American Cruise Lines Logo

American Cruise Lines

Is This Your Business?
star star star star star_half
LAST UPDATED: November 28th, 2022
American Cruise Lines is a historical tour cruise line based out of Connecticut. Cruises are offered year round and last 7-14 days. The company's ships travel to Alaska and the Pacific Northwest, up and down the Mississippi River, and across the Northeast and Southeast United States. American cruise lines also offers special theme cruises such as their Lewis and Clark Cruise, Civil War Cruise, and Mark Twain Tribute Cruise.

Top Ranked Companies

thumb_up

The Good

  • Safety
  • Great amenities
  • Dining options

Safety

American Cruise Lines, Inc.'s ships are equipped with safety, navigation and communications systems, including defibrillators and oxygen. Many systems on the ships have back-up redundancy for safety and convenience. All American Cruise Lines, Inc.'s ships are U.S.-flagged, certified and regularly inspected by the U.S. Coast Guard, U.S. Public Health Service and the Federal Communications Commission.

Great Amenities

American Cruise Lines features spacious staterooms at more than 220 square feet each. These staterooms provide private balconies and large picture windows with a spectacular view of the sea and landscape. Each room includes the following amenities:
  • Twin or King-sized bed
  • Twice-daily stateroom service
  • Remote-controlled satellite TV w/DVD player
  • Internet access
  • Individual climate control system
  • Writing desk & stationery
  • Hair dryer
  • Spacious closet and four-drawer dresser and dual night tables

In addition to the spacious staterooms, there are amenities relatively standard on all American cruise line ships. While there may be one or two exceptions, for the most part American cruise lines feature the following amenities to their guests:
  • Twice-daily stateroom service
  • Twin or King-sized be
  • Remote-controlled satellite TV w/DVD player
  • Internet access
  • Individual climate control system
  • Writing desk & stationery
  • Hair dryer
  • Spacious closet and four-drawer dresser and dual night tables

Dining Options

Dinner options include local fare from the port destinations during the length of the cruise and the restaurants cater to any special dietary needs of its guests. Enjoy freshly baked breads and muffins to start your day and steamed lobsters, beef, and lamb during the evening hours. Lunch options feature sandwiches, soups, and salads and delicious pies for dessert. Chilled red and white wines are served each day during lunch and dinner. Dress codes are resort casual and seating is unassigned.

Lounge Areas

The American Cruise Line ships also contain oversized lounges for guests to relax, socialize, and play games. These lounges have a well-stocked library and internet stations. Wifi use is free for guests to enjoy. Guests are also welcome to bring visitors onboard.
thumb_down

The Bad

  • No activities for children
  • Offshore excursions
  • Seasickness

No Activities for Children

American Cruise Lines is designed for older adults without children. There are no activities or programs for children. Entertainment options for adults are limited to nightly lectures from local experts, offshore excursions, and chatting with other fellow passengers during the evening cocktail hour. While the line does serve alcohol during lunch and dinner, it does not sell alcoholic beverages to guests or visitors.

Offshore Excursions

The cruise line ships only set sail twice a day, once in the morning and once in the afternoon. The rest of the time, the ships are tied up at docks for offshore excursions. While the offshore excursions are relatively inexpensive, they are limited in options and consist mainly of tours walks with local historians and bus tours to museums. These excursions range in price from $20-$75.

Seasickness

American Cruise Line ships are built to rarely move during sea travel and minimizing seasickness. However, the small sizes of the ships and lack of stabilizers do create uncomfortable motions during some exposed passages. For guests not accustomed to cruising, these sea motions can be quite unpleasant.

The decor on the American Cruise Line ships resembles that of a generic hotel chain's front lobby. Color palettes throughout the ships are muted and plain.The biggest upside is the main lounge with tall windows that provides the perfect vantage point for passing scenery outside the ship. Luxury amenities are limited when compared to their cruise lines in the industry.

