Ambetter Logo

Ambetter

star star_half star_border star_border star_border

5.5

Overall Score

error This company may not service all states.
See states serviced
LAST UPDATED: December 5th, 2022
Number 3 in Blue Circle

3 Things to Look for in a Health Insurance Company

  1. Plan Options — Look for an insurer that offers the kind of health plan you need. Some insurers specialize in specific types like Medicare.
  2. Extra Benefits — Look for the extra perks offered by the insurer with your plan like a fitness program or reimbursement. While not a dealbreaker, these benefits are worth noting.
  3. Claims Experience — Look for insurers that offer a good claims experience compared to others. Reading customer reviews can give you a sense of how well an insurer takes care of its plan members.

Ambetter insurance specializes in health insurance plans on the Health Insurance Marketplace in twelve states. These plans are also sometimes called Obamacare plans. Ambetter health plans are operated by the Centene Corporation. If you're looking for another kind of plan or don't live in an Ambetter service area, you'll need to consider other health insurers.

report_problem

Attention: Ambetter is a very unpopular health insurance company.

It has received a 1.4/5 star rating from reviews left on Best Company. Roughly 87 percent of the Ambetter reviews on Best Company gave a 1-star rating. Complaints against Ambetter include poor customer service, difficulty with pre-authorization, and high costs for limited coverage. Most customers do not recommend buying healthcare coverage from this insurance company.

View Ambetter Reviews and Complaints

Ambetter health insurance's covered services include preventative and emergency care, therapy, behavioral health help, medications, maternity, and hospitalization. It is an on-exchange health insurance option in the Health Insurance Marketplace.

Health Insurance Marketplace plans offer comprehensive health insurance coverage. For health plans to be on the Marketplace, they must be a qualified health plan that covers the essential health benefits listed in the Affordable Care Act.

To enroll in Ambetter insurance, you need to apply during Open Enrollment. The Open Enrollment period for 2021 healthcare coverage runs from November 1, 2020 to December 15, 2020. If you missed the enrollment period, you may qualify for a Special Enrollment Period after December 15, 2020 if you have a Qualifying Life Event.

thumb_up

The Good

  • Health Insurance Plan Options
  • Helpful Online Account
  • Member Perks
  • My Health Pays™
  • Dental and Vision Coverage

Health Insurance Plan Options

If you're looking to get an Ambetter plan, you can view health plans by first selecting the state you live in and then selecting the type of health plan tier you're most interested in. From there, your options open up to several different plans with varying prices and benefits.

Ambetter Health Insurance Marketplace plan options include: Ambetter Essential Care (Bronze Plan), Ambetter Balanced Care (Silver Plan), and Ambetter Secure Care (Gold Plan).

Each plan offers insurance coverage for the essential health benefits listed in the Affordable Care Act, but the cost-sharing rules for medical expenses are different for each tiered plan option.

Members with Ambetter Essential Care pay lower premiums but have higher out-of-pocket expenses.

Ambetter Balanced Care, the Silver Plan, offers higher premiums and a lower out-of-pocket limit.

Ambetter Secure Care has higher monthly premiums, but the lowest out-of-pocket expenses of the three plan types.

For specific coverage and cost information, including the deductible, out-of-pocket expenses, and premium costs, you'll need to work with Ambetter directly. Depending on your income, you may qualify for a tax credit subsidy on your monthly premium.

Helpful Online Account

Each Ambetter member has access to an online portal through which they can make all of their payments, view healthcare plan benefits, and take care of logistics like obtaining a member ID card. The member portal offers extra features, too, such as providing reminders for members when they are due for another doctor's visit or allowing them to take a health risk assessment to determine which steps they can take to live healthier.

Members can track their claims 24/7 through the online portal, as well as connect with member services at any hour of the day.

Member Perks

Ambetter provides more than just logistical tools for members. Many of the extra features it offers also send the message that Ambetter wants members to get healthier and stay healthier. These tools include a 24/7 nurse hotline that members can access for questions and medical needs.

