — view live feeds, day or night
  • Video doorbell — answer the door and receive notifications when someone is at the doorstep
  • Keypad — arm and disarm the home security system at the touch of a button
  • Glass break sensor — 25-foot range detects the sound and vibration of breaking glass
  • Smart door lock — integrates with Scout app and features a durable touchscreen
  • Smoke alarm — fire dispatch available with On+ Plan

When you install a system, you must have a Scout Hub with at least one door panel. Other sensors can be added at any point. Additional Key Fobs or RFID stickers, which are used to arm or disarm the Door Panel, are also available.

Mobile App

Setting up a system requires that the user have the Scout app on their Android or Apple mobile device. The Scout app allows you to arm, disarm, and customize your system, including shut down false alarms. 

Helpful Tutorials

Scout has several video tutorials that show customers how to install and pair their equipment with the Hub. These are available on the company's site (but missing from its YouTube channel). 

Choice of Three Colors to Match Decor

The Hub, Door Panels, and Motion Sensors are all available in three colors-black, white, and walnut. 

Can Be Moved to a New Residence

Customers can install Hub in a rented home and move their equipment into a new residence free of charge, making Scout a good option for renters.

No Long-Term Contract

Scout Alarm customers pay from month-to-month or can pay for a year of monitoring for a discount. Most home security companies will require a 3- to 5-year contract for home security services. Scout Alarm, meanwhile, attaches a three-year warranty and a 60-day return policy on all products, and free shipping on orders of $200 or more.

thumb_down

The Bad

  • Upfront Costs
  • Poor Customer Service

Upfront Costs

In addition to the monthly fee you pay for professional monitoring, you must buy all equipment upfront from Scout Alarm's website. This allows you to customize your system how you like, but it could also cost more than a typical installation fee from a traditional home security company. Scout Alarm packages are as follows:

Scout Small Pack: $229

  • One Control Hub
  • One Door Panel
  • One Motion Detector
  • Two Door/Window Sensors
  • Two Key Fobs
  • One Yard Sign

Scout Large Pack: $319

  • One Control Hub
  • One Door Panel
  • Two Motion Sensors
  • Five Door/Window Sensors
  • Two Key Fobs
  • One Yard Sign

Scout Elements Pack: $349

  • One Contrl Hub
  • One Door Panel
  • One Motion
  • Four Door/Window Sensors
  • Two Key Fobs
  • One Yard Sign
  • One Smoke Alarm
  • One Water Sensor

Scout Architect Pack: $549

  • One Control Hub
  • Onen Door Panel
  • One Motion
  • Four Door/Window Sensors
  • Two Key Fobs
  • One Yard Sign
  • One Smart Lock
  • One Glass Break Sensor

Poor Customer Service

It is never a solid practice to completely change a product after heavily advertising it with specific features. Scout did so with its initial launch, with many customers excitedly arming their home with Scout products. The company advertised that the system was fully functional without the need of external monitoring services and monthly fee. All previously purchased equipment ceased to function with the same features with which it was normally purchased and promised. The company's customer service has been slow to respond to customer requests in the past. While the customers are able to access helpful tutorials online, being able to receive rapid assistance from a live person is beneficial to customers.

gavel

The Bottom Line

Scout originally had many features that were attractive to its customers, primarily that there was no need for professional monitoring service. After customers had purchased equipment for their homes, this equipment failed to function as promised by the company. Since the company had strongly advertised the benefits of not having additional costs or the need for professional monitoring, this resulted in some justifiably angry customers. The company's products are well-reviewed, with the exception of those who were affected by the downgrade of the service. Those looking for a system that is simple and straightforward with a monitoring subscription will find that Scout meets many of their needs. However, the only thing that appears to separate Scout Alarm from a traditional home security company is the lack of a long-term contract. Read Scout Alarm reviews below to see what past and current customers have to say.