Deposit

There is a $500 deposit required per person in order to confirm any reservation for a cruise lasting less than nine days. A $900 per person deposit is required for all trips lasting ten or more days. Complete payment for any booked cruise is to be made 90 days prior to the boarding date. Single travelers are welcome. Shore excursions typically cost $20 to $70 and can be paid onboard near the end of your cruise.
gavel

The Bottom Line

American Cruise Lines is an optimal choice for older adults without children. While these guests are not excluded from booking a reservation, this cruise line is not designed for families with young children or teenagers as there are no entertainment options or activities created for them. The cruises and offshore excursions are reasonably priced. However, entertainment options are limited. The historical tours and evening lectures are perfect for history and culture enthusiasts.The dress code is resort casual and the ships offer open seating in restaurants, which is a big plus for guests who love to meet new people and socialize. Fares include passage, dining, snacks, and complimentary cocktails. The ships are small and intimate, allowing guests to move around easily in a relaxed atmosphere. There are little complaints filed against American Cruise Lines when compared to other excursion companies in their industry.
Was this content helpful?
thumb_up Yes thumb_down No

Star Rating

4.4

star star star star star_half

183 Reviews

Review Breakdown

5 grade

67%

4 grade

19%

3 grade

8%

2 grade

2%

1 grade

4%

Sentiment Criteria

Value

star star star star star_half

Quality

star star star star star_half

Service

star star star star star_half

Trustworthiness

star star star star star_half
cancel

Filter by:

arrow_drop_down

Sort by:

arrow_drop_down
info
star star star star star

Rachel Heldt Wausau, WI

I thoroughly enjoyed my recent cruise, Exploring Chesapeake Bay, with American Cruise Lines aboard the American Independence. This is a small ship that accommodates hundreds rather than thousands of visitors. I liked this size because I could get to know other passengers on board. At meal times there was no assigned seating and I liked conversing with many different people on board. The food was excellent! Each day we were given a menu with at least three choices for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. I was told that if none of the three appealed, I could ask for something else. But this was never necessary. I ate up all the wonderful seafood we were offered and was never disappointed. In fact, my favorite was walnut-encrusted halibut which was white, firm, and delicious. For entertainment, we heard from a historian who told us all about what had taken place in Jamestown, Colonial Williamsburg, Cambridge, St.Michaels, and Annapolis. These talks were not only entertaining, they helped me appreciate each of our daily excursions even more. Tipping is not encouraged, pushed, or even mentioned at American Cruise Lines. I did choose to tip three of the many outstanding employees because they were so attentive, friendly, helpful, and fun. . Alcohol flowed freely aboard ship. Passengers could ask for it at lunch and dinner, enjoy it at "happy Hour" and again at the evening entertainment. There was mo extra charge for the drinks.We had different musical entertainment each night for an hour or so. I especially liked listening to Robert Yonksie as he sang so many tunes long enjoyed by people my age. One night we got to hear Nathan Richardson as "Frederick Douglass." You would have thought this famous historical figure was standing right in the room, that's how authentic his performance. was. I am an active person so I signed up for excursions every day and I was not disappointed by any of them. Most of these cost extra but I did not think the prices were exorbitant. They included transportation to the venue, guides while there, and time to explore on our own in most cases. One of my favorites was a boat trip to Tangier Island which was included in the cruise. This tiny island is losing acreage every year due to weathering and erosion so I wanted to see it before it disappears. I enjoyed an excellent crab cake dinner while there. In summary, I had lots of fun and would go again tomorrow on another American Cruise Lines trip.

2 days ago

star star star star star

Olga Larrumbide San Antonio, TX

Our First Cruise Ever! We were highly impressed with our luxurious trip aboard the American Melody! From the “Grand Welcome Aboard Champagne Toast” to the exceptional daily services from the entire Crew and Shore Support Staff, it was nothing less than First Class! We will always treasure our first Cruise (10/14 -10/21/22) exploring the Upper Mississippi River in the Heartland of America. We also enjoyed taking videos and photos of the beautiful Fall Foliage from our Private Balcony. We loved every moment of our Cruise. We are looking forward to our second Cruise in May of 2023 aboard the American Jazz as we journey through Columbia & Snake Rivers. Olga & Rich L., San Antonio, Texas

3 weeks ago

star star star star star

Katharine Welin Carrabelle, FL

"Why Not Choose The Best?" Attracted by an ACL brochure of a 3 week cruise up the entire Mississippi River, in 2017, we booked it, on a paddlewheeler, and got "hooked"! So amazing, that we went again in September 2022, on the brand new ACL Symphony Riverboat, plush in every regard! Fewer than 200 passengers, our country, our language, our history, not far from home, no passports needed, an American family building their own boats in Maryland, offering an "at home" feeling!

