Assurant Solutions Logo

Assurant Solutions

Is This Your Business?
star star_border star_border star_border star_border

2.2

Overall Score

LAST UPDATED: November 18th, 2022

Assurant Solutions is an industry leading insurance company headquartered in New York City. It has been in business since 1892 and offers many kinds of insurance products internationally, including mobile device protection and extended car warranties.

Top Ranked Companies

thumb_up

The Good

  • Service Contract Plans for Specific Motor Vehicle Types
  • International Reach
  • Community Involvement

Service Contract Plans for Specific Motor Vehicle Types

Assurant Solutions provides a wide range of warranty plans for regular automobiles, recreational vehicles, watercraft, and motorcycles. Whether a consumer seeks an extended warranty beyond a factory warranty for a car or motorcycle, they can find coverage with Assurant Solutions.

International Reach

Assurant Solutions offers its products and services in 21 countries across North and South America, Europe, Australia, and Asia. Customers across the globe may be able to purchase a car warranty policy through Assurant Solutions.

Community Involvement

Assurant Solutions is a service provider that values community engagement. It encourages community service and donates to charitable organizations through the Assurant Foundation. The company also cares about the environment and has several initiatives to minimize its footprint, like recycling, monitoring power usage, and encouraging carpooling.

thumb_down

The Bad

  • Warranty Plan Specifics Unavailable Online

Warranty Plan Specifics Unavailable Online

Potential customers are unable to see warranty plans with coverage and benefit information or receive quotes online from Assurant Solutions. Specific information about per month cost and terms of coverage, like what the warranty covers, what is considered normal wear and tear, how long the warranty period is, or how extensive the coverage for electrical breakdown, is not readily available online. 

Additionally, specifics about the kinds of warranties offered, like whether Assurant Solutions offers basic warranty, limited warranty, lifetime warranty, powertrain warranty or limited powertrain warranty, are also unavailable online. Customers must contact Assurant Solutions themselves to learn more about what they offer.

gavel

The Bottom Line

A vehicle service contract offers peace of mind and financial security to car owners because they help offset some expensive repair costs for certain car repairs. Assurant Solutions offers vehicle protection warranties for almost any kind of vehicle. It also offers warranty coverage internationally. 

However, its contract options and benefits are not readily available online. Customers must work with an Assurant Solutions representative to get more information about its vehicle warranty plans are. When considering warranty companies, Assurant Solutions is an insurance and warranty provider worth taking the time to investigate for people in and out of the United States.

View Best Car Warranty Companies

Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Star Rating

1.1

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

10 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

0%

4 grade

0%

3 grade

0%

2 grade

10%

1 grade

90%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Quality

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Service

star star_half star_border star_border star_border

Trustworthiness

star star_half star_border star_border star_border
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Chris Douangmala San Francisco, CA

If i could give 0 stars i would but unfortunately i cant. This company has to be the worst company I have ever dealt with. My corvette has some issues that the warranty would cover so I decided to use them. They are making me go to the closest sister company which is a Ford dealership. So I called Ford to schedule an appointment and they said they won't work on my car because they don't have a specialist to work on my corvette. So I called back my car extended warranty and told them what's going on. They don't even know what to do. I dont understand why i just cant take it to a Chevrolet dealership down the street and this would have been resolved by now. I been without a car for 5 days now and it's about to be the Holidays which I doubt they will get it figured out by then. Nice job ruining my Holiday. STAY FAR AWAY FROM THEM IF YOU CAN.

1 week ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Joanna Bryant Bullhead City, AZ