There are also health-promoting programs to support members with dealing with behavioral health and maternity and newborn care. Ambetter offers 24/7 Nurse Advice Line and integrated health management to enhance members ability to get the most out of their medical care.

Ambetter also offers telehealth access with some of its plans. With telehealth, members can have phone or video access to in-network providers for non-emergencies.

My Health Pays™

My Health Pays™ is Ambetter's rewards program to provide incentives for members to live healthier with better habits. You can earn money for taking a survey provided by Ambetter, getting a flu shot or having your wellness exam. This money can go toward your next premium. Members can be reimbursed for gym membership payments as well. This rewards program promotes health and well-being among Ambetter members. While this program is great, it's only available in some of the states Ambetter services.

Dental and Vision Coverage

Dental and vision coverage are available with Ambetter, but the benefits and availability of each are entirely specific to the state you live in and the type of health plan you choose.

Dental benefits, for example, is not available in Texas, but vision insurance is. Dental coverage includes exams, cleanings, and screenings, overall, and vision benefits include yearly eye exams and glasses or contacts. Those seeking vision coverage and dental benefits in addition to health insurance can find options through Ambetter.

Get Quote

thumb_down

The Bad

  • Poor Customer Reviews
  • Access to Plan Information
  • Limited Service Areas
  • No Mobile App 

Poor Customer Reviews

Ambetter has received an overwhelming number of 1-star reviews on Best Company. These Ambetter reviews mention difficulty getting medication and treatments approved for coverage, issues with claims that were difficult to resolve, frustration with customer service, and difficulty finding an in-network provider.

With such a high number of 1-star reviews, you'll likely be better served choosing another insurance provider if you can.

Access to Plan Information

It's somewhat difficult to access specific information about the types of health plans Ambetter has. Its website primarily just explains the metal tiers (gold plan, silver plan, and bronze plan) as well as how essential health benefits are covered by every plan.

To find out what kinds of plans these are, such as Health Maintenance Organization (HMO) or Preferred Provider Organization (PPO), not to mention what prices and benefits you qualify for (like out-of-pocket expenses, copayments, deductibles, covered services specifics,and if you need prior authorization for certain medical services), you'll have to contact a representative.

Upfront, it's important to know that Ambetter is part of the Health Insurance Marketplace (HIM). It's Centene's option for HIM plans, which are intended for people who don't have health insurance and maybe don't qualify for typical plans.

Ambetter only offers Marketplace plans. If you are looking for another kind of insurance plan, like a short-term health insurance, Medicare, or Medicaid, you'll need to find another insurance carrier.

Limited Service Areas

Ambetter plans are available in a some states. These include Arkansas, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Massachusetts, Mississippi, New Hampshire, Ohio, Texas, Washington, and Wisconsin. If you don't live in any of these states, then you'll need to consider another insurance provider.

Even if you do reside in one of the states they service, make sure to check the location of their in-network providers (e.g. a primary care physician, specialist, etc.) for your state to ensure they have an in-network provider near you.

No Mobile App

Unlike many of its competing insurance companies, Ambetter doesn't have a mobile app. Some companies provide this for enrollees to access their accounts right from their phones, making communication and logistics much easier. Ambetter hasn't provided this yet, making account management slightly less convenient than with other companies.

gavel

The Bottom Line

Ambetter should be somewhat of a last resort when choosing an affordable health insurance company. While its plans all have decent health coverage for preventative care and some vision and dental benefits, it is difficult to access full details of its various plans. Data points such as the annual maximum out-of-pocket limit and co-pays are difficult to find on the website.

Plan cost and deductible levels vary among plans. Availability depends on location. Cost is also affected by the number of people on the plan and some demographic information, like age.

While Ambetter's plans offer comprehensive healthcare coverage, it's important to review customer reviews to get a sense of Ambetter's quality — health plans, value, cost, and customer service — and compare Ambetter to other health insurance companies before making a final decision about signing up for an Ambetter plan.

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

We'll Introduce You!

Call our recommended rep over at Ambetter below.