1 month ago

star star star star star

Michael LaBelle Rapid City, SD

This has been our third cruise with ACL and the service has been great. The staff has been warm and welcoming. They have gone 'out of the box' of standard amenities as we like Diet Pepsi rather than Coke products and I like orange marmalade with breakfast toast. They cannot get it in individual packets so they get in a jar and serve it in a serving container at breakfast. That is thinking out of the box.

1 month ago

star star star star star

Diane Schwob Zubrick Dayton, OH

What could be better than cruising the Mississippi in with the glorious colors of fall? This cruise was beautiful and relaxing and was a Mark Twain cruise. An actor portraying Mark Twain gave talks about the river and his time. There was also a tea with him for a more intimate setting. A husband and wife talked about the river and entertained at night. Local musical talent was also brought aboard along with a speaker portraying Molly Brown. There were varied arts and crafts every day with a resident artist as well as many complimentary shore excursions at each port. Three American Cruise line buses met the passengers at each town to take you on excursions. This was a busy cruise with a port every day and 21 locks to go through! Many times, there was a welcoming group at each port to give out maps and answer any questions about their town. These cruises show small town America at its finest! We were aboard the Melody, a beautiful boat launched in 2021. The food was delicious and varied with an excellent wait staff to cater to your needs. The cabin was spacious with a balcony to watch the fall colors and all those locks!

3 months ago

star star star star star

Richard O'Bryan Coraopolis, PA

Best cruise company of any we have ever sailed on, including Caribbean and Alaska cruises on larger ships. The entire crew are more friendlier, and due to the smaller number of passengers (max of 200), the relationship between passengers and crew is so much closer. And because of this, the crew will drop whatever they are doing and immediately take action if one needs assistance of any kind.

3 months ago

star star star star star

surfergal Selbyville, DE

We visited/toured many interesting cities along the rivers showcasing wineries, museums and many locks and hydroelectric plants/dams. Some of the tours we visited are shown below: Richland, WA – We toured the REACH Museum. This museum discusses the Manhattan Project and the Hanford Research Facility. It also covers the local geographical features and history. A very interesting museum. We also toured the Sacajawea State Park on the confluence of the Snake and Columbia Rivers. This location also includes a little museum. A good place to learn about Sacajawea and her involvement in the Lewis and Clark “Corps of Discovery” in 1803 – 1806. The Dalles, OR – In The Dalles, we walked into town and toured the National Neon Sign Museum. Later in the day, we took The Dalles Loop, a bus ride around the town provided by the cruise line. Stevenson, WA – We took the Multnomah Falls trip in the morning and the Bonneville Dam Tour in the afternoon. The water falls are very impressive; great place to take photos. I went all the way to the top of the falls and the view was amazing!!! The Dam is a very significant hydroelectric plant along the Columbia River. It's a very interesting tour. It also included a trip to a fish hatchery showcasing some of the largest sturgeon around. Kalama, WA – In Kalama, we took the bus trip to Mount St. Helens. It's a 4 to 5 hour round trip and it was a phenomenal stop! Astoria, OR – The dock is next to a interesting museum and a Coast Guard Station. We took the trip to Cape Disappointment in the morning. This is the end of the road (river). The drive is fantastic and the visitor center very well done. It's larger than you think so plan on at least an hour in the area. In the afternoon, we toured Fort Clatsop, the last winter stopping place for Lewis and Clark. The fort is a full sized replica and the museum is very nice. American Cruise Lines provided bus tours to get to the excursions and always had water on board for everyone~ The fees for the museums and bus trips, in most cases, were included in the cruise cost. On board staff tips were also included In the cost of the cruise. Overall, we learned a lot about the Lewis and Clark expedition from the historian on board, the museums and local guides. You will learn about the extensive history and geography of Washington and Oregon states on this trip. The Harmony staff were wonderful … always ready to help. The cruise was great. You will see many beautiful areas, museums, churches and houses along the rivers and you will meet super nice people on the ship, both staff and cruisers. The other cruise guests were professionals so I found them to be very interesting! You will also walk a good amount! Bring good walking shoes. American really took good care of us; they were always there to make sure everything was taken care of during the trip and on the excursions. They really took the time and effort to show how much they cared. A great trip and the first of we hope, many, aboard American Cruise Lines! Embarkation 5 out of 5 Loved the embarkation experience because it was very efficient and quick. There was no long wait lines and the entire crew was cheerful, helpful and cordial! Ship experiences Food and Dining 5 out of 5 We had never been on a river cruise before so there was only one main dining room. We had an outdoor cookout area on the upper deck for the afternoon and we had a snack area on a lower deck. The ship's food was just fabulous! I enjoyed everything and the desserts were exceptional. In addition, when we were in a port with a specific fruit or vegetable they always had something on the menu from that area! Another interesting aspect about American cruise line was the drinks. You could have a coke, a rum and coke, a vodka tonic, beer or wine or just about anything and there was no extra charge. I love having a glass of wine at dinner and they had their own exquisite ones for your pleasure! It was certainly a nice touch that I enjoyed! They also provided room service, too! Onboard Activities 5 out of 5 Fitness center was great to have onboard, but just walking on the decks was terrific exercise! Since we were traveling the Lewis and Clarke expedition route, we had many interesting lectures on the pioneers, the area we traversed, the animals, the building techniques used and most importantly, the indigenous Indian peoples of the area. We also had an awesome artist aboard who taught watercolor and everyone's art really came out phenomenally.... Entertainment