View Best Home Security Companies

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Star Rating

3.8

star star star star star_border

26 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

42%

4 grade

27%

3 grade

15%

2 grade

0%

1 grade

15%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star star_border

Quality

star star star star star_border

Service

star star star star star_border

Trustworthiness

star star star star star_border
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Patrick Chicago, IL

Criticisms first: 1. I wish the keypads were a bit more reliable, when their batteries get low, their behavior becomes... ornery - not recognizing valid codes, not showing alarm status, etc. Recommend a redesign with more sensitive battery reporting. 2. Also keypads - wish they were more flexible in alarm state. Simply changing the decal to "1" or "2" would actually be less confusing. 3. There have been a few bugs in the system, the worst being a total unintentional disarm. Recommend more proactive bug trapping - AND preemptive communication to the affected customers via both email AND app. The Good: 1. It works, 2. is largely invisible, 3. I control its installation because DIY, 4. Great customer support, 5. BIGGEST REASON: Home Automation integration (IFTTT). However, I know a HomeKit plugin exists...

3 months ago

Scout Alarm Logo

Reply from Scout Alarm

Thanks for your review Patrick! We'll be sure to add your keypad feature requests to our weekly meeting. I'm glad you are enjoying the system and let us know if you need any further assistance with arming and disarming.

May. 17th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Anonymous Grovetown, GA

Generally, positive. I like the flexibility (in terms of choosing what equipment you want), affordability, and quality of equipment. The app is very good too. I like that is has a lot of features and provides the user a lot of control. My only critique is the following: I saw that some of your products have had major upgrades since I bought them (like the glass break sensor); it would be nice to get the opportunity to return the current glass break sensor and buy the updated version at a discounted rate - maybe like 10% + 1% for every year you have been a subscribing customer. This may sound crazy, but that level of customer dedication would really help spread the word on how awesome you guys are.

3 months ago

Scout Alarm Logo

Reply from Scout Alarm

Thank you for your review of Scout Alarm! We haven't made any upgrades to the sensors but have used different manufactures. Any differences of the sensors is only in design and not function. All of our products have a 3 year warranty so please reach out if you have a product that isn't working as expected. Also, the glass break is only compatible with our V1S system and there is an affordable upgrade option available to all our V1 customers. We hope your security system continues to perform as expected. If you ever need customer service, we will be happy to assist :)

May. 17th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Logan E Marion, OH

My experience has been good. Anytime I've called them they have been helpful and I didn't wait a long time to speak to anyone. I like that there is no contract and it's affordable. They could improve by introducing more devices like exterior surveillance cameras.

3 months ago

Scout Alarm Logo

Reply from Scout Alarm

Thank you for your review of Scout Alarm Logan! The no contract is highly appealing to all of our customers and you can cancel anytime and receive a prorated refund. Outdoor cameras are our most requested feature and we'll be sure to reach out if they are ever integrated with our system. We hope your security system continues to perform as expected. If you ever need customer service, we will be happy to assist :)

May. 17th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Jeff Rockford, AL

I am extremely pleased with my Scout alarm system and their customer service is the best. The system is simple to install and get connected and has been very reliable. The few issues I have had, customer support has immediately taken care of.

3 months ago

Scout Alarm Logo

Reply from Scout Alarm

Thank you for your review of Scout Alarm Jeff! We hope your security system continues to perform as expected. If you ever need customer service, we will be happy to assist :)

May. 17th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Dudddits Paw Paw, MI

The cost was okay, products were easy to install and activate, customer service has been very helpful and corrected issues quickly. Probably the best customer service I have received from any company in any industry. The products have failed and not optimistic of long term durability, especially after warranty ends.

3 months ago

Scout Alarm Logo

Reply from Scout Alarm

Thank you for your review of Scout Alarm! We hope your security system continues to perform as expected. Even after your 3 year warranty has ended, please don't hesitate to reach out as I'm sure we'll have an acceptable fix for you. If you ever need any more customer service, we will be happy to assist :)

May. 17th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Jonathan Ifergan, Owner, Orkenoy Chicago, IL

So far they've been great! We had a minor issue with one of their first responders calling the police prematurely, but that has been resolved and no issues since then!