1-(877) 326-1271

Star Rating

1.4

star star_half star_border star_border star_border

973 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

5%

4 grade

3%

3 grade

1%

2 grade

3%

1 grade

88%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star_half star_border star_border star_border

Quality

star star_half star_border star_border star_border

Service

star star_half star_border star_border star_border

Trustworthiness

star star_half star_border star_border star_border
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
star star star star star

Har Tol Lucedale, MS

I don’t understand what all this noise is about! I would say that most of these 1 stars are just not getting the understanding needed from their agent that signed then up or if they just went in and just chose the cheapest plan themselves! So with that being said my agent explained how the insurance works and helped me with the best plan for my area. All plans did not work for me and I listen and went with the one she chose for me and I never had a minutes trouble with my plans! I’ve been with Ambetter for 5 or more years and NEVER had the experiences that I’m hearing here. So far Ambetter has been far more than just insurance, it has been a life saver for me!! I say find the best plans in your area and leave Ambetter to continue to blossom in it’s good here. Molina, Cigna and the other great affordable plans are great as well in the areas they serve.

11 months ago

star star star star star

Quinn Ales Chesterton, IN

I'm from Indiana so I don't know if that makes a difference, but I've never had an issue with Ambetter. I had more headaches with BCBS. Honestly the only thing that has been annoying in the last 4 years was that they didn't want me to use name brand Vyvanse for my adhd but instead preferred adderall xr...not a big deal. I'm happy with them. Just sucks insurance is so expensive these days across the board. I pay $1300

9 months ago

star star star star star

Jason Walker LaFayette, GA

I have been with Ambetter as a patient / customer for nearly a year. While I totally comprehend the opinions and troubles of others and the number of one star reviews, I have been thoroughly pleased after leaving my workplace and losing excellent company insurance. Ambetter fortunately had my providers on their roster and I've had absolutely no trouble with accessing care or prescriptions. Perhaps I'm a rarity, but I'm really happy with Ambetter. I'm a Georgia resident and acccesed my Ambetter plan through Marketplace during open enrollment.

10 months ago

star star star star star

Just another biller Kodak, TN

I am a medical biller and certified medical coder and have worked for providers for over 20 years. To those getting billed by the provider for lack of auth, change providers! Those bills are not your responsibility! Do your research on what you should pay. NEVER PAY THE PROVIDER BILL WITHOUT MATCHING IT TO YOUR EOB (Explanation Of Benefits) from your ins company. If it's not the same amount, send a copy of the EOB with your payment. Ambetter requires providers and the staff to do their jobs. Documenting medical necessity, submitting records supporting the diagnosis and treatment plan. I will say that once a claim or procedure is denied and multiple hands touch it, getting it approved or paid gets tougher. Providers need to do it right the first time. Providers have the ability to upload supportive documents online directly to the denied claim or auth. It is usually resolved within a few days. I actually liked working Ambetter claims because they were so easy! Even if a provider missed an auth, Ambetter would approve retro auth requests IF they were done in a timely fashion. From my experience, most of the complaints I have read are most likely from: PROVIDERS SIDE: 1. Not enough office staff to support the patient base. 2. Untrained medical scribes or physicians that are responsible for documenting medical necessity. And yes, mds, nps and all others contributing to the medical record must know what is needed to get paid. I have attended many trainings and I can count on one hand the number of physicians that attended. The ones that did, knew exactly what they were required to do in order to get a test or surgery approved and paid. 3. Untrained billers/collectors that do not know how to get the claim paid. 4. Not educated on what the step management is for authorizations (ex: the small test, the next test, then the advanced radiology) Not going straight to MRI. MEMBER SIDE: 1. Not understanding your medical policy. 2. Going to out of network providers. 3. Not looking at their EOBs and matching them to the providers bill. Overall, Ambetter requires the provider to DO THEIR JOB! As they should, in order to provide care to their patients who entrust their health and life to them.