4 months ago

star star star star star

Diane Palley-Mc Donald Phoenix, AZ

I've never been to the Northwest USA before and this was the perfect way to see it! I loved the excursions. The busses were upscale and everything was so organized. I also enjoyed all the beautiful River Views as we went from one place to another. The Marine Museum in Astoria was fantastic. I have also never seen the type of hotel we toured., The staff on the cruise was GREAT and the entertainment was so much fun! The Cruise director is always visible and attentive to your every need. The Bartenders were great and the cookie times were so perfect! Delicious warm fresh baked cookies! I loved the Elton John night so much and that entertainer Tony was Fantastic. Also the duo who played with Merle Haggard for many years should have the piano players fingers in the hall of fame! The small cruise ambience was perfect for me and I met so many nice travelers

5 months ago

star star star star star

Emperor Norton San Francisco, CA

Review: American Cruise Lines, American Song, June 5 through June 12, 2022 Our experience on American Cruise Line’s ship the American Song was a wonderful experience. It was both relaxing, enjoyable, and fun to be pampered. The scenery of mountains, as well as seeing the Columbia and Snake Rivers was beautiful and at times breath-taking. We enjoyed waking up to sit out on our deck each morning to watch the sun rise as the world came alive. Each day, being lovers of history, we discussed, planned, and looked forward to our daily shore excursions, both planned and unplanned. Our meals were excellent and delicious. The crew was friendly, helpful, and anticipated every need. Hotel General Manager Kobi D P was very friendly and although very busy with his hands on approach to operations, always made time to greet us, say hello, and offered helpful information or advice. Cruise Director Olivia F, was fun, entertaining, and offered a lot of energy to activities throughout the day. What might have been a boring process getting off or on a bus, was made delightful as Olivia entertained us all with her clowning theatrics. Each evening we enjoyed Jason and Jack making our cocktails in the lounge and were delighted to listen to the evening entertainment by the talented Laura S and Bill W with their beautiful and mesmerizing music. Our room was clean, well serviced, and comfortable. Kudos to the housekeeping for always keeping our stay, pleasurable, and well stocked. Overall, an excellent experience to see parts of America we’ve never seen before. The shore excursions were fun and informative. If you0’re looking for a break from the mega-ships and want to explore America, we’d recommend American Cruise Lines.

5 months ago

star star star star star

Patty lockett Ocean City, MD

If you want a river cruise where they know your name and always provide excellent personal service, you found the right cruise line. Our cabin, meals and excursions were top notched. Special drink request was completed with a smile. The Historians who presented great talks appeared to love their job. We were so pleased that 8 of us booked another cruise together and before the cruise we were strangers.