3 months ago

Scout Alarm Logo

Reply from Scout Alarm

That's wonderful news Jonathan! Remember professional monitoring can always be toggled on and off when not in use. Thank you for your review and if you ever need any other assistance please let us know :)

May. 17th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Lorrie H Columbus, OH

Had my scout system for 2+ years and have been very happy so far. Customer service is awesome and the products were easy to install and I really haven't had many issues. I do wish you could customize the alarm sound though.

3 months ago

Scout Alarm Logo

Reply from Scout Alarm

Thanks for your review Lorrie! Unfortunately, there's no way to currently customize the chirp or alarm sound but we can lower the door panel volume or disable the sensor chirps all together. This is an excellent feature request we'll be sure to add to our docket. Please let us know if you need any other assistance and thank you for choosing Scout!

May. 17th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Don B. Berea, OH

Good alternative for people who just want to self monitor. Their keypads are less than desirable, I have a hard time arming and disarming the alarm from them, they just don't work half of the time!

3 months ago

Scout Alarm Logo

Reply from Scout Alarm

Thanks for your review Don! Feel free to reach out to us if you are having any issues with your Keypad. There is a 3 year warranty on all of our products and we have troubleshooting steps to help get your keypad into tip top shape! Let us know if you have any other questions or concerns and thanks for choosing Scout!

May. 17th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Cam D Nashville, TN

Easy to install and use and monitors do a good job. Water monitor has saved me from basement flooding! I wish you could sign in using a fingerprint on your phone.

3 months ago

Scout Alarm Logo

Reply from Scout Alarm

Thank you for your review of Scout Alarm Cam! We do hope to have other ways to sign in using the app, as security is our top concern and will be sure to reach out once any changes have been made. We hope your security system continues to perform as expected. If you ever need customer service, we will be happy to assist :)

May. 17th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Greggv Richboro, PA

My experience has been positive. Initial customer of their first system which was designed poorly for battery signal / strength. One I switched in 2019 to the newer version, no issues. Would recommend.

3 months ago

Scout Alarm Logo

Reply from Scout Alarm

Thank you soo much for your review! The upgraded hardware features also include: 4G LTE Cellular back-up, upgraded from 3G AT&T carrier option, in addition to T-Mobile ZigBee communication between Scout Hub and sensors for improved connectivity. We also changed the communication from a mesh to a 1:1 connection with the hub ZigBee and Z-Wave chipset in the hub Increased drivers in sirens Ventilation to increase the siren volume in Hub and Door Panel Temperature sensors within each device And this is all apart of our affordable upgrade program to all our V1 customers. If you ever need customer service, we will be happy to assist :)

May. 17th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

KG Becker, MN

I like that the scout system is easy to use. I wish that more z wave products could be integrated with the system. I also wish the distance from the hub to sensors could be expanded or two hubs link into one system.

3 months ago

Scout Alarm Logo

Reply from Scout Alarm

Thanks soo much for your review KG! It would be wonderful for more integrations to be linked with Scout besides our current integrations: Amazon Alexa, Hue, IFTTT, Google, Lifex, First Alert, Kwikset, and Yale. Please let us know which integrations you are interested in and we'll be sure to add them to our dock. We are also working on getting our siren and zigbee repeater back in stock and finding other repeaters that can help extend the signal throughout your home. Currently you can link up to 65 sensors to each hub. We'll be sure to reach out once these have been added to our system If you ever need customer service, we will be happy to assist :)

May. 17th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Mickey Houston, TX

Very bad experience I've had my Scout alarm for years and batteries just last 3 for weeks. It's amazing how many batteries I went through. I gave up with the alarm due to the rate the batteries drain. Scout made it so difficult to get new batteries I gave up and don't use product anymore