1 year ago

star star star star star

Dali Dallas, TX

If you follow the rules of using in-network providers for both diagnostics and physicians, there will be no surprise billings. I made sure my primary care physician on paper was affiliated with a local community hospital so that I’m covered and in-network in case of an emergency. I have never had a problem getting authorization for drugs, but sometimes the pharmacies will actually lie (not Ambetter’s fault) and tell you,”It isn’t covered by your insurance,” when all you needed was a pre-auth. I always check with Ambetter directly. I never trust the doctor office staff nor the pharmacy staff to sue the due diligence. I guess I’m cynical that way, because I used to work in healthcare. I think it’s easy for people to blame this insurance company, and usually people only take time to write reviews when they are angry. If you follow the rules of the Ambetter system, and make sure you use in-network providers, you won’t have to deal with appeals over billing later. Work smarter, not harder folks! Also, being kind to customer service goes a long way. I mean, I had a lengthy convo with a rep who was absolutely outstanding and sweet. She took the time to explain how everything works, because healthcare gets complicated with deductibles and all, and even I needed some questions answered. I am so happy that I chose Ambetter and not a cheaper company, because you really do get what you pay for, right?

2 years ago

star star star star star

Kristin Slink Atlanta, GA

I honestly couldn't say anything bad about Ambetter and feel compelled to write a review based on its one star rating. Disclaimer: I live in Atlanta proper, so I have Emory locations all around me. Access was easy and although scheduling my annual appointment wasn't instant (several months out) I have very limited needs, so this worked for me. I am not going to boast about the price, but compared to the other offers, it was pretty reasonable. I will not comment on the overall status of government healthcare. I don't understand how we are supposed to afford it, but this is not the fault of Ambetter. When I was offered benefits through my employer and had to cancel my plan, the person who helped me was extremely polite and helpful. I was able to submit a request to refund my recent payment and she went through my account to remove my cards so I wouldn't get an auto payment. No issues at all. Very happy. Give them a chance!

2 years ago

star star star star star

Heidi Turner

I love Ambetter! My place of employment is now offering Insurance so I'm going to loose coverage since I'm in with Markplace. Ambetter has been great! I don't want to switch. They approved without even hearing the arguement I was ready to take on, a very expensive liver medication that I had been trying to get for years. It was even delivered to my door step. They have also approved all my husbands medications which are also very expensive. Our co-payments are low and they cover our family of four at a reasonable price considering the market. I'll be so sad if they say I have to get the company insurance at renewal.