4 months ago

star star star star star

Peg Kelly Pinckney, MI

This is the Best Cruise we have ever been on. From our first step onto the ship being greeted by the Captain, Cruise Director, and all the staff we knew we had not made a mistake in booking a cruise through this line. Everyone is so kind and helpful. I love the relaxing laid back feeling. Cocktail hour with the fellow guests is fun. The Cruise Directors are a blast so funny and enjoyable. Our Guide David was so informative loved listening to him. I learned a lot. We had such an amazing time. We’ve already booked our next cruise.

4 months ago

star star star star star

Janette thibodeau Land O' Lakes, FL

Sailing with a smaller group of passengers brings more personal experiences. Friendships are created, leisure times are welcomed , activities are more available without hustle and bustle. This is certainly the cruise you should take for excitement and peacefulness combined. Dining is excellent , cabins are extraordinary , tours are superb and educational and amenities are generous.

5 months ago

star star star star star

joanne manzi Chicago, IL

American Cruise Lines is a great opportunity for solo travelers -the only cruise line that offers single rate rooms and 5-star accommodations - all inclusive from early morning breakfast to after dinner. After three cruises, all of your excursions are free and a free cruise for #11. And, if you book a future cruise on board, the discounts are great. A great way to explore the USA on the many rivers throughout the land and meeting great passengers from all over the USA.

5 months ago

star star star star star

Sharon Camera MI

We love American Cruise Lines. We appreciate the smaller shifts and getting to know all of the people on the ship. We also really enjoyed the excursions and the speakers that are very educational.

3 months ago

star star star star star

Mike

We've been on 10 of their small-ship cruises and enjoyed them all. The best one was the inside passage of Alaska and the second best was the Columbia/Snake Rivers trip. We like the food and the small number of traverlers, typically 75 to 175 or so.

4 months ago

star star star star star

RLF Ocala, FL

very nice rooms, nice balcony, friendly staff, food was good, tours were good, could have had vegetarian menu for my wife, I have been on a lot of ocean cruises there was no movement compared to them. music entertainers were good

4 months ago

star star star star star

cruisetalk Deptford, NJ

They have small ship cruising down to a science! It is perfect for 50 plus guests because there are no children (I have grandchildren but I enjoy different activities with them!) and they plan all the excursions for you - most are included in the price!

5 months ago

star star star star star

Jerry Jensen St. George, UT

We had a FANTASTIC experience on the Columbia River Cruise. The excursions were great and very educational. Food was over the top great! Our cabin was clean and comfortable. The entertainment and area talks were excellent. We signed up for 2 more this fall.

5 months ago

star star star star star

James Newman Grand Blanc, MI

American Cruise Lines travel in and around the U. S. taking you to many interesting places on each voyage. The services is first rate. The crew is friendly and efficient. The boats are neat and clean. Shore excursions are well planned and go to interesting places.

5 months ago

star star star star star

KC Gray Siebert San Diego, CA

I sailed aboard the American Harmony from Portland to Clarkston and back retracing the trail of Lewis and Clark, Mar 30-April 18, 2022 . It was an amazing cruise with daily tours, onboard enrichment series of speakers and art classes. The staff is attentive, fun and works hard to make sure each cruiser has a delightful time. They followed all Covid protocols.

6 months ago

star star star star star

Kathiej Little River, SC

I love this cruise line. I've never had such great service from the crew. Everyone goes out of his way to make sure you're happy and have everything you need. The boat is spotless and the food is wonderful. Most of the excursions are included in the price, as are the drinks and activities. I will definitely continue to cruise with them. It's also a great way to see the country without driving there.

6 months ago

star star star star star

Herman Martin Manchester, TN

Enjoyed the hospitality of crew and facilities aboard boat. However, the lack of WiFi was missed during the cruise. Some confusion at the hotel in New Orleans was also a factor.

4 months ago

star star star star star

Frank Marx Middletown, DE

The staff was always helpful and courteous. nothing was to much to ask them. The food was excellent. Happy hour was a great time to meet new people. our cruise was everything you could ask for and more.

4 months ago

star star star star star

Daniel Horn Bensalem, PA

Our trip on the American Star was great. We cruised the Chesapeake for a week stopping at many places. The food was better than great, the crew was very helpful, we had a wonderful trip and would do it again.

5 months ago

star star star star star

Jim Maness Baltimore, MD

The staff is very professional and courteous. The staff does everything in their power to please the customer. If there is a problem, they fix it as best they can. Recycle as much as possible. There is an enormous amount of water in plastic bottles given out for excursions and a lot come back to the ship.