3 months ago

Scout Alarm Logo

Reply from Scout Alarm

Hello Mickey! Thank you soo much for your review. It seems like you a have our Version 1 System. We have made vast improvements with our V1s System which increases battery life to 1-3 years depending on use and other environmental factors. The upgraded hardware features also include: 4G LTE Cellular back-up, upgraded from 3G AT&T carrier option, in addition to T-Mobile ZigBee communication between Scout Hub and sensors for improved connectivity. We also changed the communication from a mesh to a 1:1 connection with the hub ZigBee and Z-Wave chipset in the hub Increased drivers in sirens Ventilation to increase the siren volume in Hub and Door Panel Temperature sensors within each device We have an affordable upgrade program available to all our V1 customers so don't hesitate to reach out and we can apply the affordable upgrade discount to you! Let us know if you have any other questions or concerns. Stay Safe!

May. 17th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Dave Stow, OH

Had issues with old version of sensors. Was easy to upgrade to current models with little cost and effort.

3 months ago

Scout Alarm Logo

Reply from Scout Alarm

Thank you for your review of Scout Alarm Dave! Our V1S systems has made some vast improvements. We hope your security system continues to perform as expected. If you ever need customer service, we will be happy to assist :)

May. 17th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Anne Washougal, WA

Very easy to use, I haven't had to contact customer service or had my alarm go off, so I don't really know what they'd be like if I needed them.

4 months ago

Scout Alarm Logo

Reply from Scout Alarm

Hi Anne, Thank you for your review of Scout Alarm! We hope your security system continues to perform as expected. If you ever need customer service, we will be happy to assist :)

Apr. 19th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Joe

Awful company, awful product. The system does not work half of the time, the alarm system is not loud enough. The company was supposed to send me a different face plate for the door alarm however I was never sent anything.

3 months ago

Scout Alarm Logo

Reply from Scout Alarm

Thanks soo much for your review Joe! It seems like you may have our V1 system, as our V1S has made some vast improvements. The upgraded hardware features include: 4G LTE Cellular back-up, upgraded from 3G AT&T carrier option, in addition to T-Mobile ZigBee communication between Scout Hub and sensors for improved connectivity. We also changed the communication from a mesh to a 1:1 connection with the hub ZigBee and Z-Wave chipset in the hub Increased drivers in sirens Ventilation to increase the siren volume in Hub and Door Panel Temperature sensors within each device We have an affordable upgrade option available to all our V1 customers so please reach out with any questions. Because the system is completely customizable, more door panels and sirens can be added to your system to make it louder! We take great pride in our customer service and I apologize that you weren't sent a faceplate for your sensor. Please send us an email or call and we can get that faceplate sent out to you immediately. Stay Safe!

May. 17th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Dejan Clearwater, FL

Add more promotional products for current costumers. Overall great experience with company.

3 months ago

Scout Alarm Logo

Reply from Scout Alarm

Thank you for your review of Scout Alarm Dejan! We hope your security system continues to perform as expected. If you ever need customer service, we will be happy to assist :)

May. 17th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Hector Campos Midland, TX

Great overall experience! Installation was a breeze and customer service is exceptional!

3 months ago

Scout Alarm Logo

Reply from Scout Alarm

Thank you for your review of Scout Alarm Hector! We hope your security system continues to perform as expected. If you ever need customer service, we will be happy to assist :)

May. 17th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Max Brooklyn, NY

Love that I have the log of what the sensors do. Hate that the app logs me out from time to time

3 months ago

Scout Alarm Logo

Reply from Scout Alarm

Thanks so much for your review Max. The mobile app requires you to re-login to the app and verify your credentials every 30 days for security purposes. I apologize, as it can be frustrating, but we are looking into easier login options in the future. We'll be sure to share any new features but don't hesitate to reach out if there's anything else I can assist with. We hope your security system continues to perform as expected. If you ever need customer service, we will be happy to assist :)

May. 17th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Mike D Coinjock, NC

I like the product works as advertised and customer support is great wish they had an outdoor camera

3 months ago

Scout Alarm Logo

Reply from Scout Alarm

Thank you for your review of Scout Alarm! Outdoor cameras would be a wonderful addition to Scout and we'll be sure to reach out if they are ever added to our products. We hope your security system continues to perform as expected. If you ever need customer service, we will be happy to assist :)

May. 17th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Brewskys Bar Metairie, LA

Sscout sucks and I paid a real alarm company to install a wired system b/c Scout's batteries go out randomly and the Scout alarm hasn't worked in months.