3 years ago

star star star star star

CinderUgly Maple Valley, WA

I don’t understand all the bad ratings going towards AmBetter’s medical insurance, I can only attribute that to people who aren’t looking at the plans being offered more closely and choosing the wrong plan that don’t fit more true to your health. Also, most of the time, it’s either the doctors office or the hospitals that are the problem. Billing procedures not pre authorized, care under doctors that are not covered on your plan, billing incorrect codes, causing problems with out of network charges to appear. I took months looking at plans for me and my husband, and came across AmBetter, under ACA Plans. If it’s about your health take the time to READ your plan, the whole plan! I took my age 50+ & husband 60+, and the type of Health plan I was hunting for. ****1.) Most Important!!! It had to cover a total catastrophic event, (stuff happens) what type of plan would cover that and not put me in the poor house, with affordable deductible & affordable out of pocket, or preferably one that combines both, so deductible & out of pocket are one total, with copays that goes toward that? 2.) Very Very Important- Once my affordable deductible is met, what do they cover 100%??? It has to be 100% after deductible is met... not this 20/80 garbage. So make sure it’s 100% after you’ve met your deductible, and once that’s met you best take advantage and get things done that you’ve been holding back, because they weren’t an emergency, but should be done, such as; colonoscopy, prostate exams, breast exams, health check & bloodwork (most plans cover this for free, because it’s considered preventative maintenance). We are fairly healthy, or I should say we don’t see doctors very often, so paying maybe once or twice at the doctors office yearly is... normally affordable. Mine was all about catastrophic events that could happen and a lower deductible with co-pay that goes toward my deductible and my out of pocket costs were my main goal, not to go broke. 3.) who are the Hospital’s they sponsor... are they close and who are their doctors? Then look up those doctors (people review them online), theres always one with high stars you can review. 4.) If you can... find on the same plan, “ No Referrals“ for seeing any doctor you want to visit, (not always available, very few available) my didn’t offer that. 5.) “NEVER, NEVER Let a doctor or procedures done to you WITHOUT prior approval from your Health Insurance!” I can’t repeat that enough! That is a must, never waver! That’s why I always know where my hospitals are under my coverage, there is always doctors in emergency covered under your plan, if you use hospitals under your plan.. If you are coherent, ask for procedures to be preapproved by AmBetter or any insurance company for that matter, and that the people that are doing the procedures are covered and registered with a Ambetter or what ever Insurance your using. Normally, there is a person on staff that her/his responsibility is to make sure things flow with getting all of this pre-approved while your in emergency. Take huge advantage of that, you’ll need it. “(Always have someone, loved one or who ever is your emergency contact knows your plan, in case of being unconscious when arriving at the hospital). “ 5.) keep in contact with your insurance and write down who you talked to and a reference number, if you need it for fixing a billing problem. Ambetter agents are very helpful, and if you get one that isn’t understanding or not getting you where you need to go, don’t feel intimidated to ask for someone else, with new ears. That’s their job. My plan had dual as one total; deductible/out of pocket $5100 total deductible, with copays that went towards that deductible. I had a TIA stroke this year, went into Emergency on my own cognizance (catastrophic event) hit my deductible of course, but I was willing to pay the $5100, and had set aside most of that amount just for this reason. My plan covered 100% of ALL charges after deductible was met. Xrays, MRI, CAT Scans, neurosurgeon visits and months of testing to determine what happened and it turns out it was a TIA stroke. This was part of my policy. The costs that I would have been billed were unimaginable... at the cost around $70k, then all was said and done, cost me $5100. So what I’m trying to say is that looking for catastrophic insurance over conventional insurance is ten fold in the long run for people over 50. Now I’m up for renewal for same policy plan, but now the deductible is $5200+ Soooo... now I have to wave if I can afford that new increase or find another plan. I’ll probably stick to the same plan, since there is always financial help if needed... still that’s a far cry from paying $70k to only paying $5100. So AmBetter does have great plans out there, but like anything... do your research, know what your looking for and READ your policy, always get referrals if needed, a MUST get pre-approved procedures prior to having them performed, and always make sure that all the people providing your care are sponsored by your insurance, and if you have questions, speak to an agent. keep in mind that ALL medical insurance company’s now required you to be responsible for your own care under their policies, and all require you to make sure you know these procedures and most of all using ONLY in-network pre-approved procedures and pre-approved doctors are used under your plan. Hope all that made sense, even if I did repeat myself. Good Luck!

3 years ago

star star star star star

Wayne Jackson Douglasville, GA

My experience have been good, got the insurance for my wife, she had to spend one night in the hospital and the total bill came to over $14,000, Ambetter paid all of it. Never had an issue finding a providing. I live outside of the Atlanta and do no have issues find a provider. If you do not live around a large city then you will most likely have issue finding a provider in your area. Also make sure you call all of your Doctors that you wish to stay prior to signing up. I worked in the Ambetter Call Center, the Provider list that they have is not up to date. Do your homework prior to joining and everything will work out.

3 years ago

star star star star star

LD Darien, GA

I was scared to get the Ambetter from Peach State Health Plan after reading all of the bad reviews on here but it was all that was offered in the Marketplace for my area. I have been very happy. I have had their insurance for nearly 6 months and they have paid everything promptly with no issues. Of the nearly $6000 we have only had to pay a little over $100. I have had no problem finding doctors, although I must say they all have to be affiliated with the local hospital. Sure, I'd rather have better choices but I really did not expect more. I have been happy with every doctor or NP I have seen, especially my NP. I have no problem with their website either, including earning rewards on the visa and using it to pay my phone bill. We have not had health insurance for many years and this has given us peace of mind. I have not had to call them but I did message them on the portal a few times and got a quick response. It would be better if they sent an email saying they had replied though. I had to keep checking the message box. We thank God our health has been cleared except for a few small issues, thanks to Ambetter.