6 months ago

star star star star star

It's No Fluke Fort Lauderdale, FL

Traveling on the “Star” on the Eastern Seaboard was a great experience. I loved seeing the towns from the water where we played golf. We did have some water level issues but ACL always does everything to keep us safe. I really appreciate that. Learning the history of the area and the food is always exceptional.

6 months ago

star star star star star

Diane Whitney Smith Key Largo, FL

I have traveled on American CruiseLine 7 times. Every trip has been spectacular. The last trip I went on was to Maine on a lobster cruise. There were only 80 passengers on board. We 7 ports and ate lobster almost every day. The entertainment was great. I highly recommend this company.

6 months ago

star star star star star

Linda Omaha, NE

I have cruised with American Cruise Lines twice & have another one booked. Booking my cruise by phone was easy, thanks to the Cruise Specialists. Aboard ship, all of the crew were professional and pleasant. The dining room servers were very personable & made our meals (which were delicious!!) enjoyable. The on-board presentations were interesting and the entertainment was great. Rooms were clean & kept that way by being serviced twice a day. Overall, I have been impressed with American Cruise Lines because they treat their guests like each one is important to them. My most recent cruise was interrupted by unforseen circumstances. The hotel manager and cruise director arranged alternate activities for us. Because this cruise was shortened by a few days, American Cruise Lines offered us a very generous discount to be used on another cruise. In this day and age when customer service seems to have disappeared, I can verify that customer service is still very important to American Cruise Lines.

2 years ago

star star star star star

Wallingford Wallingford, CT

Will be taking our fifth cruise with American this Spring. From the moment we hand our luggage to the crew in the red shirts we receive the kid glove treatment in every way possible. We immediately relax, and we feel AT HOME. We are not part of a mindless herd; the size of the ship and the level of service we enjoy make it the most genteel way we know of relaxing and enjoying the whole cruising experience. All of the amenities we want, none of the ones we're never going to indulge in in the first place. We feel safe, coddled, catered to. Different people want different things..I have no desire to get in a hot tub with 14 strangers, or have the smoke cleaned out of my clothes daily from walking through a Casino. A smiling face without a hand held out for a gratuity. Not a spiked heel, or a wife-beater t-shirt in sight. I often find myself looking around at my surroundings, sighing happily and thinking "how nice". American Cruise Lines is perfect for us.

2 years ago

star star star star star

Sharon McNamara Bowie, MD

My experience started off not good as I had bought a ticket thru ACL to go to the Grand Old Opry. Mistake. The ticket was not in my folder when I got to the Gaylord HOtel. They said it would be at the ticket booth. It wasn't. Four of us didn't have tickets and we were in the heat for over an hour while they tried to figure out where the tickets were for us. I had my receipt fortunately. They were all over the place looking for the group coming in from St. Louis. 10 minutes before the show started people started coming in from the buses. The people from the Grand Ole Opry ran down to the buses and got our tickets. I HIGHLY recomend you come up with a better solution to this. It's not fun not having a ticket in your hand after you've paid for it. It was so HOT and just frustrating. The trip was enjoyable and I did appreciate ACL providing us a hotel room at the end because the river had flooded and we would have had a 2 hour bus ride to the airport coming home. We were told that several had canceled going from St. Louis to Nashville so rooms were available. Leaving for the airport at 4 am would not have been good for anyone.

3 years ago

star star star star star

Ron Cooper Round Rock, TX

We thoroughly enjoyed our Puget Sound cruise In September 2019. The entire crew was very focused on guest comfort. The attention to detail was excellent. The food was very good and selections were fine except too much spinach. I have 2 constructive criticisms. 1) concerns the gangway for boarding and exiting the ship. It is a little shaky. There was always a crew member on the dock ready to assist and their assistance was needed at times. The gangway has railings but not at the dock end. I would like to see railings added at the dock end of the gangway. 2) I’d like to have a nightlight in the bathroom.