On January 26, 2022, the “check engine” light came on in my 2017 Ford Fusion during a drive from Kingman, where I had been prospecting property for a client, to my home in Mohave Valley, AZ. I arrived home within 30 minutes of the light coming on and my husband used our electronic diagnostic tool to retrieve the error code. The error code it gave us was P0304, which told us that cylinder four was not firing. We inspected and replaced the spark plugs, at our own expense believing this to be one of our required maintenance steps. Unfortunately, this did not resolve the issue and took the resolution beyond our ability to fix it, per our Extended Warranty contract with Assurant. We contacted Assurant and they located a shop that both worked with Assurant claims and could do inspection/repair. We were, and are, still covered by the warranty according to all known contractual requirements. Assurant’s representative sent us to Sun Auto in Henderson as the closest mechanic to us. We are in Mohave Valley, AZ so this is an almost 2-hour drive. We rented a car transporter from U-Haul at our own expense and towed the Fusion to Sun Auto. We have meticulously cared for the Fusion. It is imperative to my livelihood as a Real Estate Agent, REALTOR®, and previously as a Grocery Manager at Safeway with authorization to travel during quarantine since I worked at three locations, as needed, for years which due to my house location often involved crossing California state lines. If this vehicle is out of order my ability to do my job and earn an income is hugely stunted. Calculating my current loss of income is complex and exponential with each passing day. I’ve always tracked my mileage and oil changes on my calendar for review come tax time, unfortunately, the supervisor, Don, only told my husband that the calendar images would be acceptable forms of proof of maintenance after we allowed them to remove the valve cover. At the time when we allowed the valve cover removal, I could only produce two receipts from the company I go to for services in my small town. Not only did they rarely give receipts, but the ones they do give are literally just receipts of payment with no identifying markings to tie to a particular vehicle. Randy, the mechanic from Sun Auto who removed the valve cover did so because Assurant had agreed to take the inspection as an alternative to the oil change paper receipts. We approved the removal based on that agreement. Randy told us the motor looked great and that all signs indicated a well-maintained vehicle. He took two pictures that he sent to both my husband and Assurant. After all of this was said and done, Assurant denied the claim for lack of proof of maintenance. We were shocked that they would do this based on what they kept saying was a “team from CarMax” having looked at the pictures. No one other than Randy had physically inspected the motor. I sent the images to several master mechanics that I hold in high regard. They all came to the same conclusion as Randy had: the vehicle showed clear signs of maintenance and Assurant was just looking for a reason to deny the claim. The multiple conversations we have had with Assurant representatives have only clouded the issue with information, such as that the “team from CarMax” originally noted that the motor looked good, and then later it was changed without further review. Don, the supervisor with Assurant, told us it was their assessor who changed the inspection results, not a “Team from CarMax”. At that time Randy was the only one who had physically inspected the Fusion. With Assurant declining our claim, we were forced to foot the entire bill and bring the Fusion back to our little town. We have since placed it in the hands of a reputable local master mechanic who is thoroughly investigating the situation that caused the motor failure. He has also agreed with Randy, with Sun Auto, that the issue was not a result of maintenance. He is currently looking into the extensive list of known issues with this model: TSB-20-2100. I need my car back. I have three boys and a very travel extensive career; I cannot go without transportation. We were aware of only one recall on this vehicle and had it fixed, now I’m learning that there are several faults that have been found and that some of those could lead to the current issue with the car. I am awaiting the results from Jesse, at The Bent Wrench, and then I will have to move forward accordingly. This has all just been excessively stressful in an already stressful time. Assurant, please resolve this issue for all our benefit. I cannot continue to lose business over this issue that should never have been an issue. Joanna Bryant

9 months ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Otto von Fehlsoße Dallas, TX

As others have noted, Assurant is a complete and utter scam. Bought the platinum extended vehicle warranty (8 years/100,000 miles) and have filed three claims now. The first two were denied out of hand and the third has been in limbo for several days now. I sat with the dealership repair advisor for several hours while we sat on hold for two hours and the Assurant representative didn't care what the mechanic said needed to be done to repair my vehicle. After demanding that video and pictures be uploaded for their review, we discovered that the email address given was bogus. The next day, my dealership called and sat on hold for almost two hours again and were finally given the correct email address. Since uploading the pictures and video, no response has been received from Assurant. Horrible customer service and a bad all around deal. Avoid them...

1 year ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

ProsePoeter Akron, OH

If I could give negative stars, I would. HORRIBLE company, HORRIBLE customer service. This company is beyond awful, and I would NEVER recommend them to anyone. I had one repair covered under my warranty that I paid for when I bought my car when there should have been more. The other repairs that should have been paid for were paid for by me. When I wrote to them on December 18, 2019 to speak to someone regarding these issues, I did not receive a response. A follow up email on December 19, 2019 also went unanswered. When they did call, they hung up on me and never called back. On January 20, 2020, I sent a follow up e-mail including the previous two, and finally received a response on January 21. The gentlemen, Brian (if that's what you can call him) was very rude and condescending to me. He did not listen to my issues, and also did not read the e-mails I sent, even though it was "escalated up to him." He kept talking over me and saying "per the language of your agreement." I received absolutely no help or solutions to my issues with them. I would never recommend them nor give them any kind of positive review. I would like my money paid back to me that I paid for the warranty, as I did not receive any of the benefits that I was to receive. DO NOT USE ASSURANT. It is a scam and they're a horrible company.

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

joseph hibdon Crosby, TX

this company is a joke! Please do not purchase their extended warranty. I have spent 4 hours on the phone with "ivory" and "juan" trying to get a simple claim done. They were both very nice, but I asked them both if they bought a car would they purchase their company's service..... their response was "I chose not to answer that question." If their own employees don't trust the company you shouldn't either . neither of them would give me their last name or transfer me to powers to be. I am going to pay $6,200 tomorrow for an over heating issue that this company will not cover. bad business and they will go out of business.

3 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Vicki Tobel Greeley, CO

They do not call the service facility back, they state that this is the shop's responsibility. For example I sent photos of the failed component as requested, and instead of calling back like a normal professional business they tell us we need to check back. So they will only cover a certain amount of the repair, and also take hours of time that the shop does not get compensated for. Like most warranty companies they want to pay as little as possible and make life as hard as possible.

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Sari Frias-Estell Spring, TX

This company is the worst. RUN AWAY!!!! Customer service is very poor or nonexistent. It was that bad that I called USAA and make a formal complaint to them about it this affiliated company. The account payables department is very rude. I tried to make a formal complaint with their supervisor and never hear from them again. DO NOT HIRE THIS COMPANY PERIOD. VETERANS DONT MAKE BUSINESS WITH THESE THIEVES!!!!!

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Kristopher Elliott Portland, OR

Terrible. My repair shop was on hold for 2 weeks and a total of 12 hours and could still not submit a claim. Really shocking customer service, happy to take money but won't provide any service. You suck!

2 years ago

star star_border star_border star_border star_border

Joe Huth Littleton, CO

Save your money and just pay to fix your own car... Nothing is covered.

2 years ago