3 years ago

star star star star star

Brittany Lawrenceville, GA

I have had AmBetter since July 2018. I have read the majority of the hundreds of these reviews and it seems as though folks either didn't have other options and also didn't do adequate research about whether the physicians, hospitals and urgent care centers that they prefer were covered by the AmBetter plan they were considering. I went with an AmBetter 4 (which is a Silver plan on healthcare.gov), I have a low deductible ($600) and 100% co-insurance after my deductible is met. I pay $0 for my medications and since I am self-employed, I actually pay the full amount of what this insurance premium is per month (roughly $400/month.) I have on-going health issues that they haven't penalized me for, I have received all of my 3-month prescriptions without issue as well as over 15 other Rx's that are monthly. (As I said, I have seriously, life-threatening, on-going health issues.) I just spent 8 days in the hospital being discharged on 03/30, today is 04/07/19 and ALL of the hospital bills ARE PAID IN FULL. Again, I did extensive research before selecting AmBetter as my provider. I am very pleased with them and have zero complaints. Again, I pay my premium on time, researched my physicians before selecting their insurance and understood what type of plan I was selecting. Doing your research instead of expecting someone else to do it out for you is the truth behind the majority of the complaints in all honesty.

3 years ago

star star star star star

Kaye C. Marietta, GA

My experience with AMBETTER for the 2018 year has been GREAT. My husband has been to the ER three times and hospitalized one time. All the bills were paid promptly. We both have had a lot of doctor visits and several diagnostic procedures without any problems at all. All of these extremely negative reviews are terrifying and scary as it is time to pick a company for 2019. I only had two choices form 2018, either Ambetter or Kaiser and Kaiser is a true HMO so that was out. The reason I pick AMBETTER is that All the hospital systems in the Atlanta area were included: Emory, Piedmont, and Wellstar. When I have searched for doctors, there any dozens for each specialty. I don't know if my great experience is driven by my location and the fact that we are in the metropolitan Atlanta area or not. Good luck and Good health to all.

4 years ago

star star star star star

Laverne Williams Irving, TX

I am a healthcare reimbursement professional with may years of experience, I file claims for various physicians, code medical records and perform physician credentialing. Currently, I do not qualify for AmBetter health plans but anytime I have needed to call to verify patient benefits, check health claim status or get an authorization for services or just so I that can help redirect a patient appropriately, every customer service person I have spoken with at AmBetter has been helpful, courteous and professional. Answering all of my questions with care and great attention to detail. As a patient, its better to allow your doctors office to handle things for you but try to be clear when attempting to get answers from your insurer. But it is the insured parties responsibility to personally understand their own insurance like what's covered and what is not, and how much will this cost me? before you leave the doctors office. For physician offices you really should let the right people handle credentialing, people with experience. AmBetter is a great payer of claims and fast; as they keep accurate records and when they recoup because someone made a mistake in claims processing its always been accurate without the chatter like some others, "because we can". Thanks AmBetter you are doing a Great job and you are easy to work with.

4 years ago

star star star star star

Viktorija Kang Henderson, NV

So far everything has been great. The only reason I am writing a review is to balance a little bit the stars because majority of people gave 1 star. I am a scholar and I can tell that all the reviews are always very biased and subjective. Most of the time people leave reviews when they are extremely unsatisfied or they are extremely satisfied. What about those who are in the middle? I live in Nevada and I found primary care doctor and pediatrician for my child within 5 minutes on their website. The plan I have has a good price and very good coverage, more than I could ask. I have called customer service and I was helped promptly. The person I spoke to was very nice and professional. I would never have written the review if I hadn't seen so many terrible reviews. Imagine how many other satisfied customers have not left a review? I just don't want people to not get good prices insurance because of other people's personal experience. Just look at the coverage, the price, and compare with other insurance companies. Choose what fits your needs, not what the "stars" say.