3 years ago

star star star star star

TP Beacon Falls, CT

This is the third cruise my wife and I have taken with American Cruise Lines. Each one seems to get better and better. This last one was the inside passage in Alaska. Every day was chock full of amazing scenery and magnificent wildlife. We saw bear, moose, eagles, otters, seal, sea lions, whales and countless other bird life. The small size of the ship afforded us a very up close view of countless glaciers. The food of course was wonderful. Also the ship offered complimentary wine and beer at lunch a happy hour from 5:30 to 7:00. Wine or cocktails at dinner and finally another happy hour at 8:30. The age demographics do tend to lean towards the older traveler, but my wife and find the passengers to not only be accomplished in their respective fields, but very interesting people. I highly recommend American Cruise Lines.

3 years ago

star star star star star

Galen Fishers, NY

Sales, accounting, back office stuff smooth and quick Included tours appropriate and interesting Mgt staff outstanding; Jaimie and Richard extended themselves to ensure a great passenger experience. Food was very good but not quite up to the Mississippi cruises. interesting menu change of two featured offerings with repeated standard ones. Only bailed to BLT once. Wait staff above average with trying and being pleasant. Interesting change to concurrent cocktail / dining hour - worked okay. Entertainment - a challenge for a small boat, enjoyed the interactive "cowboy" best, the 4 saxes were good but more of a concert feel. Staff scrambled well to handle cancellations. Red Lion excellent pre-cruise lodging. Good enough to reserve #4 cruise.

3 years ago

star star star star star

Arlene Crosson

This was my first cruise with American Cruise Lines and it won't be my last. Every member of the crew made our journey carefree and fun. The accommodations, food, service, shore excursions and overall atmosphere on the ship was excellent. I was a little apprehensive because the Mississippi River was at flood level, but we managed to visit all but one of the places listed on our itinerary. We did have to dock at some alternate sites, but every effort was made to get to the rest of our itinerary. Leaving at the end of our trip was sad but we had a fun bus tour of New Orleans with Don Downs and a drop off at our airport. Don't hesitate to take a trip on American Cruise Lines.

3 years ago

star star star star star

Paula Kunkel Irvine, CA

This was our second cruise with American Cruise Lines. The boat was rather new and beautifully decorated. Our room was clean, quiet, and convenient. The food was beautifully served and delicious. There were ample selections at each meal and we appreciated that we were able to have 1/2 portions. The new snack bar service on the upper deck was a fun and convenient way to get a lighter meal. Our main server, Patricia, was exceptional. We were very please with the itinerary because of our interest in the history of Lewis and Clark. The only time we felt a little rushed was at Cape Disappointment. Perhaps that should be scheduled earlier in the day and maybe precede Fort Clapsop.

3 years ago

star star star star star

Joan Mattson Cedar Rapids, IA

We have traveled with ACL to the San Juan Islands and the SE United States coast. We are scheduled for another cruise soon. Small ship cruising with them has been wonderful. Attention to our needs by wait staff, cruise staff and housekeeping have all been very good. Our rooms have all been clean and well kept while cruising. I realize this all looks glowing and it really is! We have been on the big ships but just do not feel that is a good way to spend our money.

2 years ago

star star star star star

CAROL A JORDAN Randallstown, MD

I have previously done two cruises with American and have another coming up shortly. Their staff is wonderful, the food is delicious, the tours are unbelievable. I'm a solo traveler and couldn't be more comfortable than I am with American. I feel safe and happy whether I'm on the ship or out and about on a tour. I wouldn't travel in the US with any other cruise line!

2 years ago

star star star star star

Thelma Jean Gosney Belton, TX

We Love the meeting of new friends on board American Cruise Ships. Being older we are able to get around to all activity where everyone is helpful and nice. We have seen up close mountains, whales, bears and dolphins. So many things can be seen from these small ships. Hope to celebrate our 70 th wedding Anniversary on board an American Cruise Ship. Mrs Gosney

2 years ago

star star star star star

S dele Tucson, AZ

A wonderful cruise line. If you like small ships beautiful sailing and a staff who truly understand and embrace customer service. They don’t do it because it’s a job but because they love what they do. We have taken one cruise last year going another in a few months and already talking about what cruise to take after this one. We can’t say enough about our e tire experience. Everyone is treated like family respected and no is not in anyone’s vocabulary. We think they are the BEST!!