3 months ago

Scout Alarm Logo

Reply from Scout Alarm

Thank you for your review of Scout Alarm! I'm sorry you're having troubles with your Scout System. It seems like you may have our V1 system, as the V1s has made some vast improvements that extend battery life to 1-3 years for sensors. Please let us know if you are interested in the affordable upgrade program available to all our V1 customers who also receive free battery replacements with the older system. We also have plenty of troubleshooting steps and changes we can make that can help extend battery life to the V1S System. If you ever need customer service, we will be happy to assist :)

May. 17th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Michael Austin, TX

Very good. Be able to contact customer and technical support 24/7.

3 months ago

Scout Alarm Logo

Reply from Scout Alarm

Thank you for your review Michael! Our operating hours are 9am-6pm central time but you can always call and leave a voicemail, send us an email, or view our knowledge base online for most technical resolutions. We try to respond to all our customers within 12-24 hours. Thanks so much for using Scout and let us know if you have any other questions!

May. 17th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

Ryan Chicago, IL

App is easy to use and customer service is prompt. I have connectivity issues and battery issues.

3 months ago

Scout Alarm Logo

Reply from Scout Alarm

Thank you for your review of Scout Alarm Ryan! We have ways to fix your connectivity and battery issues with our V1S system. Please reach out and let us know how we can help. We hope your security system continues to perform as expected. Stay Safe!

May. 17th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star_border

Nikki Beaver, PA

I loved the fact I could install it all myself. Finding help in the app

3 months ago

Scout Alarm Logo

Reply from Scout Alarm

Thank you for your review of Scout Alarm! We hope your security system and app continues to perform as expected. It is a wonderful easy to use DIY system and If you ever need customer service, we will be happy to assist :)

May. 17th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Alex Kolesnyk Austin, TX

They could start improve application, hardware and could be more innovative in what they do! All of what they supply is outdated by decades!

3 months ago

Scout Alarm Logo

Reply from Scout Alarm

Hi Alex, Thank you for your review of Scout Alarm! We have an app update and new hardware in the works, and we hope to meet your expectations in the future.

Apr. 19th, 2021

check_circle

Verified Customer

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star_border star_border

JJ Emmitsburg, MD

We've had several false alarms with the smoke detectors and one door sensor.

3 months ago

Scout Alarm Logo

Reply from Scout Alarm

Thank you for your review of Scout Alarm JJ! I apologize for your false alarms. We have many trouble shooting steps to prevent and false alarms from happening and also provide free adhesive if you ever need to move anything around. Feel free to reach out with any other questions you may have! We hope your security system continues to perform as expected. If you ever need customer service, we will be happy to assist :)

May. 17th, 2021

star star star star_border star_border

Kelly Birmingham, AL

I have an older system. The siren is a joke, You can barely hear it standing next to it. They promised they were working on a "fix" and would send me a new one and never did. But besides that, it's very easy to setup and has nice features. You can install your own louder siren, but it bothers me that promised a fix but never provided one when I could have instead returned it and gotten my money back. Customer service is extremely fast in responding to questions.

2 years ago

Scout Alarm Logo

Reply from Scout Alarm

Thank you for your review of Scout Alarm Kelly! We haven't made any major adjustments to the 105 db siren. There have been some ventilation added to our V1S which may slightly boost the sound. The affordable upgrade option is available to all our V1 customers so please let us know if you have any questions and are interested in upgraded your system. We hope your security system continues to perform as expected. If you ever need customer service, we will be happy to assist :)

May. 17th, 2021

We're on a mission to empower consumers to make the best decisions and connect confidently with companies that deserve their business.

© 2021 BestCompany.com LLC - All rights reserved Privacy Policy | Terms | Do Not Sell My Personal Information