4 years ago

star star star star star

Meagan Mueller Chattanooga, TN

This is my second year as an Ambetter customer, and I plan to renew my plan with them for 2021. The coverage is better than any employer provided health insurance I’ve ever had, and at an incredibly reasonable price. The customer service reps are always helpful and usually go above and beyond to help, most of my prescriptions and doc visits are 100% covered or have a super low co-pay, and there are plenty of doctors and nurse practitioners in their list of providers.. I don’t know what the complainers are expecting, but this health insurance company is doing a great job.

2 years ago

star star star star star

KAREN M HARRIS Kansas City, MO

I lost my insurance 3 years ago. Never been without insurance. Bad luck happened to me and I had to have eye surgery. The only good thing that came out of that bad situation is a girl told me to call ambetter I did and I am very thankful. They have been wonderful. Had 2 more eye surgeries that same year that they paid really good. I'm low income so I qualify for a subsidy. I just can't say enough good things about ambetter.

2 years ago

star star star star star

Mata Marietta, GA

Ambetter has been a hassle free insurance company that was the most affordable out of all of them. I have never had issues with doctor visits, ED visits, or prescription drugs. They are always very pleasant customer service wise and I actually think the website is getting better. My only complaint is finding a provider is a bit difficult and obviously you are very limited on who you can see, but the cost of the insurance is so low that I am okay with that.

3 years ago

star star star star star

Brenda T. Byron, GA

After much worrying and warnings from others, I chose Ambetter off the marketplace. As newly self-employed I did not have much of a choice. To my surprise, most of my doctors, except for my primary care of well over a decade, are on the plan, and the plan has been wonderful. I have even had two of my doctor's offices express that they were well pleased. They company pays promptly and at reasonable levels. Whatever Ambetter Peach Plan is doing, please keep doing it. Now, if only my beloved primary care doc would join in...

3 years ago

star star star star star

CDan Miami, FL

I absolutely love this insurance. In Miami they cover a whole lot of top doctors, you could even go to the UM hospital and most of the doctors accept AmBetter. Been saving $250 every month, since it covers for my birth control. Even the pharmacist was surprised when it showed him that I didn’t even have to pay a copay, that usually no company ever covers my specific birth control.

4 years ago

star star star star star

lynn Springfield, MO

i live in missouri and have had ambetter from home for 2018. they cover both major area hospitals and doctors that are affiliated. they have paid all the claims quickly. the only refusal was when a doctor accidentally billed them twice. the plan is changing for next year but i hope it stays similar to what i have now because this has been the best insurance i have ever had. i have had to message them a few times and the always replied pretty quickly. they do not email directly so you have to check the patient portal for replies.

4 years ago

star star star star star

PATSY LEIST Bolton, MS

I have only good things to say about Ambetter. I am in Mississippi, one of the states Ambetter covers. My coverage is excellent. My doctors are please to provide it. I have had a minor surgery, my yearly PAP, Mammogram, pain management, etc. and the coverage provided, payment provided have been excellent. I am extremely happy I chose Ambetter insurance. I have recommended it to many of my friends.

4 years ago

star star star star star

VILMA MONTALVAN Miami, FL

From Miami FL Dade County I have never had a problem. When I call customer service they are always willing to help me in anyway. All my claims are paid. We have plenty of Dr’s and specialist to go to. My primary Dr is a private office not a clinic. I could also go to University of Miami which they have great doctors. I recommend my Ins with no problem in anyway.

4 years ago

star star star star star

Sarah Barger Little Rock, AR

I think it must depend on what state you are in. I have Ambetter Arkansas and I love it. I do receive a subsidy so I don't pay a huge premium. I also don't have any major health problems, They are excellent for routine care, chiropractic, mental health etc. I do not have dental. So far they have covered everything without any issue.

2 years ago

star star star star star

Mary Johnson College Station, TX

I switched to Ambetter after a nightmare experience with Blue Cross Blue Shield of North Carolina and Texas. I've only been using it for a few months, but so far my experience has been excellent. My chosen provider accepts their coverage and I'm proceeding ahead with my scheduled wellness checks.