2 years ago

star star star star star

T&S Kraft1 Royal Oak, MI

The staff and the food are highlights for us. Next comes the excursions during the day. The cabins are very nice especially those with balconies (although they are small). On our two cruises we have enjoyed the people very much but we would like there to be more age diversity. Apparently, the younger crowd has not discovered American Cruise LInes!

2 years ago

star star star star star

David R Busby Alabaster, AL

We had a wonderful time on our very first cruise this past year. Every crew member was awesome. Smile on their faces everyday. The food was simply great. Enjoyed having a menu instead of a food trough. The excursions at each stop were alot of fun and informational. The small ship allowed us to meet and get to know our fellow passengers. We have already booked another cruise for this year 2020.

2 years ago

star star star star star

Edward Rocereta Adel, GA

From boarding until disembarkation, the trip was perfectly organized, the staff friendly and helpful and the ship clean and cozy. Cruising a river, in our case the lower Mississippi, is by far superior to ocean cruising because of the various planned stops at interesting cities and the option of taking trips at these cities to historically significant sites. We look forward to our next trip with American Cruise Lines.

2 years ago

star star star star star

Judith Zaleski Springfield, IL

My husband & I have been on 4 cruises withAmerican Cruise Line and currently have 3 more booked. We have enjoyed each cruise. We especially like all of the Staff, always smiling, very friendly and will try to meet whatever needs that you may have. Like the size of the ships, the people that we meet, really like the expert lectures, the itineraries, and the food choices.Overall each of our experiences have been excellent.

2 years ago

star star star star star

Robert Herndon Brandon, MS

I love the overall experience, particularly the historical lectures we received on the Lewis and Clark Columbia River trip. It was outstanding as was the added Snake river trip. The knowledge of the lecturers was outstanding and, even though I have read several accounts of the Lewis and Clark expedition, I learned a good deal more about it from the lectures

2 years ago

star star star star star

Marilyn Cantey Campbell, CA

I’m signed up for my 10th cruise in May. What I like best is the small size of the ships. 90-100 passengers. I know you’re building bigger ships now, but I like the smaller ones best. I’ve been on the Independence twice, Cabin 220 and will be on her again in May. The food and shore excursions are great. Don’t know what I like least, maybe since I’m a Renaissance and Classical musician, some of the evening entertainment. I like the lectures of local history, flora and fauna best.

2 years ago

star star star star star

Kathleen Mary Rose Northridge, CA

I travel alone. I found the staff on the Constitution very helpful with planning my itinerary. My room was perfect for me. Since I was busy meeting new and wonderful fellow travelers, I did not miss not having a balcony! The ship has a large balcony on the 4th floor where my new friends gathered at the end of the day to share our daily experiences. Looking forward to my next trip.

2 years ago

star star star star star

Kathleen Chapman Virginia, MN

We loved our riverboat cruise on the Columbia River. We enjoyed the trips onshore and found going through the locks to be extremely interesting. The food was more than plentiful and very, very good. The staff was phenomenally helpful. The jet boat ride on the Snake River was very interesting and fun. The entertainment in the evening was always very, very good.

2 years ago

star star star star star

Linda Cedaredge, CO

We took their Mississipi River Cruise and I would highly recommend it. The boat is small enough that you get to know your fellow passengers. Each suite has its own balcony. The crew is amazingly helpful and polite. They go the extra mile to accommodate your wishes. We loved it so much that we booked one of their Alaska cruises. You won’t be sorry if you choose this cruise line.

2 years ago

star star star star star

Ellyn L Wasserbeck Richwood, OH

We have comleted our third cruise with American Cruise lines. This compnay does it right. We like it for the small ship and passenger feel. This makes it a more personal attention to detail. The venues are terrific. My absolute favorite was the Columbia/Snake River trip. The food is terrific and not that fancy "what is this" thing. They go above and beyond to make sure your trip is a great one. Thanks American Cruise Lines.

2 years ago

star star star star star

ART Long Branch, NJ

A river boat trip on the Columbia and Snake rivers is a journey through some of America's most spectacular scenic countryside. American Cruise Lines itinerary provides stops at points of interest that are both unique and wonderful to see. In addition to the sights, our trip provided a valuable history lesson as we traveled the paths of Lewis & Clark and other early explorers. We did it in style and saw the same great country they did decades ago.

2 years ago