3 years ago

star star star star star

Bart Harrison, AR

I've been reading all these bad reviews, I have only been on Ambetter since Jan 1 2017, but have had very good service. I was wondering about Meds I was already on being included, no problem whatsoever. I'll keep you updated. Happy in Arkansas!

5 years ago

star star star star star

Jay Cole

There Customer Service is Wonderful I've been very pleased anytime I have needed help in the past there has always been someone to help me on the first try. And for that I am Thankful For

2 years ago

star star star star star

hem n sah Irving, TX

I was very worried about the negative review. But All the claims for emergency room was processed properly. It was a seamless experience and we had no issue at all. Just follow all the network networks and no issue at all.

3 years ago

star star star star star

Ken Greenwood Austin, TX

Perfect for everything we need. Site works well. Fast response times. Always introducing new ways to make things easier. Been here for 3 years and have no intention of changing

3 years ago

star star star star star

Esmer McAllen, TX

I have had Ambetter for about 1 and 1/2 years and have not had a complain. They have everything displayed on the members website which makes it easier to see what is being submitted and paid.

3 years ago

star star star star star

Virginia Young Cincinnati, OH

Absolutely the best health insurance I have ever had!I like it so much that when I turn 65 in March I will be using them for my medicare supplement plan. Kudos to your great insurance and service!

3 years ago

star star star star star

ALVIA TOMLINSON Miami, FL

I have no problems with this insurance. I went to the ER in 2017 and they took take of my bill .I only had to pay a few dollar out of pocket. The only draw back is that my PCP is not in there network .

4 years ago

star star star star star

Lillian Thomas

I am so happy that I have Ambetter really didn't have no insurance.. very affordable and very good network provider... I am very please... customer service do all that can to help you find the best provider..

5 years ago

star star star star star

RVM Lubbock, TX

THEY WERE REALLY WONDERFUL. THEY HAVE TOP DOCTORS. THE COVERAGE HAS BEEN A LIFESAVER. I WOULD STILL BE WITH THEM, BUT THEIR RATES WENT UP ON THE OBAMACARE MARKET PLACE.

2 years ago

star star star star star

Tasha Calhoun City, MS

I have has ambetter for 3 years and it is wonderful! I have lots of doctors to choose from and they pay alot on my Bill's. I love they rewards programs as well!

3 years ago

star star star star star

Carrie L Matthews Decatur, GA

Thank you for being there Ambetter for us during my husband battles of cancer medical was never a problem.All medical,hospital,meds,chemo treatments. Thank you

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Roxana Perez ,

I used Ambetter three years ago and I have no complaints. The prices were affordable and the network was easy to navigate. I had no issues connecting with the right professionals or to access any medication.

2 years ago

star star star star star

Danette Harrison Cincinnati, OH

Great insurance for a HMO plan never had any problems with customer service or getting things done that needed to be done.

2 years ago

star star star star star

Summer Concord, NH

That’s my second year with Amberter And this insurance it so good . They have a rewards card I recommend this insurance

3 years ago

star star star star star

Julie Evansville, IN

My experience has been great in terms of coverage and customer service. I do not have anything negative to say.

3 years ago

star star star star star

Susan S. Joplin, MO

I am in Missouri and have had excellent health care coverage and customer service provided by Ambetter.

4 years ago

star star star star star

Chesnel Joseph Lake Worth, FL

Good service and easy premium pay online or over phone ,with them i don't pay for my medication but i don't know for future

4 years ago

star star star star star

Stephanie H. Porter, TX

I'v never been happier with an insurance company. Ambetter has come through for us MANY times.

3 years ago

star star star star star

S North Las Vegas, NV

My husband and I live in North Las Vegas and we are very satisfied with AMBETTER.

3 years ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

Louisena Osias Tallahassee, FL

Customer service is amazing! I also love how it so easy to access my plan in order to pay my premium.

1 year ago

check_circle

Review Source

star star star star star

michelle l pierce Gilbert, AZ

This is my medical insurance company, They have gone above great to help me any time I have had an issue.

4 years ago

star star star star star

Edone Fleites Dallas, TX

They are very friendly and helpful , i like them.

2 